View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Slovakia - Friday, 2nd September 2011 - Euro 2012 Qualifier
Pages :
[
3]
28/08/2011, 6:02 PM
Increases likelihood of McCarthy being recalled? Hoolahan maybe?
28/08/2011, 6:02 PM
Gone past the Edit timeframe on the last post so will just leave this here.
Shay Given Started
David Forde Started
Keiren Westwood Bench
Stephen Ward Started
Richard Dunne Started
John O’Shea Started
Darren O’Dea Started
Kevin Kilbane Started
Kevin Foley Bench Used
Sean St. Ledger Bench
Stephen Kelly Bench
Keith Andrews Started Goal
Stephen Hunt Started
Glenn Whelan Started
Damien Duff Started
Andy Keogh Started
Liam Lawrence Started
Keith Treacy Started
Aiden McGeady Bench Used
Keith Fahey Bench
Darron Gibson Injured
Kevin Doyle Started
Shane Long Started
Simon Cox Bench
Robbie Keane ------
Marián Kello (Hearts) Started
Ján Mucha (Everton) Bench
Ľubomír Michalík(Carlisle United) Started
Kornel Saláta (FK Rostov) Started
Ján Ďurica (Lokomotiv Moskva) Started
Martin Škrtel (FC Liverpool) Bench Used Goal
Peter Pekarík (VfL Wolfsburg) - Not in Squad
Tomáš Hubočan (Zenit Petrohrad) Not in Squad
Marek Čech (West Bromwich Albion) Not in Squad
Miroslav Karhan (Spartak Trnava) Started Goal
Róbert Jež (Polonia Warsaw) Started
Karim Guédé (Slovan Bratislava) Started
Igor Žofčák (Slovan Bratislava) Started
Vladimír Weiss (Manchester City) Not in Squad
Juraj Kucka (FC Genoa) Strike
Marek Hamšík (SSC Napoli) Strike
Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahce Istanbul) 10/9
Erik Jendrišek (SC Freiburg) Started Goal
Filip Šebo (Slovan Bratislava) Bench Used
Stanislav Šesták(MKE Ankaragücü) 10/9
Róbert Vittek (MKE Ankaragücü) 10/9
Filip Hološko (Besiktas Istanbul) 10/9
Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow) Started
Vyacheslav Malafeev (Zenit St.Petersburg) Started
Yuri Zhirkov (Anzhi) Started
Alexander Anyukov (Zenit St.Petersburg) Started
Alexei Bberezutski (CSKA Moscow) Started
Vasiliy Berezutski (CSKA Moscow) Started
Sergei Ignashevich (CSKA Moscow) Started
Roman Shishik (Lokomotiv Moscow) Started
Roman Shirokov (Zenit St.Petersburg) Started Goal
Igor Semshov (Dinamo Moscow) Started Goal
Denis Glushakov (Lokomotiv Moscow) Started
Igor Denisov (Zenit St.Petersburg) Started
Konstantin Zyryanov (Zenit St.Petersburg) Started
Alan Dzagoyev (CSKA Moscow) Started
Diniyar Belyaletdinov (Everton) Bench Used
Dmitry Torbinskiy (Lokomotiv Moscow) Bench
Alexander Kerzhakov (Zenit St.Petersburg) Started Goals(3)
Andrei Arshavin (Arsenal) Started
Pavel Pogrebnyak (Stuttgart) Bench Used
Roman Pavlyuchenko (Tottenham) Bench
Kerzhakov hat trick.
28/08/2011, 6:04 PM
And a token post, so the advertising doesn't affect the alignment.
AlaskaFox
28/08/2011, 6:50 PM
Igor Akinfeev was taken off with a knee injury earlier. Should be out for them.
Six months according to my research:
http://greenscene.me/2011/08/russian-goalkeeper-igor-akinfeev-stretchered-off-in-moscow-derby/
SwanVsDalton
28/08/2011, 7:34 PM
McCarthy's the obvious one, think he's impossible to ignore in this situation. I don't think Hoolahan would work in a flat four central midfield, the way we play. Wilson might've came into contention but I hear he was taken off injured today so not sure if he'll be available.
Trap certainly needs to call up somebody, we've no natural central midfield cover except stop-gap's like Liam Lawrence or Kevin Foley.
28/08/2011, 7:37 PM
McCarthy's the obvious one, think he's impossible to ignore in this situation. I don't think Hoolahan would work in a flat four central midfield, the way we play. Wilson might've came into contention but I hear he was taken off injured today so not sure if he'll be available.
Trap certainly needs to call up somebody, we've no natural central midfield cover except stop-gap's like Liam Lawrence or Kevin Foley.
and Stephen Ward. Remember, he finished the Croatia game in central midfield
theworm2345
28/08/2011, 7:41 PM
and Stephen Ward. Remember, he finished the Croatia game in central midfield
Trap has had Foley in the middle too on at least one occasion. I really can't believe Ward will start over Kilbane, Trap just doesn't work that way. (Then again, could be Ward at left back and Kilbane returning to central midfield, you never know).
The poundings Arshavin and Pavlyuchenko took could help us I suppose as their confidences must be low.
28/08/2011, 8:16 PM
All I know is that being outdone tactically against Russia, trap blamed the formation and said he'd look at it for the next time we play them. I would imagine this means dropping Keano back just to add numbers/close space.
As mentioned elsewhere we could be down to Andrews as the sole recognised central midfielder, as McCarthy and Hoolahan both play the advanced role for their clubs. Foley would be cover, as would Wilson if he was called up, but even Wilson is a push considering he's played left back mostly for Stoke. Worrying.
SwanVsDalton
28/08/2011, 8:30 PM
Trap has had Foley in the middle too on at least one occasion. I really can't believe Ward will start over Kilbane, Trap just doesn't work that way. (Then again, could be Ward at left back and Kilbane returning to central midfield, you never know).
I think Trap's presence at the Wolves game yesterday means he's giving it some serious thought.
True Ward could play there, so could Killer I suppose, but I'd really rather not be looking at these guys when McCarthy is available to travel.
28/08/2011, 8:40 PM
I think Foley could be a last resort option in CM, but with Gibson & Fahey out it would be prudent to call up a guy who can play CM as his natural position, i.e., McCarthy.
I expect Ward to start as LB on Friday btw.
Funny thing is, a few (lot?) of us, including me, were heavily critical of Givens' neglect of the U21s under the excuse of it being only important to develop some players for the senior team. Personally, I think that it's better to build a successful U21 team, a bunch of players that actually gets used to winning together. Our U21s have the likes of Clifford, McCarthy & Brady, and I think it makes sense to blood these guys as a unit. Just another angle to the "McCarthy must be called up" debate.
28/08/2011, 8:52 PM
Six months according to my research:
http://greenscene.me/2011/08/russian-goalkeeper-igor-akinfeev-stretchered-off-in-moscow-derby/Did he play in Dublin? If so, he's no loss for them. I thought he was very average.
dr_peepee
28/08/2011, 8:55 PM
I expect Ward to start as LB on Friday btw..
I'm almost certain I heard trap say on TV after the Croatia game that Ward would start the next game, or something to that effect.
SwanVsDalton
28/08/2011, 8:58 PM
Did he play in Dublin? If so, he's no loss for them. I thought he was very average.
He gifted the Slovaks their winning goal too. Maybe it's a blessing in disguise for Russia.
Murfinator
29/08/2011, 8:03 AM
Igor Akinfeev was taken off with a knee injury earlier. Should be out for them.
Excellent news, fantastic keeper.
The Sunday times yday was indicating that McCarthy will definitely join up with the U21s this week. He apparently has a very good relationship with Noel King, in contrast to that with Trap. Now the times may well be just putting two and two together to get eight there......
29/08/2011, 8:55 AM
Haven't read the article, but how many times would McCarthy and King have been involved with each other? King only took over the 21's last year (at the end) and was with the women before that. I call bullsh9t
29/08/2011, 8:56 AM
Excellent news, fantastic keeper.
An excellent keeper who has been terrible in this group.
AlaskaFox
29/08/2011, 9:27 AM
I'd much rather a relatively inexperienced (at least competitively) goalkeeper than Akinfeev though.
cufc champions
29/08/2011, 9:29 AM
Are the Squads meeting up today? It will be interesting to see does Trap call up anyone to the Seniors after Gibson and Fahey pulled out.
29/08/2011, 9:29 AM
Unfortunately for us Malafeev is quite good too.
29/08/2011, 9:58 AM
The Sunday times yday was indicating that McCarthy will definitely join up with the U21s this week. He apparently has a very good relationship with Noel King, in contrast to that with Trap. Now the times may well be just putting two and two together to get eight there......
what really annoyed me about that article was that the writer was basically telling anyone who normally doesnt go but may heve been thinking of attending fridays match not to bother given our style of play etc.
29/08/2011, 10:38 AM
Some extracts from the Sunday Times:
....the ingredient that Trapattoni and his paymasters appear to have fallen out of love with each other...
...Trapattoni, in the event he was offered a new contract, might well have decided that he has had enough anyway. Trapattoni has been les than enamoured by his desire to have a new contract done and dusted not being reciprocated, and annoyed at repeated requests to take a pay-cut...
...Trapattoni's sudden decision to travel to Wigan back in March...now appears to have been prmpted by an influential figure from outside the association expressing his unhappiness at the situation....
Some well-placedobservers were betting on McCarthy actually showing up for Ireland U21 duty this week...reinforcing the impression that he has a problem with Trapattoni rather than Ireland.
At least Trapattoni's decision [to drop McCarthy] will go down well with certain players and let's hope they pay him back with a performance.
...we are not guarenteeing that any new recruits to the Aviva Experiencewill be royally entertained. Indeed rarely in international football have two sides shown such potential to cancel each other out as the Republic and Slovakia....
...Sean St Ledger who will partner Dunne in the centre of midfield.....
...It is 4.5 years since Ireland produced a win at home against a middle-ranking European nation or better in a competitive game...and were exceptionally disappointing against a Bulgaria side which was probably worse than the Slovakia Weiss will bring over this week...So the talk of 4 points is fanciful in the extreme.
...Glenn Whelan and Keith Andrews - the central midfield partnership that only Trapattonisems convinced about.....
...So roll up, especially if you enjoy being put through the wringer as part of your Friday night entertainment...
29/08/2011, 11:01 AM
It's the start of an international week. Huzzah!!!!
That Rowan article was pish.
29/08/2011, 11:32 AM
It's the start of an international week. Huzzah!!!!
That Rowan article was pish.
actually, did you notice some new lad called "brown" will be in ctre mid for us this friday according to that article?
who said trap doesnt give new blood a chance?!
29/08/2011, 12:01 PM
God, the professional misery in that Rowan article is unbelievable. Like Kelly, if you're not interested, feck off and write about something else.
I thought that by now even the most ardent Trap / FAI / BIG begrudger might just accept that we've put ourselves into contention for something worthwhile and that this is a very exciting / crucial week.
If the BIG had just lost 4 on the trot, and had a miserable 2010 and 2011, like another national team I could mention, they'd be banished to a magdalene laundry. There was more positivity in Gerry Thornley today than there was in that rubbish by Rowan.
Irish players have had a great start to the English season, a LOI team has qualified for Europe-proper, and the BIG are joint-top, unbeaten in 5 including a win against Italy and all Rowan can come up with is that.
There's a shift emerging. Football is getting cool again among the Irish bandwagon and it is within touching distance of reclaiming its rightful spot in the public's mind - number 1. Bring it on. Bring on the BIG.
29/08/2011, 12:26 PM
Is it time to start talking about permutations yet?
4 points from the two would be very good. Win on friday and a draw in Russia. The funny thing with Trap's teams is that Id be more confident about getting a draw in Russia than winning at home.
AlaskaFox
29/08/2011, 12:29 PM
Spot on Stutts, especially with the Rugby team seemingly in freefall, I can see the bandwagon coming back.
29/08/2011, 12:36 PM
from the article above...
"...It is 4.5 years since Ireland produced a win at home against a middle-ranking European nation or better in a competitive game...and were exceptionally disappointing against a Bulgaria side which was probably worse than the Slovakia Weiss will bring over this week...So the talk of 4 points is fanciful in the extreme."
spot on mr rowan, even spain couldnt manage 4 pts in a game v a middle ranking team, or any team for that manner!
re the stay away supporters, how a supposed true Irish fan cannot see the merits in following this particular Irish team is beyond me. will all the horrified joe duffy callers the day after france cheated us out of the wc be there friday to cheer on the team they all allegedly care about so passionately?? i doubt it, their armchairs are too comfortable and coronation st is on twice this friday evening anyway
29/08/2011, 12:47 PM
Spot on Stutts, especially with the Rugby team seemingly in freefall, I can see the bandwagon coming back.It's a massive week in that context.
When are people going to get tired of Ireland performing in a mediocre manner against the same 4 mediocre teams over and over and over again, with not much more than bragging rights at stake? Even warm ups for the WC involve all the local WC rivals playing each other.
Separately, I still think Arshavin is a player to fear.
Is Weiss back fit for Slovakia? He's a player I worry about.
Sullivinho
29/08/2011, 12:57 PM
God, the professional misery in that Rowan article is unbelievable. Like Kelly, if you're not interested, feck off and write about something else.
I thought that by now even the most ardent Trap / FAI / BIG begrudger might just accept that we've put ourselves into contention for something worthwhile and that this is a very exciting / crucial week.
If the BIG had just lost 4 on the trot, and had a miserable 2010 and 2011, like another national team I could mention, they'd be banished to a magdalene laundry. There was more positivity in Gerry Thornley today than there was in that rubbish by Rowan.
Irish players have had a great start to the English season, a LOI team has qualified for Europe-proper, and the BIG are joint-top, unbeaten in 5 including a win against Italy and all Rowan can come up with is that.
There's a shift emerging. Football is getting cool again among the Irish bandwagon and it is within touching distance of reclaiming its rightful spot in the public's mind - number 1. Bring it on. Bring on the BIG.
Hear Hear, well said. Broken records are bad enough without the original song being gloomy sunday.
Is it time to start talking about permutations yet?
4 points from the two would be very good. Win on friday and a draw in Russia. The funny thing with Trap's teams is that Id be more confident about getting a draw in Russia than winning at home.
With double-headers, I can usually get my head around both in advance but this time I can't think straight about the Russia game, such is the mammothly distracting importance that is Slovakia. I have a mental capacity for the number '3' and the day 'friday' right now but fair play to fellas mulling over 4's and 6's!
I'm with you on 4 being very good but I'd take 5 now if it was offered.. ;)
29/08/2011, 1:11 PM
To be fair to Rowan, he was referring to the two games in relation to the 4 points, but I was more underlining the opinion that seeking a win against Slovakia is fanciful, which I felt he was alluding to.
29/08/2011, 1:45 PM
To be fair to Rowan, he was referring to the two games in relation to the 4 points, but I was more underlining the opinion that seeking a win against Slovakia is fanciful, which I felt he was alluding to.
maybe so but wasnt clear to me.
personnaly i thought the whole article was the biggest waste of ink ever. no decent insight to tactics, form etc. looked like the writer had been purely given the brief to frighten potential walk-up fans away from attending friday
29/08/2011, 2:04 PM
I would count myself (I'd imagine) among the few who would have thought it possible for us to be still in contention to win the group when the reverse fixtures came about. Most people thought we'd struggle to win in Skopje, and although their were a couple of hairy moments, the penalty obviously, that second half was so straightforward it wasn't funny.
That's something that I fail to understand how "fans" don't grasp. Bar Russia at home (albeit a massively important match) we've actually been on a decent run of results. The draw in Zilina has and always will gristle with me, but that's irrelevant at this stage, it's the competency of the performance in the double header against Mace, with a few inconveniences to cope with, and the performance in the end of season friendlies that lead me to have a bit of hope. I'd imagine Emmet Malone in the real times this week will be a tad more positive - or more importantly, fair.
Even more to the point, Irish players are starting from a better position ahead of this double header than last season, where the lack of game time (Whelan/Given/Keane) and the niggling injuries that either withdrew (Duff/Andrews) or impared (Doyle/Whelan) our fellas ahead of the Russian game, and there is a totally different slant to the game.
We will have our first choice (by Trap) midfield 4 available, which in theory means we're balanced - unlike 12 months ago, where we'd one winger (mcGeady) and one right of central player (lawrence). Duff and McGeady both offer pacy attacking options down the flanks, are interchangable and will be utilised as such I'd imagine. If we can keep the same 4 together if we're going to Moscow looking, nay needing, to get something, we've a better chance if those 4 are playing together.
Also we've got a real battle for the two spots up top, and this was done all the while getting good (relative to us) results.
29/08/2011, 2:10 PM
maybe so but wasnt clear to me.
personnaly i thought the whole article was the biggest waste of ink ever. no decent insight to tactics, form etc. looked like the writer had been purely given the brief to frighten potential walk-up fans away from attending friday
Totally agree. There was so much else he could have wrote about. Indeed the central midfield area in itself has two pages worth - he could have explored that. One in a series of disappointing articles from him, he's definitely up there with Kelly and Eyeland.
29/08/2011, 2:27 PM
Is Weiss back fit for Slovakia? He's a player I worry about.
Just gone on loan to Espanyol: http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/sport/football/manchester_city/s/1457275_manchester-city-winger-vladimir-weiss-heading-to-espanyol
The article mentions that he's linking up with the international squad this week. Hasn't played first team for City this season, and didn't see as much action as I thought he might on loan with Rangers last season either
29/08/2011, 3:17 PM
Just thinking on the point about beating a middle ranking team of note. Haven't we been middle ranked for the past 3 qualifying campaigns?
3rd Seeds ->EC2012: Russia, Slovakia, Macedonia, Armenia
3rd Seeds ->Wc2010: Bulgaria, Italy, Cyprus, Monty,
3rd Seeds ->EC2008: Germany, Czech Rep, Slovakia, Cyprus, Wales (allegedly a team of note :D)
3rd Seeds ->Wc 2006: France, Switzerland, Israel, Cyprus
29/08/2011, 3:30 PM
We've beaten ourselves a few times, it has to be said.
Just thinking on the point about beating a middle ranking team of note. Haven't we been middle ranked for the past 3 qualifying campaigns?
3rd Seeds ->EC2008: Germany, Czech Rep, Slovakia, Cyprus
You forgot Wales.
29/08/2011, 4:06 PM
Cymro, he said "of note" :)
SwanVsDalton
29/08/2011, 4:09 PM
Who else is getting seriously excited? Nervous too, of course, but can't wait to get on the plane to Dublin on Friday. It's double-headers like this we live for. Come on YBIG - seriously, we're due a couple of big nights here.
29/08/2011, 4:22 PM
I can't wait. The evenings are getting shorter. The mornings are fresher. The leaves are just starting to turn. It can only mean one thing - a competitive international coming up.
29/08/2011, 4:51 PM
I can't wait. The evenings are getting shorter. The mornings are fresher. The leaves are just starting to turn. It can only mean one thing....
.... Kerry are in another All-Ireland decider. Isn't that right Bonnie Shels?
Totally on a tangent, I wonder what Eirebhoy would be making of the group now. He's missed.
29/08/2011, 4:53 PM
You forgot Wales.
Cheerfully edited Cymro...apologies :-)
29/08/2011, 4:55 PM
Times had the game for 5pm nearly had a canary there.
Phew.
Can't bloody well wait now. One day down...
What a week of sport though.
Ireland-Slovakia, Shels-Wexford, Kilkenny-Tipp, Russia-Ireland, RWC starts.
29/08/2011, 4:56 PM
Or that Kerry are in another All-Ireland decider. Isn't that right Bonnie Shels?
Ah, the good oul days...;)
29/08/2011, 5:00 PM
Times had the game for 5pm nearly had a canary there.
Phew.
Can't bloody well wait now. One day down...
What a week of sport though.
Ireland-Slovakia, Shels-Wexford, Kilkenny-Tipp, Russia-Ireland, RWC starts.
The Russia game is a 4pm kick-off no?
29/08/2011, 5:02 PM
The Russia game is a 4pm kick-off no?
Which Russia game?
As I've made this mistake before.
29/08/2011, 5:04 PM
Which Russia game?
As I've made this mistake before.
On Tuesday evening against us.
as per Uefa:
http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro2012/matches/season=2012/round=15171/match=2002218/index.html
For what its worth I think the Friday evening kicks off are not good at all from an attendance point of view. For lads coming up the country it more or less means a day off work. Now before some smart ass says it, I know the Macedonia game was on a saturday, but the magnitude of this game is even greater. I really hope the place is near full (premium level defo wont be), we need to get the first real big win at the Aviva, the one we were meant to get last year against Russia.
29/08/2011, 5:15 PM
I think it's 4pm KO, our time. Live on SS2 in the UK.