View Full Version : Darren Randolph G Free agent b.1987
Pages :
[
4]
TheOneWhoKnocks
02/06/2016, 11:28 PM
Darren Randolph happy to have opted for Ireland over the USA
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/jun/02/darren-randolph-republic-of-ireland-euro-2016
CraftyToePoke
02/06/2016, 11:38 PM
On the Germany game :
“I tried to kick it to Jonny Walters but he was offside,” Randolph says. “He was left and Longy was right. I saw Longy run and he took a touch. I’m looking, I’m looking and he scored. So I had a little smile and I’m thinking ‘How long is left?’
Good lad, brilliant.
03/06/2016, 9:27 AM
Did a Q&A on twitter last night: https://twitter.com/search?q=%23AskRandolph&src=typd
03/06/2016, 9:37 AM
Man who wins lotto, happy to have bought a lotto ticket.
07/06/2016, 12:01 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/jun/07/darren-randolph-republic-of-ireland
“Top debut, hope you have a top career” – Darren Randolph was pleasantly surprised by Steven Gerrard’s impromptu comment to him after the goalkeeper’s first Premier League match, which was on the final day of the 2006-07 season. Charlton Athletic had already been relegated and because their usual goalkeeper, Scott Carson, was on loan from Liverpool, they decided to give Randolph his first taste of the top flight the day after his 20th birthday.
He performed well enough in a 2-2 draw at Anfield to earn praise from Gerrard. But his career did not exactly skyrocket after that. He is going to Euro 2016 as the Republic of Ireland’s No1 goalkeeper only after years of watching matches as a frustrated reserve for various clubs as well as his country.
In one way it is fitting that Randolph has spent so long as a back-up, as he is now at West Ham United, because during his youth football was his second-choice sport. His first ambition was to be a professional basketball player like his father, Ed Randolph, an American who left Roger Williams University in Rhode Island to join Sporting Belfast in 1982. Irish basketball was enjoying a relative boom time and had just introduced a rule permitting clubs to sign two foreign professionals. Ed, a Florida native who was deterred neither by the Irish weather nor the political violence in the country at the time, accepted the challenge.
He has been in Ireland ever since, having played for and coached an array of basketball clubs and married an Irishwoman, Anne. Their sons are gifted sportsmen, most obviously Darren, who represented Ireland at basketball as a 15-year-old while also playing football for the country and Gaelic football for the county of his birth, Wicklow. He has said that it was only when he realised that he was unlikely to be tall enough to make it in the NBA that he decided to invest most of his hope in becoming a full-time footballer.
He was 16 when he agreed to go to England with Charlton. After years with their youth teams and a couple of loan periods, he made that debut at Anfield. But despite impressing Gerrard, Randolph’s next league appearance for Charlton did not come until almost a year later – and he made a rather less favourable impression then, dropping the ball against his team-mate and compatriot, Paddy McCarthy, and watching it ricochet into the net to give Southampton a 1-1 draw.
Charlton loaned him out to Hereford United the following season. Randolph began well for the then League One side, memorably making 18 saves in a 1-0 defeat against Leeds United. But a few months later he rebelled when he discovered plans to make him a reserve again. After learning that the club were in talks to sign Matt Murray, Randolph refused to play in an FA Cup tie against Dagenham & Redbridge. He soon returned to Charlton but eventually left the Valley on a free to join Motherwell. At last his career as No1 took flight.
By setting a clean-sheet record for the Scottish club, Randolph attracted the attention of the Republic’s then manager, Giovanni Trapattoni. He made his senior debut in a friendly against Oman in September 2012, a 4-1 win. He played in another friendly nine months later, a 2-0 defeat against Spain. After that, nothing. Until, that is, he was suddenly thrust into the middle of a vital Euro 2016 qualifier against the world champions, no less.
Randolph’s club career had progressed well – he left Motherwell for Birmingham City in 2013 and did well enough at the Championship club to earn a move to West Ham in 2015. But Martin O’Neill had still not given him an Ireland cap. When Germany rolled into Dublin last October intent on securing their ticket to France, O’Neill plumped for the big-match experience of Shay Given. But when Given injured a knee in the 44th minute, O’Neill made a radical decision: rather than replace Given with David Forde, who had excelled when Ireland drew 1-1 in Germany earlier in the group, the manager sent on Randolph.
It is fair to say the 28-year-old’s wait for his first competitive international was worth it: unperturbed by nerves he made a series of fine saves, particularly from Jérôme Boateng and Thomas Müller, and even claimed an assist as Shane Long collected one of his punts before firing into the net to give Ireland a famous victory.
Randolph played again against Poland a few days later and then performed well in the playoff victory against Bosnia-Herzegovina. He emerged, like the midfielder Jeff Hendrick, as one of the finds of the Irish campaign. But the fact that he seldom plays for West Ham, where Adrián is No1, raised the possibility that he could lose his new-found starting place with Ireland to Rob Elliot, who used to get picked ahead of him at Charlton and was in outstanding form with Newcastle United this season – until tearing knee ligaments in a friendly for Ireland against Slovakia in March.
The Newcastle player’s absence at least makes O’Neill’s decision easier for the European Championship. Randolph is the most agile and commanding goalkeeper available to Ireland and the manager should have no reservations about making him No1.
07/06/2016, 12:14 PM
Stutts are you still trying to prove your point re the playoff final?
07/06/2016, 1:40 PM
No, not at all.
I'm highlighting that an Irish journo thinks he's the most agile of our keepers when I don't think there is anyone here who'd agree with that. We all think Westwood is our most agile keeper. I highlighted it because it was a point of debate here, that's all. Doyle might have a point with "most commanding" and maybe it was written before Westwood was chosen over Ford
Also, I don't think Westwood's agility was in question for the Hull goal, more his timing / positioning.
07/06/2016, 2:47 PM
Also, I don't think Westwood's agility was in question for the Hull goal, more his timing / positioning.
As a matter of interest, would you say the same about Given and Belarus's first goal against us?
07/06/2016, 3:05 PM
As a matter of interest, would you say the same about Given and Belarus's first goal against us?I've already answered that :)
To recap: No, I think the Belarus shot was further wide, closer to the upright. It was unstoppable, a perfectly placed shot. I had no issue with Given's reaction, positioning or timing (unlike, say, Henry in 2005, Poland at home, Australia at home or all of Euro 2012 - my point here is that I have no interest in giving Shay the benefit of the doubt over anything).
I was surprised Westwood was beaten for the Hull goal; in real time I was expecting him to tip it over. It was a good shot but more central than the Belarus goal and it seemed to go over Westwood rather than past him. I think he either dived a fraction early or perhaps was too far to his right (as per TOWK's suggestion) to begin with. That said, I'd be applauding the save if he had made it.
I think a few days ago you suggested that because Westwood got a touch on the Hull goal but Shay didn't get near the Belarus goal it was evidence that Westwood is sharper & more agile. I just don't think you can draw that conclusion from those two incidents. Though Westwood is sharper & more agile... :)
It's all very marginal but as we're in the business of micro-analysing everything about our 'keepers of late, that's my micro-analysis!
07/06/2016, 4:43 PM
The shot for the Belarus goal was further out and to the right of the penalty area. The Hull goal was more central and possibly from closer range. That's my micro-analysis.
rIS8RbmmHdE
_k_PwnebC5Y
DeLorean
07/06/2016, 5:04 PM
The shot for the Belarus goal was further out and to the right of the penalty area. The Hull goal was more central and possibly from closer range. That's my micro-analysis.
Plus it's very obvious the Belarusian is lining up a shot, he actually takes three full steps after controlling the ball. Diame shifts the ball and hits it in almost the one movement which makes it far more difficult to react to.
07/06/2016, 6:55 PM
Fair enough Owls Fan. No need to be smart about it. You haven't changed my mind, nor has DeLorean, but it's only an opinion.
DeLorean
07/06/2016, 9:55 PM
I wasn't trying to really, just discussing the two goals as they are kind of similar in ways. A change of opinion is rare thing on foot.ie. Well, a change of opinion as a result of persuasion anyway.
08/06/2016, 7:57 AM
No it isn't.
08/06/2016, 9:56 AM
Yes it is, oh hold on, i just read your post above Stutts. No it isn't.
08/06/2016, 10:34 AM
Fair enough Owls Fan. No need to be smart about it. You haven't changed my mind, nor has DeLorean, but it's only an opinion.
Not attempting to be smart. Just banter.
08/06/2016, 10:40 AM
Lads the Ireland match is just 5 days away, don't be getting thick. Calm down and relax. Enjoy yourselves.
08/06/2016, 10:44 AM
Lads the Ireland match is just 5 days away, don't be getting thick. Calm down and relax. Enjoy yourselves.
What do you mean by that ?
08/06/2016, 3:27 PM
What do you mean by that ?
I got inspiration from CD, he persuaded me to be funny. It related to a post he had on earlier, as it seemed ye were getting a bit worked up.
08/06/2016, 11:16 PM
It's like there's an element of cabin fever creeping in on the forum at this stage. :D
Just let the football start for the love of God.
SwanVsDalton
08/06/2016, 11:20 PM
It's like there's an element of cabin fever creeping in on the forum at this stage. :D
Just let the football start for the love of God.
Your Frank Grimes avatar was never more apt.
DannyInvincible
08/06/2016, 11:39 PM
According to Ken Early here (https://soundcloud.com/thefinalthird/group-e-part-1-ireland-sweden#t=14:56), Darren Randolph said that one major difference between Martin O'Neill's management and Trapattoni's is that O'Neill calls him "Darren". Trapattoni, on the other hand, simply referred to him as "keeper".
I thought it an amusing anecdote, but also very telling. With Trap, there was a disconnect. He was impersonal. The team lacked colour and individual character. Thankfully, we've shaken that off under O'Neill. And I think the supporters have warmed to that more as well. It's only natural.
09/06/2016, 1:03 AM
Your Frank Grimes avatar was never more apt.
Are you kidding? Does this whole forum have some disease where it can't see that SwanVsDalton is an idiot? Look here: infractions have doubled every year since he became a member, and paul_oshea's meltdowns have tripled. Has he been warned? No. Has he been banned? No, no.
SwanVsDalton
09/06/2016, 1:56 PM
Are you kidding? Does this whole forum have some disease where it can't see that SwanVsDalton is an idiot? Look here: infractions have doubled every year since he became a member, and paul_oshea's meltdowns have tripled. Has he been warned? No. Has he been banned? No, no.
Hey Charmy, you wanna see my Grammy award?
Not even two games into the euros and we already see the importance of a good keeper. Directly at fault for two goals so far.
SwanVsDalton
11/06/2016, 1:18 PM
Not even two games into the euros and we already see the importance of a good keeper. Directly at fault for two goals so far.
Lots of flapping at crosses Thankfully feel Randolph and Westwood are both comfortable and authoritative under the cross (Given, not so much).
seanfhear
11/06/2016, 2:03 PM
Lots of flapping at crosses Thankfully feel Randolph and Westwood are both comfortable and authoritative under the cross (Given, not so much).Are they all Good Christians..............apologies for any inter faith/religious offence (for those that may be searching for such)
11/06/2016, 2:29 PM
The Albanian keeper has recovered well in fairness, but your point is bang on alright.
Edit: daft lunge notwithstanding! Very lucky not to give away a penalty.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/06/2016, 10:38 PM
http://media.gettyimages.com/photos/simone-zaza-of-italy-and-darren-randolph-of-republic-of-ireland-for-picture-id542152078
samhaydenjr
24/06/2016, 3:14 AM
http://media.gettyimages.com/photos/simone-zaza-of-italy-and-darren-randolph-of-republic-of-ireland-for-picture-id542152078
Who says the Irish team isn't as technically proficient as others? Even our keeper can pull off a Cruyff Turn!
gastric
24/06/2016, 5:57 AM
Who says the Irish team isn't as technically proficient as others? Even our keeper can pull off a Cruyff Turn!
And did he scare the living daylights out of us or what?
29/06/2016, 10:37 AM
The perception is that Randolph had a great tournament and most of what he did, he did well and he made perhaps one outstanding save but does anyone else think that for the Griezmann header, he could have done better and there was another goal (can't remember which) he also got a hand to ? These are the sort of saves which could turn matches and if that header had been saved.....but perhaps I am just wearing my Westwood tinted glasses again.
29/06/2016, 10:46 AM
Ya I am still not sold, he made some great saves no doubt, but there were otehres he should have.
Plus against the sweden goal what was he doing the far side of the post when IBRA was pushed out so far, it was impossible for him to get a shot in at goal, had he stayed at the post or near the post he would have covered Clarks header.
We need someone who 100% of the time makes the consistent saves. He doesn't do that, granted he made some good reactionary saves versus France, he could have done better for some of the goals.
DeLorean
29/06/2016, 11:21 AM
Yeah, he's a decent keeper and had a reasonably good tournament. Unfortunately I don't think he'll win you a game you have no right to win, the way I believe Westwood could.
29/06/2016, 12:05 PM
I think he was too far forward for the Clark OG but it's a stretch to say it wouldn't have been a goal if he'd been two or three feet further back. He might - just might - have saved the second Belgian goal.
Utterly blameless for the French goals. I think the Griezmann header was near perfection, beautifully met & curling slightly away. It was sufficiently high and far away to require a leap rather than just a dive and he did as well as could be expected.
I think he handled tricky in-swinging free kicks against France brilliantly. This is one area I look to judge a keeper on. Hart isn't good at it, Paul Robsinson was atrocious and Petr Cech a bit iffy.
I agree with DeLorean's final comment but the key word is "could". I think Randolph had a fine tournament.
29/06/2016, 12:29 PM
If he was three feet further back for the OG, it would have given Zlatan something to aim at, instead of forcing him to cross.
29/06/2016, 12:34 PM
zlatan was right at the bye-line aiming at him would have been fine, a decent keeper would be able control that, and no swedish attacker would have been close enough.
If he dropped a zlatan cross aimed at him? Well he isn't up to it.
The execution of the header was good alright he pulled it away, but thats a defensive problem rather than randolphs.
TheOneWhoKnocks
29/06/2016, 12:40 PM
Can't see how he's culpable for any goals myself.
Thought his coolness radiated through the defense.
Junior
29/06/2016, 1:10 PM
Absolutely. Was in our top 3 or 4 performers during the tournament? Has only solidified his starting berth in my opinion. Its for Westwood et al to do all they can to displace him.
29/06/2016, 1:20 PM
I think for the Sweden goal Randolph ruled out any chance of a near post shot and he also brought into play a possible tackle (dive at feet) on Zlatan had he decided to take an extra touch. Even if he'd been further back Clark's header would probably have been an OG but for an act of God where it just hit Randolph. Randolph may have dived sideways to get a touch but he'd never have held it and for all we know it'd have gone to a Swede for a tap in. We'd then be calling him rash and pointing out how Clark was better placed!
Randolph's first job is to protect his goal.
I'm with TOWK. Randolph radiated calmness. This calmness was crucial, particularly in the first half against France.
Clark on the other hand, despite winning many important duels, radiated "slice!". So too did Pique (or was it Ramos?) on Monday let it be said.
I think there's a distinct lack of magnanimity is some of the post-Euro appraisals. I held my hand up with regard to Murphy and McGeady, I think others should with regard to Randolph.
seanfhear
29/06/2016, 1:20 PM
He needs to play first team football regularly .
There are clubs that need Goalkeepers e.g. Everton and probably some others . It will be interesting to see if he is considered by these clubs as a first choice.
DeLorean
29/06/2016, 1:35 PM
Its for Westwood et al to do all they can to displace him.
Westwood can't do much more at this stage, just continue what he's been doing consistently for two years.
I think Griezmann's header was pretty much unstoppable, it would have been a truly world class save if he had kept it out. Witsel's was a different story, it was very close to him. I don't even think it would have been a particularly brilliant save had he kept it out.
There wasn't much coolness radiating through our defence in the second halves against Sweden or France, or pretty much the full ninety against Belgium. Not that I blame Randolph for this, he is a cool character in fairness when it comes to certain stuff. He's just not (as) brilliant at keeping the ball out of the net in my opinion. He saves most of the things you'd expect him to save, same as Forde, but he doesn't make the really top class saves that Westwood does.
DeLorean
29/06/2016, 2:06 PM
I think there's a distinct lack of magnanimity is some of the post-Euro appraisals. I held my hand up with regard to Murphy and McGeady, I think others should with regard to Randolph.
I'm not sure if that's partially aimed at me (I presume it's more heavily aimed at Paul) but there's no lack of magnanimity (as far as I'm concerned). Randolph performed to pretty much the maximum I would have felt he was capable of, he probably would have even exceeded my expectations had he saved the Witsel header. I still don't think he's a better goalkeeper than Westwood though.
And I'd still prefer if Westwood was our number one, that's not just digging my heels in. Randolph did well, but I always knew he was capable of doing well. It's not like anybody said he was awful beforehand, just a few too many goals conceded with question marks for my liking. If he was only keeping Given and Forde out of the side I would be delighted to have him, but that's not the case.
29/06/2016, 2:58 PM
Utterly blameless for the French goals. I think the Griezmann header was near perfection, beautifully met & curling slightly away. It was sufficiently high and far away to require a leap rather than just a dive and he did as well as could be expected.
Having seen Westwood make these sort of saves for the past two seasons, I would disagree with you on the headed goal. Randolph's reactions are just a fraction slower than I believe Westwood's would have been and since he did get a hand to it, all the more reason I believe a top-class keeper would have saved it but I appreciate that this is only speculation
29/06/2016, 3:34 PM
I was right behind him for the griessman goal, and though he couldn't have been expected to save it(given his ability), he still reacted well after it was off griessmans head, I don tknow if thats agility and weight or just agility but he is always slower than you expect him to be.
Im with Delorean on this, he did what we thought he was capable but nothing world class that I would think westwood can do.
You can see from Owlsfan image that from there regardless of the power he should be closer to the ball. However what the image doesnt tell is where randolph was for the cross, i was behind the goal, you could see the danger before the cross, they had all the time to cross it and yet it was 4 against 2 but they found space between our 2 central defenders, by the time randolph repositioned himself, griessman was already aiming. When he dived it was well after he had headed the ball. Trust me if you were there you would see it but you wont catch that on the camera. Sometimes you need to anticipate, rather than react, and I feel he always reacts rather than anticipates, and when he reacts he is just a fraction slower.
29/06/2016, 6:22 PM
Having seen Westwood make these sort of saves for the past two seasons, I would disagree with you on the headed goal. Randolph's reactions are just a fraction slower than I believe Westwood's would have been and since he did get a hand to it, all the more reason I believe a top-class keeper would have saved it but I appreciate that this is only speculation
2431yep, I see where you're coming from and KW does pull off remarkably good saves.
I do think that had the header been a foot lower he'd have got it. The extra height meant he had to jump up not just across, requiring extra spring which requires a keeper to bend his knee before jumping, delaying his dive by a fraction. I also think the fact that Griezman arrived late into space gave him less time to react. KW might have got it and other things being equal I'd back him to make a save like that over Randolph.
But when Paul says he couldn't be expected to save it "given his ability" I think we're back into churlish territory. I think it's a good photo but it doesn't prove to me that Randolph at that point in time should be closer. I know many good keepers who'd simply stand there watching it go past.
I'd like to see Randolph's reach compared to Westwood's. He looks taller and looks to have longer arms. The point is that even had KW reacted quicker he'd have had a few inches to make up on Randolph anyway.
I agree with DeLorean too in that KW is capable of that match winning piece of brilliance and I'd favour him on that basis, but I also think it's not just about the saves and I can't emphasise enough how important the non-fussy stuff he did in the first half was. When defenders line up against an inswinger, lose the first header and see the ball float into a keeper's hands as if it was catching practice everyone gets a lift. He also dealt with a Payet free very well I think, not being tempted to cover the part of the goal the wall was covering.
I think we'd have lost that game even with Westwood, but just speculation on my part.
Should Randolph have policed the second goal's situation better? Duffy's surge towards Giroud was an instantaneous thing, not something a keeper can call. I'm not even sure Keogh should have called it. It was towards him, it was his ball, not even any ambiguity. Duffy just made the wrong decision.
29/06/2016, 10:02 PM
I was right behind him for the griessman goal, and though he couldn't have been expected to save it(given his ability), he still reacted well after it was off griessmans head, I don tknow if thats agility and weight or just agility but he is always slower than you expect him to be.
Im with Delorean on this, he did what we thought he was capable but nothing world class that I would think westwood can do.
You can see from Owlsfan image that from there regardless of the power he should be closer to the ball. However what the image doesnt tell is where randolph was for the cross, i was behind the goal, you could see the danger before the cross, they had all the time to cross it and yet it was 4 against 2 but they found space between our 2 central defenders, by the time randolph repositioned himself, griessman was already aiming. When he dived it was well after he had headed the ball. Trust me if you were there you would see it but you wont catch that on the camera. Sometimes you need to anticipate, rather than react, and I feel he always reacts rather than anticipates, and when he reacts he is just a fraction slower.
Shots fired! Man down!
29/06/2016, 10:14 PM
Shots fired! Man down!
I've always said that you just cant trust cameras.
Actually instead of goal line technology or a challenge system we just need to let the crowd vote on the big decisions. Only those that are there truly know and have the right to say.
https://gamerbling.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/commodus.jpg
Eminence Grise
30/06/2016, 10:23 AM
I can see no problems with such a sensible suggestion. (http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/brexit)
backstothewall
30/06/2016, 11:57 AM
This Westwood bandwagon is really pulling people on-board it seems.
I'm not buying a word of it I'm afraid. We have 3 goalkeepers playing at around the same level. One is injured and of the 2 remaining Randolph is the man is possession. He has done nothing wrong and until he does he deserves the chance to continue.