[
6]
Paddy Garcia
02/04/2014, 7:37 PM
Lowlights.............
03/04/2014, 2:35 PM
two new blogs today: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/
the goals for week of 31 March 2014, including a long range free kick from Willo Flood
and player appearance data for March 2014
Olé Olé
03/04/2014, 5:54 PM
two new blogs today: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/
the goals for week of 31 March 2014, including a long range free kick from Willo Flood
and player appearance data for March 2014
It's very hard to believe that Billy Clarke is almost a full year younger than Shane Long.
Don't think he's gone on a sufficient goal-scoring streak to power himself up a division like Long did.
TheOneWhoKnocks
03/04/2014, 8:19 PM
It's very hard to believe that Billy Clarke is almost a full year younger than Shane Long.
Don't think he's gone on a sufficient goal-scoring streak to power himself up a division like Long did.
Ah yes. Promoted to the PL with Blackpool and then missed the entire season through an injury picked up against Tiverton in a friendly..
Just like Chris McCann missed pretty much the entire season in Burnley's PL campaign; and Thomas Butler missed Swansea's first campaign; and Paddy McCarthy missed pretty much all of Crystal Palace's current campaign; and Quinn, McShane and Brady's seasons have been ruined with injury; and Stephen McPhail missed pretty much the entirety of Cardiff's promotion season; and Martin Rowlands PL ambitions with QPR were curtailed by injury.
03/04/2014, 8:25 PM
Weren't you saying Martin Rowlands wasn't up to scratch anyway a couple of weeks ago? If it was somebody else, I apologise but I thought it was you. I think we have been unlucky with injuries over the years but it's as much a reflection of our small talent pool as anything. On a per player basis, we're probably no more injury-prone than other countries but when you're pinning your hopes on such a small number of players you tend to remember the injuries more.
gastric
04/04/2014, 9:21 PM
Very disappointing if they are found guilty.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/three-irish-footballers-arrested-in-connection-with-alleged-spotfixing-30156107.html
05/04/2014, 11:27 AM
Aaron Doran scored a cracker last night: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hidPl7WPOoo&t=1m47s
TheOneWhoKnocks
05/04/2014, 4:14 PM
Very disappointing if they are found guilty.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/three-irish-footballers-arrested-in-connection-with-alleged-spotfixing-30156107.html
http://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/footballs-not-about-the-money-says-stephen-dawson-6371686.html
Poignant..
11/04/2014, 9:50 AM
Man City are playing Reading the final of the U21 Premier League Cup, the first leg was last night with City winning 3-2 at home: http://mcfc.co.uk/News/Match-reports/2014/April/City-EDS-v-Reading-FC-Barclays-u21-Premier-League-Cup-final-first-leg-match-report
Ian Lawlor was in goal for City, Pierce Sweeney started for Reading, Sean Long and Liam Kelly were unused subs.
TheOneWhoKnocks
11/04/2014, 7:01 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/obrien-given-contract-offer-30174321.html
Bit of a shock but O'Brien offered new contract at Millwall. Perhaps he will be afforded more opportunities if and when they are relegated to L1.
Dave Mooney with 2 goals for the O's today in a 5-1 win.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/04/2014, 5:32 PM
Recent quote from an interview with Niall Burdon in a French newspaper - "En Irelande le football ca ressemble a des matches de Ping Pong."
12/04/2014, 6:43 PM
What else did he expect when he signed for Alan Matthews?
12/04/2014, 7:03 PM
if you want to see the collection of goal by Irish players, the playlists will be added to this page automatically - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/Blog?tag=goals
17/04/2014, 10:45 AM
Kyle McFadden given one year extension at Norwich: http://www.donegalnow.com/sp/article_manager/detail/one_year_extension_at_english_premier_division_clu b_for_donegal_player
TheOneWhoKnocks
18/04/2014, 12:57 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/championship-duo-ready-to-battle-it-out-for-redhot-towell-30196839.html
Richie Towell headhunted by Barnsley and Charlton; Georgie Poynton interesting Middlesbrough and Leicester.
Olé Olé
19/04/2014, 7:44 AM
Kyle McFadden given one year extension at Norwich: http://www.donegalnow.com/sp/article_manager/detail/one_year_extension_at_english_premier_division_clu b_for_donegal_player
My first thoughts were fair play to him for skippering his club's under 21 side at 18 years of age. That quickly gave way to me thinking that is some beard for an 18 year-old.
19/04/2014, 9:36 AM
My first thoughts were fair play to him for skippering his club's under 21 side at 18 years of age. That quickly gave way to me thinking that is some beard for an 18 year-old.
you had to go and jinx it, didn't you??
from https://twitter.com/KyleMc4/statuses/457281542998745088
Just had a clean shave, no more beard!!
19/04/2014, 12:01 PM
He's finished. RIP Kyle
Olé Olé
20/04/2014, 1:12 PM
Story doing the rounds today that Arsenal are in for the latest and greatest product from the Southampton academy. The kid goes by the name of Slattery...
TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 1:20 PM
What is it to us? He's English.
Paddy Garcia
21/04/2014, 11:22 AM
That's a rather abrupt response if you don't mind me saying.
21/04/2014, 3:20 PM
Hourihane and Doyle on the scoresheet for Plymouth and Chesterfield in League Two. Plymouth are probably out of contention for a playoff spot but Chesterfield could seal promotion today depending on how the Fleetwood result goes.
29/04/2014, 12:36 PM
Noe Baba and Dean O'Halloran both came off the bench against Chelsea in the first leg of the FA Youth Cup final last night: http://www.thefa.com/news/competitions/fa-youth-cup/2014/apr/fulham-3-2-chelsea-final-first-leg-report-280414
O'Halloran had a hand in the second and third goals in a 3-2 win for Fulham
I didn't know it last night, but the game was on ITV4 and so will the second leg next week
04/05/2014, 12:06 AM
Just noticed Kevin Feely (Charlton, ex-Bohs) got his first senior goal for Newport today, a goal which helped deny Rochdale the title. Barry Corr scored for Southend while Conor Hourihane got two as Plymouth drew 3-3 with Portsmouth.
TheOneWhoKnocks
04/05/2014, 12:15 AM
Just noticed Kevin Feely (Charlton, ex-Bohs) got his first senior goal for Newport today, a goal which helped deny Rochdale the title. Barry Corr scored for Southend while Conor Hourihane got two as Plymouth drew 3-3 with Portsmouth.
Hourihane has 9 in 53 for the season now; club captain too. Wouldn't be surprised to see bigger teams come calling in the summer. Jimmy Keohane netted a cracker for Exeter; 3 in his last 5 games now . In L1 David Mooney netted his 21st of the season which makes him leading Irish goalscorer in England for the season; a cracker too. He also got a classy assist for one of their other goals. I must say I have been thoroughly impressed with him every time I have seen him. His goals are always class. Hopefully Leyton Orient go up.
CraftyToePoke
04/05/2014, 12:26 AM
Graham Kavanagh began his managerial career with a relegation at Carlisle when Wolves beat them 3-0 today, it was almost settled for some weeks but the maths took it to the last day.
liamoo11
04/05/2014, 6:56 AM
Hourihane has 9 in 53 for the season now; club captain too. Wouldn't be surprised to see bigger teams come calling in the summer. Jimmy Keohane netted a cracker for Exeter; 3 in his last 5 games now . In L1 David Mooney netted his 21st of the season which makes him leading Irish goalscorer in England for the season; a cracker too. He also got a classy assist for one of their other goals. I must say I have been thoroughly impressed with him every time I have seen him. His goals are always class. Hopefully Leyton Orient go up.
Great call on Hourihane he has had 3 full seasons I think playing every week since leaving sunderland. Has technical ability to play championship
Olé Olé
04/05/2014, 8:55 AM
Nice to see Jimmy Keohane carving out a solid career for himself. Himself and Pat Hoban went over to Bristol City at the same time and both only lasted one year before being released. Hoban has 6 goals from 11 games so far for Dundalk this season and Keohane had a slow start to his Exeter career but appears now to have established himself.
05/05/2014, 12:44 AM
Appearance stats for April 2014: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/
The player with the most bookings is a bit of a surprise
05/05/2014, 11:58 AM
Noe Baba and Dean O'Halloran both came off the bench against Chelsea in the first leg of the FA Youth Cup final last night: http://www.thefa.com/news/competitions/fa-youth-cup/2014/apr/fulham-3-2-chelsea-final-first-leg-report-280414
O'Halloran had a hand in the second and third goals in a 3-2 win for Fulham
I didn't know it last night, but the game was on ITV4 and so will the second leg next week
Second leg of the final is live tonight on ITV4, kick off at 7:45:
gastric
06/05/2014, 12:26 AM
It seems Eoin Wearen is playing for Bohemians now, if I understood his twitter account properly! Anyone able to confirm or deny this?
https://twitter.com/EWearen
06/05/2014, 12:29 AM
It seems Eoin Wearen is playing for Bohemians now, if I understood his twitter account properly! Anyone able to confirm or deny this?
https://twitter.com/EWearen
Yeah, he was playing on Friday against Derry.
gastric
06/05/2014, 4:11 AM
How did he look? I know it's early days and he hasn't played in a while, but he has shown a lot of potential in the past.
06/05/2014, 9:50 AM
Second leg of the final is live tonight on ITV4, kick off at 7:45:
Finished 5-3 to Chelsea on the night, with Chelsea winning 7-6 on aggregate: http://www.chelseafc.com/news-article/article/3807568/title/youth-cup-final-report-chelsea-5-fulham-3-7-6-on-aggregate
O'Halloran started and got an assist on Fulham's opening goal, Baba was an unused substitute
06/05/2014, 3:05 PM
How did he look? I know it's early days and he hasn't played in a while, but he has shown a lot of potential in the past.
I couldn't tell you, to be honest, I wasn't there. If you ask in the Series 11 thread over in the LOI forum, I'm sure there's a Bohs or Derry fan who can tell you :)
gastric
08/05/2014, 10:39 AM
Northampton have released Leon McSweeney, Gary Deegan and Alan Connell.
http://www1.skysports.com/transfer-centre/
TheOneWhoKnocks
08/05/2014, 11:29 AM
Northampton have released Leon McSweeney, Gary Deegan and Alan Connell.
http://www1.skysports.com/transfer-centre/
Alan Connell is English. He has never played at any level for Ireland.
08/05/2014, 10:36 PM
guest blog on the site today from Kyle Cotter: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/
He is supposed to have played well Gastric. Also played against Pats on Tuesday and impressed in a 3-2 win. "Looks comfortable" is the most common assessment...
liamoo11
10/05/2014, 1:47 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/rodgers-beats-title-rivals-city-and-chelsea-to-net-young-irish-ace-mcauley-266894.html young irish lads move to liverpool confirmed
bwagner
11/05/2014, 1:54 PM
Glad to see Joey O'Brien back for West Ham, A lad called Liam Agnew on the bench for Sunderland but I dont think he played for us ,ditto for Conor McAleny also on bench for Everton
TheOneWhoKnocks
11/05/2014, 2:19 PM
Conor McAleny is ineligible. Hmm... maybe we should give Liam Rosenior, Liam Ridgewell, Liam Sercombe and Liam Bridcutt a call to see if they are eligible too?
DannyInvincible
11/05/2014, 2:23 PM
Ineligible, you mean. Illegibility is a lack of quality in one's handwriting.
11/05/2014, 2:30 PM
Well he is a footballer...
TheOneWhoKnocks
11/05/2014, 2:32 PM
That is just a typo. You are detracting from the real issue of whether Liam Agnew is eligible or not.
liamoo11
11/05/2014, 5:46 PM
That is just a typo. You are detracting from the real issue of whether Liam Agnew is eligible or not.
Whats the need for the agro bwagner was just making an observation not every irish eligible player in the uk is known to us all before they make their club senior debut. Thats the kind of attitude I expect over on YBIG not here. On a personal note I remember been taken by surprise back in Augest 1997 when a Keane appeared on aertel with goals for wolves always hopeful since that irish eligible players will appear from relative obscurity and am grateful when lads post info about young potential international players
Paddy Garcia
11/05/2014, 7:26 PM
Martin O'Neil at the Tottenham game today.
11/05/2014, 7:27 PM
Martin O'Neil at the Tottenham game today.
Was looking at Harry Kane apparently.
gastric
11/05/2014, 10:28 PM
Whats the need for the agro bwagner was just making an observation not every irish eligible player in the uk is known to us all before they make their club senior debut. Thats the kind of attitude I expect over on YBIG not here. On a personal note I remember been taken by surprise back in Augest 1997 when a Keane appeared on aertel with goals for wolves always hopeful since that irish eligible players will appear from relative obscurity and am grateful when lads post info about young potential international players
Your post is on the money liamoo. bwagner has mentioned many players who may be eligible, whether they are not is immaterial, it creates discussion and I find such debate interesting. TOWK, how about taking the energy you seem to possess and use it in a positive way and add to the debate (like comment on their footballing ability), rather than constantly criticize posters who mention possible recruits.