View Full Version : Paddy Madden

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

ArdeeBhoy
21/05/2013, 6:14 AM
It was a a good strike, but hardly 'Goal of the week' material.
But fair play to those Sky clowns if they didn't include the EPL/SPL and the major European leagues.

There were better goals on the last day of the Bundesliga for instance.

Crosby87
21/05/2013, 11:17 AM
Reports indicate there were 1,432 votes and Stu voted 600 times.

21/05/2013, 1:54 PM
pretty sure youre thinking of Charlie Darwin, the guy who discovered Madden if reports are to be believed.......

21/05/2013, 1:58 PM
It was a a good strike, but hardly 'Goal of the week' material.
But fair play to those Sky clowns if they didn't include the EPL/SPL and the major European leagues.

There were better goals on the last day of the Bundesliga for instance.

in their own website posting that i copied into my post, it looks like they "scoured" the leagues of the world looking for the best goals... not to say that youre not right that theres probably better goals out there from the last week!

It was a lovely finish though, top class. Hopefully he can keep up this good form in the Championship and prove some of the doubters wrong...... (like me!)

21/05/2013, 6:43 PM
Didn't see the other goals but it was a worth winner IMO I expect it had more skill and quick thinking involved in it.
Curling a ball with the outside of the foot like this is never easy he got it to curl and dip from almost
a standing position.

There were some great goals though
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11096/8724457/Goal-of-the-Week

Having said that as it is an English speaking site surely there is some bias in the voting?

samhaydenjr
22/05/2013, 1:52 AM
May be a good time to speculate - if Paddy Madden continues to score reasonably regularly, at least, in the Championship next season, at what point does he merit a call-up to the national squad? In the spring friendly against Serbia? Should he possibly be given a run-out against Wales this August based on his prolific form, or should that game be used solely as a tune-up for the current squad in preparation for the autumn World Cup games, with no real experimentation?

22/05/2013, 2:10 AM
If Sammon becomes a starter on the back of nothing, then a regularly scoring Championship striker Paddy Madden can expect to be ignored for two years and/or when he stops scoring... ;)

CraftyToePoke
22/05/2013, 2:28 AM
May be a good time to speculate - if Paddy Madden continues to score reasonably regularly, at least, in the Championship next season, at what point does he merit a call-up to the national squad? In the spring friendly against Serbia? Should he possibly be given a run-out against Wales this August based on his prolific form, or should that game be used solely as a tune-up for the current squad in preparation for the autumn World Cup games, with no real experimentation?

Well, if he has anything like the impact he has been having of late, he will have earned it if it comes. Not saying he isn't good enough as I haven't seen enough of him but Yeovil will surely be on the back foot in most games with chances at a premium for him. The step up from L1 into Championship is a chasm I reckon, you will have decent sides in L1 but you begin to encounter big clubs in the Championship, with big followings compared to the few thousand more often found in L1, and big resources. Clubs who not only believe their rightful place is in the Premier, but who have been capable of European qualification when last there. Bolton, Birmingham, Leicester, Middlesbrough and Wigan all having made it to Europe fairly recently.

If Madden does enough to warrant one of these type clubs taking a punt on him, he will have done very well, I think.

22/05/2013, 3:15 AM

I was thinking "call him up Trap" when I saw his scoring record, but I never said anything (just checked that) because I knew
people would say well it's easy to score in league one.
I don't have a problem with him being called up at any point given his scoring record, he has the knack of putting the ball n the back of the net, something we could do with. He could have scored his last goal against any kind of opposition.

gastric
24/05/2013, 11:18 PM
Madden pays tribute to Gary Johnson.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22596007

freewheel30
25/05/2013, 8:45 AM
Well, if he has anything like the impact he has been having of late, he will have earned it if it comes. Not saying he isn't good enough as I haven't seen enough of him but Yeovil will surely be on the back foot in most games with chances at a premium for him. The step up from L1 into Championship is a chasm I reckon, you will have decent sides in L1 but you begin to encounter big clubs in the Championship, with big followings compared to the few thousand more often found in L1, and big resources. Clubs who not only believe their rightful place is in the Premier, but who have been capable of European qualification when last there. Bolton, Birmingham, Leicester, Middlesbrough and Wigan all having made it to Europe fairly recently.

If Madden does enough to warrant one of these type clubs taking a punt on him, he will have done very well, I think.

Has scored winning goals at Bramall Lane and the Ricoh Arena this season though (as well as the Wembley goal), so the crowds aspect shouldn't be a problem, imo.

Good that Madden is going to a higher division with his own club, rather than being poached by one of the bigger boys. Less pressure and so better opportunity to settle in at Championship level. Even 10 or 12 goals next season would be a grand return, given that he is still a young player.

ArdeeBhoy
25/05/2013, 8:58 AM
Why would crowds be a major factor anyway?

And 3 months+ for him to be still signed elsewhere.

CraftyToePoke
25/05/2013, 2:50 PM
Has scored winning goals at Bramall Lane and the Ricoh Arena this season though (as well as the Wembley goal), so the crowds aspect shouldn't be a problem, imo

I meant more the resources/budgets of those clubs due to those bigger followings, and that the club he is with will most likely be fighting a battle to stay in games rather than winning most weeks, so he will maybe have less sights of goal each Saturday. I wasn't saying he doesn't have bigger occasions in him, not at all.

20/07/2013, 4:17 AM
Nottingham Forest interested in Madden: http://www.thisissomerset.co.uk/Links-players-rumour/story-19535884-detail/story.html#axzz2ZYX4tn1S

21/07/2013, 2:25 AM
Nottingham Forest interested in Madden: http://www.thisissomerset.co.uk/Links-players-rumour/story-19535884-detail/story.html#axzz2ZYX4tn1S

Sounds like a great move for both parties, I'd love to see Madden at Forest especially if he keeps getting the goals, might see both promoted!!

Olé Olé
21/07/2013, 12:10 PM
Sounds like a great move for both parties, I'd love to see Madden at Forest especially if he keeps getting the goals, might see both promoted!!

Very true. Only thing is, Yeovil aren't going to have it all their own way next season. A season with the Championship strugglers putting up a strong goal tally could be ideal for his development also. Forrest would be a great move though.

07/08/2013, 8:40 PM
On standby for the Wales match after Cox, Pilkington and Quinn cry off injured: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/paddy-madden-on-standby-for-ireland-after-four-withdraw-1.1487155

07/08/2013, 9:16 PM
Brilliant news! :)

DannyInvincible
08/08/2013, 11:30 AM
Looks like Madden might be called into the Wales squad now that McGeady has pulled out.

09/08/2013, 12:10 AM
Good I hope he is called up and gets a run out, but knowing Trap he would probably not even put him on just to get a cap.

09/08/2013, 12:15 AM
Looks like Madden might be called into the Wales squad now that McGeady has pulled out.
I doubt he's eligible for Wales. He might well be called into the Ireland squad though as McGeady's absence will surely pull another striker out to the wing.

09/08/2013, 6:39 AM
Good I hope he is called up and gets a run out, but knowing Trap he would probably not even put him on just to get a cap.
Why should Trap give someone a cap for the sake of it?

09/08/2013, 9:47 AM
Why should Trap give someone a cap for the sake of it?

Well maybe he would, but it's more about the result and the system for him.

I am trying to think of an example but my memory is not that good, has he called up players and left them on the bend?
But he is only on stand by anyway, if he was keen on capping him surely he would have called him up???
So by that reasoning it is low priority for him, were I manager I would get players capped as early as possible.

09/08/2013, 10:07 AM
What's the obsession with capping people?

Trap has a squad to fill. If lots of people drop out, he may as well keep an eye on who's next in case it happens in a competitive tie.

If a player is called up, three days' training will tell a lot about them. A cap isn't necessary at all.

There's more to international management than just the bit the fans see.

09/08/2013, 10:22 AM
It shows interest and is a boost to the player, the friendly is meaningless.
Half the players would probably rather be elsewhere anyway, so give em a break give him a cap!!!

09/08/2013, 11:12 AM
Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales have certainly showed interest and given a boost to a lot of players in recent years. **** all good it's done them.

09/08/2013, 12:45 PM
"It is an honour to play for Wales...Nobody ever got in touch with me personally from England, only through my agent"

- Gareth Bale!!!

No doubt he has a Irish Grandma too!!

DannyInvincible
11/08/2013, 11:15 AM
Madden called into the squad: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2013/0811/467538-madden-called-up-to-ireland-squad/

Speaking to the Yeovil Town website, ytfc.net, Madden said: “I am so proud to be called up to the squad. This is something I have dreamt about since I was a small lad.

“I know a few members of the squad having played with them at other levels for Ireland. I cannot wait to meet up with them all tomorrow and fingers crossed I get to show everyone what I can do.”

Grafter
16/08/2013, 11:22 PM
Would it be accurate to say that Madden not only in stature but playing style resembles a younger Kenny Miller of Scotland?

eitoof
26/11/2013, 5:27 PM
Paddy's been transfer listed by Yeovil.
After being their top scorer last year, he hasn't really featured this year and is rumoured to have fallen out with the manager, Johnson.

26/11/2013, 5:31 PM
Life in the Chamionship looks to have been a very difficult adjustment for him as I predicted it would be.

26/11/2013, 6:15 PM
Are you making a challenge to be the board's top oracle, Stu?

26/11/2013, 8:52 PM
Are you making a challenge to be the board's top oracle, Stu?

I wouldn't and couldn't even begin to challenge our resident oracle - Paul O'Sage... :)

Just a bit of childish "I told you so's" to the folks that thought Madden was destined for the very top after one good spell in League One. Nothing wrong with displaying residual petty bitterness if you ask me.

27/11/2013, 2:51 AM
Life in the Chamionship looks to have been a very difficult adjustment for him as I predicted it would be.

Given he scored so many for Yeovil in league one you would think he would be able to bag a few in the Championship, although his goal scoring did seem to
tail off toward the end of the league one season. He could not seem to score for Carlisle either. Maybe he needs to be in the right sort of set up to score.
Wonder if another Championship club will give him a chance or will he have to drop down a level.
I hope some Championship club is willing to take a gamble based on him based on his form last season?

27/11/2013, 2:52 AM

Got any tips for this weeks Euro-millions numbers?

27/11/2013, 3:13 AM
Got any tips for this weeks Euro-millions numbers?

I predict you will not win... :)

27/11/2013, 9:37 AM
Just a bit of childish "I told you so's" to the folks that thought Madden was destined for the very top after one good spell in League One. Nothing wrong with displaying residual petty bitterness if you ask me.

Did you not enjoy his time at the bo-ahs then? ;)

eitoof
29/11/2013, 11:42 AM
Gone on loan to Notts County

29/11/2013, 12:41 PM
Gone on loan to Notts County
did you see that on twitter? It was proven to be a hoax, he said himself yesterdaqy evening that he's staying at Yeovil: https://twitter.com/Paddymadden/statuses/406111136766251008

For people asking, I am still at Yeovil town and Delighted with it :) #Ytfc (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Ytfc&src=hash)

DannyInvincible
29/11/2013, 5:28 PM
That's a fairly odd hoax/prank to conceive out of thin air. Had there been word of him going out on loan to someone or had he been in talks with Notts County at all?

30/11/2013, 3:01 AM
I predict you will not win... :)

Your right again!!!

This is amazing!!!

09/01/2014, 9:28 AM
linked with a move to Scunthorpe in League Two this morning - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/scunthorpe-poised-to-swoop-for-madden-29900977.html
same article says he's been invited back to training with the first team though

09/01/2014, 6:53 PM
Looks like a permanent deal. Odd.

We are hearing Yeovil forward Paddy Madden has agreed a deal to join Scunthorpe United. Madden has passed his medical and is expected to sign a two-and-a-half-year deal at Glanford Park after finding himself out of favour at Huish Park.

09/01/2014, 8:15 PM
putting the cnut in Scnuthorpe... couldn't resist - sorry. :)

12/01/2014, 9:46 AM
Got to see his debut yesterday (all 6 minutes of it).

Worst game of football I have ever seen in my life. More headers than foot passes.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/01/2014, 1:02 PM
Got to see his debut yesterday (all 6 minutes of it).

Worst game of football I have ever seen in my life. More headers than foot passes.

Find it astounding that he couldn't get a move to a top 6 team in League One.

12/01/2014, 2:59 PM
Find it astounding that he couldn't get a move to a top 6 team in League One.

1) his brother
2) his attitude

TheOneWhoKnocks
24/03/2014, 2:39 PM
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/paddy-madden-scunthorpe-volley-1378784-Mar2014/

Impressive goal for Madden at the weekend.

25/03/2014, 12:27 AM
Great strike, shame the ref got in the way of seeing him strike it.

ArdeeBhoy
26/03/2014, 11:41 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1.0-9/69570_10152380007584203_198623112_n.jpg