View Full Version : American Football
Pages :
[
10]
14/01/2017, 2:54 PM
Chiefs/ Steelers moved from 1 pm EST to 8 PM EST.
SHOITE!
I had my whole night planned around GB DAL being on near 9pm. Have stuff to do during the evening. CRAPPO!
820 actually now. So they'll kick off by midnight.
Rams new coach is 30 years old? That should be interesting. They hired Wade Phillips as DC who is 70.
I'm absolutely raging Wade has left us. I thought it would have been prudent to keep him on. But alas. He's a whopper DC.
KrisLetang
14/01/2017, 3:15 PM
Well GB is still on at 440 EST so you are fine there unless I misunderstand you.
Who do you like today? I think NE can cover the 16 pts easy. If Matty plays well he can shred that overrated SEA D.
Seems like there is a little chatter about playing the PITT game on Monday night...I find it hard to believe. Is it really going to be that bad in KC ice wise?
14/01/2017, 11:20 PM
Falcons D has been seriously impressive tonight. Looks familiar...
Yeah I was planning my day around the GB game.
15/01/2017, 1:59 AM
Texans D not bad either :)
Pats offense not at the races at all. Lucky they have have Lewis for returns.
KrisLetang
15/01/2017, 3:43 PM
Can we just get one good game today? One? Even Duke/Louisville was bad yesterday. At least Grayson Allen didn't kick anyone.
16/01/2017, 5:58 PM
Well the Boys Packers was pretty great.
Pity the Pats will take Steelers now.
GB Falcons is gonna be some game.
KrisLetang
16/01/2017, 6:23 PM
Pretty weird that Brown had Tomlin's post game speech on facebook live without the coach knowing....
Real ale Madrid
16/01/2017, 10:47 PM
Jaysus lads that Packers Cowboys game was absolutely epic altogether.
Scared of the Steelers, must play better and I think they will. Think Patriots got 0.5% complacent and it affected them Saturday.
Would love to see BC alum "Matty ice" in the Superbowl but who bets against the Packers now?
KrisLetang
17/01/2017, 12:47 AM
Yeah you have to think that game is going to be a track meet.
KrisLetang
22/01/2017, 1:36 PM
How bad is Aaron Rodgers flu? That is the question.
Real ale Madrid
22/01/2017, 7:55 PM
Rodgers looks fine but the Green Bay D isn't up to this so far.
KrisLetang
22/01/2017, 8:45 PM
How in the world did Dallas lose to this team last week at home? Green Bay D are awful. You couldn't leave ATL with more running room after the catch if they paid them to do it. They're in a zone...where is everyone? It looks like they have 7 players out there.
I fear Pitt is overmatched in the next game as well. Could be a boring Sunday.
KrisLetang
01/02/2017, 4:15 PM
Some facts about Tommy Brady's legendary diet. Tommy claims he has never eaten a strawberry or had even a sip of coffee in his life. The only fruit he ever eats is an occasional banana, in a non dairy smoothie. Tommy B eats no dairy or sugar. A treat is some non dairy avocado ice cream. (Creamless ice cream?) The deflator does not consume any nightshade veggies or fungi such as tomatoes, potatoes (gasp), or mushrooms. He rarely has alcohol. His wife Giselle Bunghole eats the same way. He says his kids are on a diet slightly less strict. He said yesterday in the media session "I don't think you can play in the NFL at 39 and eat cheeseburgers."
The nutritionists the writer asked about the diet were very skeptical. Hard to argue with success I guess. And I have to wonder....do him and Coach Belly ever think of a way for him to....cheat?
ArFella
03/02/2017, 12:30 PM
2 days out from the big game.
Who's gonna win and what's your pick for MVP?
I'm hoping for Falcons & Julio Jones personally, but I can see TB12 winning both by sheer will (and cheating, obviously) as the ultimate FU to Roger Goodell and the NFL.
Real ale Madrid
06/02/2017, 12:27 AM
God this is tough. Starting to realise how Denver felt a few years back.
People really really hate the Pats.
Real ale Madrid
06/02/2017, 2:28 AM
Sacre Bleu
KrisLetang
06/02/2017, 4:46 PM
American Football growing in Ireland:
http://www.punditarena.com/nfl/bmcginn/ireland-american-football/
KrisLetang
24/07/2017, 3:10 PM
Teams reporting for camp soon. What are the Top Story lines for this season?
1. Can Tom Brady keep it going?
The Pats signing of respected Jets Captain David Harris and bringing in burner Brandin Cooks from NO, along with fixing a leaky secondary make them look way better to me on paper than last year. God I hate the Pats!
2. Falcons
Will the Falcons implode with a hangover from losing the Super Bowl in a complete debacle? OC Kyle Shannahan has left for a Head Coaching job with the Niners. I have a bad feeling about the Dirty Birds this year.
3. Suck for Sam.
The Jets are obviously trying to go 0-16 to enter the Sam Darnold sweepstakes. The only problem? He can go back to school next year and reportedly doesn't want to play for them. Jets seem like the worst team on paper by leaps and bounds. But they will screw it up by winning a few games and picking 4th or something. Owner had left for the US Ambassador position in London. What a mess.
4. Is Goff a bust?
You could tell just by watching Hard Knocks last preseason that #1 pick Jared Goff had a long way to go. There are respected NFL insiders that think he is going to be a bust. And the Rams gave up so much for him..the new coach is 31 years old. Gulp.
5. Deshaun Watson
This one is kind of under the radar but interesting to me. A hell of a player in college, Texans felt they needed to grab him after the Brock Osweiler disaster last year.... Prototype College QB. League seems split 50/50 on if he can make it in the NFL or not. Seems like a good guy. But his style...it will be fun to watch.
6. OBJ
The Giants WR is quickly becoming the NFL's most popular player. Sometimes makes questionable off field decisions. Giants are loaded and think they have a real shot at a Super Bowl. Bringing in BRandon Marshall to mentor OBJ is either going to be brilliant or a complete disaster.
7. Cowgirls
Dallas thinks they have a great shot. They seem to have at least 2 or 3 arrests every few weeks. If Dak takes a step back in a sophomore slump things will get crazy down there quickly. Tony Romo is headed for the broadcast booth but supposedly would unretire if Dak got hurt and they needed a QB.
8. Luck Needed
Injuries and a terrible front office/bad coaching staff have hampered the career of Andrew Luck. Could see him switching teams if things implode in Indy again.
9. Raiders
Exciting team have a real shot at things, but how will the fan base react to them as lame ducks after agreeing to move to Vegas? Carr is one of the leagues best players. High hopes in OAK.
10. Kaepernick
Will he get signed by anyone? Is he blackballed for his anti police stance?
11. LeVeon Bell's last season at the Steelers?
swinfordfc
24/07/2017, 3:23 PM
Teams reporting for camp soon. What are the Top Story lines for this season?
1. Can Tom Brady keep it going?
The Pats signing of respected Jets Captain David Harris and bringing in burner Brandin Cooks from NO, along with fixing a leaky secondary make them look way better to me on paper than last year. God I hate the Pats!
2. Falcons
Will the Falcons implode with a hangover from losing the Super Bowl in a complete debacle? OC Kyle Shannahan has left for a Head Coaching job with the Niners. I have a bad feeling about the Dirty Birds this year.
3. Suck for Sam.
The Jets are obviously trying to go 0-16 to enter the Sam Darnold sweepstakes. The only problem? He can go back to school next year and reportedly doesn't want to play for them. Jets seem like the worst team on paper by leaps and bounds. But they will screw it up by winning a few games and picking 4th or something. Owner had left for the US Ambassador position in London. What a mess.
4. Is Goff a bust?
You could tell just by watching Hard Knocks last preseason that #1 pick Jared Goff had a long way to go. There are respected NFL insiders that think he is going to be a bust. And the Rams gave up so much for him..the new coach is 31 years old. Gulp.
5. Deshaun Watson
This one is kind of under the radar but interesting to me. A hell of a player in college, Texans felt they needed to grab him after the Brock Osweiler disaster last year.... Prototype College QB. League seems split 50/50 on if he can make it in the NFL or not. Seems like a good guy. But his style...it will be fun to watch.
6. OBJ
The Giants WR is quickly becoming the NFL's most popular player. Sometimes makes questionable off field decisions. Giants are loaded and think they have a real shot at a Super Bowl. Bringing in BRandon Marshall to mentor OBJ is either going to be brilliant or a complete disaster.
7. Cowgirls
Dallas thinks they have a great shot. They seem to have at least 2 or 3 arrests every few weeks. If Dak takes a step back in a sophomore slump things will get crazy down there quickly. Tony Romo is headed for the broadcast booth but supposedly would unretire if Dak got hurt and they needed a QB.
8. Luck Needed
Injuries and a terrible front office/bad coaching staff have hampered the career of Andrew Luck. Could see him switching teams if things implode in Indy again.
9. Raiders
Exciting team have a real shot at things, but how will the fan base react to them as lame ducks after agreeing to move to Vegas? Carr is one of the leagues best players. High hopes in OAK.
10. Kaepernick
Will he get signed by anyone? Is he blackballed for his anti police stance?
Good list ... and I think No. 6 is right .... its hate me to say it but the Giants are the team that will win the super bowl this year ... beat the Pats in the final!
KrisLetang
24/07/2017, 3:56 PM
11. LeVeon Bell's last season at the Steelers?
I wouldn't be surprised if Ben called it a day after this year. Also it seems like the team is starting to sour on Tomlin.
The Kirk Cousins thing is interesting too. Washington is such a mess with the GM calling him "Kurt" over and over last week.
Ill throw one college thing out there...Hugh Freeze getting canned at Ole Miss. Man, I knew there was no way that guy could turn that program around so quickly on the up and up. But the ex coach, Houston Nutt dimming him out? Dirty pool. Bizarre. Only in the SEC type garbage.
KrisLetang
24/07/2017, 6:49 PM
ESPN preview:
http://www.espn.com/nfl/story/_/page/32for32x170724/2017-nfl-training-camps-preview-all-32-teams-rookies-watch-veterans-bubble-preseason
ESPN preview:
http://www.espn.com/nfl/story/_/page/32for32x170724/2017-nfl-training-camps-preview-all-32-teams-rookies-watch-veterans-bubble-preseason
*Checks the Atlanta preview* Injury, injury, injury *Closes site* :sad:
KrisLetang
24/07/2017, 7:11 PM
And taking Takkarist Mckinley in the first round...yikes.
25/07/2017, 9:05 AM
God this is tough. Starting to realise how Denver felt a few years back.
People really really hate the Pats.
We really really really do.
Kerry feels in essence.
Real ale Madrid
25/07/2017, 10:14 AM
We really really really do.
Kerry feels in essence.
We really really don't care.
25/07/2017, 1:36 PM
We really really don't care.
As bad as supporting Man City or Chelsea... :P
Adopted the Oakland Raiders on a whim a while back (well, a BBC who should you support poll which included a question on whether it mattered if they had a chance of actually winning at all in which I clicked no) and became quite attached to them and now face the moral quandary of whether to stick with them when they move.
Kinda feel like I should support the Packers because they are member owned and that but, sure maybe I should have one sport where I don't think about this stuff and just roll with it. So feck it, sticking with them for now at least.
Just felt you all should know.
KrisLetang
25/07/2017, 4:11 PM
You know Marshawn Lynch signed with Oakland, right? Should help out.
In fairness to them moving to LV, I mean Oakland is a cesspool and one of those Baltimore/Detroit type cities that the Left wing welfare train has run into the ground. At least you won't get shot in the parking lot in LV. If they tried to get a stadium built in 30 years it wouldn't happen in OAK. I mean look at the Niners. They play an hour away now in Santa Clara.
Aware Lynch signed yes. If they can keep Carr fit they should be formidable.
swinfordfc
26/07/2017, 1:18 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if Ben called it a day after this year. Also it seems like the team is starting to sour on Tomlin.
The Kirk Cousins thing is interesting too. Washington is such a mess with the GM calling him "Kurt" over and over last week.
Ill throw one college thing out there...Hugh Freeze getting canned at Ole Miss. Man, I knew there was no way that guy could turn that program around so quickly on the up and up. But the ex coach, Houston Nutt dimming him out? Dirty pool. Bizarre. Only in the SEC type garbage.
Washington don't have a GM! ... They are a joke of an organisation!
KrisLetang
26/07/2017, 8:14 PM
Luck going on the PUP list from that off season shoulder surgery....they are saying it was expected but it seems like guys stay hurt all year when they start on that list.
KrisLetang
02/08/2017, 4:33 PM
Giants WR Sterling Shepard goes down in a heap and carted off at practice. Supposedly ankle. BIG BIG trouble for Big Blue if he is out for the year. Really expecting him to be a pro bowler in the slot between OBJ and Brandon Marshall. Devastating. Great guy too.
swinfordfc
03/08/2017, 2:08 PM
Giants WR Sterling Shepard goes down in a heap and carted off at practice. Supposedly ankle. BIG BIG trouble for Big Blue if he is out for the year. Really expecting him to be a pro bowler in the slot between OBJ and Brandon Marshall. Devastating. Great guy too.
Angle strain - he's fine!
KrisLetang
03/08/2017, 4:20 PM
Tannehill leaves with knee injury. Dolphins season hangs in balance. Sort of.
KrisLetang
07/08/2017, 5:29 PM
Cutler out of retirement to MIA for 1 yr/$10 Million. Kap still unsigned. Went to Jets practice Saturday....the DBs look great. QBs look horrid.
KrisLetang
27/08/2017, 5:33 PM
Huge hit for K.C. with Spencer Ware out for the year and Edelman is done for NE.
KrisLetang
08/09/2017, 3:19 PM
Pats finally humbled in bad loss:
http://www.espn.com/nfl/story/_/id/20624359/new-england-patriots-got-humbling-loss-probably-needed
They will probably win the next 10 games.
KrisLetang
08/09/2017, 3:23 PM
This is funny:
http://screengrabber.deadspin.com/with-the-first-nutshot-of-the-season-football-truly-ha-1802356391
KrisLetang
28/11/2017, 7:48 PM
Eli benched for Geno Smith, starting streak will end, second only to Brett Favre.
ArFella
29/11/2017, 8:42 AM
That's a shocking decision by the Giants management, they must have consulted Eli beforehand, you don't just break a guys streak when your season is over to look at a guy who wasn't good enough for the Jets!!! When Geno throws 3 first half picks and McAdoo turns to Eli and tells him to go in, Eli should tell him to f**k off and go in himself, stupid decision McAdoo has to be fired after this season.
Real ale Madrid
29/11/2017, 8:47 AM
Pats finally humbled in bad loss:
http://www.espn.com/nfl/story/_/id/20624359/new-england-patriots-got-humbling-loss-probably-needed
They will probably win the next 10 games.
Nearly there.
Bills next at home, Miami again away ( traditionally a tough game for the Pats ) and then the all consuming match up at Pittsburgh in week 15.
KrisLetang
29/11/2017, 4:50 PM
I agree with you Arfella...they have been getting absolutely torn up on sports radio since it happened. Everyone is saying the Jags are the perfect place for Eli next year...Bortles is awful, reunite with Coughlin, good D, etc...I just have a tough time imagining him in that ugly Jags get up. Browns have had 24 QBs start since Eli's first start til now. Knicks have had 9 coaches...New Jersey has had 5 Governors...
Real Ale do you think Mike Tomlin should be talking so positively that it's between the Steelers and Pats in the AFC and no one else? I happen to agree, it just seems dangerous to touch the money. He was literally like We have them in week 15 and then again in the AFC Championship. Wow.
Real ale Madrid
29/11/2017, 4:58 PM
IReal Ale do you think Mike Tomlin should be talking so positively that it's between the Steelers and Pats in the AFC and no one else? I happen to agree, it just seems dangerous to touch the money. He was literally like We have them in week 15 and then again in the AFC Championship. Wow.
Tomlin has every reason to be confident as there is literally nothing in the AFC this year - even the Pats are not as good as previous years - still, this is football and you just never know. The Steelers still need to take care of business against a resurgent Bengals and Ravens in the next 2 weeks.
KrisLetang
29/11/2017, 5:08 PM
What about the NFC? Eagles, Vikings, Rams, N.O. ....nothing really excites me there. Wasn't impressed with the Panthers last week vs Jets at all. Jets were playing both them AND the refs and still should have won.
Real ale Madrid
30/11/2017, 7:46 AM
What about the NFC? Eagles, Vikings, Rams, N.O. ....nothing really excites me there. Wasn't impressed with the Panthers last week vs Jets at all. Jets were playing both them AND the refs and still should have won.
I love watching the Eagles and the Saints - in fact I reckon the Eagles are going to take advantage of this down year and win the Superbowl. Rams are fun to watch as well - I think the Vikings will be found out at some stage. Can't trust Keenum. Eagles / Patriots Superbowl for me at this stage.
ArFella
30/11/2017, 7:52 AM
There is nothing in the AFC besides the Steelers & Pats and I can't see the Steelers beating them in January, so I think that side of things is pretty much taken care of but the NFC is where it's at any one of the current 6 seeds (7 if you include Seattle) could make it to Minnesota in Feb, some real offensive juggernauts who aren't afraid to just chuck the ball down the field, great to see and will make for compelling viewing come the post-season. On the other end of the scale I am really excited to see Jimmy G get his first start for the 49ers, been a rough couple of years to be a 9ers fan but I think Jimmy G could be the guy we build the franchise around going forward.
KrisLetang
30/11/2017, 3:01 PM
The Santa Clara 49ers players were not happy last week when their own fans cheered that QB Bethard (sp?) getting hurt. Jimmy G has to be a little nervous starting behind that O-line!
ArFella
30/11/2017, 3:18 PM
Yeah that was ridiculous, the Iowa kid fought hard for the team despite having tackling dummies for an o-line and made some really good plays, but I never saw the actual talent that could make him a franchise QB. Jimmy G just has that QB look and swagger, I was legitimately aroused watching him for the limited snaps he saw against the Seahawks, although I was quite a few beers deep late on Sunday and I might have felt the same about anyone at that point!
KrisLetang
30/11/2017, 3:50 PM
I agree Jimmy G has a shot to be good. Although we have seen this movie before with Matt Cassell et al.........You don't want to win games now though. Too many bad teams could hop over you. If you have your QB you could think about Saquon Barkley in the draft. Rumors today that both USC and UCLA QBs will stay in school. That GREATLY affects the top 5 picks.