View Full Version : Dundalk V Cork
dundalkfc10
20/10/2014, 12:58 PM
Thought Id start a match thread, as its the main game of the weekend/season (sorry Galway and Shels fans)
All tickets sold out in Oriel at lunchtime! Club have said they are trying to get permission to sell more
Seen this on the Cork forum, Poor ****er
"Travelled to Dundalk this morning....Warning to anyone thinking of same....refused tickets....any suspicion that you are a City supporter you are turned away....they said they are on high alert for any Cork people. Wasted journey"
White Horse
20/10/2014, 1:02 PM
Respect to that Cork fan. Is a Dundalk accent that difficult to imitate?
desaintsno.12
20/10/2014, 1:05 PM
wan ticket hay ...... dead on hay !!
so no tickets at all available ? was thinking about sending the missus (a local....ssshh) up to get get me a ticket.
White Horse
20/10/2014, 1:09 PM
wan ticket hay ...... dead on hay !!
so no tickets at all available ? was thinking about sending the missus (a local....ssshh) up to get get me a ticket.
I'd be amazed if more don't go on sale. It's a question of getting approval to increase the capacity. I've been at European games in Oriel Park when there were over 10,000 in attendance.
dundalkfc10
20/10/2014, 1:10 PM
From Dundalks Facebook just now
Due to an incredible demand for tickets this morning, Dundalk FC have suspended ticket sales for Friday's Cork City match. We will keep supporters updated on this situation via our website and our Facebook and Twitter pages.
White Horse
20/10/2014, 1:11 PM
Due to an incredible demand for tickets this morning, Dundalk FC have suspended ticket sales for Friday’s Cork City match.
We will update this page if and when further tickets are released for sale.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/cork-tickets-sale/
PartySaint
20/10/2014, 1:16 PM
People want to buy tickets...suspend ticket sales. Ah the League of Irelabd.
Really great occasion to look forward to. It doesn't look like I'll make it down to Sligo for our game so I look forward to watching it.
Hoping for a Cork win myself. Who are other non Dundalk/Cork fans up for?
20/10/2014, 1:19 PM
People want to buy tickets...suspend ticket sales. Ah the League of Irelabd.
Really great occasion to look forward to. It doesn't look like I'll make it down to Sligo for our game so I look forward to watching it.
Been routing for Dundalk all season so not going to change now, the obvious Stephen Kenny connection would probably have a lot of longford folk feeling the same.
El-Pietro
20/10/2014, 1:22 PM
Some City fans out at Bishopstown queueing for tickets since 10/11 this morning. Members were able to purchase over the weekend and the remainder go on sale at 5:30 to Season Ticket holders. There won't be anywhere near enough. No chance they reach general sale tomorrow.
White Horse
20/10/2014, 1:27 PM
I remember the bedlam of getting tickets in 1991 for the league decider against Cork. Things were simpler back then, no fuss over health and safety and no segregation.
20/10/2014, 1:39 PM
Been routing for Dundalk all season so not going to change now, the obvious Stephen Kenny connection would probably have a lot of longford folk feeling the same.
Yeah I'd prefer Dundalk, more for Vinny Perth than Kenny tbh. Not that I have any particular ill feeling towards Kenny just Vinny is a proper Town legend and was a bit hard done by in his spell as caretaker manager IMO.
desaintsno.12
20/10/2014, 1:42 PM
its really hard to call.
Dundalk :
I like their high tempo football and they have looked so impressive at times, so well drilled and efficient, with a couple of individual high performers, but generally a powerful unit. theres also the current "local" connection for me :p I'll basically be claiming back to back champions if they win.
On the flip side, a part of me is giddy at the prospect of them bottling it. no offence lads. I went totally off Kenny last year with some of the tripe he was coming out with and again at the start of this year - really cant stand the man anymore.
Also "we are the champions" episode, some of the dundalk fans on twitter, and letting off flares when they win the coin toss have helped increase the possibly enjoyment from the bottling.
Cork : I will probably get stick for this, but they would be the worst "champions" I have seen in my time. I'm not debating the fact that , all that matters is who is on top at the end of the year, style of football doesnt mater bla bla bla etc etc, but IMO and from what i have seen etc, they are a bang average side that have got to where they are with a massive contribution from sides faltering. I know this is the case every year to a degree, but the degree seems a lot largere this year. Again, from my limited experience, they are a horrible team, in terms of how they play and the persistent fouling. They will also get spanked in Europe.
But credit where its due, they kept plugging away all year, and deserve to be where they are. Also work well as a unit and are well drilled without any super stars.
Add the champions tag in with that massive chip on the shoulder and the bragging from Cork would be intoxicating next year if they did it, not sure i could handle it.
Tough one to call, but seeing as i cant get odds on them both choking, i think i would be in favour Dundalk getting over the line..... i think....maybe.... i cant decide
20/10/2014, 1:44 PM
Yeah I'd prefer Dundalk, more for Vinny Perth than Kenny tbh. Not that I have any particular ill feeling towards Kenny just Vinny is a proper Town legend and was a bit hard done by in his spell as caretaker manager IMO.
Ah don't want to hijack the thread but his performance as manager was poor to say the least, maybe now that he has some good experience in the LSL and with Dundalk under his belt he might have done better but at the time we really were crap
El-Pietro
20/10/2014, 1:46 PM
whatever happens its just great to be a part of this. I'm trying my best to just savour every positive moment this season expecting it all to fall through sooner or later. This week is gonna be mental. I want the game to be here but I also want to really enjoy the week.
After the way Dundalk struggled to cope with the conditions in the Carlisle Grounds I'd say a lot of Cork people are hoping for a nice big storm during this game. I'm inclined to feel the same as the game on Friday night was as entertaining an LOI game as I've seen in years.
Edit, current Met Eireann comment on Friday: "Temperatures look like taking a dip on Friday as rain affects the south and east, with some heavy falls likely. Daytime highs will only range from 10 to 13 degrees."
I don't really care who wins it, but it would make me smile to see Stephen Kenny miss out.
20/10/2014, 1:54 PM
Ah don't want to hijack the thread but his performance as manager was poor to say the least, maybe now that he has some good experience in the LSL and with Dundalk under his belt he might have done better but at the time we really were crap
It's history now but just from what I heard his exit could have been handled better considering his history with the club. Back to the topic now anyway!
After the way Dundalk failed to cope with the conditions in the Carlisle Grounds I'd say a lot of Cork people are hoping for a nice big storm during this game.
At least the pitch would be consistently and allow the ball be played on the deck. Strong winds do cause some problems with ball roll when kicking a dead ball though.
20/10/2014, 2:00 PM
Seen this on the Cork forum, Poor ****er
"Travelled to Dundalk this morning....Warning to anyone thinking of same....refused tickets....any suspicion that you are a City supporter you are turned away....they said they are on high alert for any Cork people. Wasted journey"
That's made my day. I can only imagine the lad waddling up to the ticket desk dressed in all white, muttering about Dwawda and his six-fingered neighbours, only to be rumbled when the seller catches a glimpse of the Cork City shirt he's had stitched to his skin.
Anyway, won't be able to see this as I'll be in Tallaght (is it confirmed for 7.45 or have RTE moved it? Suppose it won't impact attendances anyway) but will watch the playback later on. Don't really care who wins so hopefully just a high-quality game of football.
Yossarian
20/10/2014, 2:01 PM
I don't know how I can concentrate on anything else this week. I'll be a bag if nerves on Friday. While I think if we play to our best we can beat Cork we haven't played well lately.
White Horse
20/10/2014, 2:22 PM
Three years ago, I saw Dundalk battered by Waterford in the first leg of a relegation play off, and escape with an incredulous draw. The following Friday, I drove down to Waterford for the second leg hoping for a miracle.
This was against the backdrop of the club being in dire financial straits.
The league decider with Cork doesn't come near the pressure and importance of that game.
The scalpers are at it already!
....One user called ‘Boyleski’ has placed four tickets for Friday’s game for sale on adverts.ie. The ground tickets cost just €10 each but he is selling the quartet for €200.
http://talkofthetown.ie/2014/10/20/dundalk-v-cork-city-tickets-being-sold-for-four-times-their-face-value-online/
Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/10/2014, 5:54 PM
Would prefer to see Dundalk win it but fair play to Cork if they win it. Caulfield has really got the team believing in themselves
PartySaint
20/10/2014, 7:31 PM
The scalpers are at it already!
http://talkofthetown.ie/2014/10/20/dundalk-v-cork-city-tickets-being-sold-for-four-times-their-face-value-online/
That's outrages....I can get you a ticket for €190
I'm routing for Dundalk in this.
I think Kenny is a decent football man and had really done a fantastic job there.
Nothing against Cork at all but Dundalk have played some fantastic stuff this season and that would always be my pick when we aren't going to challenge.
Should be gripping stuff either way.
Real ale Madrid
20/10/2014, 9:01 PM
I'm going for Cork.
20/10/2014, 9:04 PM
I want Dundalk to win this as they are the better team and I used to share a house with a big Dundalk fan so I know their passion for the club! I would like Athlone to stay up -imagine us,Sligo and Athlone or Galway next season they will be some craic and some local derbies! btw Dundalk beat Waterford in the playoffs two years ago!
White Horse
20/10/2014, 9:10 PM
I'm going for Cork.
You rebel.
jinxy lilywhite
20/10/2014, 10:10 PM
Have to say I thought I would be alot more nervous and edgy this week but I am actually quite calm.
A wife, mistress and a mortgage all one month late, now that's pressure.
Going for Dundalk but I think cork will do it. Last kick of the game to equalize the match.
Paddyfield
20/10/2014, 10:25 PM
Hey mods, can ye put up one of those polls so we can vote on who we think will win the League?
20/10/2014, 10:49 PM
Unfortunately for Cork. they have been put into a situation where they have peaked prematurely.
patrickccfc
20/10/2014, 10:50 PM
Last kick of the game to equalize the match.
My god if that happened would be amazing.. seen us win a league on the last day twice now in 2005 and 2011 so I'm hoping to see a third one
20/10/2014, 10:56 PM
Dundalk. For the love God Dundalk.
patrickccfc
20/10/2014, 11:07 PM
Dundalk. For the love God Dundalk.
Galway. For the love of god Galway
White Horse
20/10/2014, 11:16 PM
Martin Lawlor posted a message on the Dundalk FC Facebook page. I thought I'd share it here:
True Story : the league win in 1991 in Cork.
First day '' Bang '' played our most scintillating football of the season in the first half at home to Shels............. walked out to my car after a 5 - 1 bashing.
Lad follows me out to my car ......Lawlor lawlor your """""""" brutal , the whole lotta ye......... yis are this, yis are that ........ could'nt believe how nice he was to me .... I learned a whole new language that day ........and he topped it off by tearing up his Season ticket right up in to my face. ........ I just said one simple thing to him !!!!! '' Have Faith ''...........'' I'd have to say a million f'''''''''n rosary's after that'' say's he ..and he finished on that note. So we're down to Cork looking for a win and them needing just the draw. Myself and the lads at the back are smoking cigars all day, not a bit of ash dropped and a clean sheet allround and the boul aul Mc Nulty does his usual ..... and sticks it in the onion sack. ......... Pandemonium at the final whistle .... I ended up getting on the train with just me jocks and a towel ......nearly the full monty you could say ................. i was lucky to survive really ..it was nearly death by a million good will slaps ........ the travelling support that day was absolutely ''''''' AWESOME '''''''. I'm on the train then about an hour and a lad comes up as say's '' Well Morton '' de ye remember me !!!!!! in his most affluent D' Shed Accent ( love the bones of yis all ). I vaguely remembered his face , but just couldn't put him with any particular group of lads in Oriel. I said as much to him and he says back '' no bother Morton '' ...but tell me, do ye remember this !!!!! .... he shows me a season ticket in absolute flitters with sellotape all round it ............ that's been to every home game this season and the only reason is because you told me two words at the start of the season '' HAVE FAITH '' ....................... I'm the genius who gave ye all the stick after the Shells game in the carpark. We genuinely hugged each other and danced a F'''''''''n merry jig right there on the train. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ ...I am asking each and every supporter to '' Have Faith '' for the final game this friday. I am asking for a thunderous atmosphere of sheer human emotion to play your own role as Dundalk's extra man on the night. You guys picked me up so - so - so many times when the team were down ...you guys gave us a genuine reason to pull the shirt on and you could just feel your heart bursting with pride. Make no mistake about it lads ........ the guys on the park will need each and every one of you during this game to create that extra man.......... LADS N LASSIES. I ASK YOU ONCE AGAIN TO STAND TALL N PROUD AS A TRUE LILLYWHITE AND HELP BRING THE TITLE BACK HOME .........it's been away to long. best regards Martin
El-Pietro
20/10/2014, 11:39 PM
You rebel.
I see what you did there!
21/10/2014, 1:07 AM
Question for Cork fans: 95th minute in Oriel Park, the scores are tied, yet another Cork attack is cynically killed by the Dundalk defence and all of a sudden Richie Towell breaks towards the half-way line in a b-line for McNulty's goal. Does Colin Healy A) take him down and destroy City's unblemished 0 fouls in 2014 statistic; or B) does he let him run on safe in the knowledge that if there is a God he won't allow such moral rectitude go unrewarded?
C) Colin Healy calmly dispossesses him, goes forward and scores a screamer.
21/10/2014, 4:40 AM
When was the last time the title was decided by a game between the two contenders on the last day of the season?
TheBoss
21/10/2014, 4:51 AM
When was the last time the title was decided by a game between the two contenders on the last day of the season?
18/11/2005: Cork City 2-0 Derry City
Derry were leading by 1 point before the match.
Pablo Escobar
21/10/2014, 5:47 AM
Interestingly, we had lead the league for a long time heading into the game and just before the game Derry had overtaken us and then had to travel to play us. I've already been through this in my head, it's a very bad precedent I feel.
In 2011, we won the league on the last day when a Graham Cummins 94th minute winner in Tolka knocked Shels off top spot.
In 1991, Dundalk overtook us in Turners Cross with a 1-0 win from an identical position to what we're in now.
In 1993, we won the league through the second round of a 3-way playoff between ourselves, Shels and Bohs.
So, we really don't do anything the easy way. It's tremendous fun though.
sullanefc
21/10/2014, 5:49 AM
Stephen Kenny was the opposing manager that night too.
patrickccfc
21/10/2014, 6:18 AM
Stephen Kenny was the opposing manager that night too.
We had Kearney and o Flynn that night and we will again on Friday
C) Colin Healy calmly dispossesses him, goes forward and scores a screamer.
or more likely
D) Richie tries something fancy and makes an arse of it
desaintsno.12
21/10/2014, 8:16 AM
e) Healy politely asks for the ball, Towell recognises Healys request and obliges. Towell then trips of his own accord, falls on Healys foot, and as usual, the anti-cork ref steps in and gives the free and Cork are ridden rock solid - but they dont circle the ref and whinge for ten minutes at every decision, and if you see that you are just anti-cork !! The anti-cork media report it as a foul too of course, but what do they know.
Real ale Madrid
21/10/2014, 8:58 AM
I'd go for B) to be honest - we will win the league at some stage in the future - that 0 fouls in 1 year statistic will never be repeated.
Bosco
21/10/2014, 10:01 AM
Wanted Dundalk to win it most of the season and i'd be happy for Kenny but after Cork's comeback it'd be hard to begrudge them the title.
With regards to relegation, hope Ucd go down, the Bowl is one of the few grounds in the country I haven't been in but I think I can live with that for another while. Hopefully it's Athlone and Galway in the play off, flip of a coin as to who i'd prefer. Would prefer to see Galway do well but i'd be lying if I said I wouldn't like to see Athlone and Longford playing each other in the Premier.
White Horse
21/10/2014, 2:23 PM
Another 750 tickets go on sale in the morning.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/ticket-update-tuesday/
Dundalk FC will be releasing approximately 750 more tickets for sale on Wednesday morning at 9am.
A temporary stand will be constructed behind the Carrick Road end goal for Dundalk supporters only.
•All of these tickets are full price €15 tickets. There are no concession tickets for this stand.
•Tickets go on sale from the Oriel Park ticket office at 9am, Wednesday.
•Tickets will be sold on a first come first served basis.
•Tickets will be restricted to two tickets per person.
•These tickets will only provide access to the temporary stand (Hiney Park Stand). These tickets will not allow for access to the Shed.
•No tickets can be reserved over the phone and set aside for collection.
What is the official ticket sale so far?
How many did City get?
El-Pietro
21/10/2014, 2:32 PM
Maxi is after getting a Dundalk 2014 Champions tattoo.
El-Pietro
21/10/2014, 2:33 PM
City got 600.
This 750 should bring capactity close to 5250. More than 11%.