View Full Version : Next season
bluewhitearmy
01/10/2013, 5:02 PM
Now that the season is almost over who would you like to see kept on for next season? Anyone you think should go? Where are the areas you think need most strengthening?
Ones i think that are already signed back for next season are :
Curran
Williams
Galbraith
I think there is one or tow more but im not 100% anyone know of any?
We also should have Ali Abass and Prince Agyemang coming in subject to clearance.
01/10/2013, 11:05 PM
Would be nice to get an update on the two right to dream lads.
Need an attacking Midfielder that can chip in with goals, a natural goalscorer/poacher and two more centre backs next season, cover at left back and possibly a new keeper if Barry Ryan finishes up.
Possibles to leave - Bradley and Gamble to free up wages unless their wages can be reduced, Calla and Purcell to be replaced by some younger lads and a few more also that may go back to junior.
The other night we had 2 senior players on the bench and the rest were under 19's, this has been the case most of the season. If we are planning to push on next season we need to have at least 16 decent players that can be interchanged when needed and youth mixed in with that to make up the rest of the squad. Its for that reason I can't see a whole lot leaving but maybe a few regulars this season not being as regular next season. If they do release a few starters from this season then we could be potentially looking at bringing in around 10+ new players.
kingpin4
02/10/2013, 12:27 AM
Outs for me will be those who haven't played much (for various reasons), Purcell, Judge, Foley. Those to free up wages (Gamble, Bradley) and those who could end up retiring (Ryan, O'Callaghan*)
I'd have included Gaffney in one of the first 2 categories a few weeks ago, delighted he's shown a bit of form now.
I'd say there'll be a couple of Irish players, and a few more non-Irish coming in with a big turn around in players this summer with a lot of younger lads released too.
*coaching role maybe? He did well this year until injury caught up with him.
NeverFeltBetter
02/10/2013, 1:03 AM
A lot of ifs and buts, but we need one quality player at every line, defence, midfield and attack. If Barry Ryan goes for whatever reason, I'd want a replacement there rather than trust it to Cusack.
Who I'd be willing to let go: Gamble I suppose, not cutting it as much. Calla, Purcell, haven't added anything great. Bradley maybe. Galbraith if I'm being honest, but if he's committed than fair enough. Not sure I really think Axel is doing as good a job as he should be doing either, might be worth looking at other options.
Keep if we can: Tracy, Gaffney, O'Leary, Oji, Ryan, Nzuzi.
fieldofmarkets
02/10/2013, 8:00 PM
Its been an enormously successful season so far. As much as possible I would like to see the first eleven back next year. They are predominantly good players and some continuity along with the coach will see an improvement again next year. A small number of quality additions to replace anyone at the end of their careers that might not return should be enough.
bluewhitearmy
02/10/2013, 8:25 PM
I think people are a bit harsh on Galbraith tbh i think he has been ok this season but the system and lack of people in the box a lot have made some of his work go un-noticed an awful lot of the time he does some good work gets in a good crossing position only to look up and see just Curran in the box and instead of hit and hope tries to hold it up a bit and loses it i dont think that kinda thing is all his fault. Id like to see him play in the current system where Tiofack is playing he played in a similar position against Bohs earlier in the season and tore them apart.
Has there been talk of Barry Ryan retiring or something? Think it would be madness considering the season he has just had definitely keeper of the year imo.
Agree 100% with what fieldsofmarkets says the more kept the better and add the touch of quality in key areas like Attacking Midfielder and Striker that has already been mentioned. Would be great to be able to start next season with the same back 4 we have at the minute works wonders for Pats defence the fact they have been the same 4 for so long.
I hope some good young players from this league are targeted the likes of Mick Leahy at UCD, Ledwith at Rovers and possibly a cheeky little move for Daryl Horgan and Danny Morrissey at Cork if they are not already tied down.
16/10/2013, 9:37 PM
Has there been talk of Barry Ryan retiring or something? Think it would be madness considering the season he has just had definitely keeper of the year Imo
No been no talk of retiring. He was only supposed to be a goalkeeping coach/back up a few years ago though so think it may be a possibility he will retire. Would prefer to see him continue on though, especially with the way he has been playing.
Calla played his last game at home for us tonight so thats one gone.
NeverFeltBetter
16/10/2013, 9:40 PM
Axel had what could only be viewed as a Goodbye tweet up today.
16/10/2013, 9:45 PM
Axel had what could only be viewed as a Goodbye tweet up today.
Ya saw that alright. Would be a pity to see him go as he was a real fans favorite and while he may been a little all over the place at times on the pitch his commitment could never be doubted.
LK37oldskool
17/10/2013, 12:29 PM
Folan is signed up for next year. There was talk last night of a certain Sligo striker that we were linked with at the start of the season coming on board for next year.
NeverFeltBetter
17/10/2013, 12:43 PM
Ya saw that alright. Would be a pity to see him go as he was a real fans favorite and while he may been a little all over the place at times on the pitch his commitment could never be doubted.
Yeah. He had some great games, like Bray away.
harpin
17/10/2013, 1:42 PM
Is that a nice way of saying he's headless...if so, I agree
NeverFeltBetter
26/10/2013, 1:21 PM
If you'd asked me at the start of the season what kind of progression I would have been satisfied with over the next few years, it would have been something like:
2013: 10th
2014: 8th-6th, Decent Cup run.
2015: 6th/5th, Better Cup Run.
2016: Europe
2017:???
Limerick have pretty much skipped that first part, which is great. For a team back in the top tier for the first time in so long, I really think that we have overachieved. Next season I fully expect us to be in the top half of the table at the business end of the season, and I think there is a great opportunity, if the right signings and re-signings are made, for Limerick to be challenging for Europe.
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2013, 1:29 PM
If you'd asked me at the start of the season what kind of progression I would have been satisfied with over the next few years, it would have been something like:
2013: 10th
2014: 8th-6th, Decent Cup run.
2015: 6th/5th, Better Cup Run.
2016: Europe
2017:???
Limerick have pretty much skipped that first part, which is great. For a team back in the top tier for the first time in so long, I really think that we have overachieved. Next season I fully expect us to be in the top half of the table at the business end of the season, and I think there is a great opportunity, if the right signings and re-signings are made, for Limerick to be challenging for Europe.
We would need some very good signings imo. Nowhere near challenging for Europe this season and all teams ahead of us will more then likely strengthen. Most importantly we need a squad next season because tbh a lot of the young lads we had on the bench a lot of this season are nowhere near good enough. Not trying to be harsh and dont want to have a go after a good season but some just aren't.
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2013, 3:43 PM
Joe Gamble is gone anyway.
kingpin4
26/10/2013, 5:48 PM
Joe Gamble is gone anyway.
That makes Joe Gamble, Brian O'Callaghan, Paddy Purcell, Jeffrey Judge and Axel Bossekota who are gone. I'd think Stephen Bradley would be next,
I'm hoping Gaffney is there next year because when he hits form, there are goals in him.
I think for next season, we need to dramatically strengthen in most areas. Relying on young kids as the backbone of the squad isn't fair on them.
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2013, 6:16 PM
Joe was a good player for us imo. Think some people expected a bit too much from him when he came but more often then not he did the job he was there to do well. Always pushed people to do things right for the club too.
26/10/2013, 6:59 PM
Ya I agree Joe did a good job for us. Agreement on new contract couldn't be made so time for both to move on. I'd say with the money freed up Taylor should be able to find a capable replacement.
da bishop
26/10/2013, 7:44 PM
a 7th place finish was the very least i would have expected this season and i certainly dont think we over achieved given the huge budget at the disposal of the manager,he has done a fine job however we could have finished higher.he had more money and a stronger group of players than most of the clubs in the premier bar maybe four.we can be barging into the top four if taylor and co. get things right,the chairman has been brilliant tbf so taylor has to push things on and repay the top man....oh and maybe taylor and co might spend more time pitchside next season.
26/10/2013, 8:03 PM
First priority is to sign two decent center halves. We have only one at present
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2013, 8:07 PM
a 7th place finish was the very least i would have expected this season and i certainly dont think we over achieved given the huge budget at the disposal of the manager,he has done a fine job however we could have finished higher.he had more money and a stronger group of players than most of the clubs in the premier bar maybe four.we can be barging into the top four if taylor and co. get things right,the chairman has been brilliant tbf so taylor has to push things on and repay the top man....oh and maybe taylor and co might spend more time pitchside next season.
You always talk about this huge budget it is absolute bull our squad is made up of a first 11 and then under 19s.
The part about having better players then all but 4 is complete and utter bull, had you even heard of Curran,Bossekota,Nzuzi,Folan, Williams or Galbraith before they came here? I guarantee you the answer for at least 4 of them was no. Of the rest of the squad there was Barry Ryan,Shaun Kelly, Stephen Bradley and Joe Gamble that are proven at premier level. There was also Brian O Callaghan coming back from a terrible injury that hardly played at all the season before.
There was Shane Cusack, Dave O'Leary, Rory Gaffney, James McGrath, Barry Sheedy, Darragh Rainsford,Jeffrey Judge, Val Feeney and Steve McGamm that had never played above LOI first division.
To say that squad is better then any of Pats,Sligo,Derry,Rovers, Dundalk or even at the start of the season Drogheda is madness. The only season to judge what level most of these players are in the premier is this season so to say they are any better then where they finished this season is ridiculous imo.
The same goes for saying we have more money then the teams ive listed above but you can add Cork to that one. We have not overachieved or under achieved we are right where we should have been really maybe one place below.
da bishop
26/10/2013, 8:46 PM
BW,do me a favour...read my post properly.in plain english and imo we had a bigger budget and a stronger squad of players than MOST of the clubs in the premier BAR FOUR....I.E....PATS,SLIGO,ROVERS AND DERRY.you are right on not knowing some of the players,however all were and are fulltime pro,s and that added to the likes of gamble,bradley etc who are by LOI standards on big money leaves my expectations a tad higher than yours.
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2013, 9:03 PM
BW,do me a favour...read my post properly.in plain english and imo we had a bigger budget and a stronger squad of players than MOST of the clubs in the premier BAR FOUR....I.E....PATS,SLIGO,ROVERS AND DERRY.you are right on not knowing some of the players,however all were and are fulltime pro,s and that added to the likes of gamble,bradley etc who are by LOI standards on big money leaves my expectations a tad higher than yours.
Ive ready your post i understand your post and i think its wrong. Apologies for saying it was bull but this whole we have a huge budget thing when we clearly dont has gotten a bit boring.
Yes some of them coming over were full time but it was Folan and Nzuzis first ever senior season and Curran was coming from a loan spell in a league below the conference coming from england or being full time does not make players automatically good.
Imo we are exactly where we should have been fair enough if you think differently.
kingpin4
26/10/2013, 10:26 PM
Ive ready your post i understand your post and i think its wrong. Apologies for saying it was bull but this whole we have a huge budget thing when we clearly dont has gotten a bit boring.
Just out of interest, what constitutes a big budget in LOI terms? I've heard a load of different figures from fans, players and people in "the know" and they range from 7 thousand per week to 11, thousand per week. (I assumed the higher figures included staff wages)
There's no way to know unless the club actually state it, but what constitutes big in LOI terms?
I've also heard this "huge" budget may not be so huge next season.
mrman
26/10/2013, 11:30 PM
ye are like a shower of handbags with the bitching, anyway, i think it was a successful season, we didnt go back down, honey mood period over we need to win something next season, will we be in MF next season
NeverFeltBetter
26/10/2013, 11:32 PM
The idea that this team are rolling in cash from a giant budget really needs to be taken out and shot. Not only is it not true, we should all be delighted it isn't true, since it would be so reckless and hubristic.
bluewhitearmy
27/10/2013, 12:45 AM
ye are like a shower of handbags with the bitching, anyway, i think it was a successful season, we didnt go back down, honey mood period over we need to win something next season, will we be in MF next season
What absolute garbage. Explain why do we need to win something in only our 2nd season back up? Would a League Cup do you or do we have to get straight from mid table to FAI Cup or League Winners?
bluewhitearmy
27/10/2013, 12:47 AM
Just out of interest, what constitutes a big budget in LOI terms? I've heard a load of different figures from fans, players and people in "the know" and they range from 7 thousand per week to 11, thousand per week. (I assumed the higher figures included staff wages)
There's no way to know unless the club actually state it, but what constitutes big in LOI terms?
I've also heard this "huge" budget may not be so huge next season.
Tbh i dont know what people would consider a big budget but i dont think our budget could be considered huge if there is probably only 4 teams who we could be safely assume have smaller budgets then us.
fieldofmarkets
27/10/2013, 9:39 AM
When we clinched the first division last season if i was offered a year in thomond without going broke and 7th spot i'd have taken it right there. Great season in my opinion. League position is generally defined by player budgets, we have an opportunity to push up a couple of spots next year just by making every penny count. ST can match our squad make-up to how he wants to play next season and hopefully the full budget will be fit to take the field a little more (we were a little unlucky with senior player injuries). Even with POS support i doubt we can overtake the top 5 or 6 financially, although there is always the possibilty of overachieving for a year ala Dundalk this season or Drogheda last season. If we go higher than 7th next year I will be happy. Would like to see us find a way to keep Bradley, well worth the price of admission.
blueblood
27/10/2013, 10:10 AM
I'd be happy with mid table again or better next season,we over achieved this Season, Who would have thought we'd finish 6th or 7th a week before the season started, certainly not me, then people got carried away after the good start and thought we would finish top 3 or 4, then after the mid season dip people thought we could be in a relegation Battle, we did well first season back with new management and players who never played or managed in LOI premiere, learned a lot this season which should help next season
bluewhitearmy
29/10/2013, 10:17 PM
So for next season so far we have
Galbraith
Curran
Folan
Williams
Abbas
Agyemang
Duggan .
I forget any?
29/10/2013, 11:26 PM
So for next season so far we have
Galbraith
Curran
Folan
Williams
Abbas
Agyemang
Duggan .
I forget any?
Has there been anymore about the RTD lads? I'm getting skeptical at this stage about them getting work permits.
bluewhitearmy
29/10/2013, 11:41 PM
Has there been anymore about the RTD lads? I'm getting skeptical at this stage about them getting work permits.
Was talking about it in Derry and was told they were looking at getting them over for the Derry game but if they got their visas now they would have had to apply to renew them in July mid way through the season so if they leave it til them until near the start of the season they wont have to apply to renew until after the season.
29/10/2013, 11:43 PM
Was talking about it in Derry and was told they were looking at getting them over for the Derry game but if they got their visas now they would have had to apply to renew them in July mid way through the season so if they leave it til them until near the start of the season they wont have to apply to renew until after the season.
I presume so they are talking about January so they are available for pre-season.
I'd expect anyone they want to keep on to be signed up fairly soon like Dundalk and Pats are doing. The players as much as the club will want to secure their futures as soon as possible.
bluewhitearmy
29/10/2013, 11:50 PM
I presume so they are talking about January so they are available for pre-season.
I'd expect anyone they want to keep on to be signed up fairly soon like Dundalk and Pats are doing. The players as much as the club will want to secure their futures as soon as possible.
I think there is a few signed already. Might just be waiting to name a few at once.
Also supposedly near with a few new signings too.
29/10/2013, 11:53 PM
Would be nice to go into Christmas knowing the bulk of the squad is signed and ready to go for pre-season.
bluewhitearmy
29/10/2013, 11:56 PM
Would be nice to go into Christmas knowing the bulk of the squad is signed and ready to go for pre-season.
Ya hopefully they start announcing things soon enough. Would be massive if we can get Oji to stay.
30/10/2013, 12:02 AM
Ya hopefully they start announcing things soon enough. Would be massive if we can get Oji to stay.
If he keeps up the form he showed this season then he could be the key to pushing us up the table.
bluewhitearmy
30/10/2013, 12:04 AM
If he keeps up the form he showed this season then he could be the key to pushing us up the table.
Spoke to him one day and he said he was still nowhere near 100% fit so if he could manage to get better would be one of the top defenders in the league imo
bluewhitearmy
06/11/2013, 11:25 AM
Shaun Kelly has now re-signed. Very good player.
LK37oldskool
06/11/2013, 12:23 PM
Nzuzi gone, anyone heard that?
kingpin4
06/11/2013, 4:34 PM
Nzuzi gone, anyone heard that?
I'd be shocked by that one to be fair.
Contract talks haven't progressed much either with some of the players from last year already mentioned, so I'd say there won't be a lot of news until one side backs down or they compromise. Probably December before pre season starts up.
06/11/2013, 5:20 PM
The only way Nzuzi will be gone is if he gets an offer from the UK. I would expect the club to offer him a contract. He really grew into an important player for us.
bluewhitearmy
06/11/2013, 5:22 PM
I've been told by a player today that things are moving along now he expects there to be more re-signings announced very soon.
LK37oldskool
07/11/2013, 12:09 PM
It seems Stuart is gone back to Scotland for a break and things will move on when he gets back sometime next week.
07/11/2013, 3:23 PM
Lots are "gone" back to England and so on as the season is over. So unless the club announce it we really don't know who's coming or staying
bluewhitearmy
16/11/2013, 12:46 PM
We turned down Elding who has now signed for Cork. Can not understand that decision at all.
kingpin4
16/11/2013, 5:31 PM
We turned down Elding who has now signed for Cork. Can not understand that decision at all.
He'd never give you enough work rate in the system Taylor likes to play. And he seems very stuck with that system, so Curran suits that one up top perfectly. Lets just pray he doesn't get injured...ever.
I heard he was asking for big money too, so it'd have taken a large chunk of the budget for us to sign him.
Still, would have been nice to see him and Curran up front in a 2. Potential for a lot of goals.
bluewhitearmy
16/11/2013, 5:45 PM
He'd never give you enough work rate in the system Taylor likes to play. And he seems very stuck with that system, so Curran suits that one up top perfectly. Lets just pray he doesn't get injured...ever.
I heard he was asking for big money too, so it'd have taken a large chunk of the budget for us to sign him.
Still, would have been nice to see him and Curran up front in a 2. Potential for a lot of goals.
I don't see the big deal with Curran good player and hard worker but doesnt score anywhere near enough wastes a lot of chances. If we play only one striker I'd rather Gaffney.
16/11/2013, 5:59 PM
I don't see the big deal with Curran good player and hard worker but doesnt score anywhere near enough wastes a lot of chances. If we play only one striker I'd rather Gaffney.
I think Curran is top class but needs a man up top with him it winger playing off him. The amount of times he won the ball, held it up and ended up having to go backwards with it was ridiculous.