View Full Version : Dundalk FC up for grabs!
Spudulika
21/11/2011, 2:55 PM
I would have been worried with the Dundalk consortium taking over and/or the Trust going in. I had hoped and thought that GM was going to be clever and get out while he didn't have to dig further holes, but there is so much still sitting there that is deeper and darker than he initially let on that it's not funny. And worse of all is his/DFC's treatment of genuine interest in the club. Of course this won't be addressed as it doesn't suit. It's just a shame they've been destroying Dundalk's standing by not just commanding the situation. The man did put his own money into the club, his own business interests have been rocked and he shold be allowed get out. But one question - was it his own money in the YDC?
But one question - was it his own money in the YDC?
If you are around tonight then ask him. If not then see if anyone you know can ask on your behalf. Unfortunately I can't make it.
Spudulika
21/11/2011, 8:19 PM
Getting text updates, and I asked the GM in person and got 3 answers. So hopefully they'll clear it up tonight.
GM as in General Manager
Ezeikial
21/11/2011, 11:23 PM
But one question - was it his own money in the YDC?
Gerry Matthews clarified this along with a big chunk of detail about the YDC previously - apart from the Sports Capital Grant of €250k he funded the rest of the construction costs jointly from his own resources and assistance from other friends/investors, on the understanding that this money would be repaid only when the YDC was fully operational and generating profits.
The report (linked below) on that Supporter meeting will also clarify that no club funds (season tickets, match ticket revenue etc was used at all), but the idea was/is that the club coffers would benefit from YDC revenue immediately it generates profits and not having to wait 20 + years untill contruction costs are paid off.
“We started it and we went back to them, and then all of a sudden, with the recession and the cutbacks, the Capital Sports programme was abolished altogether and there was no money, so we didn’t get our money. I had a choice to make. I could try to proceed with the building – there wasn’t very much done at this stage – or not proceed with it. We put a lot of money into the design of it – we had to design it twice – and we had all our planning application fees, so I went to friends of mine who are investors, but they’re more friends than investors, and jointly we came up with a mechanism to try to finance it. We proceeded on this basis, and I just want to be clear – I was committed to building this building in Oriel Park. And the reason it was built in Oriel Park and not Hiney Park was, this is my contribution to Dundalk Football Club and the town. It could never be sold. Even if I want to sell it, I can’t sell it. If my sons want to sell it when I’m gone, they can’t sell it. This is why it was built in Oriel Park and not in Hiney Park. Had I built it in Hiney Park, I could do what I like with it – I could sell it or I could turn it into a warehouse. I want to make that clear.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/matthews-on-ydc-planning-levies
bullit
22/11/2011, 12:34 AM
20 applications for the Dundalk job.
Actualy it will be 19 once they filter my spoof application :)
The Trust are having another meeting next week, which is good enough.A line in the sand has to be drawn fairly soon because there is a huge sore beginining to fester,if it hasnt already gone septic!! I still have some faith in GM,but my faith decreases by the day.
22/11/2011, 8:13 AM
Tis all mad! GM & co offer some rallying cry to DFC supporters, now it seems, going on orielweb posts, the crosshairs have been lined up on the Trust! Are fans really that malliable, fickle, or just plain stupid. Oh and if anybody ever goes to a meeting in Oriel Park dont wear a suit what ever you do, or you may be singled out as that groups 'advisor/puppet master' or something!
30 applications for the managers job was stated (start worrying Magicme), no shortage of interest from the UK and then yer usual few from LoI!
I can't access OW from work. What's being said?
Quayman
22/11/2011, 9:45 AM
Tis all mad! GM & co offer some rallying cry to DFC supporters, now it seems, going on orielweb posts, the crosshairs have been lined up on the Trust! Are fans really that malliable, fickle, or just plain stupid. Oh and if anybody ever goes to a meeting in Oriel Park dont wear a suit what ever you do, or you may be singled out as that groups 'advisor/puppet master' or something! 30 applications for the managers job was stated (start worrying Magicme), no shortage of interest from the UK and then yer usual few from LoI! nesta I think you will find that nobody is accusing the trust of anything, the main questions being asked by fans is if there is any bad blood sitting there now between the trust and gm. People are saying that there seemed to be bad vibes coming from their corner last night. I cant comment fully to the situation as I could not,make the meeting due to work commitments but from messages I got from people at that meeting was there seemed no be.
boneym
22/11/2011, 10:18 PM
There is no issue between the trust and GM
askmehoop
23/11/2011, 9:08 AM
Tis all mad! GM & co offer some rallying cry to DFC supporters, now it seems, going on orielweb posts, the crosshairs have been lined up on the Trust! Are fans really that malliable, fickle, or just plain stupid. Oh and if anybody ever goes to a meeting in Oriel Park dont wear a suit what ever you do, or you may be singled out as that groups 'advisor/puppet master' or something!
30 applications for the managers job was stated (start worrying Magicme), no shortage of interest from the UK and then yer usual few from LoI!
I hear Mark McGhee is one of them
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_McGhee
Ezeikial
23/11/2011, 5:14 PM
I hear Mark McGhee is one of them
According to BBC Sport this is carried by the Daily Mail -
Mark McGhee, sacked a year ago by Aberdeen, has put his name forward to be the new manager of Irish club Dundalk. (Daily Mail)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/scotland/15852012.stm
Local Paper The Argus carries this report from the recent Supporter Information meeting -
Dundalk owner to relinquish control 'within six weeks'
By TERRY CONLON
Wednesday November 23 2011
DUNDALK FC owner Gerry Matthews has told the club's supporters that he is on the verge of quitting the club.
More than 200 fans attended a meeting in the Youth Development Centre on Monday night where they were brought up to date with developments regarding ownership of the club and the hunt for a new team manager.
Matthews said he is less than six weeks away from surrendering control of the club and handing over to a re-constituted board.
The club is in the process of big changes, with a new manager scheduled to be appointed in the next couple of weeks to replace Ian Foster, whose contract was not renewed after two years in charge.
Close on 30 applicants have applied for the vacant post, and the club this week was still receiving CVS, although the deadline has passed for applications. The club was 'very happy with the calibre of candidates', General Manger Paul Johnston said yesterday.
They include World Cup players and former players from home and overseas, with the club's preference being for a replacement or at least a backroom member of staff with personal knowledge of the League.
Mr Johnston said the club will be looking to provide the successful candidate with a player budget of between €5,000 and €6,000, and plans to start interviews for the post next week.
Dundalk FC has gone through a period of turmoil since before the season ended, with proposed takeovers involving the Supporters Trust and an investors group consisting of the principals of the club's former main sponsors Fastfix and former Financial Director Ciaran Bond failing to materialise. The club are also looking for a new
Stepping down - Gerry Matthews. main sponsor.
The club owner said his departure after five years in charge could be even sooner than the six weeks he announced with a revamped board in the process of being set up, comprising eight to 10 members, with possibly four newcomers.
There were strongand heartfelt calls by, among others, club president Jim Reilly 'to put to bed any discontent or ill feeling' and for all to get behind the club, as Mr Matthews addressed issues and rebutted criticism of him.
He offered to open club accounts for examination to an outside accountant or auditor and also a quantity surveyor to look into the cost of the newly-opened Youth Development Centre, which he insisted was a big asset to the club - but wouldn't be pumping any more money into Dundalk FC.
The club was successful in negotiations with the Town Council to reduce the €430,000 planning levy on the building and to agree a structured payment scheme, he revealed.
He asserted that the club met all its financial commitments since he took over, including paying players. He also stated that, contrary to reports, the Oriel Park synthetic surface had been accorded two-star rating which means that it can stage Champions League games.
Johnston said that the club expected to have a four-member interview panel in place by the end of the week, one with football experience, and a representative of the board, business community and Supporters Trust, guided by a mentor with Human Relations qualifications.
Matthews said 'different people have been approached and have expressed willingness to join the board. So I think it will be time for me to step down. Some existing members might go and some might stay and there will be additions,' he said.
He couldn't say whether there will be a change at the top in the board, stating that Padraig Mcgowan has been a 'tremendous chairman'.
The aim was to secure quality rather than quality, and the board talked to a few senior people. -Dundalk Youths received a walkover as Shamrock Rovers failed to travel on Sunday to fulfil their fixture in the Dublin Schoolboy League. They are scheduled to play at home this Sunday.
- TERRY CONLON
http://www.argus.ie/sport/soccer/dundalk-owner-to-relinquish-control-within-six-weeks-2943184.html
Ian Foster has his say on things. (http://blackandwhitetown.tumblr.com/post/13248391170/foster-breaks-his-silence)
bullit
25/11/2011, 7:40 PM
Foster needs hard cheese with his usual whine !!!
The blame for an extremely dissapointing season lies everywhere else but not with him of course !!
Totally agree, he was HANDED a euro spot in 2010, big crowds too that season, established decent players in both seasons, Faz, Fenn, Milligan, Quigley & Byrne, other young players Miller/Kearns, and local youths like Griffin, Cian Byrne and possibly Nathan Muprhy, other big players who turned out to be rubbish, Bolger & Gutherie, all of these were his fault for poor mgt and just more and more reasons why he blew it. In hindsight, possibly the worst manager ever to manage more than one season in the PD.
I think he's right about the pitch though.
The injury list at Oriel Park was ridiculous and a few non-biased people have said the pitch could be a factor in that.
26/11/2011, 11:34 AM
It's long been established that harder ground leads to more injuries and, visually, the Oriel surface looks abnormally firm. I believe Newcastle had a problem a few years ago with players picking up knee injuries with the weather being much colder up there.
Ezeikial
26/11/2011, 2:19 PM
I think he's right about the pitch though.
The injury list at Oriel Park was ridiculous and a few non-biased people have said the pitch could be a factor in that.
There is a whole bunch of contrary opinions and research about this, but it was the same pitch without the long injury list in 2010 and 2009.
If a manager really believed that the pitch would cause more injuries, then surely the logical actions would be to assemble a larger squad pre-season, and to do the bulk of the training on grass during the season itself
There is a whole bunch of contrary opinions and research about this, but it was the same pitch without the long injury list in 2010 and 2009.
If a manager really believed that the pitch would cause more injuries, then surely the logical actions would be to assemble a larger squad pre-season, and to do the bulk of the training on grass during the season itself
How could he when the budget is not available to do so?
26/11/2011, 9:39 PM
who do ye want lads to be the new Dundalk manager? I know Tommy Johnson has being linked with the job along with Sean Connor. Would Connor be welcomed back with open arms?
26/11/2011, 10:45 PM
How could he when the budget is not available to do so?
Isn't the argument that he went for quality (Byrne, Hawkins, Quigley) over quantity? If he knew the pitch was likely to cause injuries, the correct approach might have been to pass on one of those and perhaps get two less talented players to cover the numbers. But then he'd have been accused of lacking ambition so I can see his argument.
27/11/2011, 10:16 AM
Most teams train on Astro turf I would imagine.
We played all our games on a grass pitch and our injury list through the season was:
Gary Sheehan
Stephen O Flynn
Dave Ryan
Brian O Callaghan
Shaun Maher
Shane Tracey
John Frost
David O Leary
Chris Breen
Thomas Lyons
James O Brien
Most of those where out for either most of the season of for weeks at a time so its not just playing matches on synthetic surfaces that picks up injuries. Luckily though we had some good A players to call upon when needed.
27/11/2011, 11:08 AM
who do ye want lads to be the new Dundalk manager? I know Tommy Johnson has being linked with the job along with Sean Connor. Would Connor be welcomed back with open arms?
As I said before, if Sean Connor is appointed again I will not step foot in Oriel.
Buckley and Mahon are the favourites it seems. 30 applications.
jinxy lilywhite
27/11/2011, 2:08 PM
I wasn't Connor's biggest fan but sometimes we played good stuff under him.
i'd take him back only without the baggage that comes with him.
27/11/2011, 2:10 PM
Training methods can also be responsible for extensive injury list never mind surfaces played on .Spurs had major problem until backroom staff were changed and it was implied then that a change in pre-season intensities improved the 'robustness' of the squad. We signed players that had histories of spells out injured with previous clubs. The major reason for our injury list was that the injured players were rushed back without sufficient rehab or rest time. Injuries were not fully healed and then exaccerbated not by the pitch. Foster had little choice maybe. As mentioned before the most severe soft tissue injury (to Sam) happened in Tallaght. The pitch has once again been awarded 2*status which to at least some extent refutes info that was given to St Pats on the longeivity of the surface. Maybe not a good thing lol.
Public meeting with the trust could help to clear up a lot of the misinformation being spewed from various parties throughout this messy process.
bullit
27/11/2011, 6:47 PM
:love: Ok Sean :p Get to a hospital asap.
He had Hiney Park available to him so if he was so concened about the injuries then it was logical to train there.(For anyone that dosnt know,Hiney Park is a grass pitch that belongs to GM & is next door to OP and id available to DFC for training on at all times)
Also,he was very poor in his use of the bench ALL season!! Subbing injured/recovering from injuries players in the last 2 mins with a game won/lost is just naive.
He deserved to get the chop.
eelmonster
27/11/2011, 6:50 PM
Maybe Trevor Anderson could come in as his number two.
jinxy lilywhite
27/11/2011, 6:56 PM
Maybe Trevor Anderson could come in as his number two.
maybe or john hewitt, eddie may and martin murray. lol.
there are worse managers out there than Connor and if we could control the off the pitch antics and with a strong chairman to keep him in line I would take him back but we dont have a strong chairman who would do that and seanie would be up to his old tricks
South America is starting to love plastic pitches. I don't think they are as much to blame for the injuries than Ian Fosters insistence on playing players that were already carrying an injury....both seasons that he was in charge!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15965082
01/12/2011, 10:19 AM
Loads of countries have platic pitches, but they look after them. Dundalk's is awful
Quayman
01/12/2011, 10:43 AM
Loads of countries have platic pitches, but they look after them. Dundalk's is awful
Is that why it got the same stars required for it to be used in Europe again this year???? Jaysus Dodge, you are really coming across as bitter.
GCdfc
01/12/2011, 10:53 AM
If Pats want to come up and train on it so that they can't complain that Dundalk have an unfair advantage, I'm sure Dundalk will rent it to them.
01/12/2011, 10:53 AM
Is that why it got the same stars required for it to be used in Europe again this year???? Jaysus Dodge, you are really coming across as bitter.
How is that bitter? We've a brilliant record in Oriel in recent times.
Fair play on the Stars. your pitch is still awful
Louth4sam
01/12/2011, 10:57 AM
Maybe, but it has passed rigorous testing that most cabbage patch pitches in this country would fail horribly.
Quayman
01/12/2011, 11:04 AM
How is that bitter? We've a brilliant record in Oriel in recent times.
Fair play on the Stars. your pitch is still awful
Because your club seems to be going tits up atm and all you have to moan about it the "plastic" pitch at Oriel Park. The pitch has passed extensive testing since we came up and has never failed. So both Uefa and the FAI have no problem with it, so stop coming on here crying about it.
Just to highlight, we picked up one bad injury at Oriel all last season, Maher going over badly on his ankle. All other injuries were picked up away from home, esp Tallaght were we seemed to suffer the majority of our "bad" injuries.
01/12/2011, 11:08 AM
Because your club seems to be going tits up atm and all you have to moan about it the "plastic" pitch at Oriel Park.
My club is fine, and this is a thread about Dundalk.
Still fail to see how I'm being bitter
01/12/2011, 12:26 PM
No need to go off on one Quayman, people are entitled to an opinion. Most Dundalk fans hate the bloody pitch!
01/12/2011, 6:27 PM
You imply that Dundalk dont look after the pitch, where did you get that from? Dont get either why you think Dundalk's pitch is any better or worse than other similar surfaces considering it is up to required standards and the considerable use it gets? The info you posted in a previous thread some time back on Pats consideration for an artificial was obviously misinformation!
bullit
01/12/2011, 11:52 PM
The pitch looks a bit drab right now,prob needs a bit of remedial work done on it but otherwise it plays perfect and will remain an asset to the club.As has been said, it has retained the 2 star UEFA status(FIFA RECOMMENDED 2 STAR).
'Nuff said.
02/12/2011, 10:12 AM
The info you posted in a previous thread some time back on Pats consideration for an artificial was obviously misinformation!
Clearly. Only reporting what a Pats board manager told an open meeting of fans.
I've seen rubbish grounds past UEFA tests, that Oriel's passed doesn't surprise me. You're happy with it, and Dundalk are happy with it. Thats fine
I think the surface is awful
mcgonigle
02/12/2011, 12:38 PM
Clearly. Only reporting what a Pats board manager told an open meeting of fans.
I've seen rubbish grounds past UEFA tests, that Oriel's passed doesn't surprise me. You're happy with it, and Dundalk are happy with it. Thats fine
So you're saying you won't be signing??
Have you played on it?
Yep. About 18 months ago.
bullit
06/12/2011, 6:32 PM
One ‘Friend of Dundalk FC’ has committed to matching the money raised by new subscribers, up to €30,000. So your contribution counts double
http://www.dundalkfc.com/season-tickets-friends-of-dundalk-fc-details-announced
Edit: Should read "up to 30k"
Financial Stew
09/12/2011, 4:07 PM
Heard Eddie Gormley is favourite for the Dundalk job, any thoughts out there. Particulary like to hear
from Bray fans
Spudulika
09/12/2011, 4:15 PM
Not the worst appointment by a long way, knows decent players, but can he handle the hassle he'll get? Seeing as Pete Mahon and Liam Buckley gave it a body swerve, there wasn't alot on the go.
Dillonman
09/12/2011, 4:23 PM
Not the worst appointment by a long way, knows decent players, but can he handle the hassle he'll get? Seeing as Pete Mahon and Liam Buckley gave it a body swerve, there wasn't alot on the go.
Looks like a last resort and desperate appointment by the club, would rather Roddy. Can any Mons fans confirm if Roddy is contracted for next season?
Spudulika
09/12/2011, 4:54 PM
Looks like a last resort and desperate appointment by the club, would rather Roddy. Can any Mons fans confirm if Roddy is contracted for next season?
Can I smoke some of what you're smoking? :-)
10/12/2011, 8:58 AM
Yeah Dillonman, he signed his contract for the season.
lawman
10/12/2011, 10:55 AM
And boy does that man carry some baggage with him :) everybody from match officials to the weather to the FAI having a hidden agenda to get rid of his teams, get the blame when he doesnt get the right result.A player is sent off, refs fault, a player is injured in a 50/50, pure malice from opponent... etc etc
Not the worst appointment by a long way, knows decent players, but can he handle the hassle he'll get?
GORMLEY.......................are you serious ? FFS, this is 3 times worse than Foster. A terrible manager, end of, and if our selection committe are stupid enough to appoint him, we will have gone back 10 years.