View Full Version : Week 8/6 - 12/13 April

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

13/04/2013, 11:20 AM
Solid performance from Athlone. Deserved the win. Harps were poor attacking. Expected alot more from them

Hope we were watching the same game..disgraceful performance from Harps. Shocking game of football. I'd imagine it was absolutely horrid for any neutral there.
Athlone were terrible too I thought, but just slightly better than Harps, even though we actually had the better of the chances if it weren't for Kevin McHughs worst performance in years.

PartySaint
13/04/2013, 1:08 PM
Pretty awful from Pats last night against the worst team in the league with only 10 men for the whole second half but always good to win in Belfield

ATFC-1887
13/04/2013, 4:29 PM
Hope we were watching the same game..disgraceful performance from Harps. Shocking game of football. I'd imagine it was absolutely horrid for any neutral there.
Athlone were terrible too I thought, but just slightly better than Harps, even though we actually had the better of the chances if it weren't for Kevin McHughs worst performance in years.

Wouldnt say we were terrible now.. Had much more of the play in 2nd half and played the ball around nicely at times. Sounds like sour grapes to me

13/04/2013, 4:36 PM
That was a very strong gust of wind to knock a big man like Evan McMillan over.

dong
13/04/2013, 4:56 PM
If anybody ever doubted how much we miss Joey Ndo that was the evidence there.
Thought we were rancid tbh.

patrickccfc
13/04/2013, 5:22 PM
thought the first 25mins were promising enough for us passing around well and not sitting back which i thought we might of for awhile.. for all our good play we just didnt really trouble the sligo goal.. kalen spillane at fault for both goals not clearing it properly for the first and the penalty was a joke like absolutely no need to touch mcmillan no danger whatsoever.. thought mcnulty was brilliant today made some brilliant saves.. what we are lacking is a goal scorer and it showed

redarmyfaction
13/04/2013, 5:30 PM
We were cat alright.

13/04/2013, 6:05 PM
Pretty awful from Pats last night against the worst team in the league with only 10 men for the whole second half but always good to win in Belfield
I dunno if I agree with all of that. Shels are fairly bad too.

Otherwise, though...

13/04/2013, 7:30 PM
Yes, Rob Rogers generally gives a lot of bookings. He's a young ref just getting Prem experience and you often find younger refs give out early bookings to lay down their authority in the match.

Young? clearly overweight and unfit and sits on the fence on any big matters. Himself and Butters have been the worst I've seen so far this year.

patrickccfc
13/04/2013, 8:17 PM
3-3 so far between cobh and mervue.. thats 18 goals in three games at st colmans park so far

patrickccfc
13/04/2013, 8:23 PM
4-3 to cobh now

patrickccfc
13/04/2013, 8:29 PM
christ mervue have had three sent off.. 3rd keeper on now

patrickccfc
13/04/2013, 8:30 PM
5-3 now crazy game by the sound of it

13/04/2013, 8:39 PM
Wouldnt say we were terrible now.. Had much more of the play in 2nd half and played the ball around nicely at times. Sounds like sour grapes to me

Call it as you like, but if that's Athlone playing nice football, then there won't be too much to worry about for most teams in the division this season.

13/04/2013, 8:40 PM
Crazy stuff in Cobh too. Cobh are the highest scorers in the Division and Conor Meade is top goalscorer with 9 goals in 6 matches!

13/04/2013, 8:41 PM
8 goals, 4 penalties and 3 red cards all in a days work for LOI.

Boring league my arse.

patrickccfc
13/04/2013, 8:42 PM
finished 5-3 mad stuff

adamd164
13/04/2013, 8:49 PM
I would hope that the FORAS board aren't creaming themselves to extend Tommy '451's contract. Just home, thoroughly outplayed by a side who always looked like they had another gear in them.

We should be asking why a city with potential for a big LOI club such as ourselves can only muster that utter tripe.

13/04/2013, 9:34 PM
That was a very strong gust of wind to knock a big man like Evan McMillan over.Was definitely a penalty.

Well deserved win, Cork barely created anything. It's mental that Behan still gets paid to play football.

adamd164
13/04/2013, 9:38 PM
It's mental that Behan still gets paid to play football.
It was mental that he ever did to be honest. The man has conned a living out of the game. In some ways you'd have to just say fair play to him...!

wonder88
13/04/2013, 10:16 PM
How many members are there on the Cork board? Tommy Dunne has had the managers job now for long enough to build a team that should be contesting at the top of the table. There is no point in getting rid of him now, but if Cork do not win a trophy and finish top 4 this year, they must make a change. A club with their level of support should expect better.

marty
13/04/2013, 10:17 PM
8 goals tonight in Cobh,could have swung either way but with the sending offs it was always going to be Cobh.All sending offs were fair tbh as all 3 were one on one situations,C.Meade had 3 penos and a nice volley and another cracker from D.O Neill....early days but couldnt predict who will be where from what Ive seen this season.

oriel
13/04/2013, 10:26 PM
I would hope that the FORAS board aren't creaming themselves to extend Tommy '451's contract. Just home, thoroughly outplayed by a side who always looked like they had another gear in them.

We should be asking why a city with potential for a big LOI club such as ourselves can only muster that utter tripe.

To be fair Adam Sligo have rolled over most sides they have played this season and are miles ahead of the pack. Tommy wouldn't be my man for a manager, seems to play a reserved type of game, but he has you in decent state, nothing special granted but he did do a good job getting you out of the FD. I'm sure he's delivering on the budget that the Foras guys are providing, sounds like our scene, live within means, competitive, not exactly challenging, but def comfortable.

It can be a very dangerous game at times to spend more money, and try to push on, then what happens if results don't come fast ?

adamd164
13/04/2013, 10:27 PM
How many members are there on the Cork board? Tommy Dunne has had the managers job now for long enough to build a team that should be contesting at the top of the table. There is no point in getting rid of him now, but if Cork do not win a trophy and finish top 4 this year, they must make a change. A club with their level of support should expect better.
This season is essentially a write off for us already. Not based on points but on what's been seen on the pitch. Crowds will dwindle, revenue will be down and less funds will be available as a result. It's a vicious circle.

It was a terrible decision by the FORAS BOM to award him such a long contract, and they'll now have to deal with the fallout from that.

Comic Book Guy
13/04/2013, 11:02 PM
Just in from the rams match, where do I begin! One of the weirdest games I've seen, even at 4-3 and 9 men I didn't feel comfortable, Mervue's 3rd was bizarre, a cross was caught by a violent gust of wind and blew into the ramblers net, so much so they barely celebrated the goal Mervue also had a penalty saved. Ok crowd but shocking weather kept the crowd down.
You certainly get your money's worth in Cobh!

14/04/2013, 12:26 AM
From what I can gather the only team to give Sligo half a game so far this year have been the SHINY new Limerick side playing to GIGANTIC crowds in SHINY Thomond Park

Power shift in Munster lol

14/04/2013, 12:36 AM
Theres always been a section of the cork support thats been delusional to beautiful mind like levels its in the cities dna.

Sligo rolled over Cork?

There isnt one player in the Cork team that would get in the Sligo team what exactly do you expect?

Cork deserve better?

Cork have no money...

Tommy Dunne has done a reasonable job with a reasonable budget, he won the first division and FORAS looking for a bit of stability gave him a new deal. Sack him in the morning (after going to the magic money tree to get his payoff) and is the new gaffer going to turn mark and kalen and ian and denis into title contenders?!

Of course not.

Cork have a mediocre budget paying for a mediocre team to do mediocre in the Premier.

Which is about where Cork City are at as a club at the moment.

dong
14/04/2013, 9:21 AM
8 goals, 4 penalties and 3 red cards all in a days work for LOI.

Boring league my arse.

Not boring, just poor quality. Really poor.

adamd164
14/04/2013, 10:32 AM
Cork have no money...

Tommy Dunne has done a reasonable job with a reasonable budget, he won the first division and FORAS looking for a bit of stability gave him a new deal. Sack him in the morning (after going to the magic money tree to get his payoff) and is the new gaffer going to turn mark and kalen and ian and denis into title contenders?!

Of course not.

Cork have a mediocre budget paying for a mediocre team to do mediocre in the Premier.

Which is about where Cork City are at as a club at the moment.

He's wasted a lot of money which could have been spent more wisely and made panic buys like Behan. His tactics are appalling - he played 1 up top v UCD at home in a game it took us til the 90th minute to win.

Coupled with that, his attitude stinks. In a preview of yesterday's game on the official website he literally said "era we'll give it a lash". Outrageous comment for a professional manager, did Jack Charlton ever even use that expression?!

L.T.F.C.
14/04/2013, 11:09 AM
Well I thought Cork played some excellent stuff in the first half.

marty
14/04/2013, 11:30 AM
Ive heard the budget in Cork is 5k?? Not too sure if its true but if so then hes not doing too bad,Cobh had a simular budget when winning the first division.In the past when Cork have been doing well on the pitch their finances have took a tumble off it-if Foras are to bring some stability to the club they need to keep doing what their doing now.I would hope for the future of the club they have some long term plan in place to maybe purchase even a training ground to give the club something to build on,At the moment its looking like Limerick will take them over as a club...

wonder88
14/04/2013, 12:08 PM
Cork are right to keep within their means when deciding on their playing budget, and Sligo and Shamrock R could well be playing a dangerous game operating with the wage bills they have these days. One thing you should always look for in a manager when you are operating within a tight budget is that he can unearth a player now and again who has been overlooked by the big spenders or re-invigorate a talented player who has lost his way. Maybe I am unfair to T Dunne but has he done this?

Only1Rovers
14/04/2013, 1:21 PM
Cork are right to keep within their means when deciding on their playing budget, and Sligo and Shamrock R could well be playing a dangerous game operating with the wage bills they have these days. One thing you should always look for in a manager when you are operating within a tight budget is that he can unearth a player now and again who has been overlooked by the big spenders or re-invigorate a talented player who has lost his way. Maybe I am unfair to T Dunne but has he done this?

What is Sligo Rovers' budget?

adamd164
14/04/2013, 2:14 PM
I certainly wouldn't begrudge Sligo success; they've waited long enough for it, it's a proper footballing town, and if the shoe was on the other foot I'd not be complaining about the budget size.

The issue here for me is that I don't think Dunne has made the best of our own budget. Our squad is littered with mediocre players that he signed. Our tactics are horribly negative, even when playing against the likes of UCD. Even yesterday, I know Sligo are a great LOI side, but we're hardly so far down the pecking order that we should be essentially accepting defeat with the "we'll give it a lash" attitude that he came out with. Our style makes for awful viewing at our home games and when the public watch us on TV, like yesterday. It reduces gates, dampens out positivity and ultimately leads to further culling of the budget as a result.

I know there are a few Limerick fans on here fishing for a reaction - it may shock you to learn that I and I'm sure most other Cork fans would like to see Limerick do well actually, it would be a very healthy thing for there to be a rivalry built up there. And given that we are still above you in the table I think the talk of a 'power shift' in Munster is a bit OTT, no?

14/04/2013, 2:45 PM
And given that we are still above you in the table I think the talk of a 'power shift' in Munster is a bit OTT, no?

Depends on your outlook.

Tis some of the Cork fans brought it up with the talk about Tommy Dunne being poor.

You seem to have a negative outlook for Cork going forward whereas I think most Limerick fans would be cautiously optimistic about Taylor.

I was saying it back in March FORAS' biggest job this season was to try manage expectations, the talk of Europe was fanciful, best case scenario stuff for anyone who actually sat back and looked at your squad but typical of what you get coming out of some sections in Cork.

Like (call me a biased lunatic) but I look at Limericks squad and I look at Corks squad and I don't see where Cork are much better??

And no one but no one in Limerick would have been seriously talking us up for Europe.

I'm just not sure what you all expect given the resources available??

Someone above said a manager with a constrained budget should get the most out of players/unearth a few gems.

Well in fairness Daryl Horgan was plucked out of nowhere, two of your three man midfield are young lads that cost nothing that he's brought on, Mark McNulty has moved from laughing stock to just below average, lot of young local lads knocking around your squad, it should give a hint about the budget.

Lot of giving out about Behan as well. He's on peanuts and he works like a dog. Denis Behan money wouldn't have gotten you any better from up the country.

All the talk of only playing one up top isn't here no there these days either. Sligo only play one up top. So do Limerick. So do most clubs.

What Cork are lacking (like Limerick) is a genuine penetrative man from midfield to support the one.

Cork are also lacking a goalkeeper, a winger and a centre half.

But mainly they're lacking money.

Like don't get me wrong I don't particularly rate Tommy Dunne, I wouldn't have him near Limerick, but what's the alternative for a fan ran, financially pinched club??

You look at what he has done, with what he has available and (if you're being realistic) you kinda just have to say fair enough.

EDIT: Just looked at the table, win your game in hand against Bray and you're in fourth! Could pox Europe afterall! What exactly do you people want?!

14/04/2013, 3:39 PM
Ive heard the budget in Cork is 5k??

Not an absolute hope in hell. I know of one player on a fifth of that alone.

14/04/2013, 3:49 PM
Ive heard the budget in Cork is 5k?? Not too sure if its true but if so then hes not doing too bad

Their gate receipts alone must be double that.

14/04/2013, 5:06 PM
It seems to me that Cork fans are underestimating this Sligo team and using it as a stick to beat Dunne. From what I've seen, this Sligo team is the best since the Bohs 2008 team and if they keep going as they are they could surpass them. Cork are doing just fine and just need to keep progressing as they are. However, Limerick are the great story this season. Fantastic to have a strongly backed, competitive Limerick team in the top tier and long may it continue.

WRT budget, I would wager that both Sligo and Shams are in and around the €1m mark which, although risky, is far, far less than the €1.7m that Bohs spent only a few years ago. The balance has been restored a bit with clubs wising up and players waking up to reality.

Fivesilver
14/04/2013, 6:24 PM
I thought Cork were at least as good as I'd expected them to be at this stage. Bossed possession for periods and occasionally got on top in midfield, just lacked penetration. "Showing less respect" and "really going for it", as Eoin Hand suggested, might have meant getting riddled on the break - anyone who's seen us this season can tell you one of our best attacking scenarios is opposition corners.

Stability is crucial. We had a good few years consolidating. Seanie 'Out of Africa' Connor comfortably outspent the rest of Division 1 to get us out of there, and Cookie threw a strop or two that meant the club going cap-in-hand to the fans. But Baraclough is a pretty shrewd operator. He made it clear in the off-season that no one was irreplaceable and also told players that if they dawdled too long there would be someone else in their seat. There are plenty of guesses about our budget - the fact is none of us on this forum know - but it would make sense to believe that Baraclough is getting value for money out of any player he decided was worth keeping.

The fact that there was a league title in Cork in recent memory probably makes it hard to be patient, but another fact is that in my lifetime around half a dozen League of Ireland clubs have - for various reasons - gone out of existence in the city. Defying that mortality rate should be at least as important as stuffing the trophy cabinet in a hurry.

dong
14/04/2013, 7:04 PM
There will always be a club in Cork.
May as well push the boat out now.

14/04/2013, 8:34 PM
is it just me I didnt hear any result from the Limerick game last nite??

PartySaint
14/04/2013, 8:38 PM
I think Cork fans are being a bit harsh on their team. I think they play some nice football but are just lacking in one or two areas, not the end of the world. Dunne has done a good job in getting them promoted and then stabilising them in the premier. In saying that though, I was saying during the match that this will be his last season in charge, Cork are the best supported team in the country and should be challenging for the league every season.

Sligo are a good side but not on the same level as that Bohs 08 team IMO

marty
14/04/2013, 9:02 PM
I work with a few City fans and thats the budget been passed around,it may be true someone knows of someone on a fifth of that but there are players there playing for close to nothing,it was up to him to spread the clubs wages,even the likes of Dan Murray now has his first full time job and that comes ahead of football! As for gates of about 2k,well average that at 10 euro in and you have 20k every two weeks.Rent of turners cross and Dunnes wages coupled with travel expenses and Cork dont have a lot to play around with....Sponsers like Nissan have vanished and now some black pudding company drapes the jersey--maybe Foras see it as a sustainable business model it should be and not what some saw it in the past.Id give Dunne until the end of this season anyhow but I doubt there would be a line form for the job.

Dalymountrower
14/04/2013, 10:08 PM

Leinster won.

Candystripe
15/04/2013, 5:08 AM
Have to agree about what most are writing about Cork. They are a decent team and will probably finish between 4th and 6th and with a small budget thats pretty good.

Sligo will probably walk the league unless they get an injury crisis.

As a Derry fan I'm just delighted with how we're playing and scoring for fun but Dundalk could have been 2/3 up against us at half time and only for a stupid foul on Rafter for the penalty it could have been so different.

As for no one giving Sligo a game so far,I beg to differ,I thought they were lucky to beat us in the first game of the season,I reckon it came to early for us but still think their so much stronger than the rest of the teams.

Top 3 for Derry would make me happy but hey I'm starting to dream and if we can get a nice result on Fri v Sham rvrs then you just never know!

KK77
15/04/2013, 9:35 AM
Some result for Rovers on Friday night. Embarrassing for the opposition. One of the worst sides in the LOI in a long, long time.

Town Legend
15/04/2013, 9:40 AM

Playing Bohs tomorrow Marty.

poster
15/04/2013, 10:22 AM
Some result for Rovers on Friday night. Embarrassing for the opposition. One of the worst sides in the LOI in a long, long time.

Ah yer not that bad. Croly will get ye top 4.

15/04/2013, 11:10 AM
One of the worst sides in the LOI in a long, long time.

Galway United's horrendous year not that long ago surely?

redobit
15/04/2013, 1:30 PM
Have to agree about what most are writing about Cork. They are a decent team and will probably finish between 4th and 6th and with a small budget thats pretty good.

Sligo will probably walk the league unless they get an injury crisis.

As a Derry fan I'm just delighted with how we're playing and scoring for fun but Dundalk could have been 2/3 up against us at half time and only for a stupid foul on Rafter for the penalty it could have been so different.

As for no one giving Sligo a game so far,I beg to differ,I thought they were lucky to beat us in the first game of the season,I reckon it came to early for us but still think their so much stronger than the rest of the teams.

Top 3 for Derry would make me happy but hey I'm starting to dream and if we can get a nice result on Fri v Sham rvrs then you just never know!

That's the thing. North, Ventre, Peers, Ndo, Davoren and Conneely are out or just coming back. Here's a stat that bodes well for us: Last season we won 17 out of 31 games to clinch the title. This season we are nearly half way to 17 wins and the first series of games still has 3 games left.