View Full Version : American Football

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12

01/12/2015, 7:30 PM
Looks like Gronk is only going to miss a week if that. Brady was so ****ed...I hate him but what a competitor. Giselle recorded this thing on her phone of him in a turkey costume jumping out of a leaf pile and scaring his kids. it was pretty funny. Its on youtube. His little girl invites the Turkey in.

Anyway, some burning questions.

New England is in a weird spot. They don't run the ball at all, the injuries are piling up, can they still continue to win? It's hard to see how.

What about Denver now? If Peyton is Ok at some point do they keep him on the bench? He says he wants to play next season too.

Kansas City had 3 starting OLs go down on Sunday, all 5 guys switched positions and they still beat Buffalo. Ben got another concussion for Pitt. The whole league is hurt.

Its unanimous between everyone...fans, coaches, league brass, players...the officiating is horrid. Sunday may have been a low point. The 49ers got so screwed. These guys cant even get the reviews right. You have the ex director of officials working for Fox telling Jim and Troy Aikman that he doesn't no what to say anymore.

Someone said on the radio yesterday that it would be better for Carolina if they lost a game, as the undefeated thing becomes a distraction. I don't disagree.

And last, I know the Giants are terrible but how about that catch by Odell in the end zone? Is he the best reviever in the NFL? I could do without his BS but he has some hands that guy. Good God. Giants Jets on Sunday. WFAN is promising the world's largest tailgate with some things roasting that are not suitable for vegetarians.

We're 9-2 now. 7-2 in spite of Peyton.

I think you start him if he's fit. He has the odd game like his show against GB in him. But it's great to have Brock in form too.

I think the Panthers have to attempt the perfect season. You don't want to do a Jim Caldwell on it.

Crosby87
01/12/2015, 7:46 PM
Forgot to mention Jimmy Graham is out for the year.

Real ale Madrid
01/12/2015, 8:07 PM
nom nom nom nom nom :)

Hate them because they are just thoroughly dislikable. Same with the Cowboys and Washington Professional Team. And the Habs and Rangers while we're at .

Just one thing though - you had lot to say about the officials after the Bills game but not after Sunday night? Some really nigh on incredible calls against the Pats, swings and roundabouts mind you but Brady was reeeeeallly annoyed after it! Looking forward to seeing ye again in Foxborough for AFC champ game.

01/12/2015, 10:49 PM

Just one thing though - you had lot to say about the officials after the Bills game but not after Sunday night? Some really nigh on incredible calls against the Pats, swings and roundabouts mind you but Brady was reeeeeallly annoyed after it! Looking forward to seeing ye again in Foxborough for AFC champ game.

I haven't mentioned anything because I've still not watched the match in full. Recorded on Sky Box for my Thursday afternoon delectation.
(I finish college at 1pm on a Thursday so I tend to watch whatever game is of interest to me then that I couldn't watch at stupid o'clock the previous weekend)

Any calls in particular that irked you? I've had 2 exams and an assignment due this week so all I have really managed to see is scores on NFL.com and whatever the Broncos throw into my newsfeed on fb.

Real ale Madrid
01/12/2015, 11:39 PM
Pffft - you haven't seen the game? Call yourself a fan! Pathetic! :)

02/12/2015, 12:40 AM
Pffft - you haven't seen the game? Call yourself a fan! Pathetic! :)

I know. I was actually doing so well avoiding the result up until yesterday afternoon and then a check of an FB notification did me in. *******o!

Crosby87
02/12/2015, 3:25 PM
Is another missed call on the cover of SI?

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/nfl-shutdown-corner/does-sports-illustrated-s-cover-photo-show-another-missed-call-against-patriots-134646470.html

03/12/2015, 8:12 PM
I watched the game. It was something. some of the calls were poor. But again some of the calls were good. Can't really complain given the opposition.

I will say though, Tom Brady is just something.

I think I finally crossed the line where I've stopped disliking him. Unreal player.

Real ale Madrid
04/12/2015, 9:32 AM
Gronkowski has 6 OPI calls against him this season. The Rest of the AFC East is 5.

swinfordfc
04/12/2015, 2:36 PM
Hail Mary ...... OMG!

04/12/2015, 8:08 PM
Hail Mary ...... OMG!

Watched tr game from start to finish today without knowing the result. Frankly unbelievable stuff.

Crosby87
04/12/2015, 11:16 PM
Questionable call at the end though no? Rodgers really saved himself from a loooooong 10 days of talking about losing 2 times in one season to the Detroit Lions.

So the half time act for SB 50 is.......Cold Play? Jeez. Nickleback wasn't available? Cold Play. That is a boring idea.

05/12/2015, 12:11 AM
It was touch and go alright. But officials are pretty zero tolerance on hands near the facemask. Mike? Carey the ex ref they have on CBS was pretty much saying that it was the right call.

Even after that he still had a 70 yard throw to make from the line. And someone still had to catch it.

I really like the look of Detroit now though. They've finally got something going and hopefully the nature of the defeat doesn't blow up the rest of the season. 2016 should be a decent year for them. Even in that division which has the look of a nightmare next year I feel.

Coldplay at Super Bowl 50? Ffs... The last 3 ht shows have been so so good that it was inevitable they would have a **** one sooner or later.

I actually assumed it would be Tay-tay.

Crosby87
05/12/2015, 1:42 AM
I thought it would be Adele. They're saying Mr. Ex-Paltrow will bring out his BFs Jay and Bey. Meh.

Then funny thing about Mike Carey is he did a super bowl and had a long career but is infamous for being a comically bad official. so naturally he got a tv job. It's like how Chris Simms has branched Into NFL analysis for CBS. College maybe but he sucked in the pros.

Real ale Madrid
06/12/2015, 10:04 AM
Lads - could we please stop discussing the Superbowl halftime show please. That'd be great. I mean who da Fcuk cares ?

Anyhoo.....

Clemson are the ACC Champs and No. 1 seed in the CFP after a bit of an up-and-down win against the Tar Heels last night. Dabo Swinney ripped the punter and then threw him under the bus at half time after a botched attempt at a fake punt - nice way to treat an amateur athlete. I now have a reason to root against them forever. Michigan State had another narrow win in the Big 10 Championship game against Iowa. Iowa ( 75% vowel, 100% awesome apparently :) ) suffered their first loss of the season to probably fall out of the top 4. Michigan State will probably be Seeded 4 and play Clemson. Although ESPN are projecting that Mich St. will be seeded 3. Oklahoma didn't play and they are the 3. Seed at the moment and will likely play Alabama - the No. 2 seed, wrapped up the SEC Championship game with a 29-15 win over Florida. Stanford seeded 7. won the PAC-10 crown after a comfortable win v. USC but it doesn't look good enough to break into the playoffs.

So here are the ESPN projections for the big 6!

Peach Bowl - New Years Eve 5.00pm - Florida State v Iowa
Cotton Bowl - New Years Eve: 9.00pm /1.00am CFP Semi Final - Michigan State v Alabama
Orange Bowl - New Years Eve: 9.00pm /1.0am CFP Semi Final - Clemson v Oklahoma
Fiesta Bowl - New Years Day: 6.00pm Notre Dame v Houston
Rose Bowl - New Years Day: 10.00pm Stanford v Ohio State
Sugar Bowl - New Years Day 1.00am Oklahoma St v Ole Miss

Roll on the holidays!

Crosby87
06/12/2015, 9:10 PM
I'll send you a hundred bucks if ND ends up playing the Houston Cougars.

Crosby87
06/12/2015, 9:12 PM
Yeah it's ohio state.

Real ale Madrid
06/12/2015, 10:25 PM
Sorry can't talk now Crosby, busy having f**king kittens at the moment.

07/12/2015, 10:56 AM
Sorry can't talk now Crosby, busy having f**king kittens at the moment.

This feels like Scott Tenorman.

http://vignette4.wikia.nocookie.net/southpark/images/e/e9/ScottTenormanMustDie30.gif/revision/latest?cb=20100318024246

I thought that the Eagles would go and fupp it up.

swinfordfc
07/12/2015, 3:53 PM
Eagles are right back in it .... and wait ... you see that the cow girls will win tonight to get the hell back into it ..... wait and see......

Pats are now 3rd seeds as it stand ..... that will hurt them!
Still think it be the Panthers this year (from NFC) .... ok they make the Super Bowl but think whoever comes out of the AFC side will actually win out right!

swinfordfc
08/12/2015, 3:13 PM
If the Redskins are def about their new change of culture, then Desean Jackson should be let go at the end of the season - a disgrace what he did last night - i know if i was coach, he would never play for me again - end of. He has cost the Redskins a play off spot, a spt in fairness they dont deserved, but either those any of the other 3 teams in the east division - pat spillane has a term for the football last night - puke football for both offense. Well done Sean Lee for the Coyboys - he was outstanding last night. Hopkins should get a kick up the rear end for his miss kick as well! - that's my rant over now ......

Crosby87
08/12/2015, 4:15 PM
All those wideouts are acting like idiots. Odell is acting silly. Looking at the remaining games in the nfc east I guess the giants are once again still alive after that awful debacle last night.

Things to take out of last week:
1. None of us have mentioned that there is a certain team with a cupcake remaining 4 games who can quietly end up 11-5. That team are the KC Chiefs. Hard to believe.

2. Brady better get some help on the O line and some talent back and soon....You can watch Bill coach a long time and not see him have a game as bad as he coached on Sunday. It was ALMOST LIKE he was trying to show Chip that HE TOO could be unpredictable and moronic. Tom Coughlin had an awful day too. Anyway Bill has gotten NE to 6 SBs and every single one he had the first round bye. Doesn't have it right now. Hmmmm....

3. Can I see the Jets knocking out NE in the playoffs like Rex did to them? Maybe. I mean Fitz is better than Sanchez was right? Marshall and Decker are a great WR tandem....

4. My God the Browns are bad. Another coaching change in the offseason?

5. What's going on with the Raiders? You never can tell if its going to be bad Derrick or good Derrick.

6. Steelers and Bills two more teams that could go either way.

7. I think Arizona is going to win it this yr if Carson doesn't get hurt. Carolina is the worst 12-0 team of all time. Giants will beat them up here if it is cold out in two weeks.

Now, college.
Not lots of buzz about the semifinals this year. No buzz whatsoever about the Heisman. Any of the three can win it. I think Oklahoma are the best team.

Crosby87
08/12/2015, 4:44 PM
Ranking the bowl games from best to worst.

http://espn.go.com/college-football/story/_/id/14315218/ranking-college-football-bowls-1-40

Crosby87
10/12/2015, 12:50 AM
Just set up a college bowl pool for foot.ie bragging rights. All 42 games...pm me your email for an invite. It'll be fun. You have to register but it's easy. Let's try to get 10 people or something. It's all free of course.

11/12/2015, 2:25 PM
It would be lovely. And would more or less seal our seeding. But the worry is we'd have to play them no matter what.

Crosby87
11/12/2015, 10:42 PM
Why would the Vikings send out a rookie QB with 13 seconds and no timeouts last night, on third down, to try to make a play and not kick the FG with their monster leg FG kicker? TERRIBLE COACHING.

13/12/2015, 5:48 PM
Carolina are up 21-0 already... Can we start accepting them as pure daycent.

13/12/2015, 5:48 PM
Why would the Vikings send out a rookie QB with 13 seconds and no timeouts last night, on third down, to try to make a play and not kick the FG with their monster leg FG kicker? TERRIBLE COACHING.

I had the game recorded and just skipped to that play after reading your post. Jeebus what were they thinking.

Real ale Madrid
13/12/2015, 10:22 PM
Come on you Raiders!

Real ale Madrid
13/12/2015, 10:47 PM
What in the name of christ were the Raiders doing there going for 2 and 3 ahead.

swinfordfc
14/12/2015, 3:13 PM
Pats back on top on AFC and Cam and his men top of NFC .... Seattle looking good at the minute though

Crosby87
14/12/2015, 4:16 PM
Really thought Cincy had a shot to win their first playoff game in 25 years until Andy went down yesterday....are they cursed? That's why Peyton Manning for example literally runs the opposite way if he throws a pick...just not worth a long term injury.

Jets are heating up! Steelers are too.

15/12/2015, 2:26 AM
Come on you Raiders!

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooo!!!

What in the name of christ were the Raiders doing there going for 2 and 3 ahead.

I honestly have no idea.

Pats-Broncos
Dublin-Cork

Nice wee rivalry going here.

Real ale Madrid
15/12/2015, 12:00 PM
Don't hate the Broncos at all really - just with the No.1 seed thing - that surprise defeat really was welcome. It will be interesting to see if they bring Peyton back in now if he is fit. AFC getting very very competitive now - Jets and Steelers starting to roll.

15/12/2015, 1:12 PM
Don't hate the Broncos at all really - just with the No.1 seed thing - that surprise defeat really was welcome. It will be interesting to see if they bring Peyton back in now if he is fit. AFC getting very very competitive now - Jets and Steelers starting to roll.

Kubiak hasn't named his starter which he normally does on a Monday. Osweiler looked panicked in the highlights I saw, almost like Manning v the Shawks in the SB. I do like how we keep the scoreboard ticking though with FGs. Shame we missed that one to tie it though.

Was up late last night cos of study so I got to see Giants-Fins. Beckham is some player. That toe-drag catch was unreal.

Crosby87
15/12/2015, 2:40 PM
Yeah Eli mixed it up a little. Finally. Suh looked like he wasn't even trying which Gruden pointed out. God Gruden talks the whole game.

Supposed to be kinda chilly here on sunday for giants panthers...I will say again...best thing that could happen to Carolina would be to lose one game.

This league is just about attrition with all the backups right now...How about this one...AJ McCarron is starting for Cincy. No Alabama QB has won an NFL game as a starter since Jeff Rutledge in the 1980s. Other fabulous QBs starting include the immortal TJ Yates and Jimmy Clausen.

16/12/2015, 12:29 PM
Carolina can't lose now that will collapse the season completely.

Real ale Madrid
16/12/2015, 12:52 PM
Carolina can't lose now that will collapse the season completely.

Only if they remain with their starters - if they rest Cam et al for the last game it won't make a difference. The Gaints will give them enough to think about on Sunday anyway.

That Alabama QB stat is mental btw!

swinfordfc
16/12/2015, 3:23 PM
I dont think the Giants will get close against Carolina but time will tell ........

16/12/2015, 8:02 PM
Panthers haven't really beaten anyone decent this year though. They met and beat the Seahawks and GB when they were playing ****e. Just sayin... I say they get caught out in the play offs.

Crosby87
16/12/2015, 10:07 PM
Panthers got lit up by the Saints offense just like the Giants did, but the key is if local boy Olsen plays or not. Giants will have a big shot if he is out. I mean who scares you on the Carolina Offense other than Cam if that big TE is out? Ginn? He drops as many as he catches. Really cannot understand how this team is 13-0. The starting RB is Stewart right?

Must acknowledge my sad disappointment that none of you are up for the college bowl pool. maybe next year. We could have argued for the next 3 weeks...

Crosby87
18/12/2015, 2:45 PM
Stewart is out now for CAR too...some guy named Fozzy Bear is running the ball or something. Giants have a big chance.
Sidebar: 3 first place teams have a QB starting this week that made 0 starts last year...Broncos, Bengals and Eagles. First time that has ever happened this late.

Crosby87
19/12/2015, 2:31 PM
Holy War today. Byu vs Utah. All players are married already. First game was in 1893.

Real ale Madrid
19/12/2015, 11:16 PM
Some game this! 35-0 to 35-28 still 3 plus mins left. You always get these mental games during bowl season

21/12/2015, 12:03 AM
The second half curse continues for us.

swinfordfc
21/12/2015, 4:11 PM
The second half curse continues for us.

I assume you on about Denver?

The giants - carolina was great but Cam pull it out of the fire - was great to watch. I cant believe it but the Redskins are 7-7 - i know they not a great team but are a hell alot better than they have being over the last number of years and no crap coming out of the organisation this year - what have they done with RGIII - taped his mouth!

swinfordfc
21/12/2015, 4:13 PM
But it must be mad for teams like the Jets that are 9-5 and not in the playoffs - to see Houston and Redskins in it - so far ....

Crosby87
21/12/2015, 9:24 PM
The Jets best shot is winning out, KC winning out, and DEN losing this week...Steelers win out...so KC wins the Div, and Steelers and Jets are wild cards. Jets owning the tie break over DEN...DEN would be out. Osweiler got hurt yesterday too...and with Peytons foot acting up again...DEN is in trouble.

More injuries for the Pats with Chung and Amendola again. I think the Jets can beat them.

People are going crazy about Beckham yesterday...I dunno. He is suspended. The Giants need an overhaul. Will be interesting what they do.

How about Buffalo? they kill the Jets twice last year with RR coaching NYJ. So then they see fit to give him a freaking 5 yr deal. they had 57 sacks or there abouts last season and they have like 18 now, with players complaining. Hard to see Rex being there much longer except his deal makes him kinda unfireable. Stupid.

Real ale Madrid
21/12/2015, 11:26 PM
Whatever happens next week there is no way Denver will lose to San Diego surely?

Crosby87
22/12/2015, 5:26 PM
No but they could lose to Cincy....that's my point. Jets beat NE, (Hightower another walking wounded now for Pats) and Cincy plays well enough in Denver to eek one out?

So...this Beckham thing. This has taken a bad turn. What's happening is it SEEMS like he is of a certain persuasion every normal human being has no problem with, since its you know, 2016, but the NFL is a different culture and so of course that's what started his behavior, Panthers players mocking him. This could blow up on feckless Goodell if he doesn't stay in front of it. ESP if some audio appears of what they were saying to him to get him all crazy.

On a lighter note, I figured out the perfect place for Peyton Manning to go next year. DEN doesn't want him to play again this year bc they don't want to switch the offense back from where it is now. He is going to try to practice tmrw and Osweiler says his shoulder is OK. So let's assume Peyton is healthy enough to play next year and the foot thing isn't chronic and he has improved velocity and manageable neck pain. DEN wont want to pay him, he becomes a FA. What is an example of a team with weapons on Offense but horrible QB play...and a defense that is stout?
The Houston Texans. It's perfect. They say listen, get us 24 points a game. Weather is perfect for him. He's from Louisiana. It's a perfect fit IF he is healthy.