View Full Version : Permutations for 1st division play off spots
bluewhitearmy
14/10/2013, 11:53 PM
How the **** is the FAI not allowing Mervue into the Premier Division spinned into some tosh about GUST as usual, you utter lemon?
Just find it odd that GUST lads had lots to say about the good of Galway football for ages and seem to have nothing at all to say about this situation.
bluewhitearmy
14/10/2013, 11:56 PM
Well, Mervue's attendance problems can't be denied, and I have no idea if Fahy's Field would be up to scratch for PD level even if Mervue pulled it off, so its not like there are no legitimate impediments. But this just feels like a lousy way for this Galway business to be progressing. First and foremost, progression should be based on the merits of the team.
Grimly fascinated to see how Mervue come out against Longford now.
Could surely use Terryland.
Olander
15/10/2013, 12:01 AM
Just find it odd that GUST lads had lots to say about the good of Galway football for ages and seem to have nothing at all to say about this situation.
You're definitely not the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree, we both know that. You're invariably the first person in, making snooty, smug comments about GUST for whatever reason you see fit, I have no clue why (nor do I care). But now, this takes the cake. You're whinging about GUST because of a decision the FAI made? Absolutely nuts. You're bitter about something and it's getting a bit pathetic at this stage.
For what it's worth, I think Mervue have been hard done by and I wouldn't agree with the way the situation has been handled by the FAI. Preferably, I'd like Galway United in the League, I couldn't give a monkeys about Mervue or Devon, goodluck to both of them. But anybody with half a braincell knows that's not going to happen. Next year there will be one team in Galway. Mervue and Devon will be shown to support it, so the FAI can save face after admitting them to the League. They will be rewarded in kind.
The utter disdain Mervue have been treated with is frightening, and I'm sure most Galway United fans you chat to would not condone it and sympathize with Mervue's players (a lot of which were GUFC players). Whether we like it or not, Galway FC WILL happen next year. So your nonsensical ramblings are going to fall on deaf ears, as they should. You talk some amount of manure. Makes for funny reading though.
bluewhitearmy
15/10/2013, 12:12 AM
now, this takes the cake. You're whinging about GUST because of a decision the FAI made?
Where did i whinge about GUST? I found it strange that people that have had a lot to say about the good of football in Galway have had nothing to say about this situation since it most definitely has a bearing on the good of football in Galway.
You go on about Galway FC not once did i mention it i never said it shouldn't happen. There is no real reason why Mervue could not be promoted play in the first division and Galway FC formed and play in the first division.
Make up agendas all you want tbh i have no problem with GUST and have supported a few of the fundraisers and such they have run the fact i have disagreed with things they have said or done in the past or the fact i think it would be good of them to show Mervue some support now doesnt change that.
Olander
15/10/2013, 12:15 AM
Where did i whinge about GUST? I found it strange that people that have had a lot to say about the good of football in Galway have had nothing to say about this situation since it most definitely has a bearing on the good of football in Galway.
You go on about Galway FC not once did i mention it i never said it shouldn't happen. There is no real reason why Mervue could not be promoted play in the first division and Galway FC formed and play in the first division.
Make up agendas all you want tbh i have no problem with GUST and have supported a few of the fundraisers and such they have run the fact i have disagreed with things they have said or done in the past or the fact i think it would be good of them to show Mervue some support now doesnt change that.
“Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.”
The reason mervue are doing so well this year is the level of 1st division has dropped so low and mervue don't want promotion as it simply would cost the club so much -- hence the have signed up to support the new Galway Fc next year as has SD and Gfa And Gust have all agreed going forward so Thera no argument for the above quotes it's done and dusted already
I am curious about the attendance numbers for Mervue's home match in this playoff, will be very interesting.
Don't such low attendances for Salthill and Mervue mean that big crowds for an all-Galway club are far from certain? Even when all factors are taken into account (that their grounds are far away, that their football is ridiculous, that Galway United supporters have no obligation to watch other team if theirs went bust), these numbers maybe mean that 1- There's just not that much interest for football in that area and this couldn't be solved just by creating a new club or 2- What makes their attendances so low is not having too many clubs in the city, but other reasons than that and if their financial situation allows so (it probably doesn't though) Galway United/City/FC/Rovers/Whatever could coexist with Mervue and/or Salthill.
As I have to mention all the time, I am not Irish therefore there might be a lot of facts that I don't know well enough, and also I know this has been debated exhaustively here, but can't see why people would not attend Galway United matches because Mervue United still exists. The opposite might be truth, but it doesn't seem that many ex-Galway United fans started going to Fahy's Field, so what exactly would the new club get from taking them out of the game? My opinion is that if they get promoted (they hint they don't want to continue, but this might be different in the unlikely even they reach PD) want to go on they should be allowed.
A question: has Mervue United always had the same colours as Galway United or they just changed to Maroon and Blue trying to become more appealing to the town as a whole?
athloneman
15/10/2013, 6:01 AM
as far as I am aware mervue have always had those colours since they were formed long before any form of galway united/rovers etc!
Yossarian
15/10/2013, 6:12 AM
Hmmm, the FAI holding a meaningless playoff even though they have already decided the outcome off the field. Surely that would never happen....
gufcfan
15/10/2013, 6:49 AM
This time they're not even trying to pretend like they have a good reason.
Trainee
15/10/2013, 7:31 AM
http://www.connachttribune.ie/sport/item/1532-mervue-utd-make-play-off-but-fai-still-ruling-them-offside
2- What makes their attendances so low is not having too many clubs in the city, but other reasons than that and if their financial situation allows so (it probably doesn't though) Galway United/City/FC/Rovers/Whatever could coexist with Mervue and/or Salthill.
I'm sure it split the sponsorship somewhat, but Salthill and Mervue had sod all to do with GUFC's demise, and they're presence wasn't a real problem for GUST, who've tried to enter a team several times since GUFC went under those conditions. From the outside it looks totally like the FAI needlessly meddling, but I've no idea whether that was partly to save face for people involved in Salthill and Mervue. A team trying to enter the league, that met the licensing criteria, should never have been blocked.
As for the farce of a play off - is there even going to be a first next season anyway? As things stand with the FAI's plans, we've 19 senior clubs, so are looking at a 7 team first. Assuming whoever comes down survives. Obviously Mervue winning the playoff will avoid that issue for at least one club with the second bottom club staying up by default.
On the one hand Mervue have little to complain about- they are part of the Galway FC process. No point changing your tune now that promotion is a possibility. It does seem that the guys on the LOI side of Mervue and those making the club's decisions are not exactly on the same page though.
On the other hand this is clearly a bit of a farcical situation arising from inconsistency in how the FAI administer the league. SD and Mervue were allowed to join (and rightfully so) but when it came to it GUST were not and were indeed excluded from U19 and CSL negotiations too. John Delaney bent over backwards to keep Derry City in the league when they folded but when Galway United went belly up treated a similar situation entirely differently. Again it all goes back to a lack of any strategic direction for the league. Short term decisions all the time and we keep bleeding clubs.
NeverFeltBetter
15/10/2013, 10:20 AM
To be clear, my sympathies are with the Mervue squad and management. If the clubs owners/runners want to leave the LOI and do whatever merger they want, they can. I just think the current situation is dreadfully unfair on the actual team.
Darklordsbane
15/10/2013, 1:50 PM
can anyone explain in clear language
If Merview beat Longford and then the premier team are Merview promoted and if they do not for any reason take their position in the premier league next season do the premier team they beat in the playoffs get reinstated
If Merview beat longford and the premier team and are disbanded for next season are 1 or both matches void
If merview beat Longford but lose to premier team are those results valid
I can see the fai saying that if Merview get through then the 1st division playoff is valid, but premier v's 1st playoff is not therefore Longford stay in division 1 and premier team stay in premier league,
I see it that the only way for Longford to get to the premier league is to win the 2 sets of playoffs,
am I wrong any thoughts!!!!
All results of the playoffs are valid. But Mervue disappear once this season is over. It's simple really. Longford have to beat them to have a chance of getting up.
NeverFeltBetter
16/10/2013, 12:08 PM
Team of the year and player of the year nominations for the First Division are out today.
FAI will presumably announce tomorrow that any Mervue winners will not retain the awards next season.
dejadem
16/10/2013, 1:42 PM
I see it that the only way for Longford to get to the premier league is to win the 2 sets of playoffs,
That's always been the case, that's only way any 1st division team can be prompted via playoff.
El-Pietro
16/10/2013, 3:09 PM
The only way for Shels to be relegated is for Longford to win both sets of playoffs.
If Mervue win the first playoff against Longford then Shels will stay in the Premier. So techincally the only way any game will be redundant is if Mervue win against Longford. The Mervue - Longford playoff is meaningful to both Longford and Shels.
bluemovie
16/10/2013, 3:28 PM
The only way for Shels to be relegated is for Longford to win both sets of playoffs.
If Mervue win the first playoff against Longford then Shels will stay in the Premier. So techincally the only way any game will be redundant is if Mervue win against Longford. The Mervue - Longford playoff is meaningful to both Longford and Shels.
As it stands, it'll be Bray not Shels in the play-off with Shels going down automatically and being replaced by Athlone. If Mervue were to win against Longford and Bray, I'd say the sneakiness factor will rise to an unprecedented degree and the all new Galway FC will take the Premier Division place. What could possibly go wrong?
That said, like an ex-girlfriend of mine, Bray will never go down in any circumstances.
16/10/2013, 3:34 PM
As it stands, it'll be Bray not Shels in the play-off with Shels going down automatically and being replaced by Athlone. If Mervue were to win against Longford and Bray, I'd say the sneakiness factor will rise to an unprecedented degree and the all new Galway FC will take the Premier Division place. What could possibly go wrong?
That said, like an ex-girlfriend of mine, Bray will never go down in any circumstances.
Cue Peadar...
NeverFeltBetter
16/10/2013, 3:36 PM
Even the FAI wouldn't be that duplicitous.
El-Pietro
16/10/2013, 4:18 PM
Ah Brain-fart. Dunno why I said Shels. And yes Bray are indestructible.
L.T.F.C.
16/10/2013, 4:26 PM
can anyone explain in clear language
If Merview beat Longford and then the premier team are Merview promoted and if they do not for any reason take their position in the premier league next season do the premier team they beat in the playoffs get reinstated
If Merview beat longford and the premier team and are disbanded for next season are 1 or both matches void
If merview beat Longford but lose to premier team are those results valid
I can see the fai saying that if Merview get through then the 1st division playoff is valid, but premier v's 1st playoff is not therefore Longford stay in division 1 and premier team stay in premier league,
am I wrong any thoughts!!!!
FFS it is 'Mervue'.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/10/2013, 6:04 PM
Don't be talking about the Unknowns like that........
Darklordsbane
16/10/2013, 6:46 PM
FFS it is 'Mervue'.
I Know I only spotted that after someone answered my questions I knew it didn't look right when I was typing it, Appologies to Mervue
Trainee
16/10/2013, 6:55 PM
looks like FAI have changed their minds again
http://irishnewsreview.net/2013/10/16/fai-clear-up-mervue-united-situation/
Rumours circulating around mervue tonight, that the one team for Galway could well be Mervue United !
NeverFeltBetter
16/10/2013, 8:23 PM
looks like FAI have changed their minds again
http://irishnewsreview.net/2013/10/16/fai-clear-up-mervue-united-situation/
"You can come back with the pointless argument of how Mervue United would be refused a Premier Division licence, however, you are then just looking at other ways to have a dig at the football’s governing body, which would be a complete waste of time."
What a stupid article.
16/10/2013, 8:29 PM
Rumours circulating around mervue tonight, that the one team for Galway could well be Mervue United !
So a six team FD if Mervue went up then? Great.
Trainee
16/10/2013, 9:27 PM
So a six team FD if Mervue went up then? Great.
Shels will be relegated to first, so if Mervue go up its means bray will be relegated too.
16/10/2013, 11:39 PM
Shels will be relegated to first, so if Mervue go up its means bray will be relegated too.
Salthill presumably won't be competing next season. Which clears the way for a eight-tier system of two sides apiece.
Darklordsbane
17/10/2013, 4:58 AM
Salthill presumably won't be competing next season. Which clears the way for a eight-tier system of two sides apiece.
I know I might be being stupid on here (not for the 1st time)
The 1st division has 8 teams
if Salthill pull out that leaves 7
Athlone go up that leaves 6
it looks like Shels are going down back up to 7
if Mervue or Longford go it it will mean a premier team (probably Bray) coming down thats still 7 teams
please explain!
17/10/2013, 8:50 AM
Oh yeah, maths was never my strongest subject. But then again it's pretty much impossible for Bray to actually be relegated. It'd probably bring on the apocalypse.
I don't see how 7 is sustainable (if it was 7, which I'm not sure it would be), whoever goes up or comes down.
NeverFeltBetter
17/10/2013, 10:45 AM
I don't see it how 7 is suddenly less sustainable than 8. The FD will potter on until there are less than 6 I'd say.
17/10/2013, 10:56 AM
4 fewer games, 2 fewer home games. You're talking about 24 league games in, what, 35 weeks in the season is it?
NeverFeltBetter
17/10/2013, 10:59 AM
The FAI will just add another round probably. Anything to paper over the cracks.
A free week in every seven for a club.. two fewer home games. Clubs are hanging on by their fingernails even without doing anything reckless or silly, and soon we could cross the tipping point where more just pack it in. Perhaps the season could be contracted with the first starting later than the premier, meaning fewer week's wage to pay .. maybe something could be cobbled together and we could limp on with seven. But we seriously need the powers that be to take things in hand and provide a vision and strategy for the league rather than inconsistent short term improvisation.
I don't know what they're opinion is this season, but Waterford were going to pull out last year if it was 7. (Trying to stay the right side of the site rules) The impression in my local paper, if things stay as they are, and Longford won the playoff, there'd be serious questions about whether it'd be 7 teams in the first.
They appear determined to remain in the league:
http://www.waterford-united.ie/club-statement/
The Board would like to reaffirm its commitment to maintaining League of Ireland football in Waterford but the task of regrouping will require support and commitment from all quarters.
Obviously they have a lot of work to do as the issues that became clear earlier in the year show.
NeverFeltBetter
17/10/2013, 12:03 PM
The long and short of it is that the FAI either make it easier, financially, to become part of the LOI at the FD level for potential applicants - that is, lower the entrance fee and maybe some of the infrastructure criteria - or they merge the two tiers into one, at least for a time. Continuing on with 7 or 6 clubs in the FD will be possible for one, maybe two season at most before the lost revenue and lack of opportunities make the question redundant. Mervue, Salthill, Waterford and Wexford could all conceivably be gone from the LOI in the next 24 months.
They could start with not actively blocking willing and able clubs, like they did with GUST.
gufc2000
17/10/2013, 2:10 PM
http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/64520/mervue-look-for-remarable-run-to-continue-in-play-off-despite-fai
17/10/2013, 3:04 PM
They could start with not actively blocking willing and able clubs, like they did with GUST.
Exactly, stifle the growth of what could be a great club by people who love the club, and for what? Are they listen to junior sides/leagues too much or what? Sounds very dodge to me to be honest. I just dont think they can afford to be playing around with potential clubs like they are.
gufcfan
17/10/2013, 4:28 PM
Exactly, stifle the growth of what could be a great club by people who love the club, and for what? Are they listen to junior sides/leagues too much or what? Sounds very dodge to me to be honest. I just dont think they can afford to be playing around with potential clubs like they are.
I wrote another rant, but screw it who cares at this stage. FAI do what they like, protect their positions at ANY cost and look after the licka***s that keep them "democratically" in their positions.
Pssin in the wind would be an understatement.
Louth4sam
17/10/2013, 4:37 PM
I actually believe that GUST are being unfairly punished for Galway United's actions. It's obvious that the FAI have a grudge and an agenda against GUST. I feel a lot of it boils back to the 2006 promotion. The FAI took a lot of flak for that and believed the lies told to them by Galway United which then embarrassingly came back to bite them in the arse.
gufcfan
17/10/2013, 6:06 PM
It may have become personal for the FAI over time, but in the grand scheme of things it's not even about GUST. The only thing certain FAI officials and want is to keep control of whatever joke-shop is happening in Galway. Makes absolutely no difference to them who it is or how good or bad they are, as long as it's their puppet.
It's just that GUST want to fix things and bring everyone that actually wants to help in together and have a FORAS type situation. Ideally what should happen is a co-op with ultimate say over the club would exist, with GUST ceasing to exist.
A proper co-op structure and club like FORAS were allowed to create and were lauded for doing so by the FAI hasn't been allowed because it would take away this control from the FAI.
Sort of back to the topic, Mervue have done a super job this season, but promotion or no, there is no appetite for LOI football among their membership so a couple of more seasons is all I could have seen them competing for. It's just too much of a financial strain where you gates don't even pay the match officials.
I don't think it makes any difference whether Mervue are in the LOI next season or not in terms of Jokeshop FC happening. The whole reason for it is to keep those votes and positions away from the great unwashed. Galway FC would just be a couple of reps from Mervue and Devon showing their faces and keeping the GUSTies from getting any ideas about fixing anything.
adamd164
17/10/2013, 8:34 PM
Regarding merging the divisions, I'd be all for a single division now, there'd be a good bit of variety in the games. Changed my mind on it as I was against the idea.
I wonder is one of the reasons some clubs are against it because it would extend the season length? If you had 30 teams in the division the season would be about 5 series longer.
The season is way too short at the moment IMO.
gufcfan
17/10/2013, 8:44 PM
A longer season would be no harm, but even with 6 teams left to make up the First Division it would be better for everybody to have 2 divisions.
No relegation is a terrible idea. More games against bigger teams is not a justification for doing it. It doesn't make all the negatives disappear. Games against big teams or not, if you are outside the top few teams, nobody will care if you win or lose.