View Full Version : Limerick Junior Soccer Has Changed Forever........
nononsense
16/06/2011, 6:32 PM
With the passing of this new rule and all the talk about who will sign for who next season could I ask is there any club loyalty in Limerick? Do many players go through the ranks with the same club from schoolboy to minor to junior? For example, how many of the all conquering Pike Rovers team have been with that club from schoolboy to present?
lfc at heart
16/06/2011, 7:23 PM
They could sign for prospect.
they would be more than welcome in Prospect, you still havent answered my question, which Aiden am I suppose to be, or are you shying away from answering it.
lfc at heart
16/06/2011, 7:26 PM
make partial changes to exclude the kids?
I agree it should only apply to senior players, as far as Im aware you cant have 2 teams from the same club in the same league, that was spoken about on the div1A thread already.
tedd11
16/06/2011, 8:04 PM
I think he played for sporting fingal but i stand to be corrected he is very good friends with Connie he done the A license with him, he must be 35/36 will do a job do.
i think you are right about sporting fingal.maher was a very good premier league of ireland player.if any way fit im sure he will be a great signing for pike.would he need to relocate to limerick?i presume he is dublin based?
17/06/2011, 12:04 AM
Bobby Ryan played most recently for St.Pats, Galway Utd, Limerick FC, Sporting Fingal (signed and a week later the club went out of existence, never played a single game) and now Galway again. He lives in Dublin so would be a suprise to see him sign for pike unless they paid him very well, guaranteed he started and unless Galway released him paid Galway a fee to sign him.
ginge lyndz
17/06/2011, 12:44 AM
Wow, it's a great idea in principle but it really needs to be looked at again. U-19's and A players will be classed as LOI players even if they only play a minute? What a joke, that part should be thrown out and it should be changed to only 4 ex-LOI players who have played LOI in the last 2 or 3 years (or some amount like that). That should still have the desired effect of spreading out the top talent without the problems some have mentioned for youngsters and lads who tried LOI and never made it.
streaker
17/06/2011, 3:22 AM
Young lads coming up the ranks with there clubs respectfully,wont have a clue where they stand,if they sign with LOI clubs and dont make the grade then they are in limbo,careers ruined before they start.Plus u are going to have objection after objection after objection.:shut:
Boys o boys o boys .Pike Fairview St micheals Clonmel ect are always going to be strong ,like i said before ,objection after objection after objection.Just lets see what happens and stop all the brikering.:ball:
theboywonder8
17/06/2011, 7:37 AM
That rule will be ruled out of order like it should have been on the night,watch this space,the fai will not stop any ex loi player from playing junior football for any club,they will only try and promote the game,pike had 9 and fairview more or less the same last year and the fai hadn't a problem with that had they?clubs should be interested in what's going on in their own clubs instead of worrying about what other clubs are doing.it you can play in fai junior cup and mj cup surely to god you must be able to play in your own league,
Balbec77
17/06/2011, 7:44 AM
with the passing of this new rule and all the talk about who will sign for who next season could i ask is there any club loyalty in limerick? Do many players go through the ranks with the same club from schoolboy to minor to junior? For example, how many of the all conquering pike rovers team have been with that club from schoolboy to present?
kilmallock utd
theboywonder8
17/06/2011, 8:56 AM
As I said to ya watch this space,this is a personal thing with one particular club,oh the jealousy,how come it is only a problem now,what about the last few years,the green eyed monster,
FairBall
17/06/2011, 10:22 AM
The main problem with this rule is that it was rushed through during the AGM. The motion was put forth and implimented all in the same night. To me thats a disaster! There is no way that the representatives of each club and the LDMC had time to discuss, and reflect upon, all the matters that would stem from this.
Certainly a rule like this is ment to benifit by:
1) encouraging clubs to use the players coming through their underage set up instead of signing newly released players from the LOI.
2) put a stop to players jumping from one junior club to another. ie players who have played U19, A Champ or Senior LOI, wont find it as easy to leave one junior club for another when there are four players already at that other club with the same tag.
3) It will spread the wealth of players with LOI experience among different clubs instead of them all going to the same one.
What the final decision makers failed to see was that there are some nasty consequences to the rule:
1) It will mean some players (especially players coming from Minor) will not sign for LOI teams (U19 incl) in the fear that if they dont make it and find it hard to get back into some of the junior teams. - Which could restrict some players development.
2) The effect of the rule, certainly in the short term, will be to halt the progress of some of the top clubs, who have historically done Limerick proud throughout the history of Junior football. - It is not an arguement to say that it does not affect them at National level. A simple fact that they cant play the same team in the League and then in these Cups, will affect them. This decision merely serves to make the league more competative by pulling some teams back to others teams standards (no offence is intended).
3) This rule will also be harmful to Senior football in Limerick although I do know that was not at the forfront of the decision makers minds. - It will be harder to convince good players to join LFC. I know there has never been much harmony among Junior and Senior but it doesnt mean its right in continuing this way.
There should be some exceptions attached to the rule like:
1) If a player has come through the underage set up of a junior club, he can return to that club at any stage, having played LOI, without having this tag attached to him.
2) A player need be playing U19, A Champ and/or LOI for a total of three years (does not need to be consecutive) before this tag be attached.
3) The tag of being a LOI player should be takin away following three years away from LOI football.
theboywonder8
17/06/2011, 11:35 AM
Very well said fairball,I agree 100% that clubs voted in this rule without prior discussion with their own respective committees,most if not all clubs only heard about this after it was voted in,and that's a fact,as you say players with a few years loi experience would come into this category,no problem with that,but for players that are out of loi for 5 years or more is an out and out joke,and the young guys who have spent maybe a year or so playing u19 or A championship football to be in the same boat is utter madness,a bit of common sense is needed by both the clubs and the ldmc on this one because it's gonna run and run.
blueboy2
17/06/2011, 2:35 PM
Here we go again clubs talking about bringing players in from Galway and Dublin and other league of Ireland clubs and 2 minutes later complaining about about the 4 player rule.
theboywonder8
17/06/2011, 3:17 PM
Does it really matter where they come from?what a stupid comment,haven't we a team from Poland in our league and I don't hear any complaints about them,how do you know what level of football they have played in Poland,grow up blueboy.
it should matter where they come from, there are lads on here(not yourself)saying that we'll lose good local players from the league but does bringing in ex loi do anything to benefit these players, personally i don't think so, for most of the LOI lads at pike and fairview there is proabably a local lad sitting on the bench or playing for the B team, where is the benefit in that
hoops38
17/06/2011, 4:13 PM
Here we go again clubs talking about bringing players in from Galway and Dublin and other league of Ireland clubs and 2 minutes later complaining about about the 4 player rule.
Sean maher is working in limerick and bobby ryan is coming back to live in limerick, Galway will be folding soon.
hoops38
17/06/2011, 4:18 PM
it should matter where they come from, there are lads on here(not yourself)saying that we'll lose good local players from the league but does bringing in ex loi do anything to benefit these players, personally i don't think so, for most of the LOI lads at pike and fairview there is proabably a local lad sitting on the bench or playing for the B team, where is the benefit in that
How many locals have AA Not Many alot of there players come from different counties, if they are living or working in limerick why not sign them, it will also help the next oscar trainer manager that quality players are in the league.
blueboy2
17/06/2011, 5:11 PM
What is wrong with you boywonder you need to get out of crossagalla more often the reason clubs voted for the 4 player rule is because Pike are turning in to a fully professional Premier team in what is an amateur league.
Also for those who dont know who Maher and Ryan are they are PROFESSIONAL league of Ireland players and also to answer you on the Polish team in Limerick if any of them were Professional back home im sure Connie would have them up in Crossagalla aswell.
Like a lot of people on here im GROWN up enough to know whats going on in football in this town.
Oh and by the way im not Aidan or Gerry or Shane or Paul for tht matter.
hoops38
17/06/2011, 9:14 PM
This rule will not go through,and aishling needn't worry bout their players being poached because their harmless
they have.nt the decensy to fulfill their fixtures and they want rule changes
hoops38
17/06/2011, 9:16 PM
Boys o boys o boys .Pike Fairview St micheals Clonmel ect are always going to be strong ,like i said before ,objection after objection after objection.Just lets see what happens and stop all the brikering.:ball:
best post yet
theboywonder8
17/06/2011, 9:34 PM
Ah ha now you're hatred for pike is coming out yet again,go way and sign a few players for 1b for yereselves,
thegreatone
17/06/2011, 11:18 PM
What is wrong with you boywonder you need to get out of crossagalla more often the reason clubs voted for the 4 player rule is because Pike are turning in to a fully professional Premier team in what is an amateur league.
Also for those who dont know who Maher and Ryan are they are PROFESSIONAL league of Ireland players and also to answer you on the Polish team in Limerick if any of them were Professional back home im sure Connie would have them up in Crossagalla aswell.
Like a lot of people on here im GROWN up enough to know whats going on in football in this town.
Oh and by the way im not Aidan or Gerry or Shane or Paul for tht matter.
couldnt agree more, players gettin big bucks to play amateur football is an absolute joke. I think it will be a good rule but it needs a bit of tweeking, they shouldnt rush through with it.
badker
17/06/2011, 11:46 PM
What the story with the Pike players who signed with Athlone Town? will they be back next year and if so those playing with Athlone make you ineligible in FAI Junior Cup etc.?
hoops38
18/06/2011, 12:04 AM
maybe at next year's LDMC AGM the following motions should be put forward...
1. every club have the right to refuse to play on an artificial surface.
2. if a club's grass surface is not up to standard then they must play all their games away from home.
3. if a club gives a walkover then they will be deducted 20 points or relegated.
how would these motions affect our friends at Ais/Ann who put put forward this bitter and small minded motion to restrict the playing of ex LOI players.
brilliant post,the same club that put 10 yr olds out to play in an under 7 blitz,they must have had the biggest squad in limerick last yr and still gave a walkover
hoops38
18/06/2011, 12:12 AM
why are you calling me Aidan and lets say I was Aiden and Im not, why try to OUT SOMEONE on this site, your saying Im Aiden and wonderboy is saying Blueboy is Aiden or someone else connected with Ot, whats all that about and whats that got to do with the debate or my opinion on a rule, I agree with it, Im entitled to am I not.
Ill tell how that rule is good for the standard of soccer in Limerick, if a club can only play a less amount of ex loi players then if the balance want to play premier football then they will have to sigh for another club and it will make the premier a more competitive league instead of it been between the view and Pike every year, surely that has to be good for Limerick football
the top players sign with pike and the view because they are the top 2 clubs in limerick so get over it,you hide under your hat at most junior matches passing comments trying to stir to anyone that will listen to you which isnt many i might add and then you come on here praising clubs to have the balls to put such motions forward ,why dont you grow balls and come out from under your hat and say it to peoples faces when your at games,also you said it is for the better for football in limerick ,is a limerick club winning the fai junior cup not for the better because you were openly sickened when pike won it this year
lfc at heart
18/06/2011, 11:04 AM
I never wear a hat, but it obvious who you think I am, you think Im a someone called Aiden that wears a hat, are you a betting man, hoops38 I ll tell you what, if Im that Aiden that wears a hat Ill donate €500 to Pike soccer club and if Im not will you donate €500 to prospect/priory football club,
lets put this name calling to and end because your wronging the person you think I am.
if your so sure Im Aiden with the hat. so how about it €500 to pike from me if your right and if your wrong you donate €500 to Prospect/Priory,
so either put up or shut up, simple
and before I wonder comes on and says you didnt name drop here are some of your comments.
****great rule ? Aidan what are you going to do when the better players go to a different league ****
**** you hide under your hat at most junior matches ****
lfc at heart
18/06/2011, 11:10 AM
the top players sign with pike and the view because they are the top 2 clubs in limerick so get over it,you hide under your hat at most junior matches passing comments trying to stir to anyone that will listen to you which isnt many i might add and then you come on here praising clubs to have the balls to put such motions forward ,why dont you grow balls and come out from under your hat and say it to peoples faces when your at games,also you said it is for the better for football in limerick ,is a limerick club winning the fai junior cup not for the better because you were openly sickened when pike won it this year
Im not the one that wont answer the question, you think you know who I am if you do come out and say it, aaahh you posted that @ 1.12 in the morning, have we had a few pints, are we feeling a bit brave, Ill tell you what go out and have a few pints again to night get the nerve up again and come back on and tell me who you think I am.
you sound very bitter, do you need a hug
lfc at heart
18/06/2011, 11:28 AM
Ah ha now you're hatred for pike is coming out yet again,go way and sign a few players for 1b for yereselves,
what is wrong with the 2 of ye, ye are getting very bitter, personal and defensive over a new rule that came in, Pike are a good club and will always be a good club and will still be one of the top clubs in the country with or without this rule. but its supporters like ye that let the club down with your invalid personal comments,
theboywonder8
18/06/2011, 12:05 PM
No it's the likes of you who keep knocking them,everyone on this site knows your hatred for pike rovers,so if you're man enough admit it,your childish carry on is getting so boring,I'll bet you this I'll bet you that,grow up man.you're only making a show of yourself at this stage,you are entitled to your opinion like everyone else but don't start blaming people for your bitter little mind,I'm not even going to bother commenting on your petty little comments no more,toddle on now son.
18/06/2011, 12:08 PM
Lads,this thread is not going to descend into a bitchfest,keep your comments non personal or you're out of here,don't say you weren't warned.
lfc at heart
18/06/2011, 12:44 PM
your wronging me again, just for the record, not once have I showed hatred for any club or person on any forum on this site and people just have to read my pass comments to see that and if they can find one please put it up and show me.
Balbec77
18/06/2011, 8:33 PM
Lads,this thread is not going to descend into a bitchfest,keep your comments non personal or you're out of here,don't say you weren't warned.
i thought you were on holidays you left it go so long.
streaker
18/06/2011, 11:27 PM
lads this topic is getting played out.This rule is stupid like most people know,Its not going to trouble any of the big clubs in lim or tipp, These top clubs are always going to have the pick of the cream,and fair play thats why there top clubs,but i will agree it might strenghten some of the weaker clubs,but again the big clubs are out there to be fired at,thats what soccer is all about.
How many locals have AA Not Many alot of there players come from different counties, if they are living or working in limerick why not sign them, it will also help the next oscar trainer manager that quality players are in the league.
i was speaking about the 2 players mentioned and that they were travelling from dublin to play
limpool
22/06/2011, 12:44 PM
HERE HERE!!!
mulla
22/06/2011, 12:54 PM
HERE HERE!!!
and the upside is you get to play on a crap pitch? excellent idea
theboywonder8
22/06/2011, 1:03 PM
They haven't played on it yet have they,they're playing their games on that sandpit they call a pitch,
thats exaclty it, what would teams prefer, a sandpit or a top class surface
thomas72
22/06/2011, 2:59 PM
They played one game there towards the end of last season I remember mungret found it difficult bounce of The ball more so. What sort of footware do you use on a surface like that? WOuld players have to buy footwear specially for that surface surely that would not be fair on teams.
theboywonder8
22/06/2011, 5:09 PM
If their allowed play their games on it,you would have to wear moulded studs or blades,what would happen if a team turned up with all players using steel studs,would they allow them play on it,doubt it,would they forfeit the points,can a club refuse to play on it,I know fairview refused to play on a pitch one time and we all know what happened there.
ya tis a strange one alright, bit much to expect people to buy certain boots assuming they don't have them already(i'm sure most do though) for just 1 game a year.
90% of players in this day of age would have a pair of mouldies for use in summer when playing other sports or for summer tournaments and pre season on hard ground so im sure they would wear these when playing on astro. the other 10% with the usual week or two notice leading into a fixture could get a loan of astro turf boots or moulded studs of a buddy for this game. and im sure if 1 lad on a team arrived with a pair of steel studs the game would not be called off over this. I would be thinking lads would be mad to play a game on a top class fifa approved surface of this type especially with possibility of saturday night games so its win win in my eyes
theboywonder8
22/06/2011, 6:23 PM
Would you not think that the home team would have an advantage playing on this surface,rest of the clubs would only play on it once a year,home team would be well used to the bounce of the ball etc,
true but same thing could be said bout a team that play on a narrow pitch, bumpy pitch etc that home team would have advantage of playing on that pitch regularly
theboywonder8
22/06/2011, 7:36 PM
Fair point,but at least it's grass and earth,
xpskid
22/06/2011, 7:43 PM
Fair point,but at least it's grass and earth,
There's no argument in my eyes particularly with the last few winters we've had and all the teams they have involved with schoolboy teams etc.A win win situation for anyone playing on this. Most if not all teams in Premier actually train on astro surfaces anyway. Well done to Aisling
thegreatone
22/06/2011, 8:36 PM
All teams in Limerick play on astro anyway so I dont see the big deal,if I can play a game on a Saturday and go out and get hammered after it instead of staying in over a match being played Sunday then im all for it, even if it is for only 1 game a year. This is only people tryin to get back at AA over they brought up this rule about 4 players, quite sad really there was plenty of other clubs who agreed to it.
Fairkop
22/06/2011, 9:57 PM
aisling have done what many other clubs are aspiring to do ,it is a great facility so well done to them for having the foresight to get it completed in such a short time frame.
theboywonder8
23/06/2011, 10:02 AM
All teams in Limerick play on astro anyway so I dont see the big deal,if I can play a game on a Saturday and go out and get hammered after it instead of staying in over a match being played Sunday then im all for it, even if it is for only 1 game a year. This is only people tryin to get back at AA over they brought up this rule about 4 players, quite sad really there was plenty of other clubs who agreed to it.
This topic has been brought up well before aishling put forward that motion,and for what it's worth aishling were set up on that one,couple of ldmc members hadn't the balls to do something about it so they got aishling to put motion forward,and this is not a rumour it's a fact.
Damnunited
23/06/2011, 2:54 PM
This topic has been brought up well before aishling put forward that motion,and for what it's worth aishling were set up on that one,couple of ldmc members hadn't the balls to do something about it so they got aishling to put motion forward,and this is not a rumour it's a fact.
are you now are saying its all down to the ldmc and not aishling