View Full Version : American Football
Pages :
[
9]
04/02/2016, 2:14 PM
Thinking back to the game last night - people that don't take much interest in American football are definitely missing out in what can be a highly dramatic sport. The whole game last night was full of sporting tension.
And it showed the critical nature of special teams - all 3 of the 4 TD's were scored off short field position, showing how important punting and kicking still is in the modern game. A missed PAT so early in the game proved to be the pivotal moment. Every play counts. Remarkable.
Only watched the first half of Panthers / Cardinals but people will be very quick to dismiss the Broncos chances in the Superbowl - if Denver can do what they did last night in shutting down the likes of Brady / Edelman / Gronk for long spells then they will be more than capable of doing something similar to Newton, Olsen et al and will be highly motivated to avoid what happened two years ago.
Completely agree with everything here. I think there was some overconfidence last time out v Seattle on our part. But our D is just out of this world. I can't see Cam having it his own way for this game. All I know is I'll be in foul form no matter what on Monday morning. Ouchie.
Crosby87
04/02/2016, 4:35 PM
Cam is annoying with all the race stuff. Didn't care but now rooting for Denver.
On another note, what do you think about Lobster stuffed baked potatoes? Too bad the game is on too late for most of you to snack. I'm really getting after it this year.
Real ale Madrid
04/02/2016, 4:41 PM
too bad the game is on too late for most of you to snack.
says who?
Crosby87
04/02/2016, 4:47 PM
You know how you get when you eat after 9pm. You'll be downing anti acids all night again. Poor Bonnie Shells will have to sleep in the guest room.
Town Legend
04/02/2016, 6:46 PM
I'll be getting a papa johns 12 inch pizza in for the occasion all for myself!
04/02/2016, 8:15 PM
Cam is annoying with all the race stuff. Didn't care but now rooting for Denver.
On another note, what do you think about Lobster stuffed baked potatoes? Too bad the game is on too late for most of you to snack. I'm really getting after it this year.
Not in the Woolshed. Food til 1am. Drinks til 4. Sleep at 6. College at Tuesday.
You know how you get when you eat after 9pm. You'll be downing anti acids all night again. Poor Bonnie Shells will have to sleep in the guest room.
He's banned me after the "incident".
Real ale Madrid
05/02/2016, 7:51 AM
Ah only if the Broncos win will he have to go in there - and to be fair he'll be insufferable if they do - I can't live in a world where Dublin have Sam Maguire and Lombardi is in Denver.
Crosby87
06/02/2016, 8:55 PM
This is the first time you can bet on who wins MVP. Cam is very short odds.
Real ale Madrid
07/02/2016, 9:50 AM
Best Prop Bet: Will Mike Carey be wrong about a challenge? (Y:11/10, N: 4/6)
Worst Prop Bet (In history) : Will there be an earthquake? (Y:10/1)
Crosby87
08/02/2016, 3:53 PM
140 passing yards , 3 fumbles, 8 punts an INT and they WON. Worst sporting event in history. Between dink and dunk and the halftime show I think I'm blind.
Real ale Madrid
08/02/2016, 9:11 PM
Best Prop Bet: Will Mike Carey be wrong about a challenge? (Y:11/10, N: 4/6)
Winner winner chicken dinner! (I didn't get the bet on) I did bet on the Panthers winning the coin toss - and then preceded to put my winnings on overtime being played. It wasn't too far fetched during the first half. The game itself had no redeemable qualities, the halftime show was the worst ever. The Manning fawning at the end was an insult to Von Miller - himself and Ware basically just won an AFC Champ game and a SuperBowl by themselves with no help from the offense whatsoever. Disgraceful. Mannings career deserved 2 rings to be fair to him, but they would have won with Crosby87 under center, maybe even BonnieShels.
Crosby87
09/02/2016, 6:55 PM
Yeah, I'm a pretty good athlete. Bonnie has a limp from being attacked by those Hooligans on the Faroe Islands.
Did anyone else not get the black panther thing from Beyoncé? I would NEVER have known that was what she was after until old Rudy Giuliani pointed it out. Politics at the SB? Stupid, Stupid, Stupid.
Early odds for next years SB winner Panther, Pats, Seahawks all 9-1.
11/02/2016, 10:43 AM
Winner winner chicken dinner! (I didn't get the bet on) I did bet on the Panthers winning the coin toss - and then preceded to put my winnings on overtime being played. It wasn't too far fetched during the first half. The game itself had no redeemable qualities, the halftime show was the worst ever. The Manning fawning at the end was an insult to Von Miller - himself and Ware basically just won an AFC Champ game and a SuperBowl by themselves with no help from the offense whatsoever. Disgraceful. Mannings career deserved 2 rings to be fair to him, but they would have won with Crosby87 under center, maybe even BonnieShels.
It was immense. But I would say that after the result that saw me finally see the Broncos win a SB live rather than get the result in school the next day. Like Donegal v Dublin 2011, its greatness will be seen in the fullness of time.
This Panthers O was meant to be the second coming. that makes our d's performance all the more remarkable.
The game had one massive redeeming quality. DEFENCE! It was out of this world on both sides. Miller was a man possessed all night. Talib had a shocking first half though; was delighted to see him get back in his groove later on.
The fawning over Manning even bugged the crap out of me and definitely undermined the contribution of Von.
The practice of giving the Lombardi Trophy to the owner and QB in that instance was stupid. Annabel didn't know where she was the whole time up on that podium. I always find SB presentations so underwhelming in comparison to how it's done in soccer, GAA, rugby.
Yeah, I'm a pretty good athlete. Bonnie has a limp from being attacked by those Hooligans on the Faroe Islands.
Did anyone else not get the black panther thing from Beyoncé? I would NEVER have known that was what she was after until old Rudy Giuliani pointed it out. Politics at the SB? Stupid, Stupid, Stupid.
Early odds for next years SB winner Panther, Pats, Seahawks all 9-1.
I'll never be the same again.
We won't be winning it next year. Then again if you said that to me a year ago that we would win SB50 I would have laughed at you and called the men in white coats.
I'll plump for the Shawks and Packers for now. And live in the hope that if we don't win it that Green Bay or Seattle will.
Clifford
04/08/2016, 11:16 PM
We doin the fantasy league this year?
05/08/2016, 7:49 AM
We doin the fantasy league this year?
Get onto Wexcar
WexCar
07/08/2016, 4:34 PM
Have had a busy last 6 months and forgot about this, won't have time to oversee a fantasy league this year.
I'm out this year anyway.
KrisLetang
31/08/2016, 1:29 AM
Teddy Bridgewater and the Vikings opening the big new Stadium. No non sense popular coach Mike Zimmer.
Non contact drill this afternoon. Teddy goes back to throw and.... splits his knee in two. Also tears Acl. Paramedics. Sedation. Trauma Center.
Non contact! How does that happen? He may never play again.
Real ale Madrid
31/08/2016, 8:58 AM
Very sad about Bridgewater alright.
Anyone going to Lansdowne Road on Saturday?
31/08/2016, 9:05 AM
Very sad about Bridgewater alright.
Anyone going to Lansdowne Road on Saturday?
EP is taking care of me.
KrisLetang
04/09/2016, 3:04 AM
Wow. Philly gets a #1 for Bradford. I know the Vikings are desperate but jeez.
In other news; mark sanchez is a cowboy.
Philly is starting a QB, Carson Wentz, from North Dakota State.
Real ale Madrid
05/09/2016, 8:48 AM
Went to the Aviva on Saturday for the game. Weather ruined it a bit as well as the 12.30 k.o time, so the atmosphere was a bit flat.
As a BC fan the game itself was quite interesting before they choked away the final few mins.
They should stick this on at 8pm at night and advertise it as a night out in future.
06/09/2016, 3:53 PM
Went to the Aviva on Saturday for the game. Weather ruined it a bit as well as the 12.30 k.o time, so the atmosphere was a bit flat.
As a BC fan the game itself was quite interesting before they choked away the final few mins.
They should stick this on at 8pm at night and advertise it as a night out in future.
1230? Really? That seems mental given that would put it on in morning time stateside? I would have assumed 8ish here would be ideal.
MeathDrog
07/09/2016, 9:49 PM
Couldn't have it on that late. Curfew in place at the Aviva.
swinfordfc
13/09/2016, 2:30 PM
Well I really found out what the redskins are like last night! - nearly men all over the field! Cousins is not good enough as a quarter back, offensive line is not helping out the running game, jones and Thompson not good enough as running backs. Reed and Jackson are the only 2 good things to come out of last night. On the defensive side of the ball, no 91 Kerrigan nearly held onto the ball when getting close to Ben but then lost it! Defensive line is so porous and Breeland got wasted with no help from all Hall. Norman did ok but the rest of a joke. Last year was a fluke as they did not beat a team with a 0.5 plus record
KrisLetang
05/01/2017, 6:48 PM
Cook will become the first NFL QB to make his debut in the playoffs for Oakland. Shame Carr got hurt. Cannot imagine who plays for OAK if Cook got hurt and McGloin couldn't go...has the makings of a dreadful game. Texans starting the awful Osweiler...10-7 anyone?
How about the Giants? Can Eli wave his magic wand in GB again?
Real ale Madrid
05/01/2017, 11:25 PM
I feel sorry for Oakland. I still hope the situation can galvanise them Saturday. Texans should have beaten Oakland in Mexico a few weeks ago, it's still an interesting game.
I love NYGs chances in Green Bay. Should be a great game. NY have the better D.
I fancy Seattle and Pittsburgh at home, bud don't rule out Miami - I'd draw a line through that Patriots game last week, they rested a lot of thier defense in that game and won what six straight before that? Will be close.
KrisLetang
06/01/2017, 1:43 AM
Yeah Detroit is in a tough spot going to SEA. Tanny officially ruled out for MIA. If it's freezing in Pitt they have no shot.
Real ale Madrid
06/01/2017, 8:05 AM
Tanny officially ruled out for MIA. If it's freezing in Pitt they have no shot.
Went to a cold Buffalo a few weeks back when Buffalo were still in contention and got a win with Moore - not the same as Pitt, but not the forlorn hope imo that everyone thinks - the line is +10 as well - too high.
KrisLetang
06/01/2017, 3:22 PM
Well we know what Miami's template is I guess. Run the ball 50 times to Ajayi for 225 yards. Problem is, Pitt obviously wants to turn it into a track meet. First playoff game for Ben, Brown, and Bell together also due to injuries/suspensions.
07/01/2017, 12:46 PM
Season over lads. See ye October. Football Schmootball.
That being said I'll be waving the anti-Pats and anti-Cowboys flag throughout the play offs.
KrisLetang
07/01/2017, 3:12 PM
Green Bay not sold out. New generation of fans not as hardy as those of Lambeau lore? Team actually offering free hot chocolate, no kidding. Giants haven't left yet. Wonder if they will have any delays, it's coming down here.
Delighted the Raiders game is on Sky Sports Mix tonight so I can watch it. Wheel off without Carr but it'd be some story of they can even go through anther round.
07/01/2017, 8:19 PM
Green Bay not sold out. New generation of fans not as hardy as those of Lambeau lore? Team actually offering free hot chocolate, no kidding. Giants haven't left yet. Wonder if they will have any delays, it's coming down here.
What? Isn't like 50 years or something since they last didn't sell out a game?
Delighted the Raiders game is on Sky Sports Mix tonight so I can watch it. Wheel off without Carr but it'd be some story of they can even go through anther round.
This is new information. I was searching for a stream there.
KrisLetang
07/01/2017, 9:04 PM
They've sold out every home game since 1959 but there are thousands left for this one. As of this afternoon anyway.
Real ale Madrid
08/01/2017, 10:29 AM
Season over lads. See ye October. Football Schmootball.
That being said I'll be waving the anti-Pats and anti-Cowboys flag throughout the play offs.
That's simply unbelievable about Packers tickets - one place I have to visit.
Watched Lions/Seahawks this am - thought the Lions were hanging tough until those few bad personal foul calls late in the game.
Fancy the Phins to cover tonight and looking forward to sitting down to watch the big one after that.
KrisLetang
08/01/2017, 4:10 PM
Fins have 3 starters out of the secondary......might be tough. I feel like Pitt is a pretty good bet right now.
Real ale Madrid
08/01/2017, 7:05 PM
Deep in Pittsburgh territory either side of HT and you cough up the ball on both. Gimme a break.
KrisLetang
08/01/2017, 7:39 PM
First 3 games are total dogs. Awful.
Will Eli come alive. That is the question.
Real ale Madrid
08/01/2017, 8:07 PM
The Miami +10.5 people are still alive......
08/01/2017, 9:05 PM
Pats v Texans
Cmon Brock.
Really hoping this game in Lambeau lives up to the billing.
EDIT: And it is. Go wan Randall!
KrisLetang
09/01/2017, 12:58 AM
You must be a terrible better lol.
Ok, lets try again......
Alabama vs Clemson
09/01/2017, 12:59 AM
I don't bet.
Real ale Madrid
09/01/2017, 8:03 AM
I don't bet.
apart from the odd acculturator.
Very surprised by the Giants folding like a deck of cards but a novice Coach in his first playoff game means we can now knowingly nod in hindsight.
Dabo Swineney v Nick Satan tonight - early night I think - should be a good game right enough. Staying up late on Monday night / Tuesday morning is a step too far for me.
KrisLetang
09/01/2017, 1:32 PM
Tricky is taking Clemson in a teaser with 4 college basketball games.
11/01/2017, 10:29 AM
It's because of those aculturators that I stopped betting
12/01/2017, 11:46 PM
Chargers relocating to LA. It's gonna be a disaster. Hopefully.
http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000773179/article/chargers-announce-decision-to-relocate-to-los-angeles
KrisLetang
13/01/2017, 7:48 PM
Chiefs/ Steelers moved from 1 pm EST to 8 PM EST.
Real ale Madrid
13/01/2017, 10:48 PM
Chiefs/ Steelers moved from 1 pm EST to 8 PM EST.
******** anyway.
KrisLetang
14/01/2017, 1:17 AM
820 actually now. So they'll kick off by midnight.
Rams new coach is 30 years old? That should be interesting. They hired Wade Phillips as DC who is 70.