View Full Version : Alan Judge

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

Olé Olé
24/10/2015, 6:09 PM
http://www.whoscored.com/Matches/958848/MatchReport/England-Championship-2015-2016-Charlton-Brentford

True to form for Judger: goes and scores and assists the other two against Charlton. Earns a rating of 9.6 from Whoscored.com. Brilliant.

EDIT: Hats off to Alan McCormack also. Second highest rating against his former club.

24/10/2015, 8:34 PM
Highlights of Brentford's win at Charlton about to begin on Channel 5 + 1 now. I'm taping it.

24/10/2015, 9:28 PM
He's a must start for our next set of friendlies.

24/10/2015, 11:43 PM
http://www.skysports.com/football/charlton-vs-brentford/339679

Scratchy
25/10/2015, 10:53 AM
I was at The Valley yesterday and Judge was fantastic yesterday. As a Brentford supporter I can say that we are lucky to have him and that if he can keep performing at that level then I hope he gets his chance to show what he can do in the green shirt.

25/10/2015, 9:48 PM
He did well to get this first gola to dip under the bar, looked like it was going way over the top. at 0.25

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6ilSWu964Q

25/10/2015, 10:18 PM
Brentford caretaker manager Lee Carsley: "Alan Judge can be Ireland’s ‘Young’ Wes Hoolahan" - http://www.ciarano.me/post/131881277168/carsley-alan-judge-can-be-irelands-young-wes

I have a terrible feeling Judge will be Dunphy's next cause célèbre - "ignored by successive managers", "an intelligent, streetwise player", "another example of disgraceful treatment of talent", "a hungry young footballer", etc, etc
Conveniently ignoring that he's 26, and spent the majority of his career to date in League One or the lower reaches of the Championship

26/10/2015, 12:28 PM
So he is 26, how has he been transformed to this, in such a short space of time?

Was he not getting the opportunity to display his talent at a lower level, or is this being overblown? Be interesting to see if he moves to a premiership team in January if he keeps up these performances.

26/10/2015, 12:30 PM
He's a must start for our next set of friendlies.

I wasn't sure if we would be seeing you on here again for a while.

26/10/2015, 4:41 PM
So he is 26, how has he been transformed to this, in such a short space of time?
I think, like Hoolahan, he's been developing for a few years. Had a bad experience at Blackburn and had to drop down the leagues and has steadily worked his way up. Was part of the Brentford team that nearly gatecrashed the automatic promotion spots last year, so clearly hasn't happened overnight.

dr_peepee
26/10/2015, 5:02 PM
Didn't get go back to Blackburn though and get promoted with them, but was sold soon after promotion.

Olé Olé
26/10/2015, 5:07 PM
They used to call him the Irish Messi at Notts County so the Wessi Hoolahan parallels have been long-drawn!

He was at Blackburn and was quality for Notts County in League One so Blackburn bought him again. I'm not sure what happened there but the move didn't work out and he got no gane-time so moved back to League One with Brentford, came up with them and is in his second proper season at Championship now really.

He'll be 27 in two weeks time so I think a January transfer might be good. Getting out of the Championship is a nightmare with the same team these days.

26/10/2015, 5:12 PM
I wasn't sure if we would be seeing you on here again for a while.

sorry to disappoint! ;)

For all its faults, this place is far more preferable to ybig!!

26/10/2015, 5:15 PM
On Judge, he really has physically developed over the last few years and I wonder if that has helped his overall performances in the rough and tumble of the Championship and for his guile and technique to now be supported with brawn and stamina.

Hes gone from looking like Richie Partridge to closer to the Andy Reid look.

Olé Olé
26/10/2015, 5:46 PM
http://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/brentford-star-alan-judge-attracting-interest-from-premier-league-clubs-a3099341.html

This article throws Leicester into the mix, alongside Bournemouth and Swansea.

It seems to me that, in general, there are much more cases of players who have plied their trade lower down the leagues before coming back up to the PL. Hoolahan is an obvious instance from our own perspective but there have been many English cases i.e. Grant Holt, Rickie Lambert and Jamies Vardy.

26/10/2015, 6:58 PM
i remember seeing him ages ago when he was a new prospect so to speak and all I remember is
him showing fantastic pace down the wing and then putting in one of the worst crosses I have ever seen,
so I got the impression he was a sprinter with no footballing ability, however that seems to be far from the case.

Anyhow if 5th place Leicester are showing and interest as well as Swansea and Bournemouth he can't be that bad.

CraftyToePoke
26/10/2015, 11:33 PM
Anyhow if 5th place Leicester are showing and interest as well as Swansea and Bournemouth he can't be that bad.

Leicester have been linked with him in the last couple of windows, under Pearson, without anything happening, if they moved for him under Raneiri and now operating in the other half of the table then it would be a very pleasant surprise.

27/10/2015, 7:31 PM
sorry to disappoint! ;)

Saskatoon's skstu not that.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/sexual-assault-trial-in-canada-is-linked-to-1996-irish-missing-person-case-court-hears-31570864.html

27/10/2015, 9:16 PM
sorry to disappoint! ;)

The faultometer dropped a bit while you were away (sulking or whatever).
Coincidence or what??

But no doubt we should be honoured by your presence considering all our faults :)

27/10/2015, 11:27 PM
Woah...passive aggressive much? I've always been fond of you and your crusty ways Geysir. I didn't think I was alone in thinking that a couple of posters on here dragged the forum down for a while until their disappearance! That's all I meant! I took a break from the forum cos I was getting far too crusty and bothered by it all myself. So you're probably right!

27/10/2015, 11:28 PM
Saskatoon's skstu not that.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/sexual-assault-trial-in-canada-is-linked-to-1996-irish-missing-person-case-court-hears-31570864.html

There's been some developments on that case recently actually. It's all a bit mad.

Yard of Pace
28/10/2015, 9:17 AM
There's been some developments on that case recently actually. It's all a bit mad.

Any link please Stu? That is all, indeed, a bit mad.

28/10/2015, 2:30 PM
Any link please Stu? That is all, indeed, a bit mad.

well, funnily enough, I was just on my way to work and it turns out he has just been found not guilty of all the accusations that his wife made against him. Judge gave a very short summary claiming she was not credible, her stories had inconsistencies and had made up the allegations of threats, assault and sexual assault so that she could leave Canada. The tone on the radio show was one of puzzlement. As I find a link to the breaking story, ill post here for you YOP.

28/10/2015, 2:46 PM
Jesus. I've followed that story for a while now, I didn't expect that outcome given some of the reporting on the case on both sides of the water.

DeLorean
28/10/2015, 2:49 PM
Judge gave a very short summary claiming she was not credible, her stories had inconsistencies and had made up the allegations of threats, assault and sexual assault so that she could leave Canada.

Ingenious way of staying on topic.

Eminence Grise
28/10/2015, 3:08 PM
Well played, sir!

Olé Olé
29/10/2015, 7:45 AM
Leicester have been linked with him in the last couple of windows, under Pearson, without anything happening, if they moved for him under Raneiri and now operating in the other half of the table then it would be a very pleasant surprise.

Two things have to be considered there though:
1. Ranieri probably hasn't much say in player recruitment so far (they've signed Nathan Dyer but not Stefano Fiore) so Judge is probably on the radar of the same recruitment set-up
2. While Leicester's league position has improved on last year so have Judge's performances.

Swansea or Bournemouth would be a safer move at this stage, probably the latter in terms of game-time but with a potential relegation on their hands.

DeLorean
30/10/2015, 8:05 PM
Assist for Judge as Brentford take a 1-0 lead against QPR.

30/10/2015, 8:30 PM
Woah...passive aggressive much? I've always been fond of you and your crusty ways Geysir. I didn't think I was alone in thinking that a couple of posters on here dragged the forum down for a while until their disappearance! That's all I meant! I took a break from the forum cos I was getting far too crusty and bothered by it all myself. So you're probably right!
No, not passive aggressive, I was being sarcastic towards a general condescension expressed by yourself towards this board, that you return here to a low standard board only because some other discussion board was even worse.
I'm glad I have inspired a more expressive and responsible post from yourself and I am delighted that you are posting here again.
As with the unnamed wánk*er/s who you may be referring to, I support the total boycott method and usually father time will win out.

30/10/2015, 9:58 PM
alright lads, take it to the inbox if you want to continue this conversation

30/10/2015, 10:52 PM
Assist for Judge as Brentford take a 1-0 lead against QPR.

I was just gonna say that should boot his stats up a bit and indeed I went to take a look
and he tops the championships stats table.

So he is in very good form and must be a consideration for the play-off?

30/10/2015, 11:38 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQbkJ6kesuw

31/10/2015, 7:42 AM
Substituted due to injury, or so it looked.

31/10/2015, 8:28 AM
Just got around to watching the Charlton highlights from last week. Quality showing from Judge. Hints of Andy Reid about him. I remember him being more of an orthodox wide player from a few years ago. He looks like he's equally comfortable wide and central, and wide cutting in. More quality and finesse to his game than McClean and maybe less mercurial than McGeady. I'd say the Aviva crowd would like him. I think O'Neill was saying in the press that he would trust him in the upcoming games now he's been around the squad for a bit.

31/10/2015, 1:40 PM

Coincidence ? As he is found not guilty and the reappearance of skstu.....:D

Sounds like she was a bit of a fantasist but the guards interviewed her as well as far as I'm aware.

Anyway I hope judge isn't cut from the final squad.

Scratchy
01/11/2015, 12:23 PM
Substituted due to injury, or so it looked.

According to the post match interview that Lee Carsley gave to Sky Judge had tweaked his hamstring during training on the Wednesday and was a doubt to play. Thankfully he did though. He would be a doubt, in my opinion to start on Tuesday night against Hull, but I hope he does.

01/11/2015, 5:39 PM
Good piece on Judge here http://www.the42.ie/alan-judge-not-ready-for-premier-league-football-2415730-Nov2015/

zero
03/11/2015, 7:53 PM
judge not in the squad for tonight's home game with hull (for whom meyler starts). twitter tells me mrs. judge just had a baby on halloween so perhaps that's the reason, despite what roy might say.

edit: a bit of googling indicates hamstring trouble...

http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/brentford-boss-holds-breath-alan-10374874

05/11/2015, 11:19 AM
nominated for the Championship Player of the month for October: http://www.football-league.co.uk/news/article/2015/sky-bet-championship-player-of-the-month-nominations-october-2780200.aspx

Yard of Pace
05/11/2015, 2:11 PM
If we needed a goal with 20 minutes to go and I was looking at himself or McClean......

Get him in that final squad, a flair player in the form of his life. Please.

05/11/2015, 2:32 PM
I think I'd prefer Harry Arter (just).

06/11/2015, 10:00 AM
won Championship player of the month for October: http://www.football-league.co.uk/news/article/2015/alan-judge-named-sky-bet-championship-player-of-the-month-2786450.aspx

06/11/2015, 1:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQbkJ6kesuw

He's no homer either. A fair proportion away from home by the looks of things. No. 13 looked dodgy to me :)

Only one peno. Mustn't be the regular peno taker.

01/12/2015, 9:08 AM
Another man of the match performance last night, albeit against lowly Bolton.

DeLorean
01/12/2015, 9:20 AM
Any obvious reason why he came off ten minutes from time OF? Presume it was because he's not long back from injury but didn't see any of the game.

01/12/2015, 9:40 AM
Saw most of the first half, and the second half. He was the best player on the park, with a fine range of passing, but it wasn't great quality overall. Got the assist on the opener, but it was a six yard sideways pass, good finish mind.
Bolton had a bit of fight about them, which is good considering the state of their finances.

19/12/2015, 10:32 PM
Two goals today for Judge, taking his tally to the season to ten. He's never scored more than eight in a season before, and the second was his twentieth goal for Brentford

Predator
30/12/2015, 7:21 PM
Judge comfortably top of whoscored.com's ratings for the Championship this season so far

http://www.whoscored.com/Regions/252/Tournaments/7/Seasons/5827/Stages/12497/PlayerStatistics/England-Championship-2015-2016

30/12/2015, 9:58 PM
And Shame Duffy right behind him. 7.7 Aerial dual won per match.

05/01/2016, 9:13 AM
Brentford turn down offer from Sheffield Wednesday: http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11748/10119590/sheffield-wednesdays-alan-judge-offer-turned-down-by-brentford