View Full Version : Matchday 14
Last day of May and a perfect 5 for us, with 5 league wins. I was a little worried about last night, especially as Bohs had still to win a home game so very happy to get the win, the GD +25 now definitely worth an extra point. Long way to go and one game at a time, but we are in a very strong position now.
31/05/2014, 8:57 AM
Also so far this season Shane Tracy has scored a penalty, saved a penalty and now scored a corner!
He didn't come claim a corner while in nets did he?
Would round it off nicely.
PartySaint
31/05/2014, 9:11 AM
Good win for the Champions last night, superb at times but helped by the lack of intelligence in Derrys game plan.
All you have to do is set up 2 banks of 4 against Pats and you're guaranteed at least a point against us as UCD and Limerick showed the last 2 weeks but Derry were just all over the place. We were also helped by Ger Doherty being pony.
Christy Fagan (or Anto Flood as Cork fans call him) is now the leagues outright top scorer with 12 goals, good to see he has time to score goals after all his diving eh.
We play Drogs on Monday so I hope they're in the same form they were last night then we're up in Oriel after the Cup game, should be a cracker.
dundalkfc10
31/05/2014, 9:23 AM
The few times Dundalk played it on the ground , the pitch didnt seem a problem. A bit patchy around the goals but the pitch cant be blamed for Dundalk hoofing it . ( we hoof it most of the time anyway)
Anyway, soft goal from Horgan, then Bohs dominated until the break wifthout creating a goal chance.
Great strike from Towell early 2nd half, game over.
A better team would have destroyed DDalks two poor full backs.
Appalling performance by Tomney and stand side lino.
About 350 away fans.Biggest Dundalk support here for 20 yrs Id say.Crowd abot 1300.
Would have been 352 if the "Bohs Fans" had not attacked a group of fans on the way in. 2 had to go to hospital and it came from the away end, How the "gardai" (waste of ****ing money) never seen that about 30 fellas were all standing waiting for Dundalk fans to arrive il never know!
Our security is far from top notch, but last night was a disgrace! I know a good few have made complaints to the ombudsman, lets hope something comes out of it
WoodquayBoy
31/05/2014, 9:24 AM
Ye must have the worst disciplinary record in the league? Impressive resolve but why are ye getting men sent off every week?
I'd imagine you need look no further than the manager - the couple of times they have been in EDP this season, Horgan has been having conniptions on the sideline - I honestly thought the man would have a heart attack during the EA Sports Cup game.
Great win for us last night, revenge for the 93rd minute winner they got against us earlier in season. Still think despite how table looks that Longford are the ones to beat - little group of 4 (Shels, us, Longford and Wexford) starting to break away a little now
Pablo Escobar
31/05/2014, 9:46 AM
Christy Fagan (or Anto Flood as Cork fans call him) is now the leagues outright top scorer with 12 goals, good to see he has time to score goals after all his diving eh.
Out of curiosity, why are you universally labelling us as calling Fagan "Anto Flood"?
Also, as we're talking about Pats' front men, do you have to be complete ***** to get a game up front for Pats these days?
Out of curiosity, why are you universally labelling us as calling Fagan "Anto Flood"?
Also, as we're talking about Pats' front men, do you have to be complete ***** to get a game up front for Pats these days?
Huh ? complete ***** like the leagues top scorer you mean ?
Pablo Escobar
31/05/2014, 10:03 AM
[/B]
Huh ? complete ***** like the leagues top scorer you mean ?
I'm not question the quality of the players at all. They clearly ply their trade very well.
CityRebel
31/05/2014, 10:16 AM
Good win for the Champions last night, superb at times but helped by the lack of intelligence in Derrys game plan.
All you have to do is set up 2 banks of 4 against Pats and you're guaranteed at least a point against us as UCD and Limerick showed the last 2 weeks but Derry were just all over the place. We were also helped by Ger Doherty being pony.
We play Drogs on Monday so I hope they're in the same form they were last night then we're up in Oriel after the Cup game, should be a cracker.
Haha, talk about obsessed! Ye're still upset that the bold Cork City fans called Fagan out for his bambi on ice performance against us, and one of our fans mistakenly calling him Anto Flood?
CityRebel
31/05/2014, 10:17 AM
The Dalymount pitch was atrocious. The grass was uncut and the pitch appeared to be very dry.
I wonder will the usual 'pitch police' be as vociferous in their commentary about a surface that appeared to be discouraging of passing football?
A victim of dark economic times at Bohs or simply an attempt to stifle the opposition?
And it was still probably better than the pitch at Oriel Park
White Horse
31/05/2014, 10:21 AM
The few times Dundalk played it on the ground , the pitch didnt seem a problem. A bit patchy around the goals but the pitch cant be blamed for Dundalk hoofing it.
It's very difficult for fans sitting in a stand to comment on a pitch. From interviews I heard with the Dundalk players they all mentioned that the grass was very long and when combined with the lack of water made a quick passing game too dangerous.
The real positive from a Dundalk point of view is that they were able to adapt to the conditions and play a different game. A lot of balls were played long to Hoban, who was fantastic on the night. He constantly bettered the Bohs centre halves and intelligently knocked down balls for onrushing midfielders. I thought we should have scored more than two goals.
31/05/2014, 10:33 AM
City rebels on fire with the barbs today:D Bitter Corkies are funny.
Dalymountrower
31/05/2014, 10:39 AM
Would have been 352 if the "Bohs Fans" had not attacked a group of fans on the way in. 2 had to go to hospital and it came from the away end, How the "gardai" (waste of ****ing money) never seen that about 30 fellas were all standing waiting for Dundalk fans to arrive il never know!
Our security is far from top notch, but last night was a disgrace! I know a good few have made complaints to the ombudsman, lets hope something comes out of it
Sorry to hear that, hopefully both ok?
Ezeikial
31/05/2014, 11:29 AM
It's very difficult for fans sitting in a stand to comment on a pitch. From interviews I heard with the Dundalk players they all mentioned that the grass was very long and when combined with the lack of water made a quick passing game too dangerous.
The real positive from a Dundalk point of view is that they were able to adapt to the conditions and play a different game. A lot of balls were played long to Hoban, who was fantastic on the night. He constantly bettered the Bohs centre halves and intelligently knocked down balls for onrushing midfielders. I thought we should have scored more than two goals.
The first thing I noticed about the pitch before the match was the length of the grass. I accept your point that the players would have a far better perspective then supporters
Post match interviews
Sean Gannon - "Pitch was sticky, grass was long" @30secs
http://audioboo.fm/boos/2211056-sean-gannon
Stephen Kenny - "Pitch was difficult" @15secs
https://audioboo.fm/boos/2211059-stephen-kenny#t=3m4s
And it was still probably better than the pitch at Oriel Park
Of course...sure Roddy declared it as the worst pitch in the world.
The difference of course is that you can play passing football in Oriel Park. Last night in Dalymount the pitch condition meant it was high risk
Sean South
31/05/2014, 7:23 PM
Would have been 352 if the "Bohs Fans" had not attacked a group of fans on the way in. 2 had to go to hospital and it came from the away end
If you dress a certain way you have to expect to get a reaction.
Yossarian
31/05/2014, 9:01 PM
I'm not sure if your trying to be funny here but are you saying that away fans who wear colours should expect to get attacked???
White Horse
31/05/2014, 9:35 PM
11 year kids deserve a thumping? What planet do you live on?
PartySaint
31/05/2014, 9:50 PM
I'm not sure if your trying to be funny here but are you saying that away fans who wear colours should expect to get attacked???
I think he's saying the ones that don't wear colours are the ones who get attacked/start trouble
31/05/2014, 10:01 PM
It's Sean South.
Pablo Escobar
31/05/2014, 10:19 PM
That's an absolutely ridiculous post.
31/05/2014, 10:28 PM
It's Sean South.
Sean South
01/06/2014, 8:49 AM
11 year kids deserve a thumping? What planet do you live on?
Ah here, where did I say anyone deserves a thumping? I didn't know a 11 year old got caught up in it, the other guy was older not that it matters.
It's unfortunate, but it's true. If you dress like a "casual" you only bring attention on yourself even if you don't want it.
Pablo Escobar
01/06/2014, 10:08 AM
Ah here, where did I say anyone deserves a thumping? I didn't know a 11 year old got caught up in it, the other guy was older not that it matters.
It's unfortunate, but it's true. If you dress like a "casual" you only bring attention on yourself even if you don't want it.
How you dress should not dictate how you are treated. It's as simple as that.
Sean South
01/06/2014, 10:21 AM
How you dress should not dictate how you are treated. It's as simple as that.
I don't disagree with you but unfortunately others would.
Pablo Escobar
01/06/2014, 10:24 AM
I don't disagree with you but unfortunately others would.
That's fair enough, but your original wording is questionable.
01/06/2014, 2:46 PM
Rovers 1-0 up right on half-time. Own goal by the sounds of it.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/06/2014, 3:08 PM
Rovers 1 down at half time. Own goal
01/06/2014, 3:55 PM
1-0 Rovers, full time. McCabe stupidly sent off with five minutes to go.
Ezeikial
01/06/2014, 4:06 PM
Although Europa League qualification remains a possibility, Sligo's season could be effectively over next Friday evening
redarmyfaction
01/06/2014, 4:19 PM
Although Europa League qualification remains a possibility, Sligo's season could be effectively over next Friday evening
I make you right there.
Match nearly abandoned at the Showgs, usual vermin antics, not surprised, such yokes got off their buses, go to jail haircuts, tracksuits tucked into white socks like something out of Ross o Carroll Kelly.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/06/2014, 4:40 PM
2 points from the 6 games against the teams ahead of us
jamie m
01/06/2014, 5:27 PM
Over 3,000 official attendance today. Fair play to shams, they got the win and that's what counts at the end of the day. Sadly it's the behaviour of a few "fans" that's the focus again. A number were removed by Gardai for encroaching on the pitch I presume and after there was flares been thrown by Shamrock Rovers fans which delayed the game for a few mins. At one stage the announcer said if another flare was thrown game would be abandoned. It's pathetic that when people are trying to promote the league and get people in the gates this stuff is still going on. I didn't bring my kids today and and glad I didn't. Games been threatened with abandonment and "fans" hauled off by Gardai is not what I want them to associate with this league we all love.
redarmyfaction
01/06/2014, 10:06 PM
Maybe I an wrong but it seemed to me that the powers that be at shamrock were willing to indulge, tolerate, condone or sneakingly regard the cringing embarrassment who make up a good percentage of theIr away crowd and they may live to regret it at Tallaght.as home support seems to be on a considerable wane.
01/06/2014, 10:18 PM
Our home support is declining for the same reason yours is, no need to make things up.
El-Pietro
01/06/2014, 10:33 PM
City are now 12 points clear of Sligo. I don't expect us to win the league, my goal is Europe, do we now have the top 4 in the bag? Probably not, but I did not see us getting into this strong a position, even as recently as 2 weeks ago.
01/06/2014, 10:50 PM
Sligo are easily good enough to finish in the top three, but the gap of 10 points will require a Herculean effort for them to make up (12 really as I think Rovers are the most likely side to drop out of the top three). Their best hope is probably the Cup now, a position Rovers can understand given the past couple of seasons.
jinxy lilywhite
01/06/2014, 11:08 PM
Sligo aren't out of it yet. although I do feel they have now lost too many matches to win the league. In fairness they have had a tough time injuries. The same can happen rovers, pats, cork and Dundalk.
01/06/2014, 11:33 PM
There's no goals in The Bitored at the moment and Barra is far too cautious. How long can Danny North keep putting in shifts like today up there on his own?
Ezeikial
01/06/2014, 11:43 PM
Maybe I an wrong but it seemed to me that the powers that be at shamrock were willing to indulge, tolerate, condone or sneakingly regard the cringing embarrassment who make up a good percentage of theIr away crowd and they may live to regret it at Tallaght.as home support seems to be on a considerable wane.
Our home support is declining for the same reason yours is, no need to make things up.
He is obviously expressing an opinion - for crying out loud he even concedes he may be wrong!
He is not the first to question the detached attitude of the Shamrock Rovers officials
02/06/2014, 12:09 AM
He is obviously expressing an opinion - for crying out loud he even concedes he may be wrong!
He is not the first to question the detached attitude of the Shamrock Rovers officials
I don't know how it is in the away section but the last incident I remember in the home section was three years ago and since then I can't remember seeing any flares, if any.
02/06/2014, 10:00 AM
Allegedly Dundalk were threatened with potential sanctions at Oriel for use of flares at away games, an even hand will be required now. What is it with Shamrock Rovers that when they score (away from home) there is a bunch af lads hopping a wall and running on to the pitch. The late equaliser in Oriel one chap ran as far as within a few metres of the Shed which subsequently showed condiserable restraint by not dragging him into the Shed.
Sean South
02/06/2014, 10:05 AM
I don't know how it is in the away section but the last incident I remember in the home section was three years ago and since then I can't remember seeing any flares, if any.
You mustn't go to many Shams home game if you can't remember seeing any flares in the past three years. Your ultras have put on some great pyro displays at home, probably the biggest and best pyro displays at home as most teams use them at away games. I don't think many people minds your fans using them as your club gets the fine just as long as they aren't throwing on the pitch.
Ezeikial
02/06/2014, 10:14 AM
I don't know what flares, your poor memory and/or lack of attendance at matches has to do with the attitude of the Shamrock Rovers board and officials towards misbehaviour of travelling fans
White Horse
02/06/2014, 10:34 AM
I don't know what flares, your poor memory and/or lack of attendance at matches has to do with the attitude of the Shamrock Rovers board and officials towards misbehaviour of travelling fans
Indeed, the Shams board should follow the example of Drogheda United who acted shiftily in dealing with a similar hooligan episode in Sligo last season. But they won't.
redarmyfaction
02/06/2014, 10:34 AM
Allegedly Dundalk were threatened with potential sanctions at Oriel for use of flares at away games, an even hand will be required now. What is it with Shamrock Rovers that when they score (away from home) there is a bunch af lads hopping a wall and running on to the pitch. The late equaliser in Oriel one chap ran as far as within a few metres of the Shed which subsequently showed condiserable restraint by not dragging him into the Shed.
What appeared to to pique the Mulletheads last evening was their being prevented from having their traditional mini special olympics(freestyle gymnastics) pitchside in the aftermath of the goal. Now lads if ye keep it in the stand the next time, ye will all get medals and ye won't have to spend the night in Sligo Nick.
02/06/2014, 12:04 PM
You mustn't go to many Shams home game if you can't remember seeing any flares in the past three years. Your ultras have put on some great pyro displays at home, probably the biggest and best pyro displays at home as most teams use them at away games. I don't think many people minds your fans using them as your club gets the fine just as long as they aren't throwing on the pitch.
Sorry, I left the word "thrown" out of that post which changes the meaning somewhat.
02/06/2014, 2:50 PM
Cobh 0-0 Longford at half time.
If Longford fail to beat Cobh it'll surely sum up this mental division in 1 weekend. Longford spank Rovers B 6-0 then fail against bottom of the table Cobh.
02/06/2014, 3:04 PM
I'd imagine you need look no further than the manager - the couple of times they have been in EDP this season, Horgan has been having conniptions on the sideline - I honestly thought the man would have a heart attack during the EA Sports Cup game.
Great win for us last night, revenge for the 93rd minute winner they got against us earlier in season. Still think despite how table looks that Longford are the ones to beat - little group of 4 (Shels, us, Longford and Wexford) starting to break away a little now
And the majority of Longford fans would say Galway are the team to watch, best footballing team I've seen this season and with rumours of a few big names in the transfer window it's going to be a ding dong battle
Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/06/2014, 3:51 PM
Cobh 0-0 Longford at half time.
If Longford fail to beat Cobh it'll surely sum up this mental division in 1 weekend. Longford spank Rovers B 6-0 then fail against bottom of the table Cobh.
The B team are second bottom though. It's not like they bet Shels 6-0.
02/06/2014, 4:47 PM
And the majority of Longford fans would say Galway are the team to watch, best footballing team I've seen this season and with rumours of a few big names in the transfer window it's going to be a ding dong battle
Galway are certainly one of the better prepared sides in the league, but they were pretty poor against us in both Finn Park and Deacy Park.
In the First Division this season:
Shelbourne - whether or not they have the legs for the full season is the big question, but the best candidates for first place at the minute.
Galway - well set up, but lacking a couple of players. If they get in a couple of attacking players in the transfer window they'll be hard to stop.
Longford - inept management costing them again, this time earlier in the season. Very hit and miss.
Wexford - punching above their weight again, but Keegan is proving to be a very capable manager and has them set up tactically spot on. They won't be far off a play-off spot at the end of the season.
Waterford - financial problems might cost them by the sound of things. Always expect them to be close enough by the end of the season.
Harps - Discipline costing us badly. We've dropped some seriously silly points this season, but 6 red cards in 13 games is ridiculous. In need of a creative midfielder and we'll push hard for play-offs.
Rovers B - The most negative team I've ever seen. But in fairness to Hawkins, has pulled out some tactical masterstrokes to get a couple of very credible results.
Cobh - whipping boys. Might add in the likes of Conor Meade during the transfer window to help them get out of the rut, but don't see them getting off the bottom of the table.