View Full Version : Scotland (A); 14th November, 2014; Ticket Exchange Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

DannyInvincible
30/10/2014, 5:05 PM
Delaney calling the SFA statement a "joke" (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/1030/655814-delaney-labels-sfa-statement-a-joke/) is rich; the SFA provided the FAI with the mandatory allocation.

UEFA have allegedly expressed "slight concerns" over the prospect of so many Irish fans in the home section: http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9541070/uefa-in-ticket-talks-amid-row-ahead-of-scotland-v-republic-of-ireland

30/10/2014, 5:11 PM
surely the FAI should be making representations that larger % away allocations should be made available to the bigger supported nations. the recent reduction to 5% has resulted in a large number of away fans appearing in the home end at many a match. surely with all the TV money UEFA have landed a better TV product would be provided by having a better atmosphere at matches with larger away supports?

the FAI has handled the whole thing badly but they had very little room to move within the tiny allocation received. the SFAs policy of keeping our allocation to the 5% yet at the same time willingly sell home end tickets to us is baffling

30/10/2014, 5:19 PM
If they rang me offering those tickets I'd probably accept. I still need 3 and I'd happily take those corporate seats.

DannyInvincible
30/10/2014, 8:14 PM
'Ticket row takes another turn as fans reject John Delaney's claims': http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/ticket-row-takes-another-turn-as-fans-reject-john-delaneys-claims-30706329.html

But Ireland fans have tonight strongly rejected Delaney’s claims, saying that the real issue is how the 3,200 tickets were distributed, not the initial allocation.

A statement released through YouBoysInGreen.ie tonight read: “While we agree with the FAI that an increased allocation was a preferable solution, this does not avoid the serious questions which have arisen over the systemic failure of the FAI ticketing in this case.

“Mr Delaney claimed that you need “the wisdom of Solomon to allocate tickets fairly”. This is clearly incorrect. All the FAI need to do is implement a clear and transparent ticketing policy and allocation system.

“Our upcoming opposition, Scotland, have such a ticket system in place. The FAI have repeatedly failed to implement such a system and now some of their most loyal fans are missing out on the biggest game in years.

“There has been widespread acceptance that the FAI were in a difficult position due to the level of interest in this game. The absence of a clear and transparent system and the inability of the FAI to adequately explain how many season tickets holders with extensive away records were rejected for tickets has led many to question the Association.”

According to BBC journalist Tom English on tonight’s Matt Cooper Show, the SFA believe Delaney has behaved ‘irresponsibly’ in directing the blame towards the Scots.

English also insisted that the game will be a sell out and the only reason there are still tickets on sale is because the SFA only release the final few thousand in batches on their website to create web traffic.

“They didn’t have to give Ireland anymore tickets. They complied with FIFA regulations in giving five per cent,” said English.

“They will sell these tickets in a heartbeat. They release them later on through their website to generate more traffic.

“It’s laughable for John Delaney to say they can’t sell it out. They can sell it out, it’s just the way they do it.”

According to one of English’s sources, the SFA think Delaney has behaved irresponsibly.

“The SFA feel Delaney behaved irresponsibly,” added English.

“By playing up security issues, he was trying to cover his own back, trying to shift the blame and the SFA are not having any of it.”

Going forward, Delaney has acknowledged that mistakes were made and they will be rectifies for future games.

"There is learning for us and I accept that mistakes were made," added Delaney.

"One of the guys inside the FAI just said to me the other day 'I took my eye off the ball' in certain cases and I have to accept that mistakes are made.

"What I tried to do in the Association was to rectify the situation over the weekend by buying corporate tickets at £125 and selling them back for £45."

30/10/2014, 9:41 PM
This isn't quite damning evidence yet though. Delaney is right to say that while the SFA allocation was one problem, another very clear problem was the FAI's way of dealing with the shortfall. That is not the same as deflecting blame to the SFA. He did deflect the blame to ANOther in the FAI, rather than assume responsibility as CEO though. That's the big tick against Delaney in my view.

And I think Delaney is right to say the Scots have shown "bad manners" by refusing to increase the FAI allocation when the Scots hadn't sold theirs out - even if it's a technicality. "Bad manners" may not be the term I'd use myself but I see his point. The SFA can't be heralded as a model of a sound distribution policy when they are drip drip dripping tickets into the public for "web traffic" reasons - meaning Irish fans benefit at the expense of Scots who would supposedly have bought them if the SFA wasn't vanely hung up on web visit numbers (allegedly, BBC source). Has nobody questioned the SFA methodology? They fcuking should.

Anyway, rumblings of an Arab Spring here? And nearly 25 years since Ceaucescu was "removed" from his post.

Just out of interest, who is more deserving of a ticket? A Block Booker of 25 years (so probably aged nearly 50 with a family) and semi-regular away tripper, or a season ticket holder of 6 years (so probably in his 20s with no kids etc) and regular away tripper. As a person in the first category I'd admit to thinking the second category is more deserving but it's not absolutely clear cut.

People bang on about today's recession but those conditions were the norm back in my day, when even going to Wembley was a boat and train and a 12 hour journey. You can fly to Georgia via BA today in half that time.

DannyInvincible
30/10/2014, 9:57 PM
Delaney does acknowledge mistakes were made and claims someone within the FAI admitted he took his eye off the ball. Of course, it must be stressed that Delaney wasn't personally responsible!

DannyInvincible
30/10/2014, 10:16 PM
Why would the SFA be so concerned with generating web traffic? It's seems a pretty trivial concern, although I guess it would draw an extra few thousand hits at the very least. Is it that it helps promote or expose to a wider audience other aspects of Scottish football? Probably, but still unusual that they would hold tickets back solely to serve this purpose, surely?

Are restrictions on the sale of alcohol by shops and offies in Glasgow city centre envisaged on match-day? The police here often enforce a policy prohibiting city centre shops from selling alcohol on big match-days involving City or United. Do the Glasgow polis ever impose similar bans?

ArdeeBhoy
30/10/2014, 10:41 PM
Are restrictions on the sale of alcohol by shops and offies in Glasgow city centre envisaged on match-day? The police here often enforce a policy prohibiting city centre shops from selling alcohol on big match-days involving City or United. Do the Glasgow polis ever impose similar bans?
Usually there's a blanket ban rigorously enforced on street drinking. There's enough problems with locals, without adding 10k Irish who are never going to be universally welcomed in that city.

That said, clandestine purchases of some wee bottles of voddy and minerals, disguised as the latter or fruit juice, should do the trick.

Suspect the polis may be more lax up the Gallowgate, as they will undoubtedly push up all the Irish up there, but in the centre of town, no way.
They may even shut all the offies, will have to ask my local contacts.

And if you want a drink after in town, strictly no colours AFAIK.
Will check that detail also.

ArdeeBhoy
30/10/2014, 10:43 PM
If they rang me offering those tickets I'd probably accept. I still need 3 and I'd happily take those corporate seats.

With respect, why don't/didn't people buy them from the SFA website?

31/10/2014, 7:49 AM
They will sell these tickets in a heartbeat. They release them later on through their website to generate more traffic.

this statement is nonsense. as tickets were released on the SFA website this week they were not snapped up and many of the same tickets remained available for hours or days. its only this morning that there appears to be none on sale although this could well change again during the day

31/10/2014, 8:53 AM
With respect, why don't/didn't people buy them from the SFA website?

My mates didn't want to risk sitting with locals basically, and were hanging on for an official away ticket.

31/10/2014, 9:07 AM
My mates didn't want to risk sitting with locals basically, and were hanging on for an official away ticket.

the more i think of it id say there will be 10,000 Irish / scots irish in the home end. no risk of hassle and a great atmosphere.
cant go myself but have spent the week teasing myself looking at SFA tickets and high flight costs just in case circumstances change!

ArdeeBhoy
31/10/2014, 9:14 AM

Yeah, but as the following post and various others mention, plus the JD fiasco, shows there's no chance of 'official tickets', just take whatever's going from the SFA. The chances are they'll be next to Irish people anyway, if that's such a massive factor?

DannyInvincible
31/10/2014, 11:03 AM
the more i think of it id say there will be 10,000 Irish / scots irish in the home end. no risk of hassle and a great atmosphere.
cant go myself but have spent the week teasing myself looking at SFA tickets and high flight costs just in case circumstances change!

What about trying a bus/boat combo?

31/10/2014, 11:17 AM
What about trying a bus/boat combo?

thanks. cant go till the Friday and getting up to Larne, across and then up to Glasgow is too much on the day of the game.

DannyInvincible
31/10/2014, 11:27 AM
This article (dated today) is saying there are still 20,000 tickets available: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/scottish-snub-opens-door-for-irish-fans-to-snap-up-celtic-park-tickets-30706990.html

Surely that can't be right?!

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/10/2014, 12:25 PM
If you wear colors around this town after this game, you are running the risk of getting your head kicked in.

When I was in Edinburgh during the time of Celtic's European Qualifiers at Murrayfield I was warned about going out in town during the day wearing blue runners, blue shorts and blue shirt (coincidence) and sure enough I did get a few hostile glances.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/oct/31/republic-ireland-loyal-fans-denied-tickets-scotland-euro-2016-qualifier

Will put that there.

31/10/2014, 12:42 PM
Yeah, but as the following post and various others mention, plus the JD fiasco, shows there's no chance of 'official tickets', just take whatever's going from the SFA. The chances are they'll be next to Irish people anyway, if that's such a massive factor?

Not a factor for me personally.

31/10/2014, 12:52 PM
When I was in Edinburgh during the time of Celtic's European Qualifiers at Murrayfield I was warned about going out in town during the day wearing blue runners, blue shorts and blue shirt (coincidence) and sure enough I did get a few hostile glances.colour blocking is all the rage in Edinburgh. They frown on the less fashion conscious, especially foreigners.

ArdeeBhoy
31/10/2014, 1:43 PM
If you wear colors around this town after this game, you are running the risk of getting your head kicked in.

When I was in Edinburgh during the time of Celtic's European Qualifiers at Murrayfield I was warned about going out in town during the day wearing blue runners, blue shorts and blue shirt (coincidence) and sure enough I did get a few hostile glances.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/oct/31/republic-ireland-loyal-fans-denied-tickets-scotland-euro-2016-qualifier

Will put that there.

Colors Yes, colours No.

ArdeeBhoy
31/10/2014, 1:45 PM
thanks. cant go till the Friday and getting up to Larne, across and then up to Glasgow is too much on the day of the game.
5-6 hrs total timewise, quicker (unless flying) than from London and anywhere in S.Eng.

DeLorean
31/10/2014, 9:31 PM
Four tickets purchased from those accommodating SFA folk. Lisbon Lions Upper, Section 418 - Restricted View so let's hope for the best :eek:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-RRmUWL3ECNk/ThSO7BlXNMI/AAAAAAAABrs/7L57r-t71FU/s400/DSCF8833.jpg

ArdeeBhoy
31/10/2014, 10:39 PM
http://www0.scottishfa.talent-sport.co.uk/?returnUrl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.scottishfa.talent-sport.co.uk%2fPagesPublic%2fHome%2fhome.aspx

As of now, only one ticket on sale, for £32 in Block 418, allegedly.

DeLorean
31/10/2014, 11:27 PM
Yeah there was none at all at one point today. Obviously trying to get rid of certain tickets and others will come available again. I said I'd done enough lurking though so just pounced when I could get four together.

ArdeeBhoy
31/10/2014, 11:31 PM
Good on ya for getting some and would say you're right, but the vast bulk are surely sold now?

DannyInvincible
01/11/2014, 4:33 AM

Jesus, TOWK; no wonder! Double (triple!?) denim is a real no-no, especially in fashion-conscious Edinburgh.

In seriousness, are you sure you weren't just being a bit over-sensitive to ordinary glances?

Will put that there.

Good article and congrats to the author on getting published on the Guardian. He knows who he is. ;)

ArdeeBhoy
01/11/2014, 8:26 AM
Except that article's p*ssing in the wind. No account obviously taken of the 'Gombeen' factor...

01/11/2014, 10:11 AM
Everything is futile.

ArdeeBhoy
01/11/2014, 10:48 AM
Huh? :confused:

01/11/2014, 2:13 PM
Last week you were saying the results of some key matches were ultimately futile (whatever that means) and now that Guardian article is futile. That's all.

I mean nearly every article ever written in a paper has been futile but it doesn't mean an article that doesn't bring down the Berlin Wall (itself ultimately futile I'm sure :) ) is not interesting, well informed or well presented.

Newryrep
01/11/2014, 3:39 PM
Just out of interest, who is more deserving of a ticket? A Block Booker of 25 years (so probably aged nearly 50 with a family) and semi-regular away tripper, or a season ticket holder of 6 years (so probably in his 20s with no kids etc) and regular away tripper. As a person in the first category I'd admit to thinking the second category is more deserving but it's not absolutely clear cut.

People bang on about today's recession but those conditions were the norm back in my day, when even going to Wembley was a boat and train and a 12 hour journey. You can fly to Georgia via BA today in half that time.

Whoever has the most points Stuttgart88

1. Block booker for 25 years (assume 4 games in the last 10 ways - 4 for ST 4 for games 8 points

2 ST holder for 6 years - (assume 6 games in the last 10 aways - 4 for ST 6 for games 10 points

No 2 'wins' (nothwithstanding the fact that both records would/should likely get a ticket even on a tight allocation if an anyway fair and transparent scheme is brought in)

01/11/2014, 4:44 PM
Is that a similar points system to that used by other FAs?

Not doubting, just asking.

ArdeeBhoy
02/11/2014, 9:35 AM
Last week you were saying the results of some key matches were ultimately futile (whatever that means) and now that Guardian article is futile. That's all.

I mean nearly every article ever written in a paper has been futile but it doesn't mean an article that doesn't bring down the Berlin Wall (itself ultimately futile I'm sure :) ) is not interesting, well informed or well presented.

Hmm, interesting interpretation... but most of Humanity/Life is futile in that same context!

DannyInvincible
02/11/2014, 11:16 PM
A poster on YBIG is claiming he was in touch with the SFA and they reckon there have been about 7,000 tickets purchased by Ireland-based supporters in the home section on top of the 3,200 in the away section (http://www.ybig.ie/forum/how-many-fans-will-we-have-in-parkhead_topic50268_post1558016.html#1558016). That figure of 7,000 doesn't even include Irish supporters based in the UK or elsewhere in the world either, so I think it's fair to say we'll have a very significant presence in the ground. :D

Newryrep
04/11/2014, 10:35 PM
Is that a similar points system to that used by other FAs?

Not doubting, just asking.

it was based heavily on the scots system - they do a straight last 10 aways

ArdeeBhoy
05/11/2014, 12:08 AM
Wanted (16)

Prince20 (2)
Jayc90 (2)
the-blue-harp (2)
davey (2)
Duffer (2)
back of the net (2)
niall290 (2)
TheOneWhoKnocks (2)

Available (0)
Does anybody on this list want any tickets still...please indicate here and will resolve via PM if necessary as currently have 2 available(a pair!) in Block 115 @£36 each inc.the SFA booking fee, which is next to the away section and seems to be largely Irish fans, including some from here.
Though not available to be collected until c.3pm+ on the day, sorry...

Please indicate ASAP if interested!

As won't keep on offer beyond say the weekend?

prince20
05/11/2014, 8:30 AM
Thanks ArdeeBhoy but looking like i wont get to glasgow until about 6 o clock on the Friday. Was hoping (like loads of others!) to have tickets in my hand before I went over so will pass on your offer as I dont want to mess you about on match day. Cheers.

DeLorean
05/11/2014, 10:02 AM
Anybody else staying in Edinburgh? How hard will it be to get a taxi back after the match?

ArdeeBhoy
05/11/2014, 11:32 AM
It will be pretty dear unless you pre-book, best part of €100?

Get the train?

DeLorean
05/11/2014, 12:06 PM
Yeah there'll be at least three of us so I wouldn't mind the cost too much. We'll get the train over alright but just want to get out of there after the match. Is there a stop closer to the stadium than Glasgow Central? If not, how far a walk is that station?... says an hour on Google maps I think.

05/11/2014, 12:08 PM
Anybody else staying in Edinburgh? How hard will it be to get a taxi back after the match?

Aye, six of us.

Taxi would be about £80, but won't be an issue to get one (if you get out of the immediate vacinity of the ground, towards the city centre).

Train is £12.50 off-peak, most take slightly under an hour. Last train is just after midnight.
Bus varies in price, but probably around a fiver. Again, last bus is midnight. Book it online at www.megabus.com.

05/11/2014, 12:44 PM
Another else receiving invoices in their FAI accounts for an unknown reason?
Just got a €35 demand. Haven't a notion why.

DannyInvincible
05/11/2014, 1:11 PM
Got an e-mail from the SFA this morn confirming that the ticket office at Celtic Park will be open from 10:00 to 17:00 from Monday 10th through to Thursday the 13th for ticket collection. It'll also be open from 10:00 on the morning of the game right through 'til kick-off.

AidoP
06/11/2014, 6:40 AM
I'm staying in Edinburgh on the Wednesday night and travelling to Glasgow on Thursday and back to Edinburgh airport on Saturday morning with this company:
http://uk.megabus.com/

06/11/2014, 9:53 AM
AB i might have someone for those pm me your telephone number.

ArdeeBhoy
06/11/2014, 10:42 AM
Yeah there'll be at least three of us so I wouldn't mind the cost too much. We'll get the train over alright but just want to get out of there after the match. Is there a stop closer to the stadium than Glasgow Central? If not, how far a walk is that station?... says an hour on Google maps I think.
1/2-3/4 hour walk or get a cab, but your question has already been answered in the other posts I think?
Or via Bellgrove/Dalmarnock stations.
Not Bridgeton...

ArdeeBhoy
06/11/2014, 10:45 AM
AB i might have someone for those pm me your telephone number.

Sent you Fbk message there...

ArdeeBhoy
06/11/2014, 11:36 PM
Does anybody on this list want any tickets still...please indicate here and will resolve via PM if necessary as currently have 2 available(a pair!) in Block 115 @£36 each inc.the SFA booking fee, which is next to the away section and seems to be largely Irish fans, including some from here.
Though not available to be collected until c.3pm+ on the day, sorry...

Looks like acquaintances of two posters on here are the lucky recipients, thanks for your help people.

Dare say, there will be a good no. of spares floating around on the day...

DannyInvincible
09/11/2014, 11:14 PM
I see there are more tickets up on the SFA site now towards the back of the North Stand Upper. Quite a few of them too. Hard to get over really at this stage given the repeated claims by the SFA that the game was sold out.

ArdeeBhoy
10/11/2014, 1:16 AM
Hmm, looks like a couple of hundred max, of their most expensive tickets. But with the SFA who knows, they've made a right pig's ear of it.
Ended up p*ssing off both sets of fans, the local cops/UEFA and far less important, the FAI...

Though still reckon a good chance the reverse will happen next June, noticed on the TA board, a few Scots already claimed to have tickets via the 'hospitality option' at the new Lansdowne...
Though suppose the Guards won't give a feck, unlike those in Strathclyde!