View Full Version : Matchday 14
WoodquayBoy
02/06/2014, 5:46 PM
Didn't see us in Finn Park but we were poor against Harps in the EA Sports Cup game, and pure muck against them at home in the league.
For some reason we struggle at home but are only team in both divisions unbeaten away from home - Drew withWaterford, Harps, Shams B and Longford, and beat Cobh, Shels and Wexford. Need a couple of players but you know what rumours are like!
Galway - well set up, but lacking a couple of players. If they get in a couple of attacking players in the transfer window they'll be hard to stop.
Have to agree with you there especially seeing as when have the joint best defence in the league along with having now scored 9 goals in our last 2 league outings.
02/06/2014, 7:04 PM
Pats 1-0 Drogheda
Dundalk 1-1 UCD
02/06/2014, 7:07 PM
Pats 2-0 Drogheda
02/06/2014, 7:16 PM
Dundalk 2-1 UCD
TheBoss
02/06/2014, 7:34 PM
Half-Time
Dundalk 4-1 UCD
St. Patrick's Athletic 3-0 Drogheda United
TheBoss
02/06/2014, 7:36 PM
So far all of Dundalk goals were headers, that makes it an incredible 14 goals from headers in the league for Dundalk, which is 34% of their goals.
patrickccfc
02/06/2014, 7:37 PM
Dundalk are just obliterating all in their path at oriel
02/06/2014, 7:55 PM
Pats 4-0 Drogs
02/06/2014, 8:13 PM
Pats 5-0 Drogs
02/06/2014, 8:22 PM
Dundalk 4-2 UCD
Yossarian
02/06/2014, 8:28 PM
Ref playing a stormer here. Booked Andy Boyle twice and didn't send him off!
bluewhitearmy
02/06/2014, 8:30 PM
And the majority of Longford fans would say Galway are the team to watch, best footballing team I've seen this season and with rumours of a few big names in the transfer window it's going to be a ding dong battle
Like?
02/06/2014, 8:30 PM
Pats 6-0 Drogs
02/06/2014, 8:33 PM
Ref playing a stormer here. Booked Andy Boyle twice and didn't send him off!
Points deduction!
02/06/2014, 8:45 PM
Lol! thought that quietly myself
02/06/2014, 8:51 PM
Wouldn't have mattered I'd say! (Didn't spot that)
We paid for awful defending in the first half. Dundalk are very good, which is all the more reason not to gift goals like we did. Redeemed ourselves in the second half I thought, but it was academic, and even doubtful how much Dundalk cared.
Still, an ok shift given we were missing three Centre halves, two Centre mids, a forward and a winger who's about the most exciting prospect I've seen in a long while.
Are there any plans to upgrade Oriel at all? I'd forgotten what a dump it is. The main stand is grand, but a small stand somewhere else is badly needed. (The Old terrace bit doesn't count really as it's a bit of a tip)
02/06/2014, 9:15 PM
Piece in the ground developments thread. Architect is or has been employed to draw up plans, initially to provide a wheelchair accessable permanent viewing area and addressing the away section. All down to finances after that. We are all very aware of the limitations of Oriel and how badly it needs improving. We didnt move forward after winfalls on big European nights, not long after it was a hand to mouth effort and a protracted period in the 1st Division. A little success, continued momentum and we might be in a financial position to do somthing. Sligo have been very good at putting mney into infrastructer as prize money was in and crowds were up, I hope we can do similar.
cobhlad
02/06/2014, 9:52 PM
First time Cobh looked good all year. 0-0 draw doesn't sound like much but meant a lot and that could be the turning point. Big cup tie with Derry should help the accounts, new sponsor on board and July transfer window coming up so things are on the up it seems
oriel
02/06/2014, 10:26 PM
Dundalk are just obliterating all in their path at oriel
We actually made it a little difficult for ourselves for 10 or 15 mins in the second half, was impressed how UCD upped their game and played with a lot of energy. Decent win in the end, but it was a very quiet Oriel Park I thought, hardly a lot of excitement for a team going 5 points clear.
02/06/2014, 10:36 PM
Extratime and our bench agreeing about Boyle's two yellows! Second one was for the penalty, and we had Dundalk slightly rattled for a few minutes after pulling back to 4-2. If they'd been down to ten men, maybe we could have found a gap and pulled it back to 4-3 and see how Dundalk would respond. But then we've gone 1-0 up against them both times only to go 4-1 down; agitating them hasn't been the smartest of plans this season!
PartySaint
02/06/2014, 11:04 PM
That might have just been the easiest Pats win I've ever seen. Drogheda are awful.
Our next league game is up in Oriel, should be a cracker. We will need to improve defensively if we want to get a result. Bolger has to start for us for that to happen.
02/06/2014, 11:48 PM
The two Boyle yellow cards
https://vine.co/v/MpHzBWebl5b
Dundalk should be relegated to the Kerry League for this.
seand
03/06/2014, 12:14 AM
Boyle was clearly booked twice (confirmed now on tv). If I was a UCD/ Cork/Rovers /Pats fan I'd be livid... 4-2 against 10 would have given them some chance. Awful refereeing from four refs and a refs assessor all of whom are paid to be there. I assume Dundalk are in the clear as it wasn't our mistake but I assume Boyle will (rightly) be suspended when it's reviewed. I tip this ref for greatness.
KeepersBall
03/06/2014, 3:32 AM
Boyle was clearly booked twice (confirmed now on tv). If I was a UCD/ Cork/Rovers /Pats fan I'd be livid... 4-2 against 10 would have given them some chance. Awful refereeing from four refs and a refs assessor all of whom are paid to be there. I assume Dundalk are in the clear as it wasn't our mistake but I assume Boyle will (rightly) be suspended when it's reviewed. I tip this ref for greatness.He may achieve greatness but he'll never be as great as this fella.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-NRQz0P6vg
refjohn
03/06/2014, 5:13 AM
Awful refereeing from four refs and a refs assessor all of whom are paid to be there.
Out of interest what did you expect the refs assessor to do? Run onto pitch and haul player off? Last I checked their job was to observe game and report back. I assess in the North and we aren't even allowed to speak to referees at half time as can't be influencing game due to comments we may make.
Pablo Escobar
03/06/2014, 5:32 AM
We actually made it a little difficult for ourselves for 10 or 15 mins in the second half, was impressed how UCD upped their game and played with a lot of energy. Decent win in the end, but it was a very quiet Oriel Park I thought, hardly a lot of excitement for a team going 5 points clear.
Our games have been similar of late actually. It has been very quiet with little in the way of atmosphere despite relatively large crowds.
Out of interest what did you expect the refs assessor to do? Run onto pitch and haul player off? Last I checked their job was to observe game and report back. I assess in the North and we aren't even allowed to speak to referees at half time as can't be influencing game due to comments we may make.
Cheers John, fair point, I assume our assessors are not allowed to contact refs either in that case. I just wondered if he couldn't contact the fourth official on the sideline. Remarkable that none of the four on-field officials spotted it.
03/06/2014, 8:21 AM
I guess there's an extent to which the linesmen certainly just aren't looking out for that kind of thing. How often does it happen?
The fourth official, though, I think keeps a counter-check of bookings and events (refjohn may be able to correct), in which case he should have spotted it.
And one or two on our bench spotted it at the time - are they allowed to make the point to the fourth official?
White Horse
03/06/2014, 8:41 AM
Two yellow cards and not being sent off is just not good enough.
The performance of the officals last night was terrible. I didn't think the two penalties were penalties. Boyle got the ball, while Mountney overran the ball and lost balance. Also, UCD players constantly threw themselves to the ground (with an accompanying roar) and were awarded with free kicks every time. As for the linesmen, there were numerous wrong offside calls.
All in all, the poorest set of officials in Oriel Park so far this season. Particularly, when you consider that Dundalk Vs UCD is one of the easiest games to officiate.
03/06/2014, 8:52 AM
I thought both penalties were penalties tbh.
Don't know where you're getting the constant diving from.
One thing that is interesting is on our first goal; the ref didn't count out the ten yards for the wall, but then blew his whistle for the free to be taken. This, I think, confused Cherrie, who was still sorting out the wall. When he saw Mulhall running up to take the free, Cherrie - who was on the post - ran towards the middle of the goal, but the ball went back the way he'd come, so he had little enough chance.
I thought the rule with a quick free though was that you either take the kick immediately or wait for the whistle? I'll post the video later, but the ref talks to Mulhall, then walks away for a few seconds and blows his whistle. This, by my understanding, isn't a quick free kick and so the ref should have marked out ten yards for the wall, which would have meant Cherrie would have been in position for the free.
Here's (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gCWjioIR5MM) a quick free kick with no whistle.
Did the ref mess up again here?
Are there any plans to upgrade Oriel at all? I'd forgotten what a dump it is. The main stand is grand, but a small stand somewhere else is badly needed. (The Old terrace bit doesn't count really as it's a bit of a tip)
Totally agree its in need of a makeshift, and a new stand (behind the town goal would be good), crying out for it actually. As one of the lads pointed out, there is a mention on the stadium thread to plans, article in a recent match programme gave some details, away section to be upgraded, disabled cover and final one I'd love to see, but not sure if just plans, to extend the main stand along one side, even that would be enough, as away fans could stay where they are, but obviously in a proper seated stand area with much better toilet and food/drink facilities.
Watched soccer rep, simply unbelievable how ref didn't spot the 2nd card for Boyle, I def thought it was a penalty, and he was lucky not to get a straight red for it, totally wreck less by the guy and could have cost us dearly. Moment of madness and he did realise it straight away, needs to learn from that especially as stand in captain.
Definitely admired UCD performance in the 2nd, I'd say for over 15 mins they had us under a bit of pressure, few teams have done that this season at home, but suppose we had a fair lead built up at the time.
03/06/2014, 10:18 AM
He may achieve greatness but he'll never be as great as this fella.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-NRQz0P6vg
Indeed. I thought of that straight away, although I was blaming Howard Webb instead of Graham Poll.
Easy, easy win for Pats last night, Dundalk away in 2 weeks is shaping up to be a cracker. Honestly think it's between the two of us for the Title (sorry Cork and Rovers :o).
Yossarian
03/06/2014, 10:53 AM
I guess there's an extent to which the linesmen certainly just aren't looking out for that kind of thing.
I've noticed before when the ref books someone the linesman notes it down in a book of their own. I always assumed they both do it in case they need to step in and ref the match at any point. I honestly don't know how they all missed it last night considering it wasn't a dirty game and there was only two(?) bookings at that point.
Can anyone confirm the process for suspension in this case? If Boyle had got the red he would miss the next game automatically but as he wasn't actually given the red what happens now?
03/06/2014, 11:18 AM
Isn't an immediate one-match ban only for a straight red?
(Which, as noted above, he could well have gotten alright)
But in any event, I think your suspension is served, where possible, in the competition it was earned in, in which case he should be available for the Cup game regardless.
I remember a similar thing happening against Cobh a few years back (2008); I think the linesman stepped in to tell the ref to send the guy off alright, so you could have a point there.
03/06/2014, 11:21 AM
Is there no precedent for playing the match again? I'd have thought that would be an option considering it probably did have a material effect on the outcome.
03/06/2014, 11:31 AM
TBH, I'll take a 5-2 defeat over playing that match again!
03/06/2014, 11:48 AM
Is there no precedent for playing the match again? I'd have thought that would be an option considering it probably did have a material effect on the outcome.
Stop it now!!
The result stood after the Poll 3 red cards in a world cup finals - that should be precedence enough for the FAI
03/06/2014, 11:53 AM
Technically, that's not really a precedence - yer man did get sent off in the end. Here, Boyle got to stay on for the full 90.
Edit - just checking wikipedia there; had forgotten that the third yellow was actually after the final whistle. Yer man (Simunic) had been booked the second time in injury time, and then confronted and pushed Poll after the end of the game. What a twit.
03/06/2014, 12:04 PM
Isn't an immediate one-match ban only for a straight red?
No. If you're sent off here (straight red or 2 yellows) you miss the next game in the competition it happened in (unless in a cup game where you've been knocked out, it which case it moves to "next competitive fixture")
Any further suspension is served in "competitive games" and not limited to the tournament the cards were handed out in.
In Boyle's case he'd miss the Pats league game and not the FAI Cup game
KeepersBall
03/06/2014, 12:10 PM
Refereed for 14 years, only once did anything like this ever happen in a game I was involved with.
Leinster Junior Cup tie and I was on the line, the ref booked the visiting number 3 right in front of me in the first half, as the senior assistant I noted that on my card as well.
In the second half he cautioned him again and walked away without producing a red, I flagged him and before he did anything else he went back and sent him off, then came back and asked me what I was flagging for lol.
the assessor said afterwards that it looked messy, and it did, but that we got it right in the end.
I assume the referee on realising his error last night writes in to the FAI along with his match report stating he made a mistake and that Boyle should have been dismissed for two yellow card offences.
After that it's in the lap of the Gods.
PartySaint
03/06/2014, 12:17 PM
Boyle should be suspended for the Pats game and they should suspend Towell and Hoban as well for good measure.
desaintsno.12
03/06/2014, 12:54 PM
its the only way they'll learn !!!
03/06/2014, 2:01 PM
It is strange! that players kept their mouths shut, Boyles reaction was one of a man being sent off which should have piqued the ref to check his notebook. If UCD bench were calling it surely the 4th official would have looked at his own record, surely UCD players said it, these incidents usually cause a ruck around the ref. Murmer round the ground chatting about it....all very odd, a larger and more vocal support would have been outraged, booing etc bringing attention to the error! Do refs totally block out the crowd,for example, is there a infallibility complex that is so adverse to listening to players and wouldnt check 'just in case', Should there be an obligation on the player to speak up? I think this is quite an interesting issue tbh due to the amount of questions it raises before even considering how a result could be influenced. Id say the ref is totally sickened today, it is not a job many would be willing to do so i do feel a bit sorry for the chap - Graham Poll was ranked the world's top ref when made the error and it finished his career more or less and he suffered quite badly after healthwise over it. Ok i'm getting soft on a ref due to being exiled and missing live games, i need a trip home!
03/06/2014, 2:20 PM
Pfft, if it was a Finn Harps player he'd have been sent off three times.
poster
03/06/2014, 2:24 PM
Same thing happened in a Sligo Rovers/Shels cup game around 2003.
Gareth Gorman was booked twice by Dave McKeon but not sent off. They were the glory days.
http://www.irishfootballonline.com/news/947.html
03/06/2014, 2:26 PM
Pfft, if it was a Finn Harps player he'd have been sent off three times.
Thats first division for ye, a totally different set of rules from the rest of the footballing world (managers getting sent off the bench hop a wall and stand behind the bench dishing out instructions from among the fans):p
03/06/2014, 2:35 PM
Thats first division for ye, a totally different set of rules from the rest of the footballing world (managers getting sent off the bench hop a wall and stand behind the bench dishing out instructions from among the fans):p
That happened with Peter Hutton against Drogheda in the cup last season. He hopped the wall to about 10 yards from the bench where the rest of us were standing and started barking out orders from there, as well as the odd criticism of the fourth official. Probably the highlight of his time in charge of Harps.
Boyle should be suspended for the Pats game and they should suspend Towell and Hoban as well for good measure.
Hoban meant to be having minor knee surgery this week, so he will miss 3 weeks, and the next 2 games at least.
Rossiter will come in for Boyle if he misses out, and McMillan will start in place of Hoban, I think even if these two miss out we will be strong enough to beat Pats, especially at home.