View Full Version : Dundalk FC up for grabs!
30/09/2011, 12:14 AM
I'd imagine Dundalk have a tougher time keeping homegrown talent and attracting players from other counties than Galway.
Spudulika
30/09/2011, 9:00 AM
True, but Dublin is just down the road.
jinxy lilywhite
30/09/2011, 1:51 PM
I'd imagine Dundalk have a tougher time keeping homegrown talent and attracting players from other counties than Galway.
well the only homegrown player from dundalk in the league that would walk into our team would be Conor McCormack. probably the biggest mistake foster made in not chasing him up
If memory serves me correct Shane Grimes (Monaghan) and Mulvenna (Drogheda) are the only other dundalk lads playing in the leage.
We were able to attract Daniel Kearns last season, Peter Cherrie (scottish) in 2009, Dean Bennett (english), other names escape.
In relation to the takeover, I really hope the majority of our supporters grasp this opportunity and get behind the trust. The problems that face the club are difficult but they are not insurmountable once addressed.
I would expect if the YDC issue gets sorted then the Bond consortium will be back in. My problem with this is that i feel overall it will set the club back in regard to community relations. I beleive the consortium will run the club like a cartel and only serve their own interests and not those of supporters and other stakeholders and overall will be to the long term detriment of the club. (that is only my opinion).
I think GM tenure at the club was a great success, he saved us from the brink, brought in various revenue streams, up until a couple of years ago balanced our books and brought a sense of realism. I think the time is right for him to move on as I feel that he does not know how to move the club forward. I found this prevailent this season as we seemed to be a club in limbo with no sense of direction on how to move the club forward.
I also believe that the DFC trust are the best people to bring the club forward with the support of the supporters
probably the biggest mistake foster made in not chasing him up
He did, Rovers offered him more.
Guinney
30/09/2011, 3:22 PM
well the only homegrown player from dundalk in the league that would walk into our team would be Conor McCormack. probably the biggest mistake foster made in not chasing him up
It’s a pity we didn’t get to sign McCormack as he seems like a cracking player. I’m not sure of the ins and outs but he was training with us last year during the summer. I’m not sure if he was offered a contract with us, but the lure in signing for Shamrock Rovers than us would be bigger than us even for a Dundalk local.
In my opinion Foster also made a mistake by not signing two of the Brennan brothers – Ryan & Gavin. Both played in trial games here, but neither got offered contracts. Even though they can’t technically be called locals (more Drogheda) both live in close enough vicinity to Oriel.
At the moment we have a good bunch of locals. I count seven in the first team (P.Murphy, N.Murphy, Osborne, Gaynor, McDonnell, Breen, Griffin). Cian Byrne can be added to that list as he has become a regular in the past few weeks due our ongoing injury crisis. Others like Duffy, Kerr and McDonald have had small cameo roles throughout the season. Its good to see locals getting a chance for many a year they rarely featured in the first team.
If memory serves me correct Shane Grimes (Monaghan) and Mulvenna (Drogheda) are the only other dundalk lads playing in the leage.
Just two quick questions. Drog fans, how has Mulvenna been doing since he came into your team in the summer. Mon fan, how has Shane Grimes been performing for yous?
Dillonman
30/09/2011, 6:13 PM
Just read the Gerry Matthews Interview very big budget for a Part Time Club over 4 times ours and we are treading water .How can aeither the Trust or new investors even contemplate that kind of Budget for next season.
The club is full time, plus our crowds when we came back up three years ago where averaging around 2,500, last year it was slightly down to around 2,100 and this year it started off great until the Summer hit and our crowds are down to about 1,000 a game. It did help the budget but now its not sustainable.
Ezeikial
30/09/2011, 11:24 PM
Just read the Gerry Matthews Interview very big budget for a Part Time Club......
The club is full time......
IMO there is way too much importance given to the notion of 'full time' versus 'part time'.
For many people the definition appears to be the time of the day that the players train!
Dundalk train in the morning, St Pats train in the evening. Ergo Dundalk are full time and St Pats are part time? This distinction does not make much sense to me (I recall that of the St Pats circa 25 man european squad only 6-7 of them got compensation for taking time of a daytime job)
Just a heads up for Dublin based supporters:
The DFC Trust are holding meetings in Dundalk and Dublin this week.
A workshop about the management committees which must be set up to enable the proposed fans’ takeover of the club took place on Monday night in the Lilywhite Lounge.
We have also organised a meeting for our Dublin-based supporters for this Wednesday night, 5th October, in the Regency Hotel in Whitehall at 7.30pm. If you are interested in becoming involved, please come along.
All supporters are invited to attend these meetings.
marinobohs
04/10/2011, 2:22 PM
Dundalk train in the morning, St Pats train in the evening. Ergo Dundalk are full time and St Pats are part time? This distinction does not make much sense to me (I recall that of the St Pats circa 25 man european squad only 6-7 of them got compensation for taking time of a daytime job)
Only players with legitimate losses were compensated as far as I know. Many employers would not "dock" the money therefore no claim arose.
Agree with you RE Full Time/ part time. Main diffenerce is season long contracts V 52 Week contracts (and we know how that went). While it would be expected that players with no other jobs would be fitter the difference has often been marginal.
Didn't Pats have some Scandinavian style hybrid system operating ?
colonelwest
29/10/2011, 6:58 PM
Foster sacked and Matthews refused the combo Trust/ Bond bid. Says he wants to transfer to a fully supporter owned model on a phased basis over the next year. I'll believe it when I see it, things not looking good in Oriel Park.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-fc-part-company-with-ian-foster
http://www.dundalkfc.com/statement-from-gerry-matthews-2
Current owner and CEO of Dundalk FC Gerry Matthews, has confirmed his intention to transfer the ownership of the club into the hands of the people of the town and to become a Supporter-Owned and operated football club within the coming year.Because of the pressing requirements of Club Licencing for the 2012 season and the legal complexities of finalising this transfer, it is intended to manage the ownership transfer on a transitional basis with completion of the formalities targeted for 2012. A new board of management including supporter, business and community representation is to be constituted with a view to managing and guiding the club towards completing this smooth transition to a Supporter Owned model.
Gerry Matthews said “It has always been my desire and intention to handover the ownership of the club to the supporters and community of Dundalk, and I share the view of the Dundalk FC Trust that the clubs long term interests will be best served by the club being supporter / community owned and operated as opposed to the private ownership alternative”
“My wish is to step down as CEO and from the management board when the new board is fully operational and to hand over full day-to-day executive powers to this group which will consist of supporters and community members. I have had very positive discussions with the DFC Trust group who I envisage having a pivotal role to play in both the immediate and long term success of the club. With the deadline for licensing applications fast approaching and with many other footballing matters an immediate priority, it is important that we create stability and a clear vision for the immediate future. I hope to be in a position to be able to provide more details and the specifics of the transition plan within the coming days. With the club being placed directly into the hands of the supporters and community of the town , I feel a strong enthusiasm and optimism about the future of the football club”
29/10/2011, 7:48 PM
Relegation fodder next season....we are a mess! Might need some help from the Foras lads..
Spudulika
29/10/2011, 8:22 PM
Forget FORAS, call for Samaritans and Dr. Kevorkian. Getting seriously scary on the Carrick Road.
bullit
29/10/2011, 8:30 PM
Forget FORAS, call for Samaritans and Dr. Kevorkian. Getting seriously scary on the Carrick Road.
Its a right bloody mess that needs sorting ASAP.
I don't think that that consortium that was trieing to take over would have been good for the club,seems to me that they were getting into it to make money and as everyone know's; you won't make money running a LOI clubl !!!
That said,i don't realy trust Gerry Matthews either. :(
Matthews statement translated.
1/ I never wanted to sell as I own the YDC and I want to re-coup the money.
2/ I never thought any viable offer would come in.
3/ Until my business interests are satisfied, I am not selling out.
4/ If it means the football club going bust, I dont care as I own the company and the YDC is on the land. Thats my concern.
5/ Dont make any other offers, as I will dictate what happens from here onwards
6/ 2012 season, is there one> I know nothing about football anyway, so I dont care.
Tom Coughlan v Cork City Fans all over again, we have got to get this man out before he destroys the football club.
geezer
29/10/2011, 9:41 PM
4/ If it means the football club going bust, I dont care as I own the company and the YDC is on the land. Thats my concern.
6/ 2012 season, is there one> I know nothing about football anyway, so I dont care.
Tom Coughlan v Cork City Fans all over again, we have got to get this man out before he destroys the football club.
this is scary, it seems very similiar to GUFC, ceo trying to cover stuff etc, anything but just open the book and let people look in
I would advise any supporters of Dundalk to get right under the bonnet of this one before getting involved
Spudulika
30/10/2011, 5:40 AM
I am looking very nervously at this situation. I only met GM a handful of times and can't judge him as a person, however I admire many of the things he has done for Dundalk (I won't condemn him for the YDC as it's dangerous ground for the forum) and he is right to go. I said alot earlier that this "member" takeover is too similiar to the co-op which I opposed at the time and gave up my season ticket. And please somebody on the ground enlighten me, but do they believe that they can take over the club and get outside sources to "invest"? Not even Rovers would consider this and they had a powerful revenue stream from the 400 club. It is all well and good to say "we'll run it and get investors in", but how in the name of god do you repay investors? I've seen this way too often, we all have, and it just doesn't end well.
Oriel, I wouldn't go as far as comparing GM to Big Tom, but if a certain person rolls down the road from Monaghan........(with "investors" in tow)
WoodquayBoy
30/10/2011, 9:56 AM
No surprise Foster go the boot as given the quality players ye have (Cherrie, Quigley, Kearns to name just 3), and the great manager Foster believes he is, ye really have underperformed
colonelwest
30/10/2011, 12:17 PM
I wouldn't go as far as Tommy no bobs as GM has done a hell of a lot for the club but it seems the cliff notes are GM basically has scaremongered the handover of the club to the trust at some unknown point in the future while he can cut costs to below the bare minimum to get the most income out of the club before that happens. The consortium and the trust came to an agreement thursday after GM putting the feelers out again to them I think for a joint takeover with GM setting the deadline of the day after, friday. When they went back to him he turned around and refused it (as is his legal right as the owner to be fair) and said he's just going to hand the club over to the trust on a phased basis in 2012. Some skullduggery going on.
30/10/2011, 6:45 PM
Read the statements on the official website. Looks like a bit of mess.
As a FORAS member I'd advise every DFC supporter to join the Trust if you want to have a say in the club.It sounds like they will be crucial to any new ownership structure.
geezer
30/10/2011, 7:13 PM
Read the statements on the official website. Looks like a bit of mess.
As a FORAS member I'd advise every DFC supporter to join the Trust if you want to have a say in the club.It sounds like they will be crucial to any new ownership structure.
its classic behaviour of people papering over cracks. seen it all here out west last year, the debt is small, manageable everything is ok, if only we could get more supporters. Open the press and earth shattering debts fell out everywhere. Why does an ongoing licencing process not pick these up, is it tick box and no one reads the trends.
There are one or two great staff in that licence office , they should be let in to clubs bi monthly or quarterly to check whats really going on.
bullit
31/10/2011, 5:33 AM
A lot of peole on Orielweb seem to have made up their minds already and are knee-jerking and taking sides.For me.both sides are dangerous(GM V Bond&Co) and a takeover by the trust is the only way forward.This might take some time but it will ultmately put the Club right back in the fans hands.
Spudulika
31/10/2011, 7:41 AM
A lot of peole on Orielweb seem to have made up their minds already and are knee-jerking and taking sides.For me.both sides are dangerous(GM V Bond&Co) and a takeover by the trust is the only way forward.This might take some time but it will ultmately put the Club right back in the fans hands.
Bullit, while I agree in principle with the Trust taking over, there aren't the numbers there to make it viable. In addition they have seemed to be quite clueless in all of this and have allowed themselves to be mucked about. If it's true that they believe they can run the club and get investors, that seems to be almost deluded. What are the Casey's doing about all of this? I mean, have they not said anything (can't see anything online), especially the issue over the YDC.
Again, nothing against the Trust, this season I've seen first hand the sterling work they do, but I fear another co-op.
31/10/2011, 4:29 PM
Bullit, while I agree in principle with the Trust taking over, there aren't the numbers there to make it viable. In addition they have seemed to be quite clueless in all of this and have allowed themselves to be mucked about. If it's true that they believe they can run the club and get investors, that seems to be almost deluded. What are the Casey's doing about all of this? I mean, have they not said anything (can't see anything online), especially the issue over the YDC.
Again, nothing against the Trust, this season I've seen first hand the sterling work they do, but I fear another co-op.
Spud if you think the Trust were clueless throughout this process you are greatly mistaken. Expert legal advise was taken at every step of the way. If the Trusts legal contacts were not in a position to address certain concerns the expertise further afield was sought. All 'available' accounts were scrutinised with accountants sitting in on meetings as proposals were toing and froing. Reps from supporters direct flew in for discussions. I believe contact was made with Cork Foras other supporter groups in the UK and Ireland. The ground work that was put in from mid summer was immense. Even with this the Trust would acknowledge that there was still a distance to go!
The issue is that much came to light during this process that were of concern but not insurmountable. As the GUST found the deeper you dig the bigger the hole. Ultimately as solutions were found the problems conveniently changed! This in no way implies nieve or clueless process on behalf of the Trust but the ducking and diving by club owners.
As Foras also found out it is impossible to deal with a person who deluded in their own ideas for a club )or indeed generally deluded). Indeed the concept of the potential supporters run club being successful and obtaining members and/or investment is a lot less deluded than the opinions of the current board. The Casey's have and continue to input to the process depending on the circumstances of discussion!!
The model proposed by the Trust is far from the Co-op model and that will become apparent in due course.
Spudulika
31/10/2011, 5:57 PM
Spud if you think the Trust were clueless throughout this process you are greatly mistaken. Expert legal advise was taken at every step of the way. If the Trusts legal contacts were not in a position to address certain concerns the expertise further afield was sought. All 'available' accounts were scrutinised with accountants sitting in on meetings as proposals were toing and froing. Reps from supporters direct flew in for discussions. I believe contact was made with Cork Foras other supporter groups in the UK and Ireland. The ground work that was put in from mid summer was immense. Even with this the Trust would acknowledge that there was still a distance to go!
The issue is that much came to light during this process that were of concern but not insurmountable. As the GUST found the deeper you dig the bigger the hole. Ultimately as solutions were found the problems conveniently changed! This in no way implies nieve or clueless process on behalf of the Trust but the ducking and diving by club owners.
As Foras also found out it is impossible to deal with a person who deluded in their own ideas for a club )or indeed generally deluded). Indeed the concept of the potential supporters run club being successful and obtaining members and/or investment is a lot less deluded than the opinions of the current board. The Casey's have and continue to input to the process depending on the circumstances of discussion!!
The model proposed by the Trust is far from the Co-op model and that will become apparent in due course.
I didn't think it at all, it is the appearance of such in the fiasco, and it wasn't relation to expertise, it was being played off another party for the ceo's gain (advantage). Everyone knows that once somebody has something to lose (the ceo and a few around him) then they'll hang on as much as possible. What I don't understand is why there was never signed an MOU, something with legal value to show progress as everything seems to be verbal or "on trust", yet I've found that in sports nothing can be done in trust, because even with a contract you are still liable for a kick in the backside.
It is only my opinion that looking for investment when it's a members run club is a little deluded, especially in the LOI. The Trust can operate the club on the funds it raises and build on it, forget investment, it's a slippery slope and can see the club go bang. I do hope you're right on path not going the way of the co-op, I was a bit worried by the previous takeover group (though at least one of them I know to have nothing but 100% DFC success in his heart) being not too far from this.
Are the Casey's set against GM? (just reading between your lines).
geezer
31/10/2011, 7:12 PM
Be prepared during all this to be called naive, not of the football family, you will hear terms like "elephant in the room" sssshhhhh loads of "we dont wash our linen in public" . When you seek the truth and honesty around this league enemies appear so beware. No one at any club has anything to fear from the truth. Seek it , call for it and hold open meetings to verify it.
I can remember stories like ah ya it says we owe fifteen thousand on the statement but we dont really owe it.
"im putting a claim in to the fai but i will never claim it"
Now if we could get the supporters to buy season tickets, hold a fundraiser , a dog night well then everything will be grand. Oh also watch out for committee members affiliated to looney so called professional bodies to set in train a series of whispers to people journos etc that never seem to double check 2 sided stories. Expect fan led takeovers to be called "naive" again and again.
But Honesty, Integrity are nothing to be ashamed of. Dig Dig Dig and ask Supporters Direct they have seen it multiple times up and down the UK.
The clubs being run by trusts should try and get supporters direct more involved with the NLEC committee as well. There are plenty of details of the running of the league that have to be addressed and quickly. Best of Luck to DFC, There is plenty of help available, There is one lad i know at gufc who keeps a close affiliation to supporters direct uk that advice is available free, just pm me
jinxy lilywhite
31/10/2011, 7:16 PM
Are the Casey's set against GM? (just reading between your lines).
Its my understanding (looking from the outside) that the Casey's have been more than accomodating in helping to alter the terms of the lease to allow the subletting of the supposed YDC (more a multi purpose centre really) by the club to GM.
Just to add to your last point Spud, the lads in the trust, i know, won't be bullied by anyone and especially no by Matthews. They are in the precarious situation of being used but ultimately if the deal isn;t right I don't think they will accept it.
From being involved in M&A's there will be many twists and turns along the way. Even though the bond consortium deal has been rejected, I wouldnt say that "that is it for them". They could, I feel come back into the equation.
For whatever happens, the Dundalk Fc Trust will have some great involvement in the club and they will have a real share/voice in the day to day running and in the medium to long term strategy of the club. The trust boys have dfc 100% at heart and have and will serve the club well. The rest of us DFC fans need to accept the changing times get behind them and support them.
Spudulika
31/10/2011, 7:48 PM
Jinxy that's what annoys me, that people who are after doing a terrific job, much of it thankless or unseen, getting messed about between moneymen. I don't doubt for a moment CB's efforts and a certain man from Fastfix, and I do know that GM has put in a fair amount of work, time and money, but something has been smelling with all of this and I am worried that the genuine people will lose out again. I'll personally support the trust if they take control of the club. It's a small amount each month to pay to support their efforts.
Good post Geezer, Dundalk are in a slightly better position with a local media pretty supportive of the supporters efforts. Though there is so much going on that it is going to hit the club in the close season.
01/11/2011, 11:41 AM
Spud I have to reiterate what Jinxy was saying - there is no way that the Trust are being used as a make-weight piggy in the middle! The vast majority of progress made in producing the beginings of transparency is because the Trust asked the hard questions and in a Paxmanesque manner did not allow any deflection or spin. Now the fact that the Trust has essentially kept its powder dry in the current public washing of dirty laundry betweeen other partys is showing a sense of cool heads in a very heated situation. To underestimate the DFC Trust, its internal expertise, general determination, its ability to blow this mess wide open (which could happen if need be) and so on would be foolhardy for anybody who peers in the direction of DFC. In essence the Trust already deal with many of the major income streams, the programme, official website, merchandising, match day personnel ond so on, infact the parts of DFC that are done and run in a proper and professional manner!!! There is the very important issue of 'trust' (no pun intended), whereby supporters and the wider community recognise that the bullsh*t merchants are not among the Trust's ranks-a very important commodity for now and going forward!
Geezer the advice and sharing or experiences is much appreciated of course - the more shared experience the better but it is still early doors as I see it no matter how catastrophic everything seems to be presented at the moment; local media are getting it easy these days!!
Jinxy Des Casey and family have been as accomodating as they possibly can be without compromising an agreement that safegaurds our home trust is key on this matter(pun intended this time) ;)
jinxy lilywhite
01/11/2011, 8:30 PM
Spud I have to reiterate what Jinxy was saying - there is no way that the Trust are being used as a make-weight piggy in the middle! The vast majority of progress made in producing the beginings of transparency is because the Trust asked the hard questions and in a Paxmanesque manner did not allow any deflection or spin. Now the fact that the Trust has essentially kept its powder dry in the current public washing of dirty laundry betweeen other partys is showing a sense of cool heads in a very heated situation. To underestimate the DFC Trust, its internal expertise, general determination, its ability to blow this mess wide open (which could happen if need be) and so on would be foolhardy for anybody who peers in the direction of DFC. In essence the Trust already deal with many of the major income streams, the programme, official website, merchandising, match day personnel ond so on, infact the parts of DFC that are done and run in a proper and professional manner!!! There is the very important issue of 'trust' (no pun intended), whereby supporters and the wider community recognise that the bullsh*t merchants are not among the Trust's ranks-a very important commodity for now and going forward!
Geezer the advice and sharing or experiences is much appreciated of course - the more shared experience the better but it is still early doors as I see it no matter how catastrophic everything seems to be presented at the moment; local media are getting it easy these days!!
Jinxy Des Casey and family have been as accomodating as they possibly can be without compromising an agreement that safegaurds our home trust is key on this matter(pun intended this time) ;)
yes nesta, but also I feel the Casey family are open to this because of the trust and the trust will be pivotal in the make up of the new company
02/11/2011, 1:23 PM
Thats exactly what i meant, the consortium bid would never have been a runner, and GM is not in the cosiest place round Oriel so without the Trust a Casey brick wall is quite formidable!
Spudulika
04/11/2011, 5:47 AM
Why would the consortium bid not have been a runner? Because they were asking too many questions or because they were going to cut out the Trust (I don't know what the relation between to two was/is)? Also what happened to the UK consortium? While I admire what the Trust can offer, they won't have the financial muscle to make Dundalk challenge for European places. Right now it looks like the Trust are throwing in their lot with GM, which will only end in tears.
04/11/2011, 10:45 AM
Without Trust involvement any private owner would have to prove long term (ie 99 years) benefit to Oriel Park. With Trust involvement there may be a little more lattitude in relation to the terms of the current lease. The consortium were not cutting out the Trust as they recognised the essential role that is and will be played; GM currently has a similar opinion. As for asking too many questions - well no more than had been asked over the last while by your average supporter. Get your hands on the Dundalk Demo this week and read for yourself the contrasting points of view. I'd be interested in hearing about the English interest too - maybe with your contacts Spud you could do a bit of digging! Once again it must be stressed that the Trust will only involve itself with any owner or investor on its own terms!! There is no simply throwing their lot with in with anyone as you put it. The Trust will engage with whomever, and as it stands that is with GM at the moment, but there is no case of settling for what is on the table.
bullit
07/11/2011, 12:54 AM
Dundalk FC Trust latest statment
The DFC Trust would like to thank everybody for their support, encouragement and patience over the past weeks.
We are still positively engaged in talks with Gerry Matthews and the board and continue to receive legal and financial advice on all aspects of the club.
We are hopeful that all the uncertainty surrounding the club will end this week.
The DFC Trust are also meeting with Kevin Rye of Supporters Direct on Tuesday. Kevin is the Development Manager of Supporters’ Direct and has helped many Trust organisations in the UK and Ireland.
Delighted with the Supporter' Direct link-up.
In the Trust we Trust.
Spudulika
11/11/2011, 2:55 PM
Does this week mean next week then? Or by Sunday? While I feel the Supporters Direct organisation has been very positive in many aspects, isn't it surely better for an Irish way to take hold (cue gags galore).
bullit
12/11/2011, 12:36 AM
Does this week mean next week then? Or by Sunday? While I feel the Supporters Direct organisation has been very positive in many aspects, isn't it surely better for an Irish way to take hold (cue gags galore).
I for one am glad that the Trust are not rushing into making statments or glib promises on this.You know sometimes silence is golden Spud !
If the help of supporters direct is no good then so be it,but they(the Trust) can't be seen to have left a stone unturned.
The facts remain the same though,the fans are going to have to get behind the club sooner rather than later.
Maybe something is happening behind the scenes, as the club had a colour add in the Indo football section today for the manager vacancy, but interestingly its was for 'the 2012 season', another short term deal..............also not sure why they advertised in the paper, surely anyone going for any LOI job will contact the club direct, and not from seeing an add in a paper.
Rumours suggest the budget wont be too different to 2011, so maybe if someone decent came in, he could work it a little better than 6th and 7th place finishing by Foster. When I think of it, he really fxxed up his opportunities, was handed a euro spot in his first season, very well paid package (prob only 2 or 3 managers better paid) decent crowds at the start and middle of each year, ground improvements made, top class training facilities, and still he couldnt improve the team.
DFC Trust will not be taking over the club.
15/11/2011, 9:28 AM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/dfc-trust-statement
grrrrrrr!
DFC Trust will not be taking over the club.
Disappointing. But the main thing for now is that they don't get suckered into giving over money to the club with no guarantee of control/ shares, as other trusts have been.
Spudulika
15/11/2011, 10:55 AM
Why am I not surprised? I know the claims of the Trust to knowing what they were at was with good intentions, but until the club go bang, they won't get in there. I'm fearing the Cork scenario, especially now that one certain messer is putting it around that he's a favourite to take over. Not good, not good at all.
edit: The only option for the Trust is to withdraw support for the club en masse, build up a war chest and wait for DFC Ltd to go, then step in like FORAS (start getting a licence in order) and begin from the 1st division. I'm certain the Casey's will co-operate.
I know the claims of the Trust to knowing what they were at was with good intentions, but until the club go bang, they won't get in there.
I don't see what the trust has done wrong - they entered negotiations, it didn't work out.
Spudulika
15/11/2011, 1:13 PM
I don't see what the trust has done wrong - they entered negotiations, it didn't work out.
To enter at all Macy - to allow themselves be played. It's like Roy Keane going into a new club, you're just waiting for the inevitable crushing end. So much has yet to come out of this mess that it's just frightening.
So why not get involved yourself and see how you can help
To enter at all Macy - to allow themselves be played. It's like Roy Keane going into a new club, you're just waiting for the inevitable crushing end. So much has yet to come out of this mess that it's just frightening.
I just don't see it. The club is for sale, a supporters trust would be nuts not to at least investigate taking control. It costs nothing to talk.
Spudulika
15/11/2011, 1:56 PM
So why not get involved yourself and see how you can help
Did, so I'm speaking from what I know.
Macy, in principle yes, completely - kick the tyres, do the homework etc, but the dogs in the street knew there was so much going on and my single fear is that the Trust have damaged trust in giving any air to the situation. What FORAS did, but a more extreme action, could still work. It's just lost in rhetoric now.
The Trust would be damaged if they didn't investigate it. Could you imagine the spin if the club went under and the Trust had refused to engage? I think FORAS did at least attempt to talk to TNB as well, but nothing that the has happened in Dundalk prevents them taking a similar course if it's required in the future. It actually strengthens their hand imo.
Spudulika
15/11/2011, 3:33 PM
The Trust would be damaged if they didn't investigate it. Could you imagine the spin if the club went under and the Trust had refused to engage? I think FORAS did at least attempt to talk to TNB as well, but nothing that the has happened in Dundalk prevents them taking a similar course if it's required in the future. It actually strengthens their hand imo.
I don't want to think about the spin that would have emerged - but it's going to damage them as there has been so much going on in the background. Most of the crap that has been emerging came out with the private groups going in and asking questions, however I just hope there's a club there come this time next year. I've seen some of the figures that are emerging and they're not nice. I hope you're right Macy, I really hope it strengthens what they can do, I just have my doubts in Dundalk.
bullit
17/11/2011, 8:06 PM
Showdown meeting in OP on Monday ??
Dundalk FC will host a Supporter Information Night in the Reilly Suite (YDC Bar) on Monday night, 21 November, at 8pm.
The meeting is intended to inform supporters of the plans and updates for the 2012 season, along with more information on the process of transfer to a Community-Owned model next year.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/important-supporter-information-night-on-monday
Let's hope so!!
Financial Stew
20/11/2011, 6:50 PM
Showdown meeting in OP on Monday ??
http://www.dundalkfc.com/important-supporter-information-night-on-monday
Let's hope so!!
More bluff and bluster I fear - GM has been draining cash out of the club since his business went into trouble a couple of years ago
He is delusional in that he is holding out for the money he 'invested' in the farcical YDC (a private investment). Either that or he wants to hand over ownership to the 'people of Dundalk' via his own 'supporters club" who will no doubt keep him in the lifestyle that he has become accustomed.
Some people in Dundalk need to realise that GM doesn't have to disclose anything about the club. It is a privately owned company. They also need to look back at where the club was when he took over. Why not give him a chance. He has been receiving a lot of flack from keyboard warriors. Go to the meeting. He may just be genuine.
Some also have issues with him not being a football person. They didn't have these reservations when he rescued the club. He stated that it was a personal challenge in running the club. There is no way he could be making any significant money from a LOI club.
The camp that supported the take over need to have a hard look at themselves and the damage they have done to the club and themselves. They started posing on Oriel Web about the negotiations. Making some wild allegations without having the evidence to back them up. Personally I'm glad that their negotiations failed. It looks like they would have made a complete f-up of things and would be attempting to take loads of money out of the club as it was an investment.
As for the trust. While they certainly have the best interests of the club. Unfortunately I don't think they have the ability to run the club themselves as the support from the town is not there and is obvious from the patron scheme that the money will be difficult to come by.
Before anyone slates me for this post...I have no affiliations to any of the 3 parties involved over the last while. However, I do have the best interests of the club at heart and also an open mind.