View Full Version : Sean Maguire F Carlisle United b.1994

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/09/2017, 5:33 PM
Assist from Maguire: https://mobile.twitter.com/BluesAbroad/status/909077096877756416/photo/1

A lot of strikers would've taken that on themselves, very unselfish.

Olé Olé
16/09/2017, 6:23 PM
Not sure about that. The keeper did well to close down the angle. He would have been slated for not passing it had he not scored.

DeLorean
16/09/2017, 7:29 PM
He's going well. He was poor in his defensive duties for the Birmingham goal, got caught in a right back position and didn't really do enough. Great that he redeemed himself.

seanfhear
17/09/2017, 1:57 AM
Assist from Maguire: https://mobile.twitter.com/BluesAbroad/status/909077096877756416/photo/1

A lot of strikers would've taken that on themselves, very unselfish.Nice pass , nice run , lovely simple goal .

samhaydenjr
17/09/2017, 2:32 AM

A lot of strikers would've taken that on themselves, very unselfish.

I guess the important thing is he was able to get inside the Birmingham defence with a clear sight of goal

DannyInvincible
20/09/2017, 1:34 AM
'Stephen Hunt: Surprise package Seanie Maguire could be Ireland's ace to trump Wales': http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/stephen-hunt-surprise-package-seanie-maguire-could-be-irelands-ace-to-trump-wales-36138858.html

03/10/2017, 2:29 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2017/oct/03/sean-maguire-interview-republic-of-ireland-preston-championship?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

Nice write up in the Guardian.

johnnyc
14/10/2017, 2:54 PM
An assist, a goal.... and an injury for Maguire. :( Subbed on the half hour.

Olé Olé
14/10/2017, 2:58 PM
Great to see he's taking the bull by the horns here. If he breaks double figures this season then he will go to the World Cup, provided we get through the qualifiers (big if). Hopefully it's just a knock.

DannyInvincible
14/10/2017, 4:05 PM
A poster on a PNE forum said he "pulled up" and there are multiple tweets saying he had his right thigh/hamstring strapped as he went down the tunnel at half-time, so sounds like it's muscular.

14/10/2017, 5:22 PM
An assist, a goal.... and an injury for Maguire. :( Subbed on the half hour.

So... a hat-trick then!

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/championship/11081191/fulham-2-2-preston

DannyInvincible
18/10/2017, 11:39 PM
"Sean Maguire dismisses 'ridiculous' criticism of Cork City's title triumph": http://www.the42.ie/sean-maguire-on-cork-citys-title-triumph-3652972-Oct2017/

“When I came into the dressing room this morning, the two boys [Boyle and Horgan] were there and I just started singing ‘Champions of Ireland, we know what we are’,” Maguire told The42 today.

“It’s just a bit of banter obviously and the boys congratulated Kev and myself. They knew Cork were eventually going to win it so they were proper good about it. We’re team-mates now and they’re happy for both of us, even though they’d have preferred Dundalk to win it.”

Importantly for us, whilst Alex Neil has rated Maguire as doubtful for this weekend's game, it's expected he will be fit in time for the play-offs.

Due to the aforementioned hamstring problem, Maguire has been rated as doubtful by Preston manager Alex Neil for Saturday’s game against Championship leaders Wolves. However, it’s not expected to affect his potential involvement in Ireland’s 2018 World Cup play-off against Denmark next month.

Olé Olé
19/10/2017, 9:21 AM
Hope he's back after this weekend's game. He needs his own streak of form to continue and I'd like to see him provide MON an extra option for Denmark.

DannyInvincible
28/10/2017, 7:05 PM
Video of Maguire's goal against Brentford today here: https://streamable.com/mhsoz

It was a super goal; he ran the length of his opponents' half and slotted it home into the bottom corner of the goal from the edge of the box.

28/10/2017, 8:56 PM
Not unlike Michael Owen v Argentina?

Very similar in height too but Sean is an inch taller.

Will he go on to score more international goals too?

28/10/2017, 9:05 PM
Good goal but the defence did not look great, or did he make it look bad?

Unfortunately he ended up on the losing side.

Eminence Grise
28/10/2017, 9:50 PM
Lovely poise and balance!

samhaydenjr
29/10/2017, 12:34 AM
Terrific goal and very similar to his first for Preston in a pre-season friendly - this is actually very important as it shows that he's the type of striker who can create his own chances and can repeatedly take on defences with confidence. Anyway, here is the updated list of Championship strikers' goals:

Daryl Murphy: 6 (all league goals)
David McGoldrick: 6 (4 league, 2 EFL Cup)
Sean Maguire: 4 (All in the league)
Scott Hogan: 3 (all EFL Cup)
Aiden O'Brien: 2 (Both in the league)
Joe Mason: 1 (a league goal)
Will Keane: Injured

29/10/2017, 1:05 AM
Terrific goal and very similar to his first for Preston in a pre-season friendly - this is actually very important as it shows that he's the type of striker who can create his own chances and can repeatedly take on defences with confidence. Anyway, here is the updated list of Championship strikers' goals:

Daryl Murphy: 6 (all league goals)
David McGoldrick: 6 (4 league, 2 EFL Cup)
Sean Maguire: 4 (All in the league)
Scott Hogan: 3 (all EFL Cup)
Aiden O'Brien: 2 (Both in the league)
Joe Mason: 1 (a league goal)
Will Keane: Injured

Certainly an interesting prospect, he is the sort if strike Ireland have been lacking really.

I compared him to Michael Owen before but I think he is more in the Ian Rush mould?

samhaydenjr
29/10/2017, 7:42 PM
Certainly an interesting prospect, he is the sort if strike Ireland have been lacking really.

I compared him to Michael Owen before but I think he is more in the Ian Rush mould?

I think what's good about him, from what I've seen online is that he can score a variety of goal types - fox-in-the-box opportunism; running off the final defender; a decent proportion of headers considering his size; and running at the defence at pace with possession - so hopefully he can keep it up and we can avoid a striker crisis next year

DannyInvincible
30/10/2017, 4:53 PM
It's worth noting that there were two Danes in that Brentford defence on Saturday; Andreas Bjelland and Henrik Dalsgaard. Both started for Denmark in their penultimate group game against Montenegro. Dalsgaard started their final group game with Bjelland on the bench.

31/10/2017, 9:45 AM
Is the Danish manager coming out saying we don't have many players in top 4 premiership teams, and are therefore underdogs, etc etc.

31/10/2017, 11:00 AM
Is the Danish manager coming out saying we don't have many players in top 4 premiership teams, and are therefore underdogs, etc etc.

Not yet - probably still busy googling the names of our players. However Danish media is leaning towards a 50:50 tie with Christian Eriksen decisive to the outcome.

01/11/2017, 8:18 AM
Not yet - probably still busy googling the names of our players. However Danish media is leaning towards a 50:50 tie with Christian Eriksen decisive to the outcome.
A fair assessment. We may have a wild card in O'Dowda. Duffy is due a set piece header.

zero
01/11/2017, 9:08 AM
A fair assessment. We may have a wild card in O'Dowda. Duffy is due a set piece header.

hmm, he did get one against georgia... hendrick is due a goal i would say. in decent form for burnley.

01/11/2017, 10:10 AM
Nobody is due anything :rolleyes:

01/11/2017, 11:53 AM
hmm, he did get one against georgia... hendrick is due a goal i would say. in decent form for burnley.

and one against Serbia that was chalked off for offside

mark12345
02/11/2017, 8:48 PM
Nobody is due anything :rolleyes:

A bloke left me short of money a few years ago. Never saw him again.

seanfhear
03/11/2017, 7:38 AM
As Clint Eastwood once said in a Role “ Deserve Has nothing To Do With It "

Said to Gene Hackman’s character . Was it ‘ Unforgiven '

03/11/2017, 10:57 AM
Heard on the grapevine that he's out until April with an injury.

DannyInvincible
03/11/2017, 1:34 PM
Heard on the grapevine that he's out until April with an injury.

Maguire? I doubt that. Where'd you hear it?

I'm sure there'd be something in the news or on social media about it, if true. Maguire tweeted (https://twitter.com/Seani_Maguire_/status/926405362521124865) only a few hours ago about attending the FAI Cup final this Sunday. If he was out until April with an injury he's just picked up, he'd surely have mentioned something about that as well.

DeLorean
03/11/2017, 9:06 PM
Same source that sidelined James McCarthy for a few months hopefully.

Olé Olé
03/11/2017, 11:27 PM
Either way, I would be surprised if O'Neill have him a shot for either leg.

04/11/2017, 10:24 AM
https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/sean-maguire-out-of-irelands-crucial-world-cup-playoff-against-denmark-as-he-faces-lengthy-spell-on-sidelines-36289052.html

Seems to be true. What a disaster for him.

DannyInvincible
04/11/2017, 11:13 AM
**** sake. That's not good. O'Neill probably wouldn't have started him in either leg but it still would have been handy to have Maguire as an option to at least come off the bench as his present form has been excellent.

Hopefully he recovers fully sooner rather than later.

Olé Olé
04/11/2017, 11:15 AM
Ugh. He wouldn't have got a run against Denmark, unless O'Neill went completely from left field. Sickening for him though. He'll come back better though. I reckon this lad has the indomitable mindset of Conor McGregor.

04/11/2017, 11:38 AM
Whatever about the Denmark game, you'd imagine he'd be brought more into the team in the friendlies in the new year, whether or not we qualify for the World Cup. You'd imagine that's a bigger factor for his international career, so hopefully he'll be back in time for some of those. We're fast running out of 20-something forwards, and it'd be nice to have someone like Maguire with a few caps come the Nations League or the next qualifiers.

mark12345
04/11/2017, 4:11 PM
Hoping upon hope that he doesn't get injured. He needs a good start and a good season at Preston (would love for him at the same time to stay at Cork and see how far he could take them in Europe). But his season at Preston has already been jeopardized by his not taking a month long break (a la an end of season break before getting started on a long 10 month slog in the Championship). He will hit a wall some time around January / February and will be susceptible to injuries if he doesn't get some sort of rest. We badly need him in the national team though.

Couldn't see an injury coming for Seanie, could we?

05/11/2017, 2:02 AM
McGoldrick scored if you want more cheerful news! 50 seconds

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U26iLFrD_ic

samhaydenjr
05/11/2017, 3:23 AM
Whatever about the Denmark game, you'd imagine he'd be brought more into the team in the friendlies in the new year, whether or not we qualify for the World Cup. You'd imagine that's a bigger factor for his international career, so hopefully he'll be back in time for some of those. We're fast running out of 20-something forwards, and it'd be nice to have someone like Maguire with a few caps come the Nations League or the next qualifiers.

Considering that eight months ago Maguire was just a LOI striker with one good season under his belt, Scott Hogan looked like he might not declare for us and Aiden O'Brien was only scoring semi-regularly in League One, you could say that we've gained three twenty-something forwards in the last couple of months. We will lose one at the end of the month, though, when McGoldrick turns 30. Hopefully these lads will step up for the next campaign or two, until our younger striking talent starts to filter through to senior level.

DannyInvincible
05/11/2017, 2:21 PM
RTÉ showed a short bit of footage there a while ago of Maguire walking towards Lansdowne Road as part of the build-up coverage for today's FAI Cup final. It was just a few seconds, but he seemed to be walking relatively OK - no major limp or anything - and wasn't on crutches either. Would he be on crutches if the hamstring injury was a full tear? I'd have thought so.

06/11/2017, 9:08 AM
Maguire? I doubt that. Where'd you hear it?

I'm sure there'd be something in the news or on social media about it, if true. Maguire tweeted (https://twitter.com/Seani_Maguire_/status/926405362521124865) only a few hours ago about attending the FAI Cup final this Sunday. If he was out until April with an injury he's just picked up, he'd surely have mentioned something about that as well.

Oh ye of little faith. Inside source.

DeLorean
20/12/2017, 9:55 AM
Eir Sport tonight (22:00 - 22:30)

Sean Maguire brings Des Curran on a tour of his native Kilkenny to look back on where it all began and discuss what a remarkable year it has been for the Preston and Ireland star.

DeLorean
04/01/2018, 11:34 AM
The above programme is now available on the Eir Sport YouTube channel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mhyhw6-pXak

22/02/2018, 11:50 PM
back in training at Preston

Olé Olé
03/03/2018, 3:42 PM
Came on on 65 mins with the game 1-1, Preston away to Bolton. Scores 12 minutes later to put them up.

DannyInvincible
03/03/2018, 3:46 PM
Great to see him back and on the score-sheet straight away.

Olé Olé
03/03/2018, 3:56 PM
Great to see him back and on the score-sheet straight away.
Why would he want to be on the score sheet once?

Makes it 3-1. Can't wait to see goals. Delighted for him. Preston gave been without a win in their last 4 league matches.

DannyInvincible
03/03/2018, 4:29 PM

Olé Olé
03/03/2018, 4:36 PM
Two easy finishes but fantastic run for the first and brilliant positioning for the second.