View Full Version : Ireland vs Estonia (1st Leg) - Match Thread
legendz
13/11/2011, 11:50 AM
A pub I was in in Limerick was showing the whole game again last night. Some change from early June. After being in the Gaelic Grounds for Limerick v Kerry, I headed straight to the pub after the game for the Macedonia away game. For a sporting city there wasn't too much interest in the game being shown though it was on all the screens. Some change now as it's all aboard for those hopping on the bandwagon! :)
brine3
13/11/2011, 1:04 PM
Walkinstown roundabout has nothing on Patrick Street in Cork.
DannyInvincible
13/11/2011, 1:45 PM
Has there been any word on seedings for the Euro 2012 draw for countries lucky to make it. If we seal the deal on Tuesday as we should, any chance of being in the third pot? Having been seeded for the play-offs we surely can't be far off it? Winning on Tuesday should be important regards rankings unless last month is used because play-off teams could be getting a bit of an advantage with ranking points.
To be honest, I'm not sure I'd rather us in pot 3. I'd be content to avoid France, Portugal and the Czechs in favour of drawing one of the other four, but maybe I'm basing that more on the reputations of the former set in comparison to the teams that look set to fill the third pot. Hard to know... What do people think?
gilberto_eire
13/11/2011, 1:53 PM
Rare footage of the jubilant scenes in Cork on the same day:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xlrmhv_victory-celebrations-in-bani-walid_news
Roll on tuesday.
sorry to go off topic....
But on the scenes in that video, there was a fella on the radio a few weeks back saying how people end up being hit from those bullets that are shot in the air from those militants celebrating :D
13/11/2011, 2:21 PM
There is not a hope of us losing this tie. Estonia were limited. They showed that. They ended up with 9 men as a result of their inexperience and indiscipline.
That's their fault. Not ours.
On Tuesday we will deal with them in a professional way and kill the tie. The pessimism is completely unfounded ya mentalists!
Come on you boys in Green!!!
All of this. With both their centre-halves suspended, I can't see us not scoring as well. So your improbable 4-0 disaster is now becoming an even longer-odds 5-1 or 6-2 collapse. Not a chance. And if that means Tuesday is a formality, I don't care.
Ref got it spot on with all the "controversial" calls I thought. Had a good game. Estonia - unfortunately for them - self-imploded spectacularly.
Delighted with the result obviously. Thought we cut loose much more than in recent games. McGeady was useful for once, and what a difference that made. You could see whenever Estonia got the ball 25 yards out, they were looking to shoot, but they didn't get any real chances. I think Trap was quoted as describing this as a new, more attacking philosophy? I hope it's here to stay.
Only downside was seeing the empty seats in the away section while I was stuck in Molly Malone's in Tallinn watching on telly. Stupid FAI ticketing system...
Also, a special mention to Stephen McGuinness for buying beer on the PFAI credit card and then leaving it behind him. :)
DannyInvincible
13/11/2011, 3:26 PM
sorry to go off topic....
But on the scenes in that video, there was a fella on the radio a few weeks back saying how people end up being hit from those bullets that are shot in the air from those militants celebrating :D
Think that's a bit of an urban myth: http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/1199/can-a-bullet-fired-into-the-air-kill-someone-when-it-comes-down
DannyInvincible
13/11/2011, 3:28 PM
Only downside was seeing the empty seats in the away section while I was stuck in Molly Malone's in Tallinn watching on telly. Stupid FAI ticketing system...
How many you reckon were unable to find a ticket?
tommy_c12000
13/11/2011, 3:34 PM
My mate sneaked into the Estonia end without a ticket. He chanced his arm and got away with it. Said it was easy enough. Watched the game on another mate's lap. Sher how bad!
DannyInvincible
13/11/2011, 3:43 PM
My mate sneaked into the Estonia end without a ticket. He chanced his arm and got away with it. Said it was easy enough. Watched the game on another mate's lap. Sher how bad!
Ha, how'd he manage that? I was very tired when I read this on YBIG last night, but I think I caught it correctly; apparently, an Irish chap somehow made his way into the Estonian changing room before the game, kitted himself out in a tracksuit and hung out pitch-side with the Estonian ball-boys and Irish bench for the rest of the game. :confused:
tommy_c12000
13/11/2011, 4:09 PM
Ha, how'd he manage that?
He hopped a barrier. A security guard when frisking him told him no Irish were allowed into that end. Luckily he bribed him with Tiffin chocolate. True story!
My mate said he felt a bit guilty when he had heard stories of fans forking out up to E300 for tickets, but this feeling quickly passed . . . . .
Crosby87
13/11/2011, 4:15 PM
Wiat a minute Stu you went all the way to Estonia and you watched the game in a bar? That's hilarious.
13/11/2011, 5:30 PM
According to Daniel McDonnell, Trap was answering a question on his future.The full quote is in The Irish Times I think. He was being asked by a friend why Trap was so willing to go to other countries to work. His mate was the one who said "you go to more woods, you meet more wolves" or whatever it was. Trap was just relating that story.
theworm2345
13/11/2011, 5:44 PM
The full quote is in The Irish Times I think. He was being asked by a friend why Trap was so willing to go to other countries to work. His mate was the one who said "you go to more woods, you meet more wolves" or whatever it was. Trap was just relating that story.
Sort of like
"The cat is in the sack, but the sack is not closed. The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat,"
13/11/2011, 5:57 PM
Wiat a minute Stu you went all the way to Estonia and you watched the game in a bar? That's hilarious.
The true barstooler. Will go all the way across Europe and still have to find a bar to watch the match. It's not the same without the replays after all.
Drumcondra 69er
13/11/2011, 5:57 PM
Will we see similar scenes on Tuesday night on the Walkinstown roundabout?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEkc8dGF2ds
Brilliant quote on that youtube page.
"I'd say Bimbo's Burgers made a fortune after that" ;)
13/11/2011, 6:19 PM
How many you reckon were unable to find a ticket?
There were maybe 100 in Molly's (the Irish bar) for it anyway. The local brewhouse was quiet enough; I don't know if that means all the ticketless Irish went to the Irish bar.
Heard a couple of stories about people being refused into the home end. Didn't know where the nearest pub to the ground was, so went with safety rather than risking missing half the game altogether.
@ Crosby - I also went over to explore two very nice cities (went via Riga) and try find out about two countries I'd never visited before. And for the general away-day craic (which lasts much longer than the 90 minutes) and to bump into random people (like paul_oshea, Tenacious Dee and almost UCD's record European goalscorer - he was rung but had gone home to bed)
@nigel - Oi!! That's approaching libel, good sir!
ArdeeBhoy
13/11/2011, 8:26 PM
In the ground, realised we have more than one or two eejits in our support, which is a shame.
13/11/2011, 8:33 PM
I'd say it's about location. I'm dying to watch it again. Anyone know if I could download it anywhere?
There is about 15 minutes of highlights here
http://www.mysoccerplace.net/video/estonia-vs-ireland-0-4-highlights
Shows most of the incidents in the match including a lot you won't see on other highlights (which are basically the goals),
for example Ward tackle at 5.07. It's the second video down (actually third now, it the one at the bottom), the first asks for credit card. Click the top right word in Russian for full-screen. What is doesn't show is probably not too enthralling anyway!!
koneinc
13/11/2011, 9:14 PM
In the ground, realised we have more than one or two eejits in our support, which is a shame.
Every team/country has them and yes it is a shame.
So Estonia will be missing their central pairing in defence and their first choice keeper as well... hmmm.... :-)
DannyInvincible
14/11/2011, 3:23 AM
Has Tuesday's game sold out yet or what's the deal?
14/11/2011, 8:03 AM
Every team/country has them and yes it is a shame.
So Estonia will be missing their central pairing in defence and their first choice keeper as well... hmmm.... :-)
We have more than a few of them, and they're becoming a bit more noticeable lately. Thankfully the good eggs get the media attention.
14/11/2011, 8:21 AM
At 3-0, their lot were throwing glass bottles and fireworks into the Irish section, and they brought a stash of Union Jacks with them too. Someone got injured, but the police did nothing about it.
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/irish-fans-delighted-as-tallinnted-lads-do-us-all-proud-2932947.html
14/11/2011, 8:23 AM
The Union Jack thing was explained here on the night. And a lad I met on Friday had spent some time in Estonia and explained the suss to me.
Closed Account 2
14/11/2011, 8:41 AM
Heard a couple of stories about people being refused into the home end. Didn't know where the nearest pub to the ground was, so went with safety rather than risking missing half the game altogether.
Yeah this seemed to be happening, I was in block 4 (home end) and there were 3 Irish fans in green home shirts in front of me. Two were let in by the security guy on the left and went streight to their seats, but one one was stopped by the security guy on the right. He seemed to join a queue of about 10 Irish fans (again all wearing colours) who were held back - there was a rumour that these guys all ended up in the side stand next to the proper away support, but I wouldnt have been surprised if they hadnt been let in at all. I went through to the same security guy on the right and he started questioning me if I was an Ireland fan and was I wearing an Ireland shirt under my jumper etc, but I just started speaking German and pretended I was a German tourist and he let me past in the end after about 5 mins of this charade.
Irwin3
14/11/2011, 10:41 AM
Yeah this seemed to be happening, I was in block 4 (home end) and there were 3 Irish fans in green home shirts in front of me. Two were let in by the security guy on the left and went streight to their seats, but one one was stopped by the security guy on the right. He seemed to join a queue of about 10 Irish fans (again all wearing colours) who were held back - there was a rumour that these guys all ended up in the side stand next to the proper away support, but I wouldnt have been surprised if they hadnt been let in at all. I went through to the same security guy on the right and he started questioning me if I was an Ireland fan and was I wearing an Ireland shirt under my jumper etc, but I just started speaking German and pretended I was a German tourist and he let me past in the end after about 5 mins of this charade.
Fantastic!
14/11/2011, 3:20 PM
Team announced for the second leg tomorrow: https://twitter.com/#!/FAIreland/statuses/136115013155950593
Team for 2moro is Given, St.Ledger, Ward, O'Shea, Dunne, Whelan, Duff, Andrews, Doyle, Keane, Hunt #Euro2012 (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23Euro2012) #IrlEst (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23IrlEst) #GoGreenOnNovember15 (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23GoGreenOnNovember15)
Can the second leg thread be reopened with this?
14/11/2011, 4:01 PM
Bit harsh on Walters. I know Doyle is our second-most experienced forward, but I think Walters - and even Cox - have shown that they're on better form for us at present. But I don't think it'll matter much tomorrow night.
14/11/2011, 4:59 PM
Great story.
Though if the Estonian was on his game, he would have sussed that a German tourist would have arrived 5 minutes before the gates opened.
Philly
15/11/2011, 1:17 AM
http://news.err.ee/Sports/8116bd0d-63e3-4224-a52e-9fa9aa866ee1
Check out that piece by the Estonian public broadcaster. Was the ref really that bad? Are they making excuses? Do we care? ;) In all honesty, I think the cards were all of the "frustrating but fair enough" variety. They were mostly a result of Estonia not dealing with us running at them.
Crosby87
15/11/2011, 1:25 AM
Team announced for the second leg tomorrow: https://twitter.com/#!/FAIreland/statuses/136115013155950593
You aren't a moderator Tets? Recount! Give Tets the keys!
DannyInvincible
15/11/2011, 1:28 AM
Check out that piece by the Estonian public broadcaster. Was the ref really that bad? Are they making excuses? Do we care? ;) In all honesty, I think the cards were all of the "frustrating but fair enough" variety. They were mostly a result of Estonia not dealing with us running at them.
What a load of rubbish. They can have absolutely no complaints about any of the red cards. None whatsoever. The penalty was also the correct decision.
boovidge
15/11/2011, 1:42 AM
We got a very lucky decision for us against Armenia. Estonia got what they deserved. What in the hell was the guy who handballed it doing?
15/11/2011, 2:34 AM
I think that Piroja, who was the second guy sent off, can feel hard done by. He didn't do much in the Andrews tackle - it was a harsh booking in my opinion. On the second, Robbie definitely did give him a nudge, and it should probably have been a free kick.
On the rest, they couldn't have any complaints.
CraftyToePoke
15/11/2011, 3:31 AM
I was surprised it was locked to begin with to be honest, after all if a thread on the 90 minutes which is going to see us oficially qualify for the first Euro's in my adult life doesnt belong on here, then it is surprising, as the other thread clearly said '1st' leg, so I started a second leg one, fair enough I reckoned as we now have one for footage and videos even.
I have stamped my little foot and complained bitterly to the powers that be, but to no avail as yet.
15/11/2011, 8:58 AM
I think that Piroja, who was the second guy sent off, can feel hard done by. He didn't do much in the Andrews tackle - it was a harsh booking in my opinion.
Not entirely sure about this; it was a blatant obstruction, and I think he deserved a yellow just for basically standing in Andrews' way without making any effort to play the ball.
On the second yellow, yeah, Keane at best shoulder-charges him, putting him off balance and causing him to handle. Looking at the replays, I think it does look a little harsh. Not that it mattered much at that stage.
15/11/2011, 9:30 AM
"We were ridden over roughshod by Kassai"
I prefer the term 'ridden rock solid', easier to say and is more evocative.
Razors left peg
15/11/2011, 10:25 AM
Havent seen anyone mention the fella that went in the the high boot on an irish players face(cant remember who it was), but he was was only booked when it could have been a straight red
15/11/2011, 11:26 AM
Was it not Andrews? Had to be taken off the pitch to have the cut he received seen to
Fixer82
15/11/2011, 11:30 AM
Havent seen anyone mention the fella that went in the the high boot on an irish players face(cant remember who it was), but he was was only booked when it could have been a straight red
I thought it was Ward he went in on. Dangerous tackle alright
koneinc
15/11/2011, 11:34 AM
I thought it was Ward he went in on. Dangerous tackle alright
It should have been a straight red, the lad was very lucky
punkrocket
15/11/2011, 11:35 AM
A mouthful of gaelic would have fairly thrown him
15/11/2011, 11:38 AM
2nd leg thread now open so closing this one.