View Full Version : Germany V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 14th October 2014 - Euro 2016 Qualifier
Pages :
[
3]
14/10/2014, 8:45 PM
Great result and solid performance.
Bar Quinn's brain freeze in letting one of the most dangerous strikers of the ball in world football having a free shot on goal I thought the team contained Germany for large spells.
Cracking touch and finish by Hendrick/O'Shea.
backstothewall
Dear God
Please give me the strength not to get ****ed and send abusive emails to our salesman in Germany
Amen
TheOneWhoKnocks
Hendrick and Hoolahan have proven why they have to have an increased role. Fair dues to Walters too and i'm his biggest critic. Great finish by O'Shea who was fantastic.
14/10/2014, 8:46 PM
Twas a poor cross I thought. Too deep. The first time return (was it Gibson?) made the goal.
We did improve when Wes came on, but I didn't think it was down to him.
Will take the point though!
Germany very poor, even though they should have had two or three.
NeverFeltBetter
14/10/2014, 8:48 PM
Seriously mixed feelings. Elated by the finish. We pressed Germany back in injury time, played positively, made chances. Yeah,ma bit of luck, but we made our own luck. Holy God. More of that from now on.
We actually gave the World Champions a game at times, and what a change from two years ago. Thought we defended very well in large parts, especially after the first 20 minutes or so, and Germany had surprisingly few shots on target. Quinn obviously at fault for the goal, hopefully he'll learn from it. Thought Forde and O'Shea were outstanding.
McClean worked hard without much end product, used his pace to get in the way and aid the defence, crossing could have been better. McGeady not great until the last 20, found a second wind. Gibson and Hoolahn's inclusion altered way the team played, in a way that has to be seared into O'Neill's mind now. Decision making by some midfielders when pressing into the last third was disastrous, some terrible passes (or lack of them)Forward's were wasted by the system for most of the game, Walters a bit better than Keane because he was able to get back and and defence frequently enough, Keane was nowhere.
Delighted to see the effort after conceding. Belief, heart, whatever you want to call it. If O'Neill/Keane have instilled that again, then fair play to them. A brilliant, hard-won point, even better than Moscow. On to Scotland now.
On Germany, we should be honest, they weren't themselves tonight. Surprised at their lack of precision with the final ball, its clear injuries have played their part and left them rattled. And we took advantage. Joint top of the table!
TheOneWhoKnocks
14/10/2014, 8:49 PM
Beautiful technique by Hendrick. Great play by Hoolahan and Hendrick in build up to goal, touches of Poland friendly. Ward was a hero. Special mention for staying on when injured and remaining influential. Meyler, too, wow. Well done.
backstothewall
Ward should head off. No point in risking further injury here, Ireland have no way back.
This is my favourite post of the night
Edit: Just realised this could be seen as taking the ****. Not intended. I don't think anyone seen us getting a point at that stage.
DeLorean
Well ArdeeBhoy, what dju think of dat??!!
http://c2.thejournal.ie/media/2014/09/donaghy-630x260.png
14/10/2014, 8:52 PM
Well ArdeeBhoy, what dju think of dat??!
I think for 5 minutes (at least), he'll be all right with the world.
14/10/2014, 8:53 PM
Twas a poor cross I thought. Too deep. The first time return (was it Gibson?) made the goal.
We did improve when Wes came on, but I didn't think it was down to him.
Will take the point though!
Germany very poor, even though they should have had two or three.
Was Hendrick, I'd agree it was not a great cross, I did say Wes provided the cross
but it hardly made the goal, Hendrick deserves a lot of credit for turning it back
in and O'Shea did brilliant to steer it in.
But I think you can say it was the right sort of cross, it created a chance
which is what was needed so maybe it was a great cross over all, other players
eg McClean of McGEady might have balooned it out of play but Wes made sure
it stayed in play and gave us a chance to created a goal.
Indeed he put in in high so that would kind of drag the playover to that side
making a bit of space centrally.
Anyhow 1-1 is a lot better than 1-0
14/10/2014, 9:02 PM
Going on what we have seen so far there is a good chance Germany won't qualify,
however in their away games when teams park the bus a little further from goal
Germany may well rip them to shreds.
NeverFeltBetter
14/10/2014, 9:02 PM
Which German defender got mugged for the goal? Surprised O'Shea got in ahead of him.
14/10/2014, 9:03 PM
The more I see it the more impressive o'shea's finish is. Think Meyler probably deserves a mention for his defensive performance considering he was playing out of position. He rushed a few clearances and might have used the ball better going forward but don't think he was really caught out defensively at all.
14/10/2014, 9:04 PM
Was Hendrick, I'd agree it was not a great cross, I did say Wes provided the cross
but it hardly made the goal, Hendrick deserves a lot of credit for turning it back
Indeed he put in in high so that would kind of drag the playover to that side
making a bit of space centrally.
Anyhow 1-1 is a lot better than 1-0
it was a perfect control and pass by Mcgeady in a cul de sac, a perfect cross by Wes, a perfect cut back and a perfect contact by O'Shea
What are you idiots on about?
14/10/2014, 9:08 PM
it was a perfect control and pass by Mcgeady in a cul de sac, a perfect cross by Wes, a perfect cut back and a perfect contact by O'Shea
What are you idiots on about?
Just giving fair assessment of the goal no an overly flattering partisan view.
14/10/2014, 9:11 PM
Scotland having lost to German is helpful to us.
14/10/2014, 9:14 PM
Northern Ireland doing well 9 from 9 beating the top sides in the group away from home
gastric
14/10/2014, 9:16 PM
Brilliant result! Never gave up and what a beautiful goal. Considering we were without Coleman and McCarthy too. Hoolahan and McGeady give us a creative edge we never saw under Trap. If O'Neill is willing to play them together against Germany away, hopefully we will see more of it, and I for one, can't wait. COYBIG!
Are we happy with the Polish/ Scottish result?
14/10/2014, 9:20 PM
It was certainly a better cross than most over the evening. In fact, I thought that was a worry. When you're defending for that long, you have to make your attacks count. Yet how many poor crosses did we put in? Something that needs to be worked on I think.
Similarly, was a bit surprised at McClean as man of the match (if we allow that no German was eligible, of course). He put in a good shift defensively, but I think it has to count against him that his crosses were iffy. He created a bit - the chance Neuer took off Keane's boot in the first half - but not enough for man of the match (which I thought had to go to Forde who, brain fart aside, was excellent)
Don't think there's a chance of Germany not qualifying. If nothing else, they've played all the three contenders, and now have Georgia and Gibraltar left. They'll win those and watch us, Scotland and Poland take points off each other. They mayn't win the group, but they'll get through.
On a broader level, there's been enough upsets around Europe the past few games to indicate that a 24-team Euros mayn't be as bad as people fear. Iceland beating Holland, Slovakia beating Spain, Albania beating Portugal, Poland beating Germany, us drawing with Germany, even Scotland nearly getting a draw there. The North on three wins from three; Bosnis back from the World Cup but with no wins in three. A very open qualifying campaign.
a perfect cross by Wes
Perfect?
Lulz
14/10/2014, 9:20 PM
Just giving fair assessment of the goal no an overly flattering partisan view.
AKA pretentious pedantic boring old farts, Tricky, you can do better than that and just celebrate the extraordinary.
SwanVsDalton
14/10/2014, 9:21 PM
Considering the trauma of the last 30 months, previous results against this team, the pedigree of the opposition and some of the combinations we had to play (Meyler at RB etc), this was an excellent performance and a major, major result.
No need to get carried away - Germany were well below par, we created very little and, indeed, occasionally endeavoured to shoot ourselves in the foot with some hasty clearances. If anything this German team were even more for the taking than we acknowledged.
But after recent results, a bit of reticence and lack of composure is understandable. All things considered - the fight, spirit and intensity - was right up there and it's a great point.
It's still all about the results against Scotland and Poland but we have a great basis to have a go at this.
SwanVsDalton
14/10/2014, 9:24 PM
Similarly, was a bit surprised at McClean as man of the match (if we allow that no German was eligible, of course). He put in a good shift defensively, but I think it has to count against him that his crosses were iffy. He created a bit - the chance Neuer took off Keane's boot in the first half - but not enough for man of the match (which I thought had to go to Forde who, brain fart aside, was excellent)
He was MOTM for me. Right from the first whistle, he was composed and energetic. Even when the defence were losing their heads a bit in the first ten, he was very calm outlet and showed lots of maturity and bravery in taking on the Germans.
At times he was the only man doing it. Add to that a couple of decent crosses, some nice skill and trojan defensive work and tackling - I thought he was excellent. Aside from the crosses, he rarely (if ever) gave the ball away despite often receiving it far from the Irish goal and under pressure from German defenders.
14/10/2014, 9:28 PM
Haven't jumped or screamed as much as that since Robbie scored in Paris.
Get in Josh.
Hoolahan has to start. The difference he made was obvious.
Same as. Jumped off my barstool and nearly did a Keane cartwheel.
14/10/2014, 9:30 PM
The more I watched the cross the more I think he meant it to go somewhere there. Maybe not as deep as it ended up but definitely meant it. Shades of Breen's goal v Saudi Arabia too from JOSH.
But the real questions have to be asked: Will Paul manage to get back from Gelsenkirchen with his manbag? Or will he leave it behind after the YBIG lads give him the slip?
14/10/2014, 9:31 PM
Same as. Jumped off my barstool and nearly did a Keane cartwheel.
I was on a chair tonight. But the stunned silence of all the Poles around me made it more delicious. That's what they get for cheering on Germany.
14/10/2014, 9:33 PM
Shades of Breen's goal v Saudi Arabia too from JOSH.
A lovely mix of two great World Cup goals, all rolled into one. :)
In fact, why not watch again (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2014/1014/652375-video-john-oshea-scores-a-late-equaliser/)
And the last kick as well. Makes it even better!
SwanVsDalton
14/10/2014, 9:38 PM
Let's be honest lads. We thought the days of dramatic last minute equalisers against world class opposition had gone the way of Caleb Foran. I was slumped in me seat barely engaging with the play. Then - laptop nearly went crashing through the front window. And the neighbours were decidedly unhappy by whatever foghorn noise I was making.
DeLorean
14/10/2014, 9:39 PM
McClean and Meyler were our best 90minute men I think. Special shout out to Gibson who I thought was excellent on his introduction, I've given him plenty of stick in the past. It wasn't happening for Hoolahan but he kept showing and that was crucial in the final analysis. Hendrick's return into the danger area was a bit special as he had to readjust his whole body shape, very few would have made such a good job of it. McGeady had a tough night but, like Wes, didn't shy away from it and improved as we went in chase. Couldn't be bothered with any negatives right now, it would feel wrong. Buzzing.
the doc
14/10/2014, 9:40 PM
Great result but a poor performance.
Wilson was truly dreadful and will cost us points during this campaign.
However we live for tonight and I'm off to celebrate.
Paddy Garcia
14/10/2014, 9:43 PM
Keane fuming we let 2 points slip!
14/10/2014, 9:46 PM
Great result but a poor performance.
Wilson was truly dreadful and will cost us points during this campaign.
However we live for tonight and I'm off to celebrate.
The day has arrived. I'm in agreement with the doc!
14/10/2014, 9:47 PM
a lovely mix of two great world cup goals, all rolled into one. :)
in fact, why not watch again (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2014/1014/652375-video-john-oshea-scores-a-late-equaliser/)
and the last kick as well. Makes it even better!
yyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!
SwanVsDalton
14/10/2014, 9:48 PM
The day has arrived. I'm in agreement with the doc!
Hey ho! Ring those bells!
Not me though or, at least, not about tonight anyway. I thought Wilson was brave, tough and made some crucial interceptions. Just needs someone to slap him round the head and tell him enough with the thinking-he's-a-midfielder schtick.
14/10/2014, 9:50 PM
A lovely mix of two great World Cup goals, all rolled into one. :)
In fact, why not watch again (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2014/1014/652375-video-john-oshea-scores-a-late-equaliser/)
And the last kick as well. Makes it even better!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-4XJNVZmMU
Ah... memories!
SwanVsDalton
14/10/2014, 9:51 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-4XJNVZmMU
Ah... memories!
Great commentator reaction. "Terrific goal!" - really? I suppose when Gary Breen does anything it's pretty terrific.
Bottle of Tonic
14/10/2014, 9:58 PM
Which German defender got mugged for the goal? Surprised O'Shea got in ahead of him.
Think it was Mats Hummels.
Like many posters I was resigned to defeat there. Even switched over to the Scotland Poland game for 2 mins towards the end I was feeling so deflated. Celebrated the equaliser like the Ros had won an All Ireland.
Great group. Happy days. I love international football.
I still feel we are slightly behind Scotland (greater momentum - thank **** they didn't get independence) and Poland (several better players technically than us) but it will be close and all is to play for. The hope is that the Scots or Poles will knock themselves out with a couple of poor results in a row but everyone is fighting tooth and nail at this early juncture.
Despite tonight, Ireland still need to convince me under the new management. Glasgow will be the perfect acid test.
Crosby87
14/10/2014, 10:16 PM
Keane bringing up the rear in bleacher reports grades.
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2231630-germany-vs-rep-of-ireland-score-grades-and-reaction-from-euro-2016-qualifier
Crosby87
14/10/2014, 10:21 PM
Did you chaps see this nonsense from the serbia game? Its kinda funny:
https://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/early-doors/serbia-v-albania-suspended-after--drone--sparks-brawl-200752261.html
14/10/2014, 10:50 PM
Republic of Ireland Player Ratings
Starting XI
Rating
David Forde
David Meyler
John O'Shea
Marc Wilson
Stephen Ward
Glenn Whelan
Stephen Quinn
Jonathan Walters
Aiden McGeady
James McClean
Robbie Keane
Substitutes
Rating
Jeff Hendrick (for Whelan, 54')
Darron Gibson (for Keane, 63')
Wes Hoolahan (for Quinn, 76')
Source: WhoScored.com
14/10/2014, 10:52 PM
Did you chaps see this nonsense from the serbia game? Its kinda funny:
https://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/early-doors/serbia-v-albania-suspended-after--drone--sparks-brawl-200752261.html
Those drones are pretty interesting things. I have a feeling we will be seeing a lot more of them.
Crosby87
15/10/2014, 12:13 AM
Ive seen them outside Charlie Darwins bathroom window from time to time.
DannyInvincible
15/10/2014, 12:36 AM
Just going to fire off a quick overview before bed, but I'm absolutely buzzing off the result. I had butterflies all day and I nearly jumped through the roof when we scored. It's great to feel that again. F*cking get in! What a great position to be in going to Celtic Park where we could really deal Scotland a fatal blow.
O'Shea definitely meant it; great finish, great placement, letting it skim off the outside of the boot like that. Hendrick's salvaging of Hoolahan's "perfectly" wayward cross was exquisite. Running away from the action with his back to the ball, looking at it over his right shoulder only to have to turn his head to get a better view of it over his left; the ball was completely out of his line of vision for a split second, yet his awareness allowed him to make a complete 180 degree turn of body and connect perfectly with the ball upon turning to bring it back into the danger area at just the right height and pace for O'Shea to do it sweet, sweet justice. The pressure was on and Hendrick delivered with perfect precision. It was like out of a computer game, or out of this world even. :cool:
It was a brave performance all-round and we showed great spirit to fight until the death. Certainly, we were creatively limited for most of the duration of the game, but Whelan coming off seemed to improve us. The players looked like they really enjoyed that and it will do wonders for squad morale. It'll be a great boost of confidence. Why can't we think about topping the group now? We thought we'd all be playing second fiddle to Germany, but if we can manage at least a draw again in the return game at home and can out-point Scotland and Poland, as we were soberly hoping to do anyway, there's no reason to think top spot is a distant pipe-dream.
We were certainly shaky at times, true, but we frustrated Germany and largely kept them at bay. That requires immense concentration. They ended up bereft of ideas and their media will be livid. The goal was a disappointing one to give away; we could have closed Kroos down better as had a few spare men hovering around. Besides that, I thought Quinn was keen and sprightly; he certainly looked more mobile than Whelan next to him.
Just on Hoolahan, I didn't think he was great when he came on. Things didn't really work out for him. He was slipping, falling over and was easily dispossessed/gave the ball away. So, maybe not the Wessiah, after all, although I was inspired by how we finished the game generally and his introduction certainly played a factor in the more ambitious change of tone. Gibson also helped in that. On McClean, I thought he showed great endeavour throughout. He was tireless and fearless; what a great work ethic.
15/10/2014, 1:34 AM
Been offline for a few days (at a wedding). The 2 games went largely to script, but as we should know, scripts sometimes have a twist at the end. Delighted with the ending, and if I were MON now I would use the possitive feeling in the camp for the Scotland game. I didn't see the full Gibraltar game but from what I've heard there is very little to be learned.
We were outplayed for 74% of the game today but let's give credit to Ward, Meyler, especially O'Shea and Wilson today. It's very easy to switch off once or twice over 90 minutes but they did really well. Forde was great, really happy with him. Looking at the that back 5 before the game, I couldn't imagine them keeping the World Champions to 1 goal.
Let's be honest, Germany were, well they were well below par for World Champions. In general play they can pass it as good as the Spanish team of 4 years ago. But they had no end product.
I agree with McClean as MOTM, yes he overhit a cross in a great position, but he pinged in a couple of crosses low and hard that Robbie was more likely to score from than a curler at head height. He also wasn't afraid to be positive when he got the ball, whether it was deep in his own half or at the endline. They gave him specific instructions and he followed them. What I liked was when he gave a ball back to Ward or a midfielder, he immediately tried to get behind the fullback. McGeady for example on the opposite side late on, gave the ball to Hoolahan but didn't make the deep run.
In hindsight, I would still have played Long ahead of Keane, kept Wes and Keane until the end. Wes had a great chance, imagine it was a fresh Keane who had that chance.
O'Neill still hasn't hasn't given a concrete indication of what his style is. All 3 competitive games have been different.
It's infuriated watching Ireland knock it back to Forde continuosly and McGeady not fulfil his potential but that's not the managements fault. Well maybe it is but which management? Arguably it's all the Irish management, from U15 up.
I'd love to see us play football like Germany, Neuer to the fullback, back to Neuer, switch play, full back, midfieder, into Kroos, picking out 30 yard passes. That might happen, but not today or next week.
A lovely point to get, but I don't thing we are much closer to qualification. It'll still boil down to our games v Poland and Scotland and if we play like that against either, we'll be getting a draw at the most.
Crosby87
15/10/2014, 2:02 AM
Hoolahan has a big goal in him. It's time, I feel he deserves a chance and also it is time for him to deliver upon getting said chance.
We can handle Scotland in Celtic Park. You all have to get the positive vibe going on the mainland and travel to the dreary Trainspotting.....place.
Ireland 4 Scotties 2
Razors left peg
15/10/2014, 5:18 AM
I hope that result is the spark that kicks us on for the rest of the group.
I really hope it is the final nail in the coffin for Trapattonis mantra that little Ireland cant compete with the major powers in World football.
We looked fantastically orgainised for most of the game but I still have the gripe that we had Robbie up front on his own again, he hasnt the legs to do it and was probably never suited to that role.
Again, like in Paris when we needed something we looked dangerous when we played a bit of ball. I hope that for the rest of the games in the group now MON trusts us to get on the ball and play a bit.
Buzzing tonight though for the first time in a very long time about where we go from here
ArdeeBhoy
15/10/2014, 8:01 AM
Feck, were we lucky or what...
In reality probably didn't deserve that but credit where it's due.
Timing is everything...
DeLorean
15/10/2014, 8:01 AM
Hendrick's salvaging of Hoolahan's "perfectly" wayward cross was exquisite. Running away from the action with his back to the ball, looking at it over his right shoulder only to have to turn his head to get a better view of it over his left; the ball was completely out of his line of vision for a split second, yet his awareness allowed him to make a complete 180 degree turn of body and connect perfectly with the ball upon turning to bring it back into the danger area at just the right height and pace for O'Shea to do it sweet, sweet justice. The pressure was on and Hendrick delivered with perfect precision. It was like out of a computer game, or out of this world even. :cool:
You could say he delivered on the relentless hype that surrounds him :)
15/10/2014, 8:11 AM
McClean and Meyler were our best 90minute men I think
I thought Forde was outstanding and the proper MOTM. came off his line well on about 4 occasions to claim the ball at nervey times and pulled off about 3 / 4 top saves. deserves more credit than he gets
15/10/2014, 8:13 AM
In Dusseldorf airport with time to kill.
Delighted with how things panned out. For large parts of the game I thought Trap was still in the dugout but only late on did subtle differences emerge. I thought Hendrick, although he gave the ball away a bit, was far more accretive than Whelan. He tried to drive forward and play purposeful passes and was somewhat successful. We need more of that.
I think Wes realised he had very little time to make an impact so was trying too hard. Despite his slips, falls and rubbish throw in, I still think he made a difference. He took up space in the middle to last third that nobody else did and patrolled the line well. McGeady is more effective on the flanks.
McClean has got his mojo back and has secured his place I think. I thought Forde was very solid, one panicky clearance aside. Exactly what you want in nets on a night like that.
I really really hope now that MON sees that we can cause teams bother by attacking and Trap like cagey nonsense doesnt suit us. We can win in Glasgow if we play to win it.
I said in August that the Scots had momentum but we had 3 upcoming games to gain our own momentum. The friendlies were history. Now we have momentum, and I think its clear we can get better. Can Scotland?
DeLorean
15/10/2014, 8:58 AM
I thought Forde was outstanding and the proper MOTM. came off his line well on about 4 occasions to claim the ball at nervey times and pulled off about 3 / 4 top saves. deserves more credit than he gets
Yeah he did well and is always commanding under the high ball, that's never an area I worry about. I can only remember him having one (semi) decent save to make so I don't think it was worthy of a goalkeeping motm performance. That was the one that he tipped over from Kroos and he even seemed to get a strange connection on it from the replay, anyway, he kept it out! He got very lucky in the first half also when O'Shea bailed him out. On another night that settles the match and he's hanging his head in shame. They're the margins I guess. On reflection, O'Shea has to be a strong candidate as well.