View Full Version : Permutations for 1st division play off spots

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

Darklordsbane
31/10/2013, 5:41 AM
I would imagine a city based team would get better crowds on a Friday night, few puints after work match, out/ home, country teams would do better on a saturday few pints, match out/home for the night, people who support country teams tend to work in cities and have to travel on a Friday night so can miss ko, could be wrong but if the case study was available for country v's city attendances I think it would prove I'm right

redarmyfaction
31/10/2013, 6:35 AM
We switched to Fridays as an experiment few seasons back and it knocked a couple of hundred of our gate as or made it difficult for those living away and those in farther flung parts to make it of a Friday evening.

31/10/2013, 10:34 AM
Is there an example of a team who have switched from Friday to Saturday or vice versa while they were in the same division posting stable attendances? It'd be interesting to have a case study of whether changing over has an impact on attendances in either direction.
We switched mid season, or the final series of games a few seasons back if I recall correctly. It hit attendances a bit, but at that stage of the season other factors come into play too. I wouldn't see a switch having a positive impact on attendances, but summer season is the biggest negative on more rural clubs imo.

31/10/2013, 1:59 PM
Harps have yo-yo'd between Fridays and Saturdays quite a lot in recent years. Never seen a significant difference to be honest. A lot of people miss out on Fridays, where a lot of other people miss out on Saturdays. Fridays seem to suit the slightly larger proportion however, so I don't really buy into the whole country/city difference.

Battery Rover
31/10/2013, 2:14 PM
Other way round. We play on Friday and Longford play on Saturday. We have played on Saturday in the past but Friday is our traditional day.

And Fridays nights have proved over the seasons to be the best night for atracting the crowds. Excuse to go out on a Friday night for a few pints and then the other half can be brought out on a Saturday

gufc2000
31/10/2013, 5:02 PM
So with Galway FC now practically good to go, thus paving the way for Mervue and Salthill to depart, it leaves next years First Division with 7 teams. Was there any other expressions of interest in the end?

31/10/2013, 7:19 PM
as i long as i can remember(which aint that long) they have been of a sat night

Martinho should be able to proide more info

we ave regularly saturdays nights for well over a decade and a half now!

IrishRossi
31/10/2013, 7:22 PM
we ave regularly saturdays nights for well over a decade and a half now!

knew you would know the answer

01/11/2013, 8:37 PM
And Bray stay up in what seemed like a cracker.

Longford 2-3 Bray (4-5)

White Horse
01/11/2013, 8:56 PM
Hard to see the cup final topping that game this weekend. It should have been televised.

Grey Boy
01/11/2013, 8:58 PM
Just bet me to it white horse. Absolutely should have been on TV.

01/11/2013, 9:41 PM
Posted elsewhere that it was a cracker but mainly because of two incredibly poor defences. Goals were well taken but Longord should have had a free before Bray's third so can feel hard done by. Fantastic crowd.

NeverFeltBetter
01/11/2013, 11:18 PM
Big sympathy for Longford. Well done to Bray though, just can't get rid of them!

If a FD goes ahead next year, you have to see Longford going the distance finally.

01/11/2013, 11:33 PM
Harps have yo-yo'd between Fridays and Saturdays quite a lot in recent years. Never seen a significant difference to be honest.

Always liked the Harps games on Saturdays. Would get a run down to Ballybofey at least once a month. Know a few other Derry fans who'd do the same.
Disappointing to have only got to two Harps games (bar our LC match) this season.

adamd164
02/11/2013, 8:50 AM
If a FD goes ahead next year, you have to see Longford going the distance finally.
Wouldn't be sure about that, you'll have Shels and probably a single Galway team in there too.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/11/2013, 9:34 AM
Yeah. I'm sure people were saying the same about Waterford last season.

02/11/2013, 9:40 AM
Yeah I'm not too confident at the moment to be honest. Feels like we're going to have to start all over again. A decision on the manager's future is being made during the week and our entire squad is out of contract. If there's going to be a new manager brought in it'll have to be sorted very quickly so he can get after players. We're stable enough financially to challenge at the top end again all the same. Waterford will probably be stronger, the Galway team should be useful, not sure what sort of team Shels will be putting out. It's just such an ordeal trying to get out of this bloody division.

02/11/2013, 10:13 AM
Yeah I'm not too confident at the moment to be honest. Feels like we're going to have to start all over again. A decision on the manager's future is being made during the week and our entire squad is out of contract. If there's going to be a new manager brought in it'll have to be sorted very quickly so he can get after players. We're stable enough financially to challenge at the top end again all the same. Waterford will probably be stronger, the Galway team should be useful, not sure what sort of team Shels will be putting out. It's just such an ordeal trying to get out of this bloody division.

Before the mervue game Jim Hanley said in the paper he was considering giving TC a new contract regardless of up or down so you'd have to imagine he will be here next term. No chance wel keep sully

02/11/2013, 10:51 AM
Before the mervue game Jim Hanley said in the paper he was conscientious giving TC a new contract regardless of up or down so you'd have to imagine he will be here next term. No chance wel keep sully

Ah now, what kind of English is this? If TC stays a little part of me will die inside.

02/11/2013, 10:58 AM
Before the mervue game Jim Hanley said in the paper he was conscientious giving TC a new contract regardless of up or down so you'd have to imagine he will be here next term. No chance wel keep sully

Well it's his call one way or another but he was hardly going to say he wasn't going to give Tony a new one before the game. From what I heard Jim hasn't fully decided yet. Like a lot of people he was apparently very much inclined to get rid of him a few weeks back but has seemingly been impressed with the performances since then.

dublinwanderer
02/11/2013, 11:33 AM
Great game last night. I feel sorry for Longford but I think Bray were the better team over the 90 minutes and also created a lot more chances and if it wasnt for Bennion in the first half we could have been out of sight! Cracking game of football though and the huge crowd was great! I thought TC's decision to take of Derek O'Brien was very strange, he was causing Daire Doyle all sorts of problems in the 2nd half! I think I read 2700 was the attendance which was great and I was really surprised we brought up that many, biggest away crowd from Bray in a long long time!!!

Anyway... We are staying up and we shall not be moved!!!

02/11/2013, 11:44 AM
Well it's his call one way or another but he was hardly going to say he wasn't going to give Tony a new one before the game. From what I heard Jim hasn't fully decided yet. Like a lot of people he was apparently very much inclined to get rid of him a few weeks back but has seemingly been impressed with the performances since then.

First time I'd been up this season but I was impressed by the stuff played by The Town. Know they had a lot of injuries but you cannot expect to win anything with that back four. Thought Sullivan held the ball well and is gutsy and that Purdy lad is a player. Probably have difficulty holding on to that pair as well as Connolly who may go to Galway. Contract offer from us depends on who else stays. Great to see such a huge crowd in what is a premier league stadium and really sorry that Longford didn't make it. Ah well, more freezing evenings at the seaside.

L.T.F.C.
02/11/2013, 3:49 PM
Great game last night. I feel sorry for Longford but I think Bray were the better team over the 90 minutes and also created a lot more chances and if it wasnt for Bennion in the first half we could have been out of sight! Cracking game of football though and the huge crowd was great! I thought TC's decision to take of Derek O'Brien was very strange, he was causing Daire Doyle all sorts of problems in the 2nd half! I think I read 2700 was the attendance which was great and I was really surprised we brought up that many, biggest away crowd from Bray in a long long time!!!

Anyway... We are staying up and we shall not be moved!!!
Jeez... the crowd that Bray brought along was pathetic. 300 max which is awful considering the importance of the game. And I must say I thought Bray's support over the playoffs was ****e. 900 in the first game, 400 of which was us, and a measly 300 last night? I suppose it would be hard to attract people out to that dump of a ground.

bluewhitearmy
02/11/2013, 3:57 PM
Jeez... the crowd that Bray brought along was pathetic. 300 max which is awful considering the importance of the game. And I must say I thought Bray's support over the playoffs was ****e. 900 in the first game, 400 of which was us, and a measly 300 last night? I suppose it would be hard to attract people out to that dump of a ground.

Didnt look like ye had too many more then Bray travelling tbh.

02/11/2013, 5:48 PM

Not sure if this is a genuine observation or just a bit of sour grapes. A fan of a League of Ireland team having a go at the support size of another LOI team is laughable. Like two lads in a dick measuring competition with magnifying glasses. We don't have a lot of fans, but I'm proud of the loyal ones that we do have.

The Longford fans were a great bunch over the two legs. Great noise last night and were gracious in defeat and the ones that came to Bray generated fantastic atmosphere. I hope the team can push on and take the title next season.

As for ourselves. Just delighted to still have the show on the road. The experienced lads really stood up over the two legs, as did many of the younger lads such as Marty and Webster, but credit has to go to all involved. Took a few years off my life but I love them!

Bosco
02/11/2013, 7:59 PM
Yeah dear God don't start this ****e,we are in no position to criticise anyone's attendances!

Fair play to the Bray lads that came down, leaving Section O at the very end absolutely heartbroken, I was not looking forward to having to walk by all of you but was pleasantly surprised when ye all stopped celebrating and clapped everyone from Section O as we walked by,its rare you see that at matches!

02/11/2013, 8:04 PM
Ya can see why so many English clubs are after Marty waters, top young player and he seems like a lovely fella too that genuinely loves the club. Best of luck to him,

ATFC-1887
02/11/2013, 8:10 PM
To be fair ya hardly expect them to have loads when they are in a relegation battle. Ye should have loads as ye are winning games and challenging for promotion. I thought Bray brought a good crowd. Sound bunch of lads too.

02/11/2013, 11:37 PM

Remind me, what was Longfords average attendance this season?

03/11/2013, 12:11 AM
I thought they may have had a few more at their home leg but their away crowd was as much as I'd have expected, probably more. No offence to them but as long as we've been playing them they've never travelled in huge numbers. As has been pointed out we're hardly ones to be in a position to criticise other teams' fans.

03/11/2013, 1:05 AM
Before the mervue game Jim Hanley said in the paper he was considering giving TC a new contract regardless of up or down so you'd have to imagine he will be here next term. No chance wel keep sully
At the time, there was nothing else he could say, but it remains to be seen. I'd be a bit surprised if he was kept on.

As for next season, I'd expect Galway to be mervue plus, with the same manager. They'll be the team to beat - they were the best team of the last series - better than us and athlone. No idea about shels, and Waterford will be there abouts. I wouldn't be confident of getting out, certainly not as champions.

I thought Bray brought an OK crowd really. As good a crowd as we got and have got in the past for certain games, its always tempered with frustration that more don't go even a few times during the season.

legendz
03/11/2013, 8:37 AM
Hard luck to Longford. I'd usually side with the first division team in the play-offs. Congrats to Bray!