View Full Version : Most talented nightclub?
Beavis
04/11/2004, 2:00 PM
Well i live 2 mins walk from it so had to check it out. Honestly its worth checking out - for the experience if nothing else - scary place :eek:
This from a Drogheda man? Always got more grief playing ball in Drogheda than any part of Dublin as a kid :eek:
Anyone know where the best place to find good dance music(any type bar funky) is on weekend nights?Had a great night of dance Club Nassau on Halloween and want to do it more regularly,any suggestions?
04/11/2004, 2:59 PM
Anyone know where the best place to find good dance music(any type bar funky) is on weekend nights?
Dublin is gone to the dogs as far as this is concerned.
There was a time when you had your choice of great venues with stomping tunes from Tuesday to Sunday.
I think venue owners realise the profits they can make from drink so figure the less time people spend dancing the more time they can spend drinking.
Anyone remember a place on South Anne St. off Grafton St. in Dublin?
They used to sell bottles only.
Think it closed in 96 or 97.
Can't remember the name of it.
At the time you had the Red Box taking over from the POD for quality.
The Kitchen was reaching it's golden era.
Temple of Sound was like a scene from a Tarantino movie.
Club USI was a bit charty but cheap beer and top totty made the music secondary.
cullenswood
04/11/2004, 4:05 PM
Anyone remember a place on South Anne St. off Grafton St. in Dublin?
That was a niteclub called System. Class place for the Dance scene, with the loudest music volume my ears have ever been subjected to. The had a load of signs telling the punters to wear ear-plugs. Top totty in there aswell, have a memory of trying to score with one bird on one of the podium things they had in there and nearly getting pushed off it into the crowd, such was the force of the rebuttal!!
Think the cops closed it down due to the apparent use of illegal substances (whatever they were!)
04/11/2004, 4:14 PM
That was a niteclub called System.
That's the spot.
Used to love it!
Not bragging or anything but the Cork accent went down a treat in there.
I remember the last time I was there I was talking to a mate and a girl standing behind me just grabbed me and said, "O my God, I love your accent!" My Dublin mates used to go nuts! :D
Think the cops closed it down due to the apparent use of illegal substances (whatever they were!)
The worse place for getting pushed drugs was O'Connell St./O'Connell Bridge.
All the clubs at the time were full of drugs but only System was shut.
There was something odd about that.
anto eile
04/11/2004, 4:17 PM
forget them clubs ffs.
these are the real top dublin clubs:
1- "the blacker" ,in northside shopping centre,coolock
2: "K2" in howth
3: "gigis" harcourt st
4: "parnell mooney" parnell st
5: "penthouse" ballymun shopping centre
quality establishments
04/11/2004, 4:21 PM
That was a niteclub called System. Class place for the Dance scene, with the loudest music volume my ears have ever been subjected to. The had a load of signs telling the punters to wear ear-plugs. Top totty in there aswell, have a memory of trying to score with one bird on one of the podium things they had in there and nearly getting pushed off it into the crowd, such was the force of the rebuttal!!
yeah great memories of the system in dublin ( not longford ) tommy steward was the jock there on a wen night, what a gig he did.....yake yake and ebtg missing the 7min mix, those were de days, oh yeah :D
temple of sound in the ormond hotel or worse the ormond multimedia centre :p
here is a real blast from the past, fibber mcgees :D
04/11/2004, 4:24 PM
That's the spot.
Used to love it!
Not bragging or anything but the Cork accent went down a treat in there.
I remember the last time I was there I was talking to a mate and a girl standing behind me just grabbed me and said, "O my God, I love your accent!" My Dublin mates used to go nuts! :D
The worse place for getting pushed drugs was O'Connell St./O'Connell Bridge.
All the clubs at the time were full of drugs but only System was shut.
There was something odd about that.
some of the posts above aren't great on a legal side if ya know what i mean, without proof the owners of said club could have field day, so i'd watch wat yee say.....
nothing odd, they had licencing problems, they had a wine licence but sold more than wine as alco pops had not been classified they tried to work their way around getting a full licence, remember woodies and mad dog :D
04/11/2004, 4:27 PM
here is a real blast from the past, fibber mcgees :D
That was full of rockers!
The Temple of Sound was a bloodbath on a Thursday.
I remember being refused one night because it was late and they were full.
Sat on the wall along the Liffey outside having a bit of an embrace when all of a sudden a guy came flying out the door backwards onto his head and another guy head first out over him.
About six creams in white Kickers knitted jumpers piled out on top of them with bottles and glasses flying. They were followed by some screaming girls.
It was a shocking scene!
First time I'd seen a girl getting kicked and punched by a guy in my life.
04/11/2004, 4:34 PM
ah just lie a quiet night in the mardike ( that is spelled very wrong :p )
ya fibber mcgees was great ot go and laugh at crustys :D
i know its been done up, but the OLD big tree on a thurs or wait for it yes, the back gate :D
04/11/2004, 5:18 PM
I'd never venture that far northside for fear of my personal safety. Doyles of Phibsboro?? You're one brave Drog!
The Palace, Camden St. was the best nightclub ever. There never was and probably never will be (unless I win the lotto) another place to equal it. If I got the fcuker responsible for closing down this premises i'd strangle him! :mad:
Gotta agree with ya. Myself and one of my mates were regulars for months there in the late 90s..... many happy memories and decent young wans there.... not the same now though, but by God they were the days! Club 92 Thursday nights were brill too. Fave one outside the Pale would be The Grill, Letterkenny, serious talent there! And Time, Naas is very impressive too!
Fair play to ya Pauro! You're a man with taste just like myself. There never will be another palace. Those were the days. As for Club 92, the talent there is Champions League standard! :ball:
05/11/2004, 8:20 AM
Ice in Reading!
Holy sweet Jeebus this place is "wall to wall" totty.
Flavours to suit everyone's taste.
Maxi P. when you're over for a London Irish game, forget your Irish bars, we're going to Ice.
I regard myself as the Alan Shearer of 'pulling wans', an all round goal scorer.
You mean youre past it and going bald? Sorry to hear that.
The 90's were good for you though.
You mean youre past it and going bald? Sorry to hear that.
The 90's were good for you though.
Far from it Eoinh! I'm actually blessed with very thick hair and despite a number of grey hairs appearing I have been assured that the chances of me loosing my hair at an early age are very slim. I compare myself to Shearer as he has scored every sort of a goal in his career, he is a prolific goalscorer and is regarded as the best premiership player in the last decade. He is a true goal poacher, a legend and has that strikers instinct in front of goal......... if you get my gist Eoinh! :p
if you get my gist Eoinh! :p
well, by the way you talk a lot of people have got your gist. Or something like gist. ;)
05/11/2004, 10:00 AM
by the way you talk a lot of people have got your gist.
So long as that's all they get from him! :eek: :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
05/11/2004, 5:01 PM
I was lucky enough to pay a visit to Tramco last night and I can safely say that with the exception of Bondi Beach on Halloween night, I've rarely seen such talent. Rathmines was light up like a cauldran last night as a whos who of South County Dublin descended on the prestigious venue. A great night was had by all. The women there were absolutely stunning, but for some reason, a lot of the male contingent looked like farmers. Heres hoping that Tom O'Neill and his staff can come up with a policy to tackle the influx of Cork sheep-lovers to the esteemed venue.
On a different note, some within Tramco were slightly perplexed by the absence of Jenny and Eileen last night. One just hopes that any potential stand-off between the two girls and Tom can be sorted in time for Don Vito to work his magic with putty and pink tie.
As a footnote, I would just like to point out that the absence of a certain "Cat" was made up for by the presence of Brian Dooher's best friend.
JoeSemi
06/11/2004, 12:12 AM
I regard myself as the Alan Shearer of 'pulling wans', an all round goal scorer. Unlike Thierry Henry who tends to score a lot of crackers, I, Shearer score both tap ins, overheads and 35 yard crackers. Henry also creates a lot of goals, however, I don't fit in the matchmaking category. Burkey on the other hand, may be compared to Everton striker Marcus BENT! :rolleyes:
I'm sure your talkin of the Christmas variety Dillo when you refer to crackers :D !!
JoeSemi
06/11/2004, 8:51 PM
I regard myself as the Alan Shearer of 'pulling wans', an all round goal scorer. Unlike Thierry Henry who tends to score a lot of crackers, I, Shearer score both tap ins, overheads and 35 yard crackers. Henry also creates a lot of goals, however, I don't fit in the matchmaking category. Burkey on the other hand, may be compared to Everton striker Marcus BENT! :rolleyes:
I presume your crackers are more of the Christmas variety Dillo! :) Lot easier crack them open with the technique of pullin requiring a similar grip to somethin else :D
4: "parnell mooney" parnell st
was in there a few times for the Dub/reggae night. I wonder how that night is surviving the smoking ban ;)
I presume your crackers are more of the Christmas variety Dillo! :) Lot easier crack them open with the technique of pullin requiring a similar grip to somethin else :D
I get cracking wans at Christmas time too (a greater variety to choose from) but the time of year I find, makes little difference to my average scoring ratio JoeSemi. It's usually a big duck egg! 0 :o Something tells me you usually hit your purple patch when the 16 year olds are on their mid term breaks! :p Is our Spanish Carragher not a bit old for that sort of behaviour?? ;)
TheJamaicanP.M.
08/11/2004, 7:06 PM
I get cracking wans at Christmas time too (a greater variety to choose from) but the time of year I find, makes little difference to my average scoring ratio JoeSemi. It's usually a big duck egg! 0 :o Something tells me you usually hit your purple patch when the 16 year olds are on their mid term breaks! :p Is our Spanish Carragher not a bit old for that sort of behaviour?? ;)
School disco in Coyote on Thursday night. €5 admission. Might be right up JoeSemi's street. :D Then again, Coyote didnt even make the shortlist of most talented nightclubs.
08/11/2004, 11:34 PM
but coyote should get best sound system, fcukin amazing
$Leon$
09/11/2004, 12:41 PM
but coyote should get best sound system, fcukin amazing
the standard of a night club is not determined by the sound system they have but by the talent they attract. in that case any club in any $hitty little provincial town with a big enough backer could become the best. back to the drawin board on that idea max
TRAMCO still rules the roost!! ;)
The stats don't lie. Take a look at the above poll!
By the way just heard today that Richard Dunne and Jason Byrne were in the Playwright in Tallaght on Sunday night! A Scumrock Rovers supporter went up and slide tackled Jason Byrne!! He was kicked out immediately. Dross of creation those lads. Their new found manager reflects the breed of their supporters- downright thugs and scum.
$Leon$
09/11/2004, 3:40 PM
By the way just heard today that Richard Dunne and Jason Byrne were in the Playwright in Tallaght on Sunday night! A Scumrock Rovers supporter went up and slide tackled Jason Byrne!! He was kicked out immediately. Dross of creation those lads. Their new found manager reflects the breed of their supporters- downright thugs and scum.
is it any wonder why i've never givin it any consideration to head further in land for a night out?
jaykay
09/11/2004, 5:35 PM
remember doing the palace and planet murphys back in 98/99 when it was at its most popular, wen nights in there were amazing.....dj box on top of the bar was great, no annoying fools couldn't get near u anymore
annother great student night as MIA in the temple Therate, over 3000 screaming students every week.
couldn't agree more - the toughest decision of your student week around 98/99 was whether to go to the Palace or The Temple. Haven't seen club atmospheres like those since. The Temple had DJ Country Kev (from Leitrim I think) upstairs banging out the cheesy classics and maniac live and there was another Dance DJ downstairs in The Crypt. £2.50 for a vodka and redbull and £2 a pint - heaven!
TheJamaicanP.M.
09/11/2004, 7:16 PM
That's shocking behaviour. I'm glad I go to the 92 as opposed to Tallaght. Maybe $Leon$ is right in his assertion that we need to change the thuggish image that hangs like a dark shadow over domestic football in this country.
JoeSemi
09/11/2004, 7:28 PM
You've got me purplexed on that one Dillo.....Wans? Are those a group of Chinese tourists from Beijing that pop over every Christmas?!! Heard on the grapevine your a fan of the odd Chinese takeaway at Clonskeagh too!! Might explain your aquired taste for Wans alright.........
What can a lad do when the odd mature lookin cailin ventures his way and you don't find her age out til after!! When your talkin of a gymnast/Miss Ireland(of a lesser scale :) ) what is JoeSemi supposed to do? Add Franny Jeffers to that too....Good up front!! :)
TheJamaicanP.M.
10/11/2004, 5:19 PM
You've got me purplexed on that one Dillo.....Wans? Are those a group of Chinese tourists from Beijing that pop over every Christmas?!! Heard on the grapevine your a fan of the odd Chinese takeaway at Clonskeagh too!! Might explain your aquired taste for Wans alright.........
What can a lad do when the odd mature lookin cailin ventures his way and you don't find her age out til after!! When your talkin of a gymnast/Miss Ireland(of a lesser scale :) ) what is JoeSemi supposed to do? Add Franny Jeffers to that too....Good up front!! :)
Dillo used to practically live in that Chinese takeaway in Clonskeagh. However, he has now moved to Dublin's version of Chinatown, known to civilians as Rathmines. Despite his acquired taste for Chinese wans, Dillo enjoys the odd Eastern European as shown by his recent venture to the Ukranian way. Any truth in the rumour that Dillo has been courting not so young wans in Tramco in recent times? :D
First and foremost, I would like to clarify that I have absolutely no acquired fondness for either Chinese or their respective revolting delicacies! Quite the opposite in fact. :( I was unfortunate enough to reside for one year in extremely close proximity to "Yummi"- a Chinese takeaway in the heart of Clonskeagh- far from being yummy despite what the shopfront may suggest! Daily, from my bedroom window I was able to view the ins and outs of this 'chink' infested institution and by God was I not horrored by what I saw! :mad: I would never ever have anything to do with a Chinese- of any kind may I add. My recent Ukrainian adventure with a certain 'Oleg' was very uncharacteristic of me and will not be repeated. As for you JoeSemi: any lad with a girl resembling Charlton frontman Francis Jeffers....... well let's just say your standards have to be questioned!! :rolleyes:
ccfcman
11/11/2004, 6:49 PM
'chink' infested institution
Need I ask a mod to ban you for all eternity for what can only be described as blatant racism
ccfcman
11/11/2004, 6:55 PM
Well chink wouldnt exactly be classed as a term of endearment to the proprietor of a Chinese Take Away
Ah whaaaaaaaaaaa ya sayin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
TheJamaicanP.M.
12/11/2004, 11:37 AM
Lads, lads, chill the bean ok. We all know that Dillo is not a racist. Similarly, I have a lot of respect for ccfcman. He speaks about grooming products and nights out with all the authority of a seasoned expert. So lets drop the whole Chinese thing. I think what Dillo meant was that he wouldnt generally go for Chinese girls, just as someone might not like red heads. I think it is understandable that he has little fondness for Chinese girls as most Irish men are the same. I feel that some of his dislike stems from the rumour that the Chinese eat Cats for dinner. I know for a fact that alleged Chinese cruelty on Cats has left a certain JoeSemi rather upset. :D :p
12/11/2004, 12:37 PM
I think it is understandable that he has little fondness for Chinese girls as most Irish men are the same.
Wha?
I got whiplash in China because there were so many gorgeous women there, I couldn't turn my head quick enough to look at them all. Japan and Korea were the same. (Especially Seoul)
My only problem with many of them in Ireland is that they don't socialise in the same places that I do, so they're hard to get chatting to.
Some of them are so cute you could pick them up and put them in your pocket. Hence the term, "Pocket Bird."
JoeSemi
12/11/2004, 12:43 PM
Lads, lads, chill the bean ok. We all know that Dillo is not a racist. Similarly, I have a lot of respect for ccfcman. He speaks about grooming products and nights out with all the authority of a seasoned expert. So lets drop the whole Chinese thing. I think what Dillo meant was that he wouldnt generally go for Chinese girls, just as someone might not like red heads. I think it is understandable that he has little fondness for Chinese girls as most Irish men are the same. I feel that some of his dislike stems from the rumour that the Chinese eat Cats for dinner. I know for a fact that alleged Chinese cruelty on Cats has left a certain JoeSemi rather upset. :D :p
Like the P.M, I would like to categorically deny that Dillo is a racist. He respects people regardless of nationality, religious persuasion, colour and ethnicity. There might be a slight swing towards a dislike for social sub-groups such as those with a fondness for egg and skateboarding however :( This IS understandable as egg is thrown all over South County Dublin ....mainly by heavily built individuals with a tendency to dye their hair peroxide and spout muck and talk about rucks!! :D
JoeSemi
12/11/2004, 12:49 PM
Wha?
I got whiplash in China because there were so many gorgeous women there, I couldn't turn my head quick enough to look at them all. Japan and Korea were the same. (Especially Seoul)
My only problem with many of them in Ireland is that they don't socialise in the same places that I do, so they're hard to get chatting to.
Some of them are so cute you could pick them up and put them in your pocket. Hence the term, "Pocket Bird."
I mainly got a sore neck from lookin at those buildings over in Seoul Peadar. Some spectacular feats of engineering and sculpture. :)
12/11/2004, 12:55 PM
Some spectacular feats of engineering and sculpture. :)
If you went into the Hyundai Department Store in the COEX Mall ath Mokdong and sat for half an hour you'd see what I consider to be some of the most beautiful women in the world.
ccfcman
12/11/2004, 1:04 PM
I have a lot of respect for ccfcman. He speaks about grooming products and nights out with all the authority of a seasoned expert.
Owh jaysus!
Ah sure twas my own foolishness, lads you could order yerselves a Thai bride sure ;)
13/11/2004, 12:23 PM
I'm no racist.
just try and avoid posting words like that so please.
TheJamaicanP.M.
15/11/2004, 11:11 AM
Paid a visit to the Odeon last Friday night. Very disappointed with the talent on show. As with any Dublin niteclub, it had a few stunners. However, the clientele there is a little bit older and I hope I will never have to resort to places like the Odeon or the Village to find a wan. Both places are full of ming-bats.
$Leon$
15/11/2004, 12:04 PM
Paid a visit to the Odeon last Friday night. Very disappointed with the talent on show. As with any Dublin niteclub, it had a few stunners. However, the clientele there is a little bit older and I hope I will never have to resort to places like the Odeon or the Village to find a wan. Both places are full of ming-bats.
unusual spot for u pm. never been there myself. heard it was an oldish crowd alright but then again where isn't at the weekends. in the old days the palace was even considered rough at the weekends. best stickin to mid week. thats when the champions league of wans come out to play
Sorry about that Eanna. No harm intended. :o
16/11/2004, 10:03 PM
no worries. I'm full sure it wasn't meant in a racist way, but it could have been misinterpreted, thats all
17/11/2004, 2:49 PM
And who did you hear that off? Podge and rodge. No matter what the title of the thread you find it impossible not to slag us off :o
Anyway Riordans in cork is a great spot for pulling. Honourable mentions go to the wash, scotts and the bodega. All in all the best away trip of the season (at least til galway come back up)!
What about Stampies night club Ballybofey?
99% Rednecks and the other person is just ****ed
TheJamaicanP.M.
17/11/2004, 7:34 PM
And who did you hear that off? Podge and rodge. No matter what the title of the thread you find it impossible not to slag us off :o
Anyway Riordans in cork is a great spot for pulling. Honourable mentions go to the wash, scotts and the bodega. All in all the best away trip of the season (at least til galway come back up)!
I can confirm that Dillo's story is factual information. Hard to believe that such scum can be allowed into niteclubs.
However, I agree with you NY Hoop in that such a story should not be mentioned on this thread. This thread is about most talented niteclubs. For the same reason, we do not want to hear about Riordans in Cork or any other provincial backwater. Unless the niteclub exists in a posh part of Dublin or Dublin City Centre, there's no point mentioning it.