View Full Version : Poland V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 19th November 2013 - Friendly - Poznań
19/11/2013, 6:57 PM
Junior I'm watching on premier if you want to come down and watch it.
Junior
19/11/2013, 6:58 PM
I used your post from the Latvia thread below, the 6th link (EN). Its not too bad but the usual buffering/stuttering is occuring
http://www.lshunter.net/
19/11/2013, 6:59 PM
http://cup-rugby.weebly.com/
click on main stream
19/11/2013, 7:02 PM
Kelly should have buried that header.
texidub
19/11/2013, 7:06 PM
http://cricfree.tv/live/watch/poland_vs_ireland/17069 is working OK for me
texidub
19/11/2013, 7:18 PM
That commentator is some smart alec.. "Did you ever score for Ireland?" (To Curtis Fleming) Fleming says no and the commentator just goes "No"
Going to be snagged halfway through THR second half.
Razors left peg
http://cup-rugby.weebly.com/
click on main stream
Great Stream, thanks!!
Fixer82
19/11/2013, 7:28 PM
Pitch cutting up something shocking. It's like a sand base under the grass.
Paul Green my motm so far
SwanVsDalton
19/11/2013, 7:53 PM
Very scrappy friendly, lots of whistle blowing from the ref. Neither side intent on playing much at the minute.
19/11/2013, 8:08 PM
good shout Paul Green motm, he has put in a good shift tonight, impressed with his passing also.
19/11/2013, 8:20 PM
Second half has been horrible to be honest. A few people with an eye on returning fit to their clubs. Interestingly, the Poles left out a lot of their Serie A/Ligue 1-based players and are drawn almost exclusively from the domestic league, the Dortmund pair aside.
19/11/2013, 8:24 PM
Did ward get a touch on that?
19/11/2013, 8:33 PM
First half ok.second half just as bad as traps regime.
19/11/2013, 8:34 PM
could not string two passes together second half
Grafter
19/11/2013, 8:38 PM
That commentator is some smart alec.. "Did you ever score for Ireland?" (To Curtis Fleming) Fleming says no and the commentator just goes "No"
Paul Dempsey reminded me of a certain North Norfolk Digital presenter of mid-morning radio....
19/11/2013, 8:38 PM
First half ok.second half just as bad as traps regime.
Don't go nuts Paul, we still edged the possession stats from what I can see.
edit: BBC says (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24961598) they shaded it in the end
19/11/2013, 8:40 PM
Last 20 mins were poor enough all right, very stop start. O'Neill has probably learned a few more things tonight than on Friday. Forde needs serious work still on his distribution, you cannot be an international keeper and kick as poorly as he does. It will cost us a goal eventually. Stephen Ward got two full matches to make the left back spot his own, I think he has failed on both occasions.
James McCarthy is going to be the key to our midfield, noticeable drop in quality in midfield when he went off after an hour. Paul Green deserves his place in the squad.
Robbie Keane will be key to our chances of qualification, again.
19/11/2013, 8:44 PM
We were promised a 4-4-1-1.
I'm deflated.
Thats what we got as I said.
Still very poor.
SwanVsDalton
19/11/2013, 8:48 PM
That second half was as bad a friendly half as has been seen from here to McCarthy. We didn't play any football whatsoever. Also thought the Poles just looked far more up for it, likely because of a decent home crowd. Still it's all grist to the MON learning mill. See yiz in the New Year lads.
19/11/2013, 8:51 PM
Thats what we got as I said.
Still very poor.
You don't get a 4-4-1-1 with the players that were selected, as I said and so it proved.
19/11/2013, 8:54 PM
That second half was as bad a friendly half as has been seen from here to McCarthy. We didn't play any football whatsoever. Also thought the Poles just looked far more up for it, likely because of a decent home crowd. Still it's all grist to the MON learning mill. See yiz in the New Year lads.
I've seen a lot of poor halves from Irish teams over the past decade, and that was undoubtedly one of them, but I've seen far worse, especially away from home. For the most part, we completely nullified them in midfield - Blaszczkowski made some inroads, as he will because he's a wonderful player, but they were largely ineffective. Without wishing to excuse it, I think a few players were happy just to keep fit so they can go back to their clubs and challenge for a place.
Fixer82
19/11/2013, 9:05 PM
What we learned tonight:
- Wilson is no good in midfield.
- Paul Green is a better footballer than we thought and definitely deserves his place in the squad.
- We miss Robbie
- The O'Neill/Keane dream team are not miracle makers. It seems we are going in the right direction but it will take time.
- Kelly is not much use going forward (think we learnt that before tonight)
- Walters is too slow to have an impact in International football. Especially as a winger
- Ward is not the answer to our left back problems (again, we knew this before tonight)
DannyInvincible
19/11/2013, 9:20 PM
Bah! My net connection went to bits just before half-time and is still playing up. Hadn't been able to get any of the streams working and webpages are still loading in blocks like it were dial-up, if lucky. How annoying! Did I miss much?
At one stage, he was trying to make some suspect point about "bad results away from home against teams we should be beating" under Trap, before modifying the point with mention of "bad performances in spite of decent results" and then rambling off into senselessness. There were a few seconds of silence before Fleming's hesitant response.
19/11/2013, 9:27 PM
I dont think we all thought that of green.since the Slovakia game when he went off injured on27 mins a few of us(geysir) pointed out how well he was doing up to the point and ever since he has done well decently when called upon.
Stokes sat deep and tried to play long balls on counter to Long.also tried some through balls.I'd call that an attempt at 4-4-1-1. If you [I]really[I] meant that without the qualification then fair enough but I still think thats what we went out to play.
Walters just isn't good enough on the wing in that formation.
19/11/2013, 9:28 PM
No DI I thought he meant wins from home against decent opposition then qualified it somewhat.
19/11/2013, 9:30 PM
You didn't miss much indeed you were lucky to miss the second half scrappy stuff particularly from us.
We could not hang onto the ball but Poland still struggled to create good chances. Poor quality all round.
19/11/2013, 9:30 PM
Bah! My net connection went to bits just before half-time and is still playing up. Hadn't been able to get any of the streams working and webpages are still loading in blocks like it were dial-up, if lucky. How annoying! Did I miss much?
At one stage, he was trying to make some suspect point about "bad results away from home against teams we should be beating" under Trap, before modifying the point with mention of "bad performances in spite of decent results" and then rambling off into senselessness. There were a few seconds of silence before Fleming's hesitant response.
Fleming is a very impressive pundit, for the record. With all due respect to Setanta, I think he could get a bigger job. Maybe he doesn't have the right accent.
Crosby87
19/11/2013, 9:56 PM
The Irish players should have walked into the stadium backwards, the Poles would have thought we were leaving and it would have been an advantage.
Razors left peg
19/11/2013, 10:19 PM
The Irish players should have walked into the stadium backwards, the Poles would have thought we were leaving and it would have been an advantage.
I never have a clue what the hell you are on about
ArdeeBhoy
19/11/2013, 10:25 PM
Another nothing game.
The next 10 months are going to be painful, but hopefully we'll be prepared come the autumn.
19/11/2013, 10:30 PM
It's a long wait alright. The draw is made in late February.
Fixer82
19/11/2013, 10:57 PM
I dont think we all thought that of green.since the Slovakia game when he went off injured on27 mins a few of us(geysir) pointed out how well he was doing up to the point and ever since he has done well decently when called upon.
I believe I pointed that out too but I think tonight he showed he can pass as well as get stuck in and win ball. He was certainly my Man of the match tonight.
19/11/2013, 11:41 PM
I'd be the first to say that if PG can win the motm, then we are in a poor shape.
Trap did work a miracle.
Crosby87
20/11/2013, 12:15 AM
At least we can all root on France in the WC.
ArdeeBhoy
20/11/2013, 12:43 AM
SwanVsDalton
20/11/2013, 8:33 AM
I've seen a lot of poor halves from Irish teams over the past decade, and that was undoubtedly one of them, but I've seen far worse, especially away from home. For the most part, we completely nullified them in midfield - Blaszczkowski made some inroads, as he will because he's a wonderful player, but they were largely ineffective. Without wishing to excuse it, I think a few players were happy just to keep fit so they can go back to their clubs and challenge for a place.
I agree on why it happened (players winding down) but Poland were poor yet they played all the football in the second half. If they had a decent player beyond their main two, they'd have created a bit more. Forde didn't even have to make a save even though they were totally battering us for periods. Don't get me wrong, I'm not particularly upset and I don't read much into it - but in 45 minutes we couldn't put two passes together against an understrength, undercooked, unconfident Poland team. The only conclusion, as we already know, is there's a long road ahead. Still looking forward to it though.
When it comes to bad friendlies it's a bit splitting hairs over which are worse - so we can probably agree it was bad and have done with it.
20/11/2013, 8:37 AM
I was a bit disappointed in the selection. I just don't like Walters RHM, even though I think he did well enough.
Forde looked as composed as ever. Kicking from the ground a bit suspect, but that was a dreadful pitch - which matters for a keeper.
I thought Wilson and SSL looked decent at CB. I genuinely think we have no worries in that department. I love how SSL, without any club action, just slots in well any time he is asked. Kelly did fine.
I thought ward had his best game for us, he looks reborn, just like McGeady. Green was better than his club status would suggest. I hope people finally give him credit.
McCarthy is maturing and taking charge more, but still has more in his locker.
Long was decent enough, not great but not bad.
Stokes struggled I thought and he sends the fear of God into me when he drops deep for the ball.
As a team I thought we were cohesive and "modern" for about 55 minutes. There was a passage of play on 28/29 minutes that was as accomplished a passing phase as I have ever seen in an Irish team. It was clear that sending it long was to be added to the mix, but was cleraly not the only tactic. They were allowed to mix it, and that's fine by me.
The last 30 mins or so was Trap era away football all over again though. Midfield stopped showing for it and when under pressure we kept sending it long again.
Set pieces were good.
So, overall: decent enough but work still to do. We need to create more chances from open play.
DeLorean
20/11/2013, 9:15 AM
I fear Forde is a potential liability. He's a disaster with ball to feet. You might get away with that on night's like last night but in high pressure games it could do serious damage to the composure of our defence. I know the pitch was cat but he's the same on decent surfaces. Westwood all day every day if fit.
Green and McCarthy replicated their Stockholm performance and is clearly a better partnership than Whelan/McCarthy. Totally disagree with Geysir regards Green, he has put in consistently decent performances for us and is better than his Championship status in my opinion.
back of the net
20/11/2013, 10:11 AM
I'd be the first to say that if PG can win the motm, then we are in a poor shape.
Trap did work a miracle.
Think thats unfair geysir.
Green has played very well for us this year and deserves due recognition - his introduction against poland in dublin in february , IMO changed the game for us , a game which up until his intro in the second half, poland were completely dominating and playing through our midfield.
He was excellent against Austria away also as well as sweden away (as mentioned by delorean above) and was our best player on the pitch last nite imo.
Whereas Green may not be the most skilful player in the squad - his effort and graft go along way and in his assigned role , he has done well for us.
IMO he is there on merit and deserves his place in the squad
20/11/2013, 10:42 AM
Think thats unfair geysir.
Green has played very well for us this year and deserves due recognition - his introduction against poland in dublin in february , IMO changed the game for us , a game which up until his intro in the second half, poland were completely dominating and playing through our midfield.
He was excellent against Austria away also as well as sweden away (as mentioned by delorean above) and was our best player on the pitch last nite imo.
Whereas Green may not be the most skilful player in the squad - his effort and graft go along way and in his assigned role , he has done well for us.
IMO he is there on merit and deserves his place in the squad
I agree with you on all that, but when the player with the graft keeps getting the motm I think it spells trouble, it means other players didn't stand up or stand out enough and the other more skilful players did not impress enough. The players we need to stand out are other players than Green, if we are to impress ourselves against better teams than Poland.
20/11/2013, 10:52 AM
I see the game is up and available for download on Sharingirish.
SwanVsDalton
20/11/2013, 10:59 AM
I fear Forde is a potential liability. He's a disaster with ball to feet. You might get away with that on night's like last night but in high pressure games it could do serious damage to the composure of our defence. I know the pitch was cat but he's the same on decent surfaces. Westwood all day every day if fit.
Forde has issues with ball at feet, no doubt. Always has, always will - just isn't comfortable. That's partly why he's always so methodical when kicking or collecting the ball. His focus in possession is absolute. I like that he recognises and tries to combat it.
Westwood doesn't bring as much comfort to the backline or take pressure off defenders. On current evidence they're both decent shot stoppers. I think the likelihood of either making a clanger is about the same. Forde has the jersey, and I think that's fair.
back of the net
20/11/2013, 11:05 AM
I agree with you on all that, but when the player with the graft keeps getting the motm I think it spells trouble, it means other players didn't stand up or stand out enough and the other more skilful players did not impress enough. The players we need to stand out are other players than Green, if we are to impress ourselves against better teams than Poland.
Ah - i see what you mean.
But , with sole reference to 2013 ,the opposition that Green and Ireland has come up against with Green playing well have been Sweden, Poland (twice) and Austria.
Now whereas these teams may not match the Germanys/Spains of this world, they are decent teams who are going to cause problems for the opposing teams no matter who they are playing
How many times have you seen roy keane , Viera etc etc get MOTM awards at club level - does this mean they had bad players around them? Albeit i do accept MOTM awards were distributed more evenly amongst other positions within their teams...but i hope you know what im getting at.
But in saying that, i dont think Greens MOTM awards necessarily mean we have poor quality players around him - imo it just means that we have played decent attacking teams and Green has done his job very well.... nothing more than that
Just to add - alot of the reason in those games , that Green was called upon so much was down to traps defensive , give the ball away tactics rather than our players which is always going to require a player in greens position to be utilised more than others
DeLorean
20/11/2013, 11:19 AM
Westwood doesn't bring as much comfort to the backline or take pressure off defenders. On current evidence they're both decent shot stoppers. I think the likelihood of either making a clanger is about the same.
If I was a defender I would be far more comfortable knowing I can play the ball back to my keeper without there being panic stations. Westwood is every bit a good a shot stopper and more than adequate with crosses, though I accept this is Forde's major strength.
Forde has the jersey, and I think that's fair.
Did MON say something to indicate this? I was under the impression that it was a level playing field, that's why he gave them a game each.
20/11/2013, 11:29 AM
I think it was telling that Westwood was given the easier game though. Forde still has it for me.
Crosby87
20/11/2013, 11:53 AM
On the lighter side, Eamon Dunphy was forced to have a dark wedding many moons ago:
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/eamon-dunphy-i-was-forced-to-have-dark-wedding-by-offensive-catholic-priest-29763206.html
20/11/2013, 12:03 PM
I fear Forde is a potential liability.
i keep hearing this but in 15 games how many goals were his fault?
DannyInvincible
20/11/2013, 12:31 PM
Brian Kerr was encouraged by the display: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/encouraging-display-emphasises-the-options-available-to-new-managerial-team-1.1600456
Encouraging display emphasises the options available to new managerial team: This looked like a proper Republic of Ireland side sent out by people who know what Irish football is about
So, plenty of valuable information banked by the new manager about his players, the backroom staff and his relationship with Roy.
This felt like a Republic of Ireland team sent out by a man who understands Irish football. Who understands what we are about. Because he is one of us – just like his assistant.
By the end, the Poles were in command, chasing a home victory and we needed the Irish substitutes to gel and get a hold of the game. That always happens in friendly matches.
Strong and clever touches from Glenn Whelan and James McClean got the team out of danger. John O’Shea also came in and emphasised his importance to Ireland in the upcoming European Championship qualifiers.
Nil-all in Poznan was an improvement on our last visit to this stadium. The passing statistics certainly improved.
It was obvious from the kick-off that this would be a vastly different second outing for the new regime than last Friday’s stroll.
Front four
Martin O’Neill did the expected and changed from the smaller front four used against Latvia with Shane Long, Jonathan Walters and Anthony Stokes bringing muscle to the attack. Walters came in off the right with Long as the lone striker while Stokes dropped deeper.
The initial shape was encouraging. In particular, it was worth looking at Stokes as a semi-striker. This was a big game for the Celtic man in that important role as we will probably use 4-4-1-1 for most away matches, I would suggest.
I would have preferred to see him get closer to Long. Nor was I overly impressed with his attitude when possession was lost – no point standing still for a few seconds, glaring at teammates – but he improved in the second half and did enough to merit another opportunity.
Wes Hoolahan got more joy in the same position against Latvia but that’s an unfair comparison because they were so poor.
The message conveyed to Stokes and many others as they go back to their clubs tomorrow is week to week form will keep them in the picture. That’s all a player wants to know really. Play well, get picked. God, it has taken us an age to get to that juncture. We already knew Long can play the lone striker role. He wasn’t sensational, and missed a chance on 65 minutes, but showed for every ball.
Protect players
The raft of changes was as much to protect players like Marc Wilson, who took a knock, and James McCarthy, who was replaced on the hour. James McClean gave Aiden McGeady a well-deserved break. It seems McGeady will have a freer role in O’Neill’s team. He started on the left but the less rigid system allowed him drift onto the ball and more importantly into the box. O’Neill knows better than most how deadly he can be when allowed to seek space to isolate a defender.
McGeady was also in charge of the free kicks. Such responsibility will eventually be repaid. An ideal test really, as Paul Green and McCarthy sought to play football but Poland pressed onto them to disrupt any rhythm. That’s how it will be against any major football nation.
There is still a need for a better midfielder, like Darron Gibson, to be in there alongside McCarthy.
Poland were never going to make it easy to work it into McCarthy’s feet. That’s why it’s important to have bigger front men, who can win messy route one ball and bring the midfield into the attack. And ensure we are not constantly manning the pump.
It could mean the use of Robbie Keane in away games will be restricted to a second-half sub or when we need a goal. That remains the big conundrum.
My wandering eye couldn’t help taking in the Irish dugout. Roy Keane had a few choice words with Stokes for wasteful play and was keeping tabs on McCarthy. Of course, Roy knows better than most how important it is for McCarthy to be the dominant figure in every game.
By the end both O’Neill and Keane were on the line cajoling that extra per cent from tiring legs.
A lively, interesting opening 45 minutes went by in a flash. I haven’t said that about an international friendly in many a year. We looked the better team without being genuinely creative. McCarthy and Green sought to play through the middle but the Polish energy and bumpy pitch made it tough.
Good night
The only shame was Sean St Ledger’s injury. He fit snugly into the defence and if he stays fit there are suddenly five real options at centre back. I think it is about who can be the best partner for O’Shea. Maybe it is the veteran defender motivating himself but the arrival of O’Neill, his manager at Sunderland, and Keane, a former team-mate for club and country has helped.
They both know him well.
Stephen Ward also had a good night, along with Stephen Kelly. Seamus Coleman owns the right back shirt but Ward and Kelly are others going back to their clubs knowing they are rated members of the squad.
That’s a huge incentive for so many players after tonight.
Now our new and dynamic duo can go on the tour of UK clubs, chart form and plot the next step. The era of sitting and waiting at home for a view of players has passed at last.
On the lighter side, Eamon Dunphy was forced to have a dark wedding many moons ago:
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/eamon-dunphy-i-was-forced-to-have-dark-wedding-by-offensive-catholic-priest-29763206.html
And the connection between Dunphy's "dark wedding" to last night's friendly is what exactly?... :confused: I'm pretty sure there are other threads where your curious interjections would be less outlandish. You're truly the enigma of Foot.ie.
No DI I thought he meant wins from home against decent opposition then qualified it somewhat.
Can't recall the exact words of his entire spiel, but he just came across as digging himself an ever-deepening hole before attempting to clutch at straws once he realised Fleming wasn't going to drag him out.
Fleming is a very impressive pundit, for the record. With all due respect to Setanta, I think he could get a bigger job. Maybe he doesn't have the right accent.
I wasn't being critical of Fleming at all. Uncertain hesitancy was an appropriate response. It might even have been polite silence. What's the main chap called again?
That trick didn't work last time, unfortunately:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NknMiDBEic
It's a long wait alright. The draw is made in late February.
Thankfully, it's only 28 days this coming year. Anything to reassure the mind and help make the wait easier! :p
DannyInvincible
20/11/2013, 12:41 PM
i keep hearing this but in 15 games how many goals were his fault?
That's why the liability is still potential. :p
I kind of hear what DeLorean is saying. I share similar doubts - I fear Forde is jittery - but, thankfully, he's never proven me right in his appearances for Ireland, so the number one jersey is deservedly his. Westwood strikes me as a bit more composed all-round, but I think my judgment might be primarily rooted in comparing their physiques and goalmouth demeanours rather than their strict goalkeeping abilities. Forde is a good shot-stopper and also has undeniable aerial ability, even if I do often lose a nail by the time he jumps to collect a cross before crashing to the ground agian!