View Full Version : Most talented nightclub?
Closed Account 2
09/01/2009, 2:52 PM
Is Tramco still on the go in Rathmines ?
09/01/2009, 3:24 PM
ya beleive so along with roddys!!! :D
tramco and roddys are 2 very good spots as well also.
i wouldnt go into q bar if the drink was free in there, awful rough crowd that go in there.
dawson street can be ok at times as well, sam sara, ron blacks and cafe en seine but you would want to have a fair few quid on you!
10/01/2009, 7:37 AM
The night i was in Q Bar, the talent was actually pretty decent! Maybe that was a once off.... Id rather go there than the likes of Krystle. The talent down Roddy Boland's is always good as well.
10/01/2009, 11:40 PM
.coppers is still number 1 for the culchies, guards, nurses, teachers etc but for some reason attracts a lot of so called "d4" heads
Free entry with a staff card from certain "professional service" firms, with high D4 style workforce.....;)
what "professional service" firms do you mean?
oscar
11/01/2009, 10:39 PM
hula you spend most of your time out on the ****,the sooner you get back to limerick and playing ball with the boro the better,all that fun can't be good for you:ball::ball::ball:
its not doin me any harm at the minute!!
Don Vito
13/01/2009, 12:08 PM
Alright calm down, the Don is back after a long term injury lay off and he's older, wiser, better looking and more talented than ever before.
Times have indeed changed since the inception of this thread, we are enduring a period of utter domination by one club as Coppers has become the Rosenborg of the Dublin social scene. This level of domination has not been experienced before in Dublin and although I am a massive fan of the Harcourt St. venue it is sad to see the life being sucked out of all other venues in the city centre. I have only frequented two nightclubs/late bars in the past 6 months - Coppers and Howl at the Moon and I've spent each night in Howl regretting that I didn't go to Coppers, this is not healthy. Dublin needs more choice.
hula4
13/01/2009, 12:59 PM
Alright calm down, the Don is back after a long term injury lay off and he's older, wiser, better looking and more talented than ever before.
Times have indeed changed since the inception of this thread, we are enduring a period of utter domination by one club as Coppers has become the Rosenborg of the Dublin social scene. This level of domination has not been experienced before in Dublin and although I am a massive fan of the Harcourt St. venue it is sad to see the life being sucked out of all other venues in the city centre. I have only frequented two nightclubs/late bars in the past 6 months - Coppers and Howl at the Moon and I've spent each night in Howl regretting that I didn't go to Coppers, this is not healthy. Dublin needs more choice.
think a lot of it has to do with the fact that it serves a bit later than anywhere else
what "professional service" firms do you mean?
We get in free to coppers with our work cards before 12, coppers is grand if you're twisted and need to go to a spot where you're guaranteed a crowd.
There's also the old reliables flannerys and rodys. Krystale is ok, you'd want to like your dance music and is heavy on the D4 crowd as well. As for dawson st, €6.50 for a pint there most nights - OUCH!!!
Ended up in leggs one or two nights over the xmas season, mainly because it opens late. Good craic but again need to be twisted going in and can be a messy spot, not to mention that they only serve vinegar.
We get in free to coppers with our work cards before 12, coppers is grand if you're twisted and need to go to a spot where you're guaranteed a crowd.
There's also the old reliables flannerys and rodys. Krystale is ok, you'd want to like your dance music and is heavy on the D4 crowd as well. As for dawson st, €6.50 for a pint there most nights - OUCH!!!
Ended up in leggs one or two nights over the xmas season, mainly because it opens late. Good craic but again need to be twisted going in and can be a messy spot, not to mention that they only serve vinegar.
agree 100% you wouldnt want to be going into coppers sober by any stretch of the imagination.
cant stand flannerys at all, no comfort in there at all, would much prefer macgowans which attracts a very similar clientele but is much more spacious
TheJamaicanP.M.
13/01/2009, 7:04 PM
Welcome back Don.
I'd agree with almost everything you said with the exception of knocking Howl at the Moon. It remains my favourite venue. The quality and ratio of women in the place remains high. Whilst I am also a fan of Coppers, I don't think the quality or ratio is as high as Howler. I can't count the amount of nights I've been in the Harcourt Street venue when it was akin to a sausage fest. I've always struggled in the venue, although I know that fellow foot.ie member Dillo has been prolific there.
hula4
13/01/2009, 10:45 PM
Welcome back Don.
I'd agree with almost everything you said with the exception of knocking Howl at the Moon. It remains my favourite venue. The quality and ratio of women in the place remains high. Whilst I am also a fan of Coppers, I don't think the quality or ratio is as high as Howler. I can't count the amount of nights I've been in the Harcourt Street venue when it was akin to a sausage fest. I've always struggled in the venue, although I know that fellow foot.ie member Dillo has been prolific there.
id say my experiences of hatm as opposed to coppers could be described as quality compared to quantity
13/01/2009, 10:55 PM
agree 100% you wouldnt want to be going into coppers sober by any stretch of the imagination.
cant stand flannerys at all, no comfort in there at all, would much prefer macgowans which attracts a very similar clientele but is much more spacious
Havent been to macgowans but have heard that alright. Flannerys is in the same category as coppers, need to be twisted to have a good night there.
Never really liked the layout of HATM for some reason, the atmosphere there isnt great except for downstairs but the level of talent there is on a different scale to coppers. As you said quality. If you're pulling a bird there, chances are she's hot too........not so much a guarantee of that in the cold light of day outside coppers!!
Don Vito
14/01/2009, 8:44 AM
I’ve never doubted the quality of the ladies in Howler but my biggest beef with it is the layout of the place, it’s just not conducive to attacking play. Every good nightclub needs a central area, a focal point where you head to when you are “kitchen-sinking” it about 2.30am. A good central area will hold a significant number of the club patrons in a relatively compact area that is easy to move through (aside from when the crowd density is high) .Coppers could be said to have two central areas being the upstairs bar and the dancefloor, both areas allow one to drift up and down making it easier to strike up a conversation with a passing lady, additionally, you can be certain that these areas contain the pick of the ladies who have yet to score (chances are if they have already been taken out of the game they will be in the smoking areas or some quieter corner.
Contrast this to Howler and all you have as a central area is the dancefloor in the basement, for a start it’s too small and will only contain at a max 25% of the club patrons at any one time. As a result 75% of the patrons are hanging out in other areas of the club, these other areas are very difficult to navigate and contain too many sitting areas where it is next to impossible to approach a randomer. Some of you may point out the large smoking area as a place for some attacking play but I’ve never gone in for smoking areas as a good place to approach, perhaps after the first move, but as an initial approach I don’t like them. There is no doubting the quality on display at Howler but the venue lets them down badly, it’s a bit like when Arsenal were sometimes constrained by the tightness of the old Highbury pitch.
Are there any UCD students on the board? I’d be interested in hearing where the top student venue is these days. I’m out of the loop for student venues since leaving college a year or two ago.
14/01/2009, 10:31 AM
Jaysus, didn't realise it was such a strategic game!! Thank God I dont go on the pull, wouldn't know the rules!
Don Vito
15/01/2009, 11:06 AM
Jaysus, didn't realise it was such a strategic game!! Thank God I dont go on the pull, wouldn't know the rules!
At the very top level it's the minute details that make the difference.
15/01/2009, 12:20 PM
Is that the self-proclaimed top level ;)
Have to say the "floating" strategy is probably the best, "whoops sorry about htat, i didnnt mean to hit into you accidently on purpose coming up the stairs" :D
Last time I was in coppers I had the Ireland hand with me and my mate took the hand off me and proceeded to slap every wan on the ass that went by from the old part to new(which is quite a few as you can imagine). I sat down in stitches of laughter but then he kept doing it and he was getting into tricky situations, it wasn't as funny, someone sat down beside me and asked me would I not keep an eye on him, I told her Im not his keeper he can do what he wants. Moral of the story is he didnt pull even though the talent passing through was very average(NOt related to my very drunk and pervy friend but what is it with Irish women at home that think they are awful hot, and look around thinking they are gods gift, when its generally not the case and have been severly effected by the branch), i wasn't trying to, but i did ask yer one if she ever got the "urge", after she told me she was a paediatric nurse. Best reaction ever.
Closed Account 2
20/01/2009, 10:56 PM
I don't know if any of you ever went to McGoverns on the Kilburn High Road, but it has now closed or been re-branded. Shame it was a good boozer for a few pints in the afternoon, and they used to turn it into a disco in the evenings (Fridays) with the room off the side and there used to be a lot of talent there.... Well they weren't that talented but there were a lot of them.
21/01/2009, 9:03 AM
ya i went there but i was never there late.
brianw82
23/01/2009, 3:12 AM
I have just spent the last 40 minutes reading this thread. Absolutely brilliant.
Has the team broken up by this stage?
JoeSemi
06/02/2009, 5:16 PM
Welcome back Don.
Great to see contributions from such esteemed members of the foot fraternity again.:)
I'd have to disagree on the lack of quality on show in Coppers P.M. While its congested and lacks the flair of Howl the desire on show is unbeatable. It caters for every sort of football from North Eastern Counties League to Premiership level; and every sort of player from Micky O' Donnell to Lionel Messi! Any scouts going there will always pick up a bargain at the right price, but its a question of honing the talent correctly after that. There's an awful lot of untapped potential and the system of football at Coppers may not be bringing the best out of them.
Dillo lived up to his billing as the in-form performer again the other night. Just after Jo's loan move to Everton the other day, Dillo also managed to concoct a loan move for himself. The window may have been closed but he somehow prized it open and earned himself pay-per-play contract at Kildare County. If he shows promise over the next few fixtures he could earn himself a permanent move. Its down to himself and he's been told that fitness is the key to sealing a long-term deal.
Dolby126 was also in attendance and showed glimpses of his capabilities, without finding the net. After being hiked around between clubs from Boca Juniors to Melbourne Victory he's finding it difficult to attract the attention of Ireland's top coaches. All it takes is one strike in a meaningless fixture and he'll be purring again.
Don Vito
15/02/2009, 10:15 PM
Sad news has reached me that the once great Tramco has closed. Not sure how true it is yet though.
Was never really the same after the renovation.
16/02/2009, 10:46 AM
really?! that is sad alright. Ah well.
Ill have to find somewhere else at the end of next month.
16/02/2009, 11:02 AM
Tramco's closed? Shame, used to work near there and never failed me in terms of talent.
18/02/2009, 9:21 PM
[QUOTE=paul_oshea;1086959]Is that the self-proclaimed top level ;)
Have to say the "floating" strategy is probably the best, "whoops sorry about htat, i didnnt mean to hit into you accidently on purpose coming up the stairs" :D
At GT and Babysis just thought you were clumsy.
Tramco's closed? Shame, used to work near there and never failed me in terms of talent.
yep it has been confirmed, im sorry to say tramco is now closed
19/02/2009, 8:38 PM
yep it has been confirmed, im sorry to say tramco is now closed
A sad day. I'm sure most of them will head to Rody Boland's, decent pub with its share of talent that it is.
osgood was good
20/02/2009, 2:34 AM
Tramco failed to compete by not marketing their venue properly especially when more competition arrived 2 years ago . Their doormen were partly to blame too for their reputation dealing with people . Doormen can destroy a club or bar and have done .
Cocoon closed too, wont be missed either , lets just hope their regulars dont start turning up in places with real people .
Baggot inn on a Friday and Saturday is rocking . The music is mainly 70's 80's and 90's but the athmosphere is electric and the talent is the best ive seen since Club 92 in the good old days.
brianw82
19/03/2009, 11:37 PM
So, what spots are good at the moment? Planning a night out in a week's time and don't particularly fancy Coppers again.
Rashers Baptisa
20/03/2009, 12:15 PM
Bulgaden Lounge in County Limerick is among the best.
Jeebus
20/03/2009, 1:40 PM
So, what spots are good at the moment? Planning a night out in a week's time and don't particularly fancy Coppers again.
Heard The George is a cracking spot, full of women too!!
20/03/2009, 2:10 PM
Depends what age group you are. Presuming there is a link between that and your username I would try D2, Howl on the Moon or Dandelion.:)
20/03/2009, 2:57 PM
I can't believe Tramco is closed, many a happy night was spent there. Tramco, it's where the tramps go! :D
21/03/2009, 12:10 AM
was told tonight that Angel Lane in Limerick will close as well...
L37Ultra
21/03/2009, 1:05 AM
It only opened a few months ago :eek:
Bulgaden Lounge in County Limerick is among the best.
:eek::eek::eek:
21/03/2009, 10:36 AM
It only opened a few months ago :eek:
Probably the 3rd or 4th time it reopened, it's been the market at least twice, and before that saints and scholars ages ago
and was also called wonka's i believe
wouldnt be anything to do with the door staff there i wonder would it?
found them very very poorly mannered and i believe they can be over the top physically also
L37Ultra
22/03/2009, 10:39 PM
found them very very poorly mannered and i believe they can be over the top physically also
Such is the case with the majority of nightclub's in Limerick unfortunatly.