View Full Version : LOI Fixtures Fri/Sat/Sun 24th-26th July
25/07/2015, 9:11 PM
Was told last night that he is not allowed ref up there anymore. Wasnt told why.
He fell out with a local league executive committee and ended up being banned from IFA competition because of it, or something along those lines. Ban was eventually lifted but he went off to the Ulster Senior League and onto League of Ireland this season.
MeathDrog
25/07/2015, 9:55 PM
Lee Duffy must be near the top of LOI goalscorers. Some season he is having.
25/07/2015, 10:02 PM
Lee Duffy must be near the top of LOI goalscorers. Some season he is having.
http://soccer-stats.irishtimes.com/?Lang=0&CPID=95&CTID=34&TEID=0&pStr=Comp_Scorer
According to that he has 5.
Danny Furlong top of First Division with 17 goals in 18 games. Serious stuff from him all season.
patrickccfc
25/07/2015, 11:22 PM
Danny Furlong top of First Division with 17 goals in 18 games. Serious stuff from him all season.
Such a shame it didn't work out for him during his time with us. I was very excited when we signed him, but it's good to see him doing well again
MeathDrog
25/07/2015, 11:47 PM
http://soccer-stats.irishtimes.com/?Lang=0&CPID=95&CTID=34&TEID=0&pStr=Comp_Scorer
According to that he has 5.
Yeah had a look, tonight was his 6th goal. Feels like he's scored more. I suppose it's because he struggle for goals without him.
Dalymountrower
26/07/2015, 9:50 AM
Bizarre game in Dalymount on Friday, could easily have been 6-4 for Derry. In their frustration their centre half spear tackled Akinade, a League of Ireland first .Paddy Kavanagh got an elbow in the head 20 mins later. Both players had to be taken off.The ref took no action
Hard to decide which of Derry or Sligo most deserve to be relegated.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/07/2015, 11:05 AM
Nothing*
Sligo are fairly awful, no creativity at all. They still have good players, obviously just something not right at the moment down there
*well I got a cup of coffee because I snuck through the gate when the steward wasn't looking, like some sort of Ninja
We had a lot of kids playing on Friday night. Apart from Puri and Cawley don't think any of our team would have gotten anywhere near your squad. That's where a lot of the problem is.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/07/2015, 11:07 AM
Bizarre game in Dalymount on Friday, could easily have been 6-4 for Derry. In their frustration their centre half spear tackled Akinade, a League of Ireland first .Paddy Kavanagh got an elbow in the head 20 mins later. Both players had to be taken off.The ref took no action
Hard to decide which of Derry or Sligo most deserve to be relegated.
I presume, yet again, that the Bohs lads didn't do a bad tackle the whole game. Looking forward to the game with Cork on Friday. Won't be a need for a ref at all.
D24Saint
26/07/2015, 3:17 PM
Delighted with the win on Friday I thought the first half was poor enough , Sligo remind me of Pats under Jeff Kenna they need a steady pair of hands in charge I wouldn't trust Ndo with a kids team. The second half was a huge improvement & when we got the goal we went on to dominate. It was a good debut by Ian Morris out of position & his first game in a year he looks decent , good on ball & cool.The other big plus was another great performance from Jamie McGrath a rising star in the league & the chap just oozes class he is clearly going places , we will be lucky to hang onto him for another year.
26/07/2015, 3:58 PM
We had a lot of kids playing on Friday night.
An 18 year old, a 19 year old and the rest were all over 23. Average age of your starting team was 24.9. Just sayin'.
26/07/2015, 6:29 PM
Delighted with the win on Friday I thought the first half was poor enough , Sligo remind me of Pats under Jeff Kenna they need a steady pair of hands in charge I wouldn't trust Ndo with a kids team. The second half was a huge improvement & when we got the goal we went on to dominate. It was a good debut by Ian Morris out of position & his first game in a year he looks decent , good on ball & cool.The other big plus was another great performance from Jamie McGrath a rising star in the league & the chap just oozes class he is clearly going places , we will be lucky to hang onto him for another year.
Yeah, hear Fenlon is interested alright.
patrickccfc
26/07/2015, 6:54 PM
Finished 1-1 in oriel park. An improvement on our recent visits but definitely suits dundalk more than us
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/07/2015, 7:12 PM
An 18 year old, a 19 year old and the rest were all over 23. Average age of your starting team was 24.9. Just sayin'.
6 of last years under 19s played. Started with 3 of them, played 45 minutes with 4 of them ended up with 5 of them on the pitch for the last 25 minutes.
Just sayin'.
26/07/2015, 7:55 PM
Rovers eased past a woeful Limerick.
Could any Rovers fans on Sean Russell's side hear the abuse he was getting for the last 30 mins? I wonder if he was too far away to hear it.
26/07/2015, 8:11 PM
Jaysus, Harps are - agricultural. Seven yellows all told? Could have had a red before they did. Great win for us though; hopefully sets us up for a promotion run in now
26/07/2015, 8:28 PM
Jaysus, Harps are - agricultural. Seven yellows all told? Could have had a red before they did. Great win for us though; hopefully sets us up for a promotion run in now
All 7 of those cards were the referees fault of course
paykanti
26/07/2015, 8:47 PM
Sign of any good side, as Caulfield will testify
bluewhitearmy
26/07/2015, 8:50 PM
Rovers eased past a woeful Limerick.
Could any Rovers fans on Sean Russell's side hear the abuse he was getting for the last 30 mins? I wonder if he was too far away to hear it.
His father was getting more anyway and I would be shocked if he couldn't hear it.
26/07/2015, 8:51 PM
You lot are far too used to soft European football.
26/07/2015, 9:04 PM
Yup; no nasty tackles in European football...
s__jZrL9dWM
26/07/2015, 9:12 PM
Tis only a flesh wound.
Eminence Grise
26/07/2015, 9:16 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQLigxbOf4vdRcjEawI4M4zEimtX_Bqt 52sTVM7xCUIjI3afkNEUA
All right, we'll call it a draw.
26/07/2015, 10:13 PM
Lot of very silly yellows for professional fouls. Tommy McMonagle needs a kick up the hole for his sending off. Saying that, McNulty was booked for the very first tackle in the game, ref was very trigger happy. Raymond Foy got booked for being taken down inside the UCD box, handful of neutrals there agreed it was a stonewall penalty.
A pretty poor game though all being said. Neither side played to their best, and Harps ended up with absolutely zero shots on target which tells it's own story. A big win for UCD.
dundalkfc10
26/07/2015, 11:01 PM
Rovers/Pats would have beat us today. Cork are shocking. How we never got another penalty when Mountany was taking down. Even the Cork fans were laughing
El-Pietro
26/07/2015, 11:33 PM
makes up for the joke of a penalty you got in the first half. would someone tell towell to get up off his arse too, wouldn't surprise me if he was still rolling around. at one point he dived up into one of players and fell over and the ref bought it.
dundalk are shocking. played with no striker for the last half an hour. we had them rattled.
terrible crowd for a big game too
MattB11
27/07/2015, 12:00 AM
All 7 of those cards were the referees fault of course
No doubt about it.
27/07/2015, 12:09 AM
Rovers/Pats would have beat us today. Cork are shocking. How we never got another penalty when Mountany was taking down. Even the Cork fans were laughing
makes up for the joke of a penalty you got in the first half. would someone tell towell to get up off his arse too, wouldn't surprise me if he was still rolling around. at one point he dived up into one of players and fell over and the ref bought it.
dundalk are shocking. played with no striker for the last half an hour. we had them rattled.
terrible crowd for a big game too
Both of you are right,2 shoite sides in a very poor game that never lived up to the hype.
El-Pietro
27/07/2015, 7:02 AM
Both of you are right,2 shoite sides in a very poor game that never lived up to the hype.
I actually thought it was a very entertaining game, if a little short on quality. Two teams cancelled each other out to an extent but it was played with high tensity and I felt that either team could score at any point, unlike our draws with Rovers where I wanted to burn my retinas out rather than continue watching that dross.
It was an alright, scrappy game. Dundalk marginally the better team in my entirely unbiased opinion, but far and away the best performance I've seen from Cork since 2012 ;-) Thought we got a soft pen but we're denied a clear one. Overall a decent result for Dundalk, not an easy game after BATE on Wed, so to keep six points clear was grand for us.
Maybe my imagination but Caulfield's sending off probably helped Cork, they seemed to settle after it and dared to play a little bit of football when he wasn't just doing the GAA manager sideline ranting.
Incidentally, Cork's record v Dundalk/Pats/Rovers this season W 0 D 4, L 1.
27/07/2015, 10:33 AM
If you include Bohs, Cork have 0 wins in 6 games between the top 5. Dundalk have 4 in 7. Pats 2 in 7 (both Bohs). Rovers 1 in 7 (Pats).
PartySaint
27/07/2015, 11:45 AM
Incidentally, Cork's record v Dundalk/Pats/Rovers this season W 0 D 4, L 1.
Pats haven't beaten any of the other sides in the top 4 in the league either.
Drew 2 lost 3
Still have Cork home and away and Rovers + Dundalk away, so it's not likely to improve too much
bluewhitearmy
27/07/2015, 2:31 PM
Limerick haven't beaten any of the sides in the top 4 this season either I don't think.
MattB11
27/07/2015, 3:58 PM
Or the 4 teams below that....or the 3 below that , apparently they played a 7 a side game in training and both teams lost
27/07/2015, 4:27 PM
If you two are that awful, then it goes to show how bad Limerick are. Rovers were poor for 50 minutes but still should have won 8 or 9-1. North missed more chances than some strikers get in a season. Still, Nutsy picked probably his best XI (minus the unavailable McPhail and Drennan) and they looked like they had real focus. Lots to look forward to in the coming months.
NeverFeltBetter
27/07/2015, 7:14 PM
It's just a low-tempo auto pilot for Limerick at this stage. Manager insists they can survive, be competitive, social media begs people to show up and support the team, lose playing badly, insist they played better than the scoreline suggests, repeat.
I think Drogs at the Market's Field was the big moment. A win there might have galvanised the squad, got a few more in the doors. But now it's just loss, loss, draw, loss, loss and the manager seemingly being held above reproach by the people in charge.
El-Pietro
27/07/2015, 10:28 PM
So after seeing the footage its clear that the penalty was given should have been a free out, and for the one on Mountney is interesting. To me it looks like Benno gets a touch, and then mountney starts falling, then theres a tangle
27/07/2015, 11:31 PM
So after seeing the footage its clear that the penalty was given should have been a free out, and for the one on Mountney is interesting. To me it looks like Benno gets a touch, and then mountney starts falling, then theres a tangle
HMmmm? 1st pen GIVEN 50/50.Garts goes down late maybe a foul.
2nd pen not given 100% a peno so ref equals both and thats the way it is in the LOI.Ref tries to level itl out!
PartySaint
27/07/2015, 11:35 PM
Neither were a peno
28/07/2015, 1:41 AM
Second is a clear peno watch it again he clips his back ankle
White Horse
28/07/2015, 8:58 AM
Maybe my imagination but Caulfield's sending off probably helped Cork, they seemed to settle after it and dared to play a little bit of football when he wasn't just doing the GAA manager sideline ranting.
I thought that too.
The Cork players seemed to take the opportunity to play some football for a change. I always thought that they are a much better side than Caulfield allows them to be.
I can't understand why Cork fans allow him to hold back their team. Misplaced loyalty perhaps?
CityRebel
28/07/2015, 9:21 AM
Dundalk fans seem very concerned about us with all their talk about our fans, our manager and our players.
Louth4sam
28/07/2015, 9:38 AM
HMmmm? 1st pen GIVEN 50/50.Garts goes down late maybe a foul.
2nd pen not given 100% a peno so ref equals both and thats the way it is in the LOI.Ref tries to level itl out!
1st one was a terrible decision. 100% no pen. However there was one just before it that was a stonewaller that the ref gave a free out for. Mountneys was a definite penalty. Ref was very poor all night and a total lottery with decisions.
Pablo Escobar
28/07/2015, 9:43 AM
I think there's no doubt that the first one wasn't a penalty. I think the 2nd one is interesting. I think if we were awarded a penalty for that I'd consider it lucky. I can see why it would be given, but Bennett dind't make much forward momentum after he got the touch on the ball. No pen for me.
Dundalk fans seem very concerned about us with all their talk about our fans, our manager and our players.
and there you are, talking about Dundalk fans. So you'll all level again
It'd be pretty weird if they had nothing to say (in a thread about the weekend's fixtures) about the team they played
CityRebel
28/07/2015, 9:58 AM
and there you are, talking about Dundalk fans. So you'll all level again
It'd be pretty weird if they had nothing to say (in a thread about the weekend's fixtures) about the team they played
They seem more concerned about our fans, our manager and our players than the match itself. Which is understandable given that they rode their luck, got away with cynical diving, and were gifted a peno.
PartySaint
28/07/2015, 10:32 AM
I can't understand why Cork fans allow him to hold back their team. Misplaced loyalty perhaps?
He got them to within one win of a very unexpected league title last season and is challenging again this season.
I'd imagine it's because of that more than loyalty
28/07/2015, 11:20 AM
got away with cynical diving
The swines
28/07/2015, 11:23 AM
They seem more concerned about our fans, our manager and our players than the match itself. Which is understandable given that they rode their luck, got away with cynical diving, and were gifted a peno.
Fair play CR it took until almost August before you gave in and delved in to Corkie a self righteous post. It must have killed you to resist up until now! Cynical diving, well maybe Towell went down easy at one point, gifted a penalty and denied a stonewall one, we will take all the luck we can get! Were you up in Oriel for the game or judging the cynical diving, for example, based on Soccer Republic and Caulfield's ranting?
Hulsey
28/07/2015, 11:45 AM
From a neutral perspective the first penalty was never a penalty, and the ref then denied another that wasn't quite stonewall but would be given more often than not. A classic even up job. On the Towell issue, its plain to see that he made the most of the contact, but Caulfield should have a bit more cop on than to react the way he did. Getting dismissed for that incident was ridiculous. Every team in the league has players who make the most of things so the holier than thou attitude spouted by Caulfield is a bit rich.