View Full Version : Dundalk V Cork

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

25/10/2014, 2:40 AM
Party hard later.Long,long,longggg weekend ahead.
Thats the price you pay for success i suppose!
Hit the Emerald tomorrow for me :ball:

25/10/2014, 3:02 AM
Hit the Emerald tomorrow for me :ball:
I've been in there about 20 times.They like a team in a hooped shirt in that pub alright but unfourunatly not REAL Irish hoops.More them ones that pays bucket load of cash in tax to HM Goverment.

25/10/2014, 3:51 AM
I've been in there about 20 times.They like a team in a hooped shirt in that pub alright but unfourunatly not REAL Irish hoops.More them ones that pays bucket load of cash in tax to HM Goverment.
Ha, I got that impression. In their defence, Celtic are the most Irish club in the world. Dundalk or Shamrock Rovers just can't compete with that level of Irishness.

Straightstory
25/10/2014, 9:28 AM
Odd to see so may empty seats in the Cork end after all the hype about it being a sell-out. It seemed to get even emptier as the game went on. Where did they go?!?
The game was a bad advertisement for the League. Dundalk had some good passages of play, but in the second 45 mins especially, both teams couldn't do much better than kick the ball into the other half. Very disappointing for all hoping for a showpiece, but neither team could really deal with the tension. Dundalk deserved it.

adamd164
25/10/2014, 9:32 AM
Odd to see so may empty seats in the Cork end after all the hype about it being a sell-out.

That wasn't the Cork end. All our fans were standing on the wide open terrace - that's the away section. The empty seats were all home section.

25/10/2014, 10:08 AM
Dundalk fans with tickets for that stand ignored stewarding and went to the Shed.But tell no-one ok ;)

PartySaint
25/10/2014, 12:12 PM
To PartySaint and all the rest.I guess it's ok to play this now?With Love from Mickey Duffy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04854XqcfCY

Now is the right time to play it :D enjoy.

The Donie Forde
25/10/2014, 12:36 PM
Was there an actual attendance posted anywhere?
Didn't spot one.

jinxy lilywhite
25/10/2014, 6:43 PM
CHAMP10NS

Great game from start to finish. Actually I lost my voice. If anyone finds it please send me a PM.

Kudos to travelling CCFC fans,. your a delight and credit to your city and your club.

disgruntled
25/10/2014, 6:43 PM
Was there an actual attendance posted anywhere?
Didn't spot one.

I thought I saw 4k + mentioned somewhere. ?
Lots of empty seats on that temp stand.

jinxy lilywhite
25/10/2014, 6:50 PM
I thought I saw 4k + mentioned somewhere. ?
Lots of empty seats on that temp stand.

People who had tickets for that stand either went into the shed or went behind the town end goals. Personally I thought it looked great. It encloses OP in and I would love to see it as a perm fixture and also if it could go in on the town end side.

On attendance I think orielweb said 5,300 but there was no announcement that I could hear

The Donie Forde
25/10/2014, 8:24 PM
People who had tickets for that stand either went into the shed or went behind the town end goals. Personally I thought it looked great. It encloses OP in and I would love to see it as a perm fixture and also if it could go in on the town end side.

On attendance I think orielweb said 5,300 but there was no announcement that I could hear

I'd seen 4k+, 5k+, 5.5k.
Just thought there might have been a precise figure given somewhere. Must be the biggest at the venue in quite a while?
Any Dalkie know when 5k was last topped for a domestic game at OP?

jinxy lilywhite
25/10/2014, 11:02 PM
For a domestic match it must be during the 87/88 double winning season. I think possibly the Derry game, the one that created the oriel roar. Though last night's match would probably better that in years to come.

The 94\95 season definitely didn't get anywhere near a max attendance of 2.5k

Pablo Escobar
25/10/2014, 11:28 PM
The game basically went as I expected. It was my first time in Oriel. That away section is brutal. The town kind of reminds me of Pripyat.

The league win was deserved over the course of the season. I'm delighted with our season. It's been a resounding success.

26/10/2014, 1:57 AM
The town kind of reminds me of Pripyat.

Could be worse at least it didnt remind ye of Drogheda :rolleyes:

Pablo Escobar
26/10/2014, 5:37 AM
Could be worse at least it didnt remind ye of Drogheda :rolleyes:
This is true.

legendz
26/10/2014, 6:16 AM
Last 10 champions:
2014 Dundalk
2013 St. Patrick's Athletic
2012 Sligo Rovers
2011 Shamrock Rovers
2010 Shamrock Rovers
2009 Bohemians
2008 Bohemians
2007 Drogheda United
2006 Shelbourne
2005 Cork City

8 different champions over a 10 year period is far from predictable and reflects a competitive league.

Ezeikial
26/10/2014, 11:55 AM
The game basically went as I expected. It was my first time in Oriel. That away section is brutal. The town kind of reminds me of Pripyat.

Reminds you of Pripyat? When did you visit there?

Or maybe you too went to the Emerald Bar?

Thankfully most Cork supporters were good craic pre and post match and mingled well in the pubs with a largely welcoming home support.

Pablo Escobar
26/10/2014, 2:52 PM
Reminds you of Pripyat? When did you visit there?

Or maybe you too went to the Emerald Bar?

Thankfully most Cork supporters were good craic pre and post match and mingled well in the pubs with a largely welcoming home support.

I was one of the ones that mingled well. A lot of our fans made the comparison to a nuclear wasteland. Let's face it, it's not the nicest place in the world.

26/10/2014, 5:10 PM
It must be bad in Dundalk, when visitors

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/97/Skibbereen_by_James_Mahony%2C_1847.JPG/225px-Skibbereen_by_James_Mahony%2C_1847.JPG
from the most impoversished area in Ireland, say it's bad.

jinxy lilywhite
26/10/2014, 6:49 PM
Typical narrow minded attitude by ignorant people.
Tbh I don't know what Snr Escobar was looking for? The palace or Versailles, hanging gardens of Babylon? Let us know we can try to have something for you for your next trip to the north east

26/10/2014, 6:52 PM
The match doesn't seem to be on RTE player, at least not on my TV. Can anybody tell me if Cork committed a foul or did they preserve their moral perfection to the very last?

White Horse
26/10/2014, 6:56 PM
The match doesn't seem to be on RTE player, at least not on my TV. Can anybody tell me if Cork committed a foul or did they preserve their moral perfection to the very last?

I think they may qualify for the Guinness Book Of Records by committing the quickest foul in football history. 0.7 seconds according to my stop watch.

Very untypical of them.

26/10/2014, 7:00 PM
I think they may qualify for the Guinness Book Of Records by committing the quickest foul in football history. 0.7 seconds according to my stop watch.

Very untypical of them.
I hope it wasn't serious. I heard Dundalk let the physio and doctor go on holiday a week early as they wouldn't be needed.

26/10/2014, 7:10 PM
Last 10 champions:
2014 Dundalk
2013 St. Patrick's Athletic
2012 Sligo Rovers
2011 Shamrock Rovers
2010 Shamrock Rovers
2009 Bohemians
2008 Bohemians
2007 Drogheda United
2006 Shelbourne
2005 Cork City

8 different champions over a 10 year period is far from predictable and reflects a competitive league.

And only 7 of those clubs still with us.

26/10/2014, 7:25 PM
And only 7 of those clubs still with us.
Which one did Roddy manage again?

26/10/2014, 8:13 PM
Which one did Roddy manage again?

I dunno. He's never been relegated. Couldn't be Shams.

26/10/2014, 8:24 PM
I dunno. He's never been relegated. Couldn't be Shams.
It's hard to believe anybody managed to win the league without him being in charge.

26/10/2014, 8:51 PM
It's hard to believe anybody managed to win the league without him being in charge.
It is something. A remarkable record for those clubs to succeed in such adversity.

26/10/2014, 11:25 PM
Still sick, congrats to Dundalk.
Lots of negatives around the organisation of such a huge game, these will be going through the proper channels.
Lots of restraint shown by our fans and players.
For all the scumbags and FAI stewards shipped in from Dubland there are decent Dundalk folk also.
Credit to them and their team, we'll be back.(challenging, maybe not to Dundalk)

26/10/2014, 11:30 PM
Still getting the head around it!

From extinction to champions.

27/10/2014, 12:41 AM
Surprised it's taken two days for somebody to blame Dublin for something going wrong. Stunned it's come from a Cork fan.

White Horse
27/10/2014, 7:39 AM
Lots of negatives around the organisation of such a huge game, these will be going through the proper channels.
For all the scumbags and FAI stewards shipped in from Dubland there are decent Dundalk folk also.
Credit to them and their team, we'll be back.(challenging, maybe not to Dundalk)

If the roles were reversed and Cork won the title at Turners Cross, would anything really have been that different?

Pablo Escobar
27/10/2014, 7:44 AM
Because of the risek of causing further offence on this thread, I'll start by distancing myself from the Dublin comment as I know nothing of it. But otherwise this is a very good post. A lot of people I spoke to said there was 100 plus scum taunting us and throwing missiles after the game. The fact is there was no more than 30, if even, there just looked more. That's still a sizeable number, but must be so frustrating for the genuine fans. Our lack of reaction is definitely to be commended. They struggled to hold them back, so they wouldn't have had a chance had we reacted.

White Horse
27/10/2014, 8:05 AM
Our lack of reaction is definitely to be commended. They struggled to hold them back, so they wouldn't have had a chance had we reacted.

That is an important point to make. The dignity with which Cork accepted the result was to their immense credit. They did not react to the scumbags whose own reaction to victory was to goad away fans rather than go an embrace their team.

While jubilant at the end of the game, I felt very sorry for the Cork players who did not have the opportunity to join in with their fans to celebrate a brilliant season.

Daniel McDonnell refers to this incident in the Indo today:

Classy Cork deserved better than taunts

Dundalk grabbed the headlines over the weekend but the class showed by Cork in defeat should be recognised, with manager John Caulfield setting the example.

The one souring aspect of Friday was the idiocy of a gang of local punters who chose to make their way across the pitch towards the away support - housed in a section that remains inadequate for travelling fans - and taunt them after the final whistle.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalk-joy-at-title-win-shows-why-local-game-matters-30694832.html

Pablo Escobar
27/10/2014, 9:25 AM
That is an important point to make. The dignity with which Cork accepted the result was to their immense credit. They did not react to the scumbags whose own reaction to victory was to goad away fans rather than go an embrace their team.

While jubilant at the end of the game, I felt very sorry for the Cork players who did not have the opportunity to join in with their fans to celebrate a brilliant season.

Daniel McDonnell refers to this incident in the Indo today:

Classy Cork deserved better than taunts

Dundalk grabbed the headlines over the weekend but the class showed by Cork in defeat should be recognised, with manager John Caulfield setting the example.

The one souring aspect of Friday was the idiocy of a gang of local punters who chose to make their way across the pitch towards the away support - housed in a section that remains inadequate for travelling fans - and taunt them after the final whistle.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalk-joy-at-title-win-shows-why-local-game-matters-30694832.html

I felt sorry for the Dundalk fans that saw what was happening and came over to applaud us and then were pushed back by security. It's totally understandable, but a really stupid situation.

As for taking defeat with grace, there was a lot of banter on here, but most, if not all City fans would have acknowledged that we were 2nd best to Dundalk for the majority of the season. It's been a hugely successful year for us and overall I'm delighted.

Ezeikial
27/10/2014, 3:01 PM
Because of the risek of causing further offence on this thread,

I came across this wonderful piece by Mark Twain and couldn't but think of your recent nuclear barb -

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.”
― Mark Twain (http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1244.Mark_Twain), Mark Twain: The Innocents Abroad/Roughing It (http://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/6551286)

Pablo Escobar
27/10/2014, 5:02 PM
I came across this wonderful piece by Mark Twain and couldn't but think of your recent nuclear barb -
You've really taken this one to heart. Lighten up and enjoy you're league win FFS :D

Paddyfield
27/10/2014, 6:55 PM
Were there many locals (from Louth) in the Dundalk squad?

Ezeikial
27/10/2014, 7:43 PM
You've really taken this one to heart. Lighten up and enjoy you're league win FFS :D

I can assure you that I am thoroughly enjoying the league win - last Friday evening was one of the most exhilarating sporting experiences of my life!

That does not mean that I can't find time and energy to remark on your cheap and facile barb - especially as it was pretty untypical of the gregarious and friendly majority I met last Friday

Ezeikial
27/10/2014, 7:48 PM
Were there many locals (from Louth) in the Dundalk squad?

Simon Kelly, Marc Griffin, Conor McDonald, Ciaran O'Connor and George Poynton are the only locals in the 23 man squad listed on dundalkfc.com

There are precious few first team appearances between the 5 of them

El-Pietro
27/10/2014, 7:53 PM
would Ross Gaynor (9) have more for City than they have for Dundalk combined?

El-Pietro
27/10/2014, 7:57 PM
According to Soccerway:

Ross Gaynor 9 Starts, 9 appearances, 762 minutes
Marc Griffin, 0 Starts, 9 appearances, 106 minutes
The rest: 0, 0, 0

oriel
27/10/2014, 8:39 PM
Because of the risek of causing further offence on this thread, I'll start by distancing myself from the Dublin comment as I know nothing of it. But otherwise this is a very good post. A lot of people I spoke to said there was 100 plus scum taunting us and throwing missiles after the game. The fact is there was no more than 30, if even, there just looked more. That's still a sizeable number, but must be so frustrating for the genuine fans. Our lack of reaction is definitely to be commended. They struggled to hold them back, so they wouldn't have had a chance had we reacted.

As I said on a previous thread, maybe this, last few days been a daze, this was totally unacceptable behaviour by a minority of Dundalk fans. It was very disappointing to hear as it was totally against the atmosphere that was building all day. Myself and other long time Dundalk fans made it our business to be friendly to all the city fans we met and we enjoyed the craic pre match. I'm sorry this happened and hope it didn't ruin your day, although understandably it must have been a tough trip home.

Part of me still cant believe we are champions of Ireland, it was just a superb night and the celebrations went on long into the night on Friday and again over the weekend, I also enjoyed the print media, some great articles about the game and Dundalk especially in the Indo, I cant wait for Soccer Republic.

oriel
27/10/2014, 8:43 PM
Simon Kelly, Marc Griffin, Conor McDonald, Ciaran O'Connor and George Poynton are the only locals in the 23 man squad listed on dundalkfc.com

There are precious few first team appearances between the 5 of them

Peter Cherrie although a Scot is living in the town for almost 6 years now. He would probably see himself as 'a local' by now.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/10/2014, 9:21 PM
As I said on a previous thread, maybe this, last few days been a daze, this was totally unacceptable behaviour by a minority of Dundalk fans. It was very disappointing to hear as it was totally against the atmosphere that was building all day. Myself and other long time Dundalk fans made it our business to be friendly to all the city fans we met and we enjoyed the craic pre match. I'm sorry this happened and hope it didn't ruin your day, although understandably it must have been a tough trip home.

Part of me still cant believe we are champions of Ireland, it was just a superb night and the celebrations went on long into the night on Friday and again over the weekend, I also enjoyed the print media, some great articles about the game and Dundalk especially in the Indo, I cant wait for Soccer Republic.

Point of order. We're champions of Ireland!

Hope ye enjoyed the celebrations. Certainly deserved them.

dundalkfc10
27/10/2014, 9:59 PM

Its still going...Just home as Ive work tomorrow and Peader McArdles and Courtneys were both bouncing with Dundalk songs. My Grandad told me earlier, he has never seen such excitment and celebrations ever over Dundalk winning a League Title! The whole Town is on a high and id say all the publicans are rolling in the money after the weekend.

Civic Reception at the Square on Saturday Night should also be a great night..I hear the SSA are planning a display for it, pity Richie wont be their (best of luck to him)

27/10/2014, 10:50 PM
If the roles were reversed and Cork won the title at Turners Cross, would anything really have been that different?Our match night team have been fantastic all season and are well used to large crowds so I'd say most definitely.

desaintsno.12
28/10/2014, 8:02 AM

bravo.... thats a cracking line .
did stewards give you shiiit about the chip on your shoulder ? everyone is out to get Cork.

Real ale Madrid
28/10/2014, 8:17 AM

I didn't see us make a single foul during the entire game - but that anti-cork refereeing kicked in from the very first second.

Joking aside - I thought Mark Sull was lucky enough the ref didn't see the early tackle on Chris Shields - I thought it was clumsy at best and if seen could have been a straight red.