View Full Version : Internet Explorer issues?
Adam - I just wanted to make you aware that certain members may be having trouble posting in threads and sending PMs if they are using IE. In other words the site will have lost all posting functionality. I logged on yesterday and encountered that problem - i dont know if some sort of update was done just prior to that but that is the only reason i can think of as i was posting fine prior to that. To describe the problem, where you enter your text for a post was just all grey - the same type of grey in the "toolbar" above where the bold, quote, jpg buttons are...
However, i could send DaHamsta an email using the email function on his profile. Not sure if it was received though.
I opened the site today using Firefox and i can (obviously) post fine but just thought you might want to know. I was using IE9. But have switched over to Firefox for good now i think.
theworm2345
14/01/2012, 3:14 PM
Can be solved by going in to mobile mode (yes, on the computer)...a bit of a pain though.
http://foot.ie/forum.php?styleid=18
David BOHie
15/01/2012, 1:32 PM
I also have a problem on IE.
Firstly, I cannot view embedded videos on the forum and secondly, there's still the scroll option for each individual post, which is extremelt annoying. I was using Chrome the other day and both these problems weren't there but as soon as I used IE they were back. Any way to fix them?
cheers
15/01/2012, 2:58 PM
Use Chrome or Firefox so! :)
15/01/2012, 4:58 PM
Lads, what version of IE are you using?
15/01/2012, 4:59 PM
Also, did ye try a hard refresh (CTRL+F5) and/or clearing your cache? There was an update, so you might have the old javascripts cached.
theworm2345
15/01/2012, 5:11 PM
Also, did ye try a hard refresh (CTRL+F5) and/or clearing your cache? There was an update, so you might have the old javascripts cached.
Am using IE8, tried the hard refresh and deleted all temporary internet files using CCleaner...but no luck.
same as theworm but using IE9 i believe.
15/01/2012, 9:06 PM
I've checked in the latest version of IE on my machine and it's ok, can you tell me what operating systems you guys are running?
I looked on the vBulletin forums yesterday and I didn't see anything relevant, I'll check again tomorrow. In the meantime, can you click Go Advanced on the Quick Reply form? That should bring you to the standard reply page.
theworm2345
15/01/2012, 10:22 PM
I've checked in the latest version of IE on my machine and it's ok, can you tell me what operating systems you guys are running?
I looked on the vBulletin forums yesterday and I didn't see anything relevant, I'll check again tomorrow. In the meantime, can you click Go Advanced on the Quick Reply form? That should bring you to the standard reply page.
I'm on 7.
This is what it looks like for me
http://i42.tinypic.com/f2mv42.png
http://i42.tinypic.com/nqz34m.png
tried all those things before i switched to firefox and none of it worked. What i got was the exact same as the screen prints theworm has posted. Running Windows Vista Home Premium. IE9 browser.
Sullivinho
16/01/2012, 8:21 PM
http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/2403/firefoxxxe.jpg
16/01/2012, 8:29 PM
Thanks lads. Still trying to figure it out, can't reproduce it here at all.
16/01/2012, 8:58 PM
How about now?
I can't reply in IE either (I'm in firefox here). If it matters, other vbulletin forums are still fine.
theworm2345
17/01/2012, 1:53 PM
How about now?
Still the same here
18/01/2012, 3:08 PM
No joy for me either using machines running IE7 or 8. Am using good ol' Firefox now. I got the email and followed the instructions by the way. Thanks
18/01/2012, 3:31 PM
Bugger. It seems to be a problem with the mobile style, AGAIN; I've deleted it, how about now?
Any other IE users NOT having this problem?
18/01/2012, 10:14 PM
Back to the old mobile style Adam? :) PWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEE?????????????
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-oBbsq3F_n3I/TrxwBvR75QI/AAAAAAAAE1g/5IH97d8wDSg/s400/puppy-dog-eyes.jpg
18/01/2012, 10:23 PM
Need to fix this before I do anything. What's wrong with the vB mobile style? I prefer it, apart from the lack of a usercp.
19/01/2012, 8:41 AM
Well it's not really as user friendly and feels clunky.
One thing I really don't like is how the sub-forums are expanded on the main page rather than giving the option of expanding them yourself.
The lack of an up one level button is something that I miss as well.
19/01/2012, 8:45 AM
also, when you click on a thread, it brings you to the last page in that thread, as opposed to the last post in the thread.
19/01/2012, 9:19 AM
Ok, I'll look into getting both installed when I get it back up and running. Only one can be the default mobile theme though.
Can someone come back to me about IE? Surely be to god I can't be the only one it's working fine for?
It's not working for me in work or at home. IE8 here, and at home (I think, I'll try and confirm this evening). XP is the operating system in both cases.
19/01/2012, 9:41 AM
I'm using IE 8 in work these days and it seems ok.
Agree with the lads about the mobile version. The old one was great, don't use the current one at all as I find it terrible.
19/01/2012, 12:17 PM
I get the grey box as well when attempting to reply on the computer at work. Doing this response on my IPhone :(
20/01/2012, 1:14 PM
cant post anymore except by phone. text box is greyed out and wont accept text. emailed admin but no response. any ideas??
23/01/2012, 8:52 PM
Haven't forgotten about this.
24/01/2012, 1:42 PM
Just switched to Firefox there and works grand with that.
24/01/2012, 4:09 PM
I've reverted to the standard vB template, although I'd be surprised if that'll fix it, there's a long-standing issue with the Foot.ie templates. Trying to remember now how I fixed that the last time.
24/01/2012, 4:33 PM
Right, how about now?
I can reply in IE8 on Win7 64 Bit anyways.
theworm2345
24/01/2012, 6:33 PM
No change for me
24/01/2012, 8:41 PM
Feck. Did you / can you try these please?
1) Log out and back in again.
2) Hard refresh (CRTL+F5 on Windows).
3) Clear your cache.
4) Clear your cookies.
Mr A, were you having trouble before, or are you just confirming that you've been ok all along?
theworm2345
24/01/2012, 8:48 PM
Feck. Did you / can you try these please?
1) Log out and back in again.
2) Hard refresh (CRTL+F5 on Windows).
3) Clear your cache.
4) Clear your cookies.
Mr A, were you having trouble before, or are you just confirming that you've been ok all along?
Did all that, including wiping IE files with CCleaner, still no change.
still no change here Adam. Cant post from work :(
prefer the standard vB template by the way.
I hadn't checked before no. I don't use IE except for work stuff.
25/01/2012, 4:01 PM
XP IE8.
Working fine for me.
However, I appear to be able to recreate theworms problem if I press 'Switch Editor to Source Mode'
The javascript error might give you a clue as to what is going wrong.
26/01/2012, 1:13 AM
razor sent me that error. (Thanks razor.)
Trying something new today, I've disabled all plugins bar the core vB ones, how's that?
still not working for me Adam - sorry!!
26/01/2012, 5:29 PM
Left one enabled, how about now? Again, CTRL+F5 to check.
theworm2345
26/01/2012, 10:19 PM
Left one enabled, how about now? Again, CTRL+F5 to check.
No change.
27/01/2012, 5:02 PM
Still having trouble figuring this out. As a temporary measure, scroll down to Miscellaneous Options on the General Settings (http://foot.ie/profile.php?do=editoptions) page, and set Message Editor Interface to Basic Editor.
01/02/2012, 3:23 PM
Still not working for me. Sent from my IPhone.
02/02/2012, 9:09 PM
Babs in hospital with viral infection, don't have time to look into it. Remind me again next week. Sorry.
16/02/2012, 2:40 PM
How about now?
I hope all was ok? Still no joy for me - logged out and back in again, ctrl F5, but still not working.
16/02/2012, 3:24 PM
And now?
theworm2345
16/02/2012, 3:32 PM
And now?
No change.