View Full Version : Dundalk FC up for grabs!

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

10/12/2011, 8:31 PM
Yeah Dillonman, he signed his contract for the season.

BALLS!

Please not Gormley..:(

Dillonman
11/12/2011, 10:08 AM
Can I smoke some of what you're smoking? :-)

I'm smoking nothing, he's a terrible man manager, look what Pat Devlin did with the exact same squad when he took over from Gormley. He was worse than FOster week in week out on MNS blaming the refs for everything.

Spudulika
11/12/2011, 11:43 AM
I'm smoking nothing, he's a terrible man manager, look what Pat Devlin did with the exact same squad when he took over from Gormley. He was worse than FOster week in week out on MNS blaming the refs for everything.

Whereas Roddy..........

11/12/2011, 10:25 PM
I was at our own stall yesterday and someone in the club working with me was chatting to a fellow from Dundalk working there for the day and I hear Mark McGhee is strongly in the running and has a strong chance of getting the job!

HomerJay
12/12/2011, 12:13 AM
I was at our own stall yesterday and someone in the club working with me was chatting to a fellow from Dundalk working there for the day and I hear Mark McGhee is strongly in the running and has a strong chance of getting the job!
He is meant to have applied, It was on the BBC Gossip a while back. 3 weeks ago or so. Doubt It'llbe Mark mcghee or the likes when its eddie flaming gormley being mentioned at the moment.

12/12/2011, 6:56 AM
Eddie did well when he had money and struggled when he didn't. We always upped our game against the bigger sides but struggled against teams closer to our level.

If he gets money, he could be alright for yez. If he doesn't, I can't seem him doing anything miraculous.

He did a great job when he initially took over in 2006. We looked dead certs for relegation that year but he turned it around completely.

We finished 9/12 in 2007, though not much off the bottom. In 2008, we finished sixth, our best ever finish. The next season was when things started going down the toilet for him. IIRC, what hurt most wasn't that we lost our best player but that we lost a lot of fringe players so when we were missing a few players, we struggled more so than in previous seasons.

I'm somewhat sympathetic to him for what happened at the start of the 2010 season. Up until the weekend before the season started we didn't know what division we'd be in, thanks to the FAI making a balls of Cork City. The squad was decimated and of course we struggled then. There were actually some signs that he was turning it around when he got sacked and some of the players he had signed in July 2010 went onto be big players when Devo took over again, like Dempsey, Gregg and O'Connor.

Also, he has a tendency to fall out with players and, if he does, that player will be gone from the club. We lost some good players that way.

Overall, he's not a bad manager but he's not going to be great, either.

Spudulika
12/12/2011, 7:50 AM
superfrank, as you'd be closer to the club and I've only heard 2nd hand, would there have been a case of Devo always being in control behind the scenes? Not to run down Eddie's achievements because I always thought he was a decent coach (maybe a bully though but I never saw him behind the scenes).

12/12/2011, 9:04 AM
Eddie did well when he had money and struggled when he didn't. We always upped our game against the bigger sides but struggled against teams closer to our level.

If he gets money, he could be alright for yez. If he doesn't, I can't seem him doing anything miraculous.

He did a great job when he initially took over in 2006. We looked dead certs for relegation that year but he turned it around completely.

We finished 9/12 in 2007, though not much off the bottom. In 2008, we finished sixth, our best ever finish. The next season was when things started going down the toilet for him. IIRC, what hurt most wasn't that we lost our best player but that we lost a lot of fringe players so when we were missing a few players, we struggled more so than in previous seasons.

I'm somewhat sympathetic to him for what happened at the start of the 2010 season. Up until the weekend before the season started we didn't know what division we'd be in, thanks to the FAI making a balls of Cork City. The squad was decimated and of course we struggled then. There were actually some signs that he was turning it around when he got sacked and some of the players he had signed in July 2010 went onto be big players when Devo took over again, like Dempsey, Gregg and O'Connor.

Also, he has a tendency to fall out with players and, if he does, that player will be gone from the club. We lost some good players that way.

Overall, he's not a bad manager but he's not going to be great, either.

We have no money, so no thanks.

12/12/2011, 11:45 AM
superfrank, as you'd be closer to the club and I've only heard 2nd hand, would there have been a case of Devo always being in control behind the scenes? Not to run down Eddie's achievements because I always thought he was a decent coach (maybe a bully though but I never saw him behind the scenes).
I heard a few things but I couldn't be certain whether they are true or not so I won't say.

All I know is he had no official position at the club during Eddie's time as manager.

Spudulika
12/12/2011, 3:54 PM
I heard a few things but I couldn't be certain whether they are true or not so I won't say.

All I know is he had no official position at the club during Eddie's time as manager.

Thanks superfrank, I'm the same as yourself. A former employee told me about the kind of chaotic stuff that went on behind the scenes and I wondered how it all was getting along. I think the perfect fit for Dundalk right now is someone like Mick Cooke, who can work on very little and get results. But I'd be pretty much 100% sure he didn't throw his name in the hat.

12/12/2011, 3:59 PM
Or the man who achieved what Cooke couldn't at Monaghan?

MagicMon
12/12/2011, 4:43 PM
Just two quick questions. Drog fans, how has Mulvenna been doing since he came into your team in the summer. Mon fan, how has Shane Grimes been performing for yous?

He's been first choice left back for Monaghan the past 2 seasons, definitely didn't miss many games this season. But Shane Grimes is a Mon, is a Mon, is a Mon, oh Shane Grimes is a Mon, he hates Dundalk.

PS was the use of "Mon fan" (singular) intentional?

El-Pietro
12/12/2011, 7:19 PM
finish third? pretty sure Mick managed that alright

askmehoop
12/12/2011, 7:33 PM

wear horrible suits

bullit
13/12/2011, 5:38 AM
Dundalk fans can think to themselves all they want that Eddie Gormley is a "**** manager,". and take the attitude-
"Yayy look at us we are great,what a club, sure why would we want that bloxxix here"?but when you pay peanuts and put F.All into the clubs coffers then that is what you will be left with.Until the fans start ponying up,hands in pockets like. Then that is the sort of manager that we will have .
Pony up or SFTU !!

Spudulika
13/12/2011, 5:41 AM
Bullitt, I can't agree more, and even though it's sad to say, Dundalk is not a club anybody would want to go to, for a long time. The glory days are long gone and not coming back soon, despite the genuine good work the current owner put in. It's a cycle and so long as we still have a club to support in 10 years we'll be going well.

bullit
13/12/2011, 6:11 AM
Spud,the man(gm) is stepping aside in 3 weeks.He has indemnified the club from any debt for the next 12 months and has asked people to stand up and be counted.All they do is live in cloud cuckoo land and wait for another saviour to roll up.
It Wont be happening,so dig deep DFC people, and if you want a manager and players worthy of the club then get that old credit card and some fcuking cash out there baby.

culloty82
19/12/2011, 11:24 AM
What do our Dundalk fans make of Stan potentially managing his hometown club - seems a good fit, but the potential budget available mightn't meet his expectations.

20/12/2011, 10:09 PM
What do our Dundalk fans make of Stan potentially managing his hometown club - seems a good fit, but the potential budget available mightn't meet his expectations.

http://www.thescore.ie/dont-call-it-a-comeback-dundalk-rubbish-link-with-steve-staunton-309627-Dec2011/

S (http://www.thescore.ie/dont-call-it-a-comeback-dundalk-rubbish-link-with-steve-staunton-309627-Dec2011/)upposedly not happening.

Spudulika
20/12/2011, 10:10 PM
And then there were three, or maybe 4 or 5. Circus time for all, Fossetts wouldn't do as good a show. Darius, Gormley and McCaffrey, with Pat Devlin now being rumoured. Nonsensical waste of time.

eamoss
20/12/2011, 10:16 PM
McCaffrey is the new manager.

Guinney
20/12/2011, 10:22 PM
McCaffrey is the new manager.
Sounds good to me :)

20/12/2011, 10:39 PM
Confirmed? That's a great appointment.

HomerJay
20/12/2011, 11:35 PM
very pleased with this. :beauty:

bullit
21/12/2011, 12:05 AM
Confirmed? That's a great appointment.
No source to it.

Spudulika
21/12/2011, 3:56 AM
It would be a decent appointment, but yet another rumour thrown out from within to keep up the bread and games.

mcgonigle
21/12/2011, 8:06 AM
It would be a decent appointment, but yet another rumour thrown out from within to keep up the bread and games.

I was told McCaffrey this morning as well. First time I've been given a name throughout, I'd imagine it is solid

Spudulika
21/12/2011, 9:42 AM
I was told Roddy was a shoo-in, then again that was by a journo.

21/12/2011, 9:47 AM
McCaffrey has it with Darius as no.2 apparently.

21/12/2011, 10:47 AM

I suppose it a good one alright, on paper anyway at least. I was always suspect of him and his results (scoreline and/or technical ability of players) but well see how he fairs out.

22/12/2011, 5:17 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/meet-greet-with-management-team-on-friday-7-30pm

colonelwest
23/12/2011, 2:31 PM

Announced this afternoon,, some signings being announced at the meet and greet/ press conference tonight too. All we need is a team now that'll play for a bag of tayto and a can of fanta.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/mccaffrey-confirmed-as-new-manager

askmehoop
23/12/2011, 3:19 PM
very good and positive appointment from Dundalk

oriel
23/12/2011, 3:30 PM
Next years budget wont be anything like the 8 or 9k that Foster completely wasted coming 4th last, but it will be competitive.

In saying that, it will be interesting to see who follows Hawkins as 'new' signings for 2012.

If he can manage to tie down Griffen, and recruit another decent striker to play alongside him, we might not be too bad after the loss of Quigley, Byrne doesnt register as he was finished after the Setanta Cup final.

I'm happy enough with this appointment of McCaffrey, its a nice change from the usual suspects in LOI scene. Maybe its just what we need as we re-build.

askmehoop
23/12/2011, 3:43 PM
Next years budget wont be anything like the 8 or 9k that Foster completely wasted coming 4th last, but it will be competitive.

In saying that, it will be interesting to see who follows Hawkins as 'new' signings for 2012.

If he can manage to tie down Griffen, and recruit another decent striker to play alongside him, we might not be too bad after the loss of Quigley, Byrne doesnt register as he was finished after the Setanta Cup final.

I'm happy enough with this appointment of McCaffrey, its a nice change from the usual suspects in LOI scene. Maybe its just what we need as we re-build.

you'd be suprised how a new manager can affect a player, McCaffrey might be able to getthe best out of him. O'Neill worked wonders with Dessie Baker when we all thought he was finished, his first season in Tallaght was up there up there with his best.

23/12/2011, 3:44 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/interview-mccaffrey-eyeing-long-term-project

New Dundalk FC manager Seán McCaffrey has eyed a “long-term project” at Oriel Park, after he was confirmed as Ian Foster’s successor on Friday afternoon.

The 52-year-old has signed a one-year contract with the Lilywhites, but he has spoken of his desire to develop a “sustainable model” for the club.

“I see it as a long-term project,” McCaffrey told dundalkfc.com. “Teams come and go and managers come and go. If you look at what Alex Ferguson did at Manchester United or Wenger at Arsenal – they built a club.
“They have a situation where they buy good players and they produce good players, so it’s a mixture of both, and the structure from scouting 12-year-olds right through to scouting top international players is in place in both those clubs.

“That’s the only type of a model that is sustainable. And League of Ireland football has always struggled because there hasn’t been an appropriate model that is sustainable for the finances around the league and for the long-term.

“That’s what we’re going to try to do. Money will build you a team and it could maybe build you a club, but you need to put the structures in place.

“Everything needs to be right, instead of this situation in League of Ireland football where the manager goes and the whole team goes, and the whole thing starts all over again.

“It’s just not sustainable and it’s not the sensible approach.

“I’m absolutely delighted to be here. It’s a club, when I was a teenager growing up, where we went to watch League of Ireland matches. We would go to watch European games, like against Liverpool and Celtic.

“I remember as a 14-year-old getting into the dressing room. There was a priest called John McElroy, a Celtic fan who lived in Glasgow, and he got us into the dressing room and we met Bobby Lennox and Kenny Dalglish and all those guys.

“I remember all the great Dundalk teams under Jim McLaughlin. It was a fantastic club. I remember all the top players – Tommy McConville, Paddy Dunning, Pop Flanagan obviously, a Monaghan man, Jimmy Dainty, Cathal Muckian – I could write a book on it.

“I’m delighted to get it. I think it’s a club with a fantastic fan base and huge potential. It’s a huge football town. The Dundalk Schoolboys’ League is on your doorstep, and I know a lot of people involved in it – Gerry Gover and Larry Gorham.

“There are a lot of very good clubs around Dundalk, so I know the potential there. I capped a few young Dundalk players through the years, and I’d know the history of it well.

“There’s a huge challenge with the job. There’s a fairly small budget but, having said that, Gerry Matthews has spent a fortune on the club and the Youth Development Centre is a fabulous facility.

“You can’t spend it at both ends so we have to put up with a small budget for a couple of seasons and manage it as best as we can.

“But, first and foremost, you have the club there and you have the fan base there, and since Gerry has come in, you have a great facility as well as the stadium itself.”

Spudulika
23/12/2011, 3:59 PM
Anyone else getting popcorn for this car crash in the making? So much double speak in one interview that it's scary. I like McCaffrey, he's a decent coach for young lads, but Dundalk isn't UCD.

23/12/2011, 4:05 PM
I will give him a chance before judging him. Atleast it's not Gormley

askmehoop
23/12/2011, 4:12 PM
Anyone else getting popcorn for this car crash in the making? So much double speak in one interview that it's scary. I like McCaffrey, he's a decent coach for young lads, but Dundalk isn't UCD.

you might make some use of the youth development centre

23/12/2011, 4:16 PM
you might make some use of Gerry's entertainment centre

Fixed

Spudulika
23/12/2011, 4:49 PM
Dunny, with the yahoo's running the place would Alex Ferguson get a fair crack of the whip?

Askmehoop - don't go there sister, in any sense!!!

23/12/2011, 6:24 PM
does anyone know what year did SMC last manage in the loi? Its a hell of a long time to be away from the scene and I think he could be found out at this level!

colonelwest
23/12/2011, 6:52 PM

Spud, we've already had the car crash and been brought to A & E, this is the defib!

does anyone know what year did SMC last manage in the loi? Its a hell of a long time to be away from the scene and I think he could be found out at this level!

Could be wrong but far as I know last loi club he managed would have been the Mons when they first came into the league! That's a bit of a misnomer though as along with being in charge of the national youths he is/ was one of the FAI regional development fella's. He may not have been in the domestic managerial merry go round but don't let that fool you into thinking he doesn't know much about the domestic game, he's kept well up on the league over the years. I'm happy with the appointment, much rather himself than one of the same 5 heads that are up for every job every winter on the merry go round.

monutdfc
23/12/2011, 11:48 PM
Delighted for Sean, an absolute gentleman and a great coach. Pity, I'll want them to do well now (was eased in to it last year when I got used to wanting them to beat Drogheda)

bullit
24/12/2011, 6:30 AM
Dunny, with the yahoo's running the place would Alex Ferguson get a fair crack of the whip?

Askmehoop - don't go there sister, in any sense!!!

Ahh look,SPUD dosn't know what ring to throw his coat on? if you sit on that fence any longer Spud you will get splinters up your hole !! Enjoy lad :)