08/03/2013, 7:29 PM
Come on Shams. ffs.

08/03/2013, 7:57 PM
UCD level with Bohs.

08/03/2013, 8:10 PM
Bray goal disallowed for offside.

Edit: Shels don't get a goal that crossed the line.

Edit edit: Goal for Bray.

1-0

08/03/2013, 8:12 PM
Cherrie saves a Rovers peno

08/03/2013, 8:13 PM
Come on Shams. ffs.
I thought you were better than that, Bonnie.

08/03/2013, 8:22 PM
I thought you were better than that, Bonnie.

When I see your name pop up as the last poster over this side I start to worry.

They were the only ones ruining my accumulator at that stage.
Bohs and Shels have made it moot at this stage though.

08/03/2013, 8:27 PM
dont see it mentioned but 2-1 to Bohs since 65'

08/03/2013, 8:37 PM
Dane Massey sent off for Dundalk, second yellow.

08/03/2013, 8:39 PM
Dundalk 0-0 Sham Rovers FT

adamd164
08/03/2013, 8:41 PM
I said I wouldn't do a bet on the first series but I've changed my mind..

St Pat's v Drogheda

Drogheda (draw no bet) - 7/4 with Paddy Power.
Ah well! Wouldn't be the opening weekend without a loss. Fair play to Pat's.

Bad start for Shamrock tonight.

Fivesilver
08/03/2013, 8:48 PM
Bit of a desperate rearguard action for us in the closing stages, but three points from the Brandywell is a decent way to start the season.

08/03/2013, 8:53 PM
Dane Massey sent off for Dundalk, second yellow.
He took one for the team.
Respect.

bullit
08/03/2013, 9:04 PM
He took one for the team.
Respect.
He took two.Double respect
Both times players in on goal.

08/03/2013, 9:20 PM
more points after one game this season than we managed in the first 6 games of last season (iirc)!

Not a bad attendance either for UCD at home (officially just shy of 1400).

dong
08/03/2013, 9:22 PM
Nice....
Great start to the season.

White Horse
08/03/2013, 9:34 PM
Good game at Oriel Park.

Two evenly matched teams, both trying to play football.

08/03/2013, 9:35 PM
This weekend I really like:

Longford to beat Salthill @1.5 odds are too big
Athlone at home to beat Mervue @1.9 Same as above
Finn Harps to beat waterford @4.5 and Finn Harps DC @1.93 Same as above

Odds with Laddies.
So far, so good!

gormacha
08/03/2013, 9:56 PM
Early season optimism lasted 40 minutes. Totally in charge, and then not. 1-1 a fair result. Fair play to the Harps' lads who made a right old din.

NeverFeltBetter
08/03/2013, 10:03 PM
Shels need to get this red card problem in check. Sounded like Bohs made hard work of it even with the man advantage.

Dave77
08/03/2013, 10:07 PM
great to be back going to games but it will be a long season for shels, bray were playing better even when it was 11v11 which wasn't for long.

wonder88
08/03/2013, 10:08 PM
Don't bet that often but a nice way to start the season
Gone for Pats and Bohs win and draw between Dundalk and Rovers, treble. I was out at Salthill v Longford, 5-0 to the visitors would like to know what Longford fans thought of it about 20-25 of them there.

08/03/2013, 10:34 PM
Good performance from Pats, although the same problem as last year seems to be still prevalent, lack of cutting edge up front. We were superb for the first 20 minutes or so(couple of superb touches from Forrester), Drogs got to grips a bit more after that, but we deserved the win.

Keen2win
08/03/2013, 10:43 PM
Good performance from Pats, although the same problem as last year seems to be still prevalent, lack of cutting edge up front. We were superb for the first 20 minutes or so(couple of superb touches from Forrester), Drogs got to grips a bit more after that, but we deserved the win.

Up there with the best 20 minutes I have ever seen in loi, sexy, sexy football.

08/03/2013, 10:47 PM

Are Pats playing one up front or more of a 4-3-3? Are the chances being created and just not taking them?

bullit
08/03/2013, 10:51 PM
Up there with the best 20 minutes I have ever seen in loi, sexy, sexy football.

Yeah 20 mins of S-E-X-Y football will win trophies...:rolleyes: ffs!

bluewhitearmy
08/03/2013, 10:52 PM

Where did he mention anything about winning trophies :rolleyes:.

08/03/2013, 10:55 PM
more points after one game this season than we managed in the first 6 games of last season (iirc)!
Enjoy them while you can! Bohs look a fairly poor side. Only ye were gifted a red card (didn't even think it was a penalty, let alone a red), it would have been a different game. We were the better side up until then (4 corners v none, for example). The ref did try even it up with an at best soft penalty for us, but the man difference told in the end.

Started off slowly, but ended up as not a bad game of ball in the end. Dalyer pitch very heavy though.

oriel
08/03/2013, 11:05 PM
Decent game tonight, Dundalk played good stuff at times, kept ball on the deck, matched Rovers in m/f and we will new the much happier side with a draw. A good start and things looking fairly positive for the season ahead.

I thought Rovers looked a bit tired actually, probably won't be too concerned with the draw but I don't think they did enough to win it.

Good crowd too, i was hoping for 2,000 so very pleased to hear that figure announced of 2598. Good buzz around the place before during and after the game, the new owners in their first full season very visible mingling with the fans.

A good nights work for us that's for sure, and the cheers at full time told the story about how miserable all of last season really was.

bullit
08/03/2013, 11:08 PM
Where did he mention anything about winning trophies :rolleyes:.
The tone/ of the post is just plain fcuking stupid :rolleyes: roll eyes back at at ya ;0

White Horse
08/03/2013, 11:56 PM
Rovers penalty.

Dundalk players were convinced the foul occurred outside the box.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/601495_10152634102710858_32623361_n.jpg

Town Legend
08/03/2013, 11:58 PM
Don't bet that often but a nice way to start the season. I was out at Salthill v Longford, 5-0 to the visitors would like to know what Longford fans thought of it about 20-25 of them there.

I thought we started quite well, got the early goal then for some reason we forgot to play ball. Came out a different team in second half and dominated it with 4 well taken goals which also included a David O'Sullivan hat-trick. He looks a real find as does Josh O'Hanlon who came on and scored the third. Tyrell really stood out for me at left full as did Treacy at right full. Good start to the season and hopefully the injuries Shaw and Quinn suffered in first half aren't too serious.

Tonight was my first time in Drom and have to say the pitch looked in top shape tonight although the road leading down to it less so. I've travelled down better bog lanes!!

Real Rover
09/03/2013, 12:40 AM
How did John Dillon do tonight?

Dillonman
09/03/2013, 1:01 AM

did alright. the whole match was a midfield battle so not alot of space. got a bad knock and didnt look to be running freely after and was subbed with about 20mins to go.

adamd164
09/03/2013, 1:01 AM
I'm not being funny, and fair play to them for the effort, but this video is cringe!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3hq_Q3wEEI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=N3hq_Q3wEEI#!)

bullit
09/03/2013, 1:09 AM
He was ok,nothing spectacular.Flitted in and out of the game and was subbed for John Mountney with 20 left.
I like Dillon,he has a good attitude but needs to concentrate more.Also one of the nicest guys you could meet off the pitch.
Despite him not playing well tonight(or just ok) he is a player that i believe will deliver for Dundalk in the future.

09/03/2013, 2:14 AM
great to be back going to games but it will be a long season for shels, bray were playing better even when it was 11v11 which wasn't for long.

Pretty much gonna post this!

It was great to be back at games.

But that was pure gash.

I'm petrified for the rest of the season. If Bray can skin us like that we'll be wishing for a play-off come October.

Keen2win
09/03/2013, 6:41 AM

You're an idiot.

bullit
09/03/2013, 6:50 AM
Aye :)

bullit
09/03/2013, 7:00 AM
That message was dead sexy,and the 5 intervening minutes were the bhesst ever,sexy as fcuk,do it again ;)

You're an idiot.

White Horse
09/03/2013, 9:05 AM

John Dillon is going to divide Dundalk fans.

I thought he was fantastic. He performed a playmaker role, sitting quite deep and dictating play. He always found space and Shams couldn't close him down.

Fivesilver
09/03/2013, 9:21 AM
He was the best player on the pitch in our opener against Shels last season, then all but disappeared for the rest of the year until a crucial cameo against Pats the day we won the league. If you can get him consistently doing what he's capable of, he's got plenty of quality and will be well worth having.

09/03/2013, 9:36 AM
John Dillon is going to divide Dundalk fans.Same as here then. Has talent but rarely uses it, not good enough and glad he was released by us.

jinxy lilywhite
09/03/2013, 11:08 AM
What a difference a year makes for us. The atmospehere around the oriel, the feel good factor of having a good squad, good manager and new owners have injected life into the Old lady of Oriel Park. the feeling that everyone is pulling in the same direction, we are all in this together and we'll win lose or draw as a team.

We are going to exceed all expectations of us this season, comfortably mid table, we wont get hockeyed 5 or 6 nil by anyone. no one will want to play us and all of our boys seem to be comfortable on the ball, tidy in possesion and play very intelliegently

Dillon had a good first half for us. looked for the ball, showed some skill and was neat and tidy in possession. took a knock in the at the end of the first half and didnt really recover in the 2nd.

i'm very impressed by us for the first game of the season. we played some terrific stuff and didnt look out of place against the champions elect. The penalty miss and hoban taking sheppard down was the only time rovers really threathened us. Actually i was pretty dissappointed with their performance and even their supporters where very very quiet last night.

Long live King Kenny

09/03/2013, 11:28 AM
Comfortable win for us, with some impressive debut performances. Josh O'Hanlon especially impressed me, he is only 17 and coming back to full fitness after a recent injury and looks like a potential star in the making. Could prove to be a right good find as the season progresses. Davey O'Sullivan could score a lot of goals (hopefully) at first division level too.

Can't be stated how crap Salthill actually were though. Their left winger and number 8 in the midfield were half decent footballers, but everyone around them was terrible.

Fivesilver
09/03/2013, 11:33 AM
i'm very impressed by us for the first game of the season. we played some terrific stuff and didnt look out of place against the champions elect.

A week-and-a-half and you'll get another chance to check on the progress, this time against the champions without the elect bit

09/03/2013, 11:39 AM
Sloppy enough game in RSC last night. Waterford controlling the first half. Harps bring on McCarron at half time, changes the game, and Harps control the second half.
Bad mistake in defence for Waterford goal, and the Waterford defence fell asleep to let McCarron through for the Harps goal.
McHugh almost sneaking it 2 minutes later with a beauty of a free kick would have been the icing on the cake.

Good atmosphere, good crowd, and a thoroughly enjoyable away trip. Although I'm devastatingly hoarse today.

Ezeikial
09/03/2013, 11:44 AM
A week-and-a-half and you'll get another chance to check on the progress, this time against the champions without the elect bit

Very informative post.

Thanks to your intervention, I now know who won the league in 2012 and who Dundalk play in 3 games time. My life is now complete.

adamd164
09/03/2013, 11:59 AM
Apparently some Shels fans were giving racist abuse to Bray's Ismahil Akinade. Also monkey taunts.

What a horrible little club.

bluewhitearmy
09/03/2013, 12:42 PM
Did Bayly try to fight Shels fans lastnight?

09/03/2013, 1:43 PM
Apparently some Shels fans were giving racist abuse to Bray's Ismahil Akinade. Also monkey taunts.

What a horrible little club.

Heard that as well. Nothing down the Quinnsboro Road end. We had a couple of scrotes at the game. Not a nice atmosphere amongst us at the game tbh.

I think I'll be avoiding the Dublin Derbies if the shirtiness at a Bray goal is anything to go by.