Pages :
[
5]
20/07/2013, 5:18 PM
Some discussion of FAI finances and the AGM here
http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0720/463651-fai-agm/?utm_source=NewsWhip
Meanwhile, all is not rosy in the IRFU garden either
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/irfu-hit-by-26m-shortfall-in-expected-earnings-from-five-and-10-year-tickets-1.1469464
20/07/2013, 6:26 PM
Rent :D
after paying €1.15 bn to 'not look bad' and the transport infrastructure to be easy to get to, not to mention the umpteen pitch changes to facilitate the transition from the worst pitch in the western world to something not bad, you ask how much rent do they pay?
The estate agents must see you coming a mile off.
Maybe so but then I would have a bloody big house (one of the biggest in the land), that I owned, would get a nice bit in return every year in rent, and if things get a bit itchy there are always those national lottery grants to help :)
Last I heard the debt to Wembley was roughly 350 million, which for a big organisation like the FA is manageable - but i havent got the latest figures - sorry
20/07/2013, 10:24 PM
The FAI cancelled its traditional post AGM press conference in Arklow today with John Delaney telling delegates from clubs and affiliates that it was not in the association’s “best interests” for questions to be answered regarding its finances.
Various attempts to get Delaney or other senior members of the association to speak with the press after the AGM had concluded were then rebuffed.
From Irish Times.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/fai-cancels-press-conference-at-cagey-agm-1.1470487
How can he just get away with saying something like this? Won't the other members of the FAI keep him in check?
Pat Kelly of the SFAI, who was awarded honorary life membership of the association, hailed the transformation of the organisation that has taken place over the course of the time involved.
Twenty years ago the FAI was “personality driven,” but “all of that has changed”, said the Waterfordman, before referring to the organisation’s “outstanding CEO”. Earlier, Delaney had, as is also traditional, featured around 60 times in a short video, set to music, covering the activities of the Festival of Football that leads up to the AGM.
Maybe not.
Link to a pdf of the CEO address here. The part at the bottom of page 3 and into 4 is interesting.
http://www.fai.ie/images/CEO_AGM_speech_2013_.pdf
I stood here last year and said that 2012 and 2013 are tough years. I also said that our business plans show a breakeven result in both years.
We have delivered in 2011.
We have delivered that in 2012.
We are on target to deliver it again in 2013.
If we were behind our targets, I might understand some of the comments, but we are not.
We are operating entirely in line with our plans.
Our cost base has been reduced so although the revenues which we forecast accurately during 2012 and 2013 are lower, when they increase from 2014 onwards, the margin between our lower cost base and higher revenues, means the Association will be well placed to generate the profits we are forecasting
From 2014 , we will benefit two-fold, firstly from the continuation of our reduced cost base and secondly from increased revenues that will allow us to repay our debt. Most importantly, our revenues from 2014 onwards are based on security that few other businesses enjoy.
From 2014 to 2020, the FAI will receive an estimated €60-70m in UEFA TV rights money as a result of a centralised television rights agreement in addition to income from the resale of premium seats, renegotiation of naming rights which generated over €40m from the initial sale, and UEFA hattrick f unding on a four year cycle
We are dealing in certainties here.
SolitudeRed
21/07/2013, 12:16 AM
Also see that it was confirmed at this AGM that a bid would be made to host matches for the 2020 Euros which will be held in various different cities across Europe instead of just one country, Delaney also stated that the FAI is well on its' way to being debt free by then. I am not sure how realistic that is? are they not making interest only payments on the Lansdowne loan? will this new UEFA TV money arrangement going to be enough to clear that in such a short period of time http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2013/0720/463672-fai-agm-wicklow/
21/07/2013, 8:54 AM
I suppose if you default on your debts and post back the keys you're debt free!
The stuff in that latest Irish Times article is like Stalin era Soviet Union. Don't talk about the problem, don't ask any questions and don't let the bloke in who'd ask awkward questions. Instead publish a piece of propoganda and comment on how wonderful the leader is.
First question from the floor in 3 years and it was a technical question rather than anything of substance. Who are these people running our game?
Edit: having just read the comment on the PDF file linked by osarusan, maybe JD has a point! It's hard to imagine no proper communication between government and the FAI. Unless we're some kind of gombeen republic, which clearly we're not.
21/07/2013, 3:59 PM
The RTE article has been posted a lot around, but Emmett Malone in the Irish Times is far more revealing (http://http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/fai-cancels-press-conference-at-cagey-agm-1.1470487):
As has become the norm, delegates failed to raise a single issue in relation to the finances from the floor. Carl Bond became the first person in three years to ask a question of any sort when he attempted to have a motion in relation to schoolboy football, that had already been withdrawn, ruled out of order.
Pat Kelly of the SFAI, who was awarded honorary life membership of the association, hailed the transformation of the organisation that has taken place over the course of the time involved.
Twenty years ago the FAI was “personality driven,” but “all of that has changed”, said the Waterfordman, before referring to the organisation’s “outstanding CEO”.
Earlier, Delaney had, as is also traditional, featured around 60 times in a short video, set to music, covering the activities of the Festival of Football that leads up to the AGM.
Suffice to say, Emmett won't be invited back next year, and expect to see significantly less access to Trap and the boys for the IT in the near future.
ArdeeBhoy
22/07/2013, 12:35 AM
Hmm, it all seems very messy. Even from the IRFU perspective.
Not sure this says anything we don't already know, but here's the Ybig thread...
http://www.ybig.ie/forum/rt-prime-time-fai-financial-fiasco-4-4-13_topic43877.html
Alf Honn
22/07/2013, 11:21 PM
Hmm, it all seems very messy. Even from the IRFU perspective.
Not sure this says anything we don't already know, but here's the Ybig thread...
http://www.ybig.ie/forum/rt-prime-time-fai-financial-fiasco-4-4-13_topic43877.html
Read an article today (think in D Mail) which stated FaI will pay over €20million interest by the time they even start paying the debt in 2005. That's IF they pay the debt.
Really and truly, how much is this stadium gonna cost by 2020?
Twenty million yoyos....20,000,000....down the tubes because some ticket scheme by a genius like Delaney hit the skids.
If it wasn't so serious in its damaging to football in this country, it would be laughable.
TV money (which the article points out was always there as a major revenue) won't gloss over the cost of incompetence.
23/07/2013, 7:47 AM
Twenty million yoyos....20,000,000....down the tubes because some ticket scheme by a genius like Delaney hit the skids.
not just the FAI in trouble over ticket sales. read the article above on the IRFU. You can blame Delaney for many things but the recession isnt one of them
23/07/2013, 8:26 AM
not just the FAI in trouble over ticket sales. read the article above on the IRFU. You can blame Delaney for many things but the recession isnt one of them
And again, no he should be praised!:rolleyes: Do you work for the Failures?
23/07/2013, 8:44 AM
And again, no he should be praised!:rolleyes: Do you work for the Failures?
read the post thanks
Alf Honn
23/07/2013, 4:58 PM
Are u for REAL?!
Recession was well under way when he put out those ridiculous vantage tickets at 30k a pop.
Everyone but him realised it was doomed to fail but he barged on, got burned but kept saying sales were flying.
Glad you brought up IRFU. Are we aware they fully sold their premium tkts before stadium had even opened? Difference is they sold a year earlier and at half the price.
Their current IRFU problem with sales of normal 10 yr tkts just highlights how fanciful the FAI's predictions for sales are.
Buck stops with your friend, Mr Delaney.
Crosby87
23/07/2013, 7:08 PM
This will also get your dander up Alfred.
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRWysBri-meFz7h-rzzXaj-1-iLsRQXrgIWE5yN3zzz5LRaLGQH
23/07/2013, 7:15 PM
What earthly relevance has that got with the topic?!
23/07/2013, 8:08 PM
Maybe so but then I would have a bloody big house (one of the biggest in the land), that I owned, would get a nice bit in return every year in rent, and if things get a bit itchy there are always those national lottery grants to help :)
Last I heard the debt to Wembley was roughly 350 million, which for a big organisation like the FA is manageable - but i havent got the latest figures - sorry
I'm confused Benno, originally you had asked how much rent do the FA pay on Wembley, instead I think you meant to ask what income do they get for renting the place out. Why are you doing this to me? not to mention derailing the thread with a brainf'art :)
That's sloppy attention to detail, the FAI could do with a guy like you.
The main point is, Wembley has a 50 year lifeline, Lansdowne rd has a 60 year lifeline. Is there a problem with understanding that? Can we accept that 'fact' and move on. Whether the FA has a truckload of cash available to burn on the Wembley project is irrelevant, the FAI don't have.
I don't doubt that the FAI can pay off their stadium debt and it will work out much better than playing our internationals in the RDS or renting out Croke Pk.
The problem is, there's not going to be much, if any, of the annual income left over for the game at local level.
24/07/2013, 7:56 AM
Are u for REAL?!
Recession was well under way when he put out those ridiculous vantage tickets at 30k a pop.
Everyone but him realised it was doomed to fail but he barged on, got burned but kept saying sales were flying.
Glad you brought up IRFU. Are we aware they fully sold their premium tkts before stadium had even opened? Difference is they sold a year earlier and at half the price.
Their current IRFU problem with sales of normal 10 yr tkts just highlights how fanciful the FAI's predictions for sales are.
actually the FAI started selling 10 year tickets back in 2004 and they did sell quite well at that stage. remember the massive waiting list to become a blockbooker back then?
the IRFU were selling ten year tickets regularly back as far as 1982 to help fund the new east stand at the time. they hadnt even dreamt up the new stadium as we know it back then so if you are saying the IRFU had the foresight that the FAI didnt in particular reference to the new stadium then you are wrong. both were selling 10 year tickets long before then.
i am not here to defend Delaney but id be pretty sure the prices for the new stadium 10 year tickets were based on market research at the time and yes the prices being asked were bananas initially
24/07/2013, 10:35 AM
FAI finances in the spotlight: http://sportforbusiness.com/?p=8703
24/07/2013, 10:59 AM
Interesting, thanks. Presumably tomorrow's article will compare footy, rugger and GAA?
The article Tets posted seems to back up my opinion that there are some things the FAI does well. Clearly there are things it doesn't do well. The "joining up" of the domestic game, kicking obstructive and powerful vested interests into touch and having a governance structure conducive to this would appear to me to be the areas that it needs to address.
The Airtricity League making a collective profit is an interesting development.
24/07/2013, 11:18 AM
I'm confused Benno, originally you had asked how much rent do the FA pay on Wembley, instead I think you meant to ask what income do they get for renting the place out. Why are you doing this to me? not to mention derailing the thread with a brainf'art :)
That's sloppy attention to detail, the FAI could do with a guy like you.
The main point is, Wembley has a 50 year lifeline, Lansdowne rd has a 60 year lifeline. Is there a problem with understanding that? Can we accept that 'fact' and move on. Whether the FA has a truckload of cash available to burn on the Wembley project is irrelevant, the FAI don't have.
I don't doubt that the FAI can pay off their stadium debt and it will work out much better than playing our internationals in the RDS or renting out Croke Pk.
The problem is, there's not going to be much, if any, of the annual income left over for the game at local level.
So how long into this thread did it take you to figure my point!!:)
24/07/2013, 12:56 PM
I've just re-read from page 5 onwards and you didn't make that point at all. Alf Honn came closest. You just jumped on jbyrne and added dumb sarcasm like JD warranting applause. Not warranting ridicule is not the same as warranting congratulations.
I think most here have serious reservations about JD and the management of the FAI but getting into debt to finance a capital project in a booming economy 2006/7 was nowhere near the worst criticism one can direct at him.
The whole country (bar you of course :)) had a collective brain fart when it came to real estate and debt. The difference in the FAI's case was that they actually needed the new property and the government scuppered a perfectly decent and risk-free (it was underwritten by Deutsche Bank) eircom Park project around 10 years ago.
24/07/2013, 1:13 PM
Are u for REAL?!
I think the recession started just at the same time the major promotion of the tickets began. The figures had been done and the calculations were that sell the Vantage tickets and all would be well in the garden. Pre-recession they were not "ridiculous vantage tickets". Presumably this was the advice the FAI got from their professional financial advisors. The FAI were stuck between a rock and a hard place. For years they had been crucified for not owning their own ground. They took the sensible decision to part-own the ground with the IRFU. Imagine the damage now if they had gone out on their own?
One of their main financial issues is that the international games are not being well attended for a number of reasons. When Trap goes, they need to be very careful in who they appoint. Alex F would bring the crowds back for 4 or 5 games or some such "celebrity" UK manager. And of course qualification for Brazil would help.
24/07/2013, 1:14 PM
I've just re-read from page 5 onwards and you didn't make that point at all. Alf Honn came closest. You just jumped on jbyrne and added dumb sarcasm like JD warranting applause. Not warranting ridicule is not the same aws warranting congratulations.
Doh- so by having no money, just repaying the interest on the debt - thats good for irish football!! There is only one conclusion on how that would affect Irish football!!! Tsk, no money, no fun. Sorry didnt think i had to spell it out! But then I am not an FAI cheerleader
24/07/2013, 2:10 PM
Doh- so by having no money, just repaying the interest on the debt - thats good for irish football!! There is only one conclusion on how that would affect Irish football!!! Tsk, no money, no fun. Sorry didnt think i had to spell it out! But then I am not an FAI cheerleader
the FAI are only paying interest on the stadium as after all their other financial committments are met they cant afford to do otherwise. these "other committments" include investing in Irish football in many different ways but you are trying to suggest that every cent the FAI gets in is used to pay interest.
the FAIs turnover last year was almost €40m. Are you seriously trying to have us believe this all went on stadium interest? please do "spell it out for us" if thats the case.
24/07/2013, 2:50 PM
I'm not a FAI cheerleader either.
I've spelt out very clearly where I am critical of the FAI, both in this thread and in the governance thread. I'd appreciate if you could acknowledge that.
It does not follow from anything I have said here that the FAI being broke is good for Irish football. It obviously isn't. If this forum was properly moderated you wouldn't get away with such persistent childishness.
My point is very simple and I've said it clearly before so I shouldn't have to make it again: the decision to take out a loan to finance their share of the construction of a new stadium was taken at a time when the economy was booming and the conventional wisdom was that revenues would continue to be strong. That's not a mistake unique to the FAI. Tens, if not hundreds, of thousands of households and thousands of businesses seem to have made the same mistake.
(If you hadn't thanked my gag about rugger buggers singing about gang bags I'd be even angrier!)
24/07/2013, 3:12 PM
RTÉ Prime Time - FAI financial problems highlighted (4/4/13)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUpcVHp4z7g&feature=player_embedded
Prime Time investigates the financial hangover of the Aviva stadium for the FAI.
Host - Pat Kenny
Reporter - Kevin Burns
http://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/
Around the 1:40 mark, did JD actually say "implementating" in his 2002 interview about the Genesis report? That by itself should have disqualified him from office!
That's as bad as saying "tremenjous". In fact I got an email from a senior guy in AIB once who actually spelt it that way.
24/07/2013, 3:25 PM
Around the 1:40 mark, did JD actually say "implementating" in his 2002 interview about the Genesis report? That by itself should have disqualified him from office!
That's as bad as saying "tremenjous". In fact I got an email from a senior guy in AIB once who actually spelt it that way.
There's that famous urban legend about a former FAI chief who stood up at an AGM and addressed the crowd, saying: "Certain allegations have been made about me and I know who the alligators are."
24/07/2013, 4:25 PM
I'm not a FAI cheerleader either.
It does not follow from anything I have said here that the FAI being broke is good for Irish football. It obviously isn't. If this forum was properly moderated you wouldn't get away with such persistent childishness.
My point is very simple and I've said it clearly before so I shouldn't have to make it again: the decision to take out a loan to finance their share of the construction of a new stadium was taken at a time when the economy was booming and the conventional wisdom was that revenues would continue to be strong. That's not a mistake unique to the FAI. Tens, if not hundreds, of thousands of households and thousands of businesses seem to have made the same mistake.
(If you hadn't thanked my gag about rugger buggers singing about gang bags I'd be even angrier!)
Your point about the economy of the country is something like what FF would come out with - sure its not there fault at all - blame America, blame 911, blame the recession but whatever you do dont blame the good old boys in the FAI. At least they should be tackling the debt issue in a much more open way - not asking journalists to keep quite about it, or show some accountability and transparency ffs. What do they have to hide!
You also give a few insults out as well - so dont take the high moral ground!
I find it bizarre that some on here (the usual IMHO) are willing to defend the FAI on this issue - did ye guys buy them 10 year tickets or what!!!? Probably:o
(Stutts - yes you noticed I do give you the odd thanks as well - dont take it so seriously - differing opinions are good in football!! I am not as mad in real life (maybe Ardeebhoy would disagree, ha), internet forums bring it out in me, ha)
24/07/2013, 4:32 PM
the FAI are only paying interest on the stadium as after all their other financial committments are met they cant afford to do otherwise. these "other committments" include investing in Irish football in many different ways but you are trying to suggest that every cent the FAI gets in is used to pay interest.
the FAIs turnover last year was almost €40m. Are you seriously trying to have us believe this all went on stadium interest? please do "spell it out for us" if thats the case.
I don't know, you tell me - all those centres of excellence's that have sprung up around the country maybe?
I know from where i am that grassroots football investment might as well be thrown down the drain - as you have the same cronies that were their since the 80's, doing sweet FA, sure they have all weather pitches but that's no good without proper coaching and the ego driven strangle hold that junior football has in this country
Sure Delaney's salary and expenses must be half that now
24/07/2013, 5:09 PM
as you have the same cronies that were their since the 80's, doing sweet FA, sure they have all weather pitches but that's no good without proper coaching and the ego driven strangle hold that junior football has in this country...which is where I'm very critical of the FAI. I'm able to separate stadium finance from an inability / unwillingness to take on vested interests.
Anyway, a good example regarding finance and timing is Arsenal. They financed a large chunk of their new stadium with a bank loan on reasonably expensive terms, for that time anyway. There was a small syndicate of banks who made the loan, including Bank of Ireland and also AIB I think. In 2006 they repaid the loan because they were able to get long term funding from the bond market on cheaper terms. The bond would have been rated around BBB by the rating agencies so they arranged for a specialist AAA rated insurer called MBIA to insure the investors against default. With the bonds now AAA rated a broad set of new clients were attracted to invest and on terms that may never again be achievable in our lifetime. Arsenal were able to lock in long term cheap finance. If they had waited until 2008 they'd have been stuck with the original bank loan and the barely solvent banks would have used any trick to get their money back. MBIA eventually went bust.
Arsenal were definitely sensible to build the stadium as they can generate good match day income to compete with the big European teams. But added to that good sense was a large dose of luck with regard to timing. On the other hand Liverpool's new owners saddled the club with a bank loan in 2007(?) maturing in 2009, with a view to a permanent refinancing. Both lenders (RBS and Wachovia) were bust by the time the loan was due to be rolled over! Who'd have guessed that in early 2007?
Maybe the FAI could have gone to the market in 2006 but that was when Stan was in charge. When we were losing in Cyprus the rugger boys were winning the 6 nations and winning in Twickenham, that biennial freebie that allowed the golden generation off the hook for under performing during the boom years.
That's totally different to FF and AIB blaming US sub-prime for Ireland's woes. They sowed the seeds of a disaster almost entirely of their own making, the only common feature with sub-prime being that credit was cheap and plentiful almost everywhere at the time.
As an aside: Does anyone know if the IRFU sold premium seats to the banks in 2006 and what the FAI expected to generate from the banks?
Alf Honn
25/07/2013, 12:58 AM
Few points.
Blockbooked 10 yr tkts are diff to Premium tkts. The target market for Premium was the prawn sandwich brigade people of 'high net worth' we were told. Blockbooking tickets are normal price so don't generate the millions Vantage was supposed to. Anyway, we were told 6,000 premiums sold, which on an average 20k per ticket, comes to 120 mill squids. If the debt is still 60+ million, something don't add up there.
Re Turnover. Of the 39 million, 8 million came from Euro qualifying and 3 million from UEFA hattrick (paid once every four yrs). Take out the other 3 million of Dept of Sports grants (that's money from taxpayers like us all).
That leaves, in reality, 25 million income. If qualifying isn't factored to forecasts in as they claim, where in God's name is the profit coming from to pay this monster debt off!
In the meantime, development officers get laid off, the LoI prize pot is slashed and the first club opening rd whitewash (save us Derry, please) in Europe for about 15 yrs.
25/07/2013, 1:01 AM
Anyway, we were told 6,000 premiums sold, which on an average 20k per ticket, comes to 120 mill squids. If the debt is still 60+ million, something don't add up there.
To be fair, that was a massive lie.
Alf Honn
25/07/2013, 1:05 AM
Football family being misled?...Cmon!
Btw, I'm all for FAI being part-owner of stadium (shouldve had their own with eircom), but its the cost plan and guff that stinks. If they came out and said 2030 debt free, would it be such a disaster? Only show that someone made a major mistake.
25/07/2013, 2:36 AM
Anyway, we were told 6,000 premiums sold, which on an average 20k per ticket, comes to 120 mill squids. If the debt is still 60+ million, something don't add up there.
Delaney always said that this number of 6300 included sponsorship commitments. He would never give a number on how many tickets had actually been sold, and at what prices.
When ISG ended their partnership with the FAI in 2010, the Indo reported that 4077 tickets had been allocated. This included 939 10-year tickets bought for up to €7,500 in either 2004 or 2006 at the old Landsdowne, who didn't have to pay the new Vantage prices. It was hoped/expected that the buyers would renew the tickets at the new Vantage prices, but these ticket holders don't have to decide whether to renew their tickets until 2014 or 2016.
25/07/2013, 10:11 AM
FAI finances in the spotlight: http://sportforbusiness.com/?p=8703I wanted to read today's article comparing the finances of the FAI, IRFU and GAA but it now says it's members only and there's a hefty joining fee.
Can anyone access today's article?
25/07/2013, 11:30 AM
I wanted to read today's article comparing the finances of the FAI, IRFU and GAA but it now says it's members only and there's a hefty joining fee.
Can anyone access today's article?
did you try the one month free trial?
you can read part of the article on google cache here: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache%3Ahttp%3A%2F%2Fcache.nevkontakte.co m%2Fproxy.html#go=http://sportforbusiness.com/?p=8716
25/07/2013, 8:50 PM
Thanks. I didn't sign up for the trial as it promised to get back only within 72 hours. I wondered if there was a quicker route!
01/08/2013, 11:01 AM
Last few posts moved to Rubbish. If you have a problem with a post, or private message, report it.
FAI reported to be putting together a deal that will reduce debt by €10 million.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-closing-in-on-deal-to-knock-10m-off-debt-29859208.html
Hope it comes off.
22/12/2013, 11:58 AM
You'd wonder how that works, getting a 60m debt written down to 50m?
A normal bit of business before christmas? There must be lots of lenders out there, susceptible to the festive cheer, just ready to write your debt down to manageable levels, at the stroke of a pen.
Finance at that level baffles me. Most of it I get (or think I get) but stuff like the Glazers being able to buy Man United or Hicks and Gillette to buy Liverpool with the club's own money is just mental.
Anyhow, they might be better to wait for the sales and see what's going on then.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-gets-125m-debt-writeoff-on-aviva-29863091.html
€12.5 million written off apparently
gastric
04/05/2014, 6:37 AM
Delaney painting himself as some sort of messiah. Granted he has done some good things, but the amount of spin in this article is amazing, particularly when he talks about the FAI's investment in the Aviva Stadium.
http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/football-chief-whose-change-of-tactics-turned-the-game-around-30241450.html
04/05/2014, 6:56 AM
Ah Jesus Gastric, do you want to spoil my sunday!!!:mad::)
04/05/2014, 11:23 AM
I wonder what they could have got for that Aviva financial commitment? Probably a very tidy compact 40,000 seater on the Luas line. I'd have preferred that. Then when a really big game comes along the IRFU and GAA could compete for staging it.
I still feel uncomfortable with the FAI spending a shed load of money on something they don't have a proper share of the freehold on.
I think Delaney has given a good account of himself though. However, for me, the elephant in the room is the fragmented nature of the domestic game. He cites the help of Kelleher and Desmond, but these type of people should also be on the FAI Board in some capacity and putting pressure on the FAI in other areas.
04/05/2014, 5:35 PM
I still feel uncomfortable with the FAI spending a shed load of money on something they don't have a proper share of the freehold on.
I think Delaney has given a good account of himself though. However, for me, the elephant in the room is the fragmented nature of the domestic game..
Especially when at the moment Waterford (His second team:p) appear to be in trouble.
A nice easy article from his friends in the press, no doubt over a few jars.
04/05/2014, 6:56 PM
His friends in the press? The Indo hates him and is never slow to throw a dig the FAI's way!
04/05/2014, 7:12 PM
His friends in the press? The Indo hates him and is never slow to throw a dig the FAI's way!
The Indo hate him but the Sindo don't - they have a history of popping sweeties in Delaney's mouth. They even sent Barry ****ing Egan to interview him once.
04/05/2014, 7:31 PM
I wonder what they could have got for that Aviva financial commitment? Probably a very tidy compact 40,000 seater on the Luas line. I'd have preferred that. Then when a really big game comes along the IRFU and GAA could compete for staging it.
I think Delaney has given a good account of himself though. However, for me, the elephant in the room is the fragmented nature of the domestic game. He cites the help of Kelleher and Desmond, but these type of people should also be on the FAI Board in some capacity and putting pressure on the FAI in other areas.
By the same token though there's a school of thought that the usable lifetime for the stadium (60 years) will suit the FAI given a major upgrade will be due then.
At that stage, who knows what world we will be living in again then.
04/05/2014, 7:57 PM
The Indo hate him but the Sindo don't - they have a history of popping sweeties in Delaney's mouth. They even sent Barry ****ing Egan to interview him once.
Didn't Dion Fanning give him a grilling post-Sopot?