View Full Version : Anybody up for a bit of summer fun? Ireland Draft idea

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7

Murfinator
28/06/2011, 4:56 PM
Given that I'll probably be needing goals at some stage, would be a plan to take a striker.

I'll go for Clinton Morrison

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40966000/jpg/_40966559_morrison.jpg

Metrostars
28/06/2011, 5:15 PM
murfinator up again

EAFC_rdfl
28/06/2011, 9:12 PM
murfinator up again
surely its some one else?

28/06/2011, 10:18 PM
It's tets now.

28/06/2011, 10:53 PM
Going to complete my back four with Joe Kinnear: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Kinnear

Metrostars
29/06/2011, 2:05 PM
I select....

http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF33/032577.jpg

Mark Kinsella

Caps: 48
Goals: 3

Kinsella won 48 caps for the Irish national team, scoring 3 times and was named Irish Footballer of the Year on one occasion. He also captained the side in a friendly against Finland in November 2000. Although rarely remembered, he formed an excellent midfield partnership with Roy Keane in the qualifying stages for the 2002 World Cup. Keane was quoted as stating that the Republic of Ireland's form during that campaign was down to the presence and performances of Kinsella. After Keane's much publicised dismissal from the squad before the 2002 World Cup, Kinsella formed a solid partnership with future Charlton player Matt Holland.

Kinsella joined Colchester United as a 17-year-old and played there for seven seasons, and played at Wembley in 1992 when Colchester won the FA Trophy. He was nicknamed "Sheedy" by the fans, in honour of the Everton player, and is among the club's most revered former players. He moved to Charlton Athletic in September 1996 for £150,000. At Charlton he captained the team to a dramatic victory over Sunderland in the 1998 Division 1 Play Off Final, with Kinsella scoring one of the penalties in the shootout. Following relegation after only one season in the Premiership, Kinsella lifted the First Division championship trophy with Charlton the following year. Kinsella is remembered by Charlton fans as a turning point in their recent history, he was the first player in the modern era to stay with Charlton when his performances placed him as a top ten midfielder in the country via the Carling Opta Statistics. His skill, talent and sometimes individual carrying of the team in the 1998-99 season places him above that of Richard Rufus, Clive Mendonca, Andy Hunt and John Robinson in Charlton's list of greats in the late 90's teams. In 2001 he suffered an injury, which allowed Scott Parker to take his place in the team. Kinsella could not reclaim his place in the Charlton first team after coming back from injury, so he was sold to Aston Villa in 2002, for a fee of £1m.

Kinsella made his debut for Aston Villa on the 24th Augest 2002 against Tottenham. He later went on to make 24 appearances in his first season. After a good start in the first half of the 2002-03 season he rarely made an appearance in the second half of the season and had a couple injuries that set him back. In Kinsella's second season he only made 2 appearances and left Aston Villa mid-season in early 2004. Kinsella moved to West Bromwich Albion in January 2004, on a short-term contract until the end of the season. He made 18 appearances for the club, helping them to win promotion to the Premiership. His only goal for Albion came in a 3-0 win over Coventry City on 6 March 2004. Kinsella then transferred to Walsall in July 2004, signing a two-year deal. After two injury damaged seasons, Kinsella took charge of Walsall on a caretaker basis, following Kevan Broadhurst's sacking in April 2006, earning one win and suffering one defeat in his two games in charge. He continued to combine playing and coaching at Walsall before being lured back to Charlton in December 2006. His last professional match was in Walsall's League Two home defeat to promotion rivals Swindon on 9 December 2006. Kinsella scored two goals for Walsall, once against Merthyr Tydfil in the FA Cup and once against Wycombe Wanderers in the league.

While still a player at Walsall, Kinsella took on the additional roles of reserve-team manager and first-team coach. He was appointed development coach at Charlton Athletic in December 2006, with responsibility for the development of young professional players, liaison with the academy and the managing the reserve team. After the appointment of Alan Pardew, Kinsella's role was changed to that of reserve-team manager. It was announced on June 10, 2008 that he has been given a new one-year contract at the club.

In 2008 when Alan Pardew left Charlton by mutual consent, Kinsella left his post as Reserve team manager, being replaced by U18 Youth Coach Damian Matthew, to adopt a more senior role in the first team, helping Caretaker manager Phil Parkinson, while a replacement for Pardew was found. In December 2008 Parkinson was confirmed as the new Charlton manager, and Kinsella assumed the role of First Team Coach permantently. He was sacked along with Phil Parkinson on January 4th 2011.

SwanVsDalton
29/06/2011, 2:19 PM
I'm plumping to complete the defence with - Stephen Carr. Who I believe is who Joe_Denilson was referring to and I'm very pleased wasn't snapped up before!

If it wasn't for injuries I think he would've been the best of all our top-notch right-backs of the period (Kelly, Finnan et al) and his career renaissance is testament to his footballing ability and intelligence. Great player, fierce competitor.

Although between him and Beglin my defence is looking decidedly sick note...

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_Ck6LQcv4sOg/SzMOIhwuAkI/AAAAAAAABBs/OhmMspNztzw/s320/Stephen_Carr+7.jpg

29/06/2011, 2:35 PM
It was indeed.
Just looking at it, 69 players picked.
Of the 50 most capped Irish players, 46 have been picked.
62 out of the top 100.

I still can't believe who Fixer82s 4th pick was...

Fixer82
29/06/2011, 5:27 PM
It was indeed.
Just looking at it, 69 players picked.
Of the 50 most capped Irish players, 46 have been picked.
62 out of the top 100.

it's all about the goals to games ratio!

the bear
29/06/2011, 9:05 PM

he needed a lift to training!!

http://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://cdn.faniq.com/images/blog/Stephen%2520Ireland%2520Range%2520Rover.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.broadsheet.ie/2010/09/15/slide-show-at-home-with-stephen-ireland/&usg=__hYkICHfjsrqeAjZsIzL7O3wK_r0=&h=373&w=650&sz=97&hl=en&start=0&zoom=1&tbnid=UeQh8hQcTcgowM:&tbnh=99&tbnw=172&ei=nJELTpiqN8S1hAfuzoEB&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dstephen%2Bireland%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DX% 26biw%3D1280%26bih%3D614%26tbm%3Disch%26prmd%3Divn so&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=398&vpy=139&dur=230&hovh=99&hovw=172&tx=122&ty=68&page=1&ndsp=22&ved=1t:429,r:2,s:0&biw=1280&bih=614http://cdn.faniq.com/images/blog/Stephen%20Ireland%20Range%20Rover.jpg

Fixer82
30/06/2011, 12:14 AM
he needed a lift to training!!

http://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://cdn.faniq.com/images/blog/Stephen%2520Ireland%2520Range%2520Rover.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.broadsheet.ie/2010/09/15/slide-show-at-home-with-stephen-ireland/&usg=__hYkICHfjsrqeAjZsIzL7O3wK_r0=&h=373&w=650&sz=97&hl=en&start=0&zoom=1&tbnid=UeQh8hQcTcgowM:&tbnh=99&tbnw=172&ei=nJELTpiqN8S1hAfuzoEB&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dstephen%2Bireland%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DX% 26biw%3D1280%26bih%3D614%26tbm%3Disch%26prmd%3Divn so&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=398&vpy=139&dur=230&hovh=99&hovw=172&tx=122&ty=68&page=1&ndsp=22&ved=1t:429,r:2,s:0&biw=1280&bih=614http://cdn.faniq.com/images/blog/Stephen%20Ireland%20Range%20Rover.jpg

plus he's got this really cool pool table at his gaff

Metrostars
30/06/2011, 12:50 PM
FYI BonnieShels then Sullivinho and EAFC_rdfl are next in line to finish off round 9. Almost there!

30/06/2011, 12:58 PM
I thought it was Sullivinho next. I'll pick tonight when I get home.

30/06/2011, 10:56 PM
I may have gone drinking after the pats match. I will pick tonight.

EAFC_rdfl
01/07/2011, 7:50 AM
its nearly 48 hrs since the last pick?

01/07/2011, 7:55 AM
I remember picking in my sleep. I pick Mr Patrick Coad.

Gwan Paddy!

Metrostars
01/07/2011, 12:29 PM
Sullivinho is up.

Come on guys, let's pick it up!

Sullivinho
01/07/2011, 1:22 PM
The goalmouth area would look a tad bare without a keeper. A paucity of options sees me throwing a rookie into the fray but he should be alright. As long as he doesn't keep the bus waiting and upset McCarthy or anything like that.

Handles crosses well too..

http://clemenssuter.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/funny_pope_binoculars.jpg?w=264&h=264

"I see what you did there.."

Keiren Westwood is the man Duff and co. will refer to as 'newbie'.

http://media.tcm.ie/media/images/k/KeirenWestwoodInActionIrelandSPORTSFILE.jpg

EAFC_rdfl
01/07/2011, 2:28 PM
my pick is liam bill whelan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Billy_Whelan
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Billy_Whelan)http://www.soccer-ireland.com/football-images/manchester-united/players/liam-whelan.jpg

some goals to games ratio for united.
i'll make my 2nd pick soon. its getting difficult!

EAFC_rdfl
01/07/2011, 8:09 PM
feck it he will add a bit of bite to my midfield beside the attacking geniuses already there, its lee carsley
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/03/da/7e/2cfc3472e500a5fe74235e2eee/INPHO_00012568.jpg

so i've one more to pick, most likely some one who can play left full. slim pickings indeed

boovidge
01/07/2011, 9:11 PM
my pick is liam bill whelan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Billy_Whelan
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Billy_Whelan)http://www.soccer-ireland.com/football-images/manchester-united/players/liam-whelan.jpg

some goals to games ratio for united.
i'll make my 2nd pick soon. its getting difficult!

shocked that he's still available,especially considering the mediocre players being picked in the first couple of rounds!

01/07/2011, 11:54 PM
Right Metrostars a Round 9 rundown please...

Metrostars
02/07/2011, 1:29 AM
Liam Whelan is a great pick at this point. I already had that spot filled(Houghton).

Through 9+ rounds:

Fixer82
Shay Given
John Sheridan
Niall Quinn
Stephen Ireland
David Connolly
Gary Breen
Jason McAteer
Jeff Kenna
Sean St Ledger

Murfinator
Roy Keane
Richard Dunne
Packie Bonner
John O'Shea
Steve Finnan
Ian Harte
Andy Reid
Kevin Kilbane
Clinton Morrison

Liam Brady
Denis Irwin
John Aldridge
Steve Heighway
Shay Brennan
Michael Robinson
John Dempsey
Eddie McGoldrick
Joe Kinnear

Metrostars
Paul McGrath
Ray Houghton
Tony Cascarino
Johnny Carey
Kevin Sheedy
Tony Dunne
Charlie Hurley
Matt Holland
Mark Kinsella

SwanVsDalton
Robbie Keane
David O'Leary
Aidan McGeady
Alan Kelly Sr
Kenny Cunningham
Mick Martin
Gerry Daly
Jim Beglin
Stephen Carr

Johnny Giles
Andy Townsend
Alan Kelly Jr
Steve Staunton
Noel Cantwell
Shane Long
Tommy Coyne
Terry Phelan
Paddy Coad

Sullivinho
Damien Duff
Kevin Moran
Kevin Doyle
Mick McCarthy
Gary Kelly
Steven Reid
Alan McLoughlin
Chris Hughton
Keiren Westwood

EAFC_rdfl
Frank Stapleton
Ronnie Whelan
Mark Lawrenson
Don Givens
Gerry Peyton
Con Martin
Chris Morris
Tony Galvin
Liam Whelan
Lee Carsley

Sullivinho is up

Sullivinho
02/07/2011, 2:42 AM
http://www.worldeasy.com/arsenal/pics/JimmyDunne.jpg

James Dunne (3 September 1905 - 14 November 1949), commonly referred to as Jimmy Dunne, was an Irish footballer who played for, among others, Shamrock Rovers, Sheffield United, Arsenal and Southampton. Dunne was also a dual internationalist and played for both Ireland teams - the FAI XI and the IFA XI. He played 15 games for the Irish Free State team, netting 13 goals, including two against Norway in a thrilling 3-3 World Cup Qualifier.

Dunne was the first Irishman to figure prominently in the English League scoring records. In the 1930–31 season he scored 41 league goals for Sheffield United. This became a club record and remains the most league goals scored by an Irishman during a single English League season. Dunne also scored 30 or more First Division goals in three consecutive seasons between 1930 and 1933. He excelled at either centre forward or inside forward and was outstanding with his head. On 27 September 1930 he scored a hat-trick of headers against Portsmouth. He was a fringe member of the great Arsenal side of the 1930s before finishing his career at Shamrock Rovers.

Recalling his 2002 WC heroics, I had Duffer pencilled in for a role up front (and out of his best position) until I looked around and this fella turned up. If I can't have the record Irish international goalscorer then I'll gladly have the record Irish club goalscorer.

AlaskaFox
02/07/2011, 9:32 AM
Would it be alright with everyone if I picked an XI from all the unpicked players at the end? :D

CraftyToePoke
02/07/2011, 12:51 PM
Would it be alright with everyone if I picked an XI from all the unpicked players at the end? :D

It would be interesting alright.

Metrostars
02/07/2011, 1:30 PM
BonnieShels is up

Fixer82
03/07/2011, 11:57 AM

I've got no problem with that

03/07/2011, 3:50 PM
Started looking an hour ago. Can't chunk if anyone...

03/07/2011, 5:30 PM
I choose Mr LOI himself, the first man to win both the Irish and English League Cups' since Tommy Gaynor...

Step forward Keith Fahey...

http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF438/320982.jpg

SwanVsDalton
04/07/2011, 2:49 PM
Sorry for the delay guys...

There has been much comment on the omission thusfar of my next player. I had him pegged as a winger, meaning I couldn't get him into the team. But in retrospect, my team could use a battling, super committed warrior with 100 plus caps to get stuck in from centre midfield.

Come in from the cold Double K, the Killer, our one and only Zinedine - Kevin Kilbane.

EAFC_rdfl
04/07/2011, 3:03 PM
http://surfwithberserk.com/img/funny/epic_fails/24.jpg

Fixer82
04/07/2011, 3:30 PM
http://surfwithberserk.com/img/funny/epic_fails/24.jpg

he he

Sullivinho
04/07/2011, 3:49 PM
Killer: So good they picked him twice. :D

SwanVsDalton
04/07/2011, 4:16 PM
Fudgeinator!!!!!! Eh I'll need a bit of time in that case...

dotts101
04/07/2011, 11:39 PM
id pick an 11 after 2?????

04/07/2011, 11:53 PM
Come on svd... its not that hard...

Metrostars
05/07/2011, 1:40 AM
Let's go svd, step it up quickly!

SwanVsDalton
05/07/2011, 9:25 AM
Alright alright jees. I was out at Wembley all day yesterday taking the better half to Take That - getting more grief from you guys than I usually get from her!

Come on svd... its not that hard...

And you're one to talk, we've waited a cumulative week for you to make your picks!

Right, right - centre mid will have to wait, I'll finish my forward line with an unsung Irish striker. Made it to two World Cup's, didn't play a minute but still managed nine international goals, and scored lower league goals for fun. Plus he has a special place in my heart for a late-career cameo for Derry City, helping steer us to the FAI Cup - come on in David Kelly.

Plus he scored one of the more (in)famous goals in our history.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTIwEo-W_xU

EAFC_rdfl
05/07/2011, 9:29 AM
a well worked goal that was! nice rant there too good man! take that haha

05/07/2011, 9:51 AM
Oooooooooh... saucer of milk for swanny.

SwanVsDalton
05/07/2011, 10:42 AM
Oooooooooh... saucer of milk for swanny.

Too much Take That and Party...the horror.

Metrostars
05/07/2011, 12:12 PM
I pick....

http://eircomsports.eircom.net/Media/Thumbnails/c8f241a5-884d-4686-88ea-74e25d844324_640x360.jpg

Seamus McDonagh
Caps: 24

Life has moved in circles for former Ireland goalkeeper Seamus McDonagh. His parents cross the Irish Sea and had a child in Rotherham, but when he grew up and got the call by Eoin Hand for his first cap against Wales in 1981, McDonagh decided the homecoming would only feel right if he made the journey back one wave at a time. Just as his folks had done. On top of that, he recited the 1916 Proclamation in order to show his commitment to the Irish cause.

Of course, the then Everton stopper came over to Ireland as Jim McDonagh, but legendary commentator Jimmy Magee claims he was the one who changed the plates. “Seamus McDonagh came to Ireland as Jim McDonagh, and I think I was the one who said to him: ‘You know something, you know what, you’re James, make the James Seamus and really become an Irish goalkeeper.” And so he did.

McDonagh has had to take some gambles during his career: he played for 11 different clubs, and had two spells at Bolton Wanderers, where he scored the only goal of his career. It was in a Division Two game against Burnley at Burnden Park on 15 January 1983, when his goal kick bounced straight over the Clarets ’keeper Billy O'Rourke. Bolton won the game 3-1 but were still relegated at the end of the season.

After moving through Notts County, he switched across the Atlantic to Kansas and played with the Wichita Wings in the Major Indoor Soccer League. After a couple of years playing indoor football, he got a move back to England and continued his nomadic existence there. Scarborough, Huddersfield Town and Charlton Athletic all held his registration, the latter with which he had his first stint as manager. Albeit it was for only a brief time before he moved over west of the River Shannon to take over at Galway United. He stayed there from December 1988 until April 1989, and saved them from relegation.

Of course, the singing and ukulele-playing ’keeper was no longer involved with the Ireland team at this stage in his career. He had earned the last of his 24 caps (25 if you count his appearance against West Germany B) against Denmark in November 1985. He kept nine clean sheets in that time. His most famous day though, in an Ireland shirt, was not one of those occasions. Indeed the game would not be nearly as memorable had it have been.

Group Two of World Cup qualifying against France at Lansdowne Road on 14 October 1981. A win would give Ireland a four-point gap over the French who would have another two games to play, against Holland and Cyprus. This, though, was in the days when you got just two points for a win so the dream seemed attainable.

“To this day, people are saying it was probably one of the best games they were ever at in Dublin, and that’s nice to hear,” said then manager Eoin Hand, in a radio interview alongside McDonagh. “And I’m sure Seamus will endorse because he got us out of jail right at the end with a fabulous save, I remember.”

Jimmy Magee too, gives great credit to the then Bolton man for a great late save from Didier Six: “France came then looking for the equaliser but, McDonagh, this is when he really proved himself and now he’s one of the lads, now the Irish have taken him to the heart. And he did the job and Ireland held on.”

“It was an incredible team, some top players,” said McDonagh of a France party that included Michel Platini and Six. “I mean they were all in their pomp, all in their prime, and for meself it was the biggest game of my life… the build-up was amazing, it was incredible in Dublin, everyone wanted to go.

“I remember being so nervous on the day, I just wanted to get out and play because the best thing for your nerves was to go out and play. I remember the anthem, on the line-up, and Michael Robinson turned to me during the France national anthem, and Michael said: ‘Look at them, they’re white, they’re nervous.’ And I look at Mick Robinson and he was white, and I was probably white myself. But the atmosphere, the crowd, you just felt it was going to be our day if we set off right, which we did.

“Well Eoin said to get at them, he told us to go at them and I remember I was kicking it long to Frank Stapleton and Robinson and they were knocking the hell out of their back four. And we were turning them and everything was happening. Before we knew it, we were 3-1 up and in control, and then half-time came and you get a breather, you know they’re going to get back in it in the second half.

“First half, we’d given so much energy – the outfield players – that we were starting to tire a little. They got back in the game obviously with someone like Platini, a world-class player. He was getting it and playing it all over. They had a spell but we deserved winners. They scored a second, it was 3-2, but we were deserved winners.

“It was incredible they (the crowd) ran on to carry us off the field. It was frightening ‘cause I thought, if they dropped me, I didn’t like small confined spaces. It was amazing, from the start to the finish of the day. To win, and then think you’re going to the World Cup. I know France had two games but you think you’ve got a chance now, 10 points, and then France are expected to beat Cyprus. But then Holland, who didn’t qualify, will draw, take the points off them for us, and then they don’t. So it was a disappointment for us in the end.”

After the World Cup play-off of 2009, it must have felt like the closing of another circle for McDonagh. He may no longer be at the centre of it, but he was a big part of the curve.

05/07/2011, 12:23 PM
Going to complete my defence with Dean Kiely in goals: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dean_Kiely

Sullivinho
05/07/2011, 1:39 PM
I can't believe I didn't think of McDonagh and Kelly. I was desperately searching for players in those positions and all..

Metrostars
05/07/2011, 2:06 PM
Indeed. I hoped Kelly would fall to me but SvD had to muck that up :(

SwanVsDalton
06/07/2011, 9:43 AM
Indeed. I hoped Kelly would fall to me but SvD had to muck that up :(

Serves ye right for rushing me. If you gave me time, I probably would've picked Gary Doherty in desperation.

Fixer82
06/07/2011, 10:11 AM
This has gotten very slow altogether.....what's the hold up lads?

Metrostars
06/07/2011, 12:22 PM
This has gotten very slow altogether.....what's the hold up lads?

It's been over 24 hours and Murfinator hasn't picked. So you can go ahead and pick and murf can pick whenever he gets back online.

dotts101
06/07/2011, 2:13 PM
ive got an 11 picked, providing nobody picks them in the meantime, i am gonna post them up at the end regardless