View Full Version : Booing the NI Anthem
26/05/2011, 2:37 PM
I would like to propose banning all booing, namely booing of the opposition, booing the linesman, booing the referee, booing one's own players, booing Trap, booing the hotdog man. In fact, in line with the PA Man, we should applaud the opposition, the linesman even if he gives a dodgy offside against us, applaud the ref even if he gives a peno against us, applaud the FAI for the ticket prices, applaud the PA man for being a total plonker and ban all cheering for one's own side lest it be deemed offensive to the opponents. In fact, we should let the opposition win then they will all be happy with no offense taken.
Polster
26/05/2011, 2:56 PM
This is hillarious, I've been going to games since 88 and my only gripe is when our fans are not making noise/singing. I'm in London now and watched the game on Sky, the boo'ing of the anthem was hardly worth noting, not commented on, and as for singing new songs, what is wrong with people? I don't care if they have been heard at Celtic Park, Poznan, Wrestle Mania or the EuroVison, they obviously help the atmosphere which is most important.
Some people on here sound like they are going to the opera or the library. In the words of a crazy corkman, 'get over it'
SwanVsDalton
26/05/2011, 3:04 PM
Maybe for a couple of people it's about general songs or atmosphere or whatever, but the thread title is about booing the anthem. And whether it was 'understandable' or NI fans started it first or other nations do it is irrelevant - it's occurrence, even in a minority, is embarrassing.
Polster
26/05/2011, 3:18 PM
Maybe for a couple of people it's about general songs or atmosphere or whatever, but the thread title is about booing the anthem. And whether it was 'understandable' or NI fans started it first or other nations do it is irrelevant - it's occurrence, even in a minority, is embarrassing.
It's never good, but am I embarrased by it, no. I think it is been blown out of all proportion by some people on here, who are the same people which have brought the unacceptable singing of non secteranian songs into the thread also. In a perfect world noone would boo an anthem regardless of their feelings, but compared to most countries our booing would barely register.
ArdeeBhoy
26/05/2011, 3:30 PM
There's an awful lot of self-righteousness in this thread.
Roy Keane (& Bertie) got booed during the opening of the Special Olympics which was somewhat less contentious, but there was no great public outcry.
It's part of Life, some people need to get over that.
SwanVsDalton
26/05/2011, 3:39 PM
There's an awful lot of self-righteousness in this thread.
Roy Keane (& Bertie) got booed during the opening of the Special Olympics which was somewhat less contentious, but there was no great public outcry.
It's part of Life, some people need to get over that.
Who isn't over it? Are you suggesting there is a great public outcry in this case (when we're simply an infinitesimally small corner of the internet talking about a niche subject)?
Most importantly IMO - why can't we just call the booing of an anthem a load of silly, juvenile nonsense without people resorting to whataboutery? Just because it exists - it happens, it's part of 'Life', it's naive to expect otherwise - doesn't make it condonable or right. And even then, I don't think it's so prevalent that we should shrug and accept it. If we're a relatively respectful bunch of fans we should maintain that standard and call it straight - anthem booing is childish, stupid and embarrassing, whether it's 60 fans for 20 seconds or 6,000 fans for two minutes.
I don't think that's unreasonable and it certainly doesn't require Alan Sugar-esque get realisms in response.
26/05/2011, 4:42 PM
its utterly fukin pathetic. People like that are prob the same lads who were against the queens visit cos of "800 years" bla bla feckin bla..........
Come into the 21st Century lads. Its great fun here!
Is that why no one could get anywhere near 200 feet of the Queen?
AlaskaFox
26/05/2011, 4:55 PM
On the flag issue.
Basque
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2d/Flag_of_the_Basque_Country.svg/120px-Flag_of_the_Basque_Country.svg.png
Ulster
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/7e/Flag_of_Ulster.svg/100px-Flag_of_Ulster.svg.png
Vatican City
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/00/Flag_of_the_Vatican_City.svg/100px-Flag_of_the_Vatican_City.svg.png
IsMiseSean
26/05/2011, 7:01 PM
I'm not trying to confuse the flag issue anymore than it has been, but I also saw a guy with a Palestine flag. :D
26/05/2011, 7:11 PM
Danny, that was a Vatican flag at 2.26 alright. What kind of fool brings a flag that does nothing but say "I'm a catholic" in a game against a country beset by sectarian division? Words fail me.
John 3:16
26/05/2011, 7:20 PM
Ive never seen foot.ie so divided. I haven't seen what the reaction is from those NI fans there.
I don't like the booing of anthems, we come across as neandarthal apes like those we came across in some of those other countries we have gone to out east. Sometimes booing is just seen as intimidation but where we have a shared contrived history with the north it is certainly a lot more than this.
I see that we are all very much divided on this and it saddens me.
26/05/2011, 7:28 PM
Cheer up Paul. Think of Ros beating Sligo last summer.
I don't think it's a sign of any great malaise among our support. I suspect the opposition drew out more than a fair share of our latent muppetry. The Vatican flag kind of proves this point.
Bungle
26/05/2011, 7:30 PM
Spot on, couldn't have said it better:cool:
26/05/2011, 8:33 PM
The booers just embarrass themselves. The OWC crowd are certainly used to it and have heard much worse before.
In a masochistic sort of way they encourage it and take the hit, then run off to their hovels and moan about how the rest of the world hate them. Even make a list of all the perceived insults inflicted upon them, as if butter wouldn't melt in their mouths.
26/05/2011, 9:46 PM
Well its an us against the world attitude, in all small(possibly minded) communities who feel repressed or unjustified its a common mentality. Makes them feel stronger, a more togetherness.
I met this rabbi on the plane from boston to houston recently who had studied different "interest groups" told me something about these guys who preach the end of the world, like the mayan theory and that guy recently in the states, that the more evidence you put forward to them, the stronger their actual belief becomes and the more close knit the community becomes....
26/05/2011, 10:55 PM
John 3:16
I'm pretty certain John3:16 is a "born again" type. Which'd make him a dissenter and unlikely to be carrying a papal flag.
So the question stands -what manner of grade A moron brings a papal flag to ANY football game that doesn't involve Vatican Citeh FC? I'm guessing he's not a regular.
26/05/2011, 11:13 PM
I'm pretty certain John3:16 is a "born again" type. Which'd make him a dissenter and unlikely to be carrying a papal flag.
So the question stands -what manner of grade A moron brings a papal flag to ANY football game that doesn't involve Vatican Citeh FC? I'm guessing he's not a regular.
the same manner of grade A moron that brings a Basque flag to a game that doesn't include a Basque representative side?
ArdeeBhoy
26/05/2011, 11:15 PM
Most importantly IMO - why can't we just call the booing of an anthem a load of silly, juvenile nonsense without people resorting to whataboutery? Just because it exists - it happens, it's part of 'Life', it's naive to expect otherwise - doesn't make it condonable or right. And even then, I don't think it's so prevalent that we should shrug and accept it. If we're a relatively respectful bunch of fans we should maintain that standard and call it straight - anthem booing is childish, stupid and embarrassing, whether it's 60 fans for 20 seconds or 6,000 fans for two minutes.
I don't think that's unreasonable and it certainly doesn't require Alan Sugar-esque get realisms in response.
It may be a little 'silly', but given what that tune means, you need to have a little perspective of history.
And its symbolism in an Irish context!
Bar a few paranoid R*ngers fans, if it had been Scotland v. 'Ingerland' for instance, the 'booing' would have been somewhat more substantial.
And guessing your average Derry City fan would be none too keen on hearing it, or do they play it before every home game??
Ultimately, it's irrelevant to all but diehard unionists on this island....
the same manner of grade A moron that brings a Basque flag to a game that doesn't include a Basque representative side?
Or a palestine flag...
It may be a little 'silly', but given what that tune means, you need to have a little perspective of history.
Bar a few paranoid R*ngers fans, if it had been Scotland v. 'Ingerland' for instance, the 'booing' would have been somewhat more substantial.
And guessing your average Derry City fan would be none too keen on hearing it, or do they play it before every home game??
Ironically you'd be the first one to cream your trunks were Amhrán na bhFiann booed by anyone and you'd be the first to shout "intolerant bigots".
SwanVsDalton
26/05/2011, 11:47 PM
Seriously AB - that's actually your answer to everything.
Whataboutery. I dealt with that above, but you'd probably already launched into your condescending snooze-fest of vague politicisms...
Nah they only have it on when DCFC play NI or Ingerland - which happens once every so never...
For the record should NI or Ingerland ever rock up to the Brandy for a match and the crowd booed the anthem, I'd be embarrassed too. But the comparison between a club, where no anthems are played and there is an entirely different community of supporters, and a national side is so astoundingly irrelevant I have no idea why you would bring it up except to WUM. Poorly.
And the dunderheads who booed it the other day you're so keen on defending, no?
DannyInvincible
27/05/2011, 12:03 AM
On the flag issue.
Basque
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2d/Flag_of_the_Basque_Country.svg/120px-Flag_of_the_Basque_Country.svg.png
Ulster
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/7e/Flag_of_Ulster.svg/100px-Flag_of_Ulster.svg.png
Vatican City
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/00/Flag_of_the_Vatican_City.svg/100px-Flag_of_the_Vatican_City.svg.png
See here for further details: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foot.ie_flag_dispute
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 12:31 AM
Seriously AB - that's actually your answer to everything.
Hardly. But then it's not irrelevant. Maybe ask a few locals in Doire. They'll tell you it plays no part in local culture.
Whataboutery. I dealt with that above, but you'd probably already launched into your condescending snooze-fest of vague politicisms...
In which you seem to equally indulge, with some rather pompous missives....
And if anyone's condescending here, it isn't me.
But the comparison between a club, where no anthems are played and there is an entirely different community of supporters, and a national side is so astoundingly irrelevant I have no idea why you would bring it up except to WUM. Poorly.
Actually it does, but then DC would have to reach a major European final, in which I wish them well.
And I'd defend anyone's right to boo the British national anthem. Especially if they've suffered at the hands of that regime.
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 12:42 AM
Should add also, that a minority of decent Ingerland fans have admitted to me taking strategic comfort breaks to avoid their own dirge.
(Especially as they had their own 'add-on's' and reckon it was mainly sung to rile the opposition as they were collectively so unpopular.)
Wouldn't know how their majority felt, but they much preferred 'Jerusalem', which given the 'subject', is a vast improvement.
DannyInvincible
27/05/2011, 12:42 AM
Ive never seen foot.ie so divided.
There's nothing like the north to stir the passions. ;)
I don't like the booing of anthems, we come across as neandarthal apes like those we came across in some of those other countries we have gone to out east.
I can't make a connection with the reference. Like who exactly? :confused:
Sometimes booing is just seen as intimidation but where we have a shared contrived history with the north it is certainly a lot more than this.
I see that we are all very much divided on this and it saddens me.
It's just a petty argument within one thread over a bit of inconsequential and fairly standard booing that would in no way warrant any sense of public outrage. The shared, contrived history of which you speak means that it would have been an inevitable expectation really rather than something that just popped up out of the blue as some sort of inexplicable anomaly over which we should all be suddenly shocked and abhorred. Also, it's clearly been much more audible in the past. No-one's clawing at throats or anything. Even some of the reports of the booing seem a bit over-the-top. Some proportionality needed.
Hardly. But then it's not irrelevant. Maybe ask a few locals in Doire. They'll tell you it plays no part in local culture.
Actually it does, but then DC would have to reach a major European final, in which I wish them well.
And I'd defend anyone's right to boo the British national anthem. Especially if they've suffered at the hands of that regime.
I find it funny that the UK City of Culture would claim that the UK national anthem plays no part in local culture.
Irony at its very best.
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 2:38 AM
Except I was talking about something different, so that's a complete red herring there.
Not Brazil
27/05/2011, 8:08 AM
For the record should NI or Ingerland ever rock up to the Brandy for a match and the crowd booed the anthem, I'd be embarrassed too.
Northern Ireland have played underage Internationals at the Brandywell in recent times SvD.
Polster
27/05/2011, 8:19 AM
Well its an us against the world attitude, in all small(possibly minded) communities who feel repressed or unjustified its a common mentality. Makes them feel stronger, a more togetherness.
I met this rabbi on the plane from boston to houston recently who had studied different "interest groups" told me something about these guys who preach the end of the world, like the mayan theory and that guy recently in the states, that the more evidence you put forward to them, the stronger their actual belief becomes and the more close knit the community becomes....
I'm feeling sorry for that Rabbi
27/05/2011, 9:06 AM
Shessh, from a few yobs booing GSTQ in an almost empty stadium in a quiet suburb of Dublin to a Jewish rabbi talking in an airplane about the end of the world - all in the space of a few posts. Only on foot.ie :)
SwanVsDalton
27/05/2011, 9:07 AM
Northern Ireland have played underage Internationals at the Brandywell in recent times SvD.
I'm aware of that NB (though I don't think there's be one in some time?). Either way Derry City wouldn't have been involved in the game in any way except through dint of it playing in their rented home ground (though I'm not saying Derry fans or general public wern't happy to have them there, quite the opposite) so don't think it's relevant to the discussion. Certainly not in the way AB is suggesting.
Also I'm not entirely sure whether anthems are played at that level, or were at these games? Genuinely don't know, though don't think it matters either way.
SwanVsDalton
27/05/2011, 9:30 AM
Maybe I should ask some of the locals from Derry's sizeable Unionist community? Or does their opinion not count? Not that you really want me to since you're clearly only interested in offering a one-note defence of some half-hearted pointless boos.
you need to have a little perspective of history
Hmmm, not condescending? Not sure if serious. For someone keen on history, you've a poor memory of things you've written in the last day...
'Actually it does' what? The above sentence makes little sense linked to what you quoted. It does relevant? I don't know what you mean. Though I share your enthusiasm for DCFC Champions League winners 2034.
Finally something on point. I hope the 60 odd twenty something Dubs and assorted others who booed certainly felt satisfied after their jeer. Take that evil empire!! Oppress us no longer!!
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 9:38 AM
Beyond more pompous claptrap including quotes irrelevant to the 'points' you are making, the above makes no sense!
SwanVsDalton
27/05/2011, 10:26 AM
Beyond more pompous claptrap including quotes irrelevant to the 'points' you are making, the above makes no sense!
Boooooooooo. :bulgy:
Not Brazil
27/05/2011, 11:26 AM
And I'd defend anyone's right to boo the British national anthem.
Do you equally defend "anyone's right" to boo Amhrán na bhFiann?
TiocfaidhArmani
27/05/2011, 12:20 PM
No place for it, the Orange Order flag, Union Jack, RIR flag, or Celtic tops (or any other non-Irish club tops) at the match.
Don't have an issue with other tops (even Linfield)
People can wear what they bloody want. Can I wear my FDNY green t-shirt, does that meet your protocol? Or a GAA top? I suppose that's banned? Imagine some from the GAA said soccer tops weren't welcome at a GAA game, they would be called bigots!
27/05/2011, 12:25 PM
They would be bigots. Just like the football authorities if they tried to enforce a no GAA rule
Individuals can think however they like, and people who were Celtic jerseys and/or GAA tops to Oreland games deserve scorn
SwanVsDalton
27/05/2011, 12:31 PM
People can wear what they bloody want. Can I wear my FDNY green t-shirt, does that meet your protocol? Or a GAA top? I suppose that's banned? Imagine some from the GAA said soccer tops weren't welcome at a GAA game, they would be called bigots!
I'd rather you wore a green t-shirt than a Celtic top. I'm not up-in-arms about it, and people can wear what they like though others can equally get stuck up about it. If you're wearing a football top at a match, wear the right one. If you're not, wear the colours. I'd only make an exception for LOI tops but we need all the promotion we can get!
The problem with Celtic tops and Ireland is it's quite a common sight at games, more so than other national sides/clubs I'd reckon.
TiocfaidhArmani
27/05/2011, 12:32 PM
They would be bigots. Just like the football authorities if they tried to enforce a no GAA rule
Individuals can think however they like, and people who were Celtic jerseys and/or GAA tops to Oreland games deserve scorn
Each to their own, but that rule is been gone now for four decades, but live in 1971 if you want. The truth is if someone on a GAA forum said you shouldn't be allowed wear a soccer jersey at a GAA game you would be coming out with GAA bigot crap.
The elitism on here on what people should and shouldn't wear to a poxsy football match is astounding. Celtic wear green and white tops. Celtic is a club with Irish roots. Some of their fans may wear these green and white tops to Ireland games. Boo fecking hoo you elitist whingers!
TiocfaidhArmani
27/05/2011, 12:36 PM
I'd rather you wore a green t-shirt than a Celtic top. I'm not up-in-arms about it, and people can wear what they like though others can equally get stuck up about it. If you're wearing a football top at a match, wear the right one. If you're not, wear the colours. I'd only make an exception for LOI tops but we need all the promotion we can get!
The problem with Celtic tops and Ireland is it's quite a common sight at games, more so than other national sides/clubs I'd reckon.
Nah, why wear a St Pats top - it's red. Of course it's common, look at the history of Celtic and the colour of top they wear! It's obvious. You get a lot of Ireland tops at Celtic games and people and clued up enough to know why and don't complain about it one small bit. It's sheer ignorance the silly objections to Celtic tops. You would swear it was Hitler FC the way some narrow-minded bigots on here go on like.
No foreign tops at our games, blah, blah! The same people who tell others to get into the 21st century. They should try it themselves.
co. down green
27/05/2011, 12:43 PM
I never really 'got' the whole Glasgow Celtic Irish thing myself.
Don't understand why people can be bothered with Celtic or Man U, I'm much more interested in Ireland, and following the progress of Irish players playing for their clubs.
I don't see the point in wearing a celtic, Man United or Liverpool jersey to an Ireland game, no connection really, apart from the odd player or two.
SwanVsDalton
27/05/2011, 12:49 PM
Nah, why wear a St Pats top - it's red. Of course it's common, look at the history of Celtic and the colour of top they wear! It's obvious. You get a lot of Ireland tops at Celtic games and people and clued up enough to know why and don't complain about it one small bit. It's sheer ignorance the silly objections to Celtic tops. You would swear it was Hitler FC the way some narrow-minded bigots on here go on like.
No foreign tops at our games, blah, blah! The same people who tell others to get into the 21st century. They should try it themselves.
I've heard the complaint about Celtic tops aired by lots of fans at every Ireland match I've ever been at - it's usually held in the same regard as Leprechaun beards and huge green plastic hammers. So whether people are 'clued-up' as you say is debatable.
Anyway regardless of historical ties or colours, Celtic are not actually an Irish club whereas St.Pats's are. Might as well wear Hibernian or Panathinaikos tops. Also, anecdotally, an LOI top wearer would be likely to at least wear an Ireland scarf or hat (if colour is the issue).
Call me old-fashioned, I just like people at games in regalia of the teams actually playing. Anyone who isn't is likely to be branded a part-timer, as they would anywhere else.
cestlavie
27/05/2011, 2:55 PM
Dont agree with booing with anybodies anthem but you would think that Northern Ireland should have their own anthem at this point and not one borrowed from England.
You dont see Scotland or Wales showing their patriotic identity by singing God Save the Queen no matter if they regard themselves as British or not. Its a whole question of identity. Surely they can come up with a different anthem that represets their people in a more unique way.
We could always give them the rights to Irelands Call coz I think its pathetic for the Irish rugby team to be using this a 1 of their anthems.
Not Brazil
27/05/2011, 3:11 PM
You dont see Scotland or Wales showing their patriotic identity by singing God Save the Queen no matter if they regard themselves as British or not. Its a whole question of identity. Surely they can come up with a different anthem that represets their people in a more unique way.
We could always give them the rights to Irelands Call coz I think its pathetic for the Irish rugby team to be using this a 1 of their anthems.
The National Anthem of the United Kindom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland is not "borrowed" from England. It is shared with England.
I agree with the wider sentiment though.
Maybe you've hit on something with the rugby mention.
Perhaps the IFAcould take a leaf out of the IRFU's book, and could play two Anthems at our games - GSTQ, and something more "unique". Not "Ireland's Call" though, for two reasons:
1. It's shyte.
2. The IFA does not represent "Four Proud Provinces of Ireland".
cestlavie
27/05/2011, 3:26 PM
Obviously you love your non borrowed anthem but do you really see yourselves as more British than somebody say from the far reaches of Scotland from places like Shetland or from the Valleys.
When you travel abroad everybody regards you as Irish, Perhaps this is your way in trying to tell the world or convince the world that your really British.
This may answer part of the problem that has arisen that some of the people from Norn Ireland are declaring for the Republic. It is only part of explanation and doesnt cover full picture though.
Not Brazil
27/05/2011, 3:34 PM
Obviously you love your non borrowed anthem but do you really see yourselves as more British than somebody say from the far reaches of Scotland from places like Shetland or from the Valleys.
When you travel abroad everybody regards you as Irish, Perhaps this is your way in trying to tell the world or convince the world that your really British.
Yes, I am very proud of my National Anthem.
I don't consider myself anymore (or, indeed, any less) British, than any other British Citizen.
I am, however, extremely supportive of the idea of introducing a new "sporting" Anthem for games involving the IFA representative teams - something unique to Northern Ireland.
When I travel abroad, I don't really care what "everybody" regards me as.
I don't need to "convince the world" that I'm "really" British. I am really British. I am also Irish.
I add the blessing of being British, to the distinction of being Irish.
cestlavie
27/05/2011, 3:41 PM
No worries, the Queens head is always welcome down here anytime. Think youve hit the nail on the head, your are British but also Irish.
On another note Not Brazil, Have to say you were pretty fortunate with that cup win in the end, lol. Inspired sub or luck??? Gudluck. Its a pity Stokes couldnt declare for Norn Ireland, Times are bad but I still wouldnt wish it on ye all.
Not Brazil
27/05/2011, 3:49 PM
Think youve hit the nail on the head, your are British but also Irish.
On another note Not Brazil, Have to say you were pretty fortunate with that cup win in the end, lol. Inspired sub or luck??? Gudluck. Its a pity Stokes couldnt declare for Norn Ireland, Times are bad but I still wouldnt wish it on ye all.
Ardee Bhoy will be along soon to tell you that I'm not British & Irish.:D
We were good value for the Cup win - the substitution did change the game. I'll give the credit there to DJ (A man not often lauded for his tactical brilliance.:) )
Regarding Stokes - his father would be assured a warm welcome at Windsor Park anytime he fancies a trip up North.
27/05/2011, 3:55 PM
Regarding Stokes - his father would be assured a warm welcome at Windsor Park anytime he fancies a trip up North.
I don't think ye'd be allowed to set up a pyre for that sole reason. Timing could be a help in this case... somewhere around the second week of July? Anyway, it'd only be another excuse for oiks to stoke the flames of hatred. ;)
Not Brazil
27/05/2011, 4:32 PM
Timing could be a help in this case... somewhere around the second week of July? Anyway, it'd only be another excuse for oiks to stoke the flames of hatred. ;)
The Champions of Northern Ireland are scheduled to play the Champions of Scotland at Windsor Park on 16th July, as it happens.
I'd pay for Mr Stokes's ticket myself, if he's available.:D
PS. A former manager of Stokes's club, Celtic, is the main guest speaker at a lavish event in Belfast City Hall tonight, celebrating Linfield FC's 125th Anniversary Year.