View Full Version : Series 1 - 2013

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

NeverFeltBetter
10/03/2013, 6:50 PM
I would have sworn the crowd was way bigger, but the large amount of green outside the stadium, long queue and my seat (at the far end of the stand) must have skewed my perception.

adamd164
10/03/2013, 6:57 PM
I was in the away section, so hard to judge, but I reckon we had minimum 1000 there of the 3500 crowd.

Also, both sets of supporters should be in the one stand! I said it when it was first announced that Limerick would play in Thomond, and I've been saying it since, It aint rocket science...

legendz
10/03/2013, 7:06 PM
I was in the away section, so hard to judge, but I reckon we had minimum 1000 there of the 3500 crowd.

Also, both sets of supporters should be in the one stand! I said it when it was first announced that Limerick would play in Thomond, and I've been saying it since, It aint rocket science...

I don't agree with that. I think they have it right on that score. They probably need to prepare ahead of Shamrock Rovers coming to Thomond Park as well. I've never been to a Shamrock Rovers game. On the over half hour it took to get into today's game, all supporters only had negatives things to say about Shamrock Rovers. All talk was on the amount of gardai and stewards that will be needed for that game. What's the story with all that? Is there much truth in all that based on people's experiences?

10/03/2013, 7:08 PM
Personally, I'd worry about a few other clubs before I'd worry about Shamrock Rovers.

NeverFeltBetter
10/03/2013, 7:12 PM
Well, Shams and Limerick used to have this awful tendency to break out in fights after games back in the Markets Field days, so plenty of guards/officials might have memories of that.

10/03/2013, 7:12 PM
Far easier for Limerick and Thomond Park to put large numbers of away fans in West Stand.

Between 6 and 7 hundred Cork fans imo I'll find exact figures later if im pushed.

Small point but could have sworn twas 3758 announced delighted with it either way, ques outside ground were mad but we'll learn

10/03/2013, 7:13 PM
Personally, I'd worry about a few other clubs before I'd worry about Shamrock Rovers.

UCD and???

White Horse
10/03/2013, 7:13 PM
I don't agree with that. I think they have it right on that score. They probably need to prepare ahead of Shamrock Rovers coming to Thomond Park as well. I've never been to a Shamrock Rovers game. On the over half hour it took to get into today's game, all supporters only had negatives things to say about Shamrock Rovers. All talk was on the amount of gardai and stewards that will be needed for that game. What's the story with all that? Is there much truth in all that based on people's experiences?

They were very quiet in Oriel Park on Friday.

The Gardai had a few police dogs outside the ground. No sign of police horses as in previous years. Perhaps the cutbacks have something to do with it.

Once segregation is good and they come and go from a different entrance/exit, there should be no problem.

adamd164
10/03/2013, 7:14 PM
I don't agree with that. I think they have it right on that score.
Well you had a mostly empty stand facing the TV cameras and 1000+ away fans in the stand under the camera who can't be seen, it makes it look worse on TV.

Anyway, I couldn't really care what Limerick decide to do from now on.

On the game itself - thought it was very poor and scrappy. Probably wasn't great viewing on TV.

peterpan
10/03/2013, 7:18 PM
According to rte it was 3578

10/03/2013, 7:26 PM
UCD and???

Salthill of course.

NeverFeltBetter
10/03/2013, 7:29 PM
Those Salthill fans are crazy dangerous. They way they can turn invisible, boggles the mind.

legendz
10/03/2013, 7:34 PM
Far easier for Limerick and Thomond Park to put large numbers of away fans in West Stand.

Between 6 and 7 hundred Cork fans imo I'll find exact figures later if im pushed.

Small point but could have sworn twas 3758 announced delighted with it either way, ques outside ground were mad but we'll learn
Yeah, that was the official announcement. Were kids in free or what. Most reckoned it was 5000 easily.

Well you had a mostly empty stand facing the TV cameras and 1000+ away fans in the stand under the camera who can't be seen, it makes it look worse on TV.

Anyway, I couldn't really care what Limerick decide to do from now on.

On the game itself - thought it was very poor and scrappy. Probably wasn't great viewing on TV.
It's probably best for stewarding reasons for the way it is. Fair point regards TV but sure it's a minor point I wouldn't worry about.

bluewhitearmy
10/03/2013, 7:36 PM
Yeah, that was the official announcement. Were kids in free or what. Most reckoned it was 5000 easily.

It's probably best for stewarding reasons for the way it is. Fair point regards TV but sure it's a minor point I wouldn't worry about.
A few clubs got in free I know that.

peadar1987
10/03/2013, 7:37 PM

I don't think Bray games really give a true picture of the hooligan element in Irish football, but the only trouble I've ever seen is with St. Pat's fans. Throwing coins at the linesmen, and a bottle at me!

Oh, and Mons and their wall-wrecking antics. The LOI's better off without them! ;)

10/03/2013, 8:24 PM
The crowd at limerick cork i would have said went past the 4g mark but happy overall considering it was -9......i **** you not. Some ppl left it was so cold, and two had to be brought to the regional.

10/03/2013, 8:31 PM
I actually thought it was a pretty good game, plenty nice football played in the middle. Looked decent on tv.

Pablo Escobar
10/03/2013, 8:39 PM
The crowd was definitely above the official attendance. They ran out of tickets and left most of the City fans in by cash and they certainly weren't counting them. We brought a big crowd, but I thing the 3758 was Limericks support alone and didnt include us.

10/03/2013, 8:40 PM
also lads id like to point out that not one....NONE of Pat Scullys signings made that team today. Granted he wasn't permitted to sign any in the last 15 months of his reign due his way of bringing in rubbish. Missing today were two of the back four and main striker so felt we were a bit powder puff up front

adamd164
10/03/2013, 8:51 PM
also lads id like to point out that not one....NONE of Pat Scullys signings made that team today.
Who signed Gamble?

peterpan
10/03/2013, 8:57 PM
Barry Ryan, Brian o Callaghan, joe gamble, David o Leary, Stephen Bradley, Shane Tracey?????

10/03/2013, 8:58 PM
JP McManus.

Hes on two grand a week you know.

redarmyfaction
10/03/2013, 9:17 PM
There is a very unpleasant set of Minks attached themselves to Shams but the horsemen of the apocalypse they ain't.

10/03/2013, 9:41 PM
It's true. All those Linfield fans who were clashing with the Gards on Monday and who threw the banger at a horse... undercover nordie Shamrock Rovers fans the lot of them. You can spot them by their union flag umbrellas.

placid casual
10/03/2013, 9:58 PM
and the guy who drove princess of hearts, lady di to her death... Rovers fan.
and the pilot on the hindenberg -milltown road casual.
and security in the magdelene laundries - you guessed it. Rovers stewards .

on the other hand limerick and its denizens are like the irish version of christendom, only with added bulmers. and drugs. and knives.and travellers.etc etc etc...

10/03/2013, 10:51 PM
Barry Ryan, (club) Brian o Callaghan,(prior to scully) joe gamble,(club) David o Leary,(under 19 coach) Stephen Bradley, (club)Shane Tracey (club)?????

any more you wanna ask....more football played today in 90 mins then his four years of dross

redarmyfaction
10/03/2013, 11:06 PM
It's true. All those Linfield fans who were clashing with the Gards on Monday and who threw the banger at a horse... undercover nordie Shamrock Rovers fans the lot of them. You can spot them by their union flag umbrellas.

True ye aren't the only player in the arsehole game but ye provide enough and whataboutery won't cure that.

10/03/2013, 11:15 PM
Just politely requesting that the self-righteousness be dialled down a touch.

10/03/2013, 11:58 PM
Just politely requesting that the self-righteousness be dialled down a touch.

I applaud your self-restraint Charlie.

Not one mention of sh1te on a coach.

bluewhitearmy
11/03/2013, 12:35 AM
Ive been in with Rovers fans a good few times. Great lads imo i think some things involving them are blown out of all proportion. I could imagine the uproar if they racially abused a lad like the Shels fans did in Bray.

El-Pietro
11/03/2013, 9:18 AM
Only 300 away tickets printed apparently. They surely should have been expecting more than that. The stewarding was well over the top as well, telling fans who were chanting they wouldn't get in if they didn't stop, wouldnt let us hang up our flags anywhere, and it took 20 minutes before we could persuade them to let us bring the drum in.

Definitely Thomond security, not Limerick. They don't seem to understand Football fans.

11/03/2013, 9:25 AM
Only 300 away tickets printed apparently. They surely should have been expecting more than that. The stewarding was well over the top as well, telling fans who were chanting they wouldn't get in if they didn't stop, wouldnt let us hang up our flags anywhere, and it took 20 minutes before we could persuade them to let us bring the drum in.

Definitely Thomond security, not Limerick. They don't seem to understand Football fans.

Security was definitely over the top for both fans, just the way they were eyeballing fans was unsettling at times.

Tickets were also sent down to cork at the start of last week for sale. Don't know the exact numbers but those tickets plus what was printed yesterday surely exceeded 300.

On the flags, a notice was put up for cork fans a week and a half before kick off stating the north terrace would be open for cork fans to hang up flags etc... And that both clubs have worked together to agree on names of people that would allowed access to the terrace to hang the displays.

El-Pietro
11/03/2013, 9:43 AM
On the flags, a notice was put up for cork fans a week and a half before kick off stating the north terrace would be open for cork fans to hang up flags etc... And that both clubs have worked together to agree on names of people that would allowed access to the terrace to hang the displays.
My name was on that list.

That whole list thing was ridiculous to start with.

11/03/2013, 9:44 AM
Bray goal disallowed for offside.

Edit: Shels don't get a goal that crossed the line.

Edit edit: Goal for Bray.

1-0

When did this happen?

Sean South
11/03/2013, 9:49 AM
What a load of rubbish. Anyone who agrees to that or give their name is a grade A mong. Over the top security always results a backlash.

NeverFeltBetter
11/03/2013, 9:51 AM
The security, yeah, wasn't expecting that. Patted down, metal detector, empty the pockets and open the jacket. Lady at T2 turnstile told me take all money out of my pockets, when I had fished out every bit of bronze she just chuckled and moved me on. That was strange. Standard practice in the Premier Division, or did Thomond staff just have a paranoid day? Because I know it isn't in the First.

White Horse
11/03/2013, 10:02 AM
The security, yeah, wasn't expecting that. Patted down, metal detector, empty the pockets and open the jacket. Lady at T2 turnstile told me take all money out of my pockets, when I had fished out every bit of bronze she just chuckled and moved me on. That was strange. Standard practice in the Premier Division, or did Thomond staff just have a paranoid day? Because I know it isn't in the First.

I won't be visiting Thomond if that is the case.

They wouldn't do that to the eggchasers.

NeverFeltBetter
11/03/2013, 10:14 AM
My own personal experience wasn't hostile mind, the stewards weren't being condescending or aggressive, just checking every single person while hundreds queued to get through one turnstile. What El-Pietro said above is far more concerning.

adamd164
11/03/2013, 10:18 AM
Shame about the UEFA rules re: bringing beer into the stands. Went to the game with my dad, and it was nice to be able to get a pint in the stand pre-match. Would have warmed the cockles somewhat to be allowed like the civilised rugger buggers to bring one into the stand for the game.

Part of the problem yesterday was they only opened the gate (at least the away gate) 1 hour before kick off. We got there early, and had to walk in the rain about a mile to the nearest bar. Came back at half 4 and there was still a massive throng waiting outside to be let in! They'd have made a killing if they opened the gate at say 3pm.

Also, I've never experienced that level of coldness at an LOI game. Not in Bray, not in Cobh, never. Absolutely freezing. Thomond is a bit of a wind tunnel because of the 2 stands and open areas behind the goals - any time there's strong wind, the match will suffer.

sheao
11/03/2013, 10:29 AM
Draw seemed a good result in the end. Both sides tried to get the ball down a play.

From City's persective we moved the ball around fairly well but did'nt test Barry Ryan enough in the Limerick goal. Daryl Horgan had a brilliant chance in the first half but other than that we did nt create any clear cut chances for me. Still though the signs are encouraging for City that improvements will be made on last year.

Limerick will be a potential banana skin for every club going down to Thomand I think. They have some very good attacking players with Curran, Galbraith and
Bossekota. They should have more than enough to surivive and I think they will finish top half.

People I spoke to last night said they thought it was a pretty good game to watch on tv.

adamd164
11/03/2013, 10:29 AM
Reflecting on the game itself, despite the conditions and the fact that the game was a bit scrappy, I think Limerick will be a strong PD side this year. They looked solid in midfield with Gamble and O'Leary. The winger Bossekota looks like he'll cause teams problems.

The right full (Nzuzi?) looked suspect, I kept roaring for us to get the ball out left so that Daryl Horgan could take him on... he got an early booking and I thought we missed a trick by not testing him more.

Briuk
11/03/2013, 10:51 AM
Personally I didn't like Bossekota, he was very selfish. In my opinion Curran was the best player for limerick.

Horgan started great, but their second half was poor

11/03/2013, 12:25 PM
When did this happen?

Just before ye scored.
I was standing down the Quinnsboro end side-on at the corner flag and the 'keeper was across the line when the ball went into him. Anyone near me could swear it crossed the line too. I may be proved wrong by MNS tonight though.

It would have been completely unjust though. We were so abysmal so no-one really was protesting about it thereafter I suppose.

11/03/2013, 3:26 PM
Nobody commenting on the appalling surface at Thomond?

patrickccfc
11/03/2013, 3:38 PM
Nobody commenting on the appalling surface at Thomond?
was bad in some parts alright but to be expected i guess being a rugby stadium.. wonder will the few hundred ucd fans have any problems;)

NeverFeltBetter
11/03/2013, 3:57 PM
Still a step-up from Jackman.

11/03/2013, 4:07 PM
was bad in some parts alright but to be expected i guess being a rugby stadium.. wonder will the few hundred ucd fans have any problems;)
Lots of football teams play in rugby stadiums - most don't have the luxury of an eight-day turnaround. It was simply in horrendous condition.

patrickccfc
11/03/2013, 4:07 PM
yeah true.. just looking back at the game now raging at that miss by daryl horgan and questioning just what mark mcnulty was thinking challenging over by the corner flag.. could hear our chanting very well

bluewhitearmy
11/03/2013, 4:20 PM
Lots of football teams play in rugby stadiums - most don't have the luxury of an eight-day turnaround. It was simply in horrendous condition.

Talking to some of the players and they said it was fine.

PartySaint
11/03/2013, 4:21 PM
I don't think Bray games really give a true picture of the hooligan element in Irish football, but the only trouble I've ever seen is with St. Pat's fans. Throwing coins at the linesmen, and a bottle at me!

Oh, and Mons and their wall-wrecking antics. The LOI's better off without them! ;)

They were Rovers fans dressed up as Pats fans. If you don't believe that then it was the stewards fault and if that doesn't suffice then well there is no actual bus from Inchicore to Bray so there is no way we had fans at that game.

Seriously tho, when was this? I have no memory of this happening (not saying it didn't)