View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2013/14
Pages :
[
6]
Sea Bird
28/09/2013, 7:30 PM
hopefully both sides come out of the group.. best of luck for the rest of it :)
Your right in everything your saying. But, and this is just my opinion, I think the limerick league is a league of players that have no loyalty to one club,or many players anyway, it happens in clare too, but not as much, u need to remember or realise that most clubs in clare are towns or villages and that most don't go outside them villages to sign players, if clubs in clare had the way of paying "expenses" things might be different,
they don't have the luxury of club bars,don't get me wrong it's hard work running a club with bars,,but that's not limerick leagues fault,
Where happy with the way the league is progressing tho, best of luck in there, is a good debate for another time I guess.:-)
One of the best quotes I have seen on this in a long time,sums up the limerick league in a nutshell.
mastermind1
29/09/2013, 9:55 AM
Great post newlad, the clare league is progressing along nicely over the past few years. Its not up to the standard of the limerick league but in my opinion the gap is closing. Results in fai and munster junior havent been great, some argue that the lack of high intensity league games are a factor in this in the early rounds where alot of clare teams have been knocked out in the fai in first or second round when they havent played a league game. The commitment is there with this oscar traynor side though, last year they were well better than the dubs who eventually went on and won it for a third time in a row. Hopefully both sides get out of the group and advance far in the comp. Hey after all our hurlers are after doing the business in mighty style beating cork
Fairkop
29/09/2013, 3:19 PM
some very good posts there on this topic,imo the gap is closing,would qualify my opinion by saying that the limerick league contains,in terms of quality players,only 3 or 4 clubs who are amongst the strongest in the country and its those who consistently do well in the fai and mjc.below that the standard is not great.for years fairviews success in winning consecutive fai,s gave a false impression of how actually strong the league is and presently with pike,boro and to a lesser extent carew its still the same.
hotspur
30/09/2013, 1:40 AM
some very good posts there on this topic,imo the gap is closing,would qualify my opinion by saying that the limerick league contains,in terms of quality players,only 3 or 4 clubs who are amongst the strongest in the country and its those who consistently do well in the fai and mjc.below that the standard is not great.for years fairviews success in winning consecutive fai,s gave a false impression of how actually strong the league is and presently with pike,boro and to a lesser extent carew its still the same.
To a lesser extent? ? Carew won the league last year and were in semi final of fai.so how you can say to a lesser extent has me baffled? ?
Hibs7772
15/10/2013, 8:25 PM
Predictions:
Saturday Oct 18th
Premier League
Aisling Annacotty 0-3 Geraldines, 7.00, Annacotty, R McCann
Sunday Oct 19th
Premier League
Fairview Rgs 1-3 Ballynanty Rvs, 10.30, D Power
Carew Park 3-1 Summerville Rvs, 10.30, J McNamara
Granville Rgs 2-4 Janesboro, 10.30, M Kirby
Wembley Rvs 0-4 Regional Utd, 10.30, M Kiely
rooney10
20/10/2013, 4:11 PM
Heard from a pike source that mick sheils was almost sacked Tuesday nite and that declan considine is ready to come back in at the helm again...
Treaty Gooner
20/10/2013, 4:39 PM
Heard from a pike source that mick sheils was almost sacked Tuesday nite and that declan considine is ready to come back in at the helm again...
One loss all season and this is what happens? Find that hard to believe...
Sure Considine's the Limerick FAI RDO now, thought he's not allowed to manage a team.
Second
20/10/2013, 6:43 PM
Haha the rumours that go around. Sure won't micks buddy Pat Purcell be joining soon..dont think he'd sign if mick was sacked ..
Second
20/10/2013, 6:44 PM
I see oscar traynors are playing next sunday and so are carew do they not have players on panel anymore
Hibs7772
22/10/2013, 6:16 PM
Predictions:
Saturday Oct 18th
Premier League
Aisling Annacotty 0-3 Geraldines, 7.00, Annacotty, R McCann
Sunday Oct 19th
Premier League
Fairview Rgs 1-3 Ballynanty Rvs, 10.30, D Power
Carew Park 3-1 Summerville Rvs, 10.30, J McNamara
Granville Rgs 2-4 Janesboro, 10.30, M Kirby
Wembley Rvs 0-4 Regional Utd, 10.30, M Kiely
I see oscar traynors are playing next sunday and so are carew do they not have players on panel anymore
Results:
Saturday 19th October:
Aisling/Annacotty 0-5 Geraldines
Sunday 19th October
Fairview Rgs 1-2 Ballynanty Rvs
Carew Park 2-1 Summerville Rvs
Granville Rgs 1-6 Janesboro
Wembley Rvs 0-1 Regional Utd
Not bad predictions out of me ;)
And no Second, they don't have any players in the squad anymore, fairly surprising since they won the league last year. Good players don't become bad players over night so you would think they would at least have one or two!
thomas72
22/10/2013, 10:10 PM
Results:
Saturday 19th October:
Aisling/Annacotty 0-5 Geraldines
Sunday 19th October
Fairview Rgs 1-2 Ballynanty Rvs
Carew Park 2-1 Summerville Rvs
Granville Rgs 1-6 Janesboro
Wembley Rvs 0-1 Regional Utd
Not bad predictions out of me ;)
And no Second, they don't have any players in the squad anymore, fairly surprising since they won the league last year. Good players don't become bad players over night so you would think they would at least have one or two!. Carew players pulled out of Oscar trainer lads that were picked have work and college commitments.
Hibs7772
23/10/2013, 2:10 AM
. Carew players pulled out of Oscar trainer lads that were picked have work and college commitments.
Yeah i thought it was a bit too strange for them not to have any players on it. How many players out of curiousity?
The first squad 3 players were picked,2 I think for the second squad and as Thomas said pulled out due to work& college
Fairkop
23/10/2013, 10:27 PM
The first squad 3 players were picked,2 I think for the second squad and as Thomas said pulled out due to work& college
so last years league champions have no one in the squad,incredible and disappointing really.
agreed....
hotspur
24/10/2013, 3:27 PM
agreed....
College of a sunday?? And as for the shields comment.hahaha.
Not just Sunday,they sometimes train ot weeknights aswell,but that's there own choice,as for the Shields thing I did not open my mouth but while ur on that subject I also heard about that meeting but its none of my business and as you no me of I had anything to say I would post it on Facebook not here,bye...
hotspur
27/10/2013, 9:21 AM
Not just Sunday,they sometimes train ot weeknights aswell,but that's there own choice,as for the Shields thing I did not open my mouth but while ur on that subject I also heard about that meeting but its none of my business and as you no me of I had anything to say I would post it on Facebook not here,bye...
Shields comment was not directed at you.and I dont know who you are by the way.
xpskid
03/11/2013, 6:39 PM
what an example the dines managment are setting for there players from what i herd there was slaps thrown trough a car window on an innocent party who didnt even lower himself to the dines level at this happend in ul from what ive been told any truth in this ??how can you have other people looking at this as it would only drive people away from the UL ,and also UL wouldnt like this to be happen on there grounds!!!!
mastermind1
03/11/2013, 6:53 PM
Can you elaborate xpskid?? What actually happened?
xpskid
03/11/2013, 7:01 PM
there was a match on and one of the managment left the side line to get hes water bottles from his car and on the way he started fighting for no reason what so ever and hit a guy in a car a few slaps and also claimed him to get out of the car and he would finish the job, no need of it as at the end of the day its only a game of ball ,it just looks bad on the dines full stop and in a public place like UL WOULD NOT BE HAPPY AT ALL..he must have hes own reasons for this ??
Fairkop
03/11/2013, 7:07 PM
there was a match on and one of the managment left the side line to get hes water bottles from his car and on the way he started fighting for no reason what so ever and hit a guy in a car a few slaps and also claimed him to get out of the car and he would finish the job, no need of it as at the end of the day its only a game of ball ,it just looks bad on the dines full stop and in a public place like UL WOULD NOT BE HAPPY AT ALL..he must have hes own reasons for this ??serious stuff there KID to be putting out,what game was this and when?
xpskid
03/11/2013, 7:24 PM
well im only saying what i was told thats why i asked was there any truth in it ??i was told last thursday night it happend .nothing to do with me pal as the people involed no what happend so its down to them to sort it
there was a match on and one of the managment left the side line to get hes water bottles from his car and on the way he started fighting for no reason what so ever and hit a guy in a car a few slaps and also claimed him to get out of the car and he would finish the job, no need of it as at the end of the day its only a game of ball ,it just looks bad on the dines full stop and in a public place like UL WOULD NOT BE HAPPY AT ALL..he must have hes own reasons for this ??
Don't think anyone of the dines management would do something like that,I no most of them personally and its not there form.
xpskid
05/11/2013, 3:24 PM
well js79 you might need to have another look at them !it was confirmed today that it did happen .
Sea Bird
05/11/2013, 10:56 PM
ha ha confirmed today!!this is better than emmerdale js you better be careful a bunch of serial killers up at the dines.. from reading your posts did the dines management team do this together or just one?? and the victim didn't go to the dines level?? so the dines hit and threatend a person or a person involved with the dines?? was it the manager assistant physio chairman or supporter?? c,mon the suspense is killing me ;)
well js79 you might need to have another look at them !it was confirmed today that it did happen .
Must pay my upc bill,missed that on sky news..
Fairkop
06/11/2013, 9:46 PM
no football this weekend lads as dispute between refs and ldmc is escalating over money,and if talks dont begin soon this could go on a while.and while general opinion would be to focus on the ..greedy ref....in this case i think our esteemed local junior council have messed up yet again,having said that its the clubs who vote them in so you get what you deserve i guess.be interesting to hear from others on this,what do yee think.
Second
06/11/2013, 10:11 PM
Can the clubs and refs not meet as the league dont pay the refs the clubs do..so refs are only punishing the teams and the players not the league council
Fairkop
07/11/2013, 9:06 AM
The clubs are the last thing on any ones mind here.A lot of clubs are hanging by a thread and it is the players on a sunday who have to fork out for this.
Refs are well paid and put up with a lot of stick but to go looking for a rise in these times is over the top.
TopperHarley
07/11/2013, 10:06 AM
The clubs are the last thing on any ones mind here.A lot of clubs are hanging by a thread and it is the players on a sunday who have to fork out for this.
Refs are well paid and put up with a lot of stick but to go looking for a rise in these times is over the top.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From what i hear the refs arent lookin for a rise...they just want what every other ref in Ireland gets which is the FAI fee?
LDMC are the only branch in Ireland with a problem with this, but that does not come as a surprise
Treaty Gooner
07/11/2013, 12:11 PM
By the sounds of things they're looking for more than the fee - mileage and what not - and when clubs can't pay the trouble starts.
If the issue was that they wanted the FAI rate I'm sure clubs would be more than happy to pay that rather than 100euro +.
Yes the clubs elect the LDMC committee every year and there's a lot of crusty old men in there but what's the alternative?
The men put themselves forward and the clubs can only vote on what's put in front of them.
I'd always be suspicious of anyone whose ambition it is to be in charge of something year in and year out, regardless of how well or badly that thing performs.
By the sounds of things they're looking for more than the fee - mileage and what not - and when clubs can't pay the trouble starts.
If the issue was that they wanted the FAI rate I'm sure clubs would be more than happy to pay that rather than 100euro +.
Yes the clubs elect the LDMC committee every year and there's a lot of crusty old men in there but what's the alternative?
The men put themselves forward and the clubs can only vote on what's put in front of them.
I'd always be suspicious of anyone whose ambition it is to be in charge of something year in and year out, regardless of how well or badly that thing performs.
The mileage mightn't even be a massive issue if it was the mileage from Jackman to the pitch rather than from the ref's house to the pitch.
Second
08/11/2013, 7:57 AM
Any news on a meeting between both parties
Two Feet Up
08/11/2013, 8:23 AM
why would the mileage be from jackman to the pitch.
the refs are providing a service and there should be an agreed rate (in total) for the match fee. all ref's get the same and the distance they travel should be monitoered by the LDMC to try and ensure that all refs travel roughly the same distance.
Its a shame that games are off for this, but we need ref's otherwise there is no competitive game of ball !(ps I am not a ref , just somebody who had endured them for the past 20years of playing in the LDMC league)
Second
08/11/2013, 9:23 AM
The LDMC dont appoint refs to games it the referee assesor that does that. .
Edgey
08/11/2013, 10:51 AM
why would the mileage be from jackman to the pitch.
the refs are providing a service and there should be an agreed rate (in total) for the match fee. all ref's get the same and the distance they travel should be monitoered by the LDMC to try and ensure that all refs travel roughly the same distance.
Its a shame that games are off for this, but we need ref's otherwise there is no competitive game of ball !(ps I am not a ref , just somebody who had endured them for the past 20years of playing in the LDMC league)
Because most jobs that pay mileage calculate it from the place of work to the destination rather than from the person's house. It's the LDMC's base and it's central. Anything else is rife for abuse. It's ridiculous somebody claiming mileage from Cork to ref a match in Cals, for instance. On the other hand if the ref has to travel to Ballylanders, they deserve to be reimbursed for it.
TopperHarley
08/11/2013, 11:31 AM
Because most jobs that pay mileage calculate it from the place of work to the destination rather than from the person's house. It's the LDMC's base and it's central. Anything else is rife for abuse. It's ridiculous somebody claiming mileage from Cork to ref a match in Cals, for instance. On the other hand if the ref has to travel to Ballylanders, they deserve to be reimbursed for it.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My mates a ref and told me 60% of Limerick refs either live out in the sticks ,Tip,Clare and Cork....only a handful are from the city...so its not really fair on them lads if the milage is from Jackman Park.
If they packed it in the limerick league would be fecked forever cos very few city lads join up due to the grief they get
Two Feet Up
08/11/2013, 12:07 PM
the reason they would pay from the place of work is because they are paid to be at their place of work. I would expect the fee paid to a ref is really to cover expenses and not have an expense fee on top. Otherwise they are semi professional ref's.
so a ref lives near coonagh and ref's a match in annacotty, surely the ref's fee (no mileage) covers this cost in excess or are these guys actually working !
Tune into live 95 fm tomorrow between 10 &11were Paul Neville of ldmc & Edna quaid of the referees will fill people in on what's going on...
last man back
08/11/2013, 6:12 PM
Usually between 48 to 55 euro in the Desmond league.
Tis enuf to be getting cash in hand aswell, hope they don't attract the attention
Of the TAXMAN!!!!!
old git
09/11/2013, 5:05 PM
Tune into live 95 fm tomorrow between 10 &11were Paul Neville of ldmc & Edna quaid of the referees will fill people in on what's going on...
well did anybody lsten in ?? are all junior games still of tomorrow
They are off old git and could be off for another couple Weeks yet of this us not resolved quickly
old git
09/11/2013, 7:54 PM
They are off old git and could be off for another couple Weeks yet of this us not resolved quickly
jesus sounds bad I take it both parties are trying to get it sorted asap... have clubs been advised games are off I know up to last nights some clubs did not know if games were going ahead :confused:
Second
09/11/2013, 7:59 PM
Old git them clubs would want a change of secretary every club was informed wednesday
jesus sounds bad I take it both parties are trying to get it sorted asap... have clubs been advised games are off I know up to last nights some clubs did not know if games were going ahead :confused:
It was posted on Facebook the other night bout all the games been called off,
booster 03
10/11/2013, 11:06 AM
It's just been proven that you can't have soccer without refs.. It sickens me. We're gone as bad as the GAA. The only people getting paid and their holding Junior players to ransom. Doesn't matter what way you dress it up, saying it's the LDMC fault etc. It's not, it's entirely greed, power pushing and attention seeking by the referee society. It's a closed book, I've witnessed first hand some of the most blatantly poor refereeing performances over the past few years. There is no standards to refereeing in a Limerick. You do a weekend course and your on the books. No adjudicators, no disciplining if refs. Mistakes will happen but some of the arrogance shown by referees to cover their own incompetence is laughable to say the least. Remember this, you can't have soccer without refs but you more importantly can't have soccer without players coaches etc. Referees aren't the most important people crossing the white line, It's the players who do it for free.
Il finish with this, there is some good refs, excellent refs in fact,in limerick but they are in the minority.
It's just been proven that you can't have soccer without refs.. It sickens me. We're gone as bad as the GAA. The only people getting paid and their holding Junior players to ransom. Doesn't matter what way you dress it up, saying it's the LDMC fault etc. It's not, it's entirely greed, power pushing and attention seeking by the referee society. It's a closed book, I've witnessed first hand some of the most blatantly poor refereeing performances over the past few years. There is no standards to refereeing in a Limerick. You do a weekend course and your on the books. No adjudicators, no disciplining if refs. Mistakes will happen but some of the arrogance shown by referees to cover their own incompetence is laughable to say the least. Remember this, you can't have soccer without refs but you more importantly can't have soccer without players coaches etc. Referees aren't the most important people crossing the white line, It's the players who do it for free.
Il finish with this, there is some good refs, excellent refs in fact,in limerick but they are in the minority.
Players not getting paid. Ha ha ha ha ha
Take your head out of the clouds man.
xpskid
10/11/2013, 6:28 PM
The ref bashing continues from one site to another so is it any wonder that the Limerick League fails to attract the best potential people to do the job. Is Limerick unique or do other players/clubs in other leagues take a cheap shot at every hands turn at the referees individually or collectively?Why is our league short on refs if it is such a money spinner?