View Full Version : Gaa 2011
hoops1
21/09/2011, 3:25 PM
How anyone can say the wining free was not a free is beyond me. You will not see a more blatant foul in a game. Even when the refs make the right call they get blamed. The free for Bernard Brogan v Kildare in the last min was the perfect example. Other camera angles showed his jersey being pulled just before the RTE cameras picked up the tussle, yet the ref was still lambasted.
21/09/2011, 5:45 PM
I forgot about the Brogan's late free against Kildare. After the tv replay image from camera 5 was magnified by a factor of 20, we could indeed see a blatant infringement, a slight tug on his shirt, causing Brogan in full flight to stop dead in his tracks. Brogan converted the free himself to steal - sorry a bit of a slip there - to seal the win.
typical dubs win game and still moan about the opposition players players constantly fouling / going down easy :D 2 teams on pitch and dublin players just as guilty as kerry .. perfect example of a player going down easy was for the match winning point. but it seems to be part and parcel of the game now days .. ye dubs should be more gracious in victory.
That was a 100% cast-iron free.
21/09/2011, 7:24 PM
From the replay angle, it didn't look cast iron but that could just be the angle.
I had the laugh at the Dublin player with the ball, while waiting for Cluxton to arrive at the scene, picks a bit of grass and throws it in the air, ostensibly to see the strength and direction of the wind, as if to say we are doing serious preparation here - not just wasting time.
I haven't seen a placekicker do that in ages and he wasn't even the taker.
21/09/2011, 9:37 PM
typical dubs win game and still moan about the opposition players players constantly fouling / going down easy :D 2 teams on pitch and dublin players just as guilty as kerry .. perfect example of a player going down easy was for the match winning point. but it seems to be part and parcel of the game now days .. ye dubs should be more gracious in victory.
Chill out, there’s always next year.
21/09/2011, 10:01 PM
This is an unbelievable read I have to say. But due to what just happened in the last hour I feel I may have to hold off on commenting fully for a bit.
22/09/2011, 12:32 AM
4th attempt to try to make sense of what went on last Sunday. I grew up around Dubs, so the first thing I did at ft was cry, then sent a few texts to lads who have trooped long and hard with the Blues and who deserve the day in the sun, lads who are into the football, genuine fellas. It's not nice to see your team lose, but it is somewhat redeeming to see fellas experience the kind of feeling I've had numerous times since 97.
That said, I've felt as bad as last Sunday before. Not 2001 or 2003, as those were days where there was no doubt about what happened, the better team on the day won. No, last Sunday was eerily similar to 2002 (and to 2007 to an extent, wherein the better team lost) where the better team threw the game away.
I've not watched the replay of the game yet, I got through the first 15 mins, and the last 15, but still if I get something a bit wrong I'll come back and correct it.
I thought Kerry had the game at 1/2 time, only a point behind and they hadn't started to play their game. After the Dubs got their goal and point, Kerry were shellshocked, they had the ball in scoring range but players in shooting space kept shying away from having a pop and the Dubs eventually scooped up the ball. Great finish, the Dubs picked themselves off the floor on the count of 9 and a half, the Bernard Dunne spirit
Though if it had gone to a replay I would have fancied Kerry to prevail.
You're wrong in your analogy, because Kiko Martinez never bent over and picked Dunne up off the canvas when he had him laid out, but that's what Kerry did to Dublin. They picked them up, applied the smelling salts and then left their hands down by their sides, or, more appropriately, put them up in the air, by giving Dublin the ball to get the crucial scores. That's what is incomprehensible. If Dublin had blitzed Kerry through dynamic football, I'd accept it. But they didn't. Kerry were so comfortable, and then capitulated. Just like in 2002.
When we got that free and Ger punched the Arch-Pussy I thought it was game, set and match! I'dve turned it over if I was honest. And our winning free was as weak as they were in that game. That Donaghy remained I'm the pitch for 70mins was the real scandal. He is a pox on Kerry and needs to be noticed.
Glad Kerry lost because it meant we won.
But he is jobknockey of the highest order.
No class about him at all.
You're kidding right?
Obviously you weren't in the stadium yesterday and watched him antagonising all the Dublin defenders at every opportunity. Or late punches. Or cynical digs in the back. Pulling jersies under highballs.
All of which went unpunished.
I've had the (dis)pleasure of seeing him in many many games live.
You don't see half of what goes on on tv.
He's a cret. End of.
The defence of Donaghy from all quarters does no justice to the other players on the team like the O'Sullivans who were magnificent yesterday, and (holds breath) the Gooch who did what he, annoyingly, always does.
I watched the Sunday game last night and its remarkable what I remember from the game that obviously wasn't shown, or commented on whether rightly or wrongly. But it proves that generally in games like that if you weren't there its difficult to know the crap the likes of KD gets up to around the pitch without the ball.
I hope that was the adrenaline talking? I fully understand that Donaghy gets on opposition fans nerves, and not just for his football! Personally I'd prefer if he concentrated more on the football, because for one reason or another Kerry haven't got as much out of him as they could in the past couple of seasons. As Geysir points out, the fella gives back in spades what he takes all year, not just in the course of one match. The goal he scored vs Armagh in 2006 was the perfect illustration of this. Battered by that rubbish piece of lard Bellew and sledged by the equally garbage Hearty, without a hint of protection from the ref, he gave it socks after he scored a peach. He's a fantastic footballer - his distribution of the ball is equal to anyone of his peers, and he has kicked some of the best points I've seen in Croke Park.
In MDMA and Ger Brennan, you have two equally cretinous players. MDMA is one of the biggest posers I've seen on a football field, and I'll enjoy the day he is laid out on the turf.I smiled in the 2nd half when he shaped up to fake a jab at Donaghy then cowered when Donaghy faked to throw the ball at him.
As for Brennan, it would have been justice (and I thought the free should have been reversed, not cancelled by his muppetry) for him had Kerry taken the lead again after what he did to O'Sullivan. I don't buy for a second any of the talk that he couldn't help what he did, that Dec was falling, it was disgusting and he should have seen the line for it. He's proved in the past that he's a knacker, and he never learns.
Now, point-scoring on opposition players is over with, there was some excellent duels in the game. The Dublin full-forward line played well, but then again so did the Kerry full-back line. Killian Young and Marc O'Se are wasted in their respective positions - Young must start next season at centre back. Daniel Bohane should be groomed for fullback, and he can have Marc O'Se and young Enright either side of him.
Kerry were excellent at midfield, Sheehan was man of the match by an absolute mile, and bias aside, his point from play off his weakfoot was about as good an individual point I've seen in an All-IReland final involving Kerry. Galvin was poor, and the his whole involvement in the final was odd. If he was fit enough to come on after 20 mins, then he should have started in place of Donnacha Walsh. To take young O'Leary off like that was wrong in my mind. In hindsight I'd have taken Declan off after the assault. He didn't feature after it apart from giving the ball away and I wouldn't be surprised if he was a bit concussed.
Apart from that Kerry's tactics were spot-on. They varied it all afternoon between the methodical hand-passing build up, withdrawing Donaghy to crowd the lines, then having him on the square (it's not exaggerating to say he should have had 2-2 on the day). The only thing that surprised me was that the gooch didn't get the ball enough. I couldn't understand it. He had the beating of his man, yet he didn't seem to get enough ball into him.
I didn't think Kerry's half back line was good enough on the day. Tomas O'Se made some very poor pass and shot selections in both halves, despite making some fine carries with the ball. Brosnan I just do not like as a player. He wasn't good enough against the top teams 5 years ago, and he never will be. He also lost a lot of ball high up the field. Aidan O'mahony I was very happy with. He's on something of a redemptionist path, and he's looking like the player he once was, before snipergate and asthmagate. From a Kerry point of view though it is very sad that he didn't become the centreback he should have become when he was at the best of his powers circa 2005/2006.
I didn't appreciate Darragh O'Se having a pop today at some of the Kerry team, particularily the jibe about Kealy's kick-out. It wasn't the kick-out that lost Kerry the game, it was the offering the ball to Dublin in the middle of the field on a plate.
Dublin have a lot to be thankful to Kevin mcMenamen for. Not only did he get the goal, but he stopped an almost certain one just before down the other end. Darran O'Sullivan had skipped past two players and had drawn Mick Fitzsimons as Cooper had pulled away into the large box, but McMenamen clipped O'Sullivan on the arm, conceding the free before he could get the pass away. If the ball had got to Cooper there would have been no comeback.
Well done to Dublin. It's going to be interesting next year. I don't think Kerry are going to fall away like some predict. Given his job and location in Cork, I can see Tom SUllivan walking away, and probably Tomas O'Se too, given he's in a similar position. But after that, I can't see anyone going. If anything it might be better next year. The league and defence must be a priority, but there are enough decent defenders there despite what that muppet Spillane says. Enright, Bohane, Young should be the mainstays now, and comlimented by O'Mahony and O'Se makes the job easier. David Moran is a big player to come back, and Scanlon will hopefully be better too. The forwards are good enough as it is, and if the prodigal son does decide to come back home, then things might just get interesting.
This is pretty cool.
Cian Ward and his little brothers.
Gaelic football trick shots.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhiOuY7L5Hc
ArdeeBhoy
22/09/2011, 10:24 PM
So, 'the Kingdom' wins The Sour Grapes Cup?
Get over it;You've had a good run, but were beaten by the better team on the day.
If they really want to prove how good they are at GAA, take the Hurling a lot more seriously.
Even Louth do, FFS.
23/09/2011, 8:54 AM
Having been in Croke Park on Sunday, I can honestly say I've never seen such a pup playing Gaelic football before like Donaghy. He he concentrated on the game and his job on the Kerry team he would have a lot more success with his undoubted talents. He was constantly looking for trouble, mouthing off, diving and other such carry on. He is a stain on the Kerry jersey.
As regards the game, it pendulum swung from Dublin to Kerry and back again throughout the match. Dublin done wonderfully well to hold Kerry to 3 scores in first half. When was the last time that happened. Kerry knew they were in trouble when they introduced Galvin after 20 minutes. Dublin then made a decent start to the second half only for Kerry to take control, built up a good score and looked to have the game, only for Dublin to once again come back at them. Great game. For the overall performance I think Dublin deserved it, but then again I’m biased.
23/09/2011, 8:56 AM
If they really want to prove how good they are at GAA, take the Hurling a lot more seriously.
Even Louth do, FFS.
Christy Ring cup winners 2011
Numerous minor and 21 B championships as well as vocational schools championships in the past decade.
Next?
23/09/2011, 8:59 AM
Having been in Croke Park on Sunday, I can honestly say I've never seen such a pup playing Gaelic football before like Donaghy. He he concentrated on the game and his job on the Kerry team he would have a lot more success with his undoubted talents. He was constantly looking for trouble, mouthing off, diving and other such carry on. He is a stain on the Kerry jersey.
He's not. He's one of many playing the game. Ryan McMenanamin, your own Michael McAuley, Galvin, Noel O'Leary, Galvin.
23/09/2011, 10:34 AM
Donaghy was obviously doing it on purpose. Darragh Ó Sé thought that Kerry were too nice and needed more of the Donaghy attitude.
Kingdom I think you were a bit hard on Darragh's comment about the goalie, he was just making reference to that the game needed slowing down, I didn't read it as a personal criticism.
Possibly the Galvin powder keg should have been kept dry until the last 20 mins. Possibly the Kerry manager panicked in response to the Dubs early energy but Kerry were ahead on the scoreboard.
apo11o
08/02/2012, 3:38 PM
Can anyone see Dublin retaining Sam?
I don't think so , they stumbled through the "series" last year, got a few breaks from the ref's and stole it in the end.
Top four this year,
Kildare
Tyrone
Galway
Kerry
08/02/2012, 6:10 PM
Can anyone see Dublin retaining Sam?
I don't think so , they stumbled through the "series" last year, got a few breaks from the ref's and stole it in the end.
Top four this year,
Kildare
Tyrone
Galway
Kerry
Ha ha ha ha ha ha.
No we won't win it this year.
I had Kildare as my dark horses last year and my certs this year but after Saturday I'm not so sure. I'll wait for another couple of league games.
Tyrone played very well and Mugsy looks to have lost the tyre.