View Full Version : Series 11 latest.
PartySaint
12/05/2012, 8:44 AM
Massive game today, the bit of poo will have a 7 point lead if they beat Rovers today...
Sorry to be the one to break it to you but it would be an 8 point lead.
Id actually prefer a Sligo win, it would put them 6 ahead of us but I still see Rovers as a bigger threat than Sligo.
Dave_SRFC
12/05/2012, 8:47 AM
Jaysus worse than I thought...
adamd164
12/05/2012, 11:49 AM
Can't see anything other than a draw in today's game, neither side will fancy losing and I'm not sure there's a whole pile between them.
I hope Pats win the league cos they've looked the best footballing team in it so far.
On our result last night, I think we've improved massively since the start of the season, still not perfect but I'd be expecting a top 5 finish come the end of the season.
Quayman
12/05/2012, 12:40 PM
Dundalk 0 Bray Wanderers 2
Shocking result for Dundalk, They have the least goals scored and the most goals conceded in the league so far. Relegation looms !
You dont say. If our lot where still playing to this minute they still wouldnt have scored. Bray are no great shakes either.
5ForKeeps
12/05/2012, 1:12 PM
Oh ya I was talking about the title in fairnes.
For a top two finish Longford are
http://www.realclearsports.com/blognetwork/rcs_sidelines/Lock%20of%20the%20Week.jpg
In the race for the top two Waterford beat us twice and still find themselves seven points behind us, Athlone are neither here nor there (could beat us next week mind!), Wexford are poor and Harps are an absolute disaster. The sooner it settles into an SPL style shootout the better for all concerned.
Your not serious about that comment? We actually try to play football unlike the majority of sides I have seen come to Ferrycarraig Park so far this season.
I was a the game against yourselves down here in Wexford, you some talented players yes but you played football like Stoke that night. In a small division having a brute force of a side will only get you so far, Longford from what I seen so far actually try to play football. With Kirby, Gillespie in the middle they actually move the ball a lot quicker than most sides in the division. Longford and Limerick are the more experienced sides in the division and are expected to where you are. But those players are not going to be around forever. Short term gains doesn't always make a side good for the long term.
How you can say our side is poor is shocking statement to come out with. Our results and performances show the progress Shane Keegan has made in a short space of time. We have recovered well from the back to back defeats to yourselves and Waterford. Unfortunate against Longford last week and at home. Even Longford fans seen us up close and we gave more than a good account against them.
El-Pietro
12/05/2012, 1:18 PM
Shamrocks keeper is shocking
12/05/2012, 1:20 PM
Nice strike by North but terrible positioning by the keeper.
12/05/2012, 1:24 PM
That was incredible.
12/05/2012, 1:26 PM
Your not serious about that comment? We actually try to play football unlike the majority of sides I have seen come to Ferrycarraig Park so far this season.
I was a the game against yourselves down here in Wexford, you some talented players yes but you played football like Stoke that night. In a small division having a brute force of a side will only get you so far, Longford from what I seen so far actually try to play football. With Kirby, Gillespie in the middle they actually move the ball a lot quicker than most sides in the division. Longford and Limerick are the more experienced sides in the division and are expected to where you are. But those players are not going to be around forever. Short term gains doesn't always make a side good for the long term.
How you can say our side is poor is shocking statement to come out with. Our results and performances show the progress Shane Keegan has made in a short space of time. We have recovered well from the back to back defeats to yourselves and Waterford. Unfortunate against Longford last week and at home. Even Longford fans seen us up close and we gave more than a good account against them.
Agree that ye are one of the better footballing sides around. While in a lot of games we have been playing like stoke, that night we most certainly did not and kept it on the deck. Bradley ran the show picking up the ball from the defence and bringing it up the field playing decent passes. Every Wexford fan I was talking to that night agreed.
12/05/2012, 1:55 PM
Disgraceful simulation from Alan Keane. Turner's a headcase.
total hoofball
12/05/2012, 1:58 PM
Disgraceful simulation from Alan Keane. Turner's a headcase.
He pulled a smiliar stunt on the opening day against Shels. Disgraceful footballer.
Doesn't take away from the fact that Turner invited that and deserved to see red but Keane should have gone down the tunnel aswell
adamd164
12/05/2012, 2:03 PM
Stephen Kenny is right to not talk to RTE. Absolutely ridiculous expecting to interview managers doing their job during a match. Every manager in the league should tell them to **** off.
MeathDrog
12/05/2012, 2:05 PM
Stephen Kenny is right to not talk to RTE. Absolutely ridiculous expecting to interview managers doing their job during a match. Every manager in the league should tell them to **** off.
It was Setanta who started all that sh*t. It's ridiculous.
12/05/2012, 2:06 PM
He pulled a smiliar stunt on the opening day against Shels. Disgraceful footballer.
Doesn't take away from the fact that Turner invited that and deserved to see red but Keane should have gone down the tunnel aswell
It's sad to see a professional athlete, so in tune with his body, feel pain in his face when somebody brushes against his chest. He should really see a specialist for that.
adamd164
12/05/2012, 2:11 PM
It's sad to see a professional athlete, so in tune with his body, feel pain in his face when somebody brushes against his chest. He should really see a specialist for that.
Brian Gannon of Drogs did the exact same against us during our game earlier in the season, got pushed in the chest and went down clutching his face. It's essentially cheating but the player who raises his hands has no business doing it and knows exactly what to expect.
MeathDrog
12/05/2012, 2:22 PM
3-0 now. That Shams keeper is shocking.
NeverFeltBetter
12/05/2012, 2:26 PM
It's such an inane practice.
Shams keeper is Taibi-like. Great pass for the third Sligo goal though.
12/05/2012, 2:31 PM
Gartland gone as well. Rovers are dreadful. Sligo have been better without the ball than with it.
wonder88
12/05/2012, 2:34 PM
Another Shamrock player now off; #gartland. No fan of Turner, but the diving from Keane is a disgrace. He now is nearly as bad as Creataro and Dennehy, Brennen list goes on. Major problem in the league of Ireland
NeverFeltBetter
12/05/2012, 2:46 PM
This Pieterse guy had previously only played against the worst team in the LOI in the League Cup. Wrong game to give him a league debut but I assume it was out of neccesity?
12/05/2012, 2:52 PM
Your not serious about that comment?
I think you are poor in the context of finishing in the top two. You wont finish in the top two bar a massive collapse (not beyond the bounds of possibility tbf). You're poor compared to Longford and Limerick (and we haven't been great), that is all I'm saying.
Not sure what in the name of jaysus you were watching when we played ye either btw.
On the Turner v Keane thing, Turners a clown, no point poo pooing Alan Keane, he's paid to do a job, the main part of which is to ensure Sligo win games. If Turner doesn't raise his idiotic hand, Keane doesn't have the opportunity to get him sent off. Would anyone here honestly crib if Keane did that for your team?? Fairplay to ye if ye would, there's a place in heaven set aside I'm sure.
12/05/2012, 3:09 PM
Would anyone here honestly crib if Keane did that for your team??[/B] Fairplay to ye if ye would, there's a place in heaven set aside I'm sure.
eh, yeah. Cheating is cheating
wonder88
12/05/2012, 3:18 PM
Was at Inchicore last night. Pats still have a good chance in this league, but they lack an edge up front. Both teams played some decent stuff and Cork are a solid side who will give a game to any team on their day. John Russell impressed for Pats, but I don't think Fagan and Flynn are good enough to be on a title wining side. Very good support there from Cork, but i expected a lot more home fans than was there. Cork are definitely on the right track and it is great to see a club owned by the fans doing so well.
wonder88
12/05/2012, 3:33 PM
That seems to be the problem with cheating in the LOI; If your side benefits from it, it is ok. fine but there is no point complaining about it but I don't want to pay 15euro to see a game decided by a cheat instead of good skill from a player. There is no reason why a player who cheats for his wages would not also cheat by not giving 100% during a game and be open to throwing a few games for a few extra euros from the bookies. I saw last night that the PFAI have an advert around pitchside in Inchicore.
freewheel30
12/05/2012, 3:33 PM
This Pieterse guy had previously only played against the worst team in the LOI in the League Cup. Wrong game to give him a league debut but I assume it was out of neccesity?
Don't know if the other option (Jansson) was injured but he has proved just as dodgy so far this season. Have money on Sligo so was okay with today's result, but would like to see Rovers with a half decent keeper in place by the time Europe rolls around.
freewheel30
12/05/2012, 3:37 PM
Was a bit puzzled when I saw Purcell had taken the pen last night as I thought O'Neill would have been given it - he's scored a bunch of them in the past whereas I'm not sure Purcell has ever taken a penalty in his career.
Agent Kenny - Mission Swift Strike is complete. Your next mission, should you choose to accept it, is Mission Blubbermouth...
Dave_SRFC
12/05/2012, 4:54 PM
Fookin shocking from Rovers terrible start for Kenny, I will say this about Sligo Rovers Alan Keane has a **** for a nose...
Good win for the "charlatan" Baraclough.
Deserved sending off for Chris "lock up your daughters" Turner.
PartySaint
12/05/2012, 5:39 PM
Was at Inchicore last night. Pats still have a good chance in this league, but they lack an edge up front. Both teams played some decent stuff and Cork are a solid side who will give a game to any team on their day. John Russell impressed for Pats, but I don't think Fagan and Flynn are good enough to be on a title wining side. Very good support there from Cork, but i expected a lot more home fans than was there. Cork are definitely on the right track and it is great to see a club owned by the fans doing so well.
Fagan is very good and does his job upfront well. Flynn wouldn't normally get near our midfield but we were missing Chambers, Bolger and Rossiter so he was brought in.
Wouldn't have been happy with a draw beforehand but Cork hit the bar and missed a peno so can have no complaints
12/05/2012, 5:45 PM
Fagan is a very good player but what on earth Manchester United saw in him I will never know. Brutal finisher, except when he plays Shamrock Rovers.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/05/2012, 5:47 PM
Good win for the "charlatan" Baraclough.
Great win for us but still a long way to go in the league. Shams very poor apart from the first 10 minutes of both halves.
sundance kid
12/05/2012, 5:50 PM
Kenny stood up at last weeks AGM and told us that Pieterse was the best keeper he's seen, and that he'll be a great keeper for Rovers. I think this says more about our manager than i could ever say.
We'd a team of dual league winners, who got us to the europa league, and gave us the best season i've had in 25 years support. Now we're a shambles, and just getting worse by the week. Hopefully the board will bite the bullet soon and send him on his way.
Sean South
12/05/2012, 5:56 PM
Stephen Kenny's Red & White Army :poo:
Keane raised his hands first and then proceeded to go down like Ashley Young. Embarrassing.
It was either 2 sendings off or none. Ref was too card happy altogether.
Sean South
12/05/2012, 7:31 PM
http://oi45.tinypic.com/2gy92ld.jpg
http://oi49.tinypic.com/w0jrr4.jpg
Sean South
12/05/2012, 7:33 PM
http://youtu.be/Wxia-eHf9-w
12/05/2012, 8:07 PM
That's disgraceful behaviour. I hope these thugs are found out and given due punishment.
adamd164
12/05/2012, 8:22 PM
You can get 11/10 on Derry to beat Monaghan on Tuesday night. Poor and all as Derry are at the moment, I think that's a good price.
12/05/2012, 8:24 PM
Maybe that shams fan was a priest and was trying to baptise him?
With Lucozade I think.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/05/2012, 8:37 PM
Now I know Keane was well out of order going down as if he'd been hit by a hard man but there was no need for what was happening on the terrace beside him. Thought I saw one of the security guards on the pitch 3 times taking objects that had been thrown onto the pitch off it
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/84/a9/09/95768a4c9830fb77f379bae45dc2a1242482d48ce8/INPHO_00598791.jpg
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/88/ac/0c/917d89469e519304ceb6852a3ccaa62c2a8adf81e7/INPHO_00598792.jpg
12/05/2012, 8:40 PM
I know he is delicate but I think he will survive his ordeal
bluewhitearmy
12/05/2012, 9:33 PM
I know he is delicate but I think he will survive his ordeal
So its ok to throw things at players then?
12/05/2012, 9:36 PM
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/images/236-01.gif
Fivesilver
12/05/2012, 9:58 PM
http://oi45.tinypic.com/2gy92ld.jpg
Identifies himself as the drummer for this band (http://www.facebook.com/StandbyLullaby) - should be pretty straightforward for the cops to get hold of him.
http://i46.tinypic.com/f0ywjc.jpg
Now, if only we had a picture of the tosser . . . oh, hang on a sec.
http://i49.tinypic.com/iwneqh.jpg
12/05/2012, 10:13 PM
Now I know Keane was well out of order going down as if he'd been hit by a hard man but there was no need for what was happening on the terrace beside him. Thought I saw one of the security guards on the pitch 3 times taking objects that had been thrown onto the pitch off it
You won the game, surely you're happy enough with that.
The incidents where some emotions boiled over will be dealt with in time, not here.
NeverFeltBetter
12/05/2012, 10:14 PM
No, no, no, its ok. You see, his Twitter page insists, it was "just a joke".
So thats alright then. Just friendly "banter", those death threats, as Kenny Daglish would put it.
wexfordned
12/05/2012, 10:25 PM
You won the game, surely you're happy enough with that.
The incidents where some emotions boiled over will be dealt with in time, not here.
Sure it was nothing wasn't it!!!!!
If anything the Sligo player should apologize to Shamrock Rovers FC & their fans. Shame on him & Sligo Rovers FC for having the temerity to score 3 goals against the model club. Can't blame Shamrock Rovers FC or their fans, it's just the way they always behave
Strawberry
13/05/2012, 12:55 AM
That seems to be the problem with cheating in the LOI; If your side benefits from it, it is ok. fine but there is no point complaining about it but I don't want to pay 15euro to see a game decided by a cheat instead of good skill from a player. There is no reason why a player who cheats for his wages would not also cheat by not giving 100% during a game and be open to throwing a few games for a few extra euros from the bookies. I saw last night that the PFAI have an advert around pitchside in Inchicore.
In no way did that decision influence the result, Shams were no worse with ten than with eleven.
Disappointing from Keane but still deserving of a red imo