View Full Version : Limerick Junior Soccer Has Changed Forever........
What a ridiculous rule this is,as a player playing in the premier league surely the whole point of playing premier is to test yourself against better players ie tierney barry kavanagh etc,if certain players whinge about playing against ex loi players my adivce would be to go and sign for a lower division team,we have the fai champions in our league and now we decided to punish them for their sucess......what if pike say stuff it we will go play munster senior?
you will get to play against these lads but they may be playing for different teams because of the rule,what is the point of ye wembleygoing up next year playing pike or view or boro or any other team with 7 or 8 ex-loi playing with them, getteing beaten but maybe having given them a good game, you can be sure yer talk after the game would be, ah don't worry about it lads sure tmost of them are ex loi, thats grand in a one off game senario but if that is the game that gets ye relegated i bet you'd have different feelings.And i still go back to the point thatf any team that can field 4 ex loi at any one time will not be a weak team
nononsense
14/06/2011, 10:08 AM
Is shane guerin that 1,because he's ex loi as well,taught jimmy carr was with cork?
Sorry, forgot about Shane Guerin. Knew he played for Limerick 'A' team, wasn't sure about LOI side. Paul Tobin was the player I was aware of. In response to Balls, perhaps I should say 2 regraded ex LOI players, as you say, coming straight out of LOI football. I suppose the problem is every league has different rules regarding LOI players. As one can see LDMC and TSDL are different and MJC and FAI different from these two.
Begrudger
14/06/2011, 10:11 AM
It's shameful the way some clubs pursue honours 10 ex LOI players or more come out of the clouds clubs can never compete with that and this is the reason for the rule change granted it's flawed in parts but the main principle of the rule is good. Maybe if Pike or Fairview or who ever is that ambitious they should play munster senior or A championship there is 3 teams from Galway but to inflict these teams on clubs in town with no budget or prospect of bringing in ex LOI players by the dozen is wrong
mulla
14/06/2011, 10:15 AM
What a ridiculous rule this is,as a player playing in the premier league surely the whole point of playing premier is to test yourself against better players ie tierney barry kavanagh etc,if certain players whinge about playing against ex loi players my adivce would be to go and sign for a lower division team,we have the fai champions in our league and now we decided to punish them for their sucess......what if pike say stuff it we will go play munster senior?
and who do the likes of the above test themselves against in the premier league then?
passandmove
14/06/2011, 3:03 PM
Maybe you are right mulla, but i just think that if this rule does go ahead we will end up driving good players from the league and i dont agree with that.
leather
14/06/2011, 3:27 PM
My twopence worth... this rule should only include players who have played a senior game for a senior club in the LOI, Fai senior cup, or the EA cup. Cannot understand why U19 and u20 and even A squad players should be included.. this will cause terrible problems for the senior and junior clubs in limerick as young players at 17,18,19 will be asked to choose what grade of football they can play for the rest of their time in football. if you are 17 , are a bit confident, have plenty of abilty and want to try senior football best of luck, but what happens if for a multitude of reasons your are unable to make the grade....???? go back to junior football and be unable to sign with a club that would be able to match your situation because they already have 4 ex senior players......madness.. this will kill junior football as a force nationally....fair play to the clubs for voting it in Turkeys voting for xmas...
streaker
14/06/2011, 4:36 PM
Young lads coming up the ranks with there clubs respectfully,wont have a clue where they stand,if they sign with LOI clubs and dont make the grade then they are in limbo,careers ruined before they start.Plus u are going to have objection after objection after objection.:shut:
theboywonder8
14/06/2011, 4:37 PM
100% correct leather,how can u19 or a players be classed as loi players,joke,if a player plays 5 or more loi games with the senior club then fair enough,but the way they have it is a complete joke,could be a very busy year for the fai junior council,can see a lot of clubs challenging this rule,fai rules should stand for all leagues,end of story.they brought in 5 subs not too long ago and look what happened to that,ldmc now that is.
Maybe you are right mulla, but i just think that if this rule does go ahead we will end up driving good players from the league and i dont agree with that.
but is it better to have all the good players spread amongst the top 3 or 4 clubs
My twopence worth... this rule should only include players who have played a senior game for a senior club in the LOI, Fai senior cup, or the EA cup. Cannot understand why U19 and u20 and even A squad players should be included.. this will cause terrible problems for the senior and junior clubs in limerick as young players at 17,18,19 will be asked to choose what grade of football they can play for the rest of their time in football. if you are 17 , are a bit confident, have plenty of abilty and want to try senior football best of luck, but what happens if for a multitude of reasons your are unable to make the grade....???? go back to junior football and be unable to sign with a club that would be able to match your situation because they already have 4 ex senior players......madness.. this will kill junior football as a force nationally....fair play to the clubs for voting it in Turkeys voting for xmas...
i fully agree this rule should only apply to guys who have played loi senior team for a full season?
Planners
15/06/2011, 8:36 AM
Could make the clare teams stronger if this happens
theboywonder8
15/06/2011, 8:49 AM
How?You make that out
Planners
15/06/2011, 8:56 AM
How?You make that out
The big clubs in clare might attract some of the players if they just want to play every week.
old git
15/06/2011, 10:00 AM
The big clubs in clare might attract some of the players if they just want to play every week.
cant see it happening planners ,, name the last player from limerick who joined the big clubs in clare.. you are fairly limited for big clubs also
theboywonder8
15/06/2011, 10:10 AM
You're right there old git,plus the big players will be looking for expenses,will yere BIG clubs pay that,also have ye that stupid rule in place,
15/06/2011, 10:21 AM
Quite simply the most ridiculous rule the LDMC have passed and I've been at some of their AGM's and have seen first hand the old pals act that it is.
Incuidentally, Pike won the FAI with only 5 ex LOI players in their starting XI; Colbert, Cleary, Harnett, Tierney and Barry. Mullins played Collingwood with UCD I think and thats non LOI. They wont have to trim too much to maintain their standard.
Planners
15/06/2011, 11:30 AM
cant see it happening planners ,, name the last player from limerick who joined the big clubs in clare.. you are fairly limited for big clubs also
seem to remember whem park rangers were paying players and managers look what happened there! There is no hope for the clare teams so cause they wont pay the players.But back to the new rule its complete madness
theboywonder8
15/06/2011, 11:36 AM
Hartnett was regraded years ago,he wouldn't be counted afaik.so was Barry it's bout 10 years since he played,surely to god that doesn't count,if it does their a shower of clowns,aishling now that is.
leather
15/06/2011, 12:31 PM
Boywonder8.... as i understand it the rule change would class anybody whom has played from u19 up for a senior club as coverd by this rule... i am open too correction
HuRya
15/06/2011, 12:51 PM
Boywonder8.... as i understand it the rule change would class anybody whom has played from u19 up for a senior club as coverd by this rule... i am open too correction
its "i am open to correction" Leather:curl:
the wombat
15/06/2011, 1:00 PM
jesus lads what are the limerick league thinking, ye might as well be giving good players to st michaels because they will seriously benefit from this rule
theboywonder8
15/06/2011, 1:19 PM
Leather the LDMC have a ruling regarding these players that are out of LOI for so many years that they are automatically regraded to the best of my knowledge,now if this new rule counteracts that they are a pure disgrace,I don't know when they are going to clarify this,but the sooner the better for everyone involved,how in the name of god clubs agreed to this is beyond me,some can of worms opened now,does anyone know can the fai overrule this hideous ruling and if so the clubs who didn't vote for it should challenge it the whole,the next delegate meeting will be very very interesting.wonder will AISHLING be there.
its "i am open to correction" Leather:curl:
I presume you mean 'it's'?!
Leather the LDMC have a ruling regarding these players that are out of LOI for so many years that they are automatically regraded to the best of my knowledge,now if this new rule counteracts that they are a pure disgrace,I don't know when they are going to clarify this,but the sooner the better for everyone involved,how in the name of god clubs agreed to this is beyond me,some can of worms opened now,does anyone know can the fai overrule this hideous ruling and if so the clubs who didn't vote for it should challenge it the whole,the next delegate meeting will be very very interesting.wonder will AISHLING be there.
only pike and regional from the premier opposed it. that says a lot really for what the likes of view, balla, boro, carew pk and aisling think and the potential it has for the coming seasons.
6 out of roughly 40 clubs voted against. the 2 already mentioned, caherdavin, st pauls and 2 others that i can't think of.
leather
15/06/2011, 3:11 PM
"As far as I know only Pike, Regional, Boro, Caherdavin, Hyde and St Pauls voted against it" quote from barryk in previous post.
I was not present at agm but was informed that we did indeed vote againist it as per barry k....
i think that is the 6 clubs you mentioned...
15/06/2011, 4:55 PM
Does anyone know was there any word at the AGM about the changing of the leagues i.e making less divisions with more teams in each?
old git
15/06/2011, 4:59 PM
seem to remember whem park rangers were paying players and managers look what happened there! There is no hope for the clare teams so cause they wont pay the players.But back to the new rule its complete madness
planners your dealing on rumours again.. but must admit there was plenty of talk of an ex fairview fai winning manager not so long ago at park getting a few bob. but also this year rumours of the current preimer league champions your next door neighbours looking after 1-2 players to get them to sign at start of season. but as you said the new rule in limerick is complete madness cant see it being good for future of limerick soccer.
thegreatone
15/06/2011, 10:42 PM
I think its a good rule but including under 19s is a joke, some young players might opt out of playing LOI in fear they wont be able to play Premier Junior soccer in Limerick.
Its fair to say that clubs payin players and managers in junior soccer is a joke and this rule can stop the richer clubs from buying out all the good players and even it out between all the clubs.
Boywonder whatever your hatred with aisling is i dont know,thier like a lot of other clubs in town who in their right mind can cope with Pikes power, they had a clean sweep of trophies this year.Do you want to see this every year?? I think its true you may just be Pikes number 1 fan.Their new pitch is probably the best pitch around and in the winter months it will be a great place to play a game instead of playing on waterlogged fields and having games called off.
nononsense
15/06/2011, 11:01 PM
jesus lads what are the limerick league thinking, ye might as well be giving good players to st michaels because they will seriously benefit from this rule
That won't happen. Doubt if St.Michaels could afford them.
blueboy2
15/06/2011, 11:27 PM
Looks like its going to interesting to see what kind of line up Pike and Fairview will have when they meet in the Premier league this season.
Cant see the rule being changed if that many clubs voted for it and also the fact that its a local rule aswell.
lfc at heart
16/06/2011, 12:46 AM
I said it before and Ill ay it again, i think its a great rule, long overdue, it just needs to be cleaned up and I think it should only include people who played senior loi soccer, it will even things up a bit and give the clubs that are NOT AS RICH as the clubs that own a bar to compete on the pitch, Lads a bit of competition is great,
fair play to Aisling for having the balls to suggest it, weldone,
theboywonder8
16/06/2011, 7:56 AM
Will the ot team be able to play only 4 of these players as well,after all it is their rule???can you answer that blueboy,you'd know about the ot set up.
hoops38
16/06/2011, 8:52 AM
Sean Maher and Bobby ryan to sign for pike rovers how old is sean he has played alot of soccer he was outstanding against limerick last year in the cup must be 36
lfc at heart
16/06/2011, 9:00 AM
A great rule ? Aidan what are you going to do when the better players go to a different league, if your 19 or 39 and give league of ireland a go and dont make the cut you are classed as a league of Ireland player, how can that rule be good for the standard of soccer in limerick .
why are you calling me Aidan and lets say I was Aiden and Im not, why try to OUT SOMEONE on this site, your saying Im Aiden and wonderboy is saying Blueboy is Aiden or someone else connected with Ot, whats all that about and whats that got to do with the debate or my opinion on a rule, I agree with it, Im entitled to am I not.
Ill tell how that rule is good for the standard of soccer in Limerick, if a club can only play a less amount of ex loi players then if the balance want to play premier football then they will have to sigh for another club and it will make the premier a more competitive league instead of it been between the view and Pike every year, surely that has to be good for Limerick football
Damnunited
16/06/2011, 9:17 AM
A great rule ? Aidan what are you going to do when the better players go to a different league, if your 19 or 39 and give league of ireland a go and dont make the cut you are classed as a league of Ireland player, how can that rule be good for the standard of soccer in limerick .
hoops38,, can i ask you a question,, that Aidan you mention above,, is that the same Aidan thats over the OT ,, or is it some one else your on about,,and i agree with you hoops, cant be good for limerick soccer, i think this new rule is a pure joke like
theboywonder8
16/06/2011, 9:58 AM
Get your facts right lfc,I never mentioned aidan Ryan once,
hoops38
16/06/2011, 10:13 AM
who mentioned Aidan ryan or oscar trainer your running away with your self abit.
Balbec77
16/06/2011, 10:15 AM
hoops38,, can i ask you a question,, that Aidan you mention above,, is that the same Aidan thats over the OT ,, or is it some one else your on about,,and i agree with you hoops, cant be good for limerick soccer, i think this new rule is a pure joke like
my opinion is and its only mine so dont attack.it is a good rule for the smaller teams that cant sign these players for one reason or another and not such a good rule for those who can sign them for one reason or another.all in all it will make the premier league far better than having the usual top two challenging for the trophies year in year out.at least now it gives maybe another five or six teams a chance to challenge the top two for the local trophies.
lfc at heart
16/06/2011, 10:27 AM
who mentioned Aidan ryan or oscar trainer your running away with your self abit.
@ hoops38 you mentioned Aiden, so whos the Aiden Im suppose to be and why TRY TO OUT people on this site, you and boywonder seem to do that when people dont agree with your opinion.
what has OT got to do with this rule anyway. nothing,
theboywonder8
16/06/2011, 10:32 AM
I told you already I'm trying to out no one,I don't care who's who,you're the one who's trying to out someone asking him who's the aidan,I have never mentioned anybodys name on this site and,so trot along now let you,
lfc at heart
16/06/2011, 11:21 AM
I told you already I'm trying to out no one,I don't care who's who,you're the one who's trying to out someone asking him who's the aidan,I have never mentioned anybodys name on this site and,so trot along now let you,
read post 83, he mentioned I was Aiden, am I not entitled to ask, Aiden who, and before his post you said blueboy was part of the OT set so thats 1 of 3 people, why do ye do that, how does that help your opinion. I mean if people want to guess who other posters are, wtf does that do to make your opinion more valid, i dont get it.
theboywonder8
16/06/2011, 1:22 PM
Because I was told he was part of the set up,that's why I asked his opinion on how the rule would affect the ot team,now if he's not,then he cannot answer it obviously,don't really see how that's outing someone,I taught it was common knowledge,and as I said if he's not then so be it.
Lev Yashin
16/06/2011, 1:39 PM
Was it just me or did i read a fair amount of comments about how poor the standard in the premier ws this year...apart from one maybe two teams.
So when you think about this rule it seems to make sense, I mean there are 12 teams in the Prem and so on down through the leagues so there are plenty of teams for players to play with.
Ok It will hit teams Like Pike etc. but like everything they'll deal with it, theres plenty of good players who havent played LOI and are good enough to be on FAI winning teams.
hoops38
16/06/2011, 4:37 PM
@ hoops38 you mentioned Aiden, so whos the Aiden Im suppose to be and why TRY TO OUT people on this site, you and boywonder seem to do that when people dont agree with your opinion.
what has OT got to do with this rule anyway. nothing,
Of course it has top players wont will play in a different league
lfc at heart
16/06/2011, 4:54 PM
Of course it has top players wont will play in a different league
why because Pike and View will have their quota of ex loi players , bull****, they will play for different teams like Mungret, carew, Boro, wembley and Balla, which as Ive said before will make the premier league more competitive, of course a few may leave the Limerick league but that happens every year, regardless, you haven't answer my question, which Aiden am I suppose to be and why are you trying to OUT people on this site, how does mentioning peoples names make your opinion more valid, ,
tedd11
16/06/2011, 5:17 PM
Sean Maher and Bobby ryan to sign for pike rovers how old is sean he has played alot of soccer he was outstanding against limerick last year in the cup must be 36
thought bobby ryan was playing with galway utd? is that the sean maher once of bohemians?who is maher with thesedays?
barryk
16/06/2011, 5:38 PM
Don't kid yourself. These players will not go to Balla's and Mungret's etc.
Pike and Fairview will sign their 10/12 ex LOI players on B forms and will play them on alternative weekends with A and B team.
This will probably see them promoted from Div 1A giving them two teams in the Premier following season.
And before you say anything LDMC rules currently states that winners from Div 1A will be promoted. This was brought in to halt a very strong Geraldines B side from consistantly winning 1A and staying put because Dines A were in the Premier.
(Funny but the year they brought in the rule Dines B failed to finish in top two)
Can one club start a campaign to call an EGM to overturn the rule or make partial changes to exclude the kids?
why because Pike and View will have their quota of ex loi players , bull****, they will play for different teams like Mungret, carew, Boro, wembley and Balla, which as Ive said before will make the premier league more competitive, of course a few may leave the Limerick league but that happens every year, regardless, you haven't answer my question, which Aiden am I suppose to be and why are you trying to OUT people on this site, how does mentioning peoples names make your opinion more valid, ,
16/06/2011, 6:02 PM
thought bobby ryan was playing with galway utd? is that the sean maher once of bohemians?who is maher with thesedays?
The Bobby Ryan rumour has been going on for well over a year now. Everytime he is supposedly signing for Pike he ended up with Galway, then Limerick and then Galway again. At some stage the rumour is bound to be right i suppose.
hoops38
16/06/2011, 6:28 PM
I think he played for sporting fingal but i stand to be corrected he is very good friends with Connie he done the A license with him, he must be 35/36 will do a job do.
hoops38
16/06/2011, 6:29 PM
They could sign for prospect.