View Full Version : Ryan Manning D Southampton b.1996

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

15/04/2023, 3:14 PM
Manning didn't play that game? Not sure who you're thinking of.

Manning played 90 minutes against Lithuania last March and I thought he did well going forward in it, though Lithuania are hardly a guide as to how good he'd be against a good attacking team.

15/04/2023, 3:30 PM
Just scored now today too to put Swansea in front.

Eirambler
15/04/2023, 5:23 PM
Never going to be a likely pick under Kenny unfortunately, unless he finds a way to absolutely force his hand. Which would probably require him to find his way to the Premier League. A cheap pickup for Sheffield United in the summer maybe?

16/04/2023, 2:27 AM
Manning didn't play that game? Not sure who you're thinking of.

Manning played 90 minutes against Lithuania last March and I thought he did well going forward in it, though Lithuania are hardly a guide as to how good he'd be against a good attacking team.
That's odd. I would have sworn blind that he'd played that game, but you're right. I have no idea who or which games I'm mixing up.

elatedscum
16/04/2023, 4:10 AM
I thought he was very poor initially. Maybe it was nerves. He couldn’t play a 5 yard pass. I remember him miscontrolling a ball out of play and looking up at the sky cause it was his third really bad error in about 15 mins. That was probably his debut.

I also remember him coming on with maybe 5 mins left and maybe 2 really poor mistakes in that time.

I thought he was really impressive against Lithuania though, particularly when he went to the left centre half with about 20 or 30 mins left (he was playing there at club level at the time). He was really progressive and intelligent with his passing from that zone and he was key in us sustaining constant pressure and eventually getting the winner. He was trying the difficult pass and it was coming off, again and again.

If we are gonna play 5 at the back against weaker sides who put 11 men behind the ball, that’s where I’d like to see him play, as a left sided centre half.

Eirambler
16/04/2023, 7:52 AM
In fairness I think we have enough centre backs without sticking Manning there. Even Swansea don't do that anymore. Anyway Kenny won't pick him so it won't be an issue while he remains in charge.

16/04/2023, 3:49 PM
Kenny was asked about manning in the presser the day of the squad announcement - extolled the virtues that Manning had, and it was as outlined above, as a left sided centreback who could carry the ball and distribute well in games where we'd be the domininat team.

While I think it's unlikely we'd see him in June, it's not a foregone conclusion.

JR89
22/04/2023, 4:31 PM
Two assists today in the 3-0 win over Norwich. Unfortunately for Idah he was subbed in the first half as Norwich had a man sent off.

17/05/2023, 6:20 PM
Named in the Sky Bet/whoscored.com Championship Team of the Season (https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/11095/12878611/championship-team-of-the-season-for-2022-23). Not sure if that's an official TotS or just two companies looking to get the brand name out, but it seems a great achievement.

JR89
17/05/2023, 7:23 PM
EFL have a sponsorship with Whoscored who do the TotW for the EFL leagues but their was a TotS announced last month at the EFL awards.

https://www.efl.com/news/2023/april/efl-team-of-the-season-line-ups-revealed/

17/05/2023, 7:46 PM
Conor Hourihane in there I see!

Demesne Lad
24/06/2023, 5:59 PM
Article in FLW, encouraging Middlesboro to sign free agent Manning despite his defensive shortcomings; includes stats and infographic from Foresseaball, describing Manning as " The best Non-PL Loan Championship left back in 22-23".

Middlesbrough: Michael Carrick should swoop for free agent to find Ryan Giles solution (footballleagueworld.co.uk) (https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/middlesbrough-should-pounce-for-out-of-contract-star-to-find-ryan-giles-solution-opinion/)

Trequartista20
24/06/2023, 6:59 PM
In a sense irrelevant, because the Ireland manager refuses to call him up. But I wish him well as a product of the Irish league system.

Razors left peg
24/06/2023, 8:34 PM
In a sense irrelevant, because the Ireland manager refuses to call him up. But I wish him well as a product of the Irish league system.

He did call him up and Manning refused call up. If Cannon gets criticism for turning down call so should Manning

liamoo11
24/06/2023, 8:47 PM
He did call him up and Manning refused call up. If Cannon gets criticism for turning down call so should Manning

It's completely different. Cannon is deciding weather he wishes to represent ireland or England in no way is that similar to manning unless he is in the process of switching allegiances

Razors left peg
24/06/2023, 8:59 PM
It's completely different. Cannon is deciding weather he wishes to represent ireland or England in no way is that similar to manning unless he is in the process of switching allegiances
So what's Mannings excuse?

Is he justified in sulking because he was left out previously? If that's the case he needs to remind himself he's a Championship level player and not Champions League. Should Wes Houlihan have turned down call ups after he was left out for far too long?

Is Manning justified because he is looking for a club and doesn't want to get injured? In which case should Gary Breen have not played a WC in 2002 without a club?

Roy Keane was vilified for years for walking out on a call up, is Manning refusing to play for Kenny because it's personal between them like Keane and McCarthy?

Or is Manning excused cos ye just don't like Kenny?

24/06/2023, 10:15 PM
Or is Manning excused cos ye just don't like Kenny?

Yes.

There’s wanting Kenny gone and there’s losing all sense of reason… some posters on here would want to come up for oxygen. The stuff on here and the O’Shea thread is just bizarre.

Snapshot
26/06/2023, 2:54 AM
Comment withdrawn.

Razors left peg
26/06/2023, 4:50 AM
Tweedledum and Tweedledee.

Insightful as always

Razors left peg
11/07/2023, 6:17 PM

Has signed for Southampton. Decent move, but a bit surprised that hes not going to Real Madrid considering how some go on about him

11/07/2023, 7:48 PM
Whoever thought he'd be off to Real Madrid?! (Even allowing for hyperbole)

Razors left peg
11/07/2023, 7:58 PM
Whoever thought he'd be off to Real Madrid?! (Even allowing for hyperbole)

I apologize if the sarcasm was too complicated for you to understand

11/07/2023, 8:25 PM
Hence my bit in brackets.

Even allowing for that, your comment doesn't reflect anyone's views in the thread I think

Razors left peg
11/07/2023, 8:26 PM
Hence my bit in brackets.

Even allowing for that, your comment doesn't reflect anyone's views in the thread I think

I believe theres a view by some that hes better than he is

CSAD
11/07/2023, 8:32 PM
I believe theres a view by some that hes better than he is

Literally created the most chances of any player in the championship last season...

11/07/2023, 8:34 PM
I don't think anyone has ever even suggested he'd get a top half Premier move though.

I think people are aware our full-backs are ageing and O'Dowda wasn't great in Greece (arguably playing out of position) so probably one of the top-performing fullbacks in the Championship deserves a squad call-up

That doesn't mean we think he's the reincarnation of Cafu like

Razors left peg
11/07/2023, 8:37 PM
Literally created the most chances of any player in the championship last season...

Fair play, with that you'd think he would have got a move to the Premiership instead of continuing his journeyman career in Championship.

One of the excuses going around when he turned down the call up for the Greece game was that he was out of contract so didnt want to risk injury. Glad for him that he didnt risk it, might never have gotten such a big move if he was injured.

Razors left peg
11/07/2023, 8:37 PM
probably one of the top-performing fullbacks in the Championship deserves a squad call-up

He was called up. He turned it down!

LurcherLover
11/07/2023, 8:48 PM
Russel Martin said he turned down two Premiership clubs in favour of Southampton.

11/07/2023, 8:48 PM
Probably deserved a call-up many times before that.

Seems a decent move though, assuming Southampton use their parachute payments to go straight back up. Though they don't seem the best run of clubs, so will wait and see how they get on.

JR89
11/07/2023, 8:56 PM
Russel Martin said he turned down two Premiership clubs in favour of Southampton.

Probably Luton and Sheffield United. Unless Livramento or Walker Peters leaves this summer I don't see him starting come August. Walker Peters moved from RB to LB when they bought Livramento and would except both to start if neither leave this summer. Livramento is linked with Newcastle but wants assurances about playing time and Trippier I think captained them last season.

LurcherLover
11/07/2023, 9:14 PM
Probably Luton and Sheffield United. Unless Livramento or Walker Peters leaves this summer I don't see him starting come August. Walker Peters moved from RB to LB when they bought Livramento and would except both to start if neither leave this summer. Livramento is linked with Newcastle but wants assurances about playing time and Trippier I think captained them last season.If thats the case, I wonder the reasoning for turning down them clubs unless he's been told by Martin that he's guaranteed game time or something along them lines and/or see's himself getting more gametime with Southampton. I seen the Livramento/Newcastle link last week but nothing since. Would be beneficial from an Ireland perspective if it goes through obviously. Livramsnto to Newcastle, Larios loaned out, KWP back in RB and Manning ahead of Perraud at LB?

Razors left peg
11/07/2023, 9:32 PM
Probably deserved a call-up many times before that.

And that's a good excuse for him to turn down call up this time?

Look I think he's fine, solid enough player who has never really impressed me any time I've watched. He's not very quick and I don't think he's a very good defender. He's is a good footballer given that he's a midfielder by trade, but I don't think he solves our left back problem

11/07/2023, 10:03 PM
That doesn't mean we think he's the reincarnation of Cafu like

Ah he kind of is though

CSAD
12/07/2023, 3:49 AM

Usually Irish ambition it seems.

12/07/2023, 6:35 AM
Seems a decent move though, assuming Southampton use their parachute payments to go straight back up. Though they don't seem the best run of clubs, so will wait and see how they get on.
They were very effective at identifying high potential players who could keep them in a respectable league position and then sell for good money. The wheels came off that recently, as they inevitably will, but I wouldn't write them off just yet.

JR89
12/07/2023, 8:10 AM
Usually Irish ambition it seems.

Next season which one of Luton, Sheffield United, and Southampton is mostly to be a PL team? Not every move to the PL is a good move. Southampton is the better move if you want to be playing PL for a few years.

12/07/2023, 8:20 AM
And that's a good excuse for him to turn down call up this time?
Who said it was?

Point is your sarky comment about people who thought he was going to Madrid was daft, even allowing for sarcasm/hyperbole.

They were very effective at identifying high potential players who could keep them in a respectable league position and then sell for good money. The wheels came off that recently, as they inevitably will, but I wouldn't write them off just yet.
They had a change of ownership in early 2022 though, so I think that's played a good part in the wheels coming off. Which means that yeah, don't write off their promotion chances yet, but the possibility of a downward trend has to be there too.

Razors left peg
12/07/2023, 12:03 PM
Who said it was?

Point is your sarky comment about people who thought he was going to Madrid was daft, even allowing for sarcasm/hyperbole.

It was intended to be daft and a massive over exaggeration, while also making the point of how over rated he is by some. Your inability to understand that and getting upset cos "no one said he was going to Madrid" is pretty funny. Of course no one fcuking said that, cos he's a decent Championship level player at best. He's always the one people fart on about around squad time, because we always focus on players left out. O'Dowda wasn't great in Greece, although I blame Lenihan as much as him for the 2nd goal, but I don't think there's much difference between him and Manning. If either are picked it's a weakness in the defense that good teams can get at. Doherty is our best option there until someone like Adaramola or Bagan kicks on

12/07/2023, 1:31 PM
If you want to make the point that Manning's transfer suggests he's not able to add much over O'Dowda, you could do that without picking an argument that makes everyone reading it dumber for the experience.

Razors left peg
12/07/2023, 1:35 PM
If you want to make the point that Manning's transfer suggests he's not able to add much over O'Dowda, you could do that without picking an argument that makes everyone reading it dumber for the experience.

A throw away joke was taken to heart by another poster, having to explain it was obviously stupid, but not my fault other people need it spelled out

12/07/2023, 1:49 PM
So, when he ended his post with "(even allowing for hyperbole)", that suggests to you that he took it to heart? Could it be, just maybe, that you are also guilty of what you accuse him? Could it be that I am asking you to discuss the player without casting shade anyone who rates him differently from you, leading to stupid bickering?

Diggs246
12/07/2023, 2:12 PM
So, when he ended his post with "(even allowing for hyperbole)", that suggests to you that he took it to heart? Could it be, just maybe, that you are also guilty of what you accuse him? Could it be that I am asking you to discuss the player without casting shade anyone who rates him differently from you, leading to stupid bickering?

Apologies if I’m wrong Razor, but this is my take

Razor likes Stephen Kenny

Stephen Kenny doesn’t rate Ryan Manning

Some people criticise Stephen Kenny for not historically picking Ryan Manning

Razor uses Ryan Manning’s recent withdrawal from the squad as a covert tool to attack anti kennyites and the player himself

My view is Stephen is a utter idiot for not utilising Ryan Manning at any stage and Ryan Manning is bang out of other for pulling out of the last squad

Razors left peg
12/07/2023, 3:00 PM
It's actually nothing to do with Kenny to be honest. We have always manufactured outrage over certain players being left out. In my opinion the last time it was legitimately justified was Wes and Andy Reid being left out. There have been other players that people have gotten upset about since, I got annoyed that Hodge wasn't called up last year and I was was wrong.

The Manning thing annoys me because I believe he's in the same bracket as O'Dowda and McClean. They're grand, nothing to get upset about if one is picked over the other, but yet its made to be a bit topic when Manning isn't picked. Even today you can look at any sports page that's talking about Manning to Southampton and the majority of comments are about him not getting picked for Ireland as if he's a top end player.

And yet I think it's massively glossed over that he turned down a call up to this last squad. Everyone lost their mind about Tom Cannon and ignored Manning. Roy Keane still gets abuse "for turning his back on his country", yet we are supposed to be ok with Manning because he was left out previously so he's allowed have a sulk. Wes Houlihan as I said had the most legitimate grievance of recent years for being left out and yet he turned up whenever he was picked.

Diggs you say that Kenny is an utter idiot for not using him more, that's an opinion. We all have players we like more than others, I like Idah more than most, but I can also agree that Idah is of a similar level to all our options other than Ferguson right now and it's not a scandal when he's not picked. Manning is a Championship player being kept out by 2 other Championship left backs and an a Premiership right back who can double as left back. I don't think that warrants labeling anyone as an utter idiot for not picking him regularly. And by the way, he has been called up to squads, maybe in those training sessions he hasn't impressed, he hasn't impressed me much when I've seen him play games.

So no, its nothing to do with pro or anti Kenny, it's frustration at nonsense.

Diggs246
12/07/2023, 3:10 PM
It's actually nothing to do with Kenny to be honest. We have always manufactured outrage over certain players being left out. In my opinion the last time it was legitimately justified was Wes and Andy Reid being left out. There have been other players that people have gotten upset about since, I got annoyed that Hodge wasn't called up last year and I was was wrong.

The Manning thing annoys me because I believe he's in the same bracket as O'Dowda and McClean. They're grand, nothing to get upset about if one is picked over the other, but yet its made to be a bit topic when Manning isn't picked. Even today you can look at any sports page that's talking about Manning to Southampton and the majority of comments are about him not getting picked for Ireland as if he's a top end player.

And yet I think it's massively glossed over that he turned down a call up to this last squad. Everyone lost their mind about Tom Cannon and ignored Manning. Roy Keane still gets abuse "for turning his back on his country", yet we are supposed to be ok with Manning because he was left out previously so he's allowed have a sulk. Wes Houlihan as I said had the most legitimate grievance of recent years for being left out and yet he turned up whenever he was picked.

Diggs you say that Kenny is an utter idiot for not using him more, that's an opinion. We all have players we like more than others, I like Idah more than most, but I can also agree that Idah is of a similar level to all our options other than Ferguson right now and it's not a scandal when he's not picked. Manning is a Championship player being kept out by 2 other Championship left backs and an a Premiership right back who can double as left back. I don't think that warrants labeling anyone as an utter idiot for not picking him regularly. And by the way, he has been called up to squads, maybe in those training sessions he hasn't impressed, he hasn't impressed me much when I've seen him play games.

So no, its nothing to do with pro or anti Kenny, it's frustration at nonsense.

Utter idiot was too far and I withdrawthat actually
In relation to "Manning is a Championship player being kept out by 2 other Championship left backs and an a Premiership right back"
Manning was on the championship team of the season
The premisership right back is needed at right back and James mcclean isnt the player he was. I assume the second player is O'Dowda ? well unless Greece was just a bad day at the office then im not sure about him.

Razors left peg
12/07/2023, 3:14 PM
Yeah I was talking about O'Dowda, he was poor in Greece, but he was good in other games before that, and as I've said I give Lenihan just as much blame for the goal as O'Dowda.

Edit: and yes Manning was in team of season, I still don't think he's a good defender, but as I keep saying it's not that he's been completely ignored. He was picked and he is the one who refused to turn up.

12/07/2023, 3:28 PM
The premisership right back is needed at right back and James mcclean isnt the player he was. I assume the second player is O'Dowda ? well unless Greece was just a bad day at the office then im not sure about him.
All our usual wing-backs - McClean, Brady, Stevens, Doherty and Coleman - are getting on and we urgently need to work out who the replacements are. For the last while, it seems Browne and O'Dowda are in pole position there, but I think they're both playing out of position at wing-backs.

Meanwhile, yeah, one of the best performers in that position in the Championship regularly gets overlooked for a place in the squad, let alone the team. And you could add in McNamara or others too.

If Southampton come back up - as teams with parachute payments often do - I think he's done alright. And I agree with JR that Southampton could turn out to be a better move than Premier Luton/Sheffield United in the medium term.

26/08/2023, 2:39 PM
Assist for Manning today as its 1-1 against Sinclair Armstrongs QPR.

Diggs246
26/08/2023, 3:41 PM
Assist for Manning today as its 1-1 against Sinclair Armstrongs QPR.

Another assist

tommy_c12000
15/09/2023, 7:12 PM
This guy is not the answer. Poor start again for Southampton tonight. Is there a worse defense in the championship right now?