View Full Version : Booing the NI Anthem

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

awec
25/05/2011, 2:39 PM
The scots boo'd our anthem too, if I remember right.

Hibs4Ever
25/05/2011, 2:48 PM
Jesus Wept :(
These "fans" wont be happy until we have a Tommy Burns Stand in LR, wear Hoops and sing songs about our father joining the Ra!

They've already changed the team socks to accomodate that ;)

TiocfaidhArmani
25/05/2011, 3:03 PM
These "fans" wont be happy until we have a Tommy Burns Stand in LR, wear Hoops and sing songs about our father joining the Ra!

Now you're talking :D

Beavis
25/05/2011, 3:14 PM
they have not taken off and never will. they are only sung by the singing section. keep to songs / chants that the majority of fans actually know and the atmosphere will improve

You can't honestly believe that. Since the Brian Kerr era no chants, even those that everyone knows e.g. COYBIG, FOA, One Road etc, have gone around the ground except the odd time on big game occasions.

The few who actually wanted to sing decided to do something proactive about it. I can't believe the negativity here towards the SS. There has been and will continue to be genuine attempts to come up with originals and source chants from places other than Britain. In fairness, there inevitably has to be some plagarism when you only play a couple of times a year; it make sense to use songs/chants that people have already heard so it can kick immediately without several games practicing. Regardless of where the tunes come from would you prefer a return to 2/3 years ago when friendlies were played in eerie silence?

I love going to all our games again. While I wasn't there last night (in China), a couple of idiots shouldn't be allowed taint the achievement to date. I think to some extent the reaction here is because it's something yous feel seperate from. But it's not a YBIG thing, it's an Ireland thing. It's not an exclusive club so get involved, the SS always needs more vocal bodies!

EastTerracer
25/05/2011, 3:48 PM
Owls gave his impressions and an account of his experience, whereas you are are a certified wummer. IŽd regard his account at least as valid as anyone elses. Probably more so, on account of his wisdom, experience and generally has no axe to grind (outside of the RTE panel).
I would agree with his observation of the OWC fans, that their behaviour has improved remarakably over the decades and they almost act like normal fans these days.

I was in the East Stand last night and agree with Owls Fan that there was worse on show at our games with Northern Ireland in the 1990 and 1994 qualifiers than there was last night. I was disappointed with the booing of the anthem but it seemed to be limited to a small section of the south stand and did die out pretty quickly.

Any sectarian stuff from the SS wasn't audible on the East Stand but I have no doubt that a small elements of our support do lower themselves to that level occasionally. However the suggestion from An Ceannaire that it was a "large minority/ small majority" is just untrue.

25/05/2011, 3:52 PM
See the lad with the Ulster Flag in the ROI support? Not the NI flag now, the Yellow and Red Ulster flag. Wondered who he was supporting :)
That's a Basque flag

25/05/2011, 3:57 PM
You can't honestly believe that

i do actually.
i am 100% supportive of what the singing section is trying to do. however, in my opinion it has worked best when it sticks to what the fans already know. The "we love you" song was introduced over two years ago but has never spread beyond the singing section, neither has the paul mcgrath song and the "just cant get enough" song probably wont either. just constructive criticism for what its worth.

TiocfaidhArmani
25/05/2011, 4:03 PM
i do actually.
i am 100% supportive of what the singing section is trying to do. however, in my opinion it has worked best when it sticks to what the fans already know. The "we love you" song was introduced over two years ago but has never spread beyond the singing section, neither has the paul mcgrath song and the "just cant get enough" song probably wont either. just constructive criticism for what its worth.

You don't know what's going to take off unless you try it. New songs have to be tried, it was boring not too long ago with just endless "come on you boys in green", which is slightly boring as it is, so fair play they're trying new things and attempting to get them off the ground and more power to them.

25/05/2011, 5:03 PM
I can't believe the negativity here towards the SS.

Neither can I. Lovely bunch of lads.

http://www.germaniainternational.com/images2/waffenss/Finnish_Ring/images/fin2.jpg

25/05/2011, 5:29 PM
So Owls Fan, are Tets, GSpain, Myself and all the others here who agreed, making this up.............?

Were you at the game?

You're living in dreamworld if you think that some fans are not going to boo GSTQ. 700 years of history is not going to be wiped out in a few years. As others have said, some people started to boo (a few hundred I would say at best) and it soon faded away as the anthem continued. A group of Nordies turned their backs when our anthem was played. Was I insulted? Not at all. If that's the way they want to behave, so be it.

Have you travelled to away games as a matter of interest? Anthems of away teams are usually whistled down by the opposition. We are by far and away the most respectful set of fans for opponent's anthems and that hasn't changed because of last night? I might be correct in saying that in rugby up to a number of years ago they used to play only the home anthem to avoid trouble. Times have moved on.

Now, what "controversial" topic do you want to start next?

p.s. I am seeing a doctor following the shock of hearing a few Irish fans boo GSTQ.

Predator
25/05/2011, 5:49 PM
We should gather up those hoodlums and roundly whip them to within an inch of their sorry lives. Who do they think they are? We're a mature nation now - all grown up. Booing our new anthem is akin to treason!

25/05/2011, 6:03 PM
I was at the game with a few mates, one of whom brought a friend from England. It was her first Ireland match and I can honestly say it will be her last. I have been going to matches for 6/7 years without fail however the sectarian singing from a sizeable group behind me was sickening. It was not directed at N.I solely but it was religious. Granted the majority were 16/17 year old lads but it was totally unacceptable! I find it extremely hypocritical that some people on this forum are quick to slate the N.I supporters when you just need to look around and see the same type of chant is occuring in our own section (Block 116 by the way) and the Stewards do NOTHING about it. I enjoy the Singing Section immensely however I shall not be returning to it due to the actions of these so called supporters.Apologies for the rant, it was a fantastic performance and I loved seeing Robbie gagging for a third, but I felt I needed to get it off my chest

Pre-NI game:

"I'm not going because there's no atmosphere"

Post 5-0 win:

"I'm not going because I don't like the atmosphere"

You can't have it both ways, so what do you want? :rolleyes:

About the anthem, booing an anthem is wrong, but then it shouldn't be played at an Ireland home game in the first place, it doesn't have to be played, and until 1995 when England showed up, it never was. I didn't boo it, I just registered my protest by remaining seated while it was on. Many others did the same. I'll stand for any anthem at an Ireland game, except that one.

boovidge
25/05/2011, 6:14 PM
i do actually.

So we're just sticking with "ole ole ole" from now on?

Willum101
25/05/2011, 6:36 PM
Pre-NI game:

Post 5-0 win:

About the anthem, booing an anthem is wrong, but then it shouldn't be played at an Ireland home game in the first place, it doesn't have to be played, and until 1995 when England showed up, it never was. I didn't boo it, I just registered my protest by remaining seated while it was on. Many others did the same. I'll stand for any anthem at an Ireland game, except that one.

sorry mypost but when did I ever say I wasn't going to the game for lack of atmosphere?! I have been going to Ireland games without fail for 7 years now and will continue to! I was merely stating that on this occasion a friend from England joined us and she will probably not return.

Bungle
25/05/2011, 6:54 PM
Last night was the worse atmosphere I've ever been to at a football match. From my own observations, I would say that anything from 65-80% of the fans were Northern Irish Celtic fans..no problem with that as some of my best friends are from the North are Celtic fans and great Ireland fans, but alot around me appeared to me to be bringing their sectarian ****e with them. The young element of mostly Dublin lads were lapping it up and joining in.

Was at the game with a few mates, most of whom have been going to the Ireland games for 25-30 odd years and we all felt the same way. In fairness, a game against the North was always going to attract the knobhead element and probably alot of decent fans stayed away expecting trouble.

All in all, I found myself reminiscing of the old dingy Lansdowne Road with the brilliant Lansdowne Roar.

backstothewall
25/05/2011, 7:30 PM
If people don't like the songs they should start singing something else and shout it down. If it doesn't work at least you tried, but if your just going to stand there with your arms folded muttering something about parkhead, you have no right to complain. People who don't vote have no right to complain about the government, and people who don't sing at football matches have no right to complain about the set list.

As for booing GSTQ, it certainly shouldn't have happened. It has to be said that we don't have a particular problem. It happened when they played Scotland, and it will happen when they play Wales. What troubles me is that because it happened we have no right to complain about the booing of McAleese. Any football crowd needs to be self policing with these things. Relying on the stewards is a bit of a cop out.

25/05/2011, 7:43 PM
Was at the game with a few mates, most of whom have been going to the Ireland games for 25-30 odd years and we all felt the same way. In fairness, a game against the North was always going to attract the knobhead element and probably alot of decent fans stayed away expecting trouble.

All in all, I found myself reminiscing of the old dingy Lansdowne Road with the brilliant Lansdowne Roar.

Would you prefer a ban on NI fans, as there used to be?

Everyone knew that there were always going to be hardliners there last night. It was a local derby with a tribal atmosphere amid a backdrop of a century of distrust and confrontation. Tbh though, I've been to games at club and international level, where the atmosphere has been much more tense and volatile than last night. It's a football crowd, not a rugger one.

Soon enough, we'll be back to Sunday League atmospheres at Lansdowne, but I guess you won't be happy with that either.

25/05/2011, 8:15 PM
Didn't our northern brethren tell us on here time and time again that there are very few UJs on show at their games. I saw 7 and one NI flag, perhaps there were more of both but i saw it a few times and couldn't see any.

Bungle
25/05/2011, 9:49 PM
Would you prefer a ban on NI fans, as there used to be?

Everyone knew that there were always going to be hardliners there last night. It was a local derby with a tribal atmosphere amid a backdrop of a century of distrust and confrontation. Tbh though, I've been to games at club and international level, where the atmosphere has been much more tense and volatile than last night. It's a football crowd, not a rugger one.

Soon enough, we'll be back to Sunday League atmospheres at Lansdowne, but I guess you won't be happy with that either.

Sorry mate, but I'm a football fan and have been going to Ireland games for years home and away. I was in Windsor Park in 1989 and 1993. I've also been in Turkey in 1991. I know a volatile atmosphere and last night wasn't volatile. However, it was an atmosphere that I haven't seen before at Lansdowne Road and I hope I don't again. It was full of mouthy gob****es. Judging by other posters, alot of people share my view.

legendz
25/05/2011, 10:07 PM
Wasn't there a debate going on in N. Ireland that they should have a new anthem, an anthem of their own instead of GSTQ. Personally I can't see how any nationalist/republican/irishman could line out for a team and sing GSTQ. I know there is some examples of Irish who have done it. Kearney playing rugby league for Britain and then cricket which I'll just leave it there.

awec
25/05/2011, 10:09 PM
Wasn't there a debate going on in N. Ireland that they should have a new anthem, an anthem of their own instead of GSTQ. Personally I can't see how any nationalist/republican/irishman could line out for a team and sing GSTQ. I know there is some examples of Irish who have done it. Kearney playing rugby league for Britain and then cricket which I'll just leave it there.

You can line out and just stand and respect the anthem without singing it. Not that many players sing it at the football anyway.

There was never a proper formal debate to change the anthem, the idea was mooted at one stage. For what it's worth I think it would split the NI support in half. One half would be for it as they want to create a Northern Irish identity at the matches and aren't bothered about the whole brit thing, whereas the other half would view it as further erosion of our identity to appease people who wouldn't support us anyway.

Beavis
26/05/2011, 2:33 AM
i do actually.

Yeah fair enough, no problem with the constructive criticism. I really don't think your main point is it's true though. The songs from the SS get a good airing from everyone on away days (We Love You was all across the 2k stand in Zlina) which I think proves it's not a case of the song choice, it's a case of mood, i.e. most people just don't want to or don't feel comfortable singing at home games but do on booze-fuelled away trips.

If people don't like the songs they should start singing something else and shout it down. If it doesn't work at least you tried, but if your just going to stand there with your arms folded muttering something about parkhead, you have no right to complain. People who don't vote have no right to complain about the government, and people who don't sing at football matches have no right to complain about the set list.

Couldn't agree more.

26/05/2011, 7:16 AM
So we're just sticking with "ole ole ole" from now on?

i hate ole ole ole. was marginally better when the last ole-ole was ireland-ireland.
have to be realistic though and most fans wont join in with the new songs as they dont know them and therefore its hard for them to catch on.
i have noticed that when known songs and chants start off from the SS they spread well and a decent atmosphere is created. isnt that basically what it should come down to and all that actually matters?
what does it matter whats sung as long as theres support from the stands for those on the pitch?

DannyInvincible
26/05/2011, 7:31 AM
Sounds like the booing of the anthem has been blown a bit out of proportion, but I wasn't there, so I can't really judge other than basing my thoughts on the opinions offered by others.

A friend of mine who was at the game texted me afterwards: "Rare atmosphere, real casual element in the Republic support, thought I was at Parkhead for most of the game!"

Personally, however, I don't see anything wrong with taking songs from elsewhere and moulding them to suit our own ends, even if they do come from Celtic Park. All fans "borrow" songs from other fans. As it happens, it's likely a large fraction of our support will be able to connect with those from Celtic Park, which might help them catch on, because, believe it or not, a large fraction of our support actually happen to follow Celtic and will be aware of what's going on in the stands at Celtic Park.

Was Steven Davis subjected to booing? I suppose that would be slightly more embarrassing.

What exactly is wrong with "doing the Poznan", as it's been dubbed? Is it popular within Celtic support as well? I wasn't aware of that. It didn't originate at Celtic Park, mind, or even at Eastlands or in Poznan, for that matter. I don't think there's anything wrong with it and I remember doing it in the Brandywell nearly half a decade ago after Derry fans "borrowed" it from PSG fans when we did it in tandem with their support in the Parc des Princes. It looks pretty impressive actually when you see a whole stand doing it. They called it "La Grek", presumably as its origins for them were on the terraces in Greece.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxWZQZcX44k&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94gaEAuOXH0

an_ceannaire
26/05/2011, 8:35 AM
That's a Basque flag

No no tets, not the basque one. The Yellow Ulster flag, the GAA Ulster flag. You know the one.

an_ceannaire
26/05/2011, 8:39 AM
Pre-NI game:

Post 5-0 win:

Pathetic

ArdeeBhoy
26/05/2011, 8:44 AM
Why is it 'pathetic' ?

26/05/2011, 8:49 AM
Yeah fair enough, no problem with the constructive criticism. I really don't think your main point is it's true though. The songs from the SS get a good airing from everyone on away days (We Love You was all across the 2k stand in Zlina) which I think proves it's not a case of the song choice, it's a case of mood, i.e. most people just don't want to or don't feel comfortable singing at home games but do on booze-fuelled away trips.

There's nothing wrong with singing at home games, and everytime we go to away games the atmosphere is electric, as the home support are as ready to sing for 90 minutes as we are. Obviously different if it's away games in the UK and home games here, where the culture is to shut up rather than sing at home games.

Most of the songs are fair game, even though TFOA is repeated a little too often. Mostly by fans that have never set foot in, nor seen TFOA. One chant I don't like though is the "we love you" one. It sounds awful, has few words, and at Rovers, we make a point by not singing it. So I don't sing it at Ireland games either.

an_ceannaire
26/05/2011, 8:56 AM
Why is it 'pathetic' ?

its utterly fukin pathetic. People like that are prob the same lads who were against the queens visit cos of "800 years" bla bla feckin bla..........
Come into the 21st Century lads. Its great fun here!

ArdeeBhoy
26/05/2011, 9:19 AM
Yes, of course that explains it.
You've put that case forward so well.
Don't think Scottish fans would agree, mind.

Shall we all hold hands and wave UJ's everytime we play a Brit.team?

26/05/2011, 9:26 AM
No no tets, not the basque one. The Yellow Ulster flag, the GAA Ulster flag. You know the one.
That might have been a Vatican flag, someone was waving it alright

26/05/2011, 9:29 AM
Crikey Tets, don't bring the Vatican into it!

There was a yellow Ulster flag in the ROI end in a photo I saw.

Just for the record, I think booing GSTQ is juvenile and disrespectful, and damaging to our reputation. I don't know if it was widespread or not as I missed the first 15 minutes. I don't condone booing of anyone's anthem, although I wasn't too fussed when we played Yugoslavia after their civil war.

26/05/2011, 9:50 AM
some people on ybig.ie said they saw someone waving a Vatican flag, I didn't notice it myself, but I didn't notice a yellow Ulster flag either

DannyInvincible
26/05/2011, 9:53 AM
some people on ybig.ie said they saw someone waving a Vatican flag, I didn't notice it myself, but I didn't notice a yellow Ulster flag either

Guy at 2:26 perhaps?:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9eUqQY3ukc&feature=youtu.be

an_ceannaire
26/05/2011, 10:11 AM
Yes, of course that explains it.
You've put that case forward so well.
Don't think Scottish fans would agree, mind.

Shall we all hold hands and wave UJ's everytime we play a Brit.team?

No, we should just respect their choice of bloody anthem FFS

an_ceannaire
26/05/2011, 10:13 AM
Tets, There is a recognised "Ulster Flag" used by the GAA. Its yellow and Red. You would know it if you saw it. Its often seen at Ulster Rugby Matches and is flown at every Ulster GAA Championship match. It was present in LR the other night.

26/05/2011, 10:18 AM
Danny, that was a Vatican flag at 2.26 alright. What kind of fool brings a flag that does nothing but say "I'm a catholic" in a game against a country beset by sectarian division? Words fail me.

ArdeeBhoy
26/05/2011, 11:01 AM
No, we should just respect their choice of bloody anthem FFS

Like they would respect ours??
Or our country or citizens, culture, flag??

Fear more a certain Reality check is needed by some....

FFS.

26/05/2011, 11:05 AM
I don't agree with booing a countryside anthenm eithier but the Northern Ireland fans didn't exactely sing the most plesant of songs all night and on the ss I think there brilliant I'd rather have them singing Celtic sings and doing the poznan than have no atmosphere what's so ever.

26/05/2011, 11:33 AM
Like they would respect ours??
Or our country or citizens, culture, flag??

Fear more a certain Reality check is needed by some....

FFS.

so what does sinking to their level achieve?

DannyInvincible
26/05/2011, 11:34 AM
Tets, There is a recognised "Ulster Flag" used by the GAA. Its yellow and Red. You would know it if you saw it. Its often seen at Ulster Rugby Matches and is flown at every Ulster GAA Championship match. It was present in LR the other night.

This is the one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/extratime/5756322714/in/set-72157626673620231/lightbox/

dantheman
26/05/2011, 11:37 AM
Danny, that was a Vatican flag at 2.26 alright. What kind of fool brings a flag that does nothing but say "I'm a catholic" in a game against a country beset by sectarian division? Words fail me.

Saw it at the match, I initially thought it was an Antrim GAA match because there were so many West Belfast fans down for the match.
Then realised what it was.

No place for it, the Orange Order flag, Union Jack, RIR flag, or Celtic tops (or any other non-Irish club tops) at the match.

Don't have an issue with other tops (even Linfield)

DannyInvincible
26/05/2011, 11:41 AM
I don't agree with booing a countryside anthenm

C'mon now; you wouldn't even boo this countryside anthem?:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ikn9jdn_MUk

Eminence Grise
26/05/2011, 12:09 PM
Aaaarrrrrrgggghhh... I'm traumatised just looking at the still, DI...

DannyInvincible
26/05/2011, 1:03 PM
Saw it at the match, I initially thought it was an Antrim GAA match because there were so many West Belfast fans down for the match.
Then realised what it was.

No place for it, the Orange Order flag, Union Jack, RIR flag, or Celtic tops (or any other non-Irish club tops) at the match.

Don't have an issue with other tops (even Linfield)

The Orange Order flag was certainly present; two clowns proudly stretching it out in front of them at 2:51 in the video I posted above (http://foot.ie/threads/151885-Booing-the-NI-Anthem?p=1490398&viewfull=1#post1490398). Is it a common site in Windsor or was it just brought down to be provocative? NI fans will argue that the Union flag is their flag, however, and, as far as officialdom is concerned, they wouldn't be far wrong. The Ulster Banner, the flag under which the IFA teams play, actually has no official status in NI and is an outmoded unionist flag.

awec
26/05/2011, 1:26 PM
The Orange Order flag was certainly present; two clowns proudly stretching it out in front of them at 2:51 in the video I posted above (http://foot.ie/threads/151885-Booing-the-NI-Anthem?p=1490398&viewfull=1#post1490398). Is it a common site in Windsor or was it just brought down to be provocative? NI fans will argue that the Union flag is their flag, however, and, as far as officialdom is concerned, they wouldn't be far wrong. The Ulster Banner, the flag under which the IFA teams play, actually has no official status in NI and is an outmoded unionist flag.
The Orange Order flag is NEVER flown at Windsor Park. They wouldn't get away with it.

26/05/2011, 1:29 PM
the most interesting banner i saw tuesday was along the lines of "FAI - HANDS OFF OUR PLAYERS - KEEP GIBSON"! nothing too offensive in it but there was a bit of an argument on the north stand as some over powered security bloke tried to rip it from the fans holding it up. bit of an over reaction by the security i think

DannyInvincible
26/05/2011, 1:33 PM
"FAI - HANDS OFF OUR PLAYERS - KEEP GIBSON"

Quite an achievement to see humour sustain itself through such ill-informed intolerance.

ArdeeBhoy
26/05/2011, 2:32 PM
so what does sinking to their level achieve?
Nothing especially.

It's just a wee mark of protest.
Have you ever protested at anything??

26/05/2011, 2:37 PM

This is the one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/extratime/5756322714/in/set-72157626673620231/lightbox/
ok, that was at the other side of the stadium to me, I didn't see it