View Full Version : Sean Maguire F Carlisle United b.1994
Olé Olé
03/03/2018, 5:51 PM
Preston fans waxing lyrical in their forum about Seani: http://www.pne-online.net/forum/showthread.php?105523-Match-Day-Thread-Bolton-v-PNE-(Gentry-Day)-03-03-18-KO-15-00-Cp/page43
My personal favourite: "He is and always has been, this season, our best attacker. I wonder what he's worth in this market. Wow"
Many opining that his all-round performance was excellent, aside from the goals. One calling it a "10/10".
With Jordan Hugill leaving in January, there's a spot as the number 9 there for Seani. That would suit us as we are unlikely to play a formation that would get the best out of him on the right. I hope he goes on to play there for the rest of the season.
Bungle
04/03/2018, 11:19 AM
It's funny but it feels a little bit like 1997 with lads like Maguire,rice and alll the other young lads bubbling under. Not saying they will reach where Robbie or Duffer did and we don't have a player like Roy Keane,but can't help but feel we will be in a healthier position than we have been for a long time in the next few years.
Maguire looks like a premier league player in waiting.
04/03/2018, 11:38 AM
Maguire's 23; 24 in a few weeks. I don't think it's fair to put him alongside the likes of Keane and Duff, who were Premier League regulars at 20. He's more like a Kevin Doyle, which is still a bloody useful thing to have. But I think it's a bit different to Keane/Duff.
I'll still be sceptical too while players aren't coming through. Our last underage success was probably the U-19s reaching the 2011 European semi-finals? Only Jeff Hendrick and John Egan have gone on to play for the senior team, and Egan's only played twice.
That's not just an Irish thing either; I read a bit about England's bid for the 2018 World Cup, where they were listing all the great English players who'd likely be on show by then. I'd only heard of one or two of them. I don't think underage means much unfortunately.
Bungle
04/03/2018, 5:41 PM
Maguire's 23; 24 in a few weeks. I don't think it's fair to put him alongside the likes of Keane and Duff, who were Premier League regulars at 20. He's more like a Kevin Doyle, which is still a bloody useful thing to have. But I think it's a bit different to Keane/Duff.
I'll still be sceptical too while players aren't coming through. Our last underage success was probably the U-19s reaching the 2011 European semi-finals? Only Jeff Hendrick and John Egan have gone on to play for the senior team, and Egan's only played twice.
That's not just an Irish thing either; I read a bit about England's bid for the 2018 World Cup, where they were listing all the great English players who'd likely be on show by then. I'd only heard of one or two of them. I don't think underage means much unfortunately.
As i said,i wouldn't put any of them especially Sean Maguire in the category of Robbie or Duffer. However,Maguire is clearly a very good Championship striker and i think has shown signs he could be a premier league player in the future.
Someone like Rice has had a very good season for his age. He will become a very good player. I'm excited about him. The likes of Browne are talented also.
The other lads in the academies and u23 teams will be harder to predict. It's not just talent but luck. Their loan moves can make or break confidence. 3 years ago Jack Byrne looked like Paul Scholes in the youth equivalent of the Champions League. I wouldn't write him off as he is a real talent but he hasn't progressed the way we might have expected. I wouldn't get carried away about our youth players but i definitively think that we seem to have a more exciting batch coming through than recent years.
samhaydenjr
04/03/2018, 10:11 PM
We should soon be adding Matt Doherty to that list - also if Samir Carruthers can establish himself more at Sheffield United and Derrick Williams returns to The Championship next season with Blackburn, they may put themselves in the frame. But I do see your point - qualification for a single underage championship doesn't guarantee a major crop of international-level players coming through - in the late 90s and early 2000s we qualified for a bunch of underage tournaments and put together senior teams from players who made the grade from those groups. With that said we have qualified for two of the past three U17 finals tournaments and Adam Idah is top scorer in qualifiers this year (Aaron Connolly was top-scorer for 2017's qualifiers) and we have a number of young players (strikers particularly) coming through. Hopefully we can keep that run going with this year's U17s and U19s and be able to strengthen our squad further over the next couple of years or so.
06/03/2018, 7:49 PM
However,Maguire is clearly a very good Championship striker and i think has shown signs he could be a premier league player in the future.
Yeah, that's fair. That's why I put him on a par with Kevin Doyle. Different player I think - more a number 9 than a number 10 - but a similar standard, potential and career curve.
In the late 90s and early 2000s we qualified for a bunch of underage tournaments and put together senior teams from players who made the grade from those groups.
We did and we didn't. The team that was third in the 1997 U-20 World Cup did bugger all, Duffer aside. Quite remarkable really.
The two European champion teams provided less than you'd think - Dunne, O'Shea, Keane, Reid, Miller and some squad players. Was there 18 in each squad? That's 31 out of the 36 that made little impact at senior level.
Fair point on Doherty - but he's 26 now. When you're talking about the current crop of 19s, it's a long time to be waiting.
I do enjoy reading on here about how the young players are doing - and I think you're better connected than most! - but history says until they're coming through at senior level, you're counting your chickens before they hatch unfortunately.
Olé Olé
06/03/2018, 8:23 PM
Back to Seani. He came on on the 65th minute, ease him back in must be Neill's thinking. Seani goes and scores within 4 minutes to make it 2-1 at home to Bristol City. Alan Browne had them up 1-0.
DannyInvincible
06/03/2018, 8:26 PM
Great stuff.
Olé Olé
06/03/2018, 8:35 PM
chris (@ChrisPitcher) Tweeted:
GOAL @Seani_Maguire_ #PNEFC https://t.co/rs8NzdEtOt https://twitter.com/ChrisPitcher/status/971132384170205184?s=17
Quite the solo effort too. This video skips a tad but you get the idea. This is brilliant stuff. If it stays like this they are a point off the play-offs places and they've pulled level with their opposition tonight in the table. The fans will love him even more.
Olé Olé
10/03/2018, 4:20 PM
Seani made it 1-1 at home to Fulham having started in the central striker spot. Fulham dug out a 2-1 win though. 4 in 3 for Seani.
Olé Olé
17/03/2018, 5:37 PM
What's a day in the Championship without a goal from Seani Maguire? 2-0 away to Sunderland. Seani with the first and our potential recruit, Robinson, with the second.
05/04/2018, 1:09 PM
Nominated for Championship Player of the Month
samhaydenjr
10/04/2018, 11:35 PM
Maguire has hit double figures for the season after scoring Preston's second against Leeds: http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/43624040
DeLorean
06/06/2018, 9:42 AM
Signs a new three year deal with Preston - https://www.pnefc.net/news/2018/june/sean-maguire-extends-stay-with-preston-north-end/
DeLorean
01/08/2018, 10:07 AM
Bad news. Alex Neil confirms Maguire will be out for the best part of two months with a hamstring injury. He's not having much luck - http://www.the42.ie/sean-maguire-preston-ireland-eight-weeks-hamstring-injury-4158146-Aug2018/
04/10/2018, 6:15 PM
Back in training
but still might not make the squad according to this - PNE Quartet Called Up To Latest Republic Of Ireland Squad (https://www.pnefc.net/news/2018/october/pne-quartet-called-up-to-latest-republic-of-ireland-squad/)
Sean Maguire has also been named in the provisional squad, but the frontman has not played since injuring his hamstring in the final pre-season game against Oldham Athletic on 27th July and is unlikely to be able to join up if he is not ready to return for the Lilywhites, as he will not have started a game for nearly three months.
samhaydenjr
07/10/2018, 2:17 PM
Hooray! Returned from injury to come on as a sub for Preston and set up the final goal for Preston. Alex Neil says MONKEANO have promised to handle him with care: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/45688424
Olé Olé
06/01/2019, 12:25 PM
Back from injury. On the bench in the FA Cup today against Doncaster. Burke starts for Preston and Lawlor for Doncaster. Browne and Sadlier on the respective benches.
liamoo11
06/01/2019, 2:21 PM
Back from injury. On the bench in the FA Cup today against Doncaster. Burke starts for Preston and Lawlor for Doncaster. Browne and Sadlier on the respective benches.
nice to see sadlier involved so early in his career. always struck me as a better player than Burke so hopefully he can break on there. Hopefully lawlor plays well could do with him moving up the leagues
samhaydenjr
14/02/2019, 2:09 AM
Great to see Maguire back scoring: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/47139703
14/02/2019, 4:12 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9Y-sU3HnG0
DeLorean
14/02/2019, 12:18 PM
Great finish, that was some shot before it!
DeLorean
14/02/2019, 5:26 PM
Saw later that shot was in fact Alan Browne.
samhaydenjr
23/02/2019, 7:41 PM
Got his second in three games today - nice to see him back in form, just in time also
samhaydenjr
16/03/2019, 8:29 PM
...and another for Magure - this time a late winner against Birmingham: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/47505158
Olé Olé
22/09/2019, 12:06 AM
Maguire is going well this season. Scored the only goal in a 1-0 win today and Alex Neil is a happy boy: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0921/1077391-preston-boss-hails-maguire-as-special-player/
That is his second in a row and third from the six league games he's played this season. If his hamstrings start holding up we could be in for a big season. And I still fancy him to push into contention for the Irish team when fit.
22/09/2019, 4:30 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sO21VGvuAA&app=desktop
liamoo11
22/09/2019, 9:10 AM
Maguire is going well this season. Scored the only goal in a 1-0 win today and Alex Neil is a happy boy: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0921/1077391-preston-boss-hails-maguire-as-special-player/
That is his second in a row and third from the six league games he's played this season. If his hamstrings start holding up we could be in for a big season. And I still fancy him to push into contention for the Irish team when fit.
Its interesting the use of the phrase at this level that Alex neill uses talking about maguire
Olé Olé
22/09/2019, 9:42 AM
Its interesting the use of the phrase at this level that Alex neill uses talking about maguire
It indicated to me he reckons Maguire is capable of a higher level. Did you think that too? And if injuries hadn't been so cruel over the past year he could be there after his first season for Preston.
samhaydenjr
29/08/2020, 7:07 PM
Wow... this thread was a lot quieter in 2019-20 than the previous season! Early signs are that it could be more active this season, as Maguire becomes the second Irish player to net a goal in competition in England, grabbing Preston's second in their 4-0 EFL Cup win over Mansfield
CraftyToePoke
29/08/2020, 7:43 PM
Its a far cry from the days we were bawling on a daily basis to cap him while he was at Cork still. A famine will turn anything into a spud as they say.
seanfhear
29/08/2020, 8:23 PM
He has hamstring problems. He has to carefully managing his playing time. I’m not sure that should include international football for the good of his career.
livehead1
30/08/2020, 9:53 AM
He has hamstring problems. He has to carefully managing his playing time. I’m not sure that should include international football for the good of his career.
I suspect he'll not have to concern himself with the issue.
seanfhear
30/08/2020, 10:33 AM
Best of luck to the Man. I hope he makes a good bit of dosh and if things work out in a way that he plays for Ireland ~ Good and Well.
elatedscum
30/08/2020, 8:20 PM
And he’s back in the squad ;)
youngirish
30/08/2020, 8:45 PM
And he’s back in the squad ;)
Obafemi must be wondering what is going on.
Olé Olé
30/08/2020, 8:52 PM
Maguire fits into Kenny's 4-3-3 in that he plays as a wide forward for Preston. And Obafemi doesn't play in a three for Southampton. It's two up top when he plays. Kenny stated this. However, one could compare granny Smith and pink ladies apples to one another and conclude that Obafemi is better than Maguire.
seanfhear
30/08/2020, 8:55 PM
Maguire fits into Kenny's 4-3-3 in that he plays as a wide forward for Preston. And Obafemi doesn't play in a three for Southampton. It's two up top when he plays. Kenny stated this. However, one could compare granny Smith and pink ladies apples to one another and conclude that Obafemi is better than Maguire.
Pink Ladies are very expensive but nice. An occasional Granny Smith is Ok.
Trequartista20
04/10/2020, 3:06 PM
Scored today as PNE came from two down to secure an impressive 2-4 win away to Brentford.
Alan Browne captained the side and Joe Rafferty also started.
Philly
01/11/2020, 12:28 PM
Seems to have lost his place in the starting line-up to Emil Riis Jakobsen, not great.
Olé Olé
01/11/2020, 12:58 PM
Seems to have lost his place in the starting line-up to Emil Riis Jakobsen, not great.
This Jakobsen guy didn't even start yesterday?
Fixer82
02/11/2020, 7:14 PM
This Jakobsen guy didn't even start yesterday?
This Jakobsen guy is a cod!
Trequartista20
30/01/2022, 4:46 PM
Cardiff reported to have had a loan bid for Maguire rejected.
https://www.lancs.live/sport/football/transfer-news/maguire-pne-cardiff-transfer-latest-22924111
Demesne Lad
09/04/2022, 3:29 PM
After barely an hour's worth of first team football so far in 2022, Maguire came on as sub for Preston in the 46th minute.
Demesne Lad
07/10/2022, 11:14 AM
Sean M reflects on his injury disrupted season so far, and endorses Troy Parrott:
Sean Maguire shares his big Preston North End moment already this season - LancsLive (https://www.lancs.live/sport/football/football-news/sean-maguire-shares-big-preston-25202131)
Demesne Lad
09/01/2023, 2:19 PM
Could be leaving Preston, if Tom Cannon comes on loan to Deepdale, according to sports writer Darren Witcoop, quoted in The72.co.uk (9 Jan) Ten appearances in the Championship this season, a total of 320 mins, no goals. As he is out of contract this summer, it would probably make sense for Preston to move the 28 year-old Maguire on.
seanfhear
09/01/2023, 3:58 PM
Did Maguire’s Hamstrings, basically feck him up at that level ?
Jd2793
09/01/2023, 4:26 PM
yeah his hammys are ruined. he was very explosive before going over and very dangerous on the turn. lots of hammy injuries will have blunted his pace. he'll have to adjust wherever he goes now, cant really see him being a threat in behind anymore.
26/01/2023, 4:27 PM
Has joined Coventry today. Good move for him.
Short term contract till the summer but they've only got one fit striker available so will be straight into the squad to support Gyökeres.
They've often played with two up top so should see minutes and a decent chance to get himself a longer contract.