View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2013/14

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

booster 03
10/11/2013, 10:17 PM
Players not getting paid. Ha ha ha ha ha
Take your head out of the clouds man.

I'd say 1% of junior players get paid when you break it down.

rooney10
11/11/2013, 10:46 AM
Rumour has it john Tierney of pike is on d verge of transferring over to st.michaels on december 1st if the refs haven't been sorted by den !!

Two Feet Up
11/11/2013, 11:33 AM
I suppose the majority of refs and players are in it for the love of the game and if they get 'expenses' then good on them.

I can't understand the refs getting expenses on top of their match fee tbh. players travel around to the various teams in the leagues, putting petrol in their cars etc and paying a fiver a week for fees etc. It is now turning out to be an expensive hobby.

this is going to carry on for a bit I suspect!

TopperHarley
11/11/2013, 12:57 PM
I suppose the majority of refs and players are in it for the love of the game and if they get 'expenses' then good on them.

I can't understand the refs getting expenses on top of their match fee tbh. players travel around to the various teams in the leagues, putting petrol in their cars etc and paying a fiver a week for fees etc. It is now turning out to be an expensive hobby.

this is going to carry on for a bit I suspect!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Nobody goes out on a pitch and takes all sort of abuse for 90mins for the Love of the game

republican
11/11/2013, 1:15 PM
It's just been proven that you can't have soccer without refs.. It sickens me. We're gone as bad as the GAA. The only people getting paid and their holding Junior players to ransom. Doesn't matter what way you dress it up, saying it's the LDMC fault etc. It's not, it's entirely greed, power pushing and attention seeking by the referee society. It's a closed book, I've witnessed first hand some of the most blatantly poor refereeing performances over the past few years. There is no standards to refereeing in a Limerick. You do a weekend course and your on the books. No adjudicators, no disciplining if refs. Mistakes will happen but some of the arrogance shown by referees to cover their own incompetence is laughable to say the least. Remember this, you can't have soccer without refs but you more importantly can't have soccer without players coaches etc. Referees aren't the most important people crossing the white line, It's the players who do it for free.

Il finish with this, there is some good refs, excellent refs in fact,in limerick but they are in the minority.
i dont know the reasoning for the refs strike but its very harsh n players, managers and supporters not to have football. why didnt the limerick lge get in refs from tipp, desmond, clare lges etc to cover the games your refs would see how powerful they are then.

Second
11/11/2013, 2:03 PM
Any news on lads going from loi to junior

TopperHarley
11/11/2013, 3:05 PM
i dont know the reasoning for the refs strike but its very harsh n players, managers and supporters not to have football. why didnt the limerick lge get in refs from tipp, desmond, clare lges etc to cover the games your refs would see how powerful they are then.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Beause the above refs from Clare Tipp ect already get the fees that the Limerick refs are lookin for...why would they come to Limerick for a paycut??

Two Feet Up
11/11/2013, 3:20 PM
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Beause the above refs from Clare Tipp ect already get the fees that the Limerick refs are lookin for...why would they come to Limerick for a paycut??

and their travel expenses would be massive :-)

Two Feet Up
11/11/2013, 3:23 PM
that is what the fee is for, no?

The expense should not be part of it but that I suppose is for the fai and I don't want to deviate from the topic in hand. Its all about the source. Not sure what the teams have to suffer if its all over one word, why can't the FAI confirm their understanding/explanation of the word 'source' in the agreement.

If the word is not clear in the agreement and its signed , who wins this one? Can see this dragging out to be honest! summer football may be on the way by default !

booster 03
11/11/2013, 8:05 PM

I've read refs saying they do it for the love of the game.. Haha.. Some maybe.. All.. Definitely not!! And I've also seem them telling everyone about their expenses for jerseys flags etc. It costs a player in our club €10 every Sunday plus €50 at the start of the season for insurances fees etc, not to mention the general cost of as the lads say, petrol for the car of a Sunday etc. So I won't give any sympathy to a ref giving the poor mouth about there manly €48 they get every Sunday. It's plenty enough for ye. And if ye do manage to disrupt the soccer so much to get a pay rise then I hope there's stonget sanctions taken against inadequate refs in the league.

Fairkop
11/11/2013, 10:34 PM
I've read refs saying they do it for the love of the game.. Haha.. Some maybe.. All.. Definitely not!! And I've also seem them telling everyone about their expenses for jerseys flags etc. It costs a player in our club €10 every Sunday plus €50 at the start of the season for insurances fees etc, not to mention the general cost of as the lads say, petrol for the car of a Sunday etc. So I won't give any sympathy to a ref giving the poor mouth about there manly €48 they get every Sunday. It's plenty enough for ye. And if ye do manage to disrupt the soccer so much to get a pay rise then I hope there's stonget sanctions taken against inadequate refs in the league.good post,maybe given the poor representation the clubs feel they get from the local council and the ..hold to ransom attitude of local referees its time for clubs AND players alike to look at other alternatives and organise themselves accordingly.

sportsfanatic
12/11/2013, 6:35 PM
I know totally off the ref convo, but just wondering if anyones know how good Killarney Celtic are this year, I know Carew played them. In the Munster Champions Trophy earlier in the season?

thomas72
12/11/2013, 7:03 PM
I know totally off the ref convo, but just wondering if anyones know how good Killarney Celtic are this year, I know Carew played them. In the Munster Champions Trophy earlier in the season?

There a good side well able to play ball Carew had the chances in 90mins to win the game especially 2nd half didn't take um and got punished in extra time.

footballfriend
12/11/2013, 8:17 PM
Played them at the weekend. Solid outfit. Experienced at the back and are dangerous up top with McCarthy (Junior trialist) and Petarious (wrong spelling probl). Two fast forwards who will create chances.

republican
12/11/2013, 10:34 PM
extra bunce :)

sportsfanatic
13/11/2013, 9:43 AM
Thanks lads, We played them last year in last 16 of Munster and got beaten 3:2, playing them in 4th of FAI on the 24th just wanted to see if they were still a good footballing side and by the sounds of it they are.

hotspur
13/11/2013, 11:46 AM
Rumour has it john Tierney of pike is on d verge of transferring over to st.michaels on december 1st if the refs haven't been sorted by den !!
Its a done deal,and more to follow,Pike will probably have to pull out,or else get the grace that Wembley got,and get in the LOI players,they just might be okay then,:struggle::weep::lying:

mrman
18/11/2013, 12:48 AM
how come Boro and pike are not down to play next weekend, have pike a few injuries and did someone have a word in the fixture secretaries ear, it wouldn't be the first time. how many of the ldmc committee have an interested in how pike do, I can think of at least 3 of them. bad form to say the least.

sportsfanatic
18/11/2013, 9:18 AM
Heard Geraldines are playing Ballingarry from the desmond in a friendly tomorrow night in UL

hotspur
18/11/2013, 12:48 PM
how come Boro and pike are not down to play next weekend, have pike a few injuries and did someone have a word in the fixture secretaries ear, it wouldn't be the first time. how many of the ldmc committee have an interested in how pike do, I can think of at least 3 of them. bad form to say the least.
It suits boro a lot more than it does Pike,:D:D:D

old git
18/11/2013, 2:49 PM
Heard Geraldines are playing Ballingarry from the desmond in a friendly tomorrow night in UL

who have they got to ref it ?? it has to be approved by league also ? our club could be in trouble

Second
18/11/2013, 2:55 PM
You hardly need approval from league to play friendly on a pitch that's not owned by a limerick club.

sportsfanatic
18/11/2013, 6:30 PM
Heard this morning, confirmed now that the game is going ahead in UL

Fairkop
18/11/2013, 6:30 PM

strange one that ,completely new set of fixtures down compared to initial ones released last week but off due to referees dispute,so you now have teams playing second round league games when they have yet to finish their first round ones.

old git
18/11/2013, 9:20 PM
You hardly need approval from league to play friendly on a pitch that's not owned by a limerick club.

still a friendly in limerick by a limerick based team and as far as I know all friendly games have to be approved by league ?

hotspur
19/11/2013, 1:50 AM
Your spot on.games were called off over a dispute between ldmc and refs society.as has gone on for years when games were called off for whatever reason they were always put back for another day and id presume thats what happened again this time.

Sea Bird
20/11/2013, 6:50 PM
did the game go ahead in the end?? was there a ref?

AlanOB
21/11/2013, 11:26 PM
Pike Rovers 5-0 Aisling Annacotty (Tuohy Cup 1st Round)

Former Limerick FC youngster Reece Healy was the standout performer tonight, notching a hat-trick to send Pike Rovers through to the Tuohy Cup quarter finals.

Both sides lined up in a 4-4-1-1/4-2-3-1 formation. Aisling were using Dean McNamara in the number 10 role. The former Fairview man showed some good touches and took up some nice positions in space between the lines. His side however were unable or unwilling to bring him into the game to a sufficient degree, choosing instead to go direct to their big target man, which more often than not resulted in a loss of possession.

Defensively, Aisling didn’t give up many chances in the early going. They were, however, guilty of allowing Pike to play out of defence too easily. Pike’s centre backs, Gavin O’Shea and Pa Mullins, were given too much space and time to collect from goalkeeper Neville and pick their passes. It might have made more sense for McNamara to move up and join the striker in pressing them. Once the ball inevitably worked its way into midfield however, Aisling got into a good shape. Pike had only one chance in the first half hour, coming after 12 minutes. It was, however, a sign of what was to come – Healy ran onto a through ball from Dave Ryan, who was under no pressure in an inside right position. He hit the post when presented with the one-on-one.

As if to justify the call for more pressing from the front, Pa Mullins presented Aisling with their first chance on 24 minutes. Under pressure near the byline, he fluffed a clearance, playing the ball out to the edge of the box. Dean McNamara collected and forced Gary Neville into tipping his effort over the bar.

On 30 minutes however, the deadlock was broken in Pike’s favour. The Aisling left winger inexplicably handled a seemingly innocuous punt into the box. A harsh yellow card and a penalty, converted by John Tierney, followed.

Seconds later, Pike were 2-0 up. Reece Healy ran onto a ball into the inside left channel before cutting back inside, skinning his man, and firing home into the far corner.

Aisling visibly wilted. They did however have one chance before half time. Another failed clearance by Mullins under pressure led to the award of a free kick on the edge of the box. Centre midfielder Frahill went close with a powerful drive.

The second half saw Aisling come out of the blocks aggressively after what must have been a rousing team talk. On 52 minutes Pa Mullins was caught in possession just outside his box. The Aisling right winger was through on goal but shot wide with a narrow angle to aim for. Seconds later, Gary Neville was forced to tip over from another well struck long range effort.

The goal never really looked like coming though and Pike were looking more and more threatening on the counter attack as Aisling left themselves lighter at the back. On 71 minutes an Aisling attack broke down, allowing Reece Healy to get his second of the game by lifting the ball over the keeper before finishing on the line.

On 80 minutes another counter attack left a Pike substitute free behind the Aisling midfield. He picked the through ball to Healy who shot over.

A minute later though Healy had his hat-trick. Again Pike benefited on the break from no midfield protection. This time it was Boyle in space with the through ball. This time Healy made no mistake.

Healy was in exhibition form. On 86 minutes he turned on a sixpence beautifully on the edge of the box before shooting marginally over.

There was more pain to come for Aisling however. With two minutes remaining their left sided centre back was dispossessed just outside the box, allowing substitute Carroll to steal in for the fifth.

Aisling were thoroughly outclassed on the day. They may have been using the same shape as Pike, but due to having a big target man upfront rather than a pacey channel runner they operated it so differently. Many the long ball was played up that didn’t stick. Pike, on the other hand, were permitted to play through midfield before releasing Healy down the channels. His movement was outstanding with the only criticism being the number of offsides that he incurred. He could do with giving himself a few yards to run into, as he will surely outpace most defenders at this level. The offside count was also reflective however of how many through balls Pike were allowed to play. Once the second goal went in Aisling were forced to over-commit men forward and their transitions from attack to defence were just not good enough. The protection from midfield in front of the defence was non-existent at times.

Pike will be pleased with an admittedly expected victory. Concerns will be raised however about the performance of Pa Mullins. Although he dealt well with the physical threat of the opposition’s frontman, he was very loose in possession tonight. Similar mistakes could be punished in the future, particularly in the upcoming FAI Junior Cup fixture against rivals Janesboro. As for the Tuohy, a quarter final against Corbally awaits.

hotspur
22/11/2013, 9:44 AM
Pike Rovers 5-0 Aisling Annacotty (Tuohy Cup 1st Round)

Former Limerick FC youngster Reece Healy was the standout performer tonight, notching a hat-trick to send Pike Rovers through to the Tuohy Cup quarter finals.

Both sides lined up in a 4-4-1-1/4-2-3-1 formation. Aisling were using Dean McNamara in the number 10 role. The former Fairview man showed some good touches and took up some nice positions in space between the lines. His side however were unable or unwilling to bring him into the game to a sufficient degree, choosing instead to go direct to their big target man, which more often than not resulted in a loss of possession.

Defensively, Aisling didn’t give up many chances in the early going. They were, however, guilty of allowing Pike to play out of defence too easily. Pike’s centre backs, Gavin O’Shea and Pa Mullins, were given too much space and time to collect from goalkeeper Neville and pick their passes. It might have made more sense for McNamara to move up and join the striker in pressing them. Once the ball inevitably worked its way into midfield however, Aisling got into a good shape. Pike had only one chance in the first half hour, coming after 12 minutes. It was, however, a sign of what was to come – Healy ran onto a through ball from Dave Ryan, who was under no pressure in an inside right position. He hit the post when presented with the one-on-one.

As if to justify the call for more pressing from the front, Pa Mullins presented Aisling with their first chance on 24 minutes. Under pressure near the byline, he fluffed a clearance, playing the ball out to the edge of the box. Dean McNamara collected and forced Gary Neville into tipping his effort over the bar.

On 30 minutes however, the deadlock was broken in Pike’s favour. The Aisling left winger inexplicably handled a seemingly innocuous punt into the box. A harsh yellow card and a penalty, converted by John Tierney, followed.

Seconds later, Pike were 2-0 up. Reece Healy ran onto a ball into the inside left channel before cutting back inside, skinning his man, and firing home into the far corner.

Aisling visibly wilted. They did however have one chance before half time. Another failed clearance by Mullins under pressure led to the award of a free kick on the edge of the box. Centre midfielder Frahill went close with a powerful drive.

The second half saw Aisling come out of the blocks aggressively after what must have been a rousing team talk. On 52 minutes Pa Mullins was caught in possession just outside his box. The Aisling right winger was through on goal but shot wide with a narrow angle to aim for. Seconds later, Gary Neville was forced to tip over from another well struck long range effort.

The goal never really looked like coming though and Pike were looking more and more threatening on the counter attack as Aisling left themselves lighter at the back. On 71 minutes an Aisling attack broke down, allowing Reece Healy to get his second of the game by lifting the ball over the keeper before finishing on the line.

On 80 minutes another counter attack left a Pike substitute free behind the Aisling midfield. He picked the through ball to Healy who shot over.

A minute later though Healy had his hat-trick. Again Pike benefited on the break from no midfield protection. This time it was Boyle in space with the through ball. This time Healy made no mistake.

Healy was in exhibition form. On 86 minutes he turned on a sixpence beautifully on the edge of the box before shooting marginally over.

There was more pain to come for Aisling however. With two minutes remaining their left sided centre back was dispossessed just outside the box, allowing substitute Carroll to steal in for the fifth.

Aisling were thoroughly outclassed on the day. They may have been using the same shape as Pike, but due to having a big target man upfront rather than a pacey channel runner they operated it so differently. Many the long ball was played up that didn’t stick. Pike, on the other hand, were permitted to play through midfield before releasing Healy down the channels. His movement was outstanding with the only criticism being the number of offsides that he incurred. He could do with giving himself a few yards to run into, as he will surely outpace most defenders at this level. The offside count was also reflective however of how many through balls Pike were allowed to play. Once the second goal went in Aisling were forced to over-commit men forward and their transitions from attack to defence were just not good enough. The protection from midfield in front of the defence was non-existent at times.

Pike will be pleased with an admittedly expected victory. Concerns will be raised however about the performance of Pa Mullins. Although he dealt well with the physical threat of the opposition’s frontman, he was very loose in possession tonight. Similar mistakes could be punished in the future, particularly in the upcoming FAI Junior Cup fixture against rivals Janesboro. As for the Tuohy, a quarter final against Corbally awaits.

I see pa mullins is your target this year.The best centre half in town bar no one.ah well just as well no one heeds what you say.

Hibs7772
22/11/2013, 3:38 PM
I see pa mullins is your target this year.The best centre half in town bar no one.ah well just as well no one heeds what you say.
Surely he is entitled to give his opinion on a match? He never said the fella was a bad player he just said he was loose in possession in one match. If he is the top centre half in town as you say then people are always going to pick the bones out of his performances as he has set such high standards!

Treaty Gooner
22/11/2013, 5:27 PM
Good to see you back Alan, nothing stirs it like a good AOB report! I'm curious what your coaching credentials are, the language you use is very technical. You could almost say it's very SECRETive for a follower of LIMERICK JUNIOR FOOTBALLer....

AlanOB
22/11/2013, 6:53 PM
Thanks. Good to be back.

I have no coaching qualifications. I simply read a lot about the game. I wasn't happy in my younger days to just watch the game passively like most people do. I wanted to actually understand it. Football's a funny game in that regard - you could watch the game (or even be involved in it at the highest level in some cases) for 20 years and still not understand it.

And no, I'm not the Secret Junior Footballer. I know that's precisely the kind of thing that the Secret Junior Footballer would say. But I'm definitely not him.

hotspur
22/11/2013, 7:33 PM
Surely he is entitled to give his opinion on a match? He never said the fella was a bad player he just said he was loose in possession in one match. If he is the top centre half in town as you say then people are always going to pick the bones out of his performances as he has set such high standards!

"Concerns will be raised about pa mullins"i doubt very much the pike management team will be too worried about pa.and they never have been as long as his up there.he just likes having a dig at Pike thats all.it will be someonevelse next week nothing surer.

js79
22/11/2013, 7:51 PM
The legend returns...AOB
Finally someone with some knowledge of the beautiful game.
By the way I think pa Mullins is the best.centre half in the town.
But your entitled to your opinion..

Sea Bird
22/11/2013, 8:06 PM
he never said pa was a bad player or wasn't the top centre back in town just gave an honest opinion right or wrong he is entitled to that and to be fair a lot of people read it with intrest and enjoy it.. no-one dare say a bad thing about pike or one of their players hotspur is in like a flash.. everyone against us no-one likes us ( except ldmc) what is your comment on the fixture change this weekend hotspur a lot of people find it baffling??

Fairkop
22/11/2013, 8:12 PM
great to have AOB back and as usual a report that gives some of us who were not present a detailed idea of the games major incidents.no surprise at pikes expected big win,despite their shock exit from the MJC they are clear favourites to win all before them this season.our infuriated pike supporter is correct pat mullins is the best centrehalf in town,but even the best centrehalf in town has a poor game .....or games.

CraftyToePoke
23/11/2013, 3:55 AM
I have no coaching qualifications. I simply read a lot about the game.

I enjoy your reports anyway, and indeed the debate they sometimes spark, welcome back.

What do you mean when you say you read about the game ? Coaching manuals, or certain books, or just lots of match reports ?

hotspur
23/11/2013, 5:34 AM
he never said pa was a bad player or wasn't the top centre back in town just gave an honest opinion right or wrong he is entitled to that and to be fair a lot of people read it with intrest and enjoy it.. no-one dare say a bad thing about pike or one of their players hotspur is in like a flash.. everyone against us no-one likes us ( except ldmc) what is your comment on the fixture change this weekend hotspur a lot of people find it baffling??

Correct me if im wrong but did everyone's fixture not change.?? Boro will only be too delighted as they will have Shane Waters available now for the re-fixture to which Pike will be down 3 due to Gaa committments, so ye tell me who the biggest gain is to.Typical rubbish being spouted as per usual. Any way roll on next week.he learned it all reading books haha.good comment though.

Sea Bird
23/11/2013, 9:09 AM
I knew you would bite ;)

Sea Bird
23/11/2013, 9:12 AM
them books must be good because 90% of his stuff make sense and is pretty accurate at the best of times..

hotspur
23/11/2013, 2:16 PM
them books must be good because 90% of his stuff make sense and is pretty accurate at the best of times..

Were you at the game seabird.and woukd you have concerns about pa mullins playing against arguably the best centre forward in the country?? Check out how many goals from open play he has scored against pa.i rest my case. I dontbthink anyone in here woukd have concerns about pa bar alan ob.hes not OT captain for nothing.

mrman
23/11/2013, 2:27 PM
ah come on Holly, I was at the game and Aob report is spot on and a great read, were you at the game, put up your report and lets see how different it is.

Sea Bird
23/11/2013, 2:30 PM
wasn't at the game but heard from a few he gave the ball away a few times and didn't have his best game he is a human being at the end of the day and from what I have seen is the best c.back in the league so I would have no worries about him marking anyone in town or the country for that matter..

hotspur
23/11/2013, 3:49 PM
ah come on Holly, I was at the game and Aob report is spot on and a great read, were you at the game, put up your report and lets see how different it is.

Hahaha.you will never learn will you.but it keeps you entertained so who am I to spoil your fun.ive been so many fellas now that you'll surely get it right one day. Haha

booster 03
23/11/2013, 5:17 PM
Correct me if im wrong but did everyone's fixture not change.?? Boro will only be too delighted as they will have Shane Waters available now for the re-fixture to which Pike will be down 3 due to Gaa committments, so ye tell me who the biggest gain is to.Typical rubbish being spouted as per usual. Any way roll on next week.he learned it all reading books haha.good comment though.

All fixtures didn't change... Dunno what the gripe is here but we were down to play balla before and after the strike

Fairkop
23/11/2013, 8:02 PM
WTF?one of the biggest junior soccer clubs in the country ...down 3 players due to GAA committments.....has it come to that ,pike relying on gaa players,surely pikes squad is one of the strongest in the country,amazing stuff.one would of thought pat mullins is indeed the ideal captain for the OT team yet was not available for their game in clare,wonder why?

js79
24/11/2013, 4:27 AM
Carew 6
Aa 1.
Just for the record that was the original fixture that were
To play before the issues with the refs.

Southsider
24/11/2013, 4:55 PM
Any result from Pike today ???

fanaticfan
24/11/2013, 5:39 PM
Won 5-0 I think

AlanOB
24/11/2013, 7:59 PM
Fairview Rangers 0-5 Pike Rovers

This season’s second trouncing of fierce rivals Fairview Rangers ensured that Pike Rovers extended their lead at the top of the Limerick District League table to 7 points with 10 games played.

Pike made one change from the side that defeated Aisling Annacotty 5-0 in the Tuohy Cup on Thursday night. Midfielder Keith Hartnett was unavailable – Gavin O’Shea was moved from centre back to replace him, with veteran Colm Enright coming into the side to renew his partnership with Pa Mullins in defence.

Fairview dispensed with the 3-4-1-2 shape that saw them overloaded down the flanks in the reverse fixture in August. They instead utilised a 4-5-1 formation, with Jason Roche as the anchorman and Karl Turner leading the line as the lone striker.

The main story of the game was the performance of Pike’s number 10 John Tierney. Nominally fielded behind striker Reece Healy – in reality the former Limerick man was absolutely everywhere. Mindful of the fact that Fairview were employing an anchorman in his area of the field, he varied his positioning intelligently to avoid being shackled – he dropped deep, he moved from flank to flank. On occasion he even played off the shoulder alongside Healy (with left winger Dunisha tucking in to provide the link play).

Fairview were unsure of how to manage Tierney. Roche seemed to be under instructions not to leave his zone and do a traditional man-marking job on him. In hindsight, this was a mistake, particularly as Pike’s midfielders John Boyle and Gavin O’Shea were not being particularly positive with their positioning.
It was the aforementioned Boyle, however, who would open the scoring with only 5 minutes on the clock. A corner from the left was not dealt with by ‘View goalkeeper Niall O’Connor. The ball fell to Boyle on the penalty spot and he duly dispatched it into the waiting net.

At that point, most in attendance were expecting the floodgates to open. But, this time, that didn’t happen (yet). Fairview were playing a canny game. They made it difficult for Pike to penetrate in two ways – firstly, by electing to play the fixture on the shorter pitch and secondly, by playing very deep, only choosing to press once the ball reached the halfway line. Once such incident late in the first half illustrated this well – Gavin O’Shea paused on the ball in his own half for about 10 seconds with only the four Pike defenders anywhere near him. Fairview striker Karl Turner, waiting near the centre spot, was the nearest opposition player to him, and was showing no intention of pressing the ball. The ‘View were putting the emphasis on keeping their shape. And it worked. In the first half.

The second half began with a change for the away side. Striker Reece Healy, the hat-trick hero in midweek, had struggled in the first 45. His game of running the channels was nullified by the depth of the home side’s defensive line and the size of the pitch. Thursday’s fifth goalscorer Seamus O’Carroll was introduced in his place – just as quick as Healy, but big and strong too. Immediately O’Carroll had a good chance to double Pike’s advantage – A cross from the right was chested down by John Tierney. O’Carroll shot marginally over.

Five minutes later, however, the away side had their second. Right winger Cian Collins easily skinned View left full Lee Whyte on the inside before exchanging passes with the omnipresent Tierney and rifling past O’Connor.

The last half hour was the O’Carroll show. Four minutes after Collins’ goal, he demonstrated the presence that Pike were sorely lacking up top in the first half, muscling left sided centre back Mullen off the ball before powering home. Seven minutes later, he doubled his tally – a right wing cross from (you guessed it) John Tierney was buried with the head. Finally, in injury time, he completed his hat-trick. Playing from the right flank at this point, O’Carroll collected the ball in acres in an inside right position, before thwacking home with his left – his weaker foot. That’s what those in the know call a “perfect hat-trick” – one with the left, one with the right, one with the head.

Fairview will be disconsolate at the final score but they should take pride in their first half performance. Right full Steven Gallagher didn’t give his opposite number Fatima Dunisha a sniff and centre back John Mullane was fantastic, making numerous tackles, interceptions and clearances to keep the score down.

Pike huffed and puffed in the first half, lacking the kind of incisive passing from deep necessary to unlock such defensive opposition. The selection of Healy was inappropriate on the day, but the introduction of O’Carroll, his subsequent performance, and the fluid interchanging of positions he engaged in with Tierney and Collins were marvelous to behold. Considered alongside Janesboro’s laboured 3-1 home win against basement side Wembley today, Pike will be very confident going into the two sides’ massive FAI Junior Cup clash next week.

Fairview (4-5-1): O’Connor; Gallagher, Mullane, Mullen, Whyte; Hogan (Long), Reddan, Roche, O’Riordan (O’Callaghan), Power; Turner
Pike (4-2-3-1): Neville (O’Regan); J. Mullins, Enright, P. Mullins, O’Donovan; Boyle, O’Shea; Collins, Tierney, Dunisha (Okoro); Healy (O’Carroll)