View Full Version : Week 2 LOI matches: 9th & 10th March

Pages : 1 2 [3]

shellyriver
11/03/2012, 12:23 PM
Great game of ball last night, both teams got it down and tried to play.
UCD were really impressive but probably lack a player who'll get them a goal out of nothing.
Delighted with the win but disappointed with the sending off, really dont think it was a red
its getting to the stage where you cant tackle anymore and its ruining the game.
You could see players holding back for fear of getting booked or sent off.

Game of two halves? Rovers were pinned back for 2nd half and UCD ran rings around us. How lucky were we to get a win, Jason McG you legend. Fair play to UCD good footballing side - I hope Baraclough will make some of the changes that Cook refused to!

redarmyfaction
11/03/2012, 12:39 PM
Game of two halves? Rovers were pinned back for 2nd half and UCD ran rings around us. How lucky were we to get a win, Jason McG you legend. Fair play to UCD good footballing side - I hope Baraclough will make some of the changes that Cook refused to!
We sat off and absorbed it rather than being pinned back and we were comfortable doing it. The sending off disgusted me, you buy your season ticket, look forward all week to a game and have it destroyed by penis envy officials, two straight reds in two games and not a nasty tackle in either.

born2bwild
11/03/2012, 12:52 PM
We sat off and absorbed it rather than being pinned back and we were comfortable doing it. The sending off disgusted me, you buy your season ticket, look forward all week to a game and have it destroyed by penis envy officials, two straight reds in two games and not a nasty tackle in either.
Don't forget the 6-game ban for Mark Quigley, or was that just a rumour?

srfc1928
11/03/2012, 1:07 PM
Don't forget the 6-game ban for Mark Quigley, or was that just a rumour?hope its a rumour, but i dont think it is.
I was at the game and was only a few yards away from where the incident happened, ya it was a sending off, for stupidity more than anything else, but i never noticed Quigley do anything or react to the referee. I watched it again on MNS and I still cant see anyhting unusual.
Ive never really heard of a player getting a six game ban for anything similar before. Six games is a crazy ban.
How many games is it for a straight red normally?

shellyriver
11/03/2012, 1:17 PM
[QUOTE=redarmyfaction;1581547]We sat off and absorbed it rather than being pinned back and we were comfortable doing it. The sending off disgusted me,/QUOTE]

We were 'comfortable' until they equalized -- so the tactics were poor.

I can't agree we were comfortable, because aside to one or two runs from North and Raff, when brought on, we were completely over-run (particularly in midfield). Fortunately Peers and co did the job.

I agree a yellow would have done the job.

I heard Quigley is out for six matches -- apparently said something to the ref?

srfc1928
11/03/2012, 1:21 PM
We sat off and absorbed it rather than being pinned back and we were comfortable doing it. The sending off disgusted me, you buy your season ticket, look forward all week to a game and have it destroyed by penis envy officials, two straight reds in two games and not a nasty tackle in either.Ya agree with both your points, UCD were excellent but at the same time never really hurt us. We adapted really well and dealt comfortably enough.

Ive spent a lot of money over the last 8 days following Rovers, more money than I can probably afford
but sometimes you'd wonder why bother when you have the standard of refs in this league.
Last nights game was a good open game, a good advertisement for the LOI, but then youve got idiot referees doing their damdest to be centre of attention

redobit
11/03/2012, 1:43 PM
[QUOTE=redarmyfaction;1581547]We sat off and absorbed it rather than being pinned back and we were comfortable doing it. The sending off disgusted me,/QUOTE]

I can't agree we were comfortable, because aside to one or two runs from North and Raff, when brought on, we were completely over-run (particularly in midfield). Fortunately Peers and co did the job.

I agree a yellow would have done the job.

I heard Quigley is out for six matches -- apparently said something to the ref?

I wouldnt say we were over-run. Of course we were doing a lot of chasing cause they had the extra man and they are a team that are comfortable on the ball and well able to pass it around and play some lovely football. That said they created one chance before they scored. We were organised and let them play in front of us a lot but we were not over-run.

Trainee
11/03/2012, 1:54 PM
How many games is it for a straight red normally?

Its a 3 game ban for a straight red, if its the player 2nd red of the season its a 4 game, 3rd red 5 game ban, and so on.

Doubt Quigley has got a 6 ban, unless he done something stupid to the ref, or said something to the ref.

Either way we will know later in the week when suspensions list comes out.

El-Pietro
11/03/2012, 3:20 PM
thats not true - its an automatic one game ban for a red card and then the disciplinary board decide on any further punishment

ATFC-1887
11/03/2012, 5:16 PM
we dominated the 2n half clearly. ye were better team overall but thats what happens when ya spend money on players.
We have no money and have a very young inexperienced squad and we put it up to a club with big promotion hopes.
My point was Longford dont look good at all this year considering everything

bluewhitearmy
11/03/2012, 5:19 PM
we dominated the 2n half clearly. ye were better team overall but thats what happens when ya spend money on players.
We have no money and have a very young inexperienced squad and we put it up to a club with big promotion hopes.

Wish someone had told our lads in Waterford so. :p

11/03/2012, 7:09 PM
Great save from longford keeper in last minute from a smashing mcgee free kick.
Whatever about, differing opinions about who was the better team, justice done on that free anyway. Looked to me that McGee went down and then James fell over him. And then ye moved it in more central about 3 metres too! Anyway, didn't matter in the end because of the save.

hoops1
11/03/2012, 8:14 PM
hope its a rumour, but i dont think it is.
I was at the game and was only a few yards away from where the incident happened, ya it was a sending off, for stupidity more than anything else, but i never noticed Quigley do anything or react to the referee. I watched it again on MNS and I still cant see anyhting unusual.
Ive never really heard of a player getting a six game ban for anything similar before. Six games is a crazy ban.

2 Games for stupid tackle and 4 games for having a haircut like a young Frank Sivero.

L.T.F.C.
11/03/2012, 9:09 PM

You're deluded! You should start watching cricket or something because you're way off. We sat back after Salmon scored and absorbed Athlone's pressure, and the only chance of note was the free kick. And your goal came about because a double deflection. Might have been a few iffy moments in the second half, but we were comfortable enough. The way you're going on, you'd swear we have serious money. We don't. We just work well with what we have and we also have some super young players: Crawley, Purdy, Shaw to name just three. You also have to remember that it is only the second game of the season, it'll be three nil Longford next time out! :D

shellyriver
11/03/2012, 10:05 PM
[QUOTE=shellyriver;1581553]
We were organised and let them play in front of us a lot but we were not over-run.

C'mon - Cretaro was called off-side on the half-way line - and that was when they managed to get the ball forward!

Ventre was cat, Dillon played poorly, Lynch was often off the pace, Joe was anonymous and then our wingers ran into cul-de-sacs endlessly with no body to pass to in the centre.

The defenders saved the day, they had no option but to 'drop back' when those in front couldn't get a grip on the game. For example, why oh why these 'midfielders' didn't simply go over the top to North is baffling. Taking off North and bringing on Raff was a pointless move.

Ten men etc is an excuse when the effort and guile wasn't there. It was painful to watch and we were lucky to get a win. Sitting back like that before a quality bunch of players was ludicrous.

Hopefully Baraclough will get to grips with the team -- the sooner Quigley is back in Bit-a-Red, the better, how Ritchie Ryan is missed.

Only1Rovers
12/03/2012, 1:13 PM

The tactics were spot on. How many saves did Rogers have to make over the 95mins? He had to come out and do a bit for corners and probably should have caught the corner that lead to their goal, instead of punch it away, but aside from that he had little to do. You can't expect a team to go hammer and tongs into the opposition who have a man advantage for 70 minutes. You say:
fortunately Peers and Co did the job. There's nothing fortunate about it, that's what they're there to do, defend; and they're two of the best in the league! UCD were forced (due to tactics) to shoot from distance, which lead to shots flying in 10 and 20 feet away from the target.

12/03/2012, 1:31 PM
C'mon - Cretaro was called off-side on the half-way line - and that was when they managed to get the ball forward!

Ventre was cat, Dillon played poorly, Lynch was often off the pace, Joe was anonymous and then our wingers ran into cul-de-sacs endlessly with no body to pass to in the centre.

The defenders saved the day, they had no option but to 'drop back' when those in front couldn't get a grip on the game. For example, why oh why these 'midfielders' didn't simply go over the top to North is baffling. Taking off North and bringing on Raff was a pointless move.

Ten men etc is an excuse when the effort and guile wasn't there. It was painful to watch and we were lucky to get a win. Sitting back like that before a quality bunch of players was ludicrous.

Hopefully Baraclough will get to grips with the team -- the sooner Quigley is back in Bit-a-Red, the better, how Ritchie Ryan is missed.

How you can say Ventre Lynch and Dillon were poor is beyond me. Thought we played quite well considering .

shellyriver
12/03/2012, 9:36 PM
How you can say Ventre Lynch and Dillon were poor is beyond me. Thought we played quite well considering .

Ventre was totally off the pace, and Dillon (who I generally admire) picked the wrong passing option everytime. Lynch wasn't bad, but they had to bear the responsibility of moving up through the gears.

First half good - second half poor, UCD dominated the gig, and we're hanging in until the equaliser.

El-Pietro
13/03/2012, 9:07 AM
in fairness, ye were playing with 10 men! of course ye were going to tire. UCD are a good side

Sonny
13/03/2012, 11:15 AM
Dave Barry is absolutely horrendous. Apart from that I've no complaints.

poster
13/03/2012, 11:19 AM
UCD dominated the gig, and we're hanging in until the equaliser.

Sure you're not mixing that up with another game?

shellyriver
13/03/2012, 9:22 PM
Sure you're not mixing that up with another game?

Maybe it was the game where UCD beat Rovers last year?

No, come to think of it, it was last Saturday. Yeah, definitely last Saturday, last minute header from Jason McG to secure win?

gormacha
15/03/2012, 1:40 PM
Just saw that Mark Quigley got a FIVE match ban. I'd love to hear the reasoning behind that.

marinobohs
15/03/2012, 1:44 PM
Just saw that Mark Quigley got a FIVE match ban. I'd love to hear the reasoning behind that.

They didn't think anyone would miss him ?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/03/2012, 6:26 PM

6 game. 3 for the red card and then 3 for something he's supposed to have said to the ref

gormacha
15/03/2012, 7:19 PM
3 for something he's supposed to have said to the ref

I would love to have that kind of talent with verbal abuse. What could you possibly say that would warrant an additional three game ban? He'd have had to refer to the ref's mother, the legal status of his parents when he was conceived, his physical apperance, his refereeing ability, the quality of his eyesight, the provenance of his "own" children, his wife's prediliction for, well, you get the idea... How do you get all that into a pithy one-liner?

15/03/2012, 11:16 PM
I would love to have that kind of talent with verbal abuse. What could you possibly say that would warrant an additional three game ban? He'd have had to refer to the ref's mother, the legal status of his parents when he was conceived, his physical apperance, his refereeing ability, the quality of his eyesight, the provenance of his "own" children, his wife's prediliction for, well, you get the idea... How do you get all that into a pithy one-liner?

How about, " A ******, ***-******, ******* ."

OneForTheFuture
17/03/2012, 7:33 AM

He just approached the ref in an aggressive manor!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/03/2012, 11:39 AM
He just approached the ref in an aggressive manor!

I can only presume it happened in the tunnel because he certainly didn't approach the ref in an agressive manor at the time. I was very surprised how calm he was at the time.

bullit
18/03/2012, 12:14 AM
He(Quigley) has history,he got sent off for Dundalk last season for mouthing off to a ref after a St. Pats goal :(

and before the game could be restarted Dundalk were reduced to ten men when Quigley was dismissed for dissent.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/report-dundalk-0-2-saint-patricks-athletic-september-2011

OneForTheFuture
18/03/2012, 7:50 AM
Manner not manor.

I was playing on Winter's report after the FAI cup final with regards to Giller.

Ah well, back to Boards.ie with me.