View Full Version : Dundalk V Cork

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

White Horse
21/10/2014, 2:35 PM
City got 600.

This 750 should bring capactity close to 5250. More than 11%.

Did ye not also get an allocation in the stand. There are usually 100 away seats there. Cork may not have put these up for sale to fans.

21/10/2014, 2:41 PM
Maxi is after getting a Dundalk 2014 Champions tattoo.
http://i59.tinypic.com/vd07tj.jpg

I was indifferent about who'd win before, but now my mind is made up.

marty
21/10/2014, 2:41 PM
Fair play....going to be a great occasion and best of luck to both teams.Both teams deserve credit as I would have put both clubs as maybe cup finalists but not league contenders! I don't envy either by the way,the nerves would be shot.

El-Pietro
21/10/2014, 2:50 PM
Did ye not also get an allocation in the stand. There are usually 100 away seats there. Cork may not have put these up for sale to fans.
I don't know. No one I know has one, and when i went to buy mine on Saturday I wasn't offered the opportunity.

I do know one City fan is after buying some online for that section. That is going to be interesting.

Edit: Entirely possible the 100 Stand tickets went to players/sponsors.

White Horse
21/10/2014, 2:58 PM
I don't know. No one I know has one, and when i went to buy mine on Saturday I wasn't offered the opportunity.

I do know one City fan is after buying some online for that section. That is going to be interesting.

Edit: Entirely possible the 100 Stand tickets went to players/sponsors.

I suspect Cork kept these tickets for the families of players. I'd imagine there will quite a big demand from players to bring families considering what is at stake.

These tickets are separate from the allocation for officials and directors. They are seated elsewhere in the main stand.

If Cork fans have "home" tickets for anywhere, the stand would be the best and safest place. The stand in Oriel Park tends to have mostly elderly fans and people with young familes.

El-Pietro
21/10/2014, 3:05 PM
there is somewhere in the region of 100-200 home tickets in the hands of city fans. im glad im not one of them. I reckon if they show any sign of being city fans they will be removed

White Horse
21/10/2014, 3:10 PM
there is somewhere in the region of 100-200 home tickets in the hands of city fans. im glad im not one of them. I reckon if they show any sign of being city fans they will be removed

If they are sensible and stay in small groups, they'll be fine. If they have ground tickets, they should stay as far away from the shed as possible. The trick will be to avoid drawing attention to themselves.

21/10/2014, 3:16 PM
As long as they stay away from the Shamrock Rovers fans they should be grand.

Real ale Madrid
21/10/2014, 3:29 PM
As long as they stay away from the Shamrock Rovers fans they should be grand.

In fairness - thats just good life advice not just for Friday night.

21/10/2014, 3:32 PM
In fairness - thats just good life advice not just for Friday night.
You people aren't fit to stand under our umbrellas.

21/10/2014, 3:33 PM
http://cdn.meme.am/instances/400x/49534935.jpg

Real ale Madrid
21/10/2014, 4:20 PM
God I hate the word "banter".

Whatever happened to "having the craic"?

Yossarian
21/10/2014, 4:27 PM

I didn't think he could become more of a joke. Does he not realise there is a good chance Cork will win it.

21/10/2014, 4:29 PM
I didn't think he could become more of a joke. Does he not realise there is a good chance Cork will win it.
This is the same guy who thought getting his team an €18k fine was a heroic act of defiance on their behalf. He probably thinks this makes him the definition of hardcore, instead of the definition of idiocy.

Yossarian
21/10/2014, 4:31 PM
This is the same guy who thought getting his team an €18k fine was a heroic act of defiance on their behalf. He probably thinks this makes him the definition of hardcore, instead of the definition of idiocy.

It's an embarrassment to the human race, not just Dundalk.

oriel
21/10/2014, 4:41 PM
As one of the lads on oriel web said, if we don't win it on Friday, he can go back and add in the word 'cup' after league.

Real ale Madrid
21/10/2014, 5:28 PM
As one of the lads on oriel web said, if we don't win it on Friday, he can go back and add in the word 'cup' after league.

Where?

jinxy lilywhite
21/10/2014, 6:07 PM
Up his effin ass ffs.

Good to hear that more tickets will be available.

21/10/2014, 6:31 PM
If you where a CORK lad/lass trying to blag a ticket in Dundalk how would you go about it?
Remember the Dundalk accent is not in any way like a Ardee accent!HEY
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B0AedLzIIAAwf09.jpg:large

oriel
21/10/2014, 6:31 PM
Where?

As in league cup, I was poking fun at him, which isn't hard really.

More importantly is the additional 750 tickets now for Dundalk fans, meaning we will have supporters on all 4 sides now.

Real ale Madrid
21/10/2014, 6:36 PM
As in league cup, I was poking fun at him, which isn't hard really.

Yeah no room between League and champions though! It's ok mind - jinxy has already said where he is sticking the cup after the game!

White Horse
21/10/2014, 6:42 PM
It's one think Maxi jumping the gun but Cork City FC?

http://i.imgur.com/yWXs9CE.jpg

By the way check your spelling.

21/10/2014, 7:24 PM
To be fair, companies send those out to try and get you to order a batch. I'm guessing Cork won't be taking them up based on the standard of workmanship.

jinxy lilywhite
21/10/2014, 8:08 PM
To be fair, companies send those out to try and get you to order a batch. I'm guessing Cork won't be taking them up based on the standard of workmanship.

Why what's wrong with the workmanship?

$80m turnover would say differently

Yossarian
21/10/2014, 8:15 PM
Why what's wrong with the workmanship?

"Airticity" perhaps!

Or maybe that's a different competition that Cork have already won!

jinxy lilywhite
21/10/2014, 8:28 PM
"Airticity" perhaps!

Or maybe that's a different competition that Cork have already won!

Lol I didn't notice that.

However the customer does specify what they want on the pens or any other promotional product.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/10/2014, 8:36 PM
Going by the medals for the cup final last year maybe the FAI ordered them

21/10/2014, 8:57 PM
Yeah, your fan claims we supposedly ordered 3500 of these(more than our average home gate) , with the wrong spelling, despite another of your fans who works at the company saying we actually ordered 30th anniversary pens.

Worst wind up attempt ever.

Yossarian
21/10/2014, 9:12 PM
Yeah, your fan claims we supposedly ordered 3500 of these(more than our average home gate) , with the wrong spelling, despite another of your fans who works at the company saying we actually ordered 30th anniversary pens.

Worst wind up attempt ever.

Pretty poor alright. Probably works there himself and did up the pen. And couldn't even do that right.

21/10/2014, 9:17 PM
What harm. Would have been a decent attempt at banter if he'd been a bit more subtle.... And able to spell.

21/10/2014, 9:48 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B0gEepiCQAAJNwF.jpg

Is this for real?

White Horse
21/10/2014, 9:54 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B0gEepiCQAAJNwF.jpg

Is this for real?

Nah, we be able to charge a lot more than 14.99.

If we put them on the web-site for that price, they'd all be snapped up by Cork fans.

21/10/2014, 9:58 PM
I'm surprised it doesn't say "We Are The Champions"

Is it just another wind-up then? I couldn't find anything on the website.

White Horse
21/10/2014, 10:29 PM
I'm surprised it doesn't say "We Are The Champions"

That is so 2013.

21/10/2014, 10:39 PM
Only because Pats got a draw in Oriel this year!

21/10/2014, 10:40 PM
Galway. For the love of god Galway
Easy to get onboard now that they're 2-0 up.

Even Shels fans have given up. I've moved my opprobrium to Athlone now.

Paddyfield
21/10/2014, 10:51 PM
Easy to get onboard now that they're 2-0 up.

Even Shels fans have given up. I've moved my opprobrium to Athlone now.

Easy on there. In 2003, we won 2 - 0 at home versus Da Drogs in play-off final, first leg.

In the second leg at United Park, we lost 3 - 0 and stayed in First Division. And we had 2 goals disallowed.

The memory is still vivid and raw....!

DannyInvincible
22/10/2014, 1:49 AM

I know it's Maxi, but I'm still cringing for him. :bulgy:

I've nout against either team, so no real preference really. I fancy Cork to see it through though; as they've done before on the final day of the season in 2005 against a Stephen Kenny side. The weather will be poor and Kenny is a habitual bottler, unfortunately. I just hope the weather doesn't ruin the spectacle.

White Horse
22/10/2014, 8:31 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B0iVGS_IAAAQe6r.jpg

The queue at Oriel Park for the extra tickets that are going on sale this morning.

colonelwest
22/10/2014, 10:07 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B0iVGS_IAAAQe6r.jpg

The queue at Oriel Park for the extra tickets that are going on sale this morning.

Jim McLaughlin at the head of it according to Gavin from the Demo!

White Horse
22/10/2014, 10:14 AM
Jim McLaughlin at the head of it according to Gavin from the Demo!

Yes, he was there. Presumably, picking up tickets for family or friends. Jim is guaranteed a seat in Oriel Park, and I'd imagine quite a few LOI grounds.

22/10/2014, 10:34 AM
Yes, he was there. Presumably, picking up tickets for family or friends. Jim is guaranteed a seat in Oriel Park, and I'd imagine quite a few LOI grounds.

I'd say all of them, without question.

22/10/2014, 10:44 AM
We might squeeze him into Section O

seand
22/10/2014, 11:29 AM
All sold out in half an hour, unsurprisingly, with hundreds more in the queue. Sure we love the oul football. As mentioned elsewhere our attendance for our last league game of the season two years ago was in the region of 250.

22/10/2014, 11:57 AM
Easy on there. In 2003, we won 2 - 0 at home versus Da Drogs in play-off final, first leg.

In the second leg at United Park, we lost 3 - 0 and stayed in First Division. And we had 2 goals disallowed.

The memory is still vivid and raw....!

We can but hope and dream.

DannyInvincible
22/10/2014, 12:23 PM
The weather forecast for Friday in Dundalk isn't so bad actually. 12 degrees celsius with some rain and a light wind. What happened to all the talk of Ireland and Britain getting the blustery tail-end of Gonzalo this week? Was that just to be yesterday then?

22/10/2014, 12:36 PM
Hopefully those 250 are there to enjoy Friday

oriel
22/10/2014, 12:46 PM
All sold out in half an hour, unsurprisingly, with hundreds more in the queue. Sure we love the oul football. As mentioned elsewhere our attendance for our last league game of the season two years ago was in the region of 250.

This is partically correct, it was the last scheduled league game of 2012, however a week later 1,500 attended for the home leg of the play off v Waterford.

White Horse
22/10/2014, 12:48 PM
This is partically correct, it was the last scheduled league game of 2012, however a week later 1,500 attended for the home leg of the play off v Waterford.

And a thousand travelled to Waterford for the 2nd leg when it seemed that we were going down.

punkrocket
22/10/2014, 12:48 PM

I like the way there was a bit of extra space left over the word League just in case the word nearly had to be inserted later.