View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2013/14
Pages :
[
5]
Hibs7772
01/09/2013, 7:06 PM
great player :confused: how many games has he played since last Christmas ?? Jamie has terrific pace and smashing player but he needs to settle down with a team and start putting in performances week in week out and show us all how good he can be
He will do well to get a regular starting place with them. To be fair to him i don't think his abilities have anything to do with how many games he has played since last Christmas. He is a very good player IMO and best of luck to him at Carew!
faceoff
01/09/2013, 10:12 PM
What was I spot on with mate?? You've lost me.
Boro 7 View 1.
Hibs7772
04/09/2013, 4:02 AM
Predictions for Thursday evening:
A.A 2-3 View
Pike 3-0 Corbally
Carew 3-1 Dines
Granville 1-1 Wembley
Boro 2-2 Balla
Summerville 2-1 Regional
A.A 1-1 View
Carew 2-0 Dines
Granville 3-0 Wembley
Boro 3-1 Balla
Summerville 2-2 Regional
faceoff
05/09/2013, 10:07 PM
A.A 1-1 View
Carew 2-0 Dines
Granville 3-0 Wembley
Boro 3-1 Balla
Summerville 2-2 Regional
Some result for Geraldines tonight.Surprised to see pat moloney left pike.Carew and boro have it all to do now.geraldines could be pikes biggest challengers now the way results have gone.anyone agree?
Hibs7772
06/09/2013, 12:24 AM
Some result for Geraldines tonight.Surprised to see pat moloney left pike.Carew and boro have it all to do now.geraldines could be pikes biggest challengers now the way results have gone.anyone agree?
What happened Carew? shocking result for them! Did Jamie Egan play for them?
as the old phrase goes this was a game of 2 Halfs.carew were 1 up at halftime and should have been out of sight,missed some handy chances to kill off the game,second half Gearldines were by far the better team and took there chances and deservedly took all 3 points.
thomas72
06/09/2013, 7:39 AM
Agree with js79 carew should of been 4 up at half time but some very poor finishing cost us dines couldn't get in there half. 2nd half carew never came out were very poor fair play to dines they created same chances as carew did first half diff was they took them.
They have alot of fire power going forward now with molonely signing aswell will cause any team alot of probs if they can get a centre half our two in before end of transfer window they could give it a right go but imo they need to strengthen that area best of luck to dines .
hotspur
06/09/2013, 11:03 AM
Agree with js79 carew should of been 4 up at half time but some very poor finishing cost us dines couldn't get in there half. 2nd half carew never came out were very poor fair play to dines they created same chances as carew did first half diff was they took them.
They have alot of fire power going forward now with molonely signing aswell will cause any team alot of probs if they can get a centre half our two in before end of transfer window they could give it a right go but imo they need to strengthen that area best of luck to dines .
Missing lots of chances?? Whats that fella doing that had the 50 on the back of his jersey last year?? Ye could do with a few centre halves yereselves.yere conseding left right and centre.
thomas72
06/09/2013, 11:21 AM
Missing lots of chances?? Whats that fella doing that had the 50 on the back of his jersey last year?? Ye could do with a few centre halves yereselves.yere conseding left right and centre.
typical smart answer from you i expect it thou know all. Since you asked one chance fell to him and he scored it
hotspur
06/09/2013, 12:21 PM
typical smart answer from you i expect it thou know all. Since you asked one chance fell to him and he scored it
Who missed them then?? Not so solid now are we.
IMO its easier to win the league for the first time than it is to retain it.as Carew are finding out and as the boro found out also.just go's to show how good that pike team was that done five in a row.
Don't think so hightackle,imo the hardest one to win is the first,i never in my wildest dreams taught carew would win the league last year but I saw first hand the amount of work that was put in last year,alot has been expected of carew this season but when you loose some of your best players from your squad it is going to be difficult,hopefully when we can pick a full strength team our results should improve..
bring back King Kelly before its too late, I can see Carew falling apart without him. a good committee and a good chairman is everything.
All teams lose players each season,when you are the champions every other team lifts it by 20% to say they beat the champs. as I said to retain it is the sign of a good team/club.ps this is not a dig at carew may I say just my opinion.my tip for the league this year was boro but something must be going on behind closed doors as they say....
Agree with you 100% hightackle,can't quiet put my finger on the Boro situation,IMO they have the best squad of players in town.maybe there is being to much pressure on them. On another note did you listen to the mike Shields interview on the jsp.the man can talk a great game and has some knowledge of football.could turn out to be a super appointment from the pike committee.
bring back King Kelly before its too late, I can see Carew falling apart without him. a good committee and a good chairman is everything.
We have a good committee and a good chairman
mrman
08/09/2013, 11:48 PM
Carew beaten again, thats their season over. looks like its a sinking ship,
Titanic springs to mind.worst champions since Leeds utd..
Arivat
09/09/2013, 10:55 AM
Well Done Jason, on your selection of your Oscar Traynor Panel....There are quality players in the Squad & not picked in the squad.
I know its a catch 22 situation for you...(dammed if you do & dammed if you don't) .
But I do have to highlight as an observer of limerick soccer for the last couple of years & I have no allegiance to any Club in limerick.
The fact is the Squad consists of players from 6 Clubs....were you not at the Jansboro versus Regional game, the only game Boro have lost to date....
1 or 2 players deserve a place on the squad ahead of some of the Boro lads.
Well Done Jason, on your selection of your Oscar Traynor Panel....There are quality players in the Squad & not picked in the squad.
I know its a catch 22 situation for you...(dammed if you do & dammed if you don't) .
But I do have to highlight as an observer of limerick soccer for the last couple of years & I have no allegiance to any Club in limerick.
The fact is the Squad consists of players from 6 Clubs....were you not at the Jansboro versus Regional game, the only game Boro have lost to date....
What players from regional do you think should get into the Oscar traynor panel.
booster 03
09/09/2013, 7:40 PM
What players from regional do you think should get into the Oscar traynor panel.
You could make a case for a few I think, I Connell in midfield would be one anyway, the keeper is quiet good too I think.
Two good players,keepers name is rob shire I think.
Don't think he is as good as Neville& glasheen.
Plus O'Connell plays in midfield,don't think he would get in instead of Boyle and Tierney yellow and the rest..
fifty50
09/09/2013, 9:40 PM
Is glasheen even gettin his game at boro, didn't feature in the two boro games I've seen, is he injured?
Sea Bird
09/09/2013, 10:48 PM
no-one could pick a panel that everyone is going to agree with to be fair he has it 90% correct nearly all the top players are included and for me not one poor player in it.. there is allways going to be 10% of a squad picked that will be argumentive
Arivat
10/09/2013, 9:35 AM
I'm only opening conversation here. Don't get me wrong Jason has picked a super squad. You have named the 2 players that I was thinking of & my thinking is that (Sorry Yellow you are injury prone) & O'Connell would be a great squad player. I disagree with you on Glasheen.....I think he's good but lacking a bit of consistency at times. Shire is an up & coming keeper & I do think he will challenge Neville in the future.....not yet...again as a soccer observer & watching talent (watch this space)......
Good Luck Limerick in your up & coming games..
neverseenit
10/09/2013, 10:38 PM
Christy o Neill will be lucky to get a game in training... Not good enough at all..
booster 03
11/09/2013, 8:35 AM
Pike 5-1 sville
Pike are ridiculously strong, wave after wave after wave of attack, we've 85% of teams played now but pike are a stand out IMO. Credit to them, too strong a team/club for junior soccer u think.
Christy o Neill will be lucky to get a game in training... Not good enough at all..
Do you watch the game at all?
I'm only opening conversation here. Don't get me wrong Jason has picked a super squad. You have named the 2 players that I was thinking of & my thinking is that (Sorry Yellow you are injury prone) & O'Connell would be a great squad player. I disagree with you on Glasheen.....I think he's good but lacking a bit of consistency at times. Shire is an up & coming keeper & I do think he will challenge Neville in the future.....not yet...again as a soccer observer & watching talent (watch this space)......
Good Luck Limerick in your up & coming games..
I agree with you about rob shire a great up and coming keeper watched him a few times last season and this, very comfortable,regional Have a habit of producing top goal keepers.
Hibs7772
12/09/2013, 1:34 AM
I agree with you about rob shire a great up and coming keeper watched him a few times last season and this, very comfortable,regional Have a habit of producing top goal keepers.
I'm pretty sure he was with Newmarket and Limerick before he was with Regional, just thought i'd throw that in there:p but i agree very good goalkeeper, sure he is only what 19 or 20?
neverseenit
12/09/2013, 4:47 AM
Do you watch the game at all?
And he start in front of who...tierney,o Gorman,hartnett,Lyons,pa or John Boyle..stop now
Two Feet Up
12/09/2013, 7:37 AM
I think that picking the LDSL oscar traynor team is always going to be a hard job. Some managers pick the players they know best (worked with), some go for club pairings (e.g. center halfs), others go for good fit for the team and not individual brillance. At the end of the day its a results business and you can only judge a team/squad on match performance.
Having played oscar traynor for LDSL myself, the biggest thing is to have a squad that want to play for the team and gel together. I am sure loads would have questioned my selection but so be it.
Anybody who wants to give out about a squad picked by a manager, should only do so if they had put their name into the hat to be the manager. Its easy pick teamsd/squads from over the fence!
best of luck to all those selected, i hope they represent the league and their clubs well and go a long way in the comp.
Second
12/09/2013, 8:47 AM
And he start in front of who...tierney,o Gorman,hartnett,Lyons,pa or John Boyle..stop now
Is the idea of a squad not that you have 20 lads not just 11 starters ..sure he might not start if all above fit but injuries are part of the game. so how about you stop now
fifty50
12/09/2013, 9:03 AM
I'm pretty sure he was with Newmarket and Limerick before he was with Regional, just thought i'd throw that in there:p but i agree very good goalkeeper, sure he is only what 19 or 20?
Correct fred
My apologies hibs7772 I taught he.came up through the ranks at regional.
Fairkop
12/09/2013, 8:54 PM
comment about christy o neill in poor taste,quality player and there on merit.carew wont retain the league and one of the reasons is not that they lost players,they lost some of their BEST players which can make all the difference.....pike retained league after league of late,never lost their best players,signed the best around and had a strong bench to back it up,it helps of course when you have the ..resources.. available to assemble such a strong squad,league titles should be the norm in those circumstances and to be fair pike obliged,then again one fai with those squads is a poor return.carews achievement last season is all the more remarkable considering.
faceoff
18/09/2013, 8:30 AM
What is it with you and Pike,everytime i come on here to have a look your on slating Pike,Did they do you wrong or something?,because it seems to me they did something to you,Tell you you weren't good enough maybe,Carew Park have a huge squad this year but are not performing,likewise Janesboro,whereas Pike squad seems to be very bare but are beating all before them,I have nothing to do with any club mentioned by the way,
Fairkop
18/09/2013, 10:06 PM
What is it with you and Pike,everytime i come on here to have a look your on slating Pike,Did they do you wrong or something?,because it seems to me they did something to you,Tell you you weren't good enough maybe,Carew Park have a huge squad this year but are not performing,likewise Janesboro,whereas Pike squad seems to be very bare but are beating all before them,I have nothing to do with any club mentioned by the way,OMG, FACEOFF,have i touched a nerve?where have i slated pike in that post,i have actually praised pikes ability to retain leagues and strong squads with the best use of the resources available to them,but stated the fact that given all that they should imo have won more that one fai..lets face it their neighbours did it.given that you have nothing to do with... any.. of the clubs you mentioned i am surprised you even noticed.
faceoff
19/09/2013, 9:39 AM
OMG, FACEOFF,have i touched a nerve?where have i slated pike in that post,i have actually praised pikes ability to retain leagues and strong squads with the best use of the resources available to them,but stated the fact that given all that they should imo have won more that one fai..lets face it their neighbours did it.given that you have nothing to do with... any.. of the clubs you mentioned i am surprised you even noticed.
Your posts in general fairkop. Its very hard not to notice them when you have the ability to read. Their neighbours you are referring to had more resources than any club in Ireland but look where they are now.I will agree though that Pike should have more than 1 FAI.Then again Janesboro have none with all the decent teams they have had down the years and you could put Star Rovers in that category as well with the teams they had when they won 3 munster juniors in a row.
Arivat
27/09/2013, 10:01 AM
Anyone at the Oscar Traynor match in Ennis last night...? I thought Limerick were very lucky not to lose by more. Clare were very sharp for 60 mins.They could have been 6-0 up. Match fitness had a big bearing on it with Limerick finishing very strong.
A terrible decision by the Ref giving Clare a penalty near the end. I didn't think Limerick would miss their key players as much as they did. Hats off ot Clare getting going so quick. Neville...questions have to be asked about the first goal not holding the shot or diverting it over the crossbar. you could see once Clare got a breakthrough, there was a possibilty of a few goals & they did produce it in the first half & start of the second. Great come back by Limerick. I did think they were going to equalize. It would have been an injustice to Clare if they did.But it was a end to end action.
Congrats to both teams for a very entertaining game. A lot of people say Limerick soccer is streets ahead of the Clare League. Well I think that gap has closed. Man for man nothing between them.
Second
27/09/2013, 11:38 AM
In fairness limerick were missing loads last night and limerick football is streets ahead of clare.. 1 pike player and 1 carew player last night. Missing at least 7 or 8 starters .. but clare could only beat whats in front of them fair play
Arivat
27/09/2013, 12:15 PM
Actually Clare were missing 4 or 5 players aswell.....Sometimes we have to accept the gap is closing. If Limerick soccer is so far ahead of Clare, It's sad to say we have to depend on the players that are missing.
If Clare had as many League games played as there is in Limerick, their match fitness would have been a lot better & well from what I saw of the game, Clare could have been 7-0 up(the chances they missed) & Limerick would not have got back into it. Fair duce to Limerick they battled all the way & could have made it some come back.
Sea Bird
27/09/2013, 3:53 PM
Dont get carried away there is no comparison between clare and limerick it was a one off game with a bunch of lads thrown together a lot playing out of position and a pitch that was not the greatest for playing good football..Clare wanted it more than limerick simple,i know clare had a few missing but the caliber of player missing for limerick was far superior clarke,tierney,walters,boyle brothers,borris to name a few that could have been playing...When clare teams start knocking out limerick teams in fai,s and munster jun come back and talk..
fanaticfan
27/09/2013, 6:24 PM
It wasn't a Munster or fai cup. It was Oscar traynor and clare beat the district. Simples
Sea Bird
27/09/2013, 6:56 PM
simples!! one result against a selection does not justify Clare closing the gap on limerick Clare have done nothing in junior soccer for a long time now so don't get carried away.. yee might have better hurlers but soccer no chance lads!! would be wrong not to mention the performance of the officials last night nothing short of disgraceful... best selection won on the night would be very interesting to see the two teams meet again later on in the competition on a good pitch and both at full strength...
mastermind1
27/09/2013, 7:47 PM
Its always the same with limerick oscar traynors every year, every year theres an excuse for them not winning the tournament outright. Limerick have beaten Clare 5 years in a row in the oscar traynor before last night so it was a big win for Clare. The referees did ok last night considering the pressure limerick players were putting on them, both penalties were harsh if you ask me. If both sides get out of the group they might be drawn against each other again and both might be at full strength. The players missing for Limerick were all top players but surely if the league is as strong as people here suggest it is then the Limerick 11 that played last night should be beating the minnows of Clare.
Fairkop
27/09/2013, 8:11 PM
of the initial limerick squad,26 in all,at least 12 were absent,begs the question why?a lot of top players missing which certainly hurt the teams chances,but also calls into question limericks depth of talent.had limerick no preparation as people on here suggesting the team was thrown together before hand.on the night clare the better team and deserved to win...however limerick should still come out of the group.good crowd there and naturally home officials were just that...home officials.
Arivat
27/09/2013, 9:04 PM
When did Limerick last win the Oscar Traynor...?
newlad
28/09/2013, 6:51 AM
simples!! one result against a selection does not justify Clare closing the gap on limerick Clare have done nothing in junior soccer for a long time now so don't get carried away.. yee might have better hurlers but soccer no chance lads!! would be wrong not to mention the performance of the officials last night nothing short of disgraceful... best selection won on the night would be very interesting to see the two teams meet again later on in the competition on a good pitch and both at full strength...
3 excuses in one post...
Minnow counties like clare have a right to get carried away for beating a county like limerick, it isnt going to happen often,Is it Clare's fault limerick couldn't prepare for the game the way they should? A lot of games are won and lost ever before players make it to the pitch, not Clare's fault they were missing all the stars of limerick league, clare did there job and did it well, on and off the pitch, give them credit,and yes the gap is closing some bit, remember a lot of clare lads playing in limerick for one reason or another.
Well done to clare, and I'm sure limerick will be in the last few teams to make up the semis this year,
Sea Bird
28/09/2013, 8:56 AM
fair play to Clare and they have a right to get excited they are obviously doing something right on the sidelines and on the pitch with preparation and team selection it was a good performance for 60 mins and should have been out of sight.. it isn't excuses but the roadworks before bunratty delayed the preparation arriving at the ground at 7.15 isn't a good start and players pulling out that day for one reason or another ( which is a trait of the limerick Oscar traynor for years) 3 junior internationals missing because of the quadrangler next week ( why was this fixture played this week) only appointed a manager a few weeks ago because no-one wanted it as it is a thankless job.. the game the other night is a poor reflection on the limerick league it is way stronger than that.. Munster jun winners last 2 years pike won the champions league 3 out of the 4 semi finalists in the Munster jun last season and 2 of the 4 semi finalists in the fai and its only 3 seasons pike wer fai champions.. as for strength in depth balla mid table last season knocked out st michaels in the Munster jun.. Clare have a long way to go when you talk about closing the gap with limerick but I take your point yee are going the right way about trying to do it and best of luck to yee..
newlad
28/09/2013, 10:09 AM
Your right in everything your saying. But, and this is just my opinion, I think the limerick league is a league of players that have no loyalty to one club,or many players anyway, it happens in clare too, but not as much, u need to remember or realise that most clubs in clare are towns or villages and that most don't go outside them villages to sign players, if clubs in clare had the way of paying "expenses" things might be different, they don't have the luxury of club bars,don't get me wrong it's hard work running a club with bars,,but that's not limerick leagues fault,
Where happy with the way the league is progressing tho, best of luck in there, is a good debate for another time I guess.:-)