View Full Version : 2013 squad & transfer rumours
23/01/2013, 10:49 PM
Never rated him very highly, he struggled last year when called upon, but he has been at the club for a long time, originally came with fellow drogs Danny O'Connor and Andy Myler iirc.. He probably has his eyes set on a management job in the future so good luck to him
Yeah he arrived with Myler and O'Connor in 2005 I think. It seems so long ago. Was it one season or two he had with us the first time? I can't recall. This will be his third season back?
24/01/2013, 5:15 PM
Yeah he arrived with Myler and O'Connor in 2005 I think. It seems so long ago. Was it one season or two he had with us the first time? I can't recall. This will be his third season back?
gary cronin played the 05 and 06 seasons for us. This is his fourth season back as he played 2010,2011,2012 and this coming season. He played against us when we met Bray in the Fai cup in 09!
24/01/2013, 7:03 PM
Jaysus. Nice guy by all accounts and a great example to the younger lads of keeping fit etc but he's not really provided any memorable moments for us in his five seasons. Positive ones anyway. Still if he has something to offer as a coach then let him at it.
27/01/2013, 7:17 PM
We got €5k for Crawley according to The Daily Star today. Better than nothing, he wasn't with us very long really.
L.T.F.C.
27/01/2013, 9:44 PM
Thats great!
28/01/2013, 10:44 AM
I'm sure Pats got a few quid too. Was there for 3/4 years
28/01/2013, 1:10 PM
Do you still get training compensation if you release the player rather than him leaving at the end of a contract? I did look at the regulations recently but I can't remember the specifics.
I'd only be guessing, but I think that even if Pats waived any claim on him so he could sign for Longford, they'd still be entitled to money if he moved on.
L.T.F.C.
28/01/2013, 1:51 PM
Do you still get training compensation if you release the player rather than him leaving at the end of a contract? I did look at the regulations recently but I can't remember the specifics.
Good question. Not sure if pats get anything in that case.
28/01/2013, 2:03 PM
The buying club pays the money to the FAI for distribution I believe so I'm sure they're all over it!
28/01/2013, 4:41 PM
The buying club pays the money to the FAI for distribution I believe so I'm sure they're all over it!
Dont ya just love how all the money goes through mr delaneys office :)
05/02/2013, 8:01 PM
I see our new striker David O'Sullivan won the FAI Intermediate Player of the Year at the FAI awards at the weekend. Fair play to him. In other less welcome news Craig Hyland has now signed for Waterford which is a bit annoying. Never good to see a decent player leave to join a direct rival but he has to do what suits him best of obviously. Can only hope he has a stinker every time we play them but does well generally!
L.T.F.C.
05/02/2013, 8:05 PM
I'll be very surprised if we are even near the top come the end of the season.
05/02/2013, 8:10 PM
I'd imagine this is TC's last shot at getting us up and I think he'd agree with that himself. To be honest I'll reserve judgment until the real stuff starts and we get a look at how the squad is performing. Lower expectations may be no harm. Wouldn't mind seeing one or two more brought in to strengthen us a bit though.
L.T.F.C.
05/02/2013, 8:47 PM
I might go as far to say that he won't last the season.
Keen2win
05/02/2013, 9:02 PM
He deserves this chance, but this should be the last chance.
The brand of football isn't the best, we are probably going in slightly the wrong direction.
05/02/2013, 9:06 PM
I thought Hyland had joined Cliftonville or someone in the IL?
Keen2win
05/02/2013, 9:10 PM
Cancelled his contract with Crusaders seemingly
05/02/2013, 10:15 PM
I know we all like to moan about the style of football but if we get up and stay up then after a few years we can moan but for now getting up is all that matters. I really hope we can do it coz im physically sick of this division! Hyland going to Waterford is a disaster, TC will regret letting him go the way he did yet.
06/02/2013, 6:59 PM
Cancelled his contract with Crusaders seemingly
there was a good piece in the sun on him today. the commutin from naas to belfast didnt work out and crusaders allowed him to cancel his agreement. That is a big boost to Waterford so I am not as optimistic as earlier but I will hold court for now.
06/02/2013, 8:44 PM
there was a good piece in the sun on him today. the commutin from naas to belfast didnt work out
Well anybody could have told him that wasn't going to work out.
Cabs88
06/02/2013, 10:17 PM
its a strange one, always rated Holden at Waterford, is he gone now? Wasnt he on the 1st division team of the year iirc?
07/02/2013, 7:10 AM
He retired I think.
Joe Dixon
07/02/2013, 8:47 AM
Hyland going to Waterford is a disaster, TC will regret letting him go the way he did yet.
Perhaps he was offered a contract and turned it down?
Maybe he looked for three times what he was on last year and the club couldn't afford it?
Nice to see we're starting with positivity from the fans!
Playoff's was the target last season, and we achieved that. Fair enough he gets another go - it's a hard division to get out of, so I think playoff's again would be respectable (look at some of the clubs that have been in here for years), even if that would probably be the end of the road for him if we didn't go up via them.
07/02/2013, 11:32 AM
With regards Hyland, he signed a contract with Crusaders that was paying him more than he would even ask for with us. He was also promised game time by their manager, he played a game and did well in his first week there and in the meantime Crues signed another keeper from France, which relegated Hylo to the bench. He asked the manager could he leave to go to another club so he could play regularly and their manager was happy enough to let him do that. He had an enquiry from Sligo as well as Waterford but he knew he'd be on the bench for the season in Sligo so decided to go to Waterford.
07/02/2013, 3:22 PM
Perhaps he was offered a contract and turned it down?
Maybe he looked for three times what he was on last year and the club couldn't afford it?
Not what I was told.
07/02/2013, 6:49 PM
He retired I think. 100% correct longfordian
07/02/2013, 6:51 PM
Nice to see we're starting with positivity from the fans!
Playoff's was the target last season, and we achieved that. Fair enough he gets another go - it's a hard division to get out of, so I think playoff's again would be respectable (look at some of the clubs that have been in here for years), even if that would probably be the end of the road for him if we didn't go up via them.
I think Waterford will be favorites to win it this season so maybe second spot will be an incentive. It took Shels and Dundalk over five yrs to get out of the 1st division and it made both clubs better run clubs when they eventually got promoted. So I will be like Macy and value the concept of progression season by season..
07/02/2013, 7:50 PM
I see Dean Marshall, ex of eh..half the clubs in the league pretty much..is on our bench tonight.
08/02/2013, 3:29 PM
Marshall would be a cracking signing, I heard we signed a midfielder so maybe its him..........As for favorites this may sound strange to some but I'm tipping Finn Harps this year as they have a good mix of youth and experience and have a lethal striker but most of all they have a 29 man squad so injuries and suspensions wont hit them hard, personally I think we have good quality but not enough quantity especially in the full back positions.
L.T.F.C.
08/02/2013, 5:35 PM
Its things like quantity of players that is bothering me.
We saw from last season what happened when Purdy and Shaw got injured and the rest. I hope TC addresses this.
08/02/2013, 5:55 PM
Marshall would be a cracking signing, I heard we signed a midfielder so maybe its him..........As for favorites this may sound strange to some but I'm tipping Finn Harps this year as they have a good mix of youth and experience and have a lethal striker but most of all they have a 29 man squad so injuries and suspensions wont hit them hard, personally I think we have good quality but not enough quantity especially in the full back positions.
29 and counting. There's a full squad of elite division under 19s to be added to the team too. There's something like 24 of them. There's about 4 or 5 to every position and competition for each space will be fierce. Also, I'd reckon we will have the strongest midfield and attackers in the division. We could do with another centre half.
A betting man would be smart sticking a few quid on Harps at 5/1.
Also, I'm not trying to be biased here, but there's a huge push being put in at Finn Park this season. Saw the team the other night and they're all in absolutely top notch condition. Never seen such a fit squad at Finn Harps in my time supporting the team. Each and every one of them has bulked up severely too.
08/02/2013, 6:38 PM
That'll be the angel dust. I've been meaning to put a few quid on Harps each way before PP bring them in. I'll do it this weekend probably.
08/02/2013, 9:00 PM
29 and counting. There's a full squad of elite division under 19s to be added to the team too. There's something like 24 of them. There's about 4 or 5 to every position and competition for each space will be fierce. Also, I'd reckon we will have the strongest midfield and attackers in the division. We could do with another centre half.
A betting man would be smart sticking a few quid on Harps at 5/1.
Also, I'm not trying to be biased here, but there's a huge push being put in at Finn Park this season. Saw the team the other night and they're all in absolutely top notch condition. Never seen such a fit squad at Finn Harps in my time supporting the team. Each and every one of them has bulked up severely too.
Also the fact ye have a team in the ulster senior league will mean those players in your squad not playing for harps senior side will still be keeping up their match fitness in the ulster league team so if theres an injury or anything like that the players coming in will be in top condition.
A great result over Dundalk tonight, Harps are favorites in my eyes.
count cambi
21/02/2013, 6:26 PM
Lads sorry to butt in on your thread but i managed david o'sullivan for a couple of seasons and ye have nothing to worry about with him,he will score plenty of goals and will work harder than any player in the league,he has a great attitude which will make him a fans favourite quickly,he never got a sniff of a chance at bray for reasons unknown to everyone except eddie gormley,he also had some problems with his jaw due to wisdom teeth when he had just signed for sporting fingal,he has waited patiently for a shot at loi and i hope it works out for him. Best of luck for the season to longford,ye will have a few more fans from around wicklow this season.