View Full Version : July Transfers 2014

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

31/07/2014, 11:11 AM
Why did Limerick decimate their squad in the close season and then start signing marquee players mid-season!? Or is it just that Taylor hadn't a bull's notion what he was doing?

Good luck to them, just curious as to why!

Stuart made a balls of his budget is my understanding.

Bear in mind Shaun Kelly, Danny Galbraith (who was on a Richie Towell style wodge) and Craig Curran have all left during the season so there was always going to be money there for Martin Russell (whos busily proving me wrong and fair play to him.)

Richard Donkor on the way from Hacken as well.

bluewhitearmy
31/07/2014, 12:20 PM
Why did Limerick decimate their squad in the close season and then start signing marquee players mid-season!? Or is it just that Taylor hadn't a bull's notion what he was doing?

Good luck to them, just curious as to why!

The Taylor thing wasted he so much money.

$$$$$

Nothing to do with money its been there all along Taylor just made a complete balls of spending it.

Oh and the only one of those deals actually done at the minute is Jack Doherty.

Bray Head
31/07/2014, 12:47 PM
Kilduff
Lee lynch
Zayad
Djilali
Jack Doherty winger from ipswich

All done deals to limerick

Rory Gaffney to shamrock rovers

Looks like panic times by Limerick. They will all need to gel together very quickly as they are still in danger.

bluewhitearmy
31/07/2014, 12:53 PM
Looks like panic times by Limerick. They will all need to gel together very quickly as they are still in danger.

Hardly panic to go and get players far better than we currently have.

31/07/2014, 1:00 PM

Well we were in trouble anyway so signing just give us a better chance of staying up. With the money freed up it would have been mad not to use it.

31/07/2014, 2:02 PM
We were talking to Zayed a few weeks back but was told it fell through. He seems to be playing more regularly now for ye so would he really be let go with Kilduff and Sheppard barely featuring?

Word till seems strong down here about Kilduff and Lee Lynch to us till the end of the season.

Also one of the lads asked Folan about the link to pats and he said it was the first he had heard of it.
Zayed burned his bridges when he stormed out of the stadium last Friday after he was told he'd been dropped. He won't be missed by anybody here.

NeverFeltBetter
31/07/2014, 2:14 PM
If Gaffney goes in your direction, I'd say you're definitely getting the best of it.

Ezeikial
31/07/2014, 2:46 PM
Zayed burned his bridges when he stormed out of the stadium last Friday after he was told he'd been dropped. He won't be missed by anybody here.

I'll miss him

bluewhitearmy
31/07/2014, 2:58 PM
If Gaffney goes in your direction, I'd say you're definitely getting the best of it.

If Gaffney goes there than Kilduff is coming to Limerick so there is no way are they getting a better deal than us.

31/07/2014, 3:33 PM
It all depends what you are looking for in a striker. Gaffney works very hard and gets around the pitch a lot but doesn't score too often and tends to be out wide most of the time when needed in the middle.

Ideally I'd have liked us to have got Kilduff to partner Gaffney. But it seems now with the signing of Zayed we either keep Gaffney or go for Kilduff.

31/07/2014, 3:38 PM
Galway fc out: Derek o'brien

PartySaint
31/07/2014, 3:53 PM
Lee Lynch out Aaron Greene in...Fu*k Sake.

donnrua
31/07/2014, 4:21 PM
Sure why would he be when you lot are winning games and scoring goals for fun:p

Dalymountrower
31/07/2014, 4:44 PM
Zayed burned his bridges.

"Outrageous racial slur linking a model professional like Eamon Zayed with recent conflagrations in Tripoli"
PFAI statement

31/07/2014, 4:50 PM
"Outrageous racial slur linking a model professional like Eamon Zayed with recent conflagrations in Tripoli"
PFAI statement
Yeah, it's hilarious when a representative body in Ireland defends a member against racial abuse at work.

Fivesilver
31/07/2014, 5:41 PM

Been there - and I feel your pain.

Acer
31/07/2014, 5:59 PM
Lynch can easily be one of the best players in the league. I thought we might sneak him in on loan.

Anyway,
Drogs out: David Ryan
Drogs in: Gareth Brady

Aaron
31/07/2014, 7:47 PM
Airtricity Premier Division

Athlone Town
Manager: Keith Long
Ins
Derek Doyle (Free)
Thomas Mulroney (St Pat's Ath)
Dean Mahon (St Joseph's Boys)
Stephen Dunne (St Pat's Ath)
Dean Ebbe (Free)
John Mulroy (Free)
Ryan Coulter (Free)
Kevin Knight (Shamrock Rovers)
Eric Foley (Free)
Dylan Hayes (Free)

Outs
Conor McMahon (Released)
Craig Sexton (Released)
Jason Marks (Released)
David Brooks (Released)

Bohemians
Manager: Owen Heary
Ins
Adam Evans (Inverness)

Outs
Stephen Traynor (UCD)
Andy Mulligan (Released)
Lee Murphy (Released)
Phillip McCabe (Released)
Darragh Reynor (Released)

Bray Wanderers
Manager: Alan Matthews
Ins
Joe Gorman (Inverness CT)
Gareth McDonagh (Celtic)
Ryan Coombes (Free)
Philly Hughes (Free)
Michael Barker (UCD)

Outs
Danny O'Connor (Retired)
Shane Byrne (Released)

Cork City
Manager: John Caulfield
Ins
Josh O'Shea (UCC)
Cillian Morrison (UCD)
John O'Flynn (Exeter City)
Gavin Kavanagh (Waterford Utd)
Ross Gaynor (Sligo Rovers)
Michael McSweeney (Free)

Outs
Andy O'Connell (Cobh Ramblers)
Ian Turner (Limerick) Loan
Iarflaith Davoren (Sligo Rovers)

Derry City
Manager: Peter Hutton
Ins
Philip Lowry (Linfield)
Stephen Dooley (Free)
Shaun Kelly (Limerick)
Sean Houstan (Free)

Outs
Enda Curran (Galway)
Mark Stewart (Raith Rovers)
Roddy Collins (Released)
Jon Paul McGovern (Ayr Utd)
David Elebert (Released)
Cormac Burke (Released)

Drogheda Utd
Manager: Damien Richardson
Ins
Peter McGlynn (San Jose Earthquakes)
Gareth Brady (Free)

Outs
Dave Ryan (Released)

Dundalk
Manager: Stephen Kenny
Ins
Donal McDermott (Bournemouth)

Outs

Limerick
Manager: Martin Russell
Ins
Ian Turner (Cork City) Loan
Joseph Ndo (Sligo Rovers) Loan
Kieran Djilali (Sligo Rovers)
Jack Doherty (Ipswich)
Shane O'Connor (Portadown)
Lee Lynch (St Pat's Ath)

Outs
Craig Curran (Released)
Danny Galbraith (Released)
Barry Sheedy (Released)

St. Patrick's Ath
Manager: Liam Buckley
Ins
Aaron Greene (Sligo Rovers)

Outs
Stephen Dunne (Athlone Town)
Tom Mulroney (Athlone Town)
Lee Lynch (Limerick)

Shamrock Rovers
Manager: Trevor Croly
Ins

Outs
Kevin Knight (Athlone Town)

Sligo Rovers
Manager: John Coleman
Ins
Iarflaith Davoren (Cork City)
Outs
Ross Gaynor (Cork City)
Lee Lynch (St Pat's Ath)
Joseph Ndo (Limerick) Loan
Kieran Djilali (Limerick)
Aaron Greene (St Pat's Ath)
Jordan Loftus (Finn Harps)

UCD
Manager: Aaron Callaghan
Ins
Stephen Traynor (Bohemians)

Outs
Cillian Morrison (Cork City)
Mark McGinley (Finn Harps)
Michael Barker (Bray Wanderers)

Airtricity First Division

Cobh Ramblers
Manager:
Ins
Ron Stanton (College Corinthians)
Gary Comerford (Killumney)
Stephen Kenny (Waterford Utd)
Andy O'Connell (Cork City)

Outs

Finn Harps
Manager: Ollie Horgan
Ins
Mark McGinley (UCD)
Thomas McMonagle (Free)
Marc Brolly (Dungannon Swifts)
Brian McCroary (Drumkeen Utd)
Jordan Loftus (Sligo Rovers)

Outs
James Doherty (Swilly Rovers)
Johnny Bonner (Letterkenny Rovers)
Mark Forker (Released)
Paul McVeigh (Released)
Graham Fisher (Released)

Galway FC
Manager: Tommy Dunne
Ins
Enda Curran (Derry City)
Aaron McDonagh (Mervue Utd)
Robert Egan (Free)
Padraic Cunningham (Mervue Utd)
Richard Fahy (Mervue Utd)
Paddy Barrett (Waterford Utd)

Outs
Sean Gavin (Released)
Shane McGinty (Released)
Derek O'Brien (Released)
Ross Kenny (Released)
Cian Fadden (Released)
James Keane (Released)
Marty Owens (Released)

Longford Town
Manager: Tony Cousins
Ins
Tom Morris (Port Vale)

Outs
Sean Russell (Released)
Chris Deans (Retired)

Shelbourne
Manager: Johnny McDonnell
Ins

Outs
Stephen Sheerin (Released)
Stephen McDonnell (Released)
Michael Duffy (Released)

Waterford Utd
Manager: Tommy Griffin
Ins

Outs
Gavin Kavanagh (Cork City)
Stephen Kenny (Cobh Ramblers)
Paddy Barrett (Galway FC)

Wexford Youths
Manager: Shane Keegan
Ins

Outs

bluewhitearmy
31/07/2014, 7:49 PM
Barry Sheedy out for Limerick too.

Battery Rover
31/07/2014, 8:47 PM
Barry Sheedy out for Limerick too.

Always thought he would make it as a player.

cobhlad
31/07/2014, 9:15 PM
Cobh added ex Cork City u19 keeper David Browne and Midleton's David Curran tonight.

adamd164
31/07/2014, 9:40 PM
Zayed to Sligo confirmed: https://twitter.com/ShamrockRovers/status/494955972402884608

31/07/2014, 9:54 PM
Hope Kilduff happens now. Wanted Kilduff more than Zayed so hopefully that still happens.

Seems as of this morning Zayed was coming our way. Sligo came in this evening at the last minute.

Yossarian
31/07/2014, 9:59 PM
Zayed to Sligo confirmed: https://twitter.com/ShamrockRovers/status/494955972402884608

Will Sligo now be following Croly's foolproof template of hoofing it up to Zayed then?

Fivesilver
31/07/2014, 10:02 PM
Probably, since we've got rid of pretty much everyone who can do anything else.

31/07/2014, 10:38 PM
Town have added Ger Pender from Wayside Celtic and formerly of Bray. Also a Daniel Henderson who I think is a goalie. Bound to be with that name! Don't know what his last club was.

David BOHie
01/08/2014, 1:46 AM
Bohs signed Aaron Shanahan gk

TheBoss
01/08/2014, 2:29 AM
Also a Daniel Henderson who I think is a goalie. Bound to be with that name! Don't know what his last club was.

I assume it was CYM Terenure as per this online paper (http://issuu.com/robheigh/docs/dundrum_f10c5d3652e9f6 [Page 38]), mentions a goalkeeper named Daniel Henderson. He on Twitter too, https://twitter.com/Danhendo88

One not mention from last week, Sean Russell joined Shelbourne as he played for them last week.

01/08/2014, 6:11 AM
I assume it was CYM Terenure as per this online paper (http://issuu.com/robheigh/docs/dundrum_f10c5d3652e9f6 [Page 38]), mentions a goalkeeper named Daniel Henderson. He on Twitter too, https://twitter.com/Danhendo88

One not mention from last week, Sean Russell joined Shelbourne as he played for them last week.

Sounds like the guy alright. Yeah we let Sean Russell go as he wasn't getting his game and wanted to move on. Not sure we knew he'd be off to Shels mind you but sure good luck to him anyway.

01/08/2014, 6:16 AM
Marc Brolly is gone from Harps already without making an appearance for the first team.

redobit
01/08/2014, 8:03 AM

both are average

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/08/2014, 8:12 AM
Been there - and I feel your pain.

We got John Russell in for Lee Lynch. A huge improvement.

01/08/2014, 8:29 AM
Airtricity Premier Division

Galway FC
Manager: Tommy Dunne
Ins
Enda Curran (Derry City)
Aaron McDonagh (Mervue Utd)
Robert Egan (Free)
Padraic Cunningham (Mervue Utd)
Richard Fahy (Mervue Utd)
Paddy Barrett (Waterford Utd)

Outs
Sean Gavin (Released)
Shane McGinty (Released)
Derek O'Brien (Released)
Ross Kenny (Released)
Cian Fadden (Released)
James Keane (Released)
Marty Owens (Released)

Also out for GFC are Ronan Forde, Mike Elwood, Ronan Conlon and Noel Varley.

PartySaint
01/08/2014, 9:35 AM
We got John Russell in for Lee Lynch. A huge improvement.

I remember last year when Sligo fans were telling us Russell wouldn't get into their midfield and that Lynch is way better.

I like Lynch, he could become a decent player, nowhere near Russell at the moment tho.

Dalymountrower
01/08/2014, 9:36 AM
Yeah, it's hilarious when a representative body in Ireland defends a member against racial abuse at work.

As opposed to devaluing opposition to raciial abuse ( or any one of the nine grounds of harassment) by routinely crying wolf.?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/08/2014, 9:53 AM
I remember last year when Sligo fans were telling us Russell wouldn't get into their midfield and that Lynch is way better.

I like Lynch, he could become a decent player, nowhere near Russell at the moment tho.

Well it certainly wasn't me saying that (if you find a post of me saying it I retract it!). Cook totally messed up letting him go initially.

poster
01/08/2014, 10:01 AM

Were they outside Quinn's and wearing black and white?

PartySaint
01/08/2014, 10:05 AM
Well it certainly wasn't me saying that (if you find a post of me saying it I retract it!). Cook totally messed up letting him go initially.

In fairness it was more on twitter than on here.

redobit
01/08/2014, 12:45 PM

Anybody that said that doesn't know much about football.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/08/2014, 3:54 PM
Daryl Kavanagh has joined us

adamd164
01/08/2014, 4:01 PM
Could do well, or could flop. Similar to Zayed in that sense.

There won't be a lack of ego in the dressing room anyway :)

01/08/2014, 4:09 PM
Harps in:
Hugh Moy - free
Oisin Hassett - Fanad United
Martin Redmond - free

sulywaterfordfc
02/08/2014, 2:25 AM
Limerick signing Jack Doherty is a strange one imo. Played with Waterford past three seasons and last summer we sold him to ipswich and at the next window he was strange back to Waterford on loan and when hes loan ended so to did hes contract at Ipswich as they then released him. If im honest he's had more bad games then good often question is he even good enough for the first division. Yes he has a good game every know and then but he's work rate and attitude a very poor the best of times.

Now at Limerick he knows he has to work to prove himself he might preform week in week out which he hasn't done at Waterford. The lad can play good ball when he wants.

One thing which will annoy Limerick fans which annoyed me is he's diving he's been booked and even sent off for it this season.

Wish the lad the best of luck hope it works out for him.

As regarding do Waterford still have 11 players, they've still have like a 22
man squad I think. Reason so many have been released is the club have been struggling to pay the wages since early this season and as our season never got going and could be seen we were staying in the division players were left go as club has nothing to play for so they are reducing costs by releasing players which is only natural for a cash strapped club with nothing to play for. Financially I totally understand it. Personally I fully agree with it because there's no need breaking the bank which could bust the club while the club have nothing to play for while players could go elsewhere and play ball. At least now the younger players whom have taken the step up will gain some experience playing out the season and they'll also be prepared for next season.

SPXcyan
02/08/2014, 1:16 PM
Jack Doherty has great technique, great for forward runs and decent dribbling but the worst thing imo about him was his ability to pass.. woeful!
I thought him to be the player with the most potential and he will improve at Limerick I am certain of it.

CityRebel
05/08/2014, 1:02 PM
We're rumoured to have rejected Hull's initial bid for Brian Lenihan and are awaiting a bid from another club for him today. Loads of clubs linked with him - Arsenal, Aston Villa, Hull, Tottenham, Celtic, Bournemouth, Leeds, Huddersfield, etc.

ger121
05/08/2014, 1:33 PM
We're rumoured to have rejected Hull's initial bid for Brian Lenihan and are awaiting a bid from another club for him today. Loads of clubs linked with him - Arsenal, Aston Villa, Hull, Tottenham, Celtic, Bournemouth, Leeds, Huddersfield, etc.

Hope you play hardball with that many clubs interested.

desaintsno.12
05/08/2014, 1:37 PM
Could do well, or could flop. Similar to Zayed in that sense.

There won't be a lack of ego in the dressing room anyway :)

IMO, Kavo never came across as having an inflated ego during either spell with us.

CityRebel
05/08/2014, 2:14 PM
Hope you play hardball with that many clubs interested.
Apparently he has agreed personal terms with Hull so they will bid again, they need to get real with their offer though.

El-Pietro
05/08/2014, 3:13 PM
only a five figure offer apparently so you'd assume 50-75k. Hard to know if thats Euro or GBP though

adamd164
05/08/2014, 9:55 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/cork-braced-for-lenihan-bidding-war-30484470.html

Villa must be the Roy Keane connection, he previously signed Roy O'Donovan too for Sunderland from us.