View Full Version : Week 2 LOI matches: 9th & 10th March

Pages : 1 [2] 3

10/03/2012, 9:59 AM
Would take losing to Rovers over losing to Waterford. #justsaying

Off topic but I hate when people put those # tags in posts.

dong
10/03/2012, 10:24 AM
There were a few Limerick fans who were doing a lot of **** talking pre season on here and it's easy to say now it was all in jest but you were rubbing fans of other clubs noses in it whenever ye made a new "high profile" signing.

Nothing is guaranteed with Scully.

10/03/2012, 10:26 AM
There were a few Limerick fans who were doing a lot of **** talking pre season on here and it's easy to say now it was all in jest but you were rubbing fans of other clubs noses in it whenever ye made a new "high profile" signing.

Nothing is guaranteed with Scully.

Your actually wrong there cause even during pre-season it was pointed out on numerous occasions that the Limerick fans on this where only saying things in jest and that most comments were left only to get a rise out of people cause it was so easy.

Still think we will be promoted come seasons end. We were caught out last night but its only the start of the season.

dong
10/03/2012, 10:27 AM
It's passed FIFA and FAI regulations so couldnt give a sh*t really. The time spent on it has been cut down with the new indoor pitches aswell.

It will be interesting to see how the injury list develops there.
How is Foran doing?

dong
10/03/2012, 10:30 AM
Your actually wrong there cause even during pre-season it was pointed out on numerous occasions that the Limerick fans on this where only saying things in jest and that most comments were left only to get a rise out of people cause it was so easy.

Still think we will be promoted come seasons end. We were caught out last night but its only the start of the season.

Maybe you did say that, I must have missed it.
I still think you will be promoted as well but only because the rest are so poor. Which is fair enough.

10/03/2012, 10:53 AM
It will be interesting to see how the injury list develops there.
How is Foran doing?

He's been decent enough. Solid player imo.

10/03/2012, 11:11 AM
Off topic but I hate when people put those # tags in posts.

Me too. I also hate when people end their posts with 'FACT!' particularly as it can generally be taken as evidence that the poster is talking complete and utter nonsense.

10/03/2012, 11:23 AM
I'm guessing your head will explode reading this post so #FACT

10/03/2012, 11:52 AM
I'm guessing your head will explode reading this post so #FACT

If it's fact then why are you guessing Dodge? WHY???

gormacha
10/03/2012, 12:04 PM
most comments were left only to get a rise out of people

Er, that seems to be the perfect way of predicting something and then saying "I told you so" if its turns out to be correct, and "we were only joking" if it turns out to be incorrect.

Anyway, whatever. Back to the football. An excellent performance from us last night. Hard to believe it was the same team as last week. We asked for a response, and we got one, so fair play to all concerned. Gives great hope for the season ahead.

Morginho
10/03/2012, 12:09 PM
Yeah, if you start with Willo McDonagh, you deserve to forfeit a player. And probably will more times than not.

Collins at Rovers had 12 red cards in one season. You might need to get used to it.
It wasn't McDonagh sent off it was Raynor. Mons deserved something out of that I thought and so did several Rovers fans I was talking to after the game. McDonagh played very well, good few young players in the team they just need time to blend. Considering one Rovers player earns more than our entire team in a week fantastic performance. Shows we're not that far off a good place in the PL this season I think.

ped_ped
10/03/2012, 12:11 PM
Everyone is happy in the Lims camp so ?

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/web05/2011/3/18/1/enhanced-buzz-15854-1300424464-1.jpg

What LOI fan is the day after their team hoofs their way to a 3 - 1 loss?

Still expect us to get promoted, though, so I'm a Hell of a lot happier than I was facing into last season.

bluewhitearmy
10/03/2012, 12:23 PM
The fact that most of them (certainly myself when I suggested we'd probably not even concede a goal) said such things in jest appears now, as it did then, to have escaped you (much like your Forker incident last week). The notion that our season is ruined because we lost the second game of the season is laughable. Keep on hoping though. (nods to Rovers fans).

Ah in fairness its easy to say that now that we have conceded .
I think its great that people still think Lims fans were serious even though they said at the time they were joking.

Sonny
10/03/2012, 1:25 PM
. Mons deserved something out of that I thought and so did several Rovers fans I was talking to after the game.

You can't be serious?

10/03/2012, 1:27 PM
Biggest El Classico ever?

Biggest for a good while anyway. Hopefully we'll get a decent crowd out to it.

10/03/2012, 1:51 PM
The fact that most of them (certainly myself when I suggested we'd probably not even concede a goal) said such things in jest appears now, as it did then, to have escaped you (much like your Forker incident last week). The notion that our season is ruined because we lost the second game of the season is laughable. Keep on hoping though. (nods to Rovers fans).

You're funny.

Ah in fairness its easy to say that now that we have conceded .
I think its great that people still think Lims fans were serious even though they said at the time they were joking.

You're funnier.

dong
10/03/2012, 1:56 PM
It wasn't McDonagh sent off it was Raynor. Mons deserved something out of that I thought and so did several Rovers fans I was talking to after the game. McDonagh played very well, good few young players in the team they just need time to blend. Considering one Rovers player earns more than our entire team in a week fantastic performance. Shows we're not that far off a good place in the PL this season I think.

People always think they "deserved something" after a game against Shams.
It rarely ever actually happens though and their fans will be gracious in victory, obviously.

10/03/2012, 2:50 PM
You're funny.

You're not. :)

Morginho
10/03/2012, 3:47 PM
You can't be serious?
First half and maybe a little into the second half yes Monaghan played out of their skin and Rovers' didn't play near to their abilities. Obviously it's going to change when there's a man sent off. Tactically Roddy got alot right. Kept Gilbert back alot by playing Humphries high up. Dennehy's goal was brilliant but I feel the equaliser put the players heads down.

Sonny
10/03/2012, 3:56 PM
First half and maybe a little into the second half yes Monaghan played out of their skin and Rovers' didn't play near to their abilities. Obviously it's going to change when there's a man sent off. Tactically Roddy got alot right. Kept Gilbert back alot by playing Humphries high up. Dennehy's goal was brilliant but I feel the equaliser put the players heads down.

Rovers completely dominated the second half, even before the sending off. While I'm sure the first half performance was encouraging for you, I can't believe that anyone could honestly say that Mons deserved anything from that game.

Morginho
10/03/2012, 4:08 PM
I will say people may second guess their bets for the Mons going straight down. We have a top manager, some good young hungry players added with experienced players such as Byrne, Collins, Bayly and McMahon. Raynor and Murphy look very good. Can't wait to get Rocco Reilly back in place of Isichei.

Sonny
10/03/2012, 4:11 PM
We have a top manager, .

Now I know you're on the wind up:D

Morginho
10/03/2012, 4:28 PM
Lol funny man "Roddy Collins is a W****r" is what echoed from the Rovers' fans haha. You'll never have full agreement on any manager at this level.

Morginho
10/03/2012, 4:29 PM
I think what he has done for Monaghan in general is brilliant. That's why he's attracted interest from other clubs. Fair play to the man he kept to his word and stayed. I'd like to see a few more local lads in the team though that's my only concern.

10/03/2012, 5:35 PM
Harps v Mervue on Harps Radio (http://www.ustream.tv/channel/finn-harps-radio) kick off 7.45pm.

10/03/2012, 5:38 PM
Buttimer was in charge for us for the first time since "that" game in Sligo in 2008.

He obivously had a long time to reflect on his error, so he decided to give us EVERYTHING last night. As people will see Monday, he made a complete howler with the red for the penalty.

Derry were just way too good for Bray, our best performance of the season(including SSC games).

Brighton scout there watching McLaughlin.

10/03/2012, 6:09 PM
It wasn't McDonagh sent off it was Raynor. Mons deserved something out of that I thought and so did several Rovers fans I was talking to after the game. McDonagh played very well, good few young players in the team they just need time to blend.

I know, the no 11..booked for time wasting early on and then rising to the bait of the East Stand..but McDonagh could've been as well..and any team with him in it, will suffer from a numerical disadvantage often. I didn't get the abuse of the referee from the visiting fans..thought he did well.

No doubting Mons deserved the lead at HT and playing well, the no 10, no 4, no 15..all very good. 11, 14 and 5 not so much. Once the equaliser went in though, there was only one winner..

gormacha
10/03/2012, 6:31 PM
Dundalk peeps - interested in what you make of Michael Rafter. How did he play last night?

10/03/2012, 6:41 PM
Lol funny man "Roddy Collins is a W****r" is what echoed from the Rovers' fans haha. You'll never have full agreement on any manager at this level.
I think you'll find pretty much everyone is in agreement on that.

10/03/2012, 7:38 PM
Rovers one up at half time lovely lobbed goal from Danny North , down to ten men too Alan Keane sent off

gufc2000
10/03/2012, 7:45 PM
Sounds like a cracker up in Ballybofey so far, 3-2 to Finn Harps at half time.

Longford 1-1 Athlone into 2nd half

10/03/2012, 7:49 PM
2-1 Salmon!

10/03/2012, 7:55 PM
4-2 Harps now. Cracking game.

gufc2000
10/03/2012, 8:01 PM
Apparently Kevin McHugh's double tonight takes him onto 150 goals for Harps. Great milestone to reach

Morginho
10/03/2012, 8:08 PM
I know, the no 11..booked for time wasting early on and then rising to the bait of the East Stand..but McDonagh could've been as well..and any team with him in it, will suffer from a numerical disadvantage often. I didn't get the abuse of the referee from the visiting fans..thought he did well.

No doubting Mons deserved the lead at HT and playing well, the no 10, no 4, no 15..all very good. 11, 14 and 5 not so much. Once the equaliser went in though, there was only one winner..
Keith Quinn(The Ginger) :P didn't play so well. Quite waistful. Tried to play on the deck but things just didn't work out for him. Don't know about Tony Griffiths had another "ok-ish" game. It is a big step up from Senior Leinster league to Premier Division though.
Gives the Mons hope if nothing else.

10/03/2012, 8:27 PM
Town win 2-1 to go top of the table. Always nice beating Athlone.

gufc2000
10/03/2012, 8:27 PM
4-3 in Ballybofey now

10/03/2012, 9:38 PM
Was a cracker of a game, Mervue are woeful but Jason Molloy looks a class act, made a huge difference for them.

We were all over the place at the back.

Onwards and upwards I suppose, bring on Athlone, I think we have a coach load going down for that one.

10/03/2012, 9:47 PM
Coach load indeed for Athlone next week. Looking forward to that trip. Poor enough 2nd half but the first half was pure class, end to end stuff. Delighted for McHugh reaching 150 goals.
Harps were poor enough at the back, but cracking going forward. McHugh still has an absolutely class touch and superb vision.

Bring on Athlone. We're above Limerick on goal difference ;P 3rd in the table. Lets hope to stay there now.

ATFC-1887
10/03/2012, 10:22 PM
Longford werent great.
Reckon we deserved at least a draw. Great save from longford keeper in last minute from a smashing mcgee free kick.

10/03/2012, 10:25 PM
Longford werent great.
Reckon we deserved at least a draw. Great save from longford keeper in last minute from a smashing mcgee free kick.

A crap game but I thought we deserved to win. We were the better team in the 1st half and missed some very good chances. 2nd half ye sort of brought us down to your level I thought and we were poor. Great save by Hyland in the last minute alright.

ATFC-1887
10/03/2012, 11:35 PM
down to our level?? you mean we dominated? :) dont be afraid to say it its ok

L.T.F.C.
11/03/2012, 12:06 AM
We were far better. Have to agree you got in amongst us in the second half, but we bossed it in the first. Athlone created nothing really apart from the goal which was pure luck.

ATFC-1887
11/03/2012, 12:14 AM
far better?
ill just laugh and move on...

11/03/2012, 12:25 AM
far better?

You do that

L.T.F.C.
11/03/2012, 12:41 AM
far better?
Are you blind? Please, tell me why you think you were better...

Frank76
11/03/2012, 6:53 AM
I hate to admit it but Longford were the better team. Our goal had a bit of luck to it with a deflected cross changing the flight of the ball but Noelie was awake to it to sneak in at the back post. 2 smashing goals by Longford in fairness, who was your No. 11 who scored the first? He took it very well. Longford dominated the first half, second half was 50/50 and scrappy enough... a real derby feel to it with a few hard challenges thrown in!! Super save from your keeper at the end. How old is Gillespie now? He seemed to be everywhere last night and is not one bit afraid to go in for a tackle.

11/03/2012, 10:13 AM
Gillespie turned 37 recently. He still has a great hunger to play and is in great physical shape. First goalscorer was Daniel Purdy, son of former LOI player Richie Purdy. A good prospect by all accounts, he's only just gone 19.

11/03/2012, 11:44 AM
I hate to admit it but Longford were the better team. Our goal had a bit of luck to it with a deflected cross changing the flight of the ball but Noelie was awake to it to sneak in at the back post. 2 smashing goals by Longford in fairness, who was your No. 11 who scored the first? He took it very well. Longford dominated the first half, second half was 50/50 and scrappy enough... a real derby feel to it with a few hard challenges thrown in!! Super save from your keeper at the end. How old is Gillespie now? He seemed to be everywhere last night and is not one bit afraid to go in for a tackle.

Happy to see an honest opinion from an Athlone fan. How your man above can say ye dominated is madness.

srfc1928
11/03/2012, 12:19 PM
Great game of ball last night, both teams got it down and tried to play.
UCD were really impressive but probably lack a player who'll get them a goal out of nothing.
Delighted with the win but disappointed with the sending off, really dont think it was a red
its getting to the stage where you cant tackle anymore and its ruining the game.
You could see players holding back for fear of getting booked or sent off.