View Full Version : Cycling 2012

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

06/07/2012, 1:15 PM
Today should be another day for the sprinters.. tomorrow is the first real climbing test. I have a feeling Roche will go well, and we'll learn a lot about Martin's recovery from his crash at the Dauphine.

06/07/2012, 3:00 PM
Stuck a few quid on Goss once I heard Greipel had crashed.. Looks like Cavendish isn't in the front group.. Sagan will probably screw me over.

06/07/2012, 3:39 PM
Drat.......

And it seems both Roche and Martin lost time.

06/07/2012, 3:54 PM
Didn't watch but whole team pulling for Goss and he can't win that against Sagan and an injured Greipel? Poor

Nico Roche unscathed and in 14th place now

Dan Martin part of the germin bus that brought Ryder home 13 minutes down. no idea if caught up in crash or just there to help him finish

07/07/2012, 9:22 AM
Dan Martin interview with Ned Boulting here:

http://www.itv.com/tourdefrance/news/dan-martin-exclusive-interview/

He has a regular column in Irish Times too which I guess you all know about so I won't post a link.

07/07/2012, 12:38 PM
Hopefully AG2R now focus on Roche seeing as Peraud lost time yesterday. Martin is almost the only unhurt Garmin Sharp rider so should have free rein from now on. Mental stage yesterday and really looking forward to today's. Would love to see Evans put some time into Wiggins.

07/07/2012, 7:06 PM
Roche up to 8th in GC. Martin was hyped up by ITV but couldn't cut it today apparently.

Evans and Nibaldi are riding solo for all intents and purposes. SKY seems well in control and with a 50k+ TT to come it's already looking like Wiggins' to lose.

07/07/2012, 8:15 PM
Garmin rode for Martin. He said he didn't have the legs today. Hopefully he finds them for next week

07/07/2012, 11:50 PM
Yeah garmin going on the front kind of hyped Dan rather than the other way round.

Great performance from roche.

Not sure I'm entirely comfortable seeing a US postal style mountain train blow a stage apart. however, still coming down on believing...

CraftyToePoke
08/07/2012, 12:31 AM
What number is Roche lads? My father wants to know but when I google him there seems to be different numbers on him each picture I look at. Does it alter with overall classification each day ? And/or is there a constant number also? Forgive the ignorance here.

08/07/2012, 10:56 AM
I think he's number 79. Constant. I'm a bit confused, as I thought all numbers were 3 digits, except Evans as he is champion so wears 1. then I thought it went by team ranking so SKY being best ranked team and Wiggins being team leader makes him 101 etc.

08/07/2012, 4:47 PM
I think he's number 79.

I think you're right there,thought he looked strong enough at the end today.

08/07/2012, 7:57 PM
Was looking at it today. Team leaders definitely end in 1 but plenty of double digit rider numbers.

Roche down to 9th after that. TT tomorrow.

08/07/2012, 9:36 PM
Was looking at it today. Team leaders definitely end in 1 but plenty of double digit rider numbers.

Roche down to 9th after that. TT tomorrow.

Roche is def No.79 http://www.letour.fr/le-tour/2012/us/riders/ag2r-la-mondiale/roche-nicolas.html

09/07/2012, 7:58 AM
I think he's number 79. Constant. I'm a bit confused, as I thought all numbers were 3 digits, except Evans as he is champion so wears 1. then I thought it went by team ranking so SKY being best ranked team and Wiggins being team leader makes him 101 etc.
They always start with 1, with the defending champion (and I think defending champions team if they're not defending). And always start from 1 going up. They are constant through the tour - gc leader is defined by yellow jersey.

Wiggins lost the plot yesterday...

Honestly, they're just f**king w**kers. I cannot be dealing with people like that. It justifies their own bone-idleness because they can't ever imagine applying themselves to anything in their lives. And it's easy for them to sit under a pseudo-name on Twitter and write that sort of s**t rather than get off their arses in their own life and apply themselves, and work hard at something and achieve something. And that's ultimately it... C**ts.
For what it's worth, I do believe (and hope) Wiggins and Sky are clean. However, imo he's been far less vocally anti doping since he became a contender, and his continued Lance fanboy act doesn't exactly do him any favours in this regard. And there appears to be a question mark over one of the Team Sky Doctors, which the dot joiners just love to see, but does raise some questions for Brailsford. So I don't have a problem with Wiggins having a pop back (or the language used), but he hasn't really done himself any favours in recent seasons.

09/07/2012, 3:56 PM
Roche in 10th after the time trial- great ride from him. Hopefully he can move up a bit in the mountain stages before the final time trial.

Hard to see anything stopping Wiggins now.. but the climbers have to give it welly in the mountains now so it should be entertaining.

10/07/2012, 8:08 AM
Yep, great TT from Roche. Definite improvement. Unlucky to lose that bit of time the day before, but hopefully he can stick with the main GC guys on the longer climbs.

Possibly Froome is Wiggins biggest danger. If Wiggins has a bad day, and Froome isn't, will Froome wait? And would Brailsford make him? Probably, but creates an added bit of confusion.

10/07/2012, 11:21 AM
Armstrong tries to stop the USADA case, fecks it up completely: http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/12346/Armstrongs-federal-court-application-thrown-out-may-be-allowed-re-file-with-substantial-modifications.aspx He can try again though, and no doubt will.

Meanwhile the Cofidis team have been raided by police and one rider arrested with two others on suspicion of involvement with doping products. Yay. Another Tour rest day.

10/07/2012, 12:43 PM
Remy di Gregario arrested at Cofidis hotel (usual bull about them storming the hotel). As if he wouldn't turn up anyway... Investigation stems from his time at Astana (shock!)

Froome was stronger than Wiggins in the Vuelta. Sky ballsed up trying to get Wiggins the title, and they ended up 2nd and 3rd. Phenomenally strong

10/07/2012, 2:02 PM
Froome was stronger than Wiggins in the Vuelta. Sky ballsed up trying to get Wiggins the title, and they ended up 2nd and 3rd. Phenomenally strong
Yeah, but I'm not sure anyone (including Froome himself) knew he was that strong or consistent at that stage. He wasn't even selected for the Tour last year in support of Wiggins. Still think from the PR point of view, Wiggins is the man for them to focus on.

10/07/2012, 2:06 PM
It'll be interesting to see what Sky do now. I think they'll maintain their tactic of controlling the race as much as possible.. but they could always look to send Froome up the road to force the others to defend and tow Wiggins along. Then Wiggins can counter attack. The downside to this is that Froome looks super strong and might accidentally win the Tour, wrecking Sky's carefully laid plans.

10/07/2012, 2:18 PM
It'll be interesting to see what Sky do now. I think they'll maintain their tactic of controlling the race as much as possible.. but they could always look to send Froome up the road to force the others to defend and tow Wiggins along. Then Wiggins can counter attack. The downside to this is that Froome looks super strong and might accidentally win the Tour, wrecking Sky's carefully laid plans.

The line today was

We’re here to win the Tour. We set out on this journey with a mission to win the Tour with a British rider. We’ve got one lying first and one lying third at the moment, and winning is still the ultimate goal. We won’t be holding back and trying to get X amount of people on the podium. We’re here to win the Tour. For now it’s all hands on deck for Brad. Froomey’s more than capable of winning this Tour if something happens to Brad, but at this moment in time we’re all behind Wiggins

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/sky-wont-defend-third-place-at-tour-de-france

I personally loved when Sastre went off in the Alps and 'stole' the Tour from team mate Shleck.

11/07/2012, 11:13 AM
http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/12357/Kimmage-disappointed-in-Wiggins-and-Team-Sky-over-transparency.aspx

Kimmage disappointed in Wiggins and Sky

11/07/2012, 11:33 AM
David Brailsford on why they hired the ex-Rabobank doctor: http://www.cyclesportmag.com/news-and-comment/brailsford-addresses-doctor-dilemma-we-are-100-per-cent-clean/

Real ale Madrid
11/07/2012, 12:05 PM
Some damning stuff there from Kimmage, and the lone comment from the 2nd article says it all really

Rory says: July 11, 2012 at 8:55 am
Begs the question, if Sky have him to look after riders in extreme heat, extreme fatigue and protect their health, then why isn’t he at the tour?

Real ale Madrid
11/07/2012, 3:06 PM
Go on Jens!

Edit - Voeckler wins whats sounded like a pretty epic stage from Scarponi and 41 year old Jens Voigt in 3rd, LL Sanchez 4th and Devenyns in 5th - a pretty entertaining collection there - so looking forward to highlights later.

Top 5 remains the same with Nico Roche slap bang in the middle of them at the finish line finishing 14th on the stage. On the face of it another impressive ride from him.

11/07/2012, 3:38 PM
yeah, Roche up to 9th as Van Gardaran lost a few seconds.

Nibali attacked main bunch on last descent. Radioshack looked to try and reel him and van de Broeck in (protecting 6th?)

Roche fnished 14th on stage. Big day tomorrow

Real ale Madrid
11/07/2012, 8:47 PM
Can't understand constant mention of the alps today. Colombier is in the Jura mountains - primary school geography there.

Great segment at the start of itv's coverage earlier about decending - nice few tips, as I am a useless decender myself normally - I'm a hanger on.:eek:

12/07/2012, 12:39 PM
Dan Martin in the break today. looking for KOM points apparently

12/07/2012, 2:20 PM
No mentions of Roche.. he's been dropped by the yellow jersey group at least.. ominous.

12/07/2012, 2:38 PM
Dan Martin in the break today. looking for KOM points apparently

For those with no pictures,he's in a group of 7 ahead of the group with Wiggins at 2.11 behind him.

12/07/2012, 2:42 PM
Breakaway group fractured with Martin out the back,Roche is back with yellow jersey group though.

12/07/2012, 3:05 PM
Menchov 5 minutes back already.. If Roche can hang in there he'll move up at least one place. Sounds like one hell of a stage.. pity I'm at fecking work.

12/07/2012, 3:32 PM
pity I'm at fecking work.

Following text/twitter updates is brutal

12/07/2012, 4:53 PM
Notable that Roche never seems to have any helpers that can last with him to any useful extaent in the mountains. A real pity they lost Dupont last week, maybe he'd have been able to help more. Roche has been AG2R's top finisher on every stage since the sprint on stage 6.

He's now 13th, 2 minutes outside the top ten.

13/07/2012, 1:54 PM
A bit more like the old Wiggo.... http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/blog/2012/jul/13/bradley-wiggins-dope-drugs

I think I saw on twitter Nico was dropped on one of the climbs earlier, but apparently even the 'bus has rejoined the peleton.

15/07/2012, 6:30 PM
So, I did 86k of the Olympic route today. I have to say I was underwhelmed by Box Hill. Stunning scenery, but once you get into a rhythm it's actually not very challenging. I only did it once though, not 9 times, and at about 16kph!

They have relaid the road and it's a delight to ride on. We saw world Ironman Triathlon Champion Chrissie Wellington training there. She's a legend - she was won every race she has ever entered and is so fast the world's top men race in fear of "being Chrissied" i.e., going slower than her. She would place easily in the top ten in most male elite fields! Anyway, Box Hill Cafe is a sight worth seeing in its own right - hundreds of cyclists eating cake and drinking coffee having reached the peak.

17/07/2012, 8:51 PM
Frank Schleck fails a drug test (http://www.rte.ie/sport/cycling/2012/0717/329549-frank-schleck-fails-doping-test/)

Just another Tour rest day. Roche up to 12th.

Martin looking forward to the Pyrenees. (http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/martin-looks-forward-to-pyrenean-return)

18/07/2012, 12:20 PM
Martin in a huge, but talented, 38 man group about 5 miutes down the road today. plentry of good climbers in it, they're over one HC, on the Tourmalet now

18/07/2012, 12:36 PM
He's doing a lot of attacking, and screwing a lot of people over. Great stuff. Very early in the stage though!

Real ale Madrid
18/07/2012, 1:14 PM
He was 3rd over the Tourmalet which puts him up into 5th in the KOM standings provisionally with 2 x 1 CAT climbs still to come.

18/07/2012, 2:29 PM
Ominously.. haven't seen a single mention of Roche today :(

Edit.. it seems he's in the group behind Wiggins, Frrome Nibali nearing the top of the last climb.. seems like a good ride but most of the rest of the top ten are there too.

18/07/2012, 3:36 PM
Martin 7th.. Roche up to 11th overall and only 4 seconds from top ten.

He should be stronger the Pinot and maybe Rolland in the TT, but Kloden may well overtake him. Great chance of top ten now. One more day in the mountains before TT becomes relevant obviously.

18/07/2012, 3:38 PM
Dan finished 7th, Roche was 14th. Roche up to 11th overall, only 4 seconds behind 10th Great ride.

Short, sharp ******* of a day tomorrow.

18/07/2012, 4:23 PM
Had a quick look at their perfoamces in the 42k ITT, the one on saturdau is 10k longer (but flatter apparently)

how the stand
9 Rolland
10 Pinot + 1.33
11 Roche +1.37
12 Kloden +3.03
13 Horner +3.38

Just the 5 of them in the ITT

Kloden
Roche +0.59
Pinot +3.03
Horner +3.15
Rolland +3.35

So if they ride the same sort of way, Kloden and Roche would be top 10. Tomorrow a big day though

18/07/2012, 4:31 PM
Yeah- that's what I had been looking at. Mad to entertain the idea of Roche playing it safe in the mountains and then using the TT as a weapon! A most welcome development.

That said, who knows what can happen at this stage after 2 and a half hard weeks. He could have a day like Evans and bomb.. or Evans could have another day like Evans and plummet down further.

Edit: Good picture from after today's stage:
http://a.yfrog.com/img618/1230/yi8pcn.jpg

18/07/2012, 4:35 PM
The thing is that he'll be the only one specifically riding for top 10. Tolland maybe but he's as likely to attack tomorrow as anyone. Pinot too. Seems Horner and Kloden are riding for the team category

23/07/2012, 11:08 AM
Decent enough result for Roche. Not really sure where that leaves him going forward - make or break contract? Decent showing from Dan Martin - all a learning experience.

Overall, happy for Wiggins. Team Sky have become less transparent, but I personally still believe in them being a clean (if not very likeable) team. It was a weakened field and the course played into their hands. Rogers and Porte, and obviously Froome would be top 10 contenders in their own right - it wasn't the same as some of the USP mountain trains. I don't really get the focus on Wiggins regarding the insinuations - the real out of nowhere performances this last year have been Froome (that does make me go hmmmm).

swinfordfc
23/07/2012, 11:26 AM
Roche should leave AG2R Mondiale as the fellow riders cant help him. With somemore help he would be in the top ten in the overall. He should join Radobank or Omega Pharma or Lotto - at least would support him more and push him on a little.

Dan Martin did fine in his first Tour and is highly regarded in Garmin Sharp Team. He will be a top ten rider in the Tour for sure

23/07/2012, 1:14 PM
Roche should leave AG2R Mondiale as the fellow riders cant help him. With somemore help he would be in the top ten in the overall. He should join Radobank or Omega Pharma or Lotto - at least would support him more and push him on a little.
I don't know - it's hard to see him going to another pro tour team as a leader. AG2R don't fully commit to him, but at the same time they've given him space to try and develop as a GC rider. He's probably benefitted from the system that now might be holding him back. Garmin wouldn't be a bad fit, as they seem to manage the multiple leaders/ whoever's going best is leader, better than anyone else.