View Full Version : A few things.....

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

02/05/2013, 8:11 PM
Des Hope is from Ballinasloe afaik. Which is not in Kildare, you've been in England too long Pauro.

03/05/2013, 7:47 AM
Des Hope is from Ballinasloe afaik. Which is not in Kildare, you've been in England too long Pauro.

To be fair though...

http://extratime.ie/player/596/des_hope/

Extratime has Dessie down as Kildare born. Went with that one, even I know where Ballinasloe is. :cool:

Oh if anyone has a pic of William Tyrell, let us know...

03/05/2013, 7:50 AM
I'm pretty sure they're wrong. He's always banging on about Ballinasloe on Twitter. He may have been born in Kildare but that doesn't mean he's from there.

03/05/2013, 9:04 AM
I'm pretty sure they're wrong. He's always banging on about Ballinasloe on Twitter. He may have been born in Kildare but that doesn't mean he's from there.

I shall correct this appalling oversight. I'm sure the man himself will be gutted!

03/05/2013, 9:32 AM
I'm sure it's very important to him.

Battery Rover
03/05/2013, 2:44 PM

Des lives in Ballinasloe but was born in Kildare

03/05/2013, 2:59 PM
Des lives in Ballinasloe but was born in Kildare

But where would you say he's from though? ;)

04/05/2013, 10:17 AM
But where would you say he's from though? ;)

You'd have to ask him that, I live in Longford but was born in England :)

Keen2win
04/05/2013, 6:38 PM
Brits out!

fitzpatrick10
12/05/2013, 4:41 PM
according to a few on twitter we have signed noel mcgee from athlone, any truth behind this

13/05/2013, 5:11 PM
according to a few on twitter we have signed noel mcgee from athlone, any truth behind this

I also heard at the game we signed him, an Athlone fan on Twitter told me he fell out with roddy and is signing for us in July, however Paul Hunt told me on Instagram that this is not true so take your pick Twitter, Facebook or Instagram haha

fitzpatrick10
28/05/2013, 7:20 AM
so with mcdonagh suspened and havo picking up a knock( not sure how serious) were soon down to a bones of a squad so does anyone know what is the story with corie treacy, is he still injured or what ?... also heard that nkololo could be on the way out and lee still isnt 100% and then ders colly james... we could do with picking up a few players in the transfer window

28/05/2013, 9:57 AM
Thought it was very strange Nkolo not been around for the last few games. Treacy should surely be back soon but Des Hope has suffered a set back and will be out for at least another 3 or 4 weeks. I said it all pre-season long that we needed to sign a RB and a LB as cover because thats where we had no injury back up at all last season but once again we failed to do so. Looks like Salmo will have to play RB if Havo is injured but t least that might free up a place for Gavin Doyle who is extremely unlucky not to be in the starting 11. There's certaintly 1 or 2 players we can let go in July to free up funds for a few new faces.

28/05/2013, 12:38 PM
Two players for each position plus one or two that can play there if needed is as much as you can expect on a small budget. It's just unfortunate that Treacy, Lee, Haverty, McDonagh and Hope are all out at the same time. Plus player X of course. Deans is ok for a game or two.

28/05/2013, 3:53 PM
Well there's certainty an opportunity coming up in the transfer window to get rid of a few unneeded players and to rectify those positions.

fitzpatrick10
28/05/2013, 5:36 PM
also our we palying athlone away on friday or sat as ltfc says sat n athlone n extratime say friday...

28/05/2013, 6:17 PM
Well there's certainty an opportunity coming up in the transfer window to get rid of a few unneeded players and to rectify those positions.

TC has usually been accomodated when he's wanted to freshen things up a bit in the July window since he's been here so i'm sure there'll be some movement in and out. Until then we have to make do with what we have and try and get lads back.

atfconline
28/05/2013, 6:32 PM
also our we palying athlone away on friday or sat as ltfc says sat n athlone n extratime say friday...

Friday 14th @ 19:45.

28/05/2013, 6:46 PM
TC has usually been accomodated when he's wanted to freshen things up a bit in the July window since he's been here so i'm sure there'll be some movement in and out. Until then we have to make do with what we have and try and get lads back.

Ye I agree, when Treacy comes back it will be a massive boost as he can play RB or CB and hes equally as excellent in both positions.

28/05/2013, 10:15 PM

that messes up my chance of goin to the game.. damn your fri night!

28/05/2013, 10:17 PM
why has nkolo not played the last few weeks? section o's track record of sponsoring players isnt very good as normally they leave after we sponsor a player! rem garto anyone?

Town Legend
28/05/2013, 11:14 PM
why has nkolo not played the last few weeks? section o's track record of sponsoring players isnt very good as normally they leave after we sponsor a player! rem garto anyone?

Thank god ye didn't sponsor O'Sullivan ;)

Keen2win
29/05/2013, 7:52 AM
that messes up my chance of goin to the game.. damn your fri night!

Why aren't you around Marty?

29/05/2013, 10:29 PM
Why aren't you around Marty?

I am working in Citywest that Friday evening and am not entitled to hols until contract extended!

30/05/2013, 6:45 AM

Changed now on the website, cheers!

30/05/2013, 4:25 PM
Are Ireland not playing that night no?

fitzpatrick10
30/05/2013, 6:40 PM
11/06/2013
Fr
http://www.fai.ie/images/stories/crests/country_icons/ireland.gif
Rep of Ireland
V
Spain
http://www.fai.ie/images/stories/crests/country_icons/esp.gif
New York

31/05/2013, 10:04 AM
Sorry I thought the Athlone game was next Friday and was clashing with the Faroe's game....A week ahead of myself :)

Town Legend
07/06/2013, 9:30 AM
I heard a rumour that Michael Lee has retired.

07/06/2013, 10:11 AM
I heard a rumour that Michael Lee has retired.

Really? I'd be shocked if that was the case.

07/06/2013, 3:05 PM
He has, or at least that's what hes been saying himself for a few weeks now..

07/06/2013, 5:20 PM
Could do with signing a left back in the window so. Ideally someone who could cover either side, though good ones are hard to find in fairness.

L.T.F.C.
08/06/2013, 4:30 AM
I'm right here fellas.

08/06/2013, 10:19 AM
Ah that's a shame, I think had he got the move to Carlise that time he was on trial he would have went on to make a good career for himself. That means we now have no local players :( Agree that someone that can play both sides would be very useful

08/06/2013, 10:25 AM
I'm right here fellas.

http://www.reactiongifs.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/mind_blown.gif

08/06/2013, 9:51 PM
heard tonight that mick will be let go in july.. awful pity will miss the chats with him after last season when he had to go into wexford hospital and I had to escort him home!

09/06/2013, 10:09 AM
heard tonight that mick will be let go in july.. awful pity will miss the chats with him after last season when he had to go into wexford hospital and I had to escort him home!

Yea hes a top lad always up 4 a chat and a joke, best of luck to him in the future.

10/07/2013, 8:26 PM
Seeing as this seems to be a thread for things not worth new threads I'll stick this in here

http://irishnewsreview.net/2013/07/10/successful-ddsl-coach-snapped-up-by-longford/

Interesting article, aside from it grating a bit that players being offered trials in England is listed an achievement. Good to see the club investing in its youth structures though. I know that's something Jim Hanley has spoken about as a priority for the club before.

Keen2win
11/07/2013, 2:09 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmTStGfsP00 Are they behind this, because whoever is behind this should be first team manager

Keen2win
11/07/2013, 2:34 AM
Just looking at a few more videos on that channel, and I'm all smiles. This lad seems great, and I wish him the best of luck! Wonder if there are any local lads in the team?

L.T.F.C.
11/07/2013, 4:05 AM
Is that TC watching on in the red in that vid?

Bosco
11/07/2013, 8:48 AM
Very promising stuff and I am delighted that the club are finally taking the youth system seriously. A good youth system which will hopefully develop more of a link with the community is exactly what the club should strive for in the future!

From what I heard theres only one local lad, Joe Lawrence...

Town Legend
11/07/2013, 5:04 PM
There was more passes on the ground in that 7-8 mins than what our senior side have put together all season....still, we're top of the table so I suppose I shouldn't be complaining!!